Nophoto-130

Homestyle Desserts

Peekskill , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

24 S Water St
Peekskill, NY US 10566 (map)

PHONE

914-737-4659

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.5/5.0
Great tasting cake and beautiful. They were included in my vendors pacakge and we flexible with the design, accents etc.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I was so happy that the venue I worked with used Homestyle Desserts as their cake vendor. We went in for a cake tasting (best part of planning a wedding). We had our cake picked out probably within 10 minutes (design and all) and then just continued to eat cake. The woman we worked with was able to turn our few ideas into a gorgeous cake! And then that was it - they handled the rest of it with the venue. Exceptional service and cake. I can't wait until our 1 year anniversary :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Amazing cake. Very delicious and high quality decorations
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
7/19/2014
5.0/5.0
When we met with the bakery to choose our cake design and type, it was a simple and easy process! The cake on our wedding day was absolutely delicious! We wanted blue food coloring and the staff at Homestyle Desserts made it to perfection! We sent them the ribbon and flowers for our cake and it came out beautifully! All of our guests loved the cake. My husband and I can't wait to eat the top tier on our 1 year wedding anniversary :-)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
7/11/2014
5.0/5.0
A wedding cake from Homestyle Desserts was including in our package at The Chalet on the Hudson. HOW LUCKY!! Our cake tasting was fun, It was easy to give the staff and idea of what we wanted and they made a beautiful design for us. We did two different flavors, two tiers of chocolate/chocolate moose and two tiers of vanilla/cannoli filling... oh my lord. So delicious. I can't believe how many people actually sat down to eat the cake at the wedding, I personally usually skip it myself. Not this time - wish I had more! Looking forward to eating the top on my one year anniversary!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheri
Wedding:
6/28/2014
4.2/5.0
We wanted a unique cake and they did that to perfection and very reasonably priced.
The cake made our day.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dawn
Wedding:
6/28/2014
4.6/5.0
This is our bakery. It's accross the river and a 45 minute drive each way, and still we go there for every event where the cake is important. We had 7 different flavors of cake for the wedding, one a family recipie that had to be altered to size, and they did them all wonderfully. The cakes were deliscious and devoured (not so typical at weddings). I must comment that the person at the bakery that handled the orders was a bit rough and we never got promised call backs. We had to keep following up ourselves. On the day of the wedding the cakes arrived 2 or 3 hours late and when we called about when they would arrive (reception in progress) she would only say " they're on the truck. So, this is the best bakery in the world but maybe you want to pick up if possible?? The prices and the product are fantastic so it's worth a little extra hastle, just expect it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1396742090438-s
Sarah
Wedding:
5/10/2014
4.9/5.0
We loved our wedding cake from Homestyle Desserts! The flavor was amazing and our guests raved about the taste. The cake came out exactly like the picture I showed them from Pinterest - I was concerned they may not get it quite right because I asked for a light pink to white ombre for the icing, but they did a wonderful job and I couldn't be more pleased with their services! My husband and I can't wait until our one-year anniversary to eat it again!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
We are so in love with our wedding cake - we even took a slice of the cake topper already because we couldn't bear to hide it in the freezer for a whole year! It's THAT good! I have a feeling it's not going to make it into the freezer...

When we went for our tasting, we had such a great time! It was actually Superbowl Sunday so we got to see all sorts of really cute and creative cakes and cookies that were geared toward football. It was great! When you walk in, you are slapped in the face with the smell of glorious and delicious baked goods. I have not stopped talking about the bakery since February, and now that our wedding is over and we got to have our cake, we will continue to talk about how awesome Homestyle Desserts is! Do not go anywhere else for your wedding cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
April
Wedding:
1/4/2014
4.9/5.0
We ordered a cake for my daughters birthday celebration. The cake was absolutely beautiful! It looked exactly like the cake on the website and was delicious! My only objection, though not a major one, is that I had to go out and purchase the accoutrements myself: cake topper, roses, and ribbon.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kayla
Wedding:
10/26/2013
4.4/5.0
Cake was delious . I was please with the way it came out. It was chocolate with cheesecake filling. All our guests said they really enjoyed it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1326750101232-img0979
Jessica
Wedding:
8/17/2013
4.6/5.0
YUM YUM YUM. That's pretty much the only important thing when it comes to a cake.

