130x130_sq_1383943729764-0234mg987

Hotel El Convento

San Juan , PR
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

100 Cristo Street
San Juan, PR US 00901 (map)

PHONE

787-723-9036

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

A unique place for weddings, Hotel El Convento is located in the Heart of Old San Juan and has set new standards for luxury, comfort and service; at the same time, preserving its rich... Read more
A unique place for weddings, Hotel El Convento is located in the Heart of Old San Juan and has set new standards for luxury, comfort and service; at the same time, preserving its rich and historic value. Just across the street from the San Juan Bautista Cathedral and walking distance from Castillo San Felipe del Morro, it is the perfect scenery for unforgettable pictures and magical memories. Hotel El Convento is the only member in Puerto Rico of “Small Luxury Hotels of the World” and the oldest member of “Historic Hotels of America”.

Hotel El Convento has different spaces to make your wedding day just what you always thought it would be like:

Salon Campeche has a maximum capacity of 210 guests for sit-down dinner. Its biggest attributes include: marble black and white floor, majestic 50-foot vault ceiling, a colorful mural and antique stained glass windows.

Salon Martorell was designed by Puerto Rican artist Antonio Martorell and it is a gem of his art and creativity. In this salon he developed the theme “Las Monjas Letradas” or “Nuns and Letters”, thus honoring those emblematic of both faith and literature in the Spanish Language. This salon has a maximum capacity of 40 guests for sit-down dinner; perfect for intimate dinners or cocktails.

The interior courtyard is the perfect location for ceremonies and cocktails. It is surrounded by tropical foliage and a 100-year old Nispero tree. During the day is the hotel’s main restaurant, but in the afternoons it is transformed into to the most magical place in Old San Juan.

The catering department offers personalized attention to every detail of your wedding; from food and beverage to entertainment, décor and cake. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1277735639372-machareoshieldswedding68
130x130_sq_1277737379216-corderopreyjanuary3020103
130x130_sq_1213898638636-martorell&tiffany006
130x130_sq_1213898788136-salonoller-imperialtable
130x130_sq_1211062255505-img_9761
130x130_sq_1245267259195-brideinplaza9424
130x130_sq_1245267323679-brideonstreet9338
130x130_sq_1277736727216-yetkarosariowedding37
130x130_sq_1277738686825-corderopreyjanuary3020104
130x130_sq_1374670825503-courtyardcamperche002
130x130_sq_1374670857332-exteriors018
130x130_sq_1374671017164-salon-campeche
130x130_sq_1374671142377-campeche9
130x130_sq_1374671195752-paoli-terrace-ceremony
130x130_sq_1374671229057-salon-paoli
130x130_sq_1374671297060-img6588
130x130_sq_1374671387767-weddingsetupimg2081
130x130_sq_1374671422066-weddingsetupimg2116
130x130_sq_1374671553615-20120714193626
130x130_sq_1374671597813-photo20130221magacincenajoyaconventospv79
130x130_sq_1374671647343-martorell--tiffany-004
130x130_sq_1374671900198-scan0003

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1660
When was your venue last renovated?
2013
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Hotel
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Glamorous, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
210
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
5
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
58
Number of suites
3
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
500
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
90
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debby
Wedding:
6/8/2014
5.0/5.0
I fell in love with Hotel El Convento as a little girl and always knew that that's where my wedding reception would be. 20+ years later my dream came true! We had 80 guest in El Salon Paoli. Everything from our cocktail hour, to dinner and our stay was incredible!

If you want a Spanish feel to your wedding, El Convento is the place to choose. Our guest are still raving about the food and service.

Thank you, El Convento for making our experience memorable!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tabatha
Wedding:
2/14/2014
5.0/5.0
My wedding and reception was held at Hotel El Convento. I cant say enough about how wonderful and easy they made the process of planning my wedding. Not only is the hotel beautiful and historic, the staff is very professional and easy to work with. I could not have asked for a better group of people to work with on our special day! I 100% recommend this hotel for your special occasions!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lucille
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
El Convento helped us coordinate and put together our dream wedding! We cannot put in words how grateful we are to have Ruben Alvarez and his staff help plan the wedding. Many guests thought the food was the best they've ever had at wedding. In addition to the wedding itself, our guests and ourselves really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Everyone from the front desk and valet are so helpful and carry a positive attitude. We look forward to our next visit to Puerto Rico and plan on staying at El Convento again!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/11/2013
5.0/5.0
El Convento was absolutely wonderful! The food was EXCELLENT and I heard many praises throughout the night. The staff was super friendly and helpful throughout the event. Roxana Vera was an amazing coordinator and made sure everything was perfect up to the day of my wedding. Big thank you to the F&B team for putting on a great event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kyle
Wedding:
10/6/2013
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough about Hotel El Convento. This was our third trip there and our wedding. The event planning was excellent and very well communicated. Everyone at the hotel is extremely friendly and helpful. Every detail was taken care of for us and we had the time of our lives!!

