130x130_sq_1369256879896-allison--dave

Hot Wax Entertainment

Richmond , BC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Richmond, BC CA V7E 2K3 (map)

PHONE

604-649-6919

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Hot Wax Entertainment is a Vancouver British Columbia professional wedding and corporate DJ service, that has been in the business of getting people dancing for over 28 years. Referred... Read more
Hot Wax Entertainment is a Vancouver British Columbia professional wedding and corporate DJ service, that has been in the business of getting people dancing for over 28 years. Referred at over 20 venues in the Lower Mainland, and providing dj entertainment at over 350 events a year we have tailored our services and built a team of polished DJ's to breathe life into any event.. We offer Dance Lighting, LED dancefloors, LED Uplights, Photo Booths, video projectors,screens and Karaoke.

Book your event and recieve a 1 night complimentary stay at the River Rock Casino Resort.(some conditions apply)

For more information, visit our website at www.hot-wax.com

Also, feel free to check us out on facebook at facebook.com/hotwaxentertainment


604-649-6919 info@hot-wax.com Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1367964082877-img1406
130x130_sq_1367964296848-uplights-2
130x130_sq_1367964758092-photo
130x130_sq_1367967162387-photo-booth-props
130x130_sq_1367964885981-bliss
130x130_sq_1367964551840-uplights-and-scrim-kings-1
130x130_sq_1325326244389-hotwaxwedding180x1202
130x130_sq_1325326307780-pmh1xmas0008
130x130_sq_1367963943377-hot-wax-van

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Pop, R&B, Rock
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Everything was fantastic! My sister can't wait for her wedding in August now because she has Hot Wax booked too. The dance floor was packed all night, and we heard from multiple people that they or their partners "never dance," but were dancing up a storm on Saturday. There was definitely something for everyone!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matthew
Wedding:
4/27/2014
5.0/5.0
The DJ was very easy to work with. The weather made it a bit of a challenge and we didn't make up our minds up of an indoor or outdoor ceremony until the last minute but the DJ did everything we needed him to
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Half of our guests were Latin. Half the songs we chose were Spanish songs. Elliott made sure he found all songs to make everyone happy. Doug was great! He was so friendly and very professional.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
From the first phone call, I knew I was dealing with professionals. Hot Wax is friendly…approachable...knowledgable and very helpful. I am the Mother of the Bride plus this was my first wedding so I had no idea what to expect and I was delighted this part of it was so easy. I am very detail oriented; I spend hours researching and Hot Wax was the best decision I ever made. Elliott, the owner, has been in the business for 30 years and he will share his knowledge enthusiastically which I appreciated. Hot Wax delivered exactly what they said they would…no surprises, no letdowns…just a great night of music. My daughter and fiancé (now husband) sent in their favourite songs and Hot Wax took it from there. The mix was absolutely perfect. There was music for all ages and every age was up dancing. I could tell our DJ, Ashley, thoroughly enjoys his work. He was happy, approachable and so friendly. Thank you Hot Wax for making my daughters wedding so perfect. Thank you for making it so easy. Would I recommend Hot Wax….in a New York second!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tai
Wedding:
4/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Hot Wax Entertainment took care of the music for my wedding and they did a fabulous job. They are the preferred vendor for the venue we had our reception at (the UBC Boathouse in Richmond), and I completely understand why! We planned most of our wedding from over seas so we didn't actually have the opportunity to meet our DJ before the event, but we had numerous helpful and informative communications with Elliott in the months leading up to the wedding.

We gave them a list of songs we really wanted them to play, and some examples of things that we really wouldn't like to hear and the music that they played fit the bill perfectly.

Hot Wax was professional, easy to work with, and extremely flexible. We would highly recommend their services to anyone! :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Had DJ Doug at our wedding a couple weeks ago and he was awesome!! The music was great and he kept the dance floor busy!!

He also helped keep us on track for the cake cutting, bouquet toss and garter toss!

I also thoroughly enjoyed talking with Elliot and Ozzie - they were great to chat with and they were super helpful with song ideas, as well as getting some of the songs we requested if they didn't have them. I would highly recommend them.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caryn
Wedding:
2/9/2014
5.0/5.0
HotWax was amazing!!!
We took full advantage of their DJ and photo booth services
While Mike rocked the DJ booth and Elliott and Jordan manned the Photo Booth they totally made our wedding even more exciting
Everyone both young and old enjoyed the music and dancing and all we're thrilled when the photo booth opened!!!
Elliott - keep up the good work, you and your team are absolutely AMAZING
Services Used: DJ, Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
After the first dance, and the father-daughter dance, the party started. The dance floor was packed from start to finish. The music selection was bang-on. We have received so many compliments on the celebration. No one had ever been to a wedding where the dance floor was so full! You even had our oldest guest, verging on 90, up dancing for as long as he could! They worked with us in advance of the wedding, and were so helpful, talented and wonderful the day-of. DJ Hot Wax played a big role in the success of the evening. Would definitely recommend them for your event!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We were extremely happy with them. We had DJ and photo booth and both were great. I wanted to play my own songs and the DJ was very respectful to that. He got all my songs and he didn't play anything else unless I gave him the permission to do so. He also played requested songs after verifying with me that it's ok. The quality of music and sound was great.

Photo booth was also great. People had an amazing time and it was a great thing to do for the wedding. They had two copies of all the pictures printed instantly. One for us to keep and one for the guests. But they also provided us with all the digital photos just 2 days after the wedding.

Overall, we're very happy with their service and strongly recommend them. Keep up the good work!!!
Services Used: DJ, Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dianna
Wedding:
11/15/2013
5.0/5.0
My guests had so much fun, they commented on how great the music was during the meal and the rest of the night. The dance floor was filled the entire evening.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Hot-Wax is definitely the only way to go when hiring a DJ for any kind of event. Their music catalogue is vast, and if they happen to not have a specific song you want, they will go out of their way to get it o the playlist for you. Hot-Wax was so attentive in the weeks leading up to the wedding; returning emails and phone calls almost immediately. That kind of customer service is very hard to find.
We hired them for our wedding and had no complaints whatsoever about any aspect of the night. As soon as the music started, the floor was never empty. Chuck, our DJ, was so accommodating and clear with his voice, so everyone knew what was taking place at that time of the evening without feeling like they were being ordered around. He wasn't cheesy and was more than happy to change up a song if someone really wanted to get their groove on to something in particular. Also, the super cool lighting system they provided made for the most beautiful atmosphere!
Planning weddings, or any special events, are very stressful. It's a relief to know that if you hire Hot-Wax, the music AND the lighting will be taken care of from start to finish, and you can eliminate concerning yourself over, at least, those aspects. A big 5 out of 5 for Hot-Wax!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tim
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Hotwax was the dj for my wedding and they were fantastic. This is who you need to go with if you are looking for a professional company that is there for you and your guests. They weren't kidding when they said they were here to make sure the event was done properly. They had every detail taken care of and prepared before the event so come wedding day they had no questions and ran the event flawlessly. While corresponding prior to the event they would reply to my emails almost instantly...and most often followed up with a personal phone call. It felt like they were sitting at their computer waiting for my questions :-)
Our crowd likes to dance but they did such a good job of playing the right type of music for everyone that they had family and friends on here dance floor that I have never seen dance before.
I also made the decision to use them for the photo booth. It was run extremely professionally, the photo quality was top notch, the costumes were entertaining and overall it added an element to the wedding that guests never expected but loved. I would also recommend paying the little extra for the book as I used it as my guest book and it makes for a phenomenal memory that I will cherish for ever.

Music is key to a wedding and they nailed everything from the entry songs down the aisle, to great lounge music during cocktail hour, to first dance, to packing the dance floor all night. Almost every guest has contacted me post wedding saying how much fun they had and how great the music was.
Services Used: DJ, Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gerrie
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Just awesome. Everyone enjoyed the dinner music as well as the dance portion of the wedding. Company is very professional and great to work with, very flexible and accommodating. Would highly recommend Hot Wax for any functions.
Gerrie and Noel
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tim
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
DJ Hotwax was amazing and played a huge role in making the wedding a success. They were in constant contact prior to my event and made me feel extremely comfortable that the music end would go off perfectly (and didn't disappoint).
They nailed everything from the ceremony to the reception. They were spot on when it came to playing all the proper intro music, to the first dance, to the last song of the night.

I would also recommend using their photo booth. The quality of photos and guest enjoyment was a pleasant surprise and it really was worth the extra money. I would also recommend you purchase the guest book as it is going to be a memory that will make me smile for the rest of my life.

Top notch company and well worth every penny
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Farah
Wedding:
9/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Even though I was a bit taken aback by the initial price quote, I must say that it was worth every penny!
While a lot of the indie/electro songs we had picked for our wedding were not available (eg. Sigur Ros - Hoppipolla, Death Cab For Cutie - I Will Follow You Into The Dark, Daft Punk - Robot Rock [though they have some other Daft Punk tracks], Bright Eyes - First Day Of My Life), we were given the option of having Hot Wax purchase tracks or us supplying them as mp3 files on a USB. We chose the latter option+it was quite painless to ensure we had the music we wanted.
One thing to note is that if you are really into music the way we are+kind of picky about what gets played (ie. there was NO Top 40 at our wedding), then you may want to talk to Elliott from Hot Wax about using a club DJ as opposed to one of their wedding DJs. BUT we had Chuck, who is a wedding DJ play+we gave him our "must play" music on MP3 on a USB along with house, hip hop, indie/electro tracks that we wanted&he was GREAT. The music was exactly what we wanted - we did put most of the music we wanted onto a USB ourselves, but that's because we were being a little control-freaky about what was to be played. Our friends+I attend concerts and house DJs a lot, so we wanted to dance to music we all loved. If you aren't that picky, Hot Wax's music library will definitely suit most weddings, they have quite a good selection!
Our DJ Chuck was super friendly+professional. He was early, had our mic for the outdoor ceremony all set up+was going over all the music we had put on the USB stick during dinner (so hardworking!) Because Chuck spent that time listening to the music we'd put on the USB, he knew what to mix. He also noticed something from our wedding day schedule that was different from what was announced+came to tell us. It wasn't even a music-related element, but he noticed!
We had a great experience, worth every penny! THANK YOU, HOT WAX+CHUCK!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jillian
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Wow! Thank you to Elliot and team for such a fun time. From our ceremony right down to last call, I didn't have a worry in the world. Our DJ was amazing and personable, came up and introduced himself to me right away and let me know that if I needed anything at all to just let him know. We also arranged our photo booth through Elliot and are so glad we did. Their team came in, set up, took down, and we didn't have to worry about dealing with yet another vendor. It was so much fun and all our guests had a blast.

I would highly recommend Hot Wax for any event! Thanks again!!
Services Used: DJ, Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Teresa
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Booking Hot Wax for our wedding was the best decision we could have made for the night! He kept the dance floor packed the ENTIRE night!!! He was great with our requests and gave us heads up on key songs so our photographers/we could be ready - we would absolutely recommend Hot Wax to anyone else looking for a DJ and we will definitely use them again if we ever have a party that we want to keep going all night!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sean
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
We booked through a referral from our caterer. This company was awesome. They required very little instruction from us or our planner and pulled the event off without a hitch! We had some specific instructions for our cake cutting and first dance which they executed flawlessly! Our dance floor was never empty from 9:30-1 ..... The song choices were a great mix for everyone and no drastic changes from one genre to another. The DJ doesn't interrupt the music or event at all and was extremely low maintenance.

Thanks again Hot Wax Team!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Our guests were on the dance floor the entire night. Totally recommend their services. Great job!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
5/31/2008
5.0/5.0
Our Wedding was held at a heritage hotel with no central dance/entertainment area. Hot Wax arranged a location that was accessible for our guests and supported by the hotel owners, the lobby. Shortly after the last toast, Hot Wax had everyone up and dancing to 'Don't Blame it on the Sunshine' with choreography and all!

I would highly recommend Hot Wax Entertainment to you if you are looking for a DJ company that cares what they do, delivers what they promise and is creative. I would have never of thought we'd be celebrating in the lobby or end up dancing in sync down the stairs. Hot Wax made our special day memorable for everyone and that meant a lot to us.
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jesse
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
The high ratings may seem like effusive praise, but that's an accurate reflection of our experience with Hot Wax Entertainment. Owner Elliott Kipnes was incredibly easy to deal with. He provided a product at excellent value compared to what's out there, he responded quickly to all our inquiries and was flexible with changes, even with just a few days to go before the wedding itself. The DJ arrived on time, and despite us being over 40 minutes late to get the dance party going, he was still ready and willing to go when he was asked. I would highly recommend Hot Wax Entertainment to anyone.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
James and rachelle
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
The dance floor was shouting for more music at the end of the night..... that says it all
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrew
Wedding:
8/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Loved how unbelievably attentive and energetic these guys were! We had a small event... only 40 or so people, but they had every person from every age group on the floor dancing...

