Nophoto-130

Inn at Kelly's Ford

Remington , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

16589 Edwards Shop Rd
Remington, VA US 22734 (map)

PHONE

540-399-1779

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

3.7
out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
3.6/5.0
3.7/5.0
3.7/5.0
3.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
7/12/2014
5.0/5.0
We booked the Inn at Kelly's Ford for our rehearsal dinner, wedding ceremony, and wedding reception. We couldn't have asked for a better wedding venue! Tia and Lizzie are excellent communicators; they emailed me back promptly and always answered my questions. The wait staff are attentive; we always had exactly what we needed. The chef prepared a delicious menus for both our rehearsal dinner and reception. We'd definitely recommend the prime rib! The General Lee cottage and ranch houses were beautiful, clean, and spacious. It was a great space to get ready for my wedding and to spend my wedding night. We'll definitely go back!

We
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
I hosted my wedding weekend and reception at the Inn at Kelly's Ford (in Ripley Hall), and could not be happier! I thought we would have to give up on having a beautiful wedding in a scenic place, since we were no on a 50k wedding budget. But when a friend that had gotten married at the Inn before recommended them to us, we checked it out and were impressed by the beautiful grounds, spacious and classy comfy accommodations, and the elegant lodge feel of Ripley Hall.

I was a bride on a limited budget who asked a ton of questions! But Tia and Lizzy were very responsive, very patient and accommodating with me despite my high expectations and high attention to detail. And on the day of the wedding, Tia ran around tending to so many details, highly professional and responsive. Ripley Hall was beautiful, accommodations were spacious and comfortable, the details and elegant feel were just right! Tia and another staff member even drove the wedding party around the fields on golf carts so that we didn't die in the summer heat - so photos were efficient, fun, and not too sweaty!

I'm convinced that the Inn at Kelly's Ford is the best value around. But judging by the quality and beauty of our reception and wedding weekend, you'd never know it.

The food tasted fine, but was heavy and nothing memorable. Then again, we did choose one of the cheapest buffet options. We sure enjoyed the hearty breakfasts that were included in the cost of the rooms - a nice perk for our guests.

I was a little nervous by the up and down reviews I read online before we booked it, but let me tell you, but those are clearly from the past and bear no reflection on the quality of service, responsiveness, and amazingness of the Inn at Kelly's Ford now, with Tia and Lizzy on staff. Thanks Tia, for your patience, hard work, and for going above and beyond!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Zoey
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Tia and Lizzy are exceptional at what they do! My Dad attended his friends daughters wedding here and while we are looking for a venue he mentioned how beautiful this place was. I looked it up online and I will say at first I was not impressed. The website needs to be updated! We scheduled a visit anyways because he insisted! I am so happy that we did. The entire place is gorgeous! The views of the fields and horses and the lake were absolutely perfect and exactly what we were looking for! The Arena is where our reception was, and even though the AC did stop working during out reception, Lizzy and her team were already working on it before I even noticed. It did get a little hot and I apologized to our guests and honestly not a single one cared! The ceremony was held outside on the stone fountain with our guests in the field in front of us. You have the option of a couple things to use for an entrance and I opted for the old car, and it was beautiful. My guests loved the place. It is neatly tucked away off the back roads and very private and secluded. My family took up every single room of the Inn from Friday-Sunday. The rooms and houses are beautiful and the Silo is a sight to see! The food was fantastic and breakfast every morning was great as well! Our guests loved this place so much that many of them said they would be back to stay at The Inn. My husband and I will also be back! Tia and Lizzy really are fantastic and they think of everything before you do, and most of the time its done before you even think of it!
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Terri Michelle
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
I found this venue through work last year and went out in August of 2013 to book our wedding for April 26, 2014. Tia and Lizzy were great and always got back to me within the day when I had questions. They have everything laid out to a T and made it EASY to plan. My guest list kept changing and they had no issues always updating our final price.
I had the horse and carriage take me from the main house to the 3 wooden gazeboes at the bottom of the property. I HIGHLY recommend spending that money and doing that! Every single person said it was the most beautiful thing they ever saw! ALSO, the food there is AMAZING! We have had sooooooo many compliments about the food. Best wedding food ever, and we did the buffet! They had soooo many choices we could chose from. We also stayed there during that weekend and their breakfast and pub is also amazing and perfect! We had our reception in Ripley Hall, and we barely had to decorate, the place is beautiful already! Again, we are getting an overwhelming amount of compliments on every single thing we did for our wedding. People are already planning to come back throughout the year to have a weekend stay to just enjoy it. We had a living social coupon which gave us a discounted stay in one of their cottages (WHICH IS BEAUTIFUL) and a free activity which we all did horseback riding before our rehearsal events started! Everyone loved every single second that weekend...only bad thing, it went toooo too fast!