Thank you so much El Convento!! You've provided quite an amazing memory for us!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
5/19/2013
5.0/5.0
I had my reception here and one word sums it up "WOW"!!!. Everyone at my wedding was blown away. We walked into the room and no one said a word. We were all taken aback by the beauty. I have never seen a more beautiful place to have a wedding! The food was outstanding. The service impecable! The room that we were is was pained by a famous artist... GORGEOUS! The hotel is breatrhtaking! Glorimar is very attentive!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1337451118325-meanderik
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
El Convento provided the reception venue for our wedding. First of all, the place is absolutely gorgeous. If you like old world charm, this is the place. Our catering / events manager at the hotel was Glorimar Ortiz, and she was absolutely great. Very nice, very responsive, and she went out of her way to alleviate the concerns of my wife during the planning process. Our reception was held in Salon Campeche, the biggest of their function rooms, and also the grandest. And the food was worth it. It was delivered timely (no one was looking around wondering where the food was) and was very very good. We can't stress this enough.

My wife and I would recommend Hotel El Convento to everyone looking for a charming wedding reception venue in Old San Juan.

Erik & Joanne
Boston, MA
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marilu
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Francesca & Frank's wedding at El Convento on 4/27/2013 was everything we expected and more. The venue was perfect the food was great. Thank You Kamil for helping us create a wonderful memory for our daughter and new son-in law. The vendors you recommended were spot on. AZ music what a great band, C&M cake created a beautiful masterpiece. Our guest loved every minute of being at this wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
4/7/2013
5.0/5.0
If you want the best... Then El Covento is the place. El Covento is all about charm and ambiance. We didn't have a wedding coordinator but Glorimar was awesome. She was able to to take control and pace everything to help the event run smoothly. The food was delicious and we had so many compliments on the catering. El Covento was a magical place. I would highly recommend El Covento.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1368896291656-0983mg8754-1
Lisa
Wedding:
3/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding reception at El Convento was in a word: Amazing. From the first time seeing the luxury hotel there was no other choice in my mind this is where we would have our reception. The history, beautiful architecture & décor, the mix of old world charm & modern conveniences not to mention being right across the street from Catedral de San Juan made it the perfect place for a dream wedding. Glorimar Ortiz and her team made the process from start to finish practically effortless and I was truly impressed with the final product. Great service, flawless transition from cocktail hour in the Nispero courtyard to the reception in the Martorell room, and our guests could not stop raving about the food. If you are having a small wedding (~30 people) that room is perfection—plenty of room to dance/move around, and not a sense of empty space you’d find with a larger room. Not to mention the whole room is hand painted with great décor already in place; you really need to do minimal decorations or colors with your flowers because the room itself is so beautiful on its own. Glorimar went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. For example, so found us a room at the hotel last minute when it was practically fully booked and worked to get us into the bridal suite as early as possible. She also provided us with additional options for other activities for our guests such as a day after the wedding brunch. I can say without a doubt I recommend El Convento for a wedding reception if you want elegance, quality and a dreamlike wedding day you will treasure the rest of your life.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1326824863692-2963811015036142949113757790113682479403644383n
carissa
Wedding:
3/1/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got engaged in December of 2011 and was planning a wedding locally in La Jolla, CA. After looking at venues and near next to signing a contract, we decided to just do what we really wanted – a destination wedding. Although we wanted a beach vacation, I still wanted to hold true to the type of wedding I had always envisioned, which was an old world vintage Spanish theme. I literally googled that term to see what type of places popped up and El Convento did. I immediately fell in love with it. We could have the wedding we want while still having a beach vacation with family and friends. (stayed at La Concha in Condado Beach). We booked the hotel without even physically travelling there. We visited San Juan in June of 2012 to meet with all of our prospective vendors, wedding planner, and to go to the El Convento to do a tasting. I was nervous at first since we had not seen the venue yet in person, but upon arrival, I couldn't be more pleased. I fell in love! Our tasting was so much fun. We had a beautiful private room where we served every course from start to finish of the selections we had made. Everything was so good it made it difficult to decide what we wanted. The sangria here is amazing. The catering manager ended up leaving and were assigned to Glorimar. Glorimar was excellent and very responsive. The ceremony location, cocktail hour location and reception room (Salon Campache) were all perfect. Every guest said that the place was stunning and how classy the setting was. The food and service was top notch. The bartender, I was told by many guests, knew every one of my guest's drink choice and the managers and servers that night kept everyone happy, especially Greg and I. The only thing I would say is to make sure to get the Vanderbilt suite to get ready in that day. I was in the Casal's with 10 others and it was cramped. It really was the best day in my life. It turned out exactly as I hoped and the El Convento was fabulous to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
2/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Hotel El Convento is the most beautiful hotel in Old San Juan to have your wedding reception. The staff was top notch and professional and our guests were blown away by the romantic ambiance and high level of service! Having your wedding at El Convento is a magical experience, we were in a movie; there is truly nothing like it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1317676194004-img6176
giovanna
Wedding:
10/5/2012
5.0/5.0
The best place to have your dream wedding!! I would not chose anyone else!! Excellent service, excellent food!!! MS Glorimar Ortiz was our wedding coordinator at El Convento! She exceeded our expectations!! Was always there for me, very reliable! Very professional and accommodating of all our needs!! El Convento it self is a wonderful place, full of history and elegance!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg17
Jennifer
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
We chose El Convento as our venue because of the magical feeling this boutique hotel gives you, and right in the center of the historic old San Juan. Not only is the venue absolutely charming, but we had a wonderful experience with our planner Kamil Rivera who helped us make our wonderful day come to life. Kamil is very well connected with the vendors in San Juan and she made fabulous recommendations every step of the way. The food provided by the hotel was absolutely fabulous and our guests were raving about the food long after the wedding. If you are looking for elegance and class, along with top of the line service and professionalism, you can expect no less from Hotel El Convento.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susana
Wedding:
5/18/2012
5.0/5.0
I had my reception at El Convento and it was truly magical. My guests not only raved about the beauty of the place itself but of the service and food that was served. We opted for a formal sit-down dinner with four courses and every course was delicious, they staff was friendly and Glorimar our rep was always willing to lend an extra hand. They even let us use an empty conference room to get ready during the morning. The bridal suite was gorgeous and perfect for pictures. This is THE place to celebrate a wedding. Would have it there again in a heartbeat!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1302661414200-cimg0395
Liz
Wedding:
4/15/2012
5.0/5.0
We recently had our reception at Hotel El Convento. The courtyard is an amazing site for a cocktail hour. The patio is stunning with the large trees and open sky. Our reception room (Salon campeche) was the perfect site with the gorgeous black and white floors. The room opens up to the courtyard so it was perfect as we did food stations for our main meal. The servers worked hard the whole night to make sure all of our guests were comfortable and served promptly. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The food was delicious as well!!! We had a great experience at El Convento and highly recommend this location!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sphalo
Wedding:
3/30/2012
5.0/5.0
This is an awesome wedding venue, located in the heart of Old San Juan, PR. Your guests will LOVE you for it!

