130x130_sq_1352398572430-image

Hunt Valley Catering

Monkton , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

510 Monkton Road
Monkton, MD US 21111 (map)

PHONE

410-343-3553

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Hunt Valley Catering has been creating truly fantastic wedding events for almost 20 years, owned by Chef James Alford since the beginning. We promise that you will be thrilled with what... Read more
Hunt Valley Catering has been creating truly fantastic wedding events for almost 20 years, owned by Chef James Alford since the beginning. We promise that you will be thrilled with what we have to offer, and at a reasonable cost . Give us a call. We strive for excellence in the quality of our food , the presentation of your room and the upscale service that you and your guests deserve. Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1352823073806-huntvalleycatering1
130x130_sq_1352823074873-huntvalleycatering2
130x130_sq_1352823075671-huntvalleycatering3
130x130_sq_1352823076608-huntvalleycatering4
130x130_sq_1352823077275-huntvalleycatering5
130x130_sq_1352823077690-huntvalleycatering6
130x130_sq_1352823078203-huntvalleycatering7

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Rail Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Cajun, French, Indian, Italian, Mediterranean, Mexican, Polynesian, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
Tasting appointments are done on a private one to one basis. No group tastings . Tasting appointments are scheduled to work with your schedule . Call for a complimentary tasting appointment today.
Are you also able to provide the wedding cake?
We have a great relationship with yia yias bakery and have several menus that include a wedding cake from that bakery.
If a bride decides to bring her own wedding cake, do you have a cake cutting fee? If yes, how much is the fee?
There is no cake cutting fee if you provide your own cake. We also will provide your plates at no charge.
Are you licensed to sell alcohol? If yes, where are you licensed?
We are licensed in Baltimore county and the city.
Do you allow outside alcohol? If yes, what is the corkage fee?
You are welcome to provide your own alcohol there will be no corkage fee.
Do you provide rentals for items such as linens and flatware?
We provide table linens at 15.00 per table on average. China , flatware and preset glassware are included in our menu prices.
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
Wait staff are provided
What is your maximum catering capacity?
1000

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mr. & Mrs. Smith
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
I had the pleasure of working with Hunt Valley Catering both as an event planner and for my own wedding, which took place June 14th. I can't say enough wonderful things about Hunt Valley or more specifically Darlene! I corresponded with her on all the prep work for the other wedding and did not meet her personally till my own and she is terrific! She is super responsive and as an event planner coordinating multiple events on a regular basis, I don't know how she manages to be so quick. My hubby & I attended our tasting with her... their crab cakes/crab balls are AMAZING! Their prices are very competitive and as a budget bride I couldn't ask for a better value. I was able to stock our own bar and they provided the bartender and mixers/etc. which saved us a pretty penny. Darlene saved me on the day of the wedding, as just before it is my turn to walk down the aisle, I realize I don't have his ring and I never gave it to the MOH. It was in my dressing area... she made a mad dash across the venue and got it to me just in the nick of time!!! OMG, can I say lifesaver!? Everyone was so professional and courteous and went above & beyond to make the day special and seamless. I will definitely bring future clients their way and recommend them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
We used Hunt Valley for our daughter's wedding reception. They did a fabulous job with the food, as matter of fact several folks said it was the best wedding food they had ever had! Particularly noteworthy were the mini beef wellington appetizers and the crab cakes! The food was presented in a beautiful fashion, served very professionally and we were thoroughly pleased with Hunt Valley. They were also very responsive whenever we had a need to contact them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Since the time my daugther decided on her venue we began working with Hunt Valley Catering (one of the recommended caterers for the Maryland Zoo in Baltimore). Her wedding was absolutely beautiful, well coordinated and absolutely flawless!! The reception went off without a hitch and everyone loved the appetizers, dinner and cake. The reception was so much fun, our family and friends continue to remark on what a wonderful time they had. Importantly, their staff were wonderful to work with and very accomodating, respectful and a joy to work with. I cannot say enough how much I appreciated their level of organization, receptiveness and joyful attitude each person at Hunt Valley Catering offered. I would highly recommend their services to anyone catering an event!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
3/15/2014
5.0/5.0
Hunt Valley catered our wedding at the 1840s Ballroom and did an outstanding job. Throughout the entire process they were very professional and prompt in responding to emails, and on the day on the wedding everything ran smoothly. I would definitely recommend them in the future.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandi
Wedding:
12/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Hunt Valley Catering was EXCELLENT for my wedding. They were reasonably priced and provided great service throughout the process. We had lots of food at the tasting and were able to take home the left overs. The guests at our wedding commented about how good the food was. They set up the reception and executed it exactly as we'd discussed. They were crucial in providing a stress free day for me and my husband!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brynn
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
I had a completely wonderful experience with Hunt Valley catering from the advancing process to the execution at the reception. Everyone I worked with was extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and communicative. Darlene always answered my many emails and questions immediately and thoroughly, which I very much appreciated. I received a captain for my actual wedding day, an amazing woman named Jaime. She, along with the rest of the staff, made my evening completely flawless. The food was incredible, they worked with me to create custom entrees at a very reasonable price. The servers were extremely professional and kind. Overall a very successful event! I would ABSOLUTELY recommend them for any type of wedding.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debbie
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
I can not say enough great things about Hunt Valley Catering. Our wedding was different because we didn't have it at a traditional wedding venue. We had it my husband's family home. They were up for the unique task and we are so happy we chose them. Darlene is the best and we were fortunate to have her as our wedding day captain. She was so patient as we had so many questions and made so many menu modifications. Request her, if you can as your wedding day captain. On top of great customer service, the food was amazing. Our guests to this day (almost 6 months later) still talk about how delicious the food was, especially the crab cakes! That makes me happy!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Food was amazing. Got so many compliments from our guests. Especially for their crab cakes!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nikki
Wedding:
9/20/2013
5.0/5.0
This was the one and only Caterer that I taste tested and instantly knew that this is who I wanted to cater my wedding. The quality of service leading up to the wedding was excellent. All of my questions were answered in a very timely fashion. The food was out of this world. We had crab cakes, chicken picatta, carved london broil, redskin potatoes, salad, bread, green beans, cocktail hour with cheeses, fruit, scallops wrapped in bacon, shrimp spring rolls, chicken satay, etc. Everyone raved about how fabulous the food was and that everything was just as good as the next. Bar service was excellent and all staff was very friendly. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!!!
Services Used: Catering
B5
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My husband and I work in the Baltimore wedding industry and have worked with Hunt Valley Catering on many occasions. When it came to choosing a caterer for our own wedding it was a no-brainer. Every event we have worked with Hunt Valley has been seamless. From the food being hot and delicious to a timely dinner service and efficient bar they provide a top of the line service.