Thank you Tia and Lizzy!!!!!!!!!!! You made our WEEKEND perfect!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
4/19/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married at the Inn at Kelly's Ford on 4/19 and we couldn't be more happy with the way everything turned out. Initially, we were nervous about the reviews we read but we went ahead and booked the venue. I can honestly say, I didn't have one complaint! The property is absolutely beautiful! Our reception was held in Ripley Hall and let me just say, it was perfect! Ripley Hall has a lot of character and was exactly what we were looking for. The scenery, the food, and staff were awesome! We had so many compliments from our guests of how beautiful the venue was and how delicious the food was. Tia and Lizzy (event coordinators) are more than helpful and were there for us along the way answering my many questions. Tia was with us on wedding day and she made sure everything went smoothly. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Todd
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
This past weekend Me and my new wife had our wedding at the Inn at Kelly's Ford. We had the perfect wedding. The staff there was on point with EVERYTHING. I would especially like to thank Tia, Lizzy, and Cindy, members of the staff there, for all their hard work. Everything they did helped to make our wedding perfect. Everything from the rehearsal dinner, the ceremony, lodging, reception was handled so well that we had little to worry about. The staff at Kelly's Ford has a lot to be proud of and the owner should be proud for the hard work the staff and coordinators put into our wedding. We would definitely recommend the Inn to anybody from a wedding ceremony/venue, to just a nice, relaxing and comfortable weekend. We will definitely go back for anniversaries.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding at The Inn at Kelly's Ford on April 5th and it was absolutely beautiful! Throughout the wedding planning Tia and Lizzy were amazing and so very helpful. Navigating through wedding planning is stressful, but they were so organized that it took a lot of the stress out of planning the logistics of the ceremony and reception. Most of the wedding party and guests stayed on the property the weekend of the wedding and all of the accommodations were impeccable. Very clean and lovely. The bridal party stayed at the General's Quarters, while the groom and groomsmen stayed at the Ranch House. I would highly recommend staying at either of these places. Every staff member at the Inn was warm, inviting, and friendly! During the rehearsal Lizzie and Tia were invaluable at keeping everyone on task and helping to work out how to best organize the ceremony. During the day of the wedding Lizzie and Tia were extremely organized and helped take the stress out of the day. Throughout the night it was like they had a sixth sense of when I or my now husband needed something. Every time I was about to find them to ask them something there they would be already taking care of it. The food was absolutely delicious and the Inn worked with the couple of special requests we had with a few dietary needs of our guests. All of the service throughout the night was incredible. I would highly recommend the Inn for any wedding. A beautiful setting with wonderful people!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.0/5.0
My husband and I booked our wedding here at Kelly's Ford. DO NOT BOOK HERE!

I had read a few bad reviews but not too many of them and thought that maybe there were circumstances that I was not aware of that caused issues with other clients. As a husband and wife team in the wedding industry we totally understand that there are some times in extreme circumstances things that cannot be avoided that might make clients frustrated.

I want to write a TON more than I am allotted characters so basically in a nut shell: they double booked two of our three rooms so we only ended up with one, never answer their phones, they gave us the wrong food at the reception and refused to refund our money, service was painfully slow (grandparents left before dinner because it was taking too long), the food was cold and the kicker, WORST OWNER I HAVE EVER HAD THE DISPLEASURE OF WORKING WITH.

I asked to speak to the Owner months before the wedding and was never given a call or email. After receiving the incorrect food I felt like I had been pushed to my limit and asked to speak to the Owner at their earliest convenience. She still never contacted me, that is until she saw that we still owed money for our cottage and suddenly she was on top of things and emailed us, threatening to sue us if we didn't pay her the remaining balance of the room rental (a small sum considering the cost of the wedding).