Sameerah Phalo, Asheville, NC
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1373376333567-dsc08917
malaea3
Wedding:
11/6/2011
5.0/5.0
The moment I saw the hotel I knew this would be perfect for our reception. It's history and design went perfectly with our wedding theme. The food was outstanding and everything ran so smoothly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rissa
Wedding:
7/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Hotel El Convento is absolutely beautiful and a wonderful place to get married! The staff went beyond my expectations to help out on the day of the wedding. When we forgot the cake stand, they were quick to bring one out for us to use and nor did they hesitate to provide us with all that we asked for (extra table cloths, vases, etc.) The food was delicious and it was great that the catering department was able to make special vegetarian options as half of our attending guests were vegetarians. We were suppose to get married on the patio and everything was set up, however, an hour prior it started to rain. But Hotel El Convento saved the day and quickly moved everything indoors and everything went on as planned.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rosa
Wedding:
7/11/2011
5.0/5.0
I had my ceremony and reception here. I had a very small wedding, but everything turned out amazing. Glorimar helped with my whole event, seriously, I did not have to worry about anything regarding food, drinks, and ceremony set-up. I did not stay at the hotel, and Glorimar was able to get a room for the girls and the guys to get ready. Salon Campeche is beautiful, you do not even need to splurge on decorations because this room is great on its own.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alarys
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
This was the absolute best hotel to get married!!! I am from the island and from the beginning we were looking for a classy and traditional location on the island that was not a beachy wedding site. This hotel captures the history and heritage of Puerto Rico. The staff is so sweet and works with you through the entire event. They catered to every need we had. Even down to the details this vendor was fantastic!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Linnette and Rodger Clinton
Wedding:
2/13/2011
5.0/5.0
I had the wedding of my dreams thanks to Hotel El Convento Staff...they are unique, from the time that I signed the contract to the next morning of my wedding we were treated like a king and a queen. The flexibility, treatment and service in El Convento are just perfect. We had one of the staff members taking care of us the entire night till the breakfast at morning...he made sure that we had drinks, cake, food and any service that we needed. My friends and family member continue saying that our wedding was the best wedding, and that was thank to the organization skills of the Hotel El Convento. The Colonial architecture is just a perfect venue for any wedding reception!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erika
Wedding:
9/24/2010
5.0/5.0
I dont think my husband and I have enough words to describe how happy we were with the service that we received from the ENTIRE staff at El Convento during the 5 days we were there for our destination wedding celebration.

From the minute we first met with our wedding planner Paola a year ago, we have been extremely pleased with the high level of professionalism she has provided us. She helped me find many of my vendors as well as helped me take care of many details. She was prompt in answering my emails, and not once said, "I dont know.. or even 'NO' to any of my questions or requests". She remained calm and collected throughout the entire process.. even when I became upset because it started to rain an hour before our outdoor ceremony was to begin. She assured me everything was being taken care of and the ceremony would continue in another beautifully decorated room.

Our second trip to the island prior to our wedding was for our food tasting and it was PHENOMENAL! The service we received from our server Jose was excellent and every single item we tasted was fresh and to die for!

When we arrived the week of the wedding, everyone was very courteous and helpful. We had some problems with the temperature in our room the first night, but they were very quick to accommodate us and change our rooms in the middle of the night. We mostly dealt with Chamil and Dalys (Im sorry if I got the names wrong) and they were very apologetic and even comped our lunch for the day due to the inconvenience.
The day of the wedding was a smooth success. The entire staff went above and beyond to help set up el Salon Campeche. The service my guests and I received was outstanding. Everyone agreed that the staff made them feel welcome and provided extraordinary service.

I would not hesitate to recommend El Convento and it's services to anyone. They overexceeded my expectations. I truly feel I left a little piece of my heart there. My husband and I look forward to returning to Puerto Rico and staying at El Convento for our 1 year anniversary.