We have seen many events catered by other vendors where the catering staff is frazzled, the buffets are always in need of restocking, the food is not served hot, vegetables are undercooked - you name it, we've seen it. But never with Hunt Valley. They are so calm and organized on the day. It's very comforting on a crazy hectic day to have vendors who work with such finesse.

Jim and Darlene were very helpful in making sure our event ran smoothly. The food was excellent. All of the guests were raving about our mashed potato martini bar! And the staff were a pleasure to work with.

As the bride and groom we were given our own staff members by Hunt Valley Catering who made sure we got food and always had a drink. My mother also had her own member of the catering staff that attended to her which she was very impressed by!

I can HIGHLY recommend Hunt Valley Catering. Great vendor to work with!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
myluu
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
We are so happy we chose Hunt Valley Catering for food and services on our wedding reception day. Darlene was incredible from day one and such a delight to work with. We are very impressed with how professional and well-organized she was. She and the entire staff did an excellent job on our reception day. Our guests really enjoyed the food and services provided by Hunt Valley Catering. We chose Hunt Valley Catering because of the overwhelming positive reviews on this website and their services do speak volume. We would definitely recommend Hunt Valley Catering. Thank you so much, Darlene!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Josie
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Hunt Valley Catering just catered my daughter's wedding at The Grand Lodge. Everything, from our initial meeting to the day of the wedding, Jim and Darlene were absolutely the best in the industry. They were very friendly, and easy to speak to. We loved them immediately. We only met with one other catering company, and I knew 5 minutes into that meeting that I was using Hunt Valley and need not to go anywhere else.

Since I am in to food business as well, I was most interested in how the food was going to taste and be presented. They met all my expectations. All our guests raved about how wonderful the food was and how they never really thought wedding food was that great, until they came to our daughter's wedding. Everything was served fresh, hot, and everyone was served in a relatively short time.

Their staff were all very attentive to our guests, they all worked together very well and every one of them was very friendly and wanted to do anything for you.

My other daughter is getting married in 4 months and I am totally at ease and know that they will do another outstanding job!

Thank you, Jim and Darlene, for making our daughter's wedding "An Affair to Remember"
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We were so pleased with Hunt Valley Catering - from the moment we began communications with them. Their menu choices were very versatile and accommodating and prices VERY reasonable! Darlene, Jodi and Lawrence were fabulous - as well as the entire staff at the wedding. NOTHING went wrong, and to boot they added a seafood pasta dish at no charge that EVERYONE raved about. The food was amazing and the service was top notch. Thanks to the Hunt Valley Team for making our reception one to remember!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Great food, all emails responded to quickly. Upfront about everything no hidden costs! Great group to work with.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anne
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
When my daughter booked her reception, Hunt Valley Catering was one of the approved caterers from which we could choose; after getting some information from them and looking at menus, we scheduled a tasting and that was all we needed! The food was delicious, and the menu possibilities pretty much endless - they listened and made suggestions and worked with us every step of the way to make sure this event would be everything we wanted it to be.

And it was. We got so many compliments on the food - it was just wonderful. What made that possible was how accessible and responsive Darlene and her staff were, and how attentive they were to us at the event itself.

It was as special as we had hoped it would be, and there's nothing better than that!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
2/23/2013
5.0/5.0
We worked closely with Darlene and selected the "Gucci" package--beef and crabcakes for an insanely low price. From the first time we met with them we were comfortable and impressed--Hunt Valley was the only caterer that would allow us to taste their food before we signed a contract, which was important because we wanted to know what we were getting in to. :) They were very flexible with swapping out one entree choice for a vegetarian option and worked with a couple of people with special diets. We had 2 guests who were gluten-free vegetarians, and both said that this was one of the yummiest and most well-planned meals they have received at a wedding. They had an actual entree and sides, instead of just a collection of steamed veggies and rice. We would definitely work with Hunt Valley again and several guests asked for their information because their meal was that good.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
11/5/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were EXTREMELY impressed and pleased with Hunt Valley Catering. EVERYONE commented on how excellent the food and the service was. We just can't praise them enough for doing such a wonderful job!! Throughout the entire process everyone at Hunt Valley Catering was responsive, extremely helpful, and kind. We met with Jody for the tasting and she also worked behind the bar at the wedding, she was phenomenal.