I calmly asked that I be called by Linda, the owner, directly and told the coordinator at Kelly's Ford that I was more than happy to pay our balance, but I wanted to speak to Linda first. The coordinator apologized and said that Linda does not speak to her customers (this is how you run a business?!) and that she refused to speak directly to me.

DO NOT BOOK YOUR WEDDING HERE! It is supposed to be a beautiful event in your life and here I was upset over something that could have been handled with a little respect from the Owner and common courtesy.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.0/5.0
My best friend got married here and although the venue is beautiful the staff is not very competent. There were many issues with communication between the staff and couple, including receiving the wrong food at the reception. When the bride asked to be refunded they refused. Although I wasn't the bride I was very unhappy with the service at both the rehearsal and reception: cold food, never received drinks, bread is apparently a luxury item.

My friend is so upset when this should have been the most happy moment. Do not book your wedding here, Linda is a horrible owner and will find some way to screw you over.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
0.0/5.0
I truly had high hopes for such a naturally beautiful location. One of my best friends recently got married and had her reception here. From the start, there were several red flags but this was her dream spot so they held their heads high and made the best of it -- typical for this couple to do.

As an events coordinator myself, I can't help but be a bit critical, and I realize that but there were major details that I couldn't ignore as part of the bridal party and as a guest.

From the start, the Inn DOUBLE booked and left our bride with 1/3 of the rooms she had paid for and was minimally compensated. The owner of course was and remains unresponsive to such a critical issue.

SERVICE was less than efficient or accommodating. Simple communication between BOH, FOH, and guests is extremely important and it seemed as no one was communicating properly or running the place for that matter. No manager came to discuss the status of our more than tardy drinks, bread, appetizers, or entrees. All which came out in four waves, easily 30 minutes apart for each table. I understand the service industry and realize large parties take time but someone should be able to alleviate the stress and assure they will be taken care of -- you're in customer service!

There are several large mistakes that happened over the course of our two day festivities. I understand that mistakes happen but what didn't happen here was anyone taking responsibility for delivering less than adequate service. As a business owner, take PRIDE in your establishment, and be willing to hear feedback from your clients, it will make your business more profitable financially and morally and will make positive memories for so many wedded couples.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.2/5.0
When we first looked at the Inn at Kelly's Ford we were impressed by the grounds & the atmosphere. We loved the scenery & backdrop of horses & mountains, all along the beautiful Rappahannock River. I immediately knew that this was the place for our wedding reception!
From day one, the coordinators were professional & friendly, taking quite a lot of time to answer our questions. Staff was also friendly, & although there were a few times when we visited the venue that we had to wait past our appointment time to meet, it was well worth it to have face to face interactions & truly have a say in our BIG day.
We rented the entire venue for our wedding. The coordinators tracked who was staying in which room & kept it very organized, so the day of there weren't any issues with accommodations.
The food was great, but there is a cost for tasting, which I did not necessarily like, as we were paying a substantial amount of money for a large reception with 150 guests.
The day of was coordinated well as far as timing goes, all tables & chairs were in their places. We worked from the Wednesday before the wedding to the morning of the wedding on the reception hall (Ripley), which was gorgeous. There were only a few hiccups with the number of tables, but we were able to get it taken care of well before the reception time.

The two suggestions I would make to the Inn would be to be more flexible with alcohol (we had a distributor willing to sell the Inn champagne & wine for very cheap, but the Inn could not use him without charging us their $21 a bottle fee) & to reduce some of the nickel & diming. Perhaps create wedding packages, with less "add $100 here for this & $250 here for that". Those little costs add up quickly.

All in all, I think the Inn at Kelly's Ford was a great venue. The service was professional, friendly, & prompt. We had a few issues, but as stated above, many of them were minor in comparison to some horror stories I've heard!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/21/2013
3.8/5.0
Overall we had a good experience at Kelly's Ford for our wedding. Hindsight I thought we would be saving money having our wedding here, but after all of things we had done, it would have been cheaper to have the wedding elsewhere.

We had draping, up lighting, lots of fresh flowers, white carpet for the aisle, extra lights on the tree all done professionally, so this raised the overall price by at least 10K. The owners bought the draping (not surprising as the ceiling has some really ugly tatoos on it), so maybe it won't cost as much anymore to have it look presentable. FYI the carpet is a mess, its a stained blue color that needs to be replaced and there are breaks in the carpet that make it fun to navigate in heels. The owners are supposed to be replacing it, but who knows.