Again, thank you to the entire staff for making our wedding celebration extra special. Trust me future brides... you WILL NOT be dissapointed.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1282232116953-img0937
Mambogirl
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
This is a unique setting for your wedding. Beautiful vintage charm. My guests loved it! Even those with more modern taste loved the service and the romantic atmosphere
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mr. & Mrs. López
Wedding:
1/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Wow! There are no words to describe having our wedding at Hotel El Convento. The service and the food were great!!!! Everything was perfect. Their personell made my wedding an AMAZING event!!!!! We got married at Salón José Campeche and it was a dream come true. Its architecture and its old looks makes this hotel a perfect Reception venue for a mystical and romantic wedding. I definitively recomend this Hotel!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
B5
Valerie
Wedding:
1/2/2010
5.0/5.0
I was overall please with having our wedding at El Convento. The venue is romantic, unique and simply beautiful. I could not have pictured getting married in a different venue. The banquet staff was extremely helpful and ensured that wedding came together without any serious problems. I would recommend El Convento to any bride looking for a unqiue destination wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1263663090864-1746123341167188050204688036634625176327n
leah51pr
Wedding:
12/20/2009
5.0/5.0
My wedding reception was at El Convento in Salon Jose Campeche. I'm Puerto Rican and I can tell you that El Convento has the most gorgeous reception hall in the island. The place did not require a lot of decoration because it is so beautiful. It has that old Spanish look and it is in the heart of Old San Juan. It's a perfect location, the service was incredible and the food was amazing. If you can afford it, it's well worth it. There's no other place like El Convento.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
7/2/2014
4.9/5.0
Perfecto! My fiancé is Puerto Rican so I had travelled to PR several times over the past 3 years. We knew we wanted a PR destination wedding and had many beautiful venue options. Quite honestly, we did not think we could afford El Convento but Ely Rivera and the staff at El Convento worked within our budget & made our mid-week wedding a dream come true. A special shout out to Luis and other staff who made all of the little things they did to go above and beyond standard service mean so much! We planned the menu, program, and details over email and phone between GA where I lived and WV where my fiancé lived. We were very busy with work so Ely's responsiveness and flexibility when we were able to take the time to make key decisions (or change our minds! ) was very important! The reception buffet/food was absolutely amazing, customized to our palate and budget! Our ceremony was at La Rogativa - the view and romantic feel while surrounded by 35 of our closest friends & family (and well-wishers lining the streets to watch), was unforgettable. Ely worked out details with Miguel Figueroa from Floral Events Studio -who really took on the extra role of wedding planner as much as delivering a beautiful floral/deco package that brought the whole wedding and outdoor courtyard reception together magnificently! Thank goodness for great weather! I'd do it all over again exactly the same way tomorrow!! The only "catch" was my added "large" expense of a 2 night stay at El Convento. They would not offer an early check-in (even an hour) so I could get dressed and ready for the wedding without rushing. They did offer a "get ready" room but it was quite pricey and small for the $$. I should have timed it better and planned the ceremony later but took the plunge and got a bridal suite for me for the night before & also for the wedding night so we didn't have to check out early....less stress in the long run, beautiful, and as the saying goes - its only money right!??
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
Everyone went above and beyond to make our dreams come true for our wedding. Throughout the day of everyone helped to make sure the wedding went smoothly. Glorimar was fantastic, our reception room Salon Martorell felt magical even without any decorations, and our hotel room, Gloria Vanderbilt Suite, was magical to get ready in and spend our first night as husband and wife.

Thank you to the hotel for creating a place that is breath taking in every room no matter where you are. Thank you to the hotel staff for for going above and beyond for our entire stay. A special thank you goes to Glorimar our hotel coordinator for our wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Abbie
Wedding:
5/9/2014
4.9/5.0
We had our wedding reception at El Convento for our destination wedding in May and are so happy we did! I am giving El Convento 5 stars but do want to say that we had a very interesting experience as the chef resigned a few weeks before our tasting and our tasting did not go well. As any bride would be, I was extremely disappointed and stressed!!! Thankfully, Glorimar and her team responded quickly and professionally and made everything right. We were able to re-taste the food before the actual day and were promised everything would be perfect.... and it was absolutely perfect and so much more! The El Convento catering, sales, wait staff, etc is professional and awesome to work with. Our wedding was perfect and the food was AMAZING!! Our guests were raving. We can't wait to go back again and relive the amazing memories. We can't thank Glorimar and everyone at El Convento for putting on such an amazing event!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1327118667403-cruise201191
Yani
Wedding:
10/4/2013
4.9/5.0
El Convento is a venue to remember. This building encompassed everything we were looking for with all the old world Spanish charm, character, and history. All of our guests could not stop raving about its beauty. Glorimar was great as our go-to person. She was helpful, accommodating, and always informative. She always made us feel welcomed and more than just a client/chart. The food was DELICIOUS!!!!!!! From the tasting to the actual event date it was always consistent with flavor. It was never traditional banquet food so that was a plus. If you can afford to have this as your venue it is definitely worth it. This was one part of the wedding planning that I would not budge on and have no regrets having chosen El Convento as our venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sezen
Wedding:
4/13/2013
4.9/5.0
We could not have pictured a better destination wedding . Glorimar and her team was such a pleasure to work with it . The food, the service , the venue were all excellent ! I highly recommend El Convento if you are dreaming an old world feel wedding. All of guests told us that our wedding was one of the most beautiful weddings that they have ever been to. We are very happy with our choice ! Thank you for an unforgettable wedding . Sezen and Jordan . New York .
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1244608034562-n26514461342815216437
cfree32
Wedding:
1/2/2010
4.9/5.0
I had my ceremony and reception at El Convento and it absolutely exceeded my expectations. The staff was very professional and friendly. Our head waiter was named Angel and he was amazing!! He took care of my husband and I the whole night. I got married on a Sunday and it was so much more affordable than a saturday night. Loved it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1210071182615-p1010711
ebalaguer
Wedding:
6/20/2009
4.9/5.0
The food and service was incredible. The venue is absolutely stunning. Not cheap but worth the money for such special occassion
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
This hotel is charming and historic and beautiful, but where it really blows the competition away is in the service they provide. Other hotels in San Juan might be fancier, if you are looking for huge rooms and king-size beds, but El Convento's staff is amazing. They went above and beyond for us and everyone, from the front desk to Ely and Dorian in the Catering department, to the bartenders and servers, were so kind and welcoming. We had multiple conversations with our servers and bartenders who were more than happy to talk to us about the food or drinks, provide recommendations, or tell us about themselves and their island. Our comfort clearly mattered to everyone, and they went out of their way to ensure we were having an excellent stay.

