130x130_sq_1351046233518-weddingphotolakeside12.jpg

Horning's Hideout

North Plains , OR
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

21277 NW Brunswick Canyon Rd
North Plains, OR US 97133 (map)

PHONE

503-647-2920

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Let us provide to you and the one you love the perfect venue and setting for your outdoor wedding ceremony and reception! Choose your own personal wedding site from three separate and... Read more
Let us provide to you and the one you love the perfect venue and setting for your outdoor wedding ceremony and reception! Choose your own personal wedding site from three separate and distinct areas, with all areas offering spectacular and picturesque scenery. Whether it's an area with a large wooden stage at the lake waters edge framed in by trees, or along the lake with an area featuring a 160 feet long waterfall feature, or an area nestled in the woods along the creek, all are at a very affordable cost. Because we are secluded in a beautiful canyon, even though you're just 20 miles west of Portland you'll feel like you're in an enchanted world that is all your own.

Each area is very large, and included in each are 80 chairs and 10 movable tables (with linens), two 10' x 20' tents, an arbor to use as you wish, electrical power and a covered area with a dance floor. The tables seat 10 people per table, leaving extra tables for both the cake and the reception table. If your wedding needs more tables and chairs this can easily be arranged, for our smallest area can hold at least 300 people,

For all of this Friday through Sunday in the summer months the areas are only $2,150! During the week, Monday through Wednesday, the areas are only $1,650! The prices for weekend weddings in the Spring (before June) and in the Fall (October) are also $1,650. If you need extra seating, which includes chair, table and linens, it is only $7 per seat. For example, for 150 people to be seated you would need an extra 70 seats, so it would cost only $490 extra. Also for your convenience we hold Thursdays open any time after 4 PM for rehearsals at no extra charge, and for those that have a Friday wedding date you can start to set up on Thursday, a half day extra for free!

Most wedding ceremony and reception facilities only rent for a few hours, but not here. We understand that your wedding day is one of the most important and meaningful days of your life, so here it's your wedding day and not your wedding moment. So when you reserve an area at Horning's Hideout for your wedding it's yours for the entire day, from 10 AM till 10AM the following day! We can offer this because we have a camping option available. Each area has its very own large, private group camp site where you can stay till 11 AM and is available for $5 per person.

People are surprised with all we provide for such a low cost, but as a family operated park our philosophy is that we don't think that families that are just starting out should have to go into debt their first day together! We have done many weddings, so if you have any additional needs we can be a very useful resource to help you with your planning. We now also offer a minister on site if you need one! Here at Horning’s we pride ourselves on having all the basics ready for you to make your day as stress free and as wonderful as possible. We don't do catering, but we do have a list of caterers if you need one. Alcohol is allowed, you just have to provide insurance. You can get this through home owners insurance or through these web sites: www.wedsafe.com or www.galescreek.com.

Horning’s Hideout is very unique, so you, your family and friends can relax and spend your entire wedding day creating memories, decorating the area to your liking, enjoying romantic walks on our forest trails, taking paddle boat rides and soaking in the beauty of our forested canyon paradise!

We are always here, so we are available for tours almost at any time. Please give us a call at 503-647-2920 or email bob@horningshideout.com and let us help you make your special day most memorable! (These prices are for 2014). Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1351520318060-weddingphotolakeside17.jpg
130x130_sq_1350507257036-weddingphotolakeside12
130x130_sq_1395500402108-c
130x130_sq_1395500437110-c
130x130_sq_1351691174542-ww1
130x130_sq_1395499913018-200-3
130x130_sq_1395500239883-200-4
130x130_sq_1351691459972-ww13
130x130_sq_1351694954682-ww7
130x130_sq_1351694499132-ww22
130x130_sq_1350507259919-weddingphotostage6
130x130_sq_1351694414971-ww18
130x130_sq_1351694365698-ww16
130x130_sq_1350577201930-weddingphotocreekside3
130x130_sq_1351691250808-ww5
130x130_sq_1351696736810-ww27
130x130_sq_1351520179297-weddingphotolakeside16.jpg
130x130_sq_1351009002079-bathroom
130x130_sq_1351009039931-insidebathroom
130x130_sq_1350507254139-weddingphoto19
130x130_sq_1350507255420-weddingphoto20
130x130_sq_1350577178190-wed28
130x130_sq_1350507258671-weddingphotostage4
130x130_sq_1351691205169-ww2
130x130_sq_1351519944626-weddingphotolakeside15.jpg
130x130_sq_1351691435657-ww12
130x130_sq_1351691352546-ww9
130x130_sq_1351691276541-ww6
130x130_sq_1351696721211-ww26
130x130_sq_1351696705228-ww25
130x130_sq_1351694445180-ww19
130x130_sq_1351691411559-ww11
130x130_sq_1351694532252-ww23
130x130_sq_1350577694002-blogphotoframe2newwings
130x130_sq_1350577699195-blogphotoframe15
130x130_sq_1350577704936-indieweddingmusicdance7
130x130_sq_1350577189838-wed67
130x130_sq_1350577697646-blogphotoframe13
130x130_sq_1350577703882-dsc5573
130x130_sq_1351519884473-weddingphotolakeside11.jpg
130x130_sq_1350577700747-blogphotoframe19