This isn't the place that has TONS of options and flavors. They have vanilla cake and chocolate cake and about 8 filling options. We chose to have a 5-layer cake: chocolate cake, strawberry filling, vanilla cake, ricotta/cannoli filling, chocolate cake. The strawberry filling is like Junior's Cheesecake in NY - very fresh and delicious and the ricotta/cannoli filling is unlike anything I've ever had.

They don't use fondant either. They use a light, whipped icing that doesn't overpower the flavors of the cake.

From a visual standpoint, the cake looked exactly like the picture I provided. Very beautiful and even more delicious. Multiple wedding guests told us how much they liked it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacy
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Homestyle Desserts was the bakery of choice for Caterer and we are so grateful for that. They were able to recreate exactly what we wanted our cake to look like. The flavors during our tasting were absolutely delicious and even better on our wedding day! Most wedding cakes go to waste because they are purely for looks, but we wanted a cake our guests could enjoy and that's exactly what we got. Undeniably the best wedding cake we've ever tasted and our guests will attest to that. We can not thank Homestyle Desserts enough!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
7/26/2013
5.0/5.0
As part of our wedding package, our wedding cake was included if we went to Homestyle Desserts. Having read other reviews, we are excited and looking forward to taste testing some delicious cakes! We met with the owner, Rose who was open to our idea. As a sprinkle lover, I wanted to have sprinkles as part of our wedding cake. Rose took that idea and make it work in a way that would we would get our sprinkles and still look elegant. We tasted several options and chose the most popular which also happened to be the most delicious! In addition to the cake, Rose also offered a reasonably priced cake topper instead of purchasing the more expensive ones. It was great to have that option as it made for one less item to purchase from somewhere else. Our cake turned out beautiful and most importantly, it was delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
I loved my cake! All of our guests raved about how beautiful and delicious it was to eat!

The bakers at Homestyle are creative, talented, and reliable! Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leayn
Wedding:
7/19/2013
4.8/5.0
Our cake looked and tasted great! They did a very nice job of creating the look that we had wanted for our cake on our wedding day. They were very easy to work with throughout the entire process. We had two guests who were gluten free and they didn't have many options for them - small cookies. I would have preferred to have something else for them but it wasn't a big issue to me. Overall, they made this part of the process very easy for us.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mike & Heather
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Delicious cake perfectly made. They had everything exactly as promised. We slightly customized the cake and they had no problem accommodating us!! we highly recommend them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
We contracted with East Coast Yacht Cruises who uses Homestyle Desserts. We had a cake tasting with them and everyone enjoyed the cake at our wedding. It was beautifully designed and everything turned out perfect. My best friend's mom never eats wedding cakes because it's hard by the time you cut through it. However, she ate the whole piece and wanted more because it was so moist! I had to wrestle away our part of the cake to freeze from my mother-in-law who wanted some more!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Our venue provided a cake from Homestyle Desserts and it was absolutely delicious! Our initial idea would have cost us an additional $100 and we were unsure if we could work it into our budget but Julie was incredibly patient and willing to work with us while we decided on what to do for our cake. In the end, we had a 4 tier, round red velvet cake with cannoli cream filling that had all of our wedding colors in their "Chantilly" pattern. It was beautiful and absolutely delicious. All of our guests said that it was the best wedding cake they had ever tasted!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerri
Wedding:
4/27/2013
4.1/5.0
Our initial meeting with Homestyle Desserts was a bit underwhelming. We had an appointment, but it seemed like we were an inconvenience. She handed us a binder with cake designs they had done in the past and just suggested we pick one of them (but of course said they could change details to match our theme/colors).

The cakes we tried were good but nothing that screamed that we NEEDED it. Since we were trying to stay within our budget, and the cake was included with our wedding package at our venue (who did say they cakes here were great!) we did chose a cake flavor and design for our Wedding.