Hunt Valley Catering really did a superb job at our wedding! We will be sharing our high praise of Hunt Valley Catering with everyone we know!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1342982383047-1840s
Ashley
Wedding:
7/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Hunt Valley Catering is an excellent business to work with. They are extremely professional, flexible, and worth the cost. The package we chose that included hor d'oeurves, alcohol, entree- complete with london broil, crab cakes, garlic potatoes, plus more, and wedding cake, was definitely worth the price per person. You just simply received so much for one price. We had a walk-thru a week before the event with Lawrence from Hunt Valley at our venue (1840s Ballroom) where we went over where everyone would sit. Hunt Valley provides the tables, linens, glassware, flatware, etc... for our event. The food was delicious and if the meat was not cooked to your liking, they would cook it more for you without a problem. The staff that worked our event worked efficiently, politely, and cleared off our tables quickly. Maybe even a little too quick as my husband and I only got a couple bites of our wedding cake. Other than that, everything went very well. We definitely recommend this caterer for your wedding/event!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
I absolutely loved Hunt Valley Catering! They were amazing and I'm so happy I chose them. Our venue lost power the day of the wedding due to a horrific storm the previous night. Luckily the venue had a generator and Hunt Valley worked with what they had available to them and created an impressive buffet. Many of our guests have told us that they couldn't even tell we did not have power. The food was amazing and the crab cake was a definite favorite. We even had to change the location of the reception at the venue due to the chance of rain from outside to inside and the last minute change was made with very little stress to my husband and I. They made sure to keep any questions or concerns out of my earshot and tried to make our day as enjoyable and stress-free as possible. I totally recommend Hunt Valley Catering.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marina
Wedding:
6/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Hunt Valley was amazing! I talked to Darlene throughout the process and she was very responsive and professional. I made many changes closer to the date and she was able to accomodate all of my requests. The staff on the wedding was very professional and helpful. Everything went smoothly and the food was great! We ordered "gucci" menu for the wedding which included crab cakes, london broil, salmon, veggies and potatoes. The food was delicious! It was only $6 to include open bar so we went with that. To be honest, I was a little nervous going with Hunt Valley as we were not really impressed with main course suring the tasting,althought we loved theappetizers. However, the menu that we picked for the wedding was way tastier than the food they had on the tasting. "Gucci" menu is the best andway to go for a wedding. I'm very happy we decided to go with Hunt Valley and that we chose the right menu. I would highly recommend Hunt Valley.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carly
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
We used Hunt Valley Caterers for our barn wedding in June and we were extremely pleased with every aspect of their company! Darlene was awesome to work with and always got back to me right away! I am an event planner so I was very detail oriented and Darlene kept all of my notes in tact and everything was perfect the day of the wedding! They were so flexible and helpful with all we needed, especially since we were at an outdoor venue that does not normally host weddings! The food was awesome and we got many compliments on everything! The servers and bartenders were very friendly and helpful as well. The price was unbeatable for all of the food and drinks you get!! I was so happy we chose HVC!!! I would highly reccommend them to anyone!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ameier26
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Hunt Valley Catering did an amazing job at our wedding. We didn't actually pick them out ourselves. The venue where we were married had a wedding earlier in the day and they had already picked Hunt Valley Catering. Since the weddings were back to back they had to use the same catering company for our wedding. Lucky for us it worked out great! We did our tasting with Jodi and she was great! She was very enthusiastic and went over all of our options for our menu. Darlene was also extremely helpful. The week before our wedding we changed a few things around on the menu and she was always happy to help. She also answered numerous phone calls and emails in a timely manner. Hunt Valley Catering took care of everything from our linens, to setting up the place cards and favors. My husband and I were so pleased with how the food turned out and our guests really enjoyed their meals as well. Hunt Valley Catering is a great catering choice for your wedding!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kendall
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Altogether a great deal! We had to choose Hunt Valley because the day wedding had picked them- but how wonderful that turned out to be! Very professional, great service, they went above and beyond at our wedding. On more than one occasion they handled things that should have been handled by our venue- I was very grateful on such a busy day!
Services Used: Catering
Bg19
Eunpi
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Darlene is terrific--well organized and friendly. Best value for money out of all the Baltimore area caterers. They let us come back for a 2nd tasting for free, which other caterers were not willing to do.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becca1
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Hunt Valley Catering was awesome. I don't know how our wedding would have run so smoothly without the great help of Darlene from Hunt Valley. The service was amazing and the food was fantastic. They also helped set up our difficult center pieces. I must have called Darlene at least three times a week the last two months before the wedding and she was always very reponsive and if she didnt have an answer she got back to me very quickly. I would highly recommened Hunt Valley Catering for your event.
Services Used: Catering
Bg5
Melissa
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Hunt Valley Catering was always responsive and on top of everything both during the planning process and on the actual day of our wedding. The staff during our reception were top-notch and very kind to myself, my husband, the bridal party and all of our guests. They seamlessly handled last minute details and set up our reception room beautifully. On top of that, our food (brunch with a mimosa and bloody mary bar) was amazing (especially for the price!). The only regret my husband has from our wedding day was that he didn't eat more of the burgundy tenderloin tips!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
10/21/2011
5.0/5.0
I have only positive things to say about Hunt Valley Catering and in particular, Darlene. She and her staff made my wedding reception on 10-21-11 run smoothly and all of my guests had positive things to say about the food and the service provided.
Not only were they were affordable but the food was excellent. Hands down I would refer them for any catering needs. Darlene helped throughout the entire planning process and was always available to answer all of my questions. We were also lucky enough to have her as our captain for our reception and her excellent service continued.
I honestly can't say enough good things about her and her staff!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
9/15/2011
5.0/5.0
The food was amazing and they listened to everything I wanted, executed it well and offered suggestions that made the service better without costing more money. Their catering turned out even better than I expected!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1297641272467-vacation2009480
Melinda
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Awesome! The quality was great! Everyone was really great to work with, the food was really good too!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Perfect. We used Hunt Valley for everything. Food, bar and linens, china, etc. totally the most reasonable caterer out there and they gave us a voucher for our cake at a discounted price. AMAZING! When the day arrived, they brought more food in (pasta dishes, extra salads) and made sure everything was in shape for our Baltimore style cocktail party. Love Darlene, Jody, and the rest of the staff
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Great value, great service. Everything went smoothly. Our guests thought the food was delicious.
Services Used: Catering
Bg21
Leslie
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Hunt Valley Catering did a fantastic job at my wedding - really beyond my expectations. We paid for our wedding ourselves so cost was very important. We are big foodies, but didn't want to spend over $100 pp for one night. Hunt Valley was great about explaining our options and not pushing us toward the more expensive items. We brought our own beer, wine and sodas (for a vintage soda bar) which brought down the price. We also bought our own cakes (for a cake table) which brought down the price further. We ended up at $40 pp! Amazing.

