Nophoto-130

Icing on the Cake in Newton

Newton , MA

LOCATION

Newton, MA US
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
I've been married for 10 days and I'm still getting calls from guests asking about the cake!! The Royal Sonesta pointed us to The Icing on the Cake and we couldn't have been happier - Paula and her team were FANTASTIC to work with. From the moment we walked into the bakery I knew we were in the right place. The entire place smelled amazing and the cakes were BEAUTIFUL. The tasting was tough - everything was SO yummy. Eventually we ended up with golden cake, mocha buttercream and raspberry jam. Paula made the vision for my cake come alive. TIOTC even helped me out with a Surprise Groom's Cake of all of the Boston Sports Logos. My husband couldn't have loved it more. I CANNOT wait for our one year anniversary just to eat more cake!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KMello
Wedding:
6/15/2013
4.0/5.0
Icing on the Cake provides pretty tasty treats for your big occasion. In lieu of a wedding cake, I had cupcakes. We were able to try several flavors before choosing what we wanted. I had hoped they could create a smores cupcake for my camping themed wedding. They said they would try, but when it got down to the wire they said they were unable to. The flavors we did have were pretty good...red velvet, amaretto and chocolate raspberry. The prices were also reasonable.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Paula at Icing on the Cake is an absolute pleasure to work with! She had so many great suggestions and our cake was everything we expected and more!!! And it tasted GREAT! Her pricing is very fair compared to others we met with and she made the tasting very easy ... there are so many directions we could have gone and she kept us focused and on track! We loved working with her and will use her for future events for years to come!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Working with icing of the cake was great! They were able to create the cake of my dreams and it looked exactly like the photo I gave them. Cake flavors are delicious and it is difficult picking a flavor as all the flavors we tried were delicious. What I also loved is that after your wedding if you bring in a photo of your wedding cake from the wedding reception, they will give you a small anniversary cake on your first anniversary free of charge! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ella
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Words cannot describe how much we LOVE the cakes from Icing on the Cake. Paula met with us during our consult and really paid attention to what we wanted for our wedding cake. She was attentive and offered her advice given our ideas and feel of our wedding. The cake was an exact replica of what we had in mind. We had three different flavors - red velvet, mocha, and golden raspberry. You really cannot go wrong with any of the flavors. The cake is moist and icing not too sweet. We fell in love with this cake when we first tasted it at a friend's wedding. Since then, we've had this cake for birthdays and it was a MUST for our wedding! We cannot wait to order an anniversary cake!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
5/17/2013
5.0/5.0
recommended by our venue and we couldn't be happier with the results.

i must admit the cake wasn't really a priority for my husband and i. we would of been happy with any old plain boring cake. however after meeting with ICING ON THE CAKE, our whole outlook on the cake changed.

we were asked a series of questions about our theme, which was downtown boston - not really much you can do decoration wise with a cake (or so we thought). they came up with the idea to feature the boston skyline on our cake and it was awesome! couldnt be happier. definitely was a showstopper at the wedding and made for great wedding photos!