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1983
When was your venue last renovated?
2013
Describe your venue:
Farm / Barn, Park / Zoo / Natural Space
Describe the style of your venue
Country, Garden / Romantic, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
700
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
No
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
2150
Bar Service
Outside vendors welcome
Beverage Service
Outside vendors welcome
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Roshny
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding on Saturday June 21st 2014. We used the Creekside area and loved everything about it. My husband fell in love with the place at first sight and after all was said and done, I was head over heels for this venue as well... not to mention they have some of the most beautiful wild peacocks I've ever seen! AH!

We have nothing but positive things to say about our experiences here. From day one, we were welcomed and treated with kindness and respect. Bob Horning really knows his business and is incredibly approachable and always willing to help in anyway.

We were lucky enough to secure our date early enough and then 6 weeks or so prior to the event we were told that no other wedding would be held there the Friday before so we were able to set up before we had expected. We did our rehearsal Thursday, light set-up on Friday, event/wedding Saturday, and clean-up on Sunday. We were very fortunate to have this available to us as I am incredibly type-A about these things and everything came out perfect... better than I expected really.

The renovations that they did on this area were beyond belief! The new awning is perfect and HUGE! We have more than enough space for everything we want to do.. and the nice thing was that if it had rained on our wedding day, we could've easily set up all 14-16 tables (10 people at each table) that we had wanted to set up underneath there.

Everything was so perfect and magical. We couldn't have found a more perfect place especially since we were trying to give our many out-of-town guests the true Oregon experience, with all the green and tall trees, that we wanted to give them.

Horning's hideout is also incredibly affordable. We walked away with a bill that was less than $2900 and that's after we added 105 more chairs. Unreal!

Thank you for this place Bob! We couldn't have asked for a better location for us and hope that future couples love it just as much as we did.

Roshny and Ricky Martuscelli
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was perfect and more incredible than we could have ever could have expected. Our wedding was fully outside in mid Oct so we were gambling a bit but Bob was great and supportive through the whole process. He worked with an outside rental company to get us a tent for all of our guests and helped us decide on the placement of it to allow for the best flow (and for us to save a little money, which is refreshing in the wedding industry). In the days leading up the wedding he was very responsive to even the silliest of questions and was around on the day of to continue to answer them.

During our wedding we had some trouble with a bus company that we hired to bring our guests out. The driver did not want to drive down the hill and Bob went up there and talked to him and supported us through the whole ordeal, above and beyond for sure!