When the cake arrived to the venue on the day of our wedding it was perfect, and fit with our theme perfectly! Neither my husband or I had much more of the cake than what we fed to each other during out reception but friends and family raved that it was delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bobbi
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Homestyle Desserts was the exclusive cake provider for our caterer. When we met with Rose she could not have been any nicer and helpful with the selection of our cake and design. We brought our snowboarder and skier cake topper with us to the tasting and she suggested we put snowflakes on 2 of the layers and ribbon on the 2 remaining layers and when we walking into the ballroom on the day of our wedding we could not have been happier. I was worried because sometimes wedding cakes can be dry and tasteless but not Homestyle Desserts the cake was so moist and delicious we could have eaten the entire cake ourselves. We received so many compliments from people saying it was the best wedding cake they had ever had. Thank you Rose!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Evelyn
Wedding:
8/19/2012
4.9/5.0
At the end of the night,my husband and i kept hearing about how delicious the cake was.People were disappointed that they couldn't have seconds!!!Our cake was vanilla,chocolate and almond paste.We loved the flavor during tasting and were please that everyone else also enjoyed it.We would definately order a cake from this business again,even though it is not close to us in terms of convenience.My one issue was that we had sketched out a design we wanted and it was not executed exactly as we had wished The cake was pretty and unique but if our sketch had been followed to the letter it would have been even prettier.Instead of faxing our design i would have taken it in person to make sure our vision was understood.I would recommend this business to family and friends.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1305131252830-winter2011cruise2011190
Allison
Wedding:
7/21/2012
4.2/5.0
Our wedding cake came from Homestyle Desserts in Peekskill. We went to the bakery for a tasting, and we weren't totally thrilled with the service we received but maybe that had something to do with the fact that we had paid for the cake already through our venue, so we were just there to pick it out and they weren't going to make any extra money off of us (although they could have if they wanted to). Their service might be a little off-putting, but they make an amazing cake - it was beautiful and lasted all night long, plus it tasted amazing. Everyone was still talking about how great it tasted! I would definitely recommend them, but don't expect them to have a shining personality!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1339379572495-fbavatar2478687
Randi
Wedding:
6/2/2012
4.0/5.0
This business was able to meet with my and my husband 2 weeks before our wedding, we were able to test taste samples and received help on how to pick out our cake (design, flavors, decor). The cake came out looking so nice on our wedding day. It tasted good too! Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sara
Wedding:
5/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Their cakes are hands down one the best in the area! The staff is professional, attentive, and friendly. They created the most beautiful cake I have seen. The color and flavor was amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jillane
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Rose made us an absolutely beautiful cake (designed based on a picture I brought in) but even more importantly, the cake was DELICIOUS. We got chocolate and vanilla cake with cannoli and chocolate mousse filling, with whipped cream icing. The cake was to die for. It looked beautiful and tasted amazing - so glad our venue recommended them b/c it's probably the best cake I've ever eaten.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg2
Catherine
Wedding:
3/10/2012
3.8/5.0
First off: THE CAKE WAS DELICIOUS. It was actually moist, it was actually what we ordered, it was decorated exactly as I asked, and it was SO, SO, SO TASTY. (And, if you work with Patriot Hills Golf Club, the cake is included in the cost of the reception!)

That being said ... going to the Bakery for the tasting is kind of scary. The bakery itself is a store, and quite busy -- the desserts there are to die for. BUT, the actual tasting and conversation with the back-room staff there was less than romantic. We were less than confident about the standard of hygiene at our tasting (i.e., cake samples just left out on a counter, with slices just being chopped off of them for us and another couple to nibble from), and the woman we talked with was total smokers'-voice / gruff / a little bit intimidating. She was perfectly kind; just ... a tad gruff.

They will not have every cake-flavor available for you to sample. Your order will be scribbled on a piece of paper, and you will not feel confident that they will file it away in a safe place. You will call the Bakery about 2 weeks before your wedding to see if everything is going smoothly and if there's anything else you need to check in with them about, but you will not receive a phone-call back. You will wonder, the morning of your wedding, whether the cake will arrive on time, much less be the cake you actually ordered.

But then, at your reception, you will see the cake, and you will see that it is EXACTLY what you asked for -- they did EXACTLY what you wanted from the photograph you gave them. Then, you will taste the cake, and it will be SO GOOD that you wish all your guests weren't there, and there was no special thing called "The Cake Cutting," and there was no photographer, so that you could just shove your face into the entire thing and chomp your way from top to bottom. And then, you will be sad that you were too busy greeting guests to actually EAT your slice of cake. And finally, you will be devastated that the top tier was given to your mom, who took it home that night and shared it with your entire gathered family, who gobbled it down at 3 in the morning.

