130x130 sq 1372812896543 img7679

J Castro Photography

Southbury , CT
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

5 Gettysburg Rd
Southbury, CT 06488 US (map)

PHONE

845-321-0805

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Based out of Southbury, CT and available for weddings nationwide, J Castro Photography prides itself in artistically capturing the special moments and details of your wedding day. Our... Read more
Based out of Southbury, CT and available for weddings nationwide, J Castro Photography prides itself in artistically capturing the special moments and details of your wedding day. Our intention is to make every image a work of art, one that you would be pleased to showcase for many years. Our style can be described as contemporary and sophisticated with inspiration drawn from fashion and cinema. We would be honored to get to know you, learn about your love story, and tell that story through our images. Our photography team is unobtrusive while capturing the moments and emotions of your wedding. We strive to meet your photography needs, which we will collaborate together at your initial consultation.

A family-owned business, we have grown to adapt to the ever more growing needs of our clients. Our photo team consists of Jaymie, owner and primary photographer, Audrey, wife and business manager. Our associate photographer and lighting assistant, Chris, as well as a team of fabulous interns. Read less
Photography

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Prints, Proof CD of All Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
I live for challenging lighting situations. We bring with us an arsenal of studio lights, flashes and video lights to create the dramatic photos that we are known for.
Is your media preference film or digital?
We shoot in digital format.
How many photographers do you work with?
We work as a two person team. For weddings with over 250 guests, we'll bring an assistant with us.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Absolutely!
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
Never.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes. I work with a network of photographers who are there to fill in should an emergency arise.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
We shoot full day only.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
Our overtime rate is $300/hour after 12 hours of coverage.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
We do request a meal be provided for myself and my associate photographer. However, if in the unlikely situation that a meal cannot be provided, we'd step out and go get something to eat.
Do you charge for travel?
If your wedding is beyond a 100 mile radius of area code 06488 then we charge a flat rate fee of $250 to cover hotel expenses. The travel fee for weddings beyond a 250 mile radius of area code 06488 will vary.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
An online gallery of proofs are ready in 8 to 12 weeks., although we do try to post some teasers on our facebook page within a couple days of the wedding.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Absolutely. Per copyright law, it will always be retained by the photographer. What we offer our clients are usage rights and a signe print release.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
High resolution digital files will be provided to our clients once the album has been shipped.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes.
When will the client get the final album?
Album design begins after the proofs have been release to the client. At that point we begin designing the album. Album design, printing and binding is another 8 to 12 weeks.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Tyana
Wedding:
10/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Jaymie and his team were great, professional and of course fun to deal with ?. We were very happy to have them as our photographers for our big day. We were really pleased with the pictures. Thanks for captured a great memories for us. Highly recommend for whoever looking for a great photographer???
Jaymie and his team were great, professional and of course fun to deal with ?. We were very happy to have them as our Read more...
Jaymie and his team were great, professional and of course fun to deal with ?. We were very happy to have them as our photographers for our big day. We were really pleased with the pictures. Thanks for captured a great memories for us. Highly recommend for whoever looking for a great photographer??? Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Kerry
Wedding:
10/4/2014
5.0/5.0
I cannot begin to thank J. Castro Photography for the service they provided for us! Jaymie and Chris impressed us from the start, and my fiance and I felt incredibly comfortable working with them. Recommended by a friend who had hired Jaymie and Chris for their wedding, we were incredibly impressed by their portfolios of work. We were even more excited about the photographs from both our engagement shoot and wedding- they are absolutely stunning. My husband and are are so thankful that we chose J. Castro Photography to work with and would highly recommend their services to all brides!
I cannot begin to thank J. Castro Photography for the service they provided for us! Jaymie and Chris impressed us from the Read more...
I cannot begin to thank J. Castro Photography for the service they provided for us! Jaymie and Chris impressed us from the start, and my fiance and I felt incredibly comfortable working with them. Recommended by a friend who had hired Jaymie and Chris for their wedding, we were incredibly impressed by their portfolios of work. We were even more excited about the photographs from both our engagement shoot and wedding- they are absolutely stunning. My husband and are are so thankful that we chose J. Castro Photography to work with and would highly recommend their services to all brides! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Lily
Wedding:
8/31/2014
5.0/5.0
J Castro Photography is AWESOME! Jaymie and his associate, Chris was very professional, easy going and fun to work with all at the same time. Our pictures are BEAUTIFUL and detailed, just exactly what we were looking for! I was very happy and satisfied of their service and work capturing the special moments of our wedding day!!
J Castro Photography is AWESOME! Jaymie and his associate, Chris was very professional, easy going and fun to work with Read more...
J Castro Photography is AWESOME! Jaymie and his associate, Chris was very professional, easy going and fun to work with all at the same time. Our pictures are BEAUTIFUL and detailed, just exactly what we were looking for! I was very happy and satisfied of their service and work capturing the special moments of our wedding day!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Jessica
Wedding:
8/30/2014
5.0/5.0
Really awesome team to work with. Jaymie and Chris were amazing and went above and beyond to provide spectacular service and make the day seamless. Chris even donated his tie to the father of the groom when one of our ties was misplaced--talk about dedication! The pictures speak for themselves too--they came out great and documented our day beautifully. I would highly recommend working with them (and already have to some of my friends with upcoming weddings)!!
Really awesome team to work with. Jaymie and Chris were amazing and went above and beyond to provide spectacular service Read more...
Really awesome team to work with. Jaymie and Chris were amazing and went above and beyond to provide spectacular service and make the day seamless. Chris even donated his tie to the father of the groom when one of our ties was misplaced--talk about dedication! The pictures speak for themselves too--they came out great and documented our day beautifully. I would highly recommend working with them (and already have to some of my friends with upcoming weddings)!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Jessica
Wedding:
8/2/2014
5.0/5.0
We were so incredibly pleased with our entire experience with J Castro Photography. When we were looking for a photographer, we were searching for somebody that would put us at ease in front of the camera, offered affordable packages, and of course, took phenomenal pictures. Jaymie and Chris were SO easy to work with and made us laugh and feel at ease in front of the camera so that we never looked uncomfortably posed. We couldn't have dreamed of better pictures. Of all elements of our wedding planning, choosing the right photographer was just about the most important thing. I'm so happy with all of our pictures and will cherish our album forever! We even had a gloomy/extremely overcast day for our outdoor wedding (probably my biggest fear), but the guys pulled out all of their lighting tricks and I can honestly say that I'm happy our day was overcast because the pictures are THAT cool, moody and beautiful. I will and have recommended them to all my friends that are getting married in the area!
We were so incredibly pleased with our entire experience with J Castro Photography. When we were looking for a Read more...
We were so incredibly pleased with our entire experience with J Castro Photography. When we were looking for a photographer, we were searching for somebody that would put us at ease in front of the camera, offered affordable packages, and of course, took phenomenal pictures. Jaymie and Chris were SO easy to work with and made us laugh and feel at ease in front of the camera so that we never looked uncomfortably posed. We couldn't have dreamed of better pictures. Of all elements of our wedding planning, choosing the right photographer was just about the most important thing. I'm so happy with all of our pictures and will cherish our album forever! We even had a gloomy/extremely overcast day for our outdoor wedding (probably my biggest fear), but the guys pulled out all of their lighting tricks and I can honestly say that I'm happy our day was overcast because the pictures are THAT cool, moody and beautiful. I will and have recommended them to all my friends that are getting married in the area! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Nikki
Wedding:
7/26/2014
5.0/5.0
We cannot say enough how much we love J Castro photography. Jaymie and Chris are phenomenal! They both are very talented and creative. Pictures are really important to us and they came out amazing!

We will certainly recommend J Castro photography to anyone who is in need of a professional photographer.
We cannot say enough how much we love J Castro photography. Jaymie and Chris are phenomenal! They both are very talented Read more...
We cannot say enough how much we love J Castro photography. Jaymie and Chris are phenomenal! They both are very talented and creative. Pictures are really important to us and they came out amazing!

We will certainly recommend J Castro photography to anyone who is in need of a professional photographer. Read less
Services Used: Photography
130x130 sq 1314177871181 dsc0042222
Melanie
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Jaymie and his team take MAGNIFICENT photos. They were also SO MUCH FUN to work with! My bridal party loved them. They went above and beyond for us, and we are very grateful for the memories they captured. Love you guys!
Jaymie and his team take MAGNIFICENT photos. They were also SO MUCH FUN to work with! My bridal party loved them. They Read more...
Jaymie and his team take MAGNIFICENT photos. They were also SO MUCH FUN to work with! My bridal party loved them. They went above and beyond for us, and we are very grateful for the memories they captured. Love you guys! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Laura
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about J Castro Photography. Pictures mean the world to me and it was the most important thing to me on the day of my wedding and not only did they capture every single moment, the professionalism, excellent communication and fair pricing made this the absolute best option for my husband and me. The added bonus was that Jaymie has an amazing personality and made taking the pictures a really fun time. I look forward to using him again when little ones are on the way! Should they ever need a recommendation, I will be more than happy to continually give shining reviews for the excellent work.
I cannot say enough good things about J Castro Photography. Pictures mean the world to me and it was the most important Read more...
I cannot say enough good things about J Castro Photography. Pictures mean the world to me and it was the most important thing to me on the day of my wedding and not only did they capture every single moment, the professionalism, excellent communication and fair pricing made this the absolute best option for my husband and me. The added bonus was that Jaymie has an amazing personality and made taking the pictures a really fun time. I look forward to using him again when little ones are on the way! Should they ever need a recommendation, I will be more than happy to continually give shining reviews for the excellent work. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Kim
Wedding:
10/14/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about J Castro Photography, they are wonderful, professional, and fun people and they provide gorgeous pictures and memories that you will cherish for the rest of your life. Literally everyone that I have showed my engagement and wedding photographs to talk about how beautiful they are. The DJ at my wedding came over to tell me how amazing he thought the photographs were, and said that Jaymie was one of the best photographers he had ever seen in his long career. Jaymie and Chris were so much fun to be around; they make you feel completely comfortable right away. Finally, the value that you get with J Castro Photography, in my opinion, cannot be beat. In my long search for a wedding photographer I found other photographers who certainly had a lot of skill as well, but not only were they were WAY more expensive, but you also get more in your package with J Castro Photography. I could go on and on, I really could. The photographer for my wedding was one of the most important things to me because those pictures would be our memories and I am 120% happy with J Castro Photography. I would use them again in a heartbeat and I plan to in the future at other special moments in my life. Thank you, Jaymie and Chris, for giving me and my husband stunning memories to look back on forever.
I cannot say enough about J Castro Photography, they are wonderful, professional, and fun people and they provide gorgeous Read more...
I cannot say enough about J Castro Photography, they are wonderful, professional, and fun people and they provide gorgeous pictures and memories that you will cherish for the rest of your life. Literally everyone that I have showed my engagement and wedding photographs to talk about how beautiful they are. The DJ at my wedding came over to tell me how amazing he thought the photographs were, and said that Jaymie was one of the best photographers he had ever seen in his long career. Jaymie and Chris were so much fun to be around; they make you feel completely comfortable right away. Finally, the value that you get with J Castro Photography, in my opinion, cannot be beat. In my long search for a wedding photographer I found other photographers who certainly had a lot of skill as well, but not only were they were WAY more expensive, but you also get more in your package with J Castro Photography. I could go on and on, I really could. The photographer for my wedding was one of the most important things to me because those pictures would be our memories and I am 120% happy with J Castro Photography. I would use them again in a heartbeat and I plan to in the future at other special moments in my life. Thank you, Jaymie and Chris, for giving me and my husband stunning memories to look back on forever. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Jillian
Wedding:
11/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Jamie and crew are the best! They made us feel completely relaxed, had fun with us and gave us the wedding photos we could only dream of!

If anyone is looking to have J. Castro do their wedding photography, we highly recommend them.

For brides out there reading this post who will also be getting married at West Point (US Military Academy), the last thing we wanted was just a bunch of dull photos of us standing on the wall looking down the river. Jamie and the guys think outside of the box and gave us amazing shots that really take in the amazing sites around us, but are also fun and artistic. He also had a military discount ... !!! :-)
Jamie and crew are the best! They made us feel completely relaxed, had fun with us and gave us the wedding photos we could Read more...
Jamie and crew are the best! They made us feel completely relaxed, had fun with us and gave us the wedding photos we could only dream of!

If anyone is looking to have J. Castro do their wedding photography, we highly recommend them.

For brides out there reading this post who will also be getting married at West Point (US Military Academy), the last thing we wanted was just a bunch of dull photos of us standing on the wall looking down the river. Jamie and the guys think outside of the box and gave us amazing shots that really take in the amazing sites around us, but are also fun and artistic. He also had a military discount ... !!! :-) Read less
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
5 Gettysburg Rd, Southbury, CT 06488 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for J Castro Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1372812896543 img7679