Super professional, wildly entertaining, and naturally gifted on the mic... they made our event.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colin
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
We hired Hot Wax for our wedding and we couldn't of been happier. They showed up on time, hit all cues, kept the dance floor packed and provided unexpected surprises like glow sticks. I highly recommend them for any event that needs music.

Thanks Hot Wax!

Colin and Laura,
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rika
Wedding:
8/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Hot Wax has excellent customer service; Elliott responded to my inquiry within seconds even though it was midnight :) Oh, he is so good in giving people best deal too!

Our DJ, Mike, was very professional and easy to work with. He did all of our special requests and kept the dancing floor occupied with his awesome music choices. He was also very aware of timing and made sure he kept himself involved. So many guests commented on how they loved the DJ!

Overall, I would rate them 6 out of 5 :) HIGHLY recommended. Period.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danae
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
We felt very relaxed with such a reliable and trusting company
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jake
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Elliott and Ozzie were wonderful, personable people to work with. They delivered exactly what we asked for and our wedding guests were entertained all night. Thank you for working so closely with us to meet our wedding DJ needs and thank so much for making our wedding reception such a great hit!

Jake & Krisitn
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
John
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Elliot was a huge help to us whenever we had questions he always had answers. He helped my bride pick out the perfect entrance song and I had not a worry through the entire wedding process regarding my dj (this is a huge deal). I would recommend hot wax to anybody I know
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dave
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Hot wax entertainment did not disappoint, on a wedding day there's so much to deal with, I never once worried about the music. Very professional and engaging I would recommend hot wax to anyone looking for a DJ for there event.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa & Dave
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
We were so incredibly impressed with Hot Wax at our wedding. We got married at UBC Boathouse in Richmond and Hot Wax was the only preferred vendor for DJ Services and for good reason. I had multiple custom songs that e were wable to send to Hot Wax and they seamlessly integrated them into our ceremony. They played background music through dinner and then really go the party started in the evening. They listened to our input and entertained the crowd all night. We had the dance floor covered until the very last song and I am so happy they were a part of our wedding!

Mel & Dave
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
7/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Hot Wax was an outstanding DJ service. The online set up makes it easy to pick the important songs and their years of experience meant that they knew just how to keep our guests entertaining and on the Dance Floor. Our dance floor was never empty and many of our guests left saying "it was the best party they had been too" Hot Wax went above and beyond to help us make our special day fun for all our guests. If I could give more than 5 stars I would!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Keegan
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Very professional and great to work with. The DJ was on time, and kept people dancing all night. Hot Wax added to a great event.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Regina
Wedding:
7/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Hotwax made my wedding a dream come true. not only did they play all the songs we want and more, they provided a fun atmosphere for all my guests of all ages to really enjoy themselves. they provided amazing uplights that tied my room together with my canucks theme! one word: priceless!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
They were wonderful! Exceeded my expectations. My guest had a great time and couldn't stop talking about how great the music was. My MC was super impressed with how chill and corropertive the dj was with him. Would highly recommend.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matthew
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
They were very accommodating for our wedding. They provided video and audio equipment and were able to put in some gaming music I wanted in our ceremony. They tried their best to also feature Just Dance on the Wii for our wedding dancing after the dinner. They are very professional and I would recommend them as the DJ of choice.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
5/24/2013
5.0/5.0
You guys were awesome! Everyone was up dancing right until the very end. The Venue even had to comment on the fact that they rarely see that many people up and dancing at the end of the night like that. We all had a blast, and that goes for the photobooth as well! It was so much fun, everyone was talking about you guys, so thanks Hot Wax!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eitan
Wedding:
5/19/2013
5.0/5.0
People didn't get off the dance floor till they kicked us out! I was extremely impressed and happy with Hot Wax! I will and have recommended them to friends and family already.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Braydin
Wedding:
5/19/2013
5.0/5.0
From the beginning we could tell that these guys knew what they were doing. They had all the songs we wanted, and were very easy to work with. After speaking with them multiple times, it was clear that they really do care about what they do, and that they want to make your night the best.

The dance floor was literally filled the entire night of our wedding. Not only was the music great, but the photo booth was a huge hit, and the lighting was perfect. Our guests did not stop raving about the night.

