130x130_sq_1367610168641-jscottlogorgb--large

J Scott Catering

Malvern , PA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

189 Pennsylvania Avenue
Malvern, PA US 19355 (map)

PHONE

610-725-9420

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

J Scott Catering has been a trusted fixture of the greater Philadelphia area for the past 18 years. Our knowledgeable and professional event planners will help make your dreams a... Read more
J Scott Catering has been a trusted fixture of the greater Philadelphia area for the past 18 years. Our knowledgeable and professional event planners will help make your dreams a reality. We believe that our clients are unique, and as such no two weddings should be alike. We strive to bring our clients the wedding they've always dreamed of, with their particular color scheme and style throughout the ceremony and reception.



Our company is awarded “Bride’s Choice” year after year because of our exceptional service, quality food and attention to detail. We hire and train only professional wait staff and supervisors who handle your event to your exact specifications meeting your needs at every turn. We use only the freshest ingredients, never frozen, purchased locally and in season whenever possible. We execute every detail of your wedding from the placement of escort cards to the timeline with tips and suggestions along the way to ensure a seamless transition from planning to execution.


Photo Courtesy of David Campli Photography

Like what you see so far? Contact us today to speak about your upcoming nuptials.

Phone: 610-725-9420

Email: info@jscottcatering.com

Web: J. Scott Catering Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1367617599006-campli-0034bw
130x130_sq_1367617602565-campli-0060bw
130x130_sq_1327080310582-picture018
130x130_sq_1327080309073-bridalshower021a
130x130_sq_1327079823434-campli0091
130x130_sq_1249473043544-041
130x130_sq_1327079899196-campli0100
130x130_sq_1328897305992-foundrybridalshow2012119
130x130_sq_1327079940728-campli0102
130x130_sq_1327080024683-665
130x130_sq_1327080055399-160
130x130_sq_1327080089952-652
130x130_sq_1327080115497-654
130x130_sq_1327080140689-170
130x130_sq_1327080165671-174
130x130_sq_1327080246600-p1060650
130x130_sq_1327080312994-tray2
130x130_sq_1327080345390-1034sn2010020
130x130_sq_1327080377073-1053sn2010020
130x130_sq_1328897130893-foundrybridalshow2012013
130x130_sq_1328897170940-foundrybridalshow2012018
130x130_sq_1328897260858-foundrybridalshow2012102
130x130_sq_1328897350142-foundrybridalshow2012135
130x130_sq_1328897384267-foundrybridalshow2012203
130x130_sq_1328897397449-foundrybridalshow2012214
130x130_sq_1328897408051-foundrybridalshow2012216
130x130_sq_1367616176545-0668-gina-and-andy
130x130_sq_1367616196604-1201-gina-and-andy
130x130_sq_1327081719925-0679sn2010020
130x130_sq_1360808785572-jennings633zf3292983221017
130x130_sq_1300382261075-0598sn2010020
130x130_sq_1360809401971-myersweddingwire2
130x130_sq_1360809404658-myersweddingwire5
130x130_sq_1327081726489-destefanowedding043
130x130_sq_1327081675021-penriceweddingsparkphotography024
130x130_sq_1327081770767-campli0029
130x130_sq_1300382036934-0608sn2010020
130x130_sq_1300382068840-0617sn2010020
130x130_sq_1300382100262-0622sn2010020
130x130_sq_1300382135840-cupolamezzanine
130x130_sq_1300382325747-mortimerwedding025
130x130_sq_1300382351622-penriceweddingsparkphotography017
130x130_sq_1327081646850-cupolaballroommezzanine
130x130_sq_1360808780788-jennings864zf3292983221025
130x130_sq_1360808781573-jennings387zf3292983221003
130x130_sq_1360808782496-jennings390zf3292983221001
130x130_sq_1360808783661-jennings609zf3292983221014
130x130_sq_1360808784511-jennings631zf3292983221019
130x130_sq_1360809400237-myersweddingwire
130x130_sq_1360809402805-myersweddingwire3
130x130_sq_1360809403763-myersweddingwire4
130x130_sq_1360809405928-myersweddingwire6
130x130_sq_1360811276774-weddingwire2.13
130x130_sq_1360811277749-weddingwire2.131
130x130_sq_1360811280585-weddingwire2.134
130x130_sq_1360811282265-weddingwire2.136
130x130_sq_1360811284331-weddingwire2.138
130x130_sq_1360811285192-weddingwire2.139
130x130_sq_1383942018009-julianne-faris-favorites-000
130x130_sq_1383942080989-julianne-faris-favorites-000
130x130_sq_1383941959287-julianne-faris-favorites-003
130x130_sq_1383942181871-julianne-faris-favorites-001
130x130_sq_1307471151796-006
130x130_sq_1307471220312-010
130x130_sq_1307471298125-034
130x130_sq_1307471313703-038
130x130_sq_1307471343750-043
130x130_sq_1307471414906-mcdonnell007
130x130_sq_1307471452609-mcdonnell012
130x130_sq_1307471478718-rh018
130x130_sq_1307471556328-rh089
130x130_sq_1383942228034-julianne-faris-favorites-002
130x130_sq_1383942273455-julianne-faris-favorites-003
130x130_sq_1329158019845-foundrybridalshow2012014