THAT is how good the cake tasted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LoriAnnB
Wedding:
12/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Homestyle Desserts created my dream wedding cake. It was totally gorgeous, and even more delicious. People gave us so many compliments. The owner was a sweetheart and a pleasure to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
FallWedding2011
Wedding:
10/14/2011
4.1/5.0
A little rough around the edges as far as professionalism goes but the cake turned out amazing! And it was soooo delicious! We loved the taste so much we went back to get baked treats for Thanksgiving.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1301581739907-img0166
Jill
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.9/5.0
I have to say it was the best wedding cake I have ever had. Everyone at our wedding was asking for a second piece there was almost no left over cake. We had the canoli it was fabulous. I would highly recommend Homestyle Desserts.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1261792084425-cimg3012
SandDD
Wedding:
9/30/2011
4.6/5.0
Our cake was included in our venue package. I’m not from the area so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I was worried at first when I saw the binder of example cakes that they had at The View but I felt a lot better once I saw the great reviews.

We tasted a few cakes (not a ton) and all were very flavorful. The bakery is pretty lively on a weekend (when we went) but I loved the family business aspect of it. We did the double temptation, which was SO good. On our wedding night, everyone was blown away with how good the cake was.

Don’t get worried by the old-school cakes they show on the website. I googled a few buttercream styles and asked for a lace-like design. The cake looked extremely elegant!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1303996845358-233
Shelli
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
Our cake was fantastic - exactly as we pictured and tasted great. Our wedding was at the Thayer Hotel and the cake was part of the package, but I would have picked this cake even if I had to pay extra. It was one of the best cakes I have ever tasted, and looked beautiful. It was delivered right on time. We also did a groom's cake, and they were able to do just what we wanted. Highly recommend their cakes.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
7/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I got married at The View on the Hudson and part of the contract was to get my cake through this bakery. The cake was very pretty, we received several compliments at the wedding, but more importantly it tasted AMAZING. I have a big sweet tooth so the fact that the cake looked good AND tasted good was a big plus
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melandjerry
Wedding:
6/11/2011
4.9/5.0
Homestyle Desserts in Peekskill was the vendor affiliated with my catering hall for my recent wedding. We went for a tasting and chose vanilla cake with cannoli cream for our wedding cake. It arrived at our venue early, looked absolutely beautiful and was delicious! Highly recommended!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1307670285765-angela1
Regina
Wedding:
5/21/2011
4.2/5.0
I received my cake for free through the package I booked at my venue. There was a very long wait for my cake tasting, but other than that, I have very few negatives. The cake was both delicious and beautiful. Considering that I allowed my husband to choose the filling (I didn't think I would like it!) and I wound up loving it, I have a lot of praise for their ability to provide delicious cakes! One of the sugar flowers did begin to "drip" pink down the cake, but that could have been from a temperature issue within the venue. Overall, it was a beautiful cake that I received many compliments on. Delivery was perfect and I had very little need for communication with Homestyle as they took care of everything. I did call once for a recomendation on what type of cake topper would look best, and their opinion that for my particular design a monogram topper would be best was right on. Anything else would have looked silly. Overall, a good experience!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deb
Wedding:
4/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Worked with my own ribbon I provided and made a beautiful, delicious cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg5
Sue
Wedding:
4/2/2011
5.0/5.0
I printed out a picture of the cake I wanted before meeting with Rose (the owner) She said she could re-create the cake no problem, and she absolutely did. I decided to let the florist add the flowers to the cake since we were having orchids, and I didn't know how they would hold up at the bakery for a few days. I would have probably liked the cake a little more if the florist would have added a few more flowers, since it looked kind of sparse.. (I started thinking that the bakery might have made it look exactly like the picture I provided) but it was still very beautiful and it tasted absolutely delicious!
Everytime I open our freezer and see the top layer of that cake sitting in there, my mouth starts to water.. I seriously want another piece! lol.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
3/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Homestyle Bakery may not look like much from the outside but they are serious competition when it comes to dessert. They were so lovely when we went for the tasting and really helped us pick out something that we would love but that would also have a universal appeal with the guests. They could not have been more on the money. Everything was great that day but the cake truly was the best part. It not only looked beautiful but tasted amazing. We had a little bit of everything…vanilla, fudge, cheesecake, whipped cream, etc… sounds crazy but TASTES GREAT. We have the top tier frozen and saved but I want to order a mini cake to recreate the day! I wanted another piece that night but there was nothing left.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