We've attended numerous weddings over the past few years, and the other DJ's have got nothing on these guys. Highly recommended!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1368662822885-davenicoleengagedhighres-15
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
best DJ service out there!!! there prices are awesome, and what they include in there packages is great! they really do work with you to make your day a success! they provided incredible music and lighting! i had a blast and my guest told me the next day they were all sore from dancing so much!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carlie
Wedding:
4/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Hot Wax makes your wedding day so unforgettable!!! All of our requests and expectations were met over and beyond! Our DJ Taylor just knew what song to play to keep the crowd entertained and Elliot provided unbelivable customer service through out all our planning up to the day of the wedding. Would highly recommend hiring Hot Wax!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Very professional operation - the dj's read our crowd very well and everyone was up on the dance floor - thanks so much for contributing to a great evening!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mike
Wedding:
3/18/2013
5.0/5.0
I have nothing but great things to say about Hot Wax Entertainment! Ever since the first phone call, Elliot at Hot Wax was nothing short of professional and extremely friendly. He was easy to get a hold of when questions needed answers.

Elliot spent a great deal of time with us on the phone to make sure that the songs and timing of the songs were just perfect. This made us feel extremely comfortable during a stressful time in our lives.

DJ Mike was awesome! He rocked the venue and played all types of music to satisfy all age groups. His timing during the ceremony was perfect! We didn't even know he was there.

If you want a professional, courteous, trust worthy company to DJ your wedding or party I HIGHLY recommend Hot Wax Entertainment. Trust me, you won't be dissapointed!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liesa
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Thank you for providing us with a fabulous DJ for our wedding! We are still getting feedback from our guests about how much they enjoyed the music and dancing. We appreciate your flexibility when planning our event and how accommodating you were to us. You kept our guests dancing until it was time to leave! We will definitely be recommending you to our friends and we will be booking you for any events we have in the future! Thank you!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marlo
Wedding:
2/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Can't say enough good things about our experience with Hot Wax. They were awesome!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jacqui
Wedding:
2/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Elliott and Ozzie were amazing. They helped us prior to our wedding putting us in touch with other vendors. They had terrific ideas and suggestions to make our day perfect. The music was excellent and the guests didn't get off the dance floor.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
I wish I could communicate to brides and grooms how important an awesome DJ is. The budget balancing is fresh in my mind but, let me just say, investing in Hot Wax is worth every penny. Our ceremony music and sound was flawless, even though the timing was delayed -- the DJ just seamlessly looped the perfect track and then was still on cue to throw to my bridal precessional. At the reception, I made the DJ work for his money but requesting intro songs for out of town guests. Timing was perfectly executed. We had surprise dances with secret entries, all involving the DJ and their perfect timing again. When the formality was over and the party began, the dance floor was packed and people begged for 'one more song' when we tried closing the evening.

With Hot Wax, is as much about what they did to prepare before the wedding as what the did at the wedding. They were on cue with everything because they did their homework in advance. Total pros from beginning to end.

Also, thanks for introducing us to the dance lights for the reception! When I heard the term "dance lights", my imagination threw back to the 90's and those Much Music Video Dances at high school.... but this was not the same thing. They were very classy and addd a beautiful ambiance and colour to the room during the party. Loved it!

I really don't think there's a better choice than Hot Wax. Really!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Craig
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
One of the most special days of your life is your wedding day and planning such a day can be very stressful. One stress that we did not have to worry about was the music because we retained the Services of Hot Wax Entertainment. From the first phone call with them to the end of the evening on the day of the wedding everything was seamless! Elliot was extremely professional on the phone and took care of all the details behind the scenes, from booking to billing to making sure all the important song choices for the first dance, to the Father-Daughter Dance to the last song of the night were chosen and ready to go without worry.

Hot Wax is also a one stop shop for DJ and photo booth, and what a great option that ended up being. I was skeptical at first but my Wife was insistent and it turned out to be the right choice. We got come great shots from the photo booth and our guests had something to do and enjoy while the wedding party was getting our photos taken. The photo booth came with props, an operator, each guest got a copy of the photos and in the end we got a disc of all the pictures take that night. What a great decision that ended up being. I would suggest the photo booth to anyone who is getting married or just having a party as is a great way to get some candid shots of your guests.