On the wedding day, Hunt Valley arranged to bring everyone in the bridal party a plate of food from the buffett. They brought over a heaping plate of everything on the buffett so we could taste it all. And it tasted like an expensive meal! The crab cakes were outstanding! Hunt Valley not only made great food, they organized the whole day with the DJ. I could not have imagined it better.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kaseyglorioso
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Hunt Valley made our dream wedding on our real-life budget possible!

Darlene, our main contact, was always very quick to respond to my millions of questions in a professional and very friendly manner. She made me feel like we were the only wedding on their mind!

From tasting to wedding day, things were great with this company.

The food was hot and delicious, and the serving staff was wonderful as well.

For the prices they charge, you will NOT find better quality and service. I would recommend Hunt Valley to ANY other bride without hesitation!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1271801030698-us
kendall
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
There should be a HIGHER rating for such exceptional service- We were ASTOUNDED at the level of professionalism .

From the original interview with them up to the last email thanking us for the opportunity to cater our unforgettable Fall wedding @ the castle in the woods, they were CONTINUOUSLY professional , helpful & in constant email communication about EVERY DETAIL

The amount of time we put into planning all of the details, along with their service & care for our wedding guests was just the best combination & ALL of our guests were just TRULY impressed with the WONDERFUL FOOD!!!

I know, I know...I'm partial- but not really, because EVERY ONE of our guests was astonished at the quality & TASTE of the menu we chose.

I couldn't have EVER had this dream wedding ~ I had wanted without them. They are ASTOUNDING!
Services Used: Catering
Bg11
kuroken
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
I couldn't have asked for better service or more delicious food!! The staff was VERY attentive and professional. Our guests were amazed and thrilled by the food!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
swells17
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Hunt Valley Catering is the most professional catering company that you will get in their price bracket. Take it from me, save yourself some time and go straight for Hunt Valley. After calling atleast 7 other companies in the surrounding area and getting quotes, Hunt Valley's price was absolutely the best. In addition, they were very flexible with our ideas - our wedding wasn't exactly traditional - and they were also very helpful with my gluten allergy. They really customized everything, and the quality of the food was spectacular. We had sliders, carved turkey, pasta, appetizers, etc, and the bartender was a saint for putting up with all of us! Watching everyone work was like watching a beautifully coordinated ballet. Thanks Hunt Valley for a delicious, memorable event and for keeping everything running smoothly!
Services Used: Catering
Bg1
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was on 8/14/2010, Hunt Valley Catering is AWESOME< REASONABLE AND AMAZING. The staff was very professional, friendly and answered all my questions even 2 days prior to my wedding. THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS< the guests loved the food- to to point that the plates were cleaned. I mean my guests loved the professionalism of the staff. I just want to say THANK YOU to the whole HUNT VALLEY Team, you made my day a very special hassel free day, even though I ate a little bit of the food at the reception due to taking pictures every second. They were kind enough to give us a basket to take home so that we may enjoy the food as well. That is GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE. if you want the best call HUNT VALLEY CATERING ...trust me when I say they are the best coming from a complicated bride to a mrs. Thanks Again.--MY DREAM TEAM:)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
We used Hunt Valley for our May 2010 wedding. The food was excellent and the staff was lovely. Our guests keep talking about how good the food was and how friendly the staff was. They went above and beyond to make our reception successful. Plus, you can't beat the cost!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The food was delicious, the staff was excellent, and the cost was unbeatable.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
I was very happy with HVC. They were one of the most economical choices for catering and it made me worry about the overall quality. However, my guests and I were blown away by the quality of the food on the wedding night! It was delicious! Also, the captain and other servers did an amazing job with the reception and set up the items that I requested that they set up. My brother-in-law, once a chef at some very good resturants in Baltimore, said very complimentary things about the food!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1258493676702-addymalik1001a
AdrielleMD
Wedding:
9/6/2009
5.0/5.0
Hunt Valley Catering really did a great job with our recent Septemeber brunch wedding. We were a bit leary about going with them because we noticed that they charged a lot less than other caterers in the area and we thought maybe that was an indication that their service was not up to par-WRONG!! The food is delicious, the staff was professional and friendly, and they were quite flexible with us as we discovered very close to the date of our event that we had more guests than originally planned for. Originally, I complained due to some guest feedback- my cousin reported that she witnessed one of the servers snatch a bottle of wine-which we used for tables numbers and were intended gifts to honored guests- from one of the tables. But after further "research" we concluded that she may have seen our cooridnator who wore similar colors to the catering staff take the bottles off the tables to give away as instructed. One of my vendors reported that she was yelled at by a Hunt Valley coordinator for being late but she received an apology from the coordinator (without any prompting from us) shortly afterward. Overall, Hunt Valley served to be the perfect choice for our event. Without sacrificing quality and taste they did an excellent job for a reasonable cost. My coordinator even was impressed by the service. Hunt Valley thanks for all your hard work! You helped make our day even more special.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
STorralba
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
Hunt Valley Catering offers the best there is--service, options and price! From the initial taste testing, to the selection of linens, they were so friendly and easy to deal with! But the most amazing thing is the quality for the cost. They offered the most affordable options and allowed us to have the "Gucci" menu and bar for bargain prices! The have endless appetizer and dinner options, which means they certainly have something for everyone. We couldn't have been happier with the outcome.