roseann
Wedding:
10/24/2010
4.9/5.0
Absolutely beautiful and delicious!! I loved it and actually wanted another piece of cake the day of my wedding even though I was too busy and never got a chance. My cake was a cannoli cake and it melted in my mouth. Me and my Husband went to the bakery a two or three weeks before the wedding and the workers were really nice, and very busy. The woman helping us choose our cake let us try different types of cakes and was very nice. Guests will definitely be pleased. I'm definitely going back there to buy some more treats and birthday cakes in the future.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1274821622442-es23img0833
Bethany
Wedding:
10/23/2010
4.6/5.0
Our wedding cake from Homestyle was included with the cost of our venue and we were very happy with the cake. I described the cake that I wanted and they made it exactly as I asked. It was beautiful! I've received so many compliments on the cake. It was delicious too!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
10/16/2010
3.8/5.0
Let me first say that the cake was fantastic and the people at this bakery know a lot about wedding cakes and what can/cannot be done. They have a good idea of style as well, and they have a great reputation when it comes to their baking. The issue we had with them is that when we went for the tasting, we did not feel like valued customers. Our cake was included in our package with our vendor, so all we had to do was pick out the kind of cake we wanted. When we went for the tasting, we spoke with someone who helped us out for a little while, but everything felt rushed. Once another customer needed her assistance, we were ushered to another person and had to retell our design and whatnot. We only had a few kinds of cake and were told to choose. It just felt very rushed and unprofessional. We were unsure everything would work out. Now to be fair, the cake looked and tasted great. But we both thought there could have been problems, since it just wasn't as smooth as many of our other vendors.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
10/15/2010
5.0/5.0
I am obsessed with cupcakes - always have been! So when my now husband and I started talking about a wedding there was no doubt in anyone's mind we would be having cupcakes instead of a cake. We met with the women at Homestyle Desserts in Peekskill and they had all kinds of beautiful ideas for our fall wedding. The best part of that day, however, was the tasting...YUMMY!! They were so easy and fun to work with and told us that anything they did in a cake they could do in a cupcake! We decided upon the traditional chocolate and vanilla, and added my favorite RED VELVET!! And then they brought us something AMAZING...something we had never tasted before....a unique cupcake called "Almond Delight" with marscapone cheese filling and brown sugar on top. Unbelievably Yummy! We received a reassuring phone call the week before the wedding confirming our order and they were delivered plenty early the day of the wedding. Just one more thing that made our wedding day perfect and worry free!! BONUS: they are the bakery used at Bear Mountain and the cake is included in the price per person!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gingern2010
Wedding:
10/9/2010
3.0/5.0
Homestyle Desserts Bakery was the recommended vendor for our reception location...We made an appointment for a tasting during the week since we live out of town. They didn't act like it was a big deal, but when we showed up we were clearly "in the way." The flavors we tasted were disgusting and I was very disappointed. I asked about an almond cake, Julie brought out their almond crunch cake and it was delicious, thankfullly. I brought a photo in for the design and they assured me they could recreate it, which they sort of did, but the design quality was not as polished looking as I was expecting. I can get past that. What I will forever be annoyed and embarrassed that photography documented, is regarding the size of the base. They ASSURED ME SEVERAL times the base would be 14" in diameter according to the number of guests...I asked if I should get a 14" stand for it and they said yes. Well when we showed up to the reception, there was my beautiful cake stand with an 18" cake base perched on top of it. It looked absolutely ridiculous!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Seriously, they should've just put my stand away and told someone about the mistake. It clearly looked pathetic. Oh well, the one flavor we tasted was great and the price is right here, but I will always be disappointed in this aspect of my wedding. :(
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KrisNY
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
Homestyle's cakes are the best! Our wedding cake was included with the cost of the venue.. and luckily, it was from Homestyle. Right from the tasting, we were impressed with their cakes. And, the wedding cake totally lived up to our expectations - fresh, moist and so delicious! Plus, it was so beautiful! Having the cake included with the venue, we were worried that flavors or design would be limited, but it really wasn't!
So many guests commented on our cake and asked where it was from- people are still talking about it. Also, if you need another fun dessert for your reception or rehearsal dinner, try their cannoli chips & dip!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
9/4/2010
4.4/5.0
We had our wedding cake and pastries provided by homestyle and they did a wonderful job with the cake and the pastries were delish. I highly recommend them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ziesal
Wedding:
8/22/2010
4.8/5.0