I would recommend Hot Wax to anyone looking for a DJ for any occasion, their professionalism from start to finish, booking to DJ on site was second to none and having been a Cruise Director on a major cruise line I know what it takes for a DJ to be able to appeal to everyone at a party. The DJ did a great job from set up to set list with no complaints from the venue, or any of the guests. He went to work read the crowd and filled the evening with great music and a fun vibe.

When you are looking for a DJ, invite “Hot Wax to your next party”, you won’t be disappointed!
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
L & M
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Highly recommend Hot Wax!! Elliot and Ozzie were very helpful right from the beginning and Taylor, our DJ, was professional and accommodating all night long!! Our friends and family danced the night away!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eric
Wedding:
8/17/2012
5.0/5.0
The staff at Hot Wax were amazing. It was smooth sailing from day one. It made our wedding less stressful having to deal with a company that is professional and personable. We had the photobooth which was the hit of the party and the DJ had the whole crowd dancing from beginning to end. Many compliments to Hot Wax as they had a bunch of our guests saying it was the best party ever.

Eric & Helen
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dale
Wedding:
8/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was great. We had a huge variety of guests, all different ages. The DJ was awesome. He mingled with the guest to find out if they had any favorite songs they wanted played. The bartender at our wedding commented to us that this was the first DJ in a long list of weddings that the dance floor was always full. We recommend them to everyone.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melinda
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Elliot at Hot Wax was amazing to deal with! In the months leading up to our wedding he was very helpful with providing additional information and recommendations. The hot wax site is also very user friendly and has a HUGE database of songs to look at (which can be helpful when your mind is tied up in planning mode).

He was EXTREMELY prompt with responding to all of my emails and calls and took the time to ask questions so that he could match us up with most suitable DJ for our style.

Our DJ Chuck was also fantastic and really helped us with a few hiccups throughout the day. The music was fantastic and everyone had a great time!

Thanks so much Hot Wax - we would recommend you to anyone!

Warren and Melinda
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I have attended a few events with hot wax as the DJ, besides my own wedding. They always go the extra mile to ensure everything runs smoothly and everyone is having a great time! Definitely would recommend them to anyone getting married!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brenda
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
We appreciated Elliot and Group on their professionalism, friendliness and flexibility with the needs of the wedding. The evening went smoothly. They were seamless and provided the right music at all different time points throughout the day. Easy and fun to work with. Just made our event exceptional.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anita
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Elliott and Jordan were awesome! The dance floor was packed all night! Leading up to my wedding day, Elliott was very helpful and super nice! I would definitely use hot wax again for future functions! Love them!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ksharpe21
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I was so impressed with Elliott and Hot Wax. They are professional, relatable and affordable! My guests were dancing well into the night to all of the best music out there. The DJ was approachable and friendly. We were considering an "iPod wedding" but after speaking with Elliott, we decided to go the DJ route and we are SO happy we did. Not one bad thing to say about these guys!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay and Dave
Wedding:
12/29/2008
5.0/5.0
While our wedding was almost 5 years ago (in Kelowna, B.C.), we are still getting comments from our guests about how wonderful our party was. Hot Wax made this happen. I saw people dancing that I know have never stepped foot on a dance floor. Elliott and his crew were professional but very personable, handling all our requests and making suggestions based on their own expertise. Everyone stayed until the end of the night - even our photographer stayed longer because she kept getting great shots of everyone. Anyone can hit play on a stereo but if you're looking for an event that your guests will remember and comment on years down the road - Hot Wax is what you're looking for.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sylvia
Wedding:
8/25/2013
5.0/5.0
We had Mike DJ our Wedding and he was awesome!! He was responsive to our crowd and played the songs on our "must play" list as well as a bunch of music that kept everyone on the dance floor the whole night. We had several people come up to us during the reception to tell us how fantastic the music was! Elliott was always responsive to emails, which I also really appreciated. Thanks Hot Wax for an amazing addition to our Wedding Day!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/21/2014
4.9/5.0
I just wanted to thank you (and more specifically, Larry the DJ) for an awesome party on Saturday night at the West Van Yacht Club. Our wedding was a huge success, and we received many many compliments on the DJ. He judged the crowd perfectly and everyone had a blast. I have never seen my mom and dad rocking out so hard on the dance floor like I did on Saturday night. The DJ was fantastic to the bitter end and then some, as he abided by the crowds wishes to play “one more song!” twice over.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
christopher
Wedding:
12/1/2013
4.9/5.0
From the first song of the night till the last, Hotwax kept our dance floor packed all night!!
We met with Elliot and told him exactly what we wanted and Hotwax delivered!!
There is a reason why Hotwax has been around for so long and continues to be the elite company for parties. They are professional and easy to deal with. And most importantly they play all the right music to ensure that your party is tons of fun!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
R
Wedding:
8/4/2013
4.9/5.0
Hot Wax provided DJ services and did the lighting for our wedding at the Stanley Park Pavilion. We are so glad that we decided to go with Hot Wax as they were flexible, willing to provide suggestions regarding lighting, and open to our ideas regarding music. They even agreed to meet with us on short notice at our wedding venue a few months beforehand to help us decide on lighting for the event. Our guests had a great time at the wedding and have been continuing to ask us about the DJ, several months later. It was a tough crowd, but our DJ, Ashley, managed to keep people dancing all night!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kiran & Sean
Wedding:
7/28/2012
4.9/5.0
I've read the other reviews here, and yes...they are on the higher end of pricing when comparing DJs for your wedding. However, if you have been to other weddings and seen what happens when people try to save a few bucks on DJs, you'll see the mess that can happen. If you think about it, the DJ is running 2/3 of your reception in terms of time. Why would you trust that to some guy with an iPod and a couple of speakers?

Anyway, if you hire Hot Wax what you are getting is 100% professional service that you don't have to worry at all about (and isn't that what everyone wants when planning a wedding). They return emails and phone calls promptly, are easy to work with, they are super flexible on the big day, and most importantly they keep people moving on the floor. DJ services are a dime a dozen, but good ones are rare. Hot Wax are one of the good ones, so paying a little "extra" is worth every penny!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathryn
Wedding:
9/28/2013
4.8/5.0
The DJ was amazing and totally dialed into the crowd- very easy to work with and deducted to make sure me and the groom were pleased. DJ was responsive to requests and read the dance floor better than I could have imagined. Very very impressed and all our guests were as well.

We had particular requests for processional and cocktail/dinner and the DJ was very amenable- definitely recommend hot wax they were such an epic addition to the night and set a great vibe.


The only deduction was in value because we supplied our own playlists and iPods for cocktail hour and dinner so we were essentialy renting their equipment but it was well worth the money to have someone manning the station and making sure the sound was clear and cues were followed.

Stop your vender search for DJ (I did a lot of research) and use hot wax!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
When looking for a DJ for our wedding, HotWax was recommended to me. They were the quickest to get back to me and I liked their music selection process prior to the wedding. I was very happy with the music provided and we had a great DJ. We ended up with some time constraints during our wedding reception and he worked very well with the emcee to make everything run smoothly. He was super flexible when it came to making changes in the running of the event. The music was great and lots of people told us it was the best wedding they'd gone to- mostly because of the dance-party!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
It was a pleasure working with Hot-wax entertainment during the months leading up to our big day. The song list on the Hot-wax website made the whole process of selecting songs for different parts of our wedding reception very easy. Hot-wax was very professional, flexible and made every effort to create the ambiance (relaxing and comfortable) that we wanted. They accommodated three specific Chinese song requests as well as specific instructions for shortening certain songs. Overall, we're very happy with the Hot-wax's friendly and high quality service. The whole experience was simple and stress-free because of their down-to-earth and attention to detail. It was one less thing among many that we had to worry about!

On the day of the event, DJ Larry showed up on time and had everything prepared by the time the reception began. All the songs were played on cue and the crooner music was delightful during the dinner service. Even in a large ballroom, all our guests could hear the music during our slideshow and the first and second dance. Everybody was happy and people danced the night away with a great mix of classics and more recent top 40 hits. Many thanks to DJ Larry for a relaxing and fun night!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
8/10/2013
4.8/5.0
From the get-go, Elliott was a pleasure to work with. He had good suggestions and was very flexible. Elliott also ensured that he had the songs that I had requested for the ceremony (and he ended up having to buy these off of iTunes at no extra charge to us, which I appreciated).