Our wedding was small, just immediate family, and so we told the Catering department to give the chef the freedom to serve whatever he wanted for our reception dinner. My husband and I love food, and really were hoping to give our families a special dinner that they would remember. El Convento's chef did that and more--our meal was one of the best I've had, a seven-course tasting menu that was absolutely incredible. The chef came in towards the end of the meal to see how we were doing, and I'm sure we scared him a little because we were all yelling (in a good way) about how amazing the food was. He recently won an award for best chef- Caribbean, and it was obvious in the inventiveness, taste, and presentation of the dishes.

Long story short: This hotel is beautiful, historic, the service is fantastic, and the food is incredible.
Services Used: , Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Minh
Wedding:
6/20/2014
4.8/5.0
Hotel El Convento were the most professional establishment we dealt with in the search for a wedding venue. We had narrowed it down to 2 venues in San Juan with comparable packages but we ended signing with Hotel El Convento based mainly on the great service and professionalism we received from Ely who was the hotel’s catering manager. It was a great reflection of the service that our guests would receive. Ely was very helpful with providing a list of their preferred vendors and was also very helpful when we realized the majority of those initial vendors were way above our budget, she provided us with more in our price range. We had a party of 70 guests and used their piano courtyard for hors d’oeuvres and the main ballroom Salon Campeche for the reception. We had a sit down menu and had the pumpkin pork soup, the organic beet salad, choice of mahi mahi fish or steak then the rich chocolate mouse for dessert. We loved their food and the old world beauty and boutique charm of this hotel. Just a few pointers, the courtyard is pretty leafy (which is really pretty!) but puerto rico can get mosquitos so be prepared , also we got the open bar however during dinner our guests weren’t really offered wine or beer by the servers so I would suggest asking for bottles of wine to be placed on the tables if you are having an open bar so guest can easily get a drink during dinner service. Other than that….we were extremely happy with our reception at Hotel El Convento and would definitely recommend them to anyone considering a gorgeous charming historical place to having their wedding.
Services Used: , Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Yasmin
Wedding:
3/1/2014
4.8/5.0
El Convento was our dream venue for our wedding right from the start. It has the perfect combination of old architecture, and traditional colonial look and feel vs. fine dining and excellent service from its staff. Our ceremony was held in a nearby location that held out guests comfortably, with our cocktail hour taking place at their indoor patio, and reception in the Campeche room. We barely had to decorate as the Hotel itself is beautifully decorated with local pieces as well as antiques. I have yet to see my formal wedding pictures, but from the phone pics I did see, the place will look magical. I am extremely happy with Hotel El Convento and would recommend it to anyone looking for a unique site for their wedding in the Caribbean.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Hotel El Convento responded with the following comments:

Dear Yasmin,


Thank you for taking part of your valuable time to share your experience in such a prestigious website. I am glad to hear that everything went well and your guests left the hotel with lovely memories. In the future, if you would like to visit our enchanted island once again, remember that here at the Hotel El Convento you became part of our tradition and heritage.

Yours sincerely,
Ruben Alvarez
Director of Food and beverage
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
We had the most wonderful wedding at El Convento. The venue itself is truly unique and awe inspiring. Everything that was served was beautifully presented and delicious, we did not have a chance to try the food beforehand and were just expecting typical wedding food. We were very pleasantly surprised. Our guests loved the hotel and have said that in their next visit to Puerto Rico they'll be staying there again. Every single person at the hotel from the front desk staff, bellhops, waiters and event planners made our stay there wonderful. Even when it rained before and during our outdoor cocktail hour, they moved everything so fast to an even better covered outdoor area, it was seamless, the guests didn't even noticed that it wasn't planned that way. The only drawback was that coming from Chicago we are used to fast paced, immediate responses and it was at times unnerving to have to wait a bit. But it's an island and everything goes a little bit slower. At the end of the day to us it was perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krystal
Wedding:
6/23/2013
4.8/5.0
Hotel Convento was exactly what we were looking for- a unique venue with a classic and vintage feel to it. We worked with Glorimar who was very responsive to our questions. We had a destination wedding and several guests stayed at the Hotel. As for the Hotel, the rooms are varying sizes and have lots of character. The Hotel was previously a Convent so there is lots of details in the decor. You can walk many places from the hotel. The only downfall is the small pool, but you can easily taxi or bus to thier sister hotel which is on the beach and has an infinity pool. From the moment we checked in to the the end of our trip the staff was accommodating, friendly and the place is so clean! Glorimar, the event coordinator was great. It rained on our wedding and we ended up changing venues to the conference room due to rain. Everything was seemless and guests that it was just as beautiful. The food at our recpetion was a HUGE hit! Everyone loved it! We worked with a wedding planner (Rosalina Momentus) so the whole day was perfect! The one suggestion we had was- the hotel and are planner never mentioned vendor plates for dinner, so when the time came, vendors were asking and we had not thought about that. Maybe a suggestion would be to always discuss this with brides and grooms ahead of time.
I would recommend this hotel and venue to anyone that goes to San Juan. We are for sure coming back!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
7/14/2012
4.8/5.0
We stayed at Hotel El Convento for one week in July. We were hosting our destination wedding here and arrived earlier in the week to make sure things were all in order for the big day. From the moment we arrived we felt the warmth and hospitality El Convento offers. We were greeted by Ivan who graciously carried our numerous pieces of luggage and showed us around the property. I loved the open courtyard and the many nooks and crannies accentuated with seating. Live music floated from the ground level throughout the higher floors. We ate breakfast on Patio Nispero a few mornings and enjoyed the service as well as the food. I recommend the western omelette. We participated in the nightly wine and cheese, and enjoyed being within walking distance of many places.

