130x130 sq 1222620975781 laceandlillies5

Indy Cakes

Indianapolis , IN
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

73 E Epler Ave
Indianapolis, IN 46227 US (map)

PHONE

317-840-1562

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Indy Cakes is a family run business located on the south side of Indianapolis. We can create a gorgeous wedding cake that will be the highlight of your reception, but not just for its... Read more
Indy Cakes is a family run business located on the south side of Indianapolis. We can create a gorgeous wedding cake that will be the highlight of your reception, but not just for its looks. Our clients tell us that our cakes are the best that they have ever had. Come and see for yourself. Contact Jill at Indy Cakes to schedule a free consultation and tasting. Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1372876292536 dscf9410
130x130 sq 1197515549870 dsc01346
130x130 sq 1222621111111 dsc02690
130x130 sq 1372876001744 dscf9403
130x130 sq 1372876159956 dscf9419
130x130 sq 1372876224685 dscf9383
130x130 sq 1372876260481 dscf9399
130x130 sq 1309275594164 teresa
130x130 sq 1309275617492 teresa3
130x130 sq 1309275639257 teresa4
130x130 sq 1309275660976 teresa5
130x130 sq 1309275684257 teresa6

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cupcakes, Groom's Cake
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
Yes, we offer private, free tastings of up to 3 cake flavors. Best of all, we can bring the cake to you!!
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
We price our cakes by the slice, starting at $2.50.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
The price includes the top tier, plus a free 6 inch tier on your 1 year anniversary.
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
We can create a design for you, or work with a design that you have found.
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
Wedding Cakes are prepared and decorated the day before your wedding. No week-old cake here!
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Yes, we can work with your florist to put fresh flowers on the cake, but we can also create lifelike gumpaste flowers.
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
We allow the use of our plates, pillars etc.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
We will deliver to Marion and surrounding counties. Fee varies with distance.

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
130x130 sq 1403451383 943c6e4ffc02cb18 image
Heather
Wedding:
11/8/2014
4.9/5.0
Our cake was wonderful! We loved having our tasting with Kathy to discuss options, services, and timing. We both agreed on a beautiful photo and Indy Cakes delivered an exact replica. It was so delicious, as the bride I was sure to take some time to have some cake! Everyone was very complimentary of the cake.
Our cake was wonderful! We loved having our tasting with Kathy to discuss options, services, and timing. We both agreed on Read more...
Our cake was wonderful! We loved having our tasting with Kathy to discuss options, services, and timing. We both agreed on a beautiful photo and Indy Cakes delivered an exact replica. It was so delicious, as the bride I was sure to take some time to have some cake! Everyone was very complimentary of the cake. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Gabrielle
Wedding:
9/6/2014
5.0/5.0
Everyone said it was the most delicious wedding cake they have ever had!!! Extremely great value. So moist and delicious with so many flavors. They delivered on time and i completely designed my cake and they made it beyond my expectations. Wonderful down to earth people. i cant wait to get my complementary anniversary cake. Also MOST AFFORDABLE IN INDY! I did my homework! They will make your dreams come true!