130x130_sq_1329158099320-foundrybridalshow2012018
130x130_sq_1329158188570-foundrybridalshow2012028
130x130_sq_1329158352316-foundrybridalshow2012036
130x130_sq_1329158446637-foundrybridalshow2012038
130x130_sq_1329158611805-foundrybridalshow2012049
130x130_sq_1329158657051-foundrybridalshow2012054
130x130_sq_1329158724533-foundrybridalshow2012084
130x130_sq_1329158827300-foundrybridalshow2012104
130x130_sq_1329159173367-foundrybridalshow2012133
130x130_sq_1329159256582-foundrybridalshow2012135
130x130_sq_1329159314188-foundrybridalshow2012139
130x130_sq_1329159399295-foundrybridalshow2012150
130x130_sq_1329159420042-foundrybridalshow2012167
130x130_sq_1329159430578-foundrybridalshow2012173
130x130_sq_1329159442180-foundrybridalshow2012174
130x130_sq_1329159454343-foundrybridalshow2012177
130x130_sq_1329159465708-foundrybridalshow2012183
130x130_sq_1329159477346-foundrybridalshow2012195
130x130_sq_1329159501016-foundrybridalshow2012200
130x130_sq_1329159513699-foundrybridalshow2012203
130x130_sq_1329159524885-foundrybridalshow2012204
130x130_sq_1329159534619-foundrybridalshow2012207
130x130_sq_1329159543259-foundrybridalshow2012209
130x130_sq_1329159553823-foundrybridalshow2012211
130x130_sq_1329159565775-foundrybridalshow2012213
130x130_sq_1329159577949-foundrybridalshow2012214
130x130_sq_1329159588698-foundrybridalshow2012216
130x130_sq_1360807789992-campli0235
130x130_sq_1360807791665-campli0062
130x130_sq_1360807792861-campli0070
130x130_sq_1360807794149-campli0071
130x130_sq_1360807795359-campli0087
130x130_sq_1360807796488-campli0090
130x130_sq_1360807797609-campli0092
130x130_sq_1360807798701-campli0126
130x130_sq_1360807799729-campli0165
130x130_sq_1360807801042-campli0180
130x130_sq_1360807802393-campli0182
130x130_sq_1360807804324-campli0183
130x130_sq_1360807805461-campli0190
130x130_sq_1360807806478-campli0196
130x130_sq_1360807807598-campli0200
130x130_sq_1360807808700-campli0201
130x130_sq_1360807809713-campli0203
130x130_sq_1360807810963-campli0205
130x130_sq_1360807812112-campli0207
130x130_sq_1360807813271-campli0209
130x130_sq_1360807814335-campli0213
130x130_sq_1360807815454-campli0217
130x130_sq_1360807816865-campli0220
130x130_sq_1360807817777-campli0221
130x130_sq_1361727204885-nmajhweddingwire3
130x130_sq_1361727210521-nmajhweddingwire9
130x130_sq_1361727211646-nmajhweddingwire10
130x130_sq_1361727212668-nmajhweddingwire11
130x130_sq_1361727213767-nmajhweddingwire12
130x130_sq_1361727214895-nmajhweddingwire13
130x130_sq_1361727215781-nmajhweddingwire15
130x130_sq_1361727216785-nmajhweddingwire16
130x130_sq_1361727217477-nmajhweddingwire17
130x130_sq_1361727218581-nmajhweddingwire18
130x130_sq_1361727219344-nmajhweddingwire19
130x130_sq_1361727220090-nmajhweddingwire20
130x130_sq_1361727220926-nmajhweddingwire21
130x130_sq_1361727221867-nmajhweddingwire22
130x130_sq_1361727222867-nmajhweddingwire23
130x130_sq_1361727223621-nmajhweddingwire24
130x130_sq_1361727224483-nmajhweddingwire25
130x130_sq_1361727225361-nmajhweddingwire26
130x130_sq_1361727226258-nmajhweddingwire27
130x130_sq_1361727227197-nmajhweddingwire28
130x130_sq_1403899597274-warren-kathryn-warren-kathryn-wedding-2-0205
130x130_sq_1403899621849-warren-kathryn-warren-kathryn-wedding-0130
130x130_sq_1403899646385-warren-kathryn-warren-kathryn-wedding-0135
130x130_sq_1403899681944-warren-kathryn-warren-kathryn-wedding-0138
130x130_sq_1403899706187-warren-kathryn-warren-kathryn-wedding-0463
130x130_sq_1403899729476-warren-kathryn-warren-kathryn-wedding-0487
130x130_sq_1403899750979-warren-kathryn-warren-kathryn-wedding-0488
130x130_sq_1403899775078-warren-kathryn-warren-kathryn-wedding-2-0004
130x130_sq_1403899805946-warren-kathryn-warren-kathryn-wedding-2-0029
130x130_sq_1403899834434-warren-kathryn-warren-kathryn-wedding-2-0035
130x130_sq_1403899861432-warren-kathryn-warren-kathryn-wedding-2-0059
130x130_sq_1403899880355-warren-kathryn-warren-kathryn-wedding-2-0090
130x130_sq_1403899901258-warren-kathryn-warren-kathryn-wedding-2-0091
130x130_sq_1403899924210-warren-kathryn-warren-kathryn-wedding-2-0098
130x130_sq_1403899943896-warren-kathryn-warren-kathryn-wedding-2-0115
130x130_sq_1403899967866-warren-kathryn-warren-kathryn-wedding-2-0186
130x130_sq_1404241984647-campli-0204
130x130_sq_1404242012057-campli-0161
130x130_sq_1404242046017-campli-0166
130x130_sq_1404242082347-campli-0169
130x130_sq_1404242118546-campli-0172
130x130_sq_1404242155598-campli-0173
130x130_sq_1404242192883-campli-0182
130x130_sq_1404242322005-pictures-070
130x130_sq_1404242356775-pictures-011
130x130_sq_1404242389607-pictures-034
130x130_sq_1404242426120-pictures-039
130x130_sq_1404242463035-pictures-049
130x130_sq_1404242500659-pictures-052
130x130_sq_1404242541616-pictures-057
130x130_sq_1404242576755-pictures-069