Our hotel room (#324) was larger and more open which allowed us to move about during wedding preparations with ease. I loved having more space, but if you are a light sleeper, you may find this location within the hotel to be a bit loud. #324 is located above Pizza e Birra and does sound very loud when the dj is playing for the night. I would choose this room again because of the open feeling and larger bathroom.

As for our wedding day...it was wonderful. Glorimar was our hotel liaison for the reception. She met with us a few times throughout the week to answer any last minute questions, or address concerns we thought of. Glorimar was very accommodating and ran a top notch event. The food was delicious. Glorimar also assisted us with a smaller event we hosted the following morning, a buffet-style breakfast. All menu items were tasty. We especially appreciated that El Convento is located right across the street from the Cathedral. Our guests simply had to walk across the street, avoiding any Old San Juan traffic.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1314368171238-dsc1075
PRBride
Wedding:
11/21/2010
4.8/5.0
We had our ceremony and reception here. I was so proud to show all the first time visitors the beautiful, historic old san juan. El Convento showed it off well. It took everyone's breath away.

Paola was our wedding coordinator and worth every penny. It was beautiful and well organized.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
randyandz
Wedding:
7/10/2010
4.8/5.0
I Loved this Venue! We had our cocktails in El Patio Nispero and Reception in Salon de Campeche. The service was excellent and the place itself is just beautiful. It didnt need much in the way of decor candles worked magic in enhancing the look. The food was good but honestly I didnt get to eat much that what everyone else said!
I would definitely recommend this venue when trying to capture the historical beauty of Old San Juan.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Latinhunny33
Wedding:
3/7/2009
4.8/5.0
Carolina was my main contact at the Hotel and she was a great help.
The Hotel provided our Ceremony location, which was the Paoli Terrace, part of their inside patio. The location is full of greenery and has a small fountain right where our minister stood giving it a great tropical feel.
Our Reception Hall was right next to our Ceremony location and was perfect. Noone had to leave the premises & it was just a few, quick steps away.
The food and liquor were provided by the Hotel and were phenomenal. We had a dinner buffet for our guests and still hear back about how fabulous everything was. The liquor flowed freely and our bartender and waitstaff were excellent.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
E
Wedding:
10/4/2008
4.8/5.0
Beautifull place to have a wedding. I had my wedding out doors in the courtyard then reception inside the historic room. The pictures came out so nice and everyone at the hotel was nice and my wedding was a hit.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
11/2/2013
4.7/5.0
Words can't express how thankful we are to the team at El Convento for making our wedding day a night to remember. The historic hotel is truly a spectacular site and was the perfect venue for our magical and truly memorable wedding. The architecture, and setting wowed our guests and was the perfect backdrop for an amazing wedding in beautiful Old San Juan.

We can't say enough about Ruben, Milagros and their team for their top notch customer service, and kindness. The wait staff and bartenders were amazing -- showing our guests how to have fun island style!

We can't wait to come back to Puerto Rico again. It will forever be a special place for Dave and I -- Thanks again to all our new friends at Hotel El Convento.

Warm regards,

Mel and Dave
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hannah
Wedding:
7/18/2013
4.7/5.0
My husband and I absolutely LOVE this hotel. Not only is the hotel beautiful and really shows its Old San Juan charm, but the staff goes out of the way to make sure your stay is perfect. The day of our wedding there was a record amount of rain and flooding. The staff went out of their way to make sure the wedding was still perfect and went smoothly. The drinks and food they catered were FANTASTIC. I would absolutely recommend this hotel for anyone looking to get married or have their reception in Puerto Rico or even just to stay and honeymoon.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TIQUA
Wedding:
8/16/2008
4.7/5.0
Hotel El Convento was marvelous it's a small luxury hotel and it has everything.
My husband and I will be renewing our vows in 11yrs to symbolize that we were married on our 11th year. We are definitely going back to Hotel El Convento. It was
beautiful my planner Paola was amazing and so was her team.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
12/30/2012
4.6/5.0
We were highly impressed with Hotel El Convento. It was a beautiful place to get married! Our guests were in love with our courtyard wedding and reception location. We absolutely recommend this location!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JeanieQ
Wedding:
3/24/2012
4.6/5.0
The customer service the day of the wedding was impeccably superb. This boutique hotel has a unique charm like no other in San Juan. I had my dream wedding in this beautiful place. Thanks!
Kamil orchestrated an amazing event- is very a very knowledgeable planner.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/29/2013
4.5/5.0
We originally contacted El Convento 6 months prior to our wedding. Unfortunately, we were put in contact with an El Convento coordinator who was not very responsive to our inquiries. Luckily, we called and spoke with the angel that is Roxana Vera! She was amazing! She was quick to respond, very attentive, and very accommodating to our needs. We traveled to Puerto Rico for a tasting that Roxana arranged and was present for. She was a delight to dine with and she made all of the changes that we requested for the menu. Hotel El Convento did an amazing job for the reception. Our guests raved about the food and the beauty of the venue. We held our 100 guest wedding at Salon El Campeche. We highly recommend it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1/11/2014
4.4/5.0
Overall I had a really great experience planning my wedding at El Convento. The venue really speaks for itself, it is so beautiful and there is nothing like it on the island. The service there was top quality and our guests really enjoyed the food. The food at the cocktail hour was completely devoured, including a prime rib carving station and cheese station!

El Convento has a lot of weddings and its experience showed throughout the evening. It rained during the cocktail hour, which was held in the patio outside, and our guests barely noticed.

Our reception was held in the Campeche room, which is so beautiful and basically speaks for itself. Our biggest concern was the size of our wedding (140 people), we did not want people seated on the second floor because they would feel isolated from the larger group. But with a little creativity we were able to get everyone seated on the main floor and had two bars outside, which created a nice lounge area for people to take a break from the party. Milagros and Glormiar were great during the wedding and made sure my husband and I had everything we needed.

My only complaint with the venue is the response time for emails and phone calls. Sometimes our emails went unanswered, and when we got closer to the wedding day we still did not have a floor plan for the seating chart. This was partly the decorators fault, however the venue could have stepped in earlier because we ended up scrambling 2 days before the wedding to get a final seating plan. It caused a lot of unnecessary stress but in the end worked itself out.

My advice is to try to stay in contact with all the vendors because the main issue was that there was a lack of communication between everyone. However, everything worked out, looked and tasted amazing and I would not change anything about my wedding. I think the venue is worth it just for it's beauty, but the fact that the wedding turned our perfectly made it even more special!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenibeut001
Wedding:
1/2/2010
4.4/5.0
I had my wedding reception at Hotel El Convento. The site is absolutely beautiful, very old world. The planner for my event, Carolina, was very helpful. Here are the pluses and minuses:

Pros: Gorgeous location - I really can't think of having the reception in a more beautiful place, helpful coordinators - use email regularly, flexible with payment dates, reasonable price for the location/time of year, great tasting experience, extremely flexible with the menu/bar options and costs. We were able to change the bar options, appetizers, and entrees easily, and Carolina helpfully suggested ways to cut costs. The sangria was amazing, and almost all of the food was absolutely delicious. They also provided us with a dressing room for me and my bridesmaids even though we were staying there overnight, which was very helpful and great for pictures.

Cons: there are certain "minimum consumption costs" that you have to meet to reserve rooms. These vary widely depending on the day of the week, the most expensive day being Saturday. Unfortunately due to the church rules, we had to do it on a Saturday, but I would definitely encourage people to consider Friday or Sunday for the money saved. We ended up picking a smaller room - the Paoli room for the reception (not the main ballroom) and the Paoli Terrace for cocktails, which was beautiful. The problem was that although there are many different rooms, most of them are reserved as backups for the main courtyard in case of rain. That was a little frustrating, but it ended up working out alright. Second, one of our dishes (the chicken dish) was absolutely delicious for our tasting, but definitely not the same for the reception. The portion was smaller and just was not as tasty. My guests did say, however, that the steak entree was amazing. Finally, although the wedding was small, we were hoping to have a room for wedding night comped or at least discounted. That ended up not happening, which was a little frustrating since we spent >$3000 not including tax, but again, it was a small reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Iveliss
Wedding:
8/7/2011
4.3/5.0
El Convento was the perfect venue for our wedding! It is located in Old San Juan, across for the famous catheral and a block away from La Rogativa, the location of our ceremony. The day of the wedding, everything was perfect. Our wedding coordinator ensured everything was complete and the Salon Campeche was gorgeous!

During the planning, I did have a few issues. Our wedding coordinator was changed 3 times and I was never notified of the changes. Each time I became aware by making a phone call or sending an email and then I had to inform the new person of the details of my wedding. Another situation was that when I went to visit the venue and gave the initial deposit, I was given an estimate for the cost of my wedding. 2 coordinators later, I received another estimate with no changes but a significant increase in the price. I had to call several times to have this corrected.