Everyone said it was the most delicious wedding cake they have ever had!!! Extremely great value. So moist and delicious Read more...
Everyone said it was the most delicious wedding cake they have ever had!!! Extremely great value. So moist and delicious with so many flavors. They delivered on time and i completely designed my cake and they made it beyond my expectations. Wonderful down to earth people. i cant wait to get my complementary anniversary cake. Also MOST AFFORDABLE IN INDY! I did my homework! They will make your dreams come true! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
8/16/2014
4.0/5.0
This was for my daughter'd wedding, the flavor of the cake was great. They did well with the design of the cake. The color was completely wrong even though they had the exact fabric swatches. We were very dissapointed.
This was for my daughter'd wedding, the flavor of the cake was great. They did well with the design of the cake. The color Read more...
This was for my daughter'd wedding, the flavor of the cake was great. They did well with the design of the cake. The color was completely wrong even though they had the exact fabric swatches. We were very dissapointed. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130 sq 1387131629831 mg586
Cassandra
Wedding:
5/31/2014
1.5/5.0
Indy Cakes does not stand behind their work. I did not receive the cake that we had agreed upon at our final planning meeting. We had ultimately agreed upon a cake that had black and red accents, to coordinate with our black cake topper. The face of the contract clearly states that the cake would have red and black accents; however, apparently the employee we met with failed to translate this to the sketch provided to the decorator. The cake we received had entirely red decoration on it, making our cake topper look out of place. When I contacted Jill at Indy Cakes regarding this issue, she refused to acknowledge that they made a mistake, and had absolutely no explanation as to why the contract stated red AND black accents, but there was absolutely no black anywhere on the cake. I had no choice but to accept the cake at our reception, but I am very disappointed at their customer service and refusal to recognize or rectify their mistake.
Indy Cakes does not stand behind their work. I did not receive the cake that we had agreed upon at our final planning Read more...
Indy Cakes does not stand behind their work. I did not receive the cake that we had agreed upon at our final planning meeting. We had ultimately agreed upon a cake that had black and red accents, to coordinate with our black cake topper. The face of the contract clearly states that the cake would have red and black accents; however, apparently the employee we met with failed to translate this to the sketch provided to the decorator. The cake we received had entirely red decoration on it, making our cake topper look out of place. When I contacted Jill at Indy Cakes regarding this issue, she refused to acknowledge that they made a mistake, and had absolutely no explanation as to why the contract stated red AND black accents, but there was absolutely no black anywhere on the cake. I had no choice but to accept the cake at our reception, but I am very disappointed at their customer service and refusal to recognize or rectify their mistake. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Indy Cakes responded with the following comments:

We always strive to provide our clients with the cake that they want at their wedding. To this end, we sign a contract with the bride and attach a sketch with notes regarding colors and design elements. While this bride's contract indicates that her accent colors were black and red, the sketch we reviewed with her, and she approved, VERY CLEARLY indicted which elements were to be done in red and which were to be done in black. The red elements were the damask pattern, and scrollwork piping, with borders being done in black. She subsequently changed the border to also be red, with no mention of changing any other elements of the cake design. The border changes were clearly marked on both the contract and the sketch. At no point in any of our meetings did she request that the damask or scrollwork pattern be done in black, or these changes would have been made, as were her changes to the border colors. We decorated the cake as was outlined in the contract that was discussed with and approved by her. We never want our brides to be disappointed with their cake, which is why we have a contract for them to sign and review. We are disappointed that this bride would find fault in us decorating the cake as was clearly outlined by her contract.
Default vendor profile pic
Kristin
Wedding:
2/14/2014
4.7/5.0
They were an excellent company to work with. I gave them pictures, color swatches and a pretty complicated design request and they were very accommodating. They delivered the cake to my reception venue in the worst possible weather that day and had it set up perfectly. The cake not only was pretty, it tasted great! The value for the service and flavor of the cake were the best around! I would highly recommend using Indy Cakes versus the higher priced north side vendors if your wedding is in the Indianapolis area. They deliver great tasting cakes, personalized service and a fantastic value!
They were an excellent company to work with. I gave them pictures, color swatches and a pretty complicated design request Read more...
They were an excellent company to work with. I gave them pictures, color swatches and a pretty complicated design request and they were very accommodating. They delivered the cake to my reception venue in the worst possible weather that day and had it set up perfectly. The cake not only was pretty, it tasted great! The value for the service and flavor of the cake were the best around! I would highly recommend using Indy Cakes versus the higher priced north side vendors if your wedding is in the Indianapolis area. They deliver great tasting cakes, personalized service and a fantastic value! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Monica
Wedding:
10/12/2013
4.7/5.0
Indy Cakes makes beautiful wedding cakes. We had a great time tasting cakes and designing our's. The staff is very friendly & helpful. However, I wish our cake would have stayed together longer than a few minutes after bring delivered. Due to the type of icing & fondant we chose the fondant decorations started to fall off when a light breeze blew on the cake. Our cake was absolutely gorgeous upon delivery. It just didn't stay that way for long. We took pictures immediate to preserve our memories of its beauty but was disappointed & embarrassed for ourselves and our guest to see if fall apart so fast. Thanks Indy Cakes for making our wedding cake look beautiful. Next time, let your clients know more about their icing if it won't hold the fondant in place so we can change it. Thanks!
Indy Cakes makes beautiful wedding cakes. We had a great time tasting cakes and designing our's. The staff is very Read more...
Indy Cakes makes beautiful wedding cakes. We had a great time tasting cakes and designing our's. The staff is very friendly & helpful. However, I wish our cake would have stayed together longer than a few minutes after bring delivered. Due to the type of icing & fondant we chose the fondant decorations started to fall off when a light breeze blew on the cake. Our cake was absolutely gorgeous upon delivery. It just didn't stay that way for long. We took pictures immediate to preserve our memories of its beauty but was disappointed & embarrassed for ourselves and our guest to see if fall apart so fast. Thanks Indy Cakes for making our wedding cake look beautiful. Next time, let your clients know more about their icing if it won't hold the fondant in place so we can change it. Thanks! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Deanna
Wedding:
9/7/2013
4.9/5.0
We absolutly loved the variety of flavors and fillings that there were to choose from at no extra cost. The cake turned out great.
We absolutly loved the variety of flavors and fillings that there were to choose from at no extra cost. The cake turned Read more...
We absolutly loved the variety of flavors and fillings that there were to choose from at no extra cost. The cake turned out great. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Britt
Wedding:
6/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Going into our wedding planning I knew I wanted things to be different and I was worried I wouldn't find a bakery will to do different and not charge us an arm and a leg to do so. Indy Cakes went above and beyond!! Our cake was four tiers; four different flavors and fillings; and absolutely perfect. 1/2 of the cake was hot pink and the other 1/2 was charcoal grey with a cascade of flowers down it at an angle. NOT white and not traditional and it was beautiful!! It was delicious on top of it and we also order cake balls which I caught people fighting over!! I can't wait for our 1 year to get our FREE cake from them!!
Going into our wedding planning I knew I wanted things to be different and I was worried I wouldn't find a bakery will to Read more...
Going into our wedding planning I knew I wanted things to be different and I was worried I wouldn't find a bakery will to do different and not charge us an arm and a leg to do so. Indy Cakes went above and beyond!! Our cake was four tiers; four different flavors and fillings; and absolutely perfect. 1/2 of the cake was hot pink and the other 1/2 was charcoal grey with a cascade of flowers down it at an angle. NOT white and not traditional and it was beautiful!! It was delicious on top of it and we also order cake balls which I caught people fighting over!! I can't wait for our 1 year to get our FREE cake from them!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.5/5.0
Cake was ok but not as awesome as the cake was at the tasting. Colors were off a bit especially the purple! Looked black! Definitely not worth the cost
Cake was ok but not as awesome as the cake was at the tasting. Colors were off a bit especially the purple! Looked black! Read more...
Cake was ok but not as awesome as the cake was at the tasting. Colors were off a bit especially the purple! Looked black! Definitely not worth the cost Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.0/5.0
OMG! Do not use Indy Cakes!!

Our cake tasting went amazing...it was a huge bait and switch deal the cake does not taste the same, they barely put any filling if you chose a filling....The icing was NOT BUTTERCREAM!!! I bake I know these things.....It was that powdered sugar fluff recipe that's as easy as 1 2 3 and taste exactly like powdered sugar...GROSS!!

The middle tier was horrible and 100% the opposite of what I asked for.....The color's were supposed to be hotpink and kelly green even wal-mart prepackaged would have been better than what Indy cakes gave us......Jill during my final "meeting" which wasn't a meeting because after your cake tasting and you pay deposit you have to come back 2 weeks before wedding to tell them what you want and they refuse to make an apt for that....you have to just show up.....I didn't like that but did it any ways and it was during that final apt I noticed my happiness fading as Jill said she's got to rush us out because some lady in Carmel wants cupcakes delivered....sooooo some lady in Carmel's $20 cupcakes are more important that my $400+ WEDDING CAKE!!!

I really did not deserve this....I chose local business because I'm all about supporting Indy and I really wanted this place to work out.....I was going to order my sister in laws baby shower cake from here as I was thinking In the next couple years I'll order mine from there as well....which would be thousands of dollars within a couple years......I was just really excited to help Indy Cakes not fail.....but they did in my eyes.....My heart is broke because this cake.
More so my disappointment continues as Jill told me it was 100% accurate colors as I stood in front of her with pics of the cake and my color swatch and she's like yeah it's right on and I'm thinking girl quit lieing.......she said that she doesn't know what happened from the time they delivered it to the time I saw it.........like what? really? huh?
OMG! Do not use Indy Cakes!!

Our cake tasting went amazing...it was a huge bait and switch deal the cake does not Read more...
OMG! Do not use Indy Cakes!!

Our cake tasting went amazing...it was a huge bait and switch deal the cake does not taste the same, they barely put any filling if you chose a filling....The icing was NOT BUTTERCREAM!!! I bake I know these things.....It was that powdered sugar fluff recipe that's as easy as 1 2 3 and taste exactly like powdered sugar...GROSS!!

The middle tier was horrible and 100% the opposite of what I asked for.....The color's were supposed to be hotpink and kelly green even wal-mart prepackaged would have been better than what Indy cakes gave us......Jill during my final "meeting" which wasn't a meeting because after your cake tasting and you pay deposit you have to come back 2 weeks before wedding to tell them what you want and they refuse to make an apt for that....you have to just show up.....I didn't like that but did it any ways and it was during that final apt I noticed my happiness fading as Jill said she's got to rush us out because some lady in Carmel wants cupcakes delivered....sooooo some lady in Carmel's $20 cupcakes are more important that my $400+ WEDDING CAKE!!!

I really did not deserve this....I chose local business because I'm all about supporting Indy and I really wanted this place to work out.....I was going to order my sister in laws baby shower cake from here as I was thinking In the next couple years I'll order mine from there as well....which would be thousands of dollars within a couple years......I was just really excited to help Indy Cakes not fail.....but they did in my eyes.....My heart is broke because this cake.
More so my disappointment continues as Jill told me it was 100% accurate colors as I stood in front of her with pics of the cake and my color swatch and she's like yeah it's right on and I'm thinking girl quit lieing.......she said that she doesn't know what happened from the time they delivered it to the time I saw it.........like what? really? huh? Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Indy Cakes responded with the following comments:

Unfortunately, there are several items in this review that are simply false, so I feel I must respond.

First, the client did not order buttercream icing, they ordered marshmallow fondant icing as their cake would be placed outside during their reception. They were given samples of both our buttercream and our fondant at the tasting appointment, which is the exact same recipes used during decorating. It would simply be too much work to have a different recipe for tastings vs decorating.

The design on the middle tier was decorated exactly as requested. Only upon returning the stand did the client indicate that there was a special method she wished we had used during decorating. Had this been requested during the discussion regarding her design, I would have been able to inform her that we would not be able to complete the design in that manner as we do not have the specialty equipment necessary to do so. (The middle tier has stripes, which were laid over her layer of fondant. She, apparently, wanted them rolled into the fondant, which would have required a sheeter, as used in Cake Boss.)

While we do not require an appointment for finalizing designs, at no point was she told she could NOT make one. Most of our clients finalize their designs during their tasting appointment, or well ahead of the two week deadline for all details/payments. While I did have to leave for a delivery, this was after spending 45 minutes with the clients finalizing their design. This was less than 2 weeks before their wedding, and after having already completed an hour long tasting appointment for them several months earlier.

As far as the colors go, I have placed a photo of the colors used in our profile, as well as a photo of the completed cake. Please feel free to make your own judgements.

We do our best to satisfy all of our clients wishes and are saddened that this client was so disappointed, but we also recognize that even when all requests/demands are met, some people are simply never going to be satisfied.

MAP

 
73 E Epler Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46227 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Indy Cakes
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1222620975781 laceandlillies5