Yum! People keep calling me and talking first about the cake! It was so delicious and so beautiful. Homestyle made the cake exactly how we described it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
The New Mrs
Wedding:
8/1/2010
4.0/5.0
Our reception site uses Homestyle Desserts as the included wedding cake. We wanted to do a 'cupcake cake' with a small cake on top for cutting. It was absolutely gorgeous! They provided a really pretty stand and we requested our top cake be lavender colored, which turned out beautiful. The cupcakes were greatly enjoyed by all of our guests, and they each got their own! We opted for the almond mascarpone icing and it was wonderful. The only negative is the two women who run the place are a little gruff and you have to kind of push them for some answers but in the end everything turned out wonderful so can't complain :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NurseChris
Wedding:
5/22/2010
4.6/5.0
We were told our venue uses Homestyle for their wedding cakes because of the quality of the product. We called to schedule a cake tasting and received a prompt appointment. Upon arriving to the bakery, we waiting over 20 minutes even though we arrived only 3-5 minutes early. We were offered coffee while waiting. Surprisingly, we had to walk behind the counter and through the bakery to get to the back. We were within feet of cakes being prepared. It just doesn't seem so sanitary. Also, the lady who assisted us in making the decision on the cake was a little unprofessional when she stated that my cake will look bad if I used my wedding colors on the cake. BTW - our cake was GORGEOUS and delicious even with our colors as accents! The cake was extremely tasty. If you can get past the tasting and not think about how many 'tasters' walked past your cake while it was being prepared, I would recommend Homestyle.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
5/8/2010
4.9/5.0
When it comes down to it I wanted a delicious cake and it was!!! Everyone is still commenting on how good the cake was!! At most weddings I have been to no one talks about the cake. It was perfect. Yummy!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
esully326
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Homestyle Desserts did a wonderful job. I was quoted varying prices from many different bakeries for what I believed to be a very simple wedding cake. Not only did I get the best price from Homestyle Desserts but the cake was DELICIOUS! I just wish I had been able to sit down and eat more of it the night of my wedding! I highly recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jennifersusan
Wedding:
7/19/2009
4.2/5.0
Homestyle Bakery has a partnership with our caterer, Patriot Hills. We wanted to have cupcakes in lieu of a traditional wedding cake, and they had no problem with our wishes. The taste was incredible... we chose a mix of chocolate, vanilla and red velvet cupcakes with a tiny cake for the traditional cake-cutting ceremony.
We only had two issues - the first was that the cupcake stand was made of narrow tiers, which made it wobbly. Also, while the cupcakes were decorated with daisies, as requested, they were perhaps not as polished-looking as we would have anticipated for a wedding.
However, where most wedding guests barely touch a slice of wedding cake, our cupcakes were a hit, and very few were left over!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
7/3/2009
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was included with the cost of our reception hall and we couldn't have been happier.
We met with Homestyle to do our tasting and loved everything so much, it was hard to decide. We were told that we could just combine different flavors to get what we wanted and that is exactly what we did!
We decided on chocolate cake with cheesecake & chocolate mousse and it was absolutely amazing!!! We received so many compliments on both the taste and the desgin of the cake. This is one great bakery...one I plan on continuing to use!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melnterry
Wedding:
5/22/2009
4.2/5.0
Homestyle bakery did our wedding cake and it was great. the style was exactly how we designed it when we first met down to the coordinating ribbons. the cake itself was phenominal; vanilla & choc cake with cannoilli filling! awesome cake indeed!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
metsmay
Wedding:
5/16/2009
3.7/5.0
We used this bakery because it came with the package at the reception site. First visit was bad we didnt feel like we were important at all theyhad us stand behing the cash register to do our tasting. Second time we were brought to back for proper tasting cakes were very good disgust cake with more detail. In the end it came out very nice and taste great. We got many compliments on the taste and look of the cake. Would recommend but be pushy so you get what you want
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Macapasso
Wedding:
5/15/2009
4.9/5.0
What can i say, except that our cake looked amazing & even tasted even better; we selected a white cake filled with fresh strawberries, cheesecake & whipped cream.....sooooo good, everyone loved the cake, This cake was included with our package with our catering hall & were so happy it was.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stella
Wedding:
5/3/2009
5.0/5.0
They made a wedding cake look so beautiful. On my wedding day I felt bad cutting this magnificent work of art. But I am glad I did because it tasted delicious. It was so creamy and fresh. We vowed to get all our cakes from this bakery. Any bride and groom should definitely go for a tasting at Homestyles Bakery. You will be completely satisfied; and so will your wedding guests.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lexandmike
Wedding:
11/2/2008
3.8/5.0
A cake from this bakery was included in our package with Cortlandt Colonial, our wedding venue.