The landscaping around the venue needs some serious help, there are weeds everywhere and it just looks run down. The day before the rehearsal dinner the gardeners trimmed all of the roses off the bushes....why they couldn't wait a day is beyond me. The scenery is gorgeous though.

We had three different planners rotating during the year, Cody, Tia and Lizzy. Cody seemed the most knowledgeable, but was only there for 6 months during the planning, Tia showed us the venue, but then left after 2 months and was back 1 month before the wedding. Lizzy took Tia's place and in the end we had Lizzy and Tia on the day of the wedding. With this said, it would be wise to have an outside coordinator that will be consistent through the planning process.

The biggest issue was the food-we were NEVER told that we needed to choose two entrees, since we had chosen filet mingon and halibut we assumed guests would choose day of, this was not the case and we were asked which we were doing by Lizzy 1 week before the wedding. My Mom, wedding planner and fiance and I were devastated as this had not once come up before. In the end we did a duet so everyone got both filet mingon and halibut.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
The Inn provided a beautiful backdrop for our outdoor wedding! The grounds and horses were gorgeous- we held the ceremony at an outdoor gazebo and the reception in Ripley Hall. The staff was courteous and welcoming at all times. The food was fantastic (we recommend the Beef, Turkey and Roast Beef) and everyone really enjoyed the wedding!! What we liked most about this venue was their flexibility and the fact that we could have the rehearsal dinner, the ceremony, the reception and the after-party (Pub) all on site! Although it is a bit of a drive for out of town guests, we used a hotel on Rt. 17, which worked out well. One negative aspect was that we had to use a taxi service to get guests to and from the hotel and the Inn- we couldn't find a shuttle service. We also stayed in the cottages over the weekend for half price thanks to a Living Social deal that the Inn actually suggested. They truly care about their guests and I would definitely recommend this venue to others for any event!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Betsy
Wedding:
7/13/2013
0.0/5.0
I want to relay information to friends and family about an organization not to do business with: Inn at Kelly's Ford (Remington, VA).

My son-in-law is from Fredericksburg, VA and active military, having served nine months in Afghanistan. He and my daughter contracted and paid $780 to have their July 13, 2013 wedding ceremony in the 3 Gazebo area of Inn at Kelly's Ford. On July 12, due to heavy rain, the 3 Gazebo area flooded and made it unavailable for their ceremony. The event coordinator from the Inn contacted my daughter and offered two other options for their ceremony. One was a gazebo overlooking a now flooded field and the other was an arena which smelled like a barn. They had previously dismissed both these options when they toured the Inn. My daughter and son-in-law decided to simply hold the ceremony my son-in-law's parent's home, where the reception was to take place. Through numerous contacts by e-mail and phone, Inn owner Lynn Willoughby has refused to refund any of the $780 she took from my daughter and son-in-law. And, even though I have addressed a phone message and e-mail directly to her, she will not speak with me. All communication has come through her staff.

I recommend you not do business with someone so lacking in common courtesy and ethical business practices. Please share this information as you feel appropriate so others won't be taken.

Save yourself a lot of disappointment, anger and frustration. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS ESTABLISHMENT AND SHARE THIS WITH ANYONE EVEN CONSIDERING THIS VENUE!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annette
Wedding:
6/20/2013
4.8/5.0
The wedding planner worked with us every step of the way, they helped us to make the best decisions to make it affordable. Everything was perfectly clean, in order, the grounds were beautiful, all the guests loved the place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.6/5.0
My wedding was perfect! However, if I had to do it all over again I would not have chosen this as my venue! They were just not as flexible as I feel you have to be in this business of dealing with brides!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/16/2012
4.8/5.0
Our recent ceremony and reception at the Inn at Kelly's Ford was wonderful. I would highly recommend this venue for a Virginia bride looking for a beautiful location at a great value. The event people at the Inn, Tia and Cody, did an amazing job accommodating all our requests including coming up with a great variety of German beers for my husband. The food was also really outstanding. Additionally, the Inn catered an amazing rehearsal dinner for us the Friday before our wedding and set is up on the lawn behind the General's Quarters, a house on the Inn's property that my husband's family rented for the weekend. I'm very happy we chose the Inn at Kelly's Ford for our wedding, it is definitely a place I will keep coming back to over the years.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1338944901558-fbavatar2470107
Elizabeth
Wedding:
5/26/2012
2.0/5.0
I was very impressed with the Inn at Kelly's Ford when I first booked them for my wedding. They were friendly and professional. I even met the owner, Linda, who assured me everything would be perfect. There was another wedding booked the same day as mine, and Linda also said that I would never know it was going on.

On the day of my wedding, breakfast orders were wrong and the ceremony started late because our transportation from a room to the gazebo was late. One of my bridesmaids had to go ask when they would be taken to the ceremony site. No one called us, we just happened to see the car outside the room. We would have appreciated a heads up so we didn't have to seek out the info ourselves. The bridesmaids had to get their bouquets from inside the Arena (and they knew this only because one of them had seen the flower delivery), and the groomsmen and other participants boutonnieres were also left in the arena for them to figure out. Further, we had corsages for mothers and grandmothers that simply disappeared before the ceremony. It would have been nice for the staff to have even been present at this time, as we also had table number markers in a box in the arena, that none of the wedding party knew needed to be put out. It also would have been nice if the staff had put out our favors at each place setting like they said they would. Instead, my dad and cousin noticed that needed to be done and did it.

I did not have a wedding planner, as I thought the Inn staff would be there to give advice to make things run smoothly, as they have weddings and events all the time. However, the two people on staff seemed to be running between the two receptions that day, neglecting to be "on top pf things" as they claimed they would be.

My bridesmaids as well as my mom went to see about refilling fruit and snacks at the chocolate fountain (on separate occasions) and noticed kitchen staff eating some of our wedding cake and the snacks that went with the fountain. If trays are empty or people have not been served cake, that needs to happen before the service crew has a break, right?

The Inn either should not have booked two weddings on the same day, or should have hired more staff to oversee the events. All day they seemed to flail around, telling us one thing and then being late on their own request-- case in point: they said to have the cake cutting at 5 pm, but there was no cake cutter for a few minutes (and a few minutes can seem like a lifetime!).

I also later found out that they tried to stuff our two layer wedding cake into a box that wasn't quite big enough and broke one of the figurines my good friend made for us. (Luckily she can fix it, but the Inn didn't even tell us of their mistake.)

Overall, leading up to the big day, I felt comfortable that the Inn's staff would help make my day perfect. However on the day that really mattered, I was disappointed in the coordination they had internally and with my parents and the wedding party. There is a reason you meet with a company multiple times before an event, to make sure things go well. We were told all our requests for making the day a success would be taken care of and they most certainly were not accomplished by the Inn.

PS- people in charge of weddings at the Inn changed twice while we were planning this event. When I mentioned that to my florist, he didn't seem the least surprised. I think I should have taken that as a sign.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BethanyWalton
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Tia, Colby and the staff at the Inn did an amazing job at our wedding. They always kept in contact with me and promptly answered my many many emails I sent throughout the planning process with me. The venue is absolutely beautiful and the equestrian background made for the perfect wedding for me. We spent the evening before in the Inn and stayed in one of the lovely cottages while getting ready during the day. They were very helpful and anything we needed they had for us and would bring to us. I could not have asked for a better day. Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelli
Wedding:
10/22/2011
0.4/5.0
The Inn at Kelly's Ford is a gorgeous location. The setting for our ceremony and the reception room were everything I wanted. The scenes for the photographers were perfect. I wish I could say the same for the staff. The original event planner we were working with was replaced before the wedding. The planner we ended up working with was unenthusiastic about just about everything. Most people you work with regarding your wedding are positive and want to give you a special experience for your wedding, people you are paying a lot less than your venue. I was also told that maps to the venue would be copied and mailed to me so that I could insert them in the invitations. This never happened. I overlooked all this because I just loved the venue so much. They have places you can put framed photos at your reception and a fireplace lending a bit of a cozy feel. The selection of food choices was extensive which was important to us. However, they almost ruined my entire wedding. Right before our rehearsal, the day before the wedding, the planner pulled my mother aside, informed her that he had miscalculated the cost of the wedding therefore my parents had to come up with an additional large sum of money and he said if he didn't receive a check, there would be no wedding. So, as much as I do love the venue, knowing how they took advantage of my parents like that makes me unable to give them a good review. To me, working with this venue would be a risk since they punished us for a mistake they made.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
12/18/2010
2.5/5.0
The Inn at Kelly's Ford was a great venue, and my ceremony and reception went very well, however, I had several other issues.

I booked all of the rooms in advance for my wedding, and two were double booked, resulting in one of the members of the bridal party having no place to stay the night of the wedding. When I attempted to talk to the owner about the problem she became belligerent, and refused to admit they double booked, stating that the rooms were booked by my guests (one was, one wasn't). Either way I had reserved all the rooms ahead of time, and specifically told them I would take care of who was staying there, and no one should be calling to book their own rooms. If this problem was dealt with professionally, I would have understood that mistakes happen, but the owner yelled at two of my guests, and refused to offer any compensation, and I believe she may have been either on drugs or drunk when I tried to discuss the problem with her.

They were also not the best at communication. I had to initiate all contact, and sometimes when I called I got the impression that they were unsure of who I was, and did not know much about my event. I was also never told exactly how everything would go the day of the wedding so was a little worried about everything getting set up correctly, etc.

I also originally thought the Inn was priced very reasonably, but there were many little extras that were not included and added up. The food was good, but not great, and perhaps a little overpriced for what it was. Overall the Inn was a decent value, but I feel maybe slightly overpriced.

Positives about the Inn are that Maranatha (event coordinator) did a great job of everything on the actual wedding day, and they were pretty flexible. I was making changes up until the last minute, and they were very good about that.

Overall, I would not recommend the Inn at Kelly's Ford solely because of the problems I had with the owner over the overbooked rooms. It is unfortunate that she was so unprofessional about this issue, because otherwise I would have recommended the Inn, and would have been really satisfied with the wedding. I had read a couple other reviews that had mentioned they had problems with the her and the staff, and kind of blew them off because that wasn't as important to me as the venue itself, but after dealing with Linda (owner) I strongly recommend you reconsider if you are planning on booking this venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1287409133215-andrewjessoutside
Jessica
Wedding:
10/14/2010
4.8/5.0
Our wedding was absolutely STUNNING. I was upset at first that we had to move the ceremony inside due to rain, but it turned out more beautiful than I could have imagined. The staff worked fabulously with us all to make everything run smoothly. They got us an event cart to ride down to the gazebos to take pictures after the ceremony so we didn't have to walk in the mud.

Maranatha & Linda were wonderful. They always responded to my emails within a day or so, many times much quicker.

THE FOOD WAS PHENOMENAL! I cannot say that enough. We had the beef tips with mustard sauce and it was to die for. I swear I could eat it with the roasted potatoes every day and never be sick of it. Everyone loved the whole meal.

Our one problem was with the bar. We told them from the very beginning that we wanted an open bar for beer & wine only, with liquor available on a cash basis. They opened the bar for everything, so we ended up serving everyone free liquor (which they readily consumed). Thankfully we only went about $400 over the estimated bar amount, but their staff didn't offer any kind of solution to the problem which was CLEARLY their fault.

All in all I was completely satisfied and I would do it all over again in a heartbeat :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michele
Wedding:
6/8/2010
4.4/5.0
The Inn at Kelly's Ford was wonderful to work with. Out of all the other venues we looked at, they were the most personable, personal, accomodating, and flexible in all aspects. We had an outdoor wedding with an estimated attendance of 20-30, and trying to find a location that catered to our needs [including budget] was difficult. This location has several indoor and outdoor sites for the ceremony and the reception, and offered different pricing structures for weekend vs weekday rental. They also offered all services "a la carte", which added to the flexibility in planning and cost. The owner, Linda Willoughby, went out of her way to make sure my day was the best possible. The site is on a large property with either rooms available for rent in the Inn or separate cottages if the need is there for a place for guests and family to stay, or even if you want to have your honeymoon there. My "4"'s were because: of the event coordinator assigned to us by Linda; the carriage ride [optional service, but there is really no other way besides walking to get to your ceremony site as a bride]. The carriage is not accomodating to get in and out with a large wedding dress with a train and although the after ceremony ride was gorgeous around the property, it is a bit bumpy, not really allowing to drink the complimentary bottle of champagne/cider; the grounds leading up to the gazebo. They have an isle runner to place out, but the ground underneath is uneven. Would recommend that they place some type of solid walkway out to make walking down the isle easier.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JLasica
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
This is the most beautiful place. They have so many different sites for the ceremony to take place. They have the most beautiful rooms to hold receptions. I had chosen the Gazebo site for ceromony, and Ripley Hall for the reception. Due to hot weather we moved the ceremony into the arena the day before. They were so wonderful about dealing with this change. I got SO many compliments on how beautiful Ripley Hall was for the reception, it looks amazing at night when they dim the lights. The staff is so nice, and helpful. They were always willing to answer the millions of questions I emailed them. They have wonderful cottages to stay at which are just beautiful! Overall this was the most perfect site for my ceremony and I am so glad we had our wedding here.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
myacuk
Wedding:
5/23/2010
4.5/5.0
We had our rehearsal, ceremony and reception at the Inn at Kelly's Ford. An hour before the start of our outdoor ceremony near the pond, the skies opened up with a downpour. The staff quickly implemented "plan b" with an indoor ceremony in Ripley Hall. The staff also worked extremely quickly to redress the reception room once the ceremony was over. The venue was an idyllic beautiful country backdrop, despite the weather. The cottages make the best bridal & VIP suites, especially for ease of getting ready. The cottages are large, beautifully decorated and grand enough for amazing pre-pictures. The Silo is a great honeymoon suite, but the queen size bed, spiral staircase and small bathroom made the suite feel pretty crammed. The Inn Restaurant and Pub make great locations for rehearsals or brunches. I enjoyed working the Linda, the owner. She has hired new staffers which are learning the ropes quickly. We have received many complements about the unusual venue being the most beautiful wedding venue. Don't let the dated website fool you. This place and the staff are perfect. Highly recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1246895759488-murphywedding400
VaMarti113
Wedding:
9/12/2009
4.3/5.0
I had my ceremony at The Gazebos and the reception in Ripley Hall. If I can encourage any bride looking at The Inn, have your ceremony at The Gazebos! It was absolutely gorgeous, and we didn't have a nice pretty day.
Linda was a doll to work with, and was always willing to make changes so that everything was just perfect for us. I wasn't all that impressed with the other event coordinator, but perhaps she is still learning the ropes and how to deal with picky customers.
My only complaint with The Inn is that they want to charge extra ($200 per room) for the bride and groom, and attendents, to rent rooms to get ready in. If you opt not to pay the extra money, there really is nowhere for you to get dressed except for small bathrooms. I really think they should include this in the cost of the venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
babroton
Wedding:
8/29/2009
5.0/5.0
They worked with us to block out the Inn for our wedding party and participants. The wedding venue was absolutely beautiful and the cottage rooms were beautiful and Romantic. They were extremely flexible and inexpensive. My daughter is getting married there this April. The have given us similar deals. The pub is excellent place to hang out and they usually have a musician playing on the weekends. Great Value, Great Atmosphere.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aw1007
Wedding:
10/21/2007
4.1/5.0
The Inn was wonderful to work with, a little slow with communication at times but made my wedding feel like a fairy tale.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angel
Wedding:
7/22/2006
5.0/5.0
The Inn at Kelly's Ford was an idyllic location for a wedding and reception. We held our ceremony in the dining room and our reception in Ripley Hall. We were having a small wedding (less than 50 guests) with a tight budget and finding the Inn was a stroke of pure luck. Due to our tight budget we had planned on renting a small city owned space and self catering, but finding the Inn at Kelly's Ford allowed us to have a fully catered event in a far nicer venue than we dreamed possible.

The Inn grounds are absolutely beautiful with wide open spaces, a small stream and horses on the property. The dining hall is beautiful and sized perfectly for a small ceremony with a wall of windows at one end (we were married in front of the windows) and a huge stone fireplace an the other end. Ripley Hall is so unbelievably gorgeous, with hardwood floors, beamed ceilings, a fireplace and plenty of windows to allow light to stream in, that we spent less than $50 on decorations! The gorgeous grounds and buildings provided some beautiful backgrounds for our wedding photos!

The staff is friendly and Holly, our contact at the Inn, was helpful and flexible to our needs. The price was more than reasonable for all that you get and we didn't have to worry about rushing in and out because they only book one event per day.

The food was outstanding! We were a little worried because they do not have (at the time of our wedding at least) the option of an advanced tasting but the food was more than we could have hoped for...delicious and plentiful.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
16589 Edwards Shop Rd, Remington, VA 22734 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Inn at Kelly's Ford
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220