Overall, I would recommend El Convento for your wedding, it is absolutely beautiful. I would just recommend planning with time and patience. And keep all emails and qoutes given.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1246977458498-sunset
Omar_Teresa
Wedding:
6/14/2009
4.3/5.0
We were married this month as a destination wedding and everything was fantastic! Our catering coordinator, Gloriana, must have exchanged 30+ emails with me leading up to the event to ensure the setup, food, and alcohol was the way we wanted. She was great and patient and very professional. We were married in the Paoli Terrace and reception in the Salon Paoli. The tables, linens and china were great...and came with the rental. The only down side was that I did not find out until very close to the ceremony date that the tiffany/chivari chairs were considered an 'upgrade' and that would cost extra for them. All of the sample photos I had received had the tiffany chairs in them so I thought they belonged to the hotel...lesson learned I guess. You have to rent one type of chair for an outdoor ceremony and another type for the indoor. The hotel regular chairs would have needed covers..which again would have cost extra. room was exquistely decorated, romantic and the service and food was first class!! Everything you hear about El Convento providing first class service is true. I would do it all again! Thanks for the great wedding memories!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
5/12/2012
4.2/5.0
We had a May 2012 wedding at El Convento and it was wonderful. The atmosphere, food, drinks, etc were all amazing. Our families from NYC, upstate NY, and many other areas all loved it. We did the courtyard for cocktail hour which was so lovely, and the big ballroom for the reception.
Some tips are: considerable savings if you avoid a saturday date. Definitely get the wedding coordination for the day of the wedding provided by hotel. You can save additional $ not getting the highest level wedding planner stuff b/c we did most of it ourselves on line. If you have the ceremony there or at the Catedral you don't have to transport your guests around. In general the whole thing was pretty easy to plan from afar. You know you are getting a great venue and vacation spot. Feel free to write me with any specific questions.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
xtraolives
Wedding:
3/17/2013
4.1/5.0
The venue itself is beautiful. We were in the Salon Campeche and had our cocktail hour on the patio right outside of the Salon Campeche. Everything was gorgeous. The catering was phenomenal as well. I am vegan and the chef was able to make the menu entirely vegan. I even asked to have mofungo, which was not listed on their menu and they were able to make it for me without any hesitation. The food was excellent and the wait staff was very accommodating. The only issue I had with El Convento was that when I started planning my wedding the year prior, I had one event planner at El Convento that I was working with and that person left halfway through the planning. She did not keep any notes so none of my information was saved. I had to start over with another event planner and this person was not responsive over email and would not return my phone calls. It took a lot of pestering and emails just to get my BEO and to figure out my deposit schedule. I would probably use this vendor again because the venue is gorgeous, but I would keep extensive notes and record all conversations.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alisha
Wedding:
5/4/2014
4.0/5.0
We absolutely have no regrets about having our reception at Hotel El Convento in Salon Campeche. It was a beautiful event and the Spanish architecture provides and amazing ambiance that cannot be recreated in a plain, everyday event/banquet room. Though we had our doubts on occasion about this venue (miscommunication, delayed response, unexpected fees), in the end, the hotel staff really exceeded our expectations and we could not be happier and again, have no regrets about our decision. Ely and Ruben were very professional and happy to answer (and re-answer) all of our questions; and the wait staff at the reception was amazing...very very professional.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Luis
Wedding:
5/18/2013
4.0/5.0
I had my wedding reception at the Salon Campeche at the El Convento, and it was absolutely beautiful....My only complaint is that I was told the cocktail hour service was a bit slow....the reception and dinner turned out very nice, and the wait staff was very good too. The food was tastey, and I was really happy with how everything turned out!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
3/25/2012
4.0/5.0
We had our ceremony and reception at Hotel El Convento. It's a gorgeous space and we got wonderful vendor recommendations from them for the things they don't handle in house (e.g. music, flowers, cake). We also appreciated the upgrade to a suite; it helped make a wonderful night that much more memorable. The end result was beautiful and well done, and our wedding planner did guide us at the beginning and the end, though communication did falter some when she was away for an extended period of time leading up to the wedding date. Booking rooms was also a challenge for some of our guests, which sounds like it might have been the result of some turnover in the sales office. That said, in the end, everything went beautifully; all the staff were really helpful and things went smoothly, our guests had a wonderful time and we're happily married!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/25/2013
3.7/5.0
Getting responses via email was oftentimes delayed or difficult. My event coordinator changed in the middle of the planning process which was also something of a hurdle. Once the event was underway, I think the ratio of servers to guests was a little low. We had stations for dinner so the servers had fewer duties. I noticed that once we cut the cake almost everyone had slices in front of them, but NO ONE had coffee to go with their cake so I, the bride, had to ask a server to begin passing coffee, disappointing. I also think that something that would set you apart from other vendors is this little tip from a bride: the bride and groom never really get to eat, even with a sit down dinner. We are dancing or visiting our guests and tables and checking on everyone so that when the event is over, we're starving! My idea would be that your hotel create to-go containers of all the food that we missed during the night so that we can sample the food we planned for and paid for but just didn't get to enjoy during the reception.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.7/5.0
This venue is beautiful - this location is perfect in Old San Juan and the history adds a lot of Old World charm.

It is a little pricey even for a couple to elope, but when you don't have to spend money on decor I think it evens out. The wedding coordinator was sporadic with responsiveness along with over-promising in a few areas, which was disappointing at times. However, in the end, my wedding ceremony planning was very easy, as I really didn't have to do vendor research and meeting the marriage license requirements was less stressful than trying to do it ourselves. I put my trust in the wedding coordinator and let the chips fall where they would.... overall, I am satisfied.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.0/5.0
Wedding coordinator did not show up to meet with me. I flew all the way from Florida to book my venue and wasted my time!!!! Not only did I waste my time, I had to pay for valet parking!!! No phone call or email to apologize or anything!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
100 Cristo Street, San Juan, PR 00901 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hotel El Convento
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1383943729764-0234mg987