I would love to give Homestyle a better review, since our cake was beautiful and got rave reviews from our guests. However, there was one slip-up that made things difficult for me and my groom.

I cannot eat wheat, so we had planned with the bakery to have a regular cake for our guests, and a wheat-free cake for me and my groom. They were very accomodating. We brought them the flour to use and a recipe.

Everything would have been fine, were it not for the fact that, when actual cake-cutting time came around, there was no wheat-free cake! It had been made, but not delivered to the wedding venue. This was a major oversight, since we'd really been looking forward to our cake, and my groom was perhaps more disappointed than I was that I could not have cake at our wedding (I'm a bit used to being unable to have such things, as you can probably imagine, but he is very sweet and never wants me to be deprived).

The catering hall did their best to make up for it by giving me a tray of rice pudding and other wheat-free desserts, which I really appreciated. They, and not the bakery, get the credit for my having been able to have dessert on the wedding day.

As for the bakery, we were able to pick up our cake from them the next day, and it was delicious (and we froze some to save for our 1-year anniversary). I am very grateful to them for accomodating my special dietary needs--I just wish that we'd been able to have the cake the day before.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tanisha
Wedding:
9/12/2008
4.6/5.0
My wedding Cake was beautiful, delicious, and so very, very affordable. I searched around and found very expensive, overpriced cakes, and this one was just perfect. They deliver and you can pay them over the phone, very easy. Loved it!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cch30918
Wedding:
8/22/2008
5.0/5.0
Homestyle made a beautiful cake but more importantly they made a delicious cake!! At most weddings I have attended in the past I know guests pass on cake, yet at my reception guests actually ate the cake and requested more!!
Homestyle's employees were so very helpful and extremely flexible since I slacked a bit on my cake selection, they were willing to rearrange their schedule so that I could have a tasting... Although I never met them in person, I spoke with representatives who advised me on flavor selection and were very pleasant to do business with!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cjj28
Wedding:
8/9/2008
5.0/5.0
This vendor made our cake as part of our contract with the reception hall. We had the chocolate cake with cheesecake layers. It was delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1235935213140-aleeswedding
Alees
Wedding:
5/24/2008
4.8/5.0
Homestyle Desserts was the vendor that did the wedding cakes for our reception hall. We met with Julie, a few months before the wedding for a tasting. We were a little nervous as we really didn't have a choice as to what bakery would be putting together our wedding cake, but we were not disappointed. Julie was incredibly professional and worked with us on every idea we had. The cakes were incredibly delicious and sinful! On our wedding day Homestyle Desserts did not disappoint! Our cake was both beautiful and delicious. The only small issue we had was that there was an up charge for a square vs. a round cake but once we saw the cake it was well worth it. Thank you to Homestyle Desserts for a fablous job!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justine
Wedding:
5/18/2008
3.8/5.0
The cake was absolutely delicious and beautiful. We got so many compliments on how good the cake was, better than most other weddings people had been to. They were not very polite however and they put flowers ontop of the entire cake so we couldn't put our cake topper on. Also, the color came out pink NOT peach like we had disscussed being a concern for us.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
9/15/2007
5.0/5.0
We gave them a photo from a magazine of what we wanted and they matched it exactly! Also, the cake itself was YUMMY. Highly recommend and will go back for any other cake/pastry needs.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
James
Wedding:
8/16/2007
5.0/5.0
The cake was delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jodi-Marie
Wedding:
5/19/2007
5.0/5.0
A few months before our wedding, we went to Homestyle Desserts and tasted several different cakes. However, it was not hard to choose the chocolate cake with chocolate moose and cannoli filling. They also decorated it exactly like the picture we gave them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1209573325663-uswithcar
Michelle
Wedding:
5/18/2007
5.0/5.0
I know it's biased, but by far, the best wedding cake I've ever had. My mom, then-fiance, sister and mother in law came with us to the Homestyle Desserts bakery in Peekskill. They took a lot of time with us, gave us samplings and worked with us based on our overall theme.

I sent ribbon that my florist provided and the cake arrived and was perfect. We got tons of compliments from our guests.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NewYork0608
Wedding:
7/15/2006
4.2/5.0
We used this bakery because our catering hall, actually included as part of their package, but we still got to go to the bakery (40 min. away from our reception hall) to pick out our cake and icing. Choosing a cake is always fun and we were really looking forward to picking out our cake. But when we got there we were a little disappointed by the space for tasting the cake. We were kind of in the middle of the kitchen with many bakers whizzing around us. They gave us small slices of the cakes that we were interested in, which were all delicious. We chose our favorite flavors (2). These were then the flavors of different layers in the cakes. Later our florist spruced up the cake with a beautiful flower arrangement. On the day of the wedding it was both beautiful and tasty! Then a year later we pulled out the part that was saved and frozen-- and it too had kept it's flavor. It was still delicious!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brandi
Wedding:
11/18/2005
5.0/5.0
they are friendly and their cakes are so yummy!! i loved their stuff so much during the tasting i ended up buying a whole bunch of stuff to bring home.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1171843960112-flowers
Annmarie
Wedding:
8/20/2005
4.8/5.0
CHOCOLATE LOVERS This is a must have cake.... Chocolate cake, with chocolate mousse filing with a ganache icing on the outside. It was a three tier cake with chocolate on chocolate design.... Every dish was clean, when have you ever been to a wedding where every cake dish was empty. You can schedule a taste test at the bakery. It was very affordable and certainly everyone remembered the cake..... We ate the top tier on our one year anniversary and it was as delicious as the first day we ate it. It's like having a piece of heaven.... Not too sweet it was just right.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Cake was delivered on time and was both beautiful and delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Homestyle Desserts made us one of their special wedding cakes.I loved the traditional look the flavor was very fruitful and delicious.Loved working with them It was always nice going into their bakery for the tasting and seeing the interesting designs on their cakes.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Homestyle Desserts was the recommended bakery through our venue, and we were glad it was! The wedding cake we ordered was not only beautiful, but delicious, too! The cupcakes and cookies we ordered also tasted amazing and looked gorgeous! The cake we wanted had sheet music around the middle layer (The Beatles' "Across the Universe") and Homestyle Desserts did such a fantastic job of making our dream cake into a reality. Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.4/5.0
Cake was great in taste but the cake was not what i sat, researched and picked out after an hour/ half and paying extra money to get what i wanted so I was highly annoyed and needed to let them know.. the manager took care of it when i came back and returned my money with apologies.. apparently the photo of cake wasn't attached to the order form, therefore the person who made the cake did not know what style or cake i picked out..
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1368817536880-avatar
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.3/5.0
After sitting and discussing cake pick for an hour, the cake delivered the day of the wedding was not what i ordered it to look like as in design and color scheme. There seemed to be a bit of distraction with children in the business behind the counters. The desserts and cakes taste great. So make sure there is photo of chosen cake along with your order form! :) it was a mishap and the customer service upon my return to notify of the error, the owner worked with us correctly and above.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
Everyone raved about how moist and delicious the cake was and how beautiful it was!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.5/5.0
They were part of my wedding package and although meeting with them for the tasting can only happen on a Saturday morning, that was my only issue. I did like the taste of my cake and the presentation was gorgeous and proved that they listened at our meeting
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
24 S Water St, Peekskill, NY 10566 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Homestyle Desserts
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220