This is a great spot and I am excited to go back and visit and relive our wonderful day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lacey Rose
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
We just had the best day of our life and we owe a lot of it to Horning's Hideout! We couldn't have asked for a better wedding experience!! Everyone who sees photos posted asks where the pictures were taken, commenting on the beauty of the property. All of the crew went above and beyond to make our wedding day perfect. It was nice to see the owner's face throughout the day making himself available when we had questions. I couldn't imagine the amount of work they must do while still being available by phone and email quickly for all us demanding wedding planners. We were lucky that there weren't weddings surrounding ours, so they let us set up early and clean up late with no extra charge and acting like it was no inconvenience to them. All the crew made me think that anything we needed was of the highest priority. Some other great reasons we chose Horning's Hideout: We were able to have a live band, our DJ could play all night as long as the music was turned down at a reasonable hour, we get the site for 24 hours so no kicking everyone out at 9 or 10, we had private camping so people didn't have to drive late or drunk, we could roast two pigs on site, the ceremony site and the reception site were different places, they handled all the table and chair rentals at a reasonable price, lots of electricity, clean bathrooms, free parking. I could go on! It was so nice to have such a comfortable experience on our wedding day, like we got married in our parent's back yard.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lanette
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Horning's Hideout was exactly the right venue for us. It was beautiful, rustic and relaxing. Bob Horning was fantastic to work with. Asking us the right questions and making sure the day went off without a hitch. So grateful to have found this venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sasha
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married on September 1st at Hornings Hideout lakeside area. We had originally scoped it out and reserved our spot in January. The space is beautiful, there is a lot to work with. A nice covered area with tables, chairs,a grill, a dance floor, and plenty of electrical outlets. There is a small lawn next to it where we set up some games. There is a nice small waterfall, a little pond, and the beautiful lake. There are also some very nice, clean tiled bathrooms. That was a nice surprise, I thought there would just be porta potties. I'm sure my grandmother was glad too. They provided a large (canvas?) tent that my friends and I got dressed in.
Bob was wonderful to work with. The week leading up to the wedding I had lots of questions about random things that I couldn't remember. I would email him and he would get back to me within minutes. They set up signs at the location to direct our guests where to go. He checked in on us multiple times to make sure things were going smoothly, and even brought us his ladder to use since we forgot ours.
We had a wonderful wedding day. The expense seemed very reasonable considering everything that we got. Not having to worry about tables, chairs, and linens was really nice. I also knew that if it did happen to rain, Bob would be able to connect us with people to get rain tarps. We had lots of fun decorating the space. We partied into the night. I think about 20 people camped overnight, it was nice to have that option. In the morning we served coffee and pastries and fruit, and took all the decorations down. Bob said we didn't have to rush because there wasn't a wedding that day.
We had a wonderful experience at Hornings Hideout and I would definitely recommend them:)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brideklb
Wedding:
7/11/2010
4.8/5.0
Horning's Hideout is the greatest value for your money if you're looking for an outdoor venue. Bob is so easy to work with and just makes everything go smoothly.
Like already mentioned, included in the rental price is an arch, chairs, tables, and tablecloths for your guests. At the lakeside portion, we had 80 chairs and 10 tables. We also had two paddle boats reserved for our guests to use, which was so much fun. Horning's Hideout is a beautiful place I intend to return to again and I highly recommend it for the DIY bride. If you need someone to do everything for you, its probably not your kind of place as you are required to set up all the tables and chairs.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
7/7/2012
4.7/5.0
The venue was beautiful! I would recommend this wonderful site to anyone looking to have an outdoor wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sisterstella
Wedding:
7/3/2010
4.4/5.0
Horning's was a phenomenal find for our ceremony and reception. We chose the creekside location, which had multiple possible ceremony areas and was very comfortable. The price gets you the location for 24 hours, plenty of tables, chairs and tablecloths, and garbage/recycling pick up twice. We had several friends who decided to camp there and they loved it. And because no one had booked our location on Friday, Bob gave us access for all of Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday... for no additional cost. The peacocks living on the property were a huge hit, for pets and kids alike. ALSO, we had two folks in wheelchairs, and were able to drive wherever we needed to-- the only challenge was that the outdoor bathrooms were not fully accessible.

All in all, this was a drive, but a beautiful one, and we we thrilled with our choice. We will return for years to come, hopefully one day with our kids.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Horning's Hideout responded with the following comments:

As of the beginning of this year, 2012, all our bathrooms have been replaced or upgraded. All bathrooms are now handicap accessible, fully tiled and very, very nice. See pictures on this web site.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrew
Wedding:
9/29/2012
4.3/5.0
Beautiful location and fairly easy to find, made our wedding day that much more perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ming-Min
Wedding:
6/14/2008
4.3/5.0
We chose horning's hideout because we wanted an all-in-one venue that reflected the beauty of Oregon for our wedding. We had our ceremony at the creekside location (they have three sites on their property), where we also had our reception. Guests also had the opportunity to camp out in the semi-wooded surroundings afterwards. Bob Horning was very friendly and professional in response to our inquiries and had our site in great shape for our wedding--he beefed up the wiring so it was no problem for all three bands (jazz trio, punk rock, rockabilly) to play. Also, I appreciated their flexibility: we had originally booked the lakeside location but when we came in to look at it, decided we liked the more private creekside site better. There was no problem in switching! If you want an idyllic outdoor location for your wedding, consider looking to Horning's Hideout. It's a bit of a drive, but very pretty and a good value for your money.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1234415055222-kheknotshortretouch1
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/20/2009
3.4/5.0
We searched and searched for outdoor venues for at least a couple months before we came across Horning's Hideout in North Plains, Oregon. The Hornings own some beautiful property located down in their very own canyon. There they have a good size lake, with fishing and paddle boats, camping sites, and a herd of peacocks they care for.

The site has three options for weddings: the stage, lakeside, and creekside. We chose the stage because it was the largest area (we had about 100 guests), and also provided a back-up space on the stage if the weather was inclement. The stage is also along the lake, providing a beautiful backdrop for our photos. All our guests could not stop talking about how beautiful it was out there.

Bob also provides the wedding couple with an arbor, 100 chairs, 12 banquet-style tables, and 12 white tablecloths, included in the cost of renting the venue. He is very lenient when it comes to set-up and tear-down, allowing you to start decorating on your rehearsal day, and taking down the last decorations the day after (as long as there aren't other events scheduled).
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
21277 NW Brunswick Canyon Rd, North Plains, OR 97133 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Horning's Hideout
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo