130x130_sq_1260914869069-img1196

Islands DJ Service

Key West , FL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

24 Jade Drive # 2
Key West, FL US 33040 (map)

PHONE

352-205-1007

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

No two weddings are the same and The Islands DJ, Jay Floyd, will work with you to create the musical atmosphere that you have dreamed your wedding would be. From a tropical island flare... Read more
No two weddings are the same and The Islands DJ, Jay Floyd, will work with you to create the musical atmosphere that you have dreamed your wedding would be. From a tropical island flare to an elegant affair, it will be one that you will remember for the rest of your lives and your guests will be talking about for years to come.

Islands DJ Service provides DJ and Emcee Services. I also offer an extensive dance floor lighting package. My equipment is state of the art and all music is digital quality. Contact Jay at ISLANDSDJSERVICE@MAC.COM or 352-205-1007. Read less
DJ

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandy
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
We recently got married at Roof Top Cafe in Key West. We hired DJ Jay Floyd and he did a fantastic job. We did not get a chance to visit Key West or meet Jay before the wedding. However, we had several discussions on the phone and it was obvious that he had extensive experience. With the music form that we filled out prior to the wedding, we gave him an idea of the type of music that we wanted and he did a great job of playing the right music at the right time. Everyone had a great time and the music selection was excellent.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cloe
Wedding:
6/8/2014
5.0/5.0
Jay was an amazing DJ and an awesome guy. Felt like an old friend from home! He'll play any music you request and can also keep the party jumping on his own. If people weren't moving, he'd quickly switch up the song. The best part is my sister-in-law wrote and performed a song for us, bringing in some of her own equipment, and was able to discreetly set that up with Jay without us knowing. My wedding reception was a blast thanks to him.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becky
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
We recently got married at Hawks Cay Resort in Duck key Florida and Jay Floyd was our DJ. He was very professional and easy to deal with. He called before the wedding to make sure everything was how we wanted it to be. I was worried since we has a small wedding that there would not be many people dancing afterwards and I could not have been more wrong. Jay knew how to get our party started and everyone was dancing and having a blast. He played a great song selection. I would recommend Islands DJ to anyone looking for a great DJ for their reception.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
4/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Jay and the Island DJ service were incredible! Music was especially important to my fiancée and I and we knew that it could make or break the party for the evening. Jay was a wonderful communicator and listened to the type of vibe we wanted and took time to get all of the long list of songs that we wanted! At the wedding, he was very friendly and fun, getting involved and making jokes with my family members. He made everyone feel comfortable. He took requests from my friends and checked in with us on the flow of the evening. He kept the party going and even offered to stay for an additional hour, if we wanted to add that, because he saw that the party wasn't over yet! That was so nice of him, but we couldn't take him up on it because the resort had a noise restriction time. I would definitely book him again. After being a guest at a lot of weddings with not so great DJs, I'm so glad I chose Islands DJ for ours!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Trish
Wedding:
3/28/2014
5.0/5.0
Jay was recommended to us by the planner at our venue, The Rum Barrel. Planning things from a distance are not easy but Jay made it so. The wedding went off without a hitch and our guests had an amazing time. Highly recommended!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
2/28/2014
5.0/5.0
I got married last week at the Westin Resort in Key West, Fl. We came in on a cruise ship and were very limited on time. Jay made sure he was there and ready for us when we needed him. All of my guests keep telling me my wedding was the best wedding they have ever been to..and that my DJ was fantastic.
If you're looking for a professional, fun and flexible DJ, you've found that with Islands DJ Service.
Jay was absolutely amazing! He took songs from my playlist, added a few of his own and took all of my guests requests. (I didn't have any restrictions to what people could play). We had the most amazing time!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
2/8/2014
5.0/5.0
Jay was the most fantastic DJ! Planning a destination wedding in Key West from Virginia was a challenging experience and Jay provided a great service. He acted as the MC of my wedding ceremony & reception which was necessary since I did not have a wedding planner. He really set the timing for the reception. After we signed our contract, he sent us ceremony/reception planners that made choosing our music SO EASY. He gave listed suggestions for every song, which was great. He was able to find an obscure record that I wanted played at my ceremony as well. He was very flexible as we had some music changes just a few days before our wedding. He even got on the dance floor and did the Electric Slide with us! When some of our guests wanted to surprise us with a special dance, he ran it by us first (without ruining the surprise). He provided great music within our requests while also feeling what the crowd wanted. He communicated with the crowd by letting them know about the guestbook, sparklers, etc. I am so very pleased that we chose Jay to DJ our wedding, his services left a lasting impression on our guests. He is absolutely great and his price was perfect. He even signed our guestbook, just an all around great guy. Cheers!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
9/20/2013
5.0/5.0
DJ Floyd was absolutely awesome!!! He played every song we asked him to, made the reception a blast and his lights made us all feel like celebrities. He was so friendly and everyone enjoyed him. There was never a dull moment without music.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jaclyn
Wedding:
6/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Jay Floyd was amazing! He really goes out of his way to make sure your reception is a great time. We basically chose 90% of the songs we wanted for the reception and he had it all together. He is very interactive and has a great voice that people listen to!
I highly recommend Islands DJ Service for anyone looking for a great DJ for your wedding or special event!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1344722420484-photo1
taylor
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
you must use Jay! He was very thorough in the planning of the ceremony and reception and made to to completely cater to the style we wanted. He played literally every song we wanted, and even found special music requested for my ceremony. I needed 2 music areas set for my venue and he pulled everything off without a hitch! another thing I loved? He didn't have one of those overly exaggerated fake DJ voices (a biggie for me). Jay rocks, I'd use him again in a heartbeat.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/10/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a blast! At one point every single guest was up and dancing. The music was awesome and kept everyone moving. Jay even offered to give us tips on where to go around Key West because we weren't that familiar with the area.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
DJ Jay Floyd was AWESOME. I did all of my planning from Pittsburgh and did not get to meet or talk to him very much in person before the wedding. However, when I did contact him about song, etc., his recommendation were very helpful in picking the wedding music. We did not want the tradition "march" music and wanted something more contemporary, and his input was key in deciding our wedding music. He rocked at the reception. I don't think anyone stopped dancing all night long! He made our reception a huge success!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
4/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Jay did a fantastic job DJing our wedding. He is responsive to questions and listens to what you want for your day.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Iva
Wedding:
4/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Jay was extremely easy to work with while planning our destination wedding. He did a great job with last minute changes to the schedule, which showed his experience in the industry. He was able to travel from Key West to Islamorada in order to be there for our special day.
He did an amazing job with selecting the music that got the crowd dancing right away. We would highly recommend his work!

Brett and Iva
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
EXCELLENT DJ!!! We had gotten a reference from our reception venue and couldn't have been more pleased with the services. Jay was SO helpful and made sure everything was perfect for our reception. He worked with us to make sure that we had the perfect ceremony and played music that we liked. His song choices couldn't have been better...EVERYONE was on the dance floor from start to finish. Our guests all commented on how our wedding was the most fun wedding they had ever been to, and I think a lot of that had to do with our awesome DJ.

I would HIGHLY recommend Islands DJ to anyone looking for a fun reception!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Jay was our wedding DJ in December and is SO MUCH FUN! Not only does he get the party going, he keeps it going and even joins in and lead some dances, he really knows what he's doing.

He's very easy to work with too, he will get back to you right away and will take all of your music preferences into account to make the evening perfect. He is much more than a dj, he is also a host and emcee and will make sure the only thing you have to do is enjoy the evening.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
11/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Jay was great!!! He was able to meet all of our requests including our specific list of songs that we wanted played. He was able to get ALL of them! Jay helped make our wedding reception one for the books :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Aaammmmazing Job! DJ Jay was great! He went above and beyond. Our music was fantastic and our guests are still talking about how great the wedding was! Thanks to DJ Jay our day was everything we dreamed of. Thank you so much!!!!!!! I would definitely recommend Island DJ Services to everyone I could!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Jay did a great job keeping things on schedule at our reception and playing music that kept all of our guests on the dance floor! We would strongly recommend using Jay Floyd.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MELISSA
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
He was awesome. We had zero game plan for reception & dj Floyd made everything run flawlessly. We had a great reception & he kept party going all night. He was also one of the most affordable dj's. I can't say enough great things about him.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1339452582687-fbavatar2480427
Kristy
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Jay Floyd was an AWESOME DJ. He was timely, his equipment was awesome and he played exactly what I wanted. My ceremony music was not traditional and I somewhat worried about the timing of some of the songs being played, but Jay executed it perfectly.

Additionally, he kept an eye on the crowd and on me so if I wanted to skip to the next song, he would do so, or if the crowd was not feeling a particular song, he'd mix into the next quickly.

Last, but not least, Jay helped to shuffle along the somewhat slow venue coordinator to get us dancing sooner.

I would highly recommend him to any bride, including those who are doing destination weddings. You can trust that Jay will show up and will do a great job.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Jay was the best DJ I could have ever asked for. Many of my guests said he was the best wedding DJ they had ever seen. He kept our party going the entire reception and played a variety of music that kept all ages dancing all night. On top of playing great music, he had awesome energy and our guests loved him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Darci Etzel
Wedding:
4/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Jay made the night fit out personalitys. He was great to work with. He was very organazied and followed our agenda how we wanted the night to flow. He always checked with me if any changes came up. He had all of our songs we wanted to incorportate into the night and played great ones to keep the dancing going. We couldnt have asked for more. Thanks, Jay!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brett A
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
My wife and I recently got married in Key West and we were fortunate enough to find Jay through some online research and reviews. Booking any vendor for a wedding and not being able to meet face to face can be a nervy experience but Jay made my wife feel comfortable from the beginning and his professionalism did not stop once the contract was signed. I deal with DJ's on a regular basis with company parties in South Florida and Jay was the most professional and thorough DJ that I have dealt with. Everything and more was covered and he did an awesome job of not only playing music but getting our entire reception out on the dance floor! You can see that he really has a passion for what he is doing and he wanted everyone to have a great time, which they did! I would absolutely recommend him for anyone who is looking for a DJ at their next wedding or event!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
12/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Jay was our DJ for our wedding reception! He was great! He has a great planner that is used to fill out before the wedding so you are sure to get exactly what you want. He's quick to answer questions and very professional! Very laid back guy and a lot of fun. We only had 21 people at our reception so we went back and forth about whether or not we were going to have a DJ. So glad we did! Jay had everyone dancing and having a great time the whole night. People are still talking about how much fun the night was!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Renee
Wedding:
12/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Jay was amazing! He made sure our guests had a great time during the reception. He played our must-have's and added his own songs into the mix. He's great to work with, and definitely won't disappoint you! Highly recommended :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
floridabride
Wedding:
2/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Jay made our wedding so much fun! All night, our guests were telling us how great he was and he had everyone on the dance floor.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maggie
Wedding:
11/9/2013
4.9/5.0
Great DJ! He played everything we requested and picked great songs that got everyone dancing. He was not cheesy at all which was very important to my husband and I. He has a great voice for announcing bridal party, cake cutting, etc. He also has a great reception planner so you can pick songs for each portion, plus a do not play section, a must play section, and listing your bridal for introductions. It was very helpful to us because it included things we hadn't thought about and may have forgotten. Great DJ, great service, GREAT value. Everyone had a blast and made comments all throughout the night about how great the music was.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lizzieliz2
Wedding:
11/26/2011
4.9/5.0
DJ Floyd did a great job at our wedding. Everyone of all ages had a blast and was dancing. I was afraid that some of the music was a little too cheesy, but my guests didn't seem to think so at all. His planner was very helpful, especially in identifying the "do not play" list which is crucially important...trust me.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
5/2/2014
4.8/5.0
We really enjoyed Jay as our wedding DJ! He was great to work with, played all the songs we requested and knew how to throw a party! He brought his own lights and all the equipment and was a breeze to work with. I would definitely recommend using him as your wedding DJ!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christen
Wedding:
11/3/2012
4.8/5.0
DJ Jay Floyd was great!! He was able to get almost everyone out on the dance floor! He was professional and flexible to what we wanted. He also provided the officiant with a microphone, and played all of the ceremony music and music for the cocktail hour. We would definitely recommend him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/27/2012
4.8/5.0
My husband and I live in Seattle, so after a quick visit to the FL Keys to pick a venue, we headed back home to research/choose all our vendors via online and phone conversations. We decided to go with Jay as he responded right away to our inquiry, had good reviews online and he was just a delight to talk to. After we were under contract he sent us ceremony and reception planners which were very helpful, but being huge music people ourselves, my husband and I ended up creating a very detailed planner of our own. I was a little nervous to send it to Jay because we basically gave him no wiggle room since we had picked out songs to play for the entire duration of the wedding, but he gladly took our music list, downloaded every song on it and played everything we wanted to hear at the ceremony and reception. Jay is definitely a very professional/fun/energetic person and he kept our dance floor rocking all night. The party was so great that we paid for an additional hour to keep it going. Thank you Jay for making our reception loads of fun, everyone had a blast and Kyle and I will never forget it!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justin
Wedding:
4/23/2012
4.8/5.0
Jay! What can I say about Jay... just wow. He did a fantastic job! He had the right balance between professional and fun. He kept the party going and the guests entertained! Just a fantastic job, and not an ounce of cheesyness in site. All of the music for the ceremony and reception went off perfectly. I couldn't ask for better. If you need a DJ for a wedding, reception, party... whatever it may be in key west. Jay is your guy!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Corey
Wedding:
10/9/2011
4.8/5.0
Jay did a great job for our wedding, getting people out on the dance floor and catering to the mix our of guests (young adults to baby boomers and beyond). We had a lot of fun, and he brought his light kit even when I forgot to ask him to.

Really nice guy, very accommodating. And all I had to do was give him a look if I didn't like a song, and he changed it up. He played all the songs we asked him to and his planner beforehand is very helpful!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Turkasaur
Wedding:
6/18/2011
4.6/5.0
Jay Floyd of Islands DJ Service kept the party going all night long. This was no small feat since our wedding had a wide range of guest ages (10 to 88). There were a number of people requesting a song from my no play list and he hunted me down and asked for my approval prior to playing. He was by far the most affordable DJ in the Key West area. My only complaint was that he played my must play songs during dinner hour when I couldn't enjoy them since I was out taking pictures. Near the end of the night, my bridesmaids let him know that I had missed the songs so he played them again. A definite crowd pleaser.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Inanna
Wedding:
11/14/2009
4.3/5.0
Overall, I was very happy with Jay and his assistant. They really kept us organized despite our constant procrastination to choose all our songs for the wedding and the ceremony and reception planners that they sent us were an especially nice touch. The music Jay played during the reception kept all of our guests dancing and he was happy to take requests. We even paid for him to stay longer than the originally planned contract time since everyone was having such a great time. Jay also helped us through a few frustrating issues throughout the wedding and reception. Thank you!
Services Used: DJ
Bg20
Islamorada Bride
Wedding:
3/17/2012
3.3/5.0
..............................
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
24 Jade Drive # 2, Key West, FL 33040 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Islands DJ Service
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1260914869069-img1196