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
5000

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
2/1/2014
5.0/5.0
J. Scott was hands down worth every penny. Simply put, they made my wedding an incredible, magical event. We worked with Kristen, who was on the ball about everything, responsive to all of my questions and really put me at ease. She and her team made our wedding day stress-free, she didn't bother us with questions about every little detail (but of course checked with us in the event something had to change). Everyone raved about the food and the service. The service to our VIP crowd (bridal party and close family) was amazing and beyond all expectations. As the bride, I never had to go to the bar, our VIP waiter made sure I (and the rest of the VIP group) had enough food/drinks no matter where I was. Kristen is so enthusiastic and really cares about your event going well. J. Scott is not just a catering company, they become your event coordinator by making sure all other vendors are on the same timeline, deliveries are on schedule, and nothing goes wrong. Halfway through our event, Kristen noticed we were running out of a type of beer and went and secured another case for us - and that's really just one example. Those sorts of things are really what take an event to the next level. I really can't rave enough about J. Scott, if I ever plan another event in the Philadelphia area I would absolutely go with them again!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julianne
Wedding:
1/18/2014
5.0/5.0
The team at J. Scott Catering is made up of dedicated professionals whose collective goal is to give you the wedding of your dreams. From start to finish they offer support, guidance and experience at every step of this memorable event. My husband and I had a very clear vision for our wedding and with the help of J. Scott Catering we were able to sit back and relax on our big day, knowing that every detail would be seen to with care. If you are looking for the full package, J. Scott Catering delivers 100%.

Having worked in catering, the food was a particularly important part of our wedding. The executive chef’s menus were unique and offered us many options. Having a winter wedding, we opted for the legendary (among our guests at least) braised short ribs and mustard crusted salmon fillet. Attention was paid not only to the taste but to the appearance of each dish, even down to the passed hors d’oeuvre plates, dressed with our wedding colors. They focused on making our wedding unique to us and not just pumping out the cookie cutter packages offered by so many other caterers.

J. Scott has a great bar setup, with skilled bartenders who mix drinks with speed and precision; essential for a group of 175 thirsty guests. There was hardly ever a line and with a dedicated bridal party attendant, my husband and I along with immediate family and those in the bridal party, never had to wait for anything.

The day ran so smoothly, without a single hitch, thanks to the wonderful team at J. Scott Catering. Our goal was to enjoy our wedding and from the moment we started planning to the last guest left, it was more than we could have ever hoped for.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Overall, J. Scott Catering provided great service for our wedding. The food was excellent. They had a diverse selection to choose from and were able to make a custom appetizer for us. We liked that the choices weren't typical wedding food. They really listened to their clients and tailor the menu to your tastes. The staff was courteous, prompt, and professional. Working with Kristen was a big help. It was nice that they had a wedding planner on staff to help things run smoothly. The only issue was they sent the wrong china and linens the day of the wedding. However, we called Kristen and she was able to fix the situation that morning. I would strongly recommend J. Scott to a friend.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Fantastic food! Wonderful staff. You definitely get the full service treatment! I would highly recommend!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gary
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
J. Scott did an excellent job on our recent wedding. We had a wonderful event at the Phoenixville Foundry with over 300 guests. The food was top notch and the service was 1st class. We highly recommend Scott and his team and we will continue to use J. Scott for our events going forward.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
9/20/2013
5.0/5.0
We were so incredibly pleased with J. Scott Catering for our wedding! We could've have asked for better service. From the moment we met Scott, we knew we'd be in good hands. He was very professional and organized in his presentation of the quality of their work. We were initially set up with one of his associates but partway through planning, a new associate was assigned to us when the first had to leave for personal matters - this transition was very smooth and we really enjoyed working with both women. Kristen G. was such a pleasure to work with - she was so enthusiastic about every aspect of planning our wedding and always made us feel like we were in good hands. Everything went really smoothly the day of the wedding! The food was amazing (actually better than it was for our tasting) - especially the filet of beef - it was cooked to perfection and we got so many rave reviews! The bartenders did a great job and there were waiters that were dedicated to ensuring that my husband and I always had a drink in our hands - the same was true for our parents. We were all very impressed. I think the best part about the night was when we surprised our guests with a cheesesteak grill at the end of the reception - I think an already great wedding was made legendary at that point. We still here about how excited everyone was with the late night cheesesteaks. You can't go wrong with the J. Scott team handling your wedding - they ensure that all your vendors have everything they need and that everything throughout the night runs smoothly.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
This was the second wedding we have used J. Scott for the catering. Both times the food was excellent. We received many compliments from our guests. This wedding was a buffet and the display of the food for the wedding "barbecue" was incredible, not your typical display. The staff was also very accommodating when the morning of the event we decided to move the ceremony inside due to the heat. They flipped the room during cocktails. I would highly recommend J. Scott for a wedding or any other event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
P
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
J Scott Catering was fantastic! They were very professional,in all aspects of their business. E mails were answered promptly. They offered many food options and were more than willing to customize our menu. We had a few people with severe allergies and they accomadated them and also some special menu requests.
Some guest comments included; the meals for the entire table arrived at once, and they were hot, there was plenty of food, loved the hor d'orves, waitstaff were professional and pleasant.
Kristen and Scott were great.
I would definately recommend J Scott Catering .
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gayle and George
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Scott, You and your staff are the best. Every parent's dream is to have the perfect wedding for their daughter. And just when we thought it couldn't get any better, it did. You helped to make Gina and Andy's reception at the Foundry something none of us will ever forget. Your staff was exceptional and service superb. It was fun to watch the line of servers bringing food to each table and unvieling every beautifully plated entree at the same time. The bar tenders were great, friendly and professional. And all of the food was delicious for the tongue and the eyes. All we can say is "Thank you, thank you, thank you." A wonderful couple couple and J Scott, perfect together.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
1/12/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a great experience with J. Scott Catering! We had some unique ideas about the menu for our wedding and J. Scott worked with us through the kinks in order to make our meal fantastic. We received a lot of compliments on the food throughout the night. Dawn was great to work with through the planning process. She was patient and flexible. She was willing to help us execute some of the homemade details that we included (like setting up and lighting luminaries outside the venue). The night of the wedding, Dawn and the J. Scott team made sure our timeline ran on (and in our case ahead!) of schedule. Dawn made sure that the bridal party was taken care of through the meal and that we always had enough food and drink! I would highly recommend J. Scott!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly
Wedding:
12/29/2012
5.0/5.0
I HIGHLY recommend using J Scott Catering. Dawn was our coordinator and she was fantastic to work with. From day one of working with her she listened to everything I wanted/needed and made sure everything ran smoothly on the day of my wedding. My mom had an accident a week before my wedding and was in a wheel chair for the wedding. Dawn took care of her and made sure she felt comfertable the entire night. I was also told by my guests that they were sooo impressed with the staff and how well the service was.

The food was also amazing. We had no regrets and were so glad we went with J Scott!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
12/29/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot thank J Scott enough for the phenomenal job they did with our wedding. The food was absolutely exquisite! My family and our guests concurred and still rave about the beef fillet! As if that weren't enough, Scott really took the time and showed great interest in making our event special. We knew where we needed to be budget wise and Scott was right there with us. We changed a few things on him and he was more than accomodating, not to mention extrememly quick to respond to our requests. Scott went above and beyond for myself and my family, and I believe he sets the highest of standards for his industry. I highly recommend J Scott Catering for your wedding.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I recently had one of the best nights of my life, celebrating my parents' ruby anniversary at the Blue Ball Barn in Wilmington. J Scott catered this event and helped to make the evening virtually flawless. The team at JScott turned the venue into an upscale elegant place with the decor.
The owner personally came to our venue to help us brainstorm the layout and flow of the evening and was responsive to our many email inquiries leading up to the event.
One of the best parts of my experience with this vendor, was the professional and personal staff that made our event success. From helping to fluff out out pomander balls before it started to serving gorgeous food to assisting us with loading the cars at the end, this team will go the extra mile for you.


Note: this is an update to a previous post. I'd worked with JScott a year ago, and wanted to update my review of this vendor based on the positive changes the company has made.
Services Used: Catering
J Scott Catering responded with the following comments:

Lauren,
Thank you so very much for the kind review. I know the staff really enjoyed the event and Diane was more than happy to assist. This review really made everyone's day here at J Scott Catering... HUGE THANK YOU...
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
12/1/2012
5.0/5.0
J Scott was absolutely wonderful through out the entire process of our wedding!

J Scott catering exceeded my expectations! From service over the phone, to service at our wedding! The food was DELICIOUS! They handled everything from the food to all the rental supplies (chairs, tables, linens, glassware, silverware, etc!) It was perfect!!

I honestly couldn't have asked for anything better for our special day!!

I would totally recommend using them to anyone planning a wedding!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Theresa
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
This past October, my daughter had her wedding reception at Radnor Hunt in Malvern. It was catered by J. Scott Catering of Malvern. The grounds around Radnor Hunt are beautiful especially in the fall. I cannot say enough good things about J. Scott Catering. The food was very good, the servers were professional and pleasant, and the rooms looked warm and inviting. I had one minor concern at the reception. After talking with the person in charge, it was quickly rectified in a calm and pleasant manner. Leading up to the wedding, communication between us and J. Scott Catering was good. There were no surprises with the billing. Even though they have been catering for years and planning weddings is an everyday event, they made us feel our wedding was special.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patty
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had our reception at the Phoenixville Foundry and you need to choose from a caterer on their list. We looked at and met with 4 different caterers off that list. From the first day that I reached out to J Scott Catering I was impressed. They took the time to talk to me on the phone and explain what they provide and different services and packages that they offer. I ended that conversation with direction and knowledge about what I was about to enter into. Another caterer simply said that they would email me a menu. My husband wanted to check out the other caterers just to make sure we were making the right decision. Three other caterers later, we were ready to make our decision. We did our homework, we talked about ideas, prices and got an overall feel for each other caterer and we were sold on J Scott Catering. The planning process was so easy,they were quick with responding to emails and answering SO many of our questions. The dinner service was impeccable! The presentation was like, as one of my guests described, " like an upscale NYC resturant." Their waitstaff was so attentive to all our guests and especially to my husband and I. The waitstaff took care of me and my husband from the moment our reception started until the end. The appetizers were wonderful and unique and there were plenty for all our 185 guests. In addition to the food, you need to make sure that the caterer fits your style and matches the reception to your personalities. Our guests were "wow'ed" all night. Their bars are awesome!They have these really awesome black bars that are classy and are really a statement piece!The bartenders were fast, polite and they knew what they were doing!!I promise that if you go with J Scott Catering, your wedding day will be everything that you imagined and all your guests will have a fabulous time.I could go on and on! I would be happy to share more if you want to know more..pmary11@yahoo.com!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
J. Scott Catering is five star across the board! The food was delicious, the presentation was spectacular, and the service was outstanding. The owner, Scott, his assistant Olivia, and his team, went above and beyond to make our wedding ceremony and reception unforgettable. Our menu was exquisite. The unique venue decor, custom bar and tables complemented the space perfectly. It was a work of art!

J. Scott's experience is unmatched and it shows in every last detail. They made my husband and I comfortable from day 1. We trusted everything would be exactly as we had planned, and it was. If you're looking to work with the best of the best, J. Scott Catering comes highly recommended.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CSilverang
Wedding:
4/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Thank you for helping to make Leigh and Joe’s wedding and reception incredible.
We initially contacted J. Scott Catering after learning that you were chosen by the Phoenixville Foundry for their opening gala. When we met with you and Amanda Dowds, we felt that you understood what we were looking for. We found it was easy to plan the reception with Amanda; she was both receptive and responsive to our questions and concerns. The table settings were exactly what Leigh had in mind. The room was elegant but not stuffy.
Amanda was proactive in many areas like contacting the band and photographer to arrange food service for them. She gently reminded us along the way of all the things we needed to decide. Her advice was priceless.
You and your staff worked in harmony with the other vendors, some of whom you were meeting for the first time.
On the day of the wedding, everything was in place. Both you and Amanda were on site to make sure everything went smoothly. The hors d’oeuvre stations were beautiful and the food divine. The servers who passed around the hors d’oeuvres and drinks were professional, anticipating the needs of our guests.
When it was time for dinner, the wait staff served everyone at the same table at exactly the same time in a very professional manner. The filet and salmon were cooked perfectly. Many of our guests remarked at the quality of the food and the difficulty of serving 230 guests in such a short time for a sit down dinner.
At each stage of the event, you and Amanda facilitated the stage seamlessly.
In the end, we could not have suggested anything that would have made the wedding or reception better. I would highly recommend your company to anyone planning an event. You helped make it an night we will never forget.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley Myers
Wedding:
1/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Super guy. Hands on all the way. Delicious food and great staff.

We didn't have a wedding planner. You don't need one. These people guide you all the way. Scott even send a representative to our rehearsal.

My husband posted a review, but I want to add my 2cents. Our daughter had her wedding at Phoenixville Foundry on Jan. 21st. From our first meeting with Scott, we were excited. I was interested in him as soon as I learned of his time with Inn at Little Washington! He did not disappoint. We had almost a year of planning. Every e-mail was immediately answered. Every request honored. Scott handled our event himself and was hands on all the way. From the tasting to selecting fabric and chair cushions, we had a blast. On the day of the wedding I saw Scott bustling around the Foundry. He lit candles and saw to every detail. I even spotted him during cocktail hour moving containers of flowers from the ceremony room to the reception area so they could be enjoyed the entire evening. The bar area had extras we hadn't asked for - a nice (and beautiful) surprise. Food was 5-star, beautifully presented, hot and delicious. We had a double entree and I ate every bite. The servers swept the table with effortless perfection. Needless to say we are so pleased with the entire experience. Scott came through for us and we appreciate so much all his hard work. Worth every penny. Thank you to Scott and his great team!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
labishop
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
J. Scott Catering was incredible to work with! They provided everything that we asked for and more. One of our guests commented that they typically don't eat much at weddings, because the food is mediocre, but they cleaned their plates at ours, because everything was so delicious. Do not think twice about choosing J. Scott Catering. You will not be disappointed.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
thenewmrs
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
J Scott Catering provided extraordinary service for my wedding on Oct 8, 2011 at The Phoenixville Foundry! I could not have asked for anything more, from the very beginning they were willing to work within our budget to make sure we had everything we wanted from a reception!! Amanda at J Scott knew exactly what I was looking for and was very helpful with making sure everything turned out just right. If I could do it all over again, there would be no other company I would work with!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding reception in August was at the Phoenixville Foundry with JScott Catering and we couldn't be happier. Everything had such a touch of class to it. Our guests were very impressed and spent the evening & the last two weeks telling us it was the best wedding they have gone too. It made me very happy for my daughter & son-in-law to have such a perfect start to their marriage!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jojostarbuck
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
J. Scott Catering is the best of the best when it comes to caterers in the Delaware Valley. I've worked with quite a few different caterers in the last five years professionally; but there was absolutely no question who would be taking care of me for our wedding reception.
Let's start with the staff: Scott is a pleasure to work with - he is prompt in responding to questions and emails, he is always willing to work with you to fit a budget, and he truly goes above and beyond what you would normally expect from a caterer. Other members of his team that I interacted with (Juls, Jenny, Rose, Joe, Joanie, etc.) were always friendly, professional, willing to help, and courteous (example: one of the youngest attendees at our wedding loved the chicken satay passed hors d'oeuvre and she dropped hers on the ground, much to her disappointment. Within moments, one of the servers had rushed inside, got a new one and brought it out specifically for her - I heard about this story from no less than four guests). Bartenders were outgoing and able to mix up anything we requested.
Food: The food is fantastic. We had a nice mix for our guests of passed hors d'oeuvres; bruschetta, duck potstickers, chicken satay, beef teriyaki, mini quesadillas, southwest spring rolls (the potstickers were a real hit). Loved the cheese plate and the mini desserts were flying off the table the moment they landed.
Decor: Scott helped with the event rentals and flowers - you wouldn't think that rental tables and chairs could be terribly exciting, but the whole venue looked amazing.
They really know how to pull together a wonderful party. I cannot recommend them highly enough.
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kellie
Wedding:
6/24/2011
5.0/5.0
J. Scott Catering absolutely created the picture perfect wedding day! The food, service, and personalized touch lived up to all of our expectations and more. Their team was extremely flexible when we were battling the rain showers to have our outside ceremony and accomodated our wishes to set up both options and quickly have their team wipe down the chairs last minute : ) We could not have been happier and I highly recommend them to everyone! They are extremely professional and nail every detail!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
9/16/2006
5.0/5.0
J. Scott is nothing short of first class. If you're looking for a caterer who is going to take the time to ensure that you have everything down to the exact ketchup brand you want -- my husband will only eat Heinz and J. Scott delivered! -- then this is the man for you.

Right away from your consultation with Scott, you can give a little sigh of relief because you'll feel as if everything is going to be fantastic. Our consultation consisted of a meeting in a comfortable pseudo dining room, complete with drinks (I opted for wine while my husband settled on soda) and lite fare. Being from NY, I'm used to the huge cocktail hour spreads, and Scott helped us make that happen. (I've been to a few weddings in the DE/PA area, and can say that the cocktail hours are a little understated compared to what I'm used to.)

After negotiating a price -- a far less exasperating experience than I thought it would be; again, Scott has class -- we had our tasting. All I can say is that the food served at our wedding was exactly the same as the food we had at our tasting. The fillet was out of this world! My father-in-law is a butcher, and even he was impressed with the cuts of meat. And the size our guests received was right on with the size we agreed upon. I could go on and on about the food -- the salmon with lobster sauce, the sides, the Tuscan chicken -- all I can say that our guests were still talking about how delicious everything was when we got back from the honeymoon!

The set up for our cocktail hour was also impressive. We had ice boats (they just "came" with our crab claws and shrimp) and lovely candles assembled throughout our reception area. (We had the reception at The Patio at Archmere Academy.)

Finally, service was impeccable. Servers knew what they were doing. They dressed in all black -- they looked a little "monkish," I must admit -- but they were attentive to my guests' needs.

Yes, he was a little pricey; we did wind up spending a little under twenty grand. But we were fortunate to have the funds to do it. And we didn't regret one cent of what we paid.

Again, I can't say enough about J. Scott!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
M
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
The J Scott Catering team did a phenomenal job with our wedding. Our coordinator, Marcel, was very attentive and full of great suggestions. He listened to what we had envisioned and delivered to the fullest. Trying to plan a wedding from two plus hours away can be a bit challenging at times, but Marcel did his best to minimize any additional effort from us. He was very accommodating with scheduling (even when we showed up a bit late to the tasting due to traffic). Never once did he make it about him- always put the emphasis on us and "our day".

The food at the reception was AMAZING- we got so many compliments! Not only did everything taste great, but the presentation was spot on. We highly recommend Marcel and the JScott Catering team for any special events. Cheers!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura&David
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Amazing food, lovely presentation, and flexible appointments with a bride planning a wedding in Chester County while living in Pittsburgh. Even the tasting session was elegant, professional, and delicious!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KSA
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
When we set our wedding date, one of our first call was to Scott. Having used J. Scott Catering several times in the past, we knew that Scott would provide food and service that was exceptional.
Scott went above and beyond in his professionalism and service. Both my husband and I have busy schedules, so we were difficult to meet with at times. Scott always accomodated us, often consulting via phone or email. Every question about every tiny detail was answered within 24 hours, and came with reccommmendations.
Even having known Scott for many years, he still made planning this event special for us. He was flexible about the menu and had suggestions for each of our requests. Our guests still rave about the food at our wedding!
Scott, however, helped beyond just catering in our planning. He provided us with names for vendors who were in tune with our vision for our wedding day. Our wedding day was truly one of the most magical days of my life. A lot of the visual memories of that day come thanks to Scott.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
K & K K
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
After seeing only two pictures of Radnor Hunt, I knew it was the exact location I was looking for. And J. Scott Catering came with it. What a relief not to have to spend time looking for another caterer! Our coordinator, Nicole, was incredible. Our personalities clicked, and she was so much fun to plan with! She always had an answer for my questions, was extremely creative, made great suggestions, and worked with us not only price, but on the menu, as well. The chef used one of my favorite recipes for one of the hors d'oeuvres for cocktail hour!! We opted for a station set-up versus sit-down, and the guests had so much fun making their own sliders, Chinese take-away, and quesadillas!

I would never hesitate to call J. Scott for any other even I wanted catered. To this day, almost a year later, our friends and family still comment on the fun they had at our wedding. Thanks to Scott and everyone who made it an absolutely perfect day!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
I have to tell you my search like any bride's began looking all all prospects available for my venue Phoenixville Foundry. I happened to have one day in particular my mom and I were out scouting. I had an appointment with Scott and I was running late. I had called to say I was going to be a half hour late and apologized, & offered to reschedule due to my tardiness. Scott asked me: "Will meeting at a later date possibly influence your time you have for decision making?' And I replied honestly, that it might. Scott immediately said he's rearrange his day to accommodate my still coming to meet him. We pulled in and were floored by our welcome we received...a parking spot reserved for me with my name on it. I'm sure all bride's get that, but still I loved it. We were impressed already. Scott was extremely down to earth and very honest. At the end of our meeting he offered a tasting if we were truly undecided between him and someone else. By far it was obvious this man knew how to do business & wanted ours.

Now I can say, I know every bride does her research. And so you should. When the cost of the catering is 50-70% of the cost of the wedding and can cost tens of thousands of dollars, you should be certain on your selection. Knowing this, and given the fact our savings is what was paying for our wedding, when I saw on Scott's site, his other places he's worked and school he's attended, I made some calls. I got positive feedback from both places. I also contacted Best of Main Line as he'd been voted "best of", finding out that Scott was very well respected in the industry & was the preferred caterer for Radnor Hunt Club.

At the tasting, my parents, husband and I sat down and were blown away by the presentation. Scott did not stay in the room while we discussed things, and his food was magnificent. Upon speaking to Scott, he mentioned that during these economic times, he may put in more hours and have to work a little harder, but in the end he felt he'd come out ahead. We knew we wanted to give him our business for sure.

Scott was extremely prompt in every question I had and made sure I felt important on his list, no matter how far off our wedding was. Even a week prior when I handed him a 20 page play by play briefing of the day...he never looked at me like I was a crackhead. (No doubt he & his assistant had to be thinking it :-) I may have portrayed the qualities of a nutcase getting closer to the big day.

The day went flawlessly! Scott was battling strep throat and ended up having to leave a little before he wanted to. We never knew he was gone, that's how great his team was. I had lists of every single thing that needed to make it back home for us, and his staff was 100% on top of it. I was missing nothing. The food was ravishing & portions were generous! We had chicken cordon bleu & filet. At our tasting, he offered to have the duet of both as a option for guests also. I just had to indicate selections on peoples cards. We got many compliments on every thing on the menu. I even had centerpieces that required his staff to turn on the battery operated lights, and when I walked in the room it was perfect.

I can honestly say Scott & his team 1000% executed my vision. For all the time & energy he put into my big day, I only wish I had posted my review sooner for him to show my appreciation. However, three months later, as promised, I am here writing. I'd be happy to elaborate more, but I haven't left out much. Contact Scott for my information if needed.

KH
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mmorrison81181
Wedding:
8/1/2009
5.0/5.0
J. Scott did a fabulous job for our wedding. They carefully attended to every detail to help ensure that my vision of our wedding day was attained. The level of service on our wedding day and the food far exceeded any of my expectations. I cannot say enough positive comments about our experience with J. Scott.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1223396501934-engaged!!!!
shannie82
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
J Scott Catering made my parents, my husband and myself feel completely at ease from the beginning. We went to a tasting that they offered at the Philopatrian, one of their wedding venues. It was amazing!

We quickly booked them for our wedding on June 20, 2009...and are so glad that we dd. Our guests raved about many aspects of the wedding, but none so much as the food! It was delicious...perfectly prepared, and the service was fantastic.

One of the many things I loved about working with J Scott was their new wedding packages, everything from signature cocktail down to the truffles on the table was included, and everything was divine!

I have worked with Scott for a few years in my professional career, and would turn to no one else for the most important day of our lives... I will continue to reccomend him to anyone and everyone... especially those that feel that food is just as important as your wedding dress, and that ensuring your wedding guests have an excellent meal is part of the big picture! Let's face it...there's nothing worse than eating a gray piece of steak with wilted veggies!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrsbumpo
Wedding:
5/2/2009
5.0/5.0
My guests are still raving about the food at our wedding. And I have an Italian family who is hard to impress! Not only was the food great, but Scott and his assistant, Nicole, were great to work with. They were fun and always accomodating. I highly recommend J. Scott Catering!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
doona
Wedding:
5/2/2009
5.0/5.0
My guests are still raving about the food at our wedding. And I have an Italian family who is hard to impress! Not only was the food great, but Scott and his assistant, Nicole, were great to work with. They were fun and always accomodating. I highly recommend J. Scott Catering!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lisad
Wedding:
11/15/2008
5.0/5.0
Our event coordinator was Nicole Sigda. We knew which of their many venues we wanted our event at prior to the first meeting at the location with Nicole. We were planning a small wedding and service with about 5 months lead time. After the first meeting and tour of the location we breathed a sigh of relief that it was possible to have a tasteful event without a year of planning. Nicole gave us recommendations for many vendors that were reasonably priced, professional and wonderful to work with. They included the photographer, florist and hotel.

While I am a relatively organized person, I had never planned any type of event before and was a bit nervous. Nicole was available to answer any questions about setup, timing, vendors, anything. It was great to have a sounding board when needed or suggestions where we didn't know how to handle certain details. Everyone at J Scott worked well with vendors (location, bartenders, DJ, bakery) and officiant they had not met before. You do not feel obligated to use anyone that they recommend.

Our guests have been extremely complimentary of our wedding. Despite some major rain, Radnor Hunt was beautiful. Our guests enjoyed all of the food and evening, they never had to step outside once they entered. I was also able to get ready with my bridal party at the location which was very convenient even in perfect weather.

All of Nicole's staff the day of the wedding were friendly and professional. Everything ran on schedule. I missed a lot of the details like favors, place cards as the bride. It's been nice to see now in my photographs how nicely they had arranged everything. I would not hesitate to recommend J Scott and Nicole for any type of event. Our wedding definitely exceeded our expectations.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ileen
Wedding:
8/23/2008
5.0/5.0
My fiancé and I decided on a two year engagement so that we would have plenty of time to prepare. It ended up we got wrapped up with work and next thing you know we only had a little less than a year and nothing started. I researched different caterers in the Chester County area and kept seeing
J Scott Catering. I figured I would give them a call to get some information. Next thing you know, what I thought was going to be an absolute endless task, I had not only food recommendations but contacts for location, bands, florists, etc.

Immediately, J Scott Catering wanted to set up a consultation with Don (my fiancé) and I to understand who we are and what we were looking for on the most important day of our lives. They took our vision and ran with it OVER AND ABOVE what we had ever dreamed of. Unfortunately, Don and I were on a specific budget but wanted an exceptional wedding that no one would forget. Again, J Scott over achieved and our guests are still raving. From each individual hors d’oeuvre to our four course meal, it was like the prepared each and every single piece for each of my guests. Outstanding attention to detail, impeccable service and overall MASTERS!

The staff that worked our event were friendly and caring yet professional and patient (especially with uncle bill- who only wanted one specific drink throughout dinner) and just went above and beyond the call of just “working another wedding”. They made sure to personally say congratulations to Don and I and seemed as though they were generally happy to be there and working together. I can’t tell you enough how honored I am to say that I was able to have J Scott Catering on my wedding day. They eased all of my concerns and questions through out the entire process, even by taking care of: all the rentals we needed, cake, flowers, venue, candles and more!

Thumbs up, Hat’s off, Five Stars doesn’t even touch J SCOTT CATERING! Thank you
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hockey8837
Wedding:
6/1/2008
5.0/5.0
Our planner was Perry Ratcliffe, and she did a phenomenal job! She was so accommodating, and really worked hard to make our day perfect! She adapted the menu to fit our tastes, especially with me being a vegetarian. We did a brunch buffet service rather than dinner, and it was perfect! She took on so much responsibility for me because I did not have a wedding planner, and did an amazing job! She did everything from help decide table layout and setup to putting out and arranging the decorations on the day of the wedding. We also ordered all of our linens through J. Scott, and everything was beautiful and very professional!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly
Wedding:
9/29/2007
5.0/5.0
J Scott was exceptional. The food and service were amazing. We got so many compliments from our guests. They were pricey (in our opinion) but well worth it. I would recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
9/23/2006
5.0/5.0
Amazing food!!!! From the appetizers to the dinner we were extremely pleased. He offers an amazing tasting which I highly recommend where you go and sit down and sample so many things! He was flexible with last minute changes and just created a wonderful meal to go with the tone of the evening.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
badow1222
Wedding:
3/1/2011
5.0/5.0
From the first meeting with J Scott, everything was perfect! He was always available & prompt to replies. Scott worked within our budget and was understanding regarding payment. My guest are continually raving about the decor and freshness of the menu. The wait staff was wonderfully patient, especially with a few inebriated guest. I STRONGLY recommend J Scott catering for any event & hope to work with him & his team again. Thanks Scott!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
9/18/2009
4.9/5.0
Booked JScott Caterers a year in advance of my wedding. From the start they were very warm and friendly. We had two tastings of our main selections prior to the wedding due a change in entrees. They were more than willing to accomodate both of these tastings without hesitation.

Leading up to the wedding communication was primarily via email, which honestly made things much easier. The caterer was very cooperative with my decorater and worked with her on the day of the wedding to allow for my own personal touch on the centerpieces as well as the reception venue.

The staff was EXCEPTIONAL! They were professional and accomadating to all my guests needs. There was no problem they could not solve without causing a commotion. Guests are still complimenting me on how well the staff worked together the night of my wedding!

