130x130_sq_1282322893660-ceremonydark

Hotel Derek

Houston , TX
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2525 West Loop South
Houston, TX US 77027 (map)

PHONE

713-297-4345

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

If style and sophistication are important to you as a couple, then do as the most chic brides and grooms do and book your wedding in Houston, Texas at Hotel Derek.

Our Bravo... Read more
If style and sophistication are important to you as a couple, then do as the most chic brides and grooms do and book your wedding in Houston, Texas at Hotel Derek.

Our Bravo Ballroom is one of the most highly coveted wedding ballrooms in Houston, with 4,800 square feet it accommodates groups of up to 360 for a seated dinner. And with a total of 10,000 square feet, we feature a wide variety of wedding venues in Houston, TX for everything from small intimate weddings to bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, and post wedding brunches.

Since Derek is known for urban sophistication, every detail of your wedding will be planned with élan. This is no cookie-cutter Houston wedding location and we welcome non-traditional couples who seek something truly extraordinary. From our décor to the table settings to the lavish menus, we do it all with an eye toward style, sophistication, and supreme elegance.

Houston wedding receptions here at Hotel Derek include:

• Extensive in-house catering services
• Complimentary Staging and Dance Floor
• Complimentary usage of our Hotel Derek specialty linen
• Chair covers and Sashes
• Custom Bridal Wedding Cake
• A complimentary suite on the evening of your wedding
• A dedicated wedding event staff
• Luxurious overnight accommodations
• Local area transportation

We also know and can recommend Houston’s finest vendors of everything from invitations to flowers and entertainment to ensure your wedding planning is as simple as possible. Additionally, we work with couples to provide a special group rate so that your out-of-town guests need only take the elevator to their room after your exciting nuptials and Houston wedding reception. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1282330253613-bravo1
130x130_sq_1282330249785-bgdancing
130x130_sq_1282330287082-pinkuplightroom
130x130_sq_1282330264035-chairsashandcovers
130x130_sq_1282330261160-bravogreenuplight
130x130_sq_1282330278472-groupdance
130x130_sq_1282330261457-cake
130x130_sq_1282330249332-b
130x130_sq_1282330278800-foyerbanquettes
130x130_sq_1282330284972-candybar2
130x130_sq_1282330330972-horsdoeuvres
130x130_sq_1282330325863-ceremonydark
130x130_sq_1282330330004-food1

REVIEWS

3.7
out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
2.7/5.0
3.7/5.0
3.8/5.0
4.1/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.8/5.0
We were told 7 weeks before our wedding that the hotel had incorrectly booked our wedding reception in a different banquet room that would not hold our number of guests - according to their marketing collateral. They actually asked if we were willing to change our wedding date!! They didn't even ask the other wedding if they could move. It was horrible!! They did not want to refund our deposit, but after going back and forth, they finally did. Fortunately, we found another location and had to send out entirely new invitations, etc. If you choose this vendor, CAREFULLY review the contract and ask lots of questions!!! Record all emails and phone conversations!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
helbo
Wedding:
10/22/2011
4.8/5.0
we loved loved the food as we were able to change the menu to suit us. The food was to die for. the chef did very well and loved the presentation of the te food. service was great.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1289672954211-dsc01148
Faiza
Wedding:
4/30/2011
4.9/5.0
Hotel Derek's staff, especially Stephen May, their Sales and Catering manager is outstanding. He was truly amazing and I could not have asked for a better coordinator at the hotel.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
B2
Christina
Wedding:
9/25/2010
2.4/5.0
I'd like to start of by saying that this hotel is gorgeous and I had liked them a great deal prior to my wedding experience with them.

We had a block of rooms for our wedding at Hotel Derek. For my Bridal Suite, they put us in a "suite" overlooking a parking garage. I asked for a confirmation number for my reservation and booked a room for another couple on my card. Following the wedding, we were told that while the other couple was booked that the hotel was full. It hadnt been when I requested a room for them.

Part of choosing Derek was because of its close proximity to our venue. We were ASSURED that Derek had a "large fleet of town cars and a stretch SUV" -- they would not allow us to schedule pickups or drop offs despite our asking on several occasions. We were told that due to their large fleet of vehicles they would be at our service and all we would need to do is call 20 minutes prior to desired pickup. For the rehearsal dinner they were ok. Following the wedding 5 separate people called multiple times (from 9-11pm) and the valet, front desk and many other departments failed to answer. The one time the valet did answer (around 9:00) they told us they'd be on there way and there within 20 minutes. That group of guests waited until 10:30 and then they cabbed it back to the hotel. We all ended up having to use cabs - ON MY WEDDING NIGHT, that they specifically knew about. When we got back to the hotel to make sure that our guests room was ready and get their keys (on our credit card) we were told that they were seen as scheduled/booked but there was NO room available. A manager wasnt available to discuss this or the valet issue. At check out we requested to speak with a manager and were told that the manager was unavailable. We spent an enormous amount on tips and for the drivers/valets and parking.

As I said, up until this experience I did like Hotel Derek. Now, I would highly reccomend using the Omni or Intercontinental. I would not use Derek for any event(s) or accomodations in the future unless we are able to have some kind of discussion with their management or any acknowledgment of their failure to deliver on agreements.
Services Used: Transportation, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CinCin090
Wedding:
4/24/2010
4.3/5.0
I loved having my wedding at Hotel Derek. It was beautiful and pretty stress-free since their event coordinator handled all catering the day of. They do require you to hire a day-of-coordinator to handle stuff not related to the catering of the event. Everything turned out as I had hoped. Everyone told me the food was delicious and it really is a great modern and contemporary space to hold your wedding. The event coordinator may be hard at times to reach. Sometimes I'll shoot her an email and won't hear from her for a few days to a week. But if I had to do it all over again, I'd definitely get married at Hotel Derek.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Houstonla
Wedding:
11/14/2009
2.2/5.0
It is true that Hotel Derek is a beautiful hotel. However, my husband and I are very disappointed in the service they provided. After signing the contract, they kept assuring us that everything would be taken care of and we did not need to worry a thing. However, about two months before our wedding, everything went wrong and we were even considering changing the venue.

The first thing went wrong was the room reservation for our friends and families. My cousin-in-law called the front desk to make a reservation, and the front desk staff was rude to her and told her she couldn't find the info of our wedding account. My husband called the front desk and was hung up by a staff when he asked to speak to the manager in duty. We were shocked that the staff members of a four-star hotel could be so disrespectful to the clients.

We informed the event manager Stacy about the situation. She apologized and told us that our wedding block would be taken care of by the in-house reservation supervisor Lisa. We submitted the names of our friends and families to Lisa and she sent back the reservation numbers and told us to either call or email her if we have any questions. We did have some questions so we emailed her back. However, we never reached Lisa successfully. She did not reply our emails and phone calls. When we tried to call her, she was always out of office. We sent numerous emails to her and never received her response. Until two days before our wedding, we were still trying to get the right arrival list of our reservation, and it was only for nine rooms.

The second thing went wrong was our meeting with the florist. Stacy promised that she would have somebody set up the table with linen in the ballroom for us to see how our centerpiece went with their settings. However, when we walked in the ballroom, there were only dirty tables from previous night's event. Nothing was set up for us so our florist had to show her centerpiece on a dirty table with no linen.

The third thing went wrong was when we found out our "discount room rate" for friends and families was a joke. After the first incident regarding the room reservation, Stacy dropped our guest room rate from $119 to $98. However, our friends found that on Hotel Derek's official website, the rate was $89 for the same date and the same room if you paid in advance. It was a huge embarrassment since we've told our friends to book the room through us to get the discount price. Later, Stacy explained to us that the $98 room rate included the service from sale manager (We believe this 'sale manager' is Lisa) to take care of our special needs. Until today, I still haven't figured out what kind of special needs we requested and how to make requests to somebody who ignored you completely.

If you read all the previous reviews and ratings, you will notice that their rating for "responsiveness" is very low. Yes, they are very slow in returning calls/emails/voice mails. In our case, they even delayed everything we need to sign (Banquet Event Order, Estimates of Bill, and the Final Bill), and only gave you a short amount of time to read/sign it.

In conclusion, we would NOT recommend Hotel Derek to anyone. We love the contemporary décor of the hotel, besides that, I can't think of anything that is worth noted. After all the time we spent on making things right, I can only describe the experience of working with Hotel Derek as frustrated and disappointed. If you are thinking of having your wedding there, think twice!

Update: We've tried to file complaints several times and no one took us seriously. After receiving the final bill and found out that there were still mistakes on the bill, we refused to pay until they fix it. Jessica, the director of sales and marketing, contacted us and apologized to us after reading all the emails sent between the event manager and us. She agreed to waive our final bill. However, somebody in the finance department still charged that final bill on my credit card WITHOUT MY AUTHORIZATION! As of today, three weeks after the wedding, this issue has not been resolved yet.

P.S. We kept all of our email communication with Hotel Derek regarding the incidents stated in my review. If you have questions, you are welcome to contact me via email: chrishe@venus.seed.net.tw
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
houstonbride
Wedding:
6/20/2009
4.5/5.0
Hotel Derek is a beautiful venue and the staff there is wonderful. Stacy, the current wedding event planner, is awesome. She and Rey, the banquet manager, made sure that each of our specific requests was met to the last detail. They produced our dream wedding reception for us and we could not have been happier! It was first class, very elegant, and we got so many compliments from our guests on the food and the venue. I felt like a princess the whole day of my wedding having to go in and out - the valets took care of our cars and kept them close when I had to run in, the front desk staff catered to our guests' requests, and made sure everyone was as happy as possible. Highly recommended!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1226510479981-alia&bryan(2)
achaudhry
Wedding:
12/27/2008
4.4/5.0
The Hotel Derek is a beautiful hotel. I feel in love with it the moment I saw it. The staff was great to work with. My only really big complaint is the fact that I had three different wedding coordinators. Every time I called to talk to one, they would inform me that she didn't work there any more. I never received a call or email letting me know of the change in personnel. The only reason I knew something had changed is that when I would email the coordinator, I wouldn't get any response. Once I made contact with the new coordinators, the communication was good. Stacy is the current coordinator and she did a great job in the short time she knew about our reception. The day of the reception, everything went very well with some minor issues due to the flower provider (not associated with the hotel). My husband and I were very happy with the results. The ballroom looked beautiful and the food was absolutely delicious. We were well taken care of that night!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1199636591244-picture446
Lana
Wedding:
8/1/2008
4.4/5.0
We loved the Derek! My only complaint was that they were a little slow returning phone calls and emails. But in the end, when it really mattered they came through! Our wedding was beautiful and every detail was seen to. They made it the best day! They staff was a pleasure to work with, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was perfect! They really know what they are doing and that gave me peace of mind, knowing I was in good hands!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
11/24/2007
3.4/5.0
Hotel Derek is a great venue for a wedding if you are wanting more of a contempory style. However, you must stay on top of the event planner to make sure everything is prepared the way you intended it to be. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and they are very flexible to meet your needs.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angelica
Wedding:
10/29/2006
4.4/5.0
We had our wedding reception at Hotel Derek and they were wonderful to work with! We loved all the attention they provided for our wedding as well as their desire to make our day as special as possible. I definitely recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
2525 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hotel Derek
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1282322893660-ceremonydark