130x130 sq 1439588655168 emilly  sergio 0083

Hotel El Convento

San Juan , PR
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

100 Cristo Street
San Juan, PR 00901 US (map)

PHONE

787-723-9036

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

A unique place for weddings, Hotel El Convento is located in the Heart of Old San Juan and has set new standards for luxury, comfort and service; at the same time, preserving its rich... Read more
A unique place for weddings, Hotel El Convento is located in the Heart of Old San Juan and has set new standards for luxury, comfort and service; at the same time, preserving its rich and historic value. Just across the street from the San Juan Bautista Cathedral and walking distance from Castillo San Felipe del Morro, it is the perfect scenery for unforgettable pictures and magical memories. Hotel El Convento is the only member in Puerto Rico of “Small Luxury Hotels of the World” and the oldest member of “Historic Hotels of America”.

Hotel El Convento has different spaces to make your wedding day just what you always thought it would be like:

Salon Campeche has a maximum capacity of 210 guests for sit-down dinner. Its biggest attributes include: marble black and white floor, majestic 50-foot vault ceiling, a colorful mural and antique stained glass windows.

Salon Martorell was designed by Puerto Rican artist Antonio Martorell and it is a gem of his art and creativity. In this salon he developed the theme “Las Monjas Letradas” or “Nuns and Letters”, thus honoring those emblematic of both faith and literature in the Spanish Language. This salon has a maximum capacity of 40 guests for sit-down dinner; perfect for intimate dinners or cocktails.

The interior courtyard is the perfect location for ceremonies and cocktails. It is surrounded by tropical foliage and a 100-year old Nispero tree. During the day is the hotel’s main restaurant, but in the afternoons it is transformed into to the most magical place in Old San Juan.

The catering department offers personalized attention to every detail of your wedding; from food and beverage to entertainment, décor and cake. Read less

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1436634940588 5c6a6868 3
130x130 sq 1436635536234 hotel el convento salon campeche
130x130 sq 1436635418992 hotel el convento offbeat destination wedding at o
130x130 sq 1435091947303 5c6a2207
130x130 sq 1435091993004 5c6a2311
130x130 sq 1436638065861 hotel elconvento old san juan wedding
130x130 sq 1435093033969 img0821
130x130 sq 1436638111224 campeche lights
130x130 sq 1435092161593 11048628101531600125849205690651809219485896n
130x130 sq 1435091386505 img3470 2
130x130 sq 1435091419800 img4364 2
130x130 sq 1435091437547 img4789 2
130x130 sq 1435092203603 17
130x130 sq 1423169594835 kl 0396
130x130 sq 1416317391078 hotel el convento claudette montero photography fl
130x130 sq 1435092155017 10350616101531600117799204324003546269949237n
130x130 sq 1435092252229 40
130x130 sq 1435092091783 11150551101530820993299616260414270195918295n
130x130 sq 1435092087894 11143140101530820993649615187416764924804522n
130x130 sq 1435092275876 106
130x130 sq 1435093106814 0783mg0461
130x130 sq 1416230665549 conventoshooting 0072
130x130 sq 1423168341852 hec   salon campeche   rounds
130x130 sq 1416230630639 018wedding at the patio6330
130x130 sq 1416230621264 016pavilion ceremony6134
130x130 sq 1435092232107 41
130x130 sq 1435092940567 62
130x130 sq 1435092988871 lj 0321

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
10
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic, Hotel
Describe the style of your venue
Glamorous, Vintage, Classic
What kind of settings are available?
Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
210
What event services do you offer?
Accommodations, Catering / Bar, Event Planning, Outside Vendors OK
What catering services do you offer?
Outside Cake OK
What food and beverage items are available?
Linens

INFO FOR REHEARSAL DINNER

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
10
What kind of settings are available?
Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
What catering services do you provide?
Outside Cake OK
What types of spaces are available for a rehearsal dinner?
Private Room
What kind of menus do you offer for rehearsal dinners?
Custom

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
kladkins
Wedding:
6/6/2015
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding and reception at El Convento. Everything was absolutely perfect and I am so happy that we chose a destination wedding in Puerto Rico.

Ely is very helpful and was there to make sure every detail was perfect. I was pleasantly surprised by how much individual attention our wedding received since it was smaller and they had multiple events going on.

The food at my reception was one of the best meals I had in PR. The service staff was also so nice and went above expectations. I would say everything about El Convento exceeded any expectations I had. When we return to PR in the future we will definitely stay at El Convento again. I am so thankful for the wonderful experience we had and I truly couldn't have asked for a better wedding!
I had my wedding and reception at El Convento. Everything was absolutely perfect and I am so happy that we chose a Read more...
I had my wedding and reception at El Convento. Everything was absolutely perfect and I am so happy that we chose a destination wedding in Puerto Rico.

Ely is very helpful and was there to make sure every detail was perfect. I was pleasantly surprised by how much individual attention our wedding received since it was smaller and they had multiple events going on.

The food at my reception was one of the best meals I had in PR. The service staff was also so nice and went above expectations. I would say everything about El Convento exceeded any expectations I had. When we return to PR in the future we will definitely stay at El Convento again. I am so thankful for the wonderful experience we had and I truly couldn't have asked for a better wedding! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Matt
Wedding:
5/26/2015
5.0/5.0
We spent our wedding night here, this is such an amazing place to stay. It is beautiful and the service is fantastic. They also upgraded us to suite.
We spent our wedding night here, this is such an amazing place to stay. It is beautiful and the service is fantastic. They Read more...
We spent our wedding night here, this is such an amazing place to stay. It is beautiful and the service is fantastic. They also upgraded us to suite. Read less
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner
Default vendor profile pic
Mercedes
Wedding:
5/23/2015
5.0/5.0
My wedding was gorgeous and stress free because of the gorgeous grounds of the Hotel Covento and the helpful staff at the hotel. I have no regrets. My contact was Ely Rivera and she was very responsive, accommodating and professional through the planning and day of process. I received so many compliments from our guests regarding the food and the beverage services.
My wedding was gorgeous and stress free because of the gorgeous grounds of the Hotel Covento and the helpful staff at the Read more...
My wedding was gorgeous and stress free because of the gorgeous grounds of the Hotel Covento and the helpful staff at the hotel. I have no regrets. My contact was Ely Rivera and she was very responsive, accommodating and professional through the planning and day of process. I received so many compliments from our guests regarding the food and the beverage services. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Danielle
Wedding:
5/10/2015
5.0/5.0
OH.MY.GOSH! Everything, and I mean EVERY LITTLE THING was superb. Ely is a blessing and the entire hotel staff is fabulous. My dream wedding came true and I wish I could go back in time to savor each second. The food...amazing! We splurged on the filet mignon and it was totally worth it. Most of guests ordered it and we heard only great comments. The hotel itself is a gem...I've stayed many times before and will continue to do so. You too can have your dream wedding. Visit Hotel el Convento for yourself and experience the charm.
OH.MY.GOSH! Everything, and I mean EVERY LITTLE THING was superb. Ely is a blessing and the entire hotel staff is Read more...
OH.MY.GOSH! Everything, and I mean EVERY LITTLE THING was superb. Ely is a blessing and the entire hotel staff is fabulous. My dream wedding came true and I wish I could go back in time to savor each second. The food...amazing! We splurged on the filet mignon and it was totally worth it. Most of guests ordered it and we heard only great comments. The hotel itself is a gem...I've stayed many times before and will continue to do so. You too can have your dream wedding. Visit Hotel el Convento for yourself and experience the charm. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The Hotel El Convento was the PERFECT place to get married. We had a destination wedding (approximately 30 people) with everyone staying at the hotel for 3 nights. Throughout our stay, our guests were treated extremely well adding to the festivities of the wedding.

The main event took place on Saturday night. The terrace was perfect for the ceremony and Salon Martorell was beautiful for the reception. The hotel was picturesque as well as within walking distance to scenic locations to take additional photos.

We recommend this venue for several reasons. The food was incredible! We had a 4 course meal where each course was better than the last. The cocktails were also something to write home about- guests loved the passion fruit mimosa! The ambiance of Salon Martorell was perfect for a small wedding. The room was intimate and unique. The set up of the room made the party flow very well with space for 4 round tables, cake table, bar, dance floor and DJ. On top of the venue living up to our expectations, the price was very reasonable.

Working with the hotel was super easy. Emails were responded to promptly and whenever we called, we were greeted with excitement and recognition. When we arrived to the hotel, we mentioned that the best man was celebrating an anniversary and they brought champagne and chocolates to his room at no charge! The customer service was first class.
The Hotel El Convento was the PERFECT place to get married. We had a destination wedding (approximately 30 people) with Read more...
The Hotel El Convento was the PERFECT place to get married. We had a destination wedding (approximately 30 people) with everyone staying at the hotel for 3 nights. Throughout our stay, our guests were treated extremely well adding to the festivities of the wedding.

The main event took place on Saturday night. The terrace was perfect for the ceremony and Salon Martorell was beautiful for the reception. The hotel was picturesque as well as within walking distance to scenic locations to take additional photos.

We recommend this venue for several reasons. The food was incredible! We had a 4 course meal where each course was better than the last. The cocktails were also something to write home about- guests loved the passion fruit mimosa! The ambiance of Salon Martorell was perfect for a small wedding. The room was intimate and unique. The set up of the room made the party flow very well with space for 4 round tables, cake table, bar, dance floor and DJ. On top of the venue living up to our expectations, the price was very reasonable.

Working with the hotel was super easy. Emails were responded to promptly and whenever we called, we were greeted with excitement and recognition. When we arrived to the hotel, we mentioned that the best man was celebrating an anniversary and they brought champagne and chocolates to his room at no charge! The customer service was first class. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Melissa
Wedding:
6/27/2014
5.0/5.0
Having our wedding reception at Hotel El Convento was truly the best decision we made. Besides being beautiful and full of history, every last person involved with our wedding and our stay at the hotel went above and beyond to make our day perfect. We had to make a last minute venue change (as in--the night before), and they could not have been more accommodating. The food was fantastic and there were so many choices! A special thank you to Ely Rivera--working with you was a true pleasure. And to the waiters Luis and Matteo---my family still talks about you! El Convento takes service to a new level. I cannot recommend them enough!
Having our wedding reception at Hotel El Convento was truly the best decision we made. Besides being beautiful and full of Read more...
Having our wedding reception at Hotel El Convento was truly the best decision we made. Besides being beautiful and full of history, every last person involved with our wedding and our stay at the hotel went above and beyond to make our day perfect. We had to make a last minute venue change (as in--the night before), and they could not have been more accommodating. The food was fantastic and there were so many choices! A special thank you to Ely Rivera--working with you was a true pleasure. And to the waiters Luis and Matteo---my family still talks about you! El Convento takes service to a new level. I cannot recommend them enough! Read less
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Debby
Wedding:
6/8/2014
5.0/5.0
I fell in love with Hotel El Convento as a little girl and always knew that that's where my wedding reception would be. 20+ years later my dream came true! We had 80 guest in El Salon Paoli. Everything from our cocktail hour, to dinner and our stay was incredible!

If you want a Spanish feel to your wedding, El Convento is the place to choose. Our guest are still raving about the food and service.

Thank you, El Convento for making our experience memorable!
I fell in love with Hotel El Convento as a little girl and always knew that that's where my wedding reception would be. Read more...
I fell in love with Hotel El Convento as a little girl and always knew that that's where my wedding reception would be. 20+ years later my dream came true! We had 80 guest in El Salon Paoli. Everything from our cocktail hour, to dinner and our stay was incredible!

If you want a Spanish feel to your wedding, El Convento is the place to choose. Our guest are still raving about the food and service.

Thank you, El Convento for making our experience memorable! Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130 sq 1416948752253 avatar
Mark
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
BEAUTIFUL VENUE!!! Amazing staff, SO HELPFUL with scheduling and coordination. They were happy to work within our scheduling constraints and our tight budget. They even helped us coordinate a ceremony location outside of their hotel!!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
BEAUTIFUL VENUE!!! Amazing staff, SO HELPFUL with scheduling and coordination. They were happy to work within our Read more...
BEAUTIFUL VENUE!!! Amazing staff, SO HELPFUL with scheduling and coordination. They were happy to work within our scheduling constraints and our tight budget. They even helped us coordinate a ceremony location outside of their hotel!!!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Tabatha
Wedding:
2/14/2014
5.0/5.0
My wedding and reception was held at Hotel El Convento. I cant say enough about how wonderful and easy they made the process of planning my wedding. Not only is the hotel beautiful and historic, the staff is very professional and easy to work with. I could not have asked for a better group of people to work with on our special day! I 100% recommend this hotel for your special occasions!
My wedding and reception was held at Hotel El Convento. I cant say enough about how wonderful and easy they made the Read more...
My wedding and reception was held at Hotel El Convento. I cant say enough about how wonderful and easy they made the process of planning my wedding. Not only is the hotel beautiful and historic, the staff is very professional and easy to work with. I could not have asked for a better group of people to work with on our special day! I 100% recommend this hotel for your special occasions! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Lucille
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
El Convento helped us coordinate and put together our dream wedding! We cannot put in words how grateful we are to have Ruben Alvarez and his staff help plan the wedding. Many guests thought the food was the best they've ever had at wedding. In addition to the wedding itself, our guests and ourselves really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Everyone from the front desk and valet are so helpful and carry a positive attitude. We look forward to our next visit to Puerto Rico and plan on staying at El Convento again!
El Convento helped us coordinate and put together our dream wedding! We cannot put in words how grateful we are to have Read more...
El Convento helped us coordinate and put together our dream wedding! We cannot put in words how grateful we are to have Ruben Alvarez and his staff help plan the wedding. Many guests thought the food was the best they've ever had at wedding. In addition to the wedding itself, our guests and ourselves really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Everyone from the front desk and valet are so helpful and carry a positive attitude. We look forward to our next visit to Puerto Rico and plan on staying at El Convento again! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
100 Cristo Street, San Juan, PR 00901 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hotel El Convento
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1439588655168 emilly  sergio 0083