130x130 sq 1418917960869 smaller

Irene's Catering Service

Milwaukee , WI

LOCATION

1841 West Lincoln Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53215 US

PHONE

414-645-4469

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Catering

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
4.0/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
2.9/5.0
Initially Irene's service was great. I was given raw vegetable instead of grilled which was stated in my contract. I never would have served this an only got a very brief apology for this. I sent an email the next day complementing the two ladies doing the serving and also some strong criticism of the bartender who I found unacceptable. Clearly not an experienced bartender, had not even heard of some of the more popular drinks being served currently,and did not even serve one of my signature cocktails. There were also long lines at the bar frequently and I was assured that this would not be an issue. My response from Irene's did not even acknowledge this issue, which was a huge problem at my event. Had they at least acknowledge this, I would not have given them this negative of a review but I found that very unprofessional. The bartender is key at a party. Because of this is would not recommend them or use them again.
Initially Irene's service was great. I was given raw vegetable instead of grilled which was stated in my contract. I never Read more...
Initially Irene's service was great. I was given raw vegetable instead of grilled which was stated in my contract. I never would have served this an only got a very brief apology for this. I sent an email the next day complementing the two ladies doing the serving and also some strong criticism of the bartender who I found unacceptable. Clearly not an experienced bartender, had not even heard of some of the more popular drinks being served currently,and did not even serve one of my signature cocktails. There were also long lines at the bar frequently and I was assured that this would not be an issue. My response from Irene's did not even acknowledge this issue, which was a huge problem at my event. Had they at least acknowledge this, I would not have given them this negative of a review but I found that very unprofessional. The bartender is key at a party. Because of this is would not recommend them or use them again. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Irene's Catering Service responded with the following comments:

Reading this review has truly saddened us here at Irene's. We believe in 100% customer satisfaction, and to hear that you were only given a brief apology is not acceptable in our book! We have recently made some changes in our staff to avoid scenarios like this from ever happening again!
Again, we truly are sorry to hear that not everything took place as you were hoping, but we are thankful to hear that you loved the food and that the two lead women working your event provided great service.
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.2/5.0
We seleted Irenes based upon our tasting experience. The food was excellent. Unfortunately, as with a few of our vendors, mid way through our contract, the employees we were dealing with left the company. That caused a bit of confusion. The new employee was very nice and helped us deal with the 'transition' into another system. (Their old computer system finally died). Not a huge deal. It happens. At our wedding, we did not get the potatoes we specifically ordered in our contract. When we brought it to one of the women at the weddings attention, she was very unprofessional and snotty in her response. She was also rude to many of our guests. We contacted management and it was dealt with accordingly. We do not fault the company for 1 employee. After the few problems we had, they were satisfactorily rectified.
We seleted Irenes based upon our tasting experience. The food was excellent. Unfortunately, as with a few of our vendors, Read more...
We seleted Irenes based upon our tasting experience. The food was excellent. Unfortunately, as with a few of our vendors, mid way through our contract, the employees we were dealing with left the company. That caused a bit of confusion. The new employee was very nice and helped us deal with the 'transition' into another system. (Their old computer system finally died). Not a huge deal. It happens. At our wedding, we did not get the potatoes we specifically ordered in our contract. When we brought it to one of the women at the weddings attention, she was very unprofessional and snotty in her response. She was also rude to many of our guests. We contacted management and it was dealt with accordingly. We do not fault the company for 1 employee. After the few problems we had, they were satisfactorily rectified. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Valerie
Wedding:
7/6/2013
4.2/5.0
My daughter selected Irene's based on the professionalism and detail during the tasting. During the proceeding 10 months there were times I wondered if we had selected the wrong catering service. In the end, the event was pretty spectacular. Service was great and everyone raved about the food.
My daughter selected Irene's based on the professionalism and detail during the tasting. During the proceeding 10 months Read more...
My daughter selected Irene's based on the professionalism and detail during the tasting. During the proceeding 10 months there were times I wondered if we had selected the wrong catering service. In the end, the event was pretty spectacular. Service was great and everyone raved about the food. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Karolynn
Wedding:
11/6/2011
4.8/5.0
I found them to be more flexible than other vendors in accommodating my requests.
I found them to be more flexible than other vendors in accommodating my requests.
I found them to be more flexible than other vendors in accommodating my requests. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.8/5.0
Irene's proved to be a great addition to our wedding! Though they were difficult to contact at times, they made sure that everything was up to our expectations and worked with us on every detail. They offered multiple tastings and worked great with our budget! Everyone was very friendly and the staff on the wedding day was great! I marked down slightly on professionalism only because all of the guests were served their salads before the we got ours at the head table and before the prayer. It was a tiny blip, though. Irene's was wonderful and I would absolutely recommend them!
Irene's proved to be a great addition to our wedding! Though they were difficult to contact at times, they made sure that Read more...
Irene's proved to be a great addition to our wedding! Though they were difficult to contact at times, they made sure that everything was up to our expectations and worked with us on every detail. They offered multiple tastings and worked great with our budget! Everyone was very friendly and the staff on the wedding day was great! I marked down slightly on professionalism only because all of the guests were served their salads before the we got ours at the head table and before the prayer. It was a tiny blip, though. Irene's was wonderful and I would absolutely recommend them! Read less
Services Used: Catering
130x130 sq 1295112551766 img4099
Sarah
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
I loved working with this vendor from start to finish. I do not know why a different reviewer was unable to taste entrees? Perhaps they did not set an appointment ahead of time? We were given full entrees at our tasting. One was the food item we were leaning towards, and the other was recommended by the chef. We ended up using both at our wedding! We had tons and tons of compliments about the dinner at our wedding. Deb was always easy for me to get a hold of, and always willing to make changes that we requested (changing food items, special requests for the groom =no mushrooms, etc). They were also willing to work with our budget so we could get delicious food that did not break the bank! I would work with them again!
I loved working with this vendor from start to finish. I do not know why a different reviewer was unable to taste entrees? Read more...
I loved working with this vendor from start to finish. I do not know why a different reviewer was unable to taste entrees? Perhaps they did not set an appointment ahead of time? We were given full entrees at our tasting. One was the food item we were leaning towards, and the other was recommended by the chef. We ended up using both at our wedding! We had tons and tons of compliments about the dinner at our wedding. Deb was always easy for me to get a hold of, and always willing to make changes that we requested (changing food items, special requests for the groom =no mushrooms, etc). They were also willing to work with our budget so we could get delicious food that did not break the bank! I would work with them again! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/28/2011
2.7/5.0
We were quite disappointed with the catering. Pricing kept changing throughout the process even when there were no changes in menu. The day of the wedding, the supervisor that we had been working with was pulled to go to another event and they sent a different person. The pasta was cold, two of the items were not what we had ordered and paid for (even though the supervisor had looked at the order sheet and assured me that they were - I offered for her to taste the food, but she declined, but continued to insist that because it said so on the paperwork, that is what we had)! Very disappointed. When the bride (who was the first to receive her food) mentioned that the pasta was cold, they ignored her. Up until the actual event, the customer service was good, but at the event, we were quite displeased. They offered "sweet shots" at the end of the night (so we didn't order out additional food or treats for our guests), however there were only a couple of the tables where people actually received them - and it wasn't even the bride/groom, bridal party or parents!

We contacted them after the event and they said they would look into it. It's difficult now to resolve the issue, however, I don't appreciate paying almost $6,000 for food that wasn't even what we thought we were getting.

Also, when they were setting up the tables, they did not level them and a catering crew member bumped into our cake table and the cake topper went crashing to the ground - this was before our event.

I give credit where credit is due, but in this case I cannot recommend Irene's Catering.

Our cake was from Courtyard Catering and it was superb! Try checking with them for catering your event - we went with Irene's because the pricing was better - now I guess I know why.
We were quite disappointed with the catering. Pricing kept changing throughout the process even when there were no changes Read more...
We were quite disappointed with the catering. Pricing kept changing throughout the process even when there were no changes in menu. The day of the wedding, the supervisor that we had been working with was pulled to go to another event and they sent a different person. The pasta was cold, two of the items were not what we had ordered and paid for (even though the supervisor had looked at the order sheet and assured me that they were - I offered for her to taste the food, but she declined, but continued to insist that because it said so on the paperwork, that is what we had)! Very disappointed. When the bride (who was the first to receive her food) mentioned that the pasta was cold, they ignored her. Up until the actual event, the customer service was good, but at the event, we were quite displeased. They offered "sweet shots" at the end of the night (so we didn't order out additional food or treats for our guests), however there were only a couple of the tables where people actually received them - and it wasn't even the bride/groom, bridal party or parents!

We contacted them after the event and they said they would look into it. It's difficult now to resolve the issue, however, I don't appreciate paying almost $6,000 for food that wasn't even what we thought we were getting.

Also, when they were setting up the tables, they did not level them and a catering crew member bumped into our cake table and the cake topper went crashing to the ground - this was before our event.

I give credit where credit is due, but in this case I cannot recommend Irene's Catering.

Our cake was from Courtyard Catering and it was superb! Try checking with them for catering your event - we went with Irene's because the pricing was better - now I guess I know why. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Wwnetwork 128
Meridith
Wedding:
3/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Irene's Catering provided passed hors d'oeuvres for our cocktail-style reception and a light dinner for the wedding party beforehand. A separate vendor handled the bar and dessert. Irene's is licensed and works with fresh food. Their website shares galleries of previous work displays.

Before we committed, they gave us printed price sheets for packages and additions. They were willing to prepare several vegan options and accommodate a garlic allergy. Irene's broke down the cost per head for all the food and itemized the remaining charges like china, linen and glassware.

Our main contact was flexible with our tasting, especially when travel severely delayed my arrival. She showed us all the food arrangements and service items at the tasting. She worked with us when planning and oversaw service at the wedding but didn't act as our event planner. We were the only wedding that day.

Our venue did not have a kitchen so Irene's provided their own food preparation equipment at no additional charge. In addition to our main contact they provided 4 of their own serving personnel and 2 people to help flip the room. We used the same hall for the ceremony and reception and Irene's flipped the room quickly and cleanly.
Irene's Catering provided passed hors d'oeuvres for our cocktail-style reception and a light dinner for the wedding party Read more...
Irene's Catering provided passed hors d'oeuvres for our cocktail-style reception and a light dinner for the wedding party beforehand. A separate vendor handled the bar and dessert. Irene's is licensed and works with fresh food. Their website shares galleries of previous work displays.

Before we committed, they gave us printed price sheets for packages and additions. They were willing to prepare several vegan options and accommodate a garlic allergy. Irene's broke down the cost per head for all the food and itemized the remaining charges like china, linen and glassware.

Our main contact was flexible with our tasting, especially when travel severely delayed my arrival. She showed us all the food arrangements and service items at the tasting. She worked with us when planning and oversaw service at the wedding but didn't act as our event planner. We were the only wedding that day.

Our venue did not have a kitchen so Irene's provided their own food preparation equipment at no additional charge. In addition to our main contact they provided 4 of their own serving personnel and 2 people to help flip the room. We used the same hall for the ceremony and reception and Irene's flipped the room quickly and cleanly. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
aliciafleming
Wedding:
6/19/2010
4.1/5.0
Irene's was really flexible in terms of working with changes in budget, venue, ideas, guests, etc. However, Debbie was VERY hard to get a hold of and lost a fair amount of paperwork. I was also promised free "dessert shooters" at the wedding and never received them, which was factored in as part of our dessert. The food was really great, and they worked well on a tight budget. I would definitely recommend Irene's for catering for small events up to large weddings. Their ability to make tasty food in any style is a definite plus.
Irene's was really flexible in terms of working with changes in budget, venue, ideas, guests, etc. However, Debbie was Read more...
Irene's was really flexible in terms of working with changes in budget, venue, ideas, guests, etc. However, Debbie was VERY hard to get a hold of and lost a fair amount of paperwork. I was also promised free "dessert shooters" at the wedding and never received them, which was factored in as part of our dessert. The food was really great, and they worked well on a tight budget. I would definitely recommend Irene's for catering for small events up to large weddings. Their ability to make tasty food in any style is a definite plus. Read less
Services Used: Catering
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.0/5.0
Irene's is not as fancy as Zilli's or some of the other caterers we looked at, but they have the best value for the money. Their appetizers are delicious, and the main meals were quite tasty as well. Debbie, our coordinator, was very friendly and flexible for our needs. She was a bit hard to get ahold of at times, but she always came through when we needed her. She was great at coordinating with our other vendors to ensure a smooth event. Only complaint was that our coordinator was not the actual day-of-event contact. But the set up, service and food was top notch!
Irene's is not as fancy as Zilli's or some of the other caterers we looked at, but they have the best value for the money. Read more...
Irene's is not as fancy as Zilli's or some of the other caterers we looked at, but they have the best value for the money. Their appetizers are delicious, and the main meals were quite tasty as well. Debbie, our coordinator, was very friendly and flexible for our needs. She was a bit hard to get ahold of at times, but she always came through when we needed her. She was great at coordinating with our other vendors to ensure a smooth event. Only complaint was that our coordinator was not the actual day-of-event contact. But the set up, service and food was top notch! Read less
Services Used: Catering
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Irene's Catering Service
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1418917960869 smaller