I cannot say enough good things about DJ Mike - he was incredible at reading the crowd, and he kept the dance floor packed from 10pm to 1:30am. We had 150 guests and had only expected about 30 people to stay for the dancing portion. At midnight, we counted maybe 60 people on the dance floor, and I can only think that this is a testament to the music. I would highly recommend DJ Mike, and the Hot Wax team.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jimmy
Wedding:
8/10/2013
4.8/5.0
id recommend these guys to any venue they are great and on time..thanks for everything
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
8/10/2013
4.8/5.0
Wonderful. Fantastic. Excellent! Didn't have to worry about them for a moment! They nailed it all!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
Liam was our DJ and was great! He was polite, professional, and personable. It was fun to have someone so enthusiastic about music. Our guests were very impressed he was spinning disks!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carol
Wedding:
5/11/2013
4.7/5.0
On behalf of Phil and me, and everyone who attended our wedding reception at the UBC Boathouse, we want to extend a huge thank you to Elliott and Ozzie. They were very easy to work with and even referred us to previous clients that gave us ideas to help plan our wedding. Job well done! DJ Mike was fantastic. His attention to detail was phenomenal. He played music suitable to the guests’ age range and taste in music. He really knows how to keep a crowd happy!
I would highly recommend Hot Wax Entertainment for your next gathering…big or small!
Carol & Phil
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
It has been 2 weeks since our wedding and we're still receiving compliments on how much fun the dance floor was! Taylor, our DJ from Hot Wax was not only a great host for the 'party' portion of the night, but he kept the dance floor packed because he knew the right music to play to keep our guests dancing (for 4 straight hours!!). Booking and coordinating with Elliott was a breeze! We had no problems what-so-ever. We also requested a specific hebrew song, "The Hora" be played to start off our reception and they pulled that off perfectly. Not only that, but we asked that speakers be set up in 3 different areas, with wireless microphones and they did that without any problems. As a bride, it was reassuring to show up and see that all my requests had been done without having to ask twice. It was important to us that our guests have a fun night, and Hot Wax was an integral part of making that happen...you can't put a price on that!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/26/2012
4.7/5.0
I absolutely LOVED having Hot Wax as the entertainment for our wedding as I knew exactly what I wanted and they were so flexible and provided me with what I needed. They have a great variety of music and they were very easy to talk to! They were there when we needed them and provided a fantastic service. I would recommend them to ANYBODY for ANY event!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
The price was great!
Everyone was dancing!!
The DJ was really great with the kids at the wedding who were very interested in DJing.
Mike was awesome!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
I highly recommend DJ Hotwax - they were absolutely exception in terms of service, responsiveness, and most importantly, they really made the party happen. It was fantastic!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
Elliot and Co were really flexible and responsive with new song additions up to two days before the wedding.
Occasionally, contact by email has a longer wait time then if you just call him directly.

The DJ is able to work with and take instruction from all the principal actors at the wedding. Sometimes, volume of the background music overwhelms voice during the speech.

Overall, price point and value compares with other vendors.
We were in general impressed with the service.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
It's a peace of mind knowing Hot Wax is behind the entertainment of the biggest night of our lives!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
poker queen
Wedding:
4/14/2012
4.4/5.0
We had seen this company at another event and enjoyed their entertainment very much and they were also recommended by our venue. Unfortunately, to get the DJ we wanted (the owner) they wanted to charge us an extra $300, which I think is ridiculous. Especially since they were the most expensive service I had contacted. We still decided to use this company seeing as how it was recommended by our venue, so we crossed our fingers and hoped for the best. They sent out a young man by the name of Ashley, who was totally amazing, and was a great asset to our event. There were things with our official dances that needed to be changed last minute, and he had great suggestions. In the end, I was thoroughly impressed with the DJ, the music, the sound, and the lighting and would highly recommend this company. Don't forget to ask for Ashley, and they don't charge the extra charge for him.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
teeny
Wedding:
9/4/2010
4.2/5.0
Hotwax did a great job with music at the wedding, reading the crowd and keeping the dance floor alive which is no easy feat sometimes. I was impressed with how the night went and heard good things from guests about the music. They are the most expensive DJ in Vancouver though so I would expect nothing less than perfection for the price I paid. I was disappointed when I tried adding an additional 30 mins of time and was told it would cost even more money. I wonder if I had included that 30 mins at the beginning of the negotiations if they would have charged me for it, so be sure of your start and end times before you sign the contract.
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
Richmond, BC V7E 2K3 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hot Wax Entertainment
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1369256879896-allison--dave