and the cake was delicious of course - definitely recommend the amaretto, delish!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Icing on the cake was absolutely amazing! We decided on two cake flavors, white cake with raspberry-lemon filling and red velvet cake, and they were both so delicious! We also had a unique design in mind, and Paula created exactly what we wanted. They are so talented and easy to work with. I would recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
4/6/2013
4.9/5.0
Most brides dream about their dress, their shoes, or where they'll get married when they dream about their wedding day. For me, the only thing I dreamed of was the cake. I didn't know what I would wear or where I would get married, but I knew that the cake would be from Icing on the Cake. Ever since my sister had her wedding cake from here, my whole family has been hooked on their cake. We use any family get together as a reason to get a cake from here. I was so excited to plan my wedding because of the cake. I even cross venues off my list if you weren't allowed to bring in your own cake. Their cake is so moist and stays fresh even after sitting out sliced. Their frosting is so rich and delicious-the perfect buttercream. We loved all of their flavors so much that we ended up doing four! And our guests loved the cake so much that many of them ended up trying all four flavors. The only negative thing I have to say is that I specified many times in our tasting that I wanted the flowers on the cake to be frosting (because it is that good!). Since I had said it so many times I assumed when I got my final order sheet to approve when it said "icing flowers" that meant the buttercream flowers. I was somewhat disappointed to see that my cake had the hard sugar flowers on it instead of the ones I requested. Apparently someone had written it down incorrectly and I did not know that there was a difference when I okayed the sheet. Certainly not a horrible mistake and one that only I would know about but frustrating nonetheless. However, I will definitely continue to use them for all occasions and am already dreaming of my next cake from IOTC!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joslyn
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Paula is so easy to work with and cake was super delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
Great, dependable, reliable, responsive, talented! Their employees will respond to all your questions. I prefer a little more information laid out clearly on the website, but as long as you call them, they will work it all out for you thoroughly over the phone. They are upfront and articulate.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake was absolutely stunning!! I hated to cut into the beautiful sugar orchids that adorned the top, they were amazing! The cake was moist and delicious. They had many flavors to choose from which were excellent, but we went with lemon velvet- which was a great choice! Everyone I came into contact with at this vendor was very professional and kind. I'd highly recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Paula did an amazing job! Loved how she took the time to sit with us and plan out our wedding cake. She even added great suggestions we would not have thought of! Not only was the cake absolutely delicious, it was breathtaking. I'm still amazed how she could sculpt such beautiful calla lily flowers out of sugar!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
An absolute beautiful cake from Paula!! I had a choice between Icing on the Cake and Konditormeister. I heard Icing on the Cake's cakes were much better tasting, and I am SO glad we went with them!! The cake was absolutely stunning, and Paula was so easy to work with and created exactly what we asked for! We had a yellow cake with lemon icing on the inside and buttercream on the outside. The cake was OUT of this world!!! Everyone I talked to said it was heaven! One of my friends said she NEVER eats or likes the wedding cake, and she could not get enough of ours! Plus, if you provide them with a professional photo of the cake from your photographer, they give you a free anniversary cake! Can you tell I like cake? Great experience, would recommend to Icing to everyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aaron
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
We love Paula! Our venue included a cake from either of 2 vendors, but I can safely say that we would have chosen The Icing on the Cake even if that were not the case. The cake was beautiful and super yummy! Paula tactfully found a way to use our cake-toppers (that were not very traditional). The best part about Paula is that she really cared about us and our wedding - the day we went in for our tasting, we were still looking for some vendors for other services. She gave us a bunch of names and told us everything would be OK. Sometimes you just need to hear that. Thanks, Paula!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
8/19/2012
5.0/5.0
First I have to say that this was included in our package the Royal Sonesta so while we could have chosen other vendors, they gave this to us. But... it was perfect and we would have chosen them anyway! We met to do our cake tasting, and design our cake. The extra things we wanted came out to be about $100 bucks! And we get a small personal cake on our 1yr Anniversary! Everything tasted great, the service was great, and most of all our guest enjoyed it as well. They can personalize the cake just about any way you want it. No complaints at all!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Scott
Wedding:
8/18/2012
3.5/5.0
The cake tasted great and look great, it was everything we expected. The store was a little less than expected for our tasting. The floors were very dirty. I had some trouble contacting them about changes or with questions we had.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maggie
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
Our friends also got their cakes from Icing on the Cake --all the cakes were amazing! The people were easy to work with and we got tons of compliments. Looking forward to our anniversary cake!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ellen
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
We loved our wedding cake! We found Icing on the Cake very easy to work with from the start when we attended the tasting, through the ordering process to delivery and eating. Very good service and value for money.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Cake was beautiful and delicious!!!

Working with Paula from icing on the cake was wonderful. They are quick in answering emails, helpful with the cake design, and timely with delivery on the big day!

VERY HAPPY!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
We had a really unique cake design and it came out better than we ever could have imagined it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
12/17/2011
5.0/5.0
We tried a few different bakeries for our cake and once we had our meeting with them we knew we weren't going anywhere else. Their service and ideas were amazing. She just saw our vision and made it come to life. And the taste, our guests are still talking about our cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer K.
Wedding:
12/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I was recommended to this place by the College Club of Boston and was very happy with the way everything went. Paula, the owner of the store provided a great tasting with several different options and a very patient explanation of what our options were. She was open to having me have my own cake topper put on and the result was terrific - and that was just the pre-wedding meeting! The cake itself was both beautiful an delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
renee214mb
Wedding:
11/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Our guests still RAVE about the cake!! Such amazing staff & so helpful, and most importantly SO DELICIOUS! Highly recommend using them for your wedding desserts! ;)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1321112155039-0852img5842
Julie
Wedding:
10/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Paula envisioned the perfect wedding cake for us and executed it deliciously! We wanted something modern and elegant without all the frilly decor. We went with a four tier all white buttercream cake with a monogram of our initials and delicate detailing on the tiers. Paula sketched up her ideas in front of us to make sure we all were agreed which we easily did after seeing her creativity. We wanted variety when it came to the flavors. It was hard to decide at the tasting but the Red Velvet, Vanilla Amaretto, and Carrot Cake won us over. We are still getting compliments on the cake and even dug into our top part early!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daniela
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Icing on the Cake was by far the best! We went to a few different cake vendors for the wedding (as suggested by our venue) and IotC is the absolute best! Best service, best designs, best tasting, best value! Can't wait to go back to pick up our complimentary 1st Anniversary cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robin
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
In a word: Yum!!! Paula was fantastic and my cake was even more gorgeous and delicious than she had promised. She consulted us, provided us suggestions to cut costs and also have a scrumptiously delectable cake. I seriously think that the cake was so delicious that even the top layer will taste good on our first year anniversary (although, she'll send you a new layer too)!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elissa
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
I was very happy with the Icing on the Cake. The cupcakes were delicious and they offer a free anniversary cake if you send them professional photos of the cake. We ended up only sending those at our anniversary and they still sent us the voucher for the free cake to be used the next time we're in town. If you want guaranteed excellent cake design and a tasty cake as well, definitely use the Icing on the Cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shivani
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Our biggest difficulty with this vendor was that all of their cake was so delicious we couldn't decide which flavors to pick. I was very impressed by the owner who took samples of designs that we liked and then sketched what ended up being our cake. She also brought out additional samples of cake based on about 5-6 we had tried as suggestions - and one of those flavors ended up being a layer in our cake. This vendor found the perfect balance of listening to your client but also using your expertise to help them. And of course the cake was delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg21
Jen
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
We went with Icing on the Cake to design our beautiful three-tiered cake. Everything was included in the package from Wedgewood Pines CC in Stow, MA. We met with Chelsea to design the cake and taste some of their flavors. It was a difficult decision to choose just 3 flavors from their extensive list, and even in the end, we switched our flavors 5 days before the wedding. They were able to accommodate our last minute decision and our wedding cake mirrored our design on paper. It was perfect and very tasty! Between the one meeting with Chelsea and the phone call from Paula 5 days prior to the Wedding Day to go over details, I didn’t have to worry about a thing and it was a pleasant experience.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aramide
Wedding:
5/28/2011
3.2/5.0
I went with Icing on the cake for my wedding cake. The cake tasting was amazing. The owner Paula was super nice. She took her time to assist us in choosing a design because we were clueless when we arrived. She sketched something for us which was beyond perfect. She also threw in some freebies for us simply because she kept us waiting while meeting with her previous appointment. Hearing all of this, one would expect a glowing staring rating. However, on the wedding day, she failed me. She dropped off the cake without assembling it and left it for us to assembly. This was not in the contract at all. I am yet to call her to inquire about this. Other than the assembly piece the cake was delicious especially the lemon portion. If you are going with her, I would double check to ensure that she will assemble the cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hayley
Wedding:
12/11/2010
5.0/5.0
Icing on the Cake was part of my package with the Lenox Hotel but I would have chosen them regardless. The staff was so helpful and made the process fun. They had good ideas to help me get the look I wanted without going crazy on the budget.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maura
Wedding:
11/6/2010
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend The Icing on the Cake in Newton. Their cakes are beautiful and they taste good.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
7/31/2010
4.6/5.0
We chose the Icing on the Cake off of a cake vendor list that our reception hotel uses as part of their wedding package. The cake tasted great- guests raved about it. We were happy we did the filling upgrade (3 times filled, inside of 1 time filled) as the filling was the best part. The only disapointing thing about the final outcome of the cake was that they seemed to do a quick/poor job with the swiss dot design on one of the tiers, as dots were out of order in spots, and also the color of icing they used did not really match the color swatch I gave them. But it still looked good overall.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kcn_jackson
Wedding:
5/2/2010
5.0/5.0
all I can say is perfect!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Erin
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
We loved our cakes! Icing on the Cake was included as an option in the package for my wedding and even though I tested other shops, I knew I would come back to them. They did my brother's cake in '04 and I remembered it being really yummy. And Icing on the Cake lived up to my memories. We got a beautiful, elegant, and modern-looking cake which Paula matched perfectly to my colors. And then our groom's cake. We knew what we wanted for a basic design, but Paula came up with really great ideas for the border and sides of cake, that totally made the cake pop! Seriously, pictures of our groom's cake went up on FB as soon as out friends saw. And the cakes not only looked good, but tasted great. We went with a couple different flavors: chocolate w/hazelnut (very good and not overpowering), golden with chocolate mousse (classically yummy), and MY FAVORITE golden with raspberry, sinfully good, but not too sweet. We used the butter cream icing, which struck the right balance between creamy and sweet. I was so thrilled with both the appearance and taste of my cakes!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
10/3/2009
3.8/5.0
I have to say our cake was delicious, I mean we are still getting compliments about our cake...they were one of 3 to chose from in our package, and they were the obvious choice. I did have to call a few times to get a call back (i got married in "busy" season though) Annnnd, they did deliver my cake to the wrong venue. But luckily it did get there literally seconds before we were announced and it was gorgeous....it was just a little annoying to wonder where the cake was!
overalll, i would still recommend them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
futuremrstoddo
Wedding:
9/6/2008
5.0/5.0
Paula is awesome! Our cake was EXACTLY what we wanted. We brought in a picture and they replicated it with the additional changes we wanted. It came out perfect. The actual cake is delicious too. I have had many friends say it was the best wedding cake they have ever had.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kate1016
Wedding:
8/31/2008
5.0/5.0
Cake: Icing on the Cake: A+
Paula was professional and efficient. Our cake was beautiful and unique from a magazine picture I had seen that she recreated perfectly. Best of all the cakes from there are very moist and are delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tanya
Wedding:
7/25/2008
5.0/5.0
Our cake was fantastic, and I am not even a fan of cake. Paula met with my husband and me and helped us to compromise on the cake's decor: he wanted pillars and I did not! The cake was lovely and tasted great. Our guests still keep talking about how good it tasted. It was undoubtedly the best wedding cake I have ever tasted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
marisa
Wedding:
9/8/2007
5.0/5.0
Yummy! Great cake, great people. Good value. Go for a tasting and find out.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacey
Wedding:
5/27/2007
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was absolutely beautiful. We knew what we wanted but when we described it to other places they didn't get it. Well when we walked into Icing on the Cake - there it was our cake that we had been describing that we wanted. It was a 4 tier cake with a fondant drape coming down and on each layer were Cala Lillies. and on the top of the cake a bouquet of cala lillies. it was amazing. She made the center of the cala lillies match the color of my girls dresses. When we walked into the hall i was in tears because the cake was so beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
boolie
Wedding:
5/19/2007
4.6/5.0
The cake was essentially included with my wedding package but it was so good. My husband and I knew we wanted The Icing on the Cake immediatley. The cake was exactly as we wanted and it tasted amazing. So glad we had leftovers as we pigged out for days before our honeymoon. I highly reccomend them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Clueless Bride
Wedding:
7/22/2006
5.0/5.0
Anyone wanting to have their wedding cake from Icing on the Cake should first visit their bakery in Newton- I haven't seen anything that colorful and interesting outside of the Food Network! As for the cake itself- Icing on the Cake provides a wide selection of cakes in numerous shapes, sizes, colors and styles- the catalog is varied without being mind-boggling (always a tricky thing for menus) and the staff is friendly and helpful. They'll work with you, making sketches, checking colors, etc., to make sure you getting what you want, so long as they can actually stay within the laws of physics. The cake was tasty too- medium texture, just the right density, and pleasantly light icings and fillings, none of which clings to your tongue in the way that second-rate cakes might. They love what they do, and it comes out in their work! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Icing on the Cake in Newton
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220