In addition to offering the best pricing and food/bar options, their level of customer service is outstanding. They were so friendly and accomodating and really made us feel like our wedding and business were important. They went above and beyond just providing catering services, they helped orchestrate our entire reception! On the night of the event, everyone was extremely helpful and we know we couldn't have pulled it all of without them!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1197305573216-newimage
ShellZoe
Wedding:
5/9/2009
5.0/5.0
Loved EVERYONE at Hunt Valley. The food was incredible. The flexibility in the menu we wanted... everything was just fabulous. They were always available to respond to our questions, allowed us to have *two* tastings (one to book them, and one to finalize the menu), and were very flexible when we asked for special items/details/bar options.

Would highly recommend.

(Used for meal and bar)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/7/2009
5.0/5.0
I was extremely pleased with the professionalism of the Hunt Valley Catering Staff. I ordered a Safeway cake for my wedding cake that was pretty, but still a little "blah" looking. When I came down for the ceremony, I saw the cake was beautifully decorated with one of the ornamental hydrangea flowers we had on one of the side tables. It looks like a million bucks! I thought that was so thoughtful of the team. They will also guide you through the wedding reception and let you know when to cut the cake and how to cut the cake. The food was also delicious!!! Everyone loved it and you can't beat the price.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/4/2008
5.0/5.0
The food was awesome, everyone said so. The price was incredible! The staff did a wonderful job advising me on how to time things and made my wedding run very smoothly. No one had to wait to eat. Everyone was very friendly and professional. I would use them again in a hearbeat!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brunoismykitty
Wedding:
8/15/2008
5.0/5.0
My friend used Hunt Valley Catering for her wedding, and as soon as I tried the food, I knew my husband and I had to have them for our wedding! From the food tasting to the food and service on the wedding day, we couldn't have been happier with Hunt Valley Catering. Their prices were very reasonable, and Jim and Darlene were so accomodating and easy to work with. They had so many extremely helpful suggestions with our venue and we got everything accomplished for the wedding in just a few meetings! We liked working with Hunt Valley so much that we used them to cater our rehearsal dinner as well. Many people told my family and I that it was the best rehearsal dinner they had ever been to! Also, we received so many compliments on the food at our wedding. The staff was polite and efficient, and there was never a line at the bar, even when people were getting their first drinks of the night! Hunt Valley worked with the DJ, and other vendors to make sure everything at the reception went smoothly. I was able to relax more knowing that I was in good hands with Hunt Valley Catering. I highly recommend them for a wedding reception or any party!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
7/3/2008
5.0/5.0
Hunt Valley Catering not only provided the food but also the structure for the reception. They helped plan how things would go, then carried out the plan flawlessly. They cleaned up not only what they brought, but also boxed up the things we brought for the reception, so leaving was simply a matter of packing up the cars. The food was great, and we couldn't have been happier.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
5/11/2008
5.0/5.0
Not one thing I would change here. The food was fantastic! The appetizers were absolutely great! The staff at our reception was more than accomodating, always asking if we needed anything else or how we wanted things done. They did a great job with keeping things going. Before we knew if our reception was over. From the entrance to the decorating to the food to the service to the clean up, Hunt Valley was completely wonderful. We had quite an array of food and appetizers with drinks and our cake included for a price you definitely cannot beat! We would recommend Hunt Valley Catering to anyone!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sarah
Wedding:
10/20/2007
5.0/5.0
Working with Hunt Valley Catering was truly an amazing experience. The food was incredible and their customer service was above and beyond. Everyone in the Baltimore are should be booking them as their caterer!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
10/6/2007
5.0/5.0
This was one of the best decisions that I made during my wedding planning. The service was OUTSTANDING and the food was wonderful. They worked so hard to make everything perfect!!!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
12/31/2006
5.0/5.0
I can't gush enough about how impressed I was with Hunt Valley Catering. My husband and I wanted a non-traditional hors d'oeuvre reception, which HVC quickly accommodated to perfection. The reception ran smoothly and we had nothing to worry about. The setup was better than I had pictured in my mind. Very professional and highly recommended!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
We picked Hunt Valley Catering because it was a good value and the food was very good. If you are comfortable with the your caterer returning your email or phone call a couple days after you send it then you will be fine. In the end everything worked out.

Overall we had an excellent experience with them. They recommended our DJ to us who we loved.
The food was great. They also brought us our plates to the table so even I (the bride) actually got to eat!!
The staff was very responsive and kept everything clean during the reception time. The biggest compliment I can give them is that I didn't have to worry about a thing.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JPayne
Wedding:
10/9/2011
4.9/5.0
Hunt Valley Catering is a great value for a cost-conscious bride--the food is delicious and service is excellent. Darlene was very easy to work with throughout the planning process and was very accommodating of all our requests. On the day of our wedding, Hunt Valley arrive on time and set up efficiently and seamlessly. Our guests really enjoyed the appetizers, dinner, and of course, the open bar! Our servers were extremely professional and treated both our guests and me and my husband exceptionally well. Hunt Valley created a truly beautiful and memorable occasion for a very reasonable price. I would definitely recommend them!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
deborah
Wedding:
10/9/2010
4.9/5.0
Hunt Valley Catering provided us with quality, professional catering at unbelievable prices. They were extremely flexible and accommodating to special requests that I had. For example, I made the napkins for the reception, and they put them out and made sure that they all were collected after dinner ( I wanted to save them so I could make a quilt later). I didn't have to worry about a thing- they ran the entire event behind the scenes. The servers were friendly and well dressed. We even got a free linen upgrade because the original linens we wanted were not in stock. I would definitely recommend this vendor, and I would use them again for future needs.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kara
Wedding:
8/21/2010
4.9/5.0
We used Hunt Valley Catering for our wedding at the 1840s City Lites on 8/21 and were extremely happy with their food and their professionalism. We wanted to provide our guests with a nice dinner, but were somewhat limited by cost. When we met with Hunt Valley Catering, they went out of their way to do a tasting with us (no other catering company we met with did this on a first meeting), and explained to us that we could do the "Gucci" menu without spending an arm and a leg. Our guests are still talking about how good the food was, and were especially impressed that they could go back to the buffet and have seconds, or thirds! They even prepared a plate of food "to go" for my Grandparents, who were unable to stay for the reception. I would recommend these guys to anyone!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacy
Wedding:
9/21/2013
4.8/5.0
When we first met with hunt valley, we did not click well with the person we were set up with. But Darlene had me come in for another tasting and she won us over. she was very helpful with everything, and they did a wonderful job executing what we wanted. The food was amazing!!!!! Everyone complimented everything. So so happy with them and what they did for us.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1236037862812-missysengagementparty
Amy and Tony
Wedding:
5/1/2010
4.8/5.0
We fell in love with this catering company the moment we met them. They were very nice and accommodating. They made sure everything went well during the reception and even went to the liquor store when we ran out of Vodka! They go above and beyond! The cake company that Hunt Valley uses was also fantastic! They made a great cake and it tasted delicious!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1185926669078-picture062
Tosh
Wedding:
6/8/2008
4.8/5.0
Hunt Valley Caterers Are top notch from beginning ( intitial meeting food tasting)- to end they were so great my guest are still talking about how wonderful the food and the staff was! They are reasonable in price. Darlene was my main contact she was very helpful by the end I spoke to everyone Jim, Jodi etc etc ! They work with you to make your day special and also have a contract with Historic Oakland Mansion so it made it easy to keep everything in sync. If you want top notch service book Hunt Valley. Management also came up with great ideas for champagne toast etc they were excellent! They intereacted with the guest and even carried all my stuff to the driver and ensured i always had water, favors, anything i wanted ...they make you feel like a true princess. Just call them ! PS: They are always booked so book early, they require a 500 deposit to lock in your date that is used towards your bill and you pay up until 7 days before your wedding! The prices are very reasonable ..and they even personalized my dishes ( used some of my moms recipes)!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
They had great food and were very responsive to everything I needed before the big day not matter when it was - right up until the night before. They said yes to everything I asked them to do. Everything went pretty smoothly the day of. I didn't wory or have to ask about anything.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
Our wedding food was fantastic, and the price was very competitive (we went with a buffet, which made it less expensive). The staff on site for the reception was very helpful and accommodating. Overall, I would highly recommend Hunt Valley Catering.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
6/23/2012
4.7/5.0
We were looking for a place with reasonably-priced food that tasted good and a wide selection, and this is exactly what we found with Hunt Valley. They have lots of options, including sit-down service, carving stations, and buffet, and a large selection of entrees and appetizers. Their menus and prices are a little confusing to understand so make sure to send emails or call with any questions. They are slightly unorganized, as I had to call them a few times to put down payment, ask questions about final payment and selection, and see what would be served at the bar. I really liked how they provided a bartender and basic bar for a cheap price, and we provided the alcohol so we could serve what we wanted. The people are very friendly and willing to help, you just have to stay on top of things. I would definitely go back!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heidi
Wedding:
9/25/2010
4.7/5.0
Extremely flexible with menu options. Quality of food was consistent with price-good but not great. However, their service at the event more than made up for it. Would recommend for the couple on a tight wedding budget.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
6/12/2010
4.7/5.0
Their staff was extremely friendly and professional. The servers who worked at our June 2010 wedding were efficient, polite, and even prepared us extra plates of apps and dinner when we were too busy greeting everyone to eat! Top notch, I would recommend again and again.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
The food was delicious! The cost was very reasonable. We worked with Darlene and Lawrence who are true professionals with tons of experience. We would use them again!
Services Used: Catering
Wwnetwork-128
Christina
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.6/5.0
I had a good experience with HVC! The only thing I was slightly disappointed with was the food at the wedding was slightly different then the food we tested at the taste testing. They were easy to work with before and at the wedding. Also, they stuck around and helped us put away the tables even when they didn't have too
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/9/2010
4.6/5.0
I used Hunt Valley Catering for our catering as well as our table and chair linens. They were great with both! The value and quality you get with them we could not find anywhere else! People came up to us and told us it was the best wedding food they've ever had! I think that's the best compliment you could probably get!

The staff at the reception were all dressed in tux's and were so friendly and helpful. I didn't see one person not smiling the entire time. They even ran out to get us more beer when we had run out of one particular brand, can you say crisis averted?! :)

I would recommend HVC to anyone!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
11/7/2009
4.6/5.0
Overall, we were very pleased with Hunt Valley Catering. From the moment we attended the very personal tasting, we knew we wanted to work with them. Just a couple of minor complaints, somebody forgot to turn the coffee on, so my guests were drinking cold coffee. However, the food was excellent, the service impeccable and we truly enjoyed working with them. I would recommend them to anybody who is looking for a budget friendly caterer without sacrificing any of the taste!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
FallBride
Wedding:
10/13/2008
4.6/5.0
Highly recommend Hunt Valley. Easy to work with and the food was delicious! Many compliments from our guests. My only regret was they didn't make the appetizer plate for us (the bride & groom) as discussed in our planning session or put together a "doggie bag". Otherwise, I have no complaints! The cake was to die for!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
8/18/2007
4.6/5.0
This was the cheapest/highest quality we could find in the area.
1. The tasting was excellent and it was one-on-one!!
2. They were VERY flexible with our menu and kept our budget in mind.
3. They included all the linen and glassware for free!
4. They allowed us to provide our own bar (we bought the alcohol ourselves and got to return what we didn't open) and they provided the bartender
5. They kept the reception clean and professional.

Downside:
1. Sometimes it took a little long for them to get back to us which at times was frustrating. But it all worked out in the end.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
10/20/2013
4.5/5.0
The quality of their food is what made us consider using them for our wedding. We had attended another local wedding and were impressed with it then and were not disappointed when we inquired with them for our wedding. They managed well with some confusion that we were dealing with the venue. There was a bit of confusion in the set up phase- but I wasn't even aware of it until afterwards when I spoke with my coordinator. The food was excellent, the staff professional and did their best to make sure that my husband and I were well taken care of.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margie
Wedding:
8/6/2011
4.5/5.0
I enjoyed working with Hunt Valley Catering. On the day of, their service was wonderful and they made sure we always had full drinks and plenty to eat. The food was prepared and presented well and tasted pretty good. Overall, I was glad to have chosen HVC as the caterer for our wedding.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Fleeger
Wedding:
1/15/2010
4.5/5.0
The food was incredible, and Hunt Valley really worked with our budget. The menu was perfect, and everyone was pleased with the meal. Everything was coordinated well, but the day-of coordinator was very abrubt in dealing with us. We always felt like we were doing something wrong. That said, however, the bartender, waitstaff, and food were all incredible, and Jim -- you're fantastic.

I highly recommend Hunt Valley to brides on a budget.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
4/21/2007
4.5/5.0
We had our reception here, and they did a great job. The food was excellent, and the value for what we paid was great. Perfect spot for a budget reception.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.4/5.0
Hunt valley offered exceptional service and great value! The food was outstanding and we received a lot of compliments from our guests about the crab cakes. They were delicious! The staff was very attentive and did a fantastic job setting up the tables and improvising with decorations where necessary. The reception space looked beautiful! My only issue was on the logistics side. There were a few miscommunications about the menu choices (which ended up being slightly different than we were expecting) and on the business end of things. It ended up being no big deal in the end and we were very happy with our experience.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandy
Wedding:
8/27/2011
4.4/5.0
Hunt Valley Catering was great on my wedding day. When Hurricane Irene forced us the day before to change our plans by shifting the ceremony and reception up six hours, Hunt Valley Catering was flexible and able to provide our food and service on time with a smile. Everything tasted great, especially the crabcakes, and our guests commented on how surprised they were at how good our wedding food was. I recommend Hunt Valley Catering to anyone looking for great food at a great price!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
9/22/2012
4.3/5.0
My husband and I planned our Baltimore wedding from a state away. We met with three caterers in one short trip into the city. Shortly after, my parents met with Hunt Valley without us because we could not drive out at the time. We had a very specific menu in mind for our wedding. We wanted all of our favorite comfort foods to be served in a slightly upscale way. On the tasting with my parents, they left extremely happy with the results of this menu, they said that the food was better than any of the other catering companies we had met with, and at a much better value. We decided to book, although my husband and I had not tried the food, but we were invited to come and do a tasting whenever we could make it into town. On this meeting, the chef that prepared our tasting was different than the first. She called my mother the day of to say she was absolutely not making the mac and cheese for us that day, and to argue about some of the prearranged details. Upon arriving, she prepared some different foods than what was discussed, almost as if she was trying to convince us to go with a different menu. We were also incredibly displeased with taste. My now husband and I left this tasting completely mortified by how our day would go. We called and complained and were sincerely apologized to and assured that this specific chef would not work on our wedding. Darlene invited us in for another tasting but we never got the chance to have a third tasting. Two weeks before the wedding, we met with Lawrence, Hunt Valley's contact, at our venue to go over all final details, and that the one chef (Diane) would not be working. This did not stop her from calling us the week of, as if she was working the wedding, but we were then promised she would not be. Even after all of these troubles, our day turned out perfectly. Lawrence and his team were professional, courteous and extremely helpful. We loved having them all there, even though we had so many issues leading up to.
Services Used: Catering
Bg11
kmbbc
Wedding:
9/12/2008
4.2/5.0
The food was delicious and all our guests were extremely happy.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.1/5.0
E-mail responses can be a little bit slow and we did have a few small issues with the staff on our night (some confusion about which guests got which meal choices & when to put out the desserts) but the food was pretty good and the price was very reasonable.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Da
Wedding:
8/7/2005
4.1/5.0
Terrific food, great tasting menu- Hunt Valley Catering is an amazing caterer especially for the value. The were able to be flexible with us about our drink selection and our guests were talking about the crab dip for weeks later!
Services Used: Catering
Bg11
swelchphr
Wedding:
5/29/2011
3.8/5.0
We had a good experience with HVC. We had to choose from a list of caterers our venue provided and HVC was by FAR less expensive than the other choices. Our venue rep told us they were the most common caterer chosen by couples (which also says something about their reputation). That also reassured me that they knew the logistics of the venue, timing, and how to do things most efficiently and correctly.

We attended a tasting (which was a lot of food – don’t eat dinner first). The person we spoke with was nice and allowed us to swap a couple of the foods from the menu that we chose. That menu included the wedding cake from YiaYia’s bakery (they give you a voucher with your number of guests and you go there to pick it out). She was mistaken when she told us that we could ANYTHING on the cake – there were some restrictions, but it was fine. She was also helpful in suggesting how we could save money on our bar costs. We also ordered our table linens and napkins through them and they provided the linens for the service tables (buffet table, DJ table, etc.) at no additional cost.

The day-of, there were some conflicts between the HVC head waitress and our coordinator, and I heard the stories on both sides, but they figured things out. In the end, the tables were setup nicely, the food display looked good, and everything tasted good.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.6/5.0
Overall, we were happy with HVC. For what we paid, we received a lot of food and good service. We ordered the "Gucci package," with beer and wine and soda bar, three entrees, a cocktail hour spread, and plenty of sides. Working with HVC also meant that our cake was provided by Yia Yia's (amazing!).

I worked primarily with Darlene, so when she was on vacation the week of our wedding, I was nervous. I received a call on Monday before the wedding telling me that we had too many tables or this room couldn't fit XYZ, etc. I was under the impression that Darlene would pass info along to whomever was handling our wedding, but that never happened. Our day-of manager wasn't updated on ANYTHING. That was nerve-wracking, but the day of the wedding, everything went smoothly. We also appreciated the HVC insisted we only order 1 set of chairs instead of 2 (one for dining room, one for outdoor ceremony) to save us money. We really felt like they were eager to please and fit our budget.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BadBartender
Wedding:
4/23/2011
3.6/5.0
There were a few issues with the service that Hunt Valley provided. Although most of what they did was up to standard (not beyond), there were some issues. The moment we walked into the venue the catering manager swarmed on me (the bride) to go over logistics. I had just walked into the venue, on a hectic day (my wedding), she could have at least let me put my purse down. Later in the day she decided to dictate exactly how we should cut the cake, and where our photographer should stand - very annoying. Beyond her, the other servers were stellar, except the bartender, which I'll get to. The food was good, and everything was prompt. It was a buffet, but they brought the wedding party plates of food to the tables. This wins huge points! Unfortunately, I would not recommend Hunt Valley, at least if a bartender is involved, to anyone. Why? We opted to provide our own alcohol, so we could have what we wanted, as opposed to the selection they offered. However, we were not allowed to pour our own alcohol, and would have to use one of their bartenders, which meant shelling out $150. We were fine with this. It included tip, supposedly. This turned out to not be the case, the bartender put a pitcher up on the bar for tips. This is against Hunt Valley's policies, yet it happens. Apparently their employees are not trust worthy, and they don't care how tacky they make your wedding appear. I would have told the bartender to take down, had I seen it.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kali
Wedding:
5/27/2012
3.4/5.0
Overall, we were satisfied with Hunt Valley Catering and we got good reviews from our guests on the food. Also, Darlene was very helpful during the whole process leading up to the wedding. However, the day of the wedding the caterers showed up an hour and 20 minutes late and this meant that the tables and chairs were not setup on time. Our guests were not able to go out to the patio and sit down until all the chairs were setup and the bows were placed on the chairs. Also, during the appetizer hour none of the wait staff was around to pick up trash or clean up after the guests. We had a buffet for our meal and the display of the food could have been fancier and more appropriate for a wedding. The setup was quite plain. In the end I would suggest this caterer to a bride on a budget, but they could have taken a few steps to improve their service.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
webamy76
Wedding:
6/22/2007
3.4/5.0
Our tasting went really well and we ultimately picked this vendor because they came highly recommended by the staff at our location. They were the most common caterer to work our location, so that helped sway us a bit - knowing they knew the building like the back of their hand. I was a little disappointed in that I felt like items I discussed at the walk-through we're never followed through the day of and that's mostly because between our tasting, our walk through, and our day-of-coordinator (provided by the caterer) ended up being three different people within the company. Had we worked with the same person all along, that would have helped a lot. I feel like there could have been a few things also communicated to me in advance a little differently. And, the day before the wedding, I had one of the staff calling me about an alcohol question. At that point, really, it was the last thing on my mind...especially while I was trying to de-stress. Maybe they should have contacted the groom or my parents with the question instead. Ultimately, the food was great. I never got a chance to see the buffet table since the groom and I were served by the staff. Our photographer never took photos of it either. I just heard from guests that everything looked really nice.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marla
Wedding:
11/3/2007
3.2/5.0
We enjoyed our tasting and the prices worked with our budget. After our wedding many of our guests told us the food tasted great. In addition the captain even offered to get more beer when we almost run out.
I did not like how long it took to get responses. No one even said goodbye to us or any of our parents. It was get in and get out attitude. Even after the wedding no one made sure everything was ok. I guess they were waiting for us to complain.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bryna
Wedding:
10/19/2007
2.6/5.0
Hunt Valley Catering's food was amazing, and an incredible value at that. Jim and his kitchen staff really did a wonderful job. We got many compliments on the food at our wedding- and the bartender was top notch.
However, that being said, our experience outside of the meal service itself (particularly any interaction with their 'captains') was anything but spectacular. It literally took weeks to get responses during the planning process, and their 'captains' with whom we dealt with were always super busy and quick to put us off because of their full calendar. It was a frustrating process at best. I was not at all happy with the day of coordination on the part of our captain, who was rude to guests and wedding party members alike. I do not feel like our wedding (held off site at another venue) was a priority for them- even though we paid 90% upfront, months in advance. Please, if you're going to book this caterer off site- hire a wedding coordinator to ensure that your day is treated with just as much priority as their on site weddings.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kel
Wedding:
6/23/2007
2.3/5.0
Mistakes made on wedding day. No mixers for bar. One of servers asked us for a tip afterwards (even though this was already included). Food was good. They were very accomodating and willing to make changes, but also very difficult to communicate with during the planning process. Jim was wonderful, but not available on our date. I ended up getting a Day of Coordinator, because I wasn't comfortable with them running things.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
510 Monkton Road, Monkton, MD 21111 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Hunt Valley Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1352398572430-image