Overall, I would highly recommend JScott Catering. I honestly had no worries all night or leading up to the event. There was nothing that they could not handle!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeannie
Wedding:
6/21/2014
4.8/5.0
Our daughter's wedding reception was celebrated June 21st at the Radnor Hunt Club. All went so well that day and was made even more perfect having J Scott Caterers handle the event! From the beginning, Scott and Diane made us feel comfortable and took a keen interest in what our desires were for the day. Their professionalism, attention to detail, timeliness and knowledge helped to make the planning go smoothly. We sincerely felt they were committed to making our event special!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
J Scott did an amazing job for our wedding at Radnor Hunt in Malvern PA. It was the perfect setting, the food was amazing, and they coordinated everything perfectly!! The only reason I gave 4 out of 5 stars, is that for the food, I made the mistake of not choosing the option where you can order off a menu, instead the guests had to pre-select their meals, I put the meal choices on the escort cards, however the wait staff still asked each person what they ordered, which I did not like. Other than that small detail (which could have been avoided if I chose a different option), their staff is AMAZING, SO easy to work with, and the owner came to introduce himself the day before the wedding, and contacted me directly right before the wedding. GREAT customer service, top notch. Not to mention the food was unbelievable.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1375542134756-shoes
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
I would absolutely recommend J. Scott Catering. After choosing the Phoenixville Foundry as our venue, we spoke with Amanda and she had us visit to show us our options. After that, we were sold. She took our ideas, added her knowledge and started planning everything we would need for our dinner and reception. J. Scott's attention to detail is flawless. The staff is professional and friendly. Most importantly, the food was fantastic. We are very happy with our decision to use J. Scott Catering.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
flyboy
Wedding:
7/29/2011
4.8/5.0
We just recently had our wedding at the Phoenixville Foundry, and J Scott was our caterer. Amanda and her staff were fantastic! The day went just as planned thanks to the help of Amanda. They were extremely flexible, especially when you have to prepare a special dietary meal for a family member. Amanda was able to help out when it came to the linens. She gave us several different options, and we loved the final choice! Also, Amanda was able to remind me of things that needed to be done so that everything turned out just right. Her experience in the industry is very noticeable. If you are looking for a caterer, look no further J Scott is hard to beat!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
charlotte
Wedding:
9/4/2011
4.8/5.0
J scott catering was AMAZING!!!! i fully recommend Marcel and J Scott Catering for any brides out there. Marcel did an amazing job bringing everything together - we had 3 stations with Memphis BBQ, Belgian mussels and small fries cones, and Korean jap chae, mandu and bulgogi (we are a very international family) - they pulled it off perfectly. Everyone was raving about the food, the decoration of the stations were awesome, and the whole night went seamlessly. We also had mojitos as our signature drink and they were delicious. Marcel, thank you so much for everything!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
J.Scott will put you at ease and allow you to enjoy your day. Everything was perfect and my guests raved about the service, presentation and food. Most importantly, I was confident that every detail would be perfect making my day stress free and happy!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lucy
Wedding:
7/26/2008
3.1/5.0
J Scott Catering was the sole caterer for our venue and so we looked at caterer and venue as a package, since our other top venue also had a sole caterer. We chose J Scott because they gave us more food options and worked with us on pricing. Our wedding was in the height of summer and we had a number of vegetarian guests, and so I didn’t want it to be a lot of heavy meat options. They were happy to add other vegetable options, while still giving us meat alternatives. Since we were only going with one chicken entre. They suggested adding shredded salmon to the salad bar and our risotto station had meat options as well. Although the competing sight could offer us the ability to bring in our own alcohol, which would have been a big money saver, J Scott worked with us on their price and with the venue on its bar price to get to a place that worked for us. They also do not include a mandatory 20% service charge, but tax is already included in their price, which made it much easier to judge. However, when it comes down to it, be sure to read and question the final bill. The final bill I got was only about $70 less expensive than the original contract for 100 people, despite the fact that the head had dropped to 91, which is almost 10% less than the original count. She responded saying she hadn’t adjusted some of the equipment needs for the lower head count. Had she not already messed up what I owed the venue for the bar fee, I might have chalked this up to a simple slip up, but it would be nice to check over those figures so you don’t overcharge people. It makes me wonder about the calculations done that I didn’t have information on and couldn’t check.
Their representative was very nice and was responsive via phone and e-mail when I had questions or concerns, but she was also the person who wrote up the additions to my contract with the venue, which later came into dispute, and despite the fact that an additional charge was not written in the contract and the contract was signed by the venue’s representative, the catering person still called me (two days before my wedding) to convince me that this was a normal fee and I should pay it. I found this to be very unprofessional.
Beyond that she was very nice and continued to be very nice, but the real problem was that she dropped the ball quite a few times and the details were not there.
My parents are divorced and so I worked very hard on a seating chart that would give my mother and my father their own tables that were still equal distance from our sweetheart table. The catering group managed to mess up the table numbers and put my dad back a table.
The chairs, which I had asked to be set up as ten rows of five on either side of the aisle, thus ten rows of ten, were set up as five rows of ten on either side of the aisle. There were a number of reasons I needed shorter rows and a longer aisle. I did catch the problem before the guests arrived and they did fix it.
Other things were more random…here are a couple example:
At the salad bar, the lettuce was on one end of the table and the plates were on the other end with the other toppings and dressing in the middle.
The caterers had made a big deal about the fact we wouldn’t get to eat much, but that it wasn’t a big deal, because they’d pack us a bag with a little of everything that we could take home that night and eat. They gave us the remaining layer of cake, but no doggie bag.
At the tasting, I took notes on things and took pictures of their presentation to remember. Some of their dishes changed. The tomato, mozzarella salad that we’d be served with great grilled red onions in the middle no longer had the red onions. I had been talking to people about how good they were, but they weren’t there.
There was an appetizer at the tasting that we thought was a little dry, so we asked if it could be served with a horