Nophoto 130

International Strings

Natick , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Natick, MA 01760 US (map)

PHONE

617-966-7947

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ceremony Music

INFO FOR CEREMONY MUSIC

What ceremony music arrangements can you provide?
Acapella, Brass - Quartet, Brass - Quintet, Brass - Trio, Choir, Instrumental - Duo, Instrumental - Solo, Instrumental - Trio, Orchestra, Soloist / Vocalist, String - Quartet, String - Quintet, String - Trio
How many musicians are in your band(s)?
1-3, 4-6
What instruments does your group play?
Bagpipes, Cello, Clarinet, Drums, Flute, Guitar, Harp, Oboe, Organ, Piano, Saxophone, Trumpet, Viola, Violin, Winds
What services do you provide?
Ceremony Music, Cocktail Hour Music, Instrumentals, Learn New Songs, Liability Insurance, Microphones, Music During Breaks, Reception Music, Rehearsal Dinner Music, Sound/PA System, Vocals

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.3/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Caroline
Wedding:
8/13/2016
5.0/5.0
The string music for the ceremony and cocktail hour was something that was very important to us at our wedding. Slava was extremely easy to communicate with and always responded almost immediately. The whole process was very simple and the quick response time made me confident in my choice to hire these musicians. Our guests raved about the music, especially the contemporary covers they played during the cocktail hour. I only wish we hadn't spent so much time taking pictures so that we could have heard more of the music ourselves!! A huge thank you to International String Trio for being a part of our special day!!
The string music for the ceremony and cocktail hour was something that was very important to us at our wedding. Slava was Read more...
The string music for the ceremony and cocktail hour was something that was very important to us at our wedding. Slava was extremely easy to communicate with and always responded almost immediately. The whole process was very simple and the quick response time made me confident in my choice to hire these musicians. Our guests raved about the music, especially the contemporary covers they played during the cocktail hour. I only wish we hadn't spent so much time taking pictures so that we could have heard more of the music ourselves!! A huge thank you to International String Trio for being a part of our special day!! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
mary
Wedding:
7/30/2016
5.0/5.0
The International String Trio were amazing. Our venue was The Harvard Museum of Natural History Museum and they didn't allow dancing so we had to be creative with our entertainment. Slava Tolstoy and The International String Trio Set a beautiful upbeat tone with many styles of music. Our guests were thrilled. We were thrilled. They helped make our daughters wedding a fun and elegant affair. They were more than we hoped for.
The International String Trio were amazing. Our venue was The Harvard Museum of Natural History Museum and they didn't Read more...
The International String Trio were amazing. Our venue was The Harvard Museum of Natural History Museum and they didn't allow dancing so we had to be creative with our entertainment. Slava Tolstoy and The International String Trio Set a beautiful upbeat tone with many styles of music. Our guests were thrilled. We were thrilled. They helped make our daughters wedding a fun and elegant affair. They were more than we hoped for. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Jessica
Wedding:
7/9/2016
5.0/5.0
From the moment I found this amazing group online I knew - they will make my wedding so special with their music! They were very attentive to my requests - I had asked to prepare 3 specific songs that weren’t on their list and they performed them so well, as if they’ve been playing them forever! The performance was out of this world, I keep hearing from my friends how much they loved the music. From the bottom of my heart – thank you Slava and International Strings team for sharing your talents with us!
From the moment I found this amazing group online I knew - they will make my wedding so special with their music! They Read more...
From the moment I found this amazing group online I knew - they will make my wedding so special with their music! They were very attentive to my requests - I had asked to prepare 3 specific songs that weren’t on their list and they performed them so well, as if they’ve been playing them forever! The performance was out of this world, I keep hearing from my friends how much they loved the music. From the bottom of my heart – thank you Slava and International Strings team for sharing your talents with us! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Angie
Wedding:
6/18/2016
0.8/5.0
Slava the owner of IST and lead guitar player is a complete scam artist. His trio consist of other skilled musicians -Jakub (violin) and Ippei (bass). I booked IST well in advanced last fall for a June wedding. I selected this trio based on their strong background in education, experience and level of skill they exhibited which could be heard on their sample music, youtube & personal attendance at a BB kings blues club concert in NYC. I felt having high quality musicians was a must for my beautiful farm wedding held in CT on June 2016. Let me tell you how Slava took our money and did not even show up to play at our wedding ! Two days before our wedding Slava emails me and tells me he regrets he will not be able to play at our wedding based on an "unexpected emergency". I was incredibly disappointed because I truly wanted him to be there to play, he is the leader of the group and who I was paying for to perform. As this was such short notice there was no way that I could change or cancel them at this point and find another qualified musician to perform at our wedding. Last time I spoke with him he confirmed that Jakub (violinist) & Ippei (bass ) would be the musicians that would come to play for us. Well.....I tried to get his confirmation that this two quality musicians would still play at our wedding and of course "no response" . He said Jakub would come however Ippei the bass player would not come as he "remarkably injures his foot" 2 days before our wedding. Slava's lies were great, how convenient "both" lead musicians will not be able to perform for us during the most busiest time of the year. He substituted with 2 sub par musicians and they sounded terrible. They were not in tune and the musical flow was jagged. It sounded like "cheap" wedding ceremony musicians. To most they could "pass", but for the money we payed it was literally a joke. Do not hire this group! Slava will pull the same switch & bait move on you and ruin your big day!
Slava the owner of IST and lead guitar player is a complete scam artist. His trio consist of other skilled musicians Read more...
Slava the owner of IST and lead guitar player is a complete scam artist. His trio consist of other skilled musicians -Jakub (violin) and Ippei (bass). I booked IST well in advanced last fall for a June wedding. I selected this trio based on their strong background in education, experience and level of skill they exhibited which could be heard on their sample music, youtube & personal attendance at a BB kings blues club concert in NYC. I felt having high quality musicians was a must for my beautiful farm wedding held in CT on June 2016. Let me tell you how Slava took our money and did not even show up to play at our wedding ! Two days before our wedding Slava emails me and tells me he regrets he will not be able to play at our wedding based on an "unexpected emergency". I was incredibly disappointed because I truly wanted him to be there to play, he is the leader of the group and who I was paying for to perform. As this was such short notice there was no way that I could change or cancel them at this point and find another qualified musician to perform at our wedding. Last time I spoke with him he confirmed that Jakub (violinist) & Ippei (bass ) would be the musicians that would come to play for us. Well.....I tried to get his confirmation that this two quality musicians would still play at our wedding and of course "no response" . He said Jakub would come however Ippei the bass player would not come as he "remarkably injures his foot" 2 days before our wedding. Slava's lies were great, how convenient "both" lead musicians will not be able to perform for us during the most busiest time of the year. He substituted with 2 sub par musicians and they sounded terrible. They were not in tune and the musical flow was jagged. It sounded like "cheap" wedding ceremony musicians. To most they could "pass", but for the money we payed it was literally a joke. Do not hire this group! Slava will pull the same switch & bait move on you and ruin your big day! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, Wedding Venue
International Strings responded with the following comments:

This person submitted many reviews about us under fake names, most of them were removed. Here is our response: 1. All of the points of our contract with this client were executed precisely; our contract says “If because of personal emergency any Artist cannot show up, his regular substitute will take his place”. Our bass player spends a lot of time in the gym and he pulled a muscle while walking, it resulted in him being on crotches for a few days. Anybody who has kids knows that if one of the parents doesn’t feel well and a day is full of important appointments / end of the year recitals the other parent has to step in and take care of the situation - that is what happened to our guitarist. Emergencies do happen and we feel it was the right call to put our regular substitutes in place. Our main violinist was on the gig as planned, and he did an extra rehearsal with the trio on Friday before the event. 2. The trio was at the job 1.5 hours before the downbeat. All of the cues were coordinated and everything was performed at the highest level, receiving multiple positive comments from the guests and vendors. The group was paid in full + the tip - another sign of customer's satisfaction. 3. The day after the event the client sent us an angry and disrespectful email that said “The subs were crap. I knew they would be.” This explains the negative reaction to our trio’s performance from the client - she had her mind set even before the event that the trio will not be good. 4. All of the vendors who our trio talked to at the gig mentioned that this was one of the most difficult clients to deal with in years - indecisive, pushy, controlling and disrespectful - all at the same time. The tone of her review and the email to us is factually inaccurate and insulting. Countless positive reviews work as a prove that we provide highest level of service for our customers. We performed everything as promised, the event was a success and our contract was executed precisely.
Default vendor profile pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/12/2016
5.0/5.0
Slava and the International Strings did an outstanding job on our big day. Communication process was easy, we were offered so many songs to choose from. On the day of the wedding the trio arrived early, looked great, and played beautifully. I would highly recommend them!
Slava and the International Strings did an outstanding job on our big day. Communication process was easy, we were offered Read more...
Slava and the International Strings did an outstanding job on our big day. Communication process was easy, we were offered so many songs to choose from. On the day of the wedding the trio arrived early, looked great, and played beautifully. I would highly recommend them! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/12/2015
4.7/5.0
Great orchestra for our wedding ceremony - they will play any song you wish - they dress professionally, arrive early, and play beautifully. I would recommend to any and everyone.
Great orchestra for our wedding ceremony - they will play any song you wish - they dress professionally, arrive early, and Read more...
Great orchestra for our wedding ceremony - they will play any song you wish - they dress professionally, arrive early, and play beautifully. I would recommend to any and everyone. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We hired them for our ceremony and cocktail hour and they did a lovely job. The music was great, the classical and traditional wedding music was wonderful but they really showed their skill on the more offbeat tunes. Jimi Hendrix? check. Clapton? check. Dropkick Murphys? double check.
Slava was easy to work with and very patient with my indecisiveness regarding song selection. My only regret is that I missed some of their playing while I was getting photos taken! Fabulous job guys!!
We hired them for our ceremony and cocktail hour and they did a lovely job. The music was great, the classical and Read more...
We hired them for our ceremony and cocktail hour and they did a lovely job. The music was great, the classical and traditional wedding music was wonderful but they really showed their skill on the more offbeat tunes. Jimi Hendrix? check. Clapton? check. Dropkick Murphys? double check.
Slava was easy to work with and very patient with my indecisiveness regarding song selection. My only regret is that I missed some of their playing while I was getting photos taken! Fabulous job guys!! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
International Strings - great all around! Listened well to the couple's requests. Extraordinary musicians with a wonderful, clean sound. We could not have been more pleased.
International Strings - great all around! Listened well to the couple's requests. Extraordinary musicians with a Read more...
International Strings - great all around! Listened well to the couple's requests. Extraordinary musicians with a wonderful, clean sound. We could not have been more pleased. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
2.9/5.0
Music was maybe THE most important part of our wedding. Both my husband and I are musicians, so we spent a lot of time searching for groups that really blew us away. When we saw the promotional video for IS, we were immediately impressed. Their energy and talent was very clear in this video, and in the recordings on their website. I worked directly with Slava, who was nice to work with and responsive.
For months leading up to our wedding, we would play the promo video and get super exicted to see them in person!
As I walked down the aisle, I looked over at the trio and was quite frankly shocked. These three musicians were NOT the same that we had been impressed with in the promotional material. It was a confusing moment for me during a critical time of the wedding!
In addition to not providing the musicians from their site, there were notes that my husband and I had passed along to Slava that this trio of musicians did not know anything about.
They played well, but honestly the energy was not there like it is in the promo material. The shock of not having who you expect is not something you should experience on the big day.
In fairness, there is a disclaimer on the gigmasters site saying you may not get the same people in the promo stuff. It's a nice way to cover themselves, but quite frankly just rude. We're not talking about a 12 piece band that you could easily sub a player and not notice. 100% of this trio was different than what we were expecting, there were clearly a few notes that weren't communicated, and the quality was also not up to par for me. My standards are high, hence my choice to have IS play both our ceremony and cocktail hour, and I was disappointed.
Very talented, but they need to be honest from the start and also communicate any notes that are provided to WHOEVER is going to play the event. It was almost sneaky, and that's just unacceptable.
Music was maybe THE most important part of our wedding. Both my husband and I are musicians, so we spent a lot of time Read more...
Music was maybe THE most important part of our wedding. Both my husband and I are musicians, so we spent a lot of time searching for groups that really blew us away. When we saw the promotional video for IS, we were immediately impressed. Their energy and talent was very clear in this video, and in the recordings on their website. I worked directly with Slava, who was nice to work with and responsive.
For months leading up to our wedding, we would play the promo video and get super exicted to see them in person!
As I walked down the aisle, I looked over at the trio and was quite frankly shocked. These three musicians were NOT the same that we had been impressed with in the promotional material. It was a confusing moment for me during a critical time of the wedding!
In addition to not providing the musicians from their site, there were notes that my husband and I had passed along to Slava that this trio of musicians did not know anything about.
They played well, but honestly the energy was not there like it is in the promo material. The shock of not having who you expect is not something you should experience on the big day.
In fairness, there is a disclaimer on the gigmasters site saying you may not get the same people in the promo stuff. It's a nice way to cover themselves, but quite frankly just rude. We're not talking about a 12 piece band that you could easily sub a player and not notice. 100% of this trio was different than what we were expecting, there were clearly a few notes that weren't communicated, and the quality was also not up to par for me. My standards are high, hence my choice to have IS play both our ceremony and cocktail hour, and I was disappointed.
Very talented, but they need to be honest from the start and also communicate any notes that are provided to WHOEVER is going to play the event. It was almost sneaky, and that's just unacceptable. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
International Strings responded with the following comments:

We are glad that this client acknowledges the following points:
1.” I worked directly with Slava, who was nice to work with and responsive.”
2. “They played well”
3. “Very talented”
4. “In fairness, there is a disclaimer saying you may not get the same people as in the promo stuff”.
We feel sorry that apparently some misunderstanding took place. This client was expecting a set group of people to appear at this event but didn’t communicate this to us clearly before the event. We can assure that main current local trio was performing at this occasion. We always guarantee that regardless of any possible changes in personnel the highest quality of the music remains the same, which the clients acknowledges (See #2 and #3).
We sincerely apologize about any misunderstanding that took place and will gladly discuss this further with this client if only he or she will contact us directly – since the review is anonymous we aren’t sure who is this person.
With that being said we would like to emphasize that all of the points of our agreement were executed precisely – three musicians playing instruments that we agreed upon showed up at this event plenty of time in advanced, were dressed up accordingly, played all of the songs we agreed upon at the highest level and received the payment from the clients party at the conclusion of the event. Numerous other reviews from the satisfied customers speak for themselves.
130x130 sq 1322060870727 jessicamikeengagement110
Jessica
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
They were awesome! I loved the fact that they were able to play a variety of songs and genres during the cocktail hour. We had only had a conversation with Slava by phone and had never met the trio in person so we didn't know what to expect but they were excellent. In addition to their unbelievable talent, they were on time, flexible, and professional. Thank you, International String Trio, for enhancing the ceremony and cocktail hour with your beautiful music.
They were awesome! I loved the fact that they were able to play a variety of songs and genres during the cocktail hour. We Read more...
They were awesome! I loved the fact that they were able to play a variety of songs and genres during the cocktail hour. We had only had a conversation with Slava by phone and had never met the trio in person so we didn't know what to expect but they were excellent. In addition to their unbelievable talent, they were on time, flexible, and professional. Thank you, International String Trio, for enhancing the ceremony and cocktail hour with your beautiful music. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music

MAP

 
Natick, MA 01760 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for International Strings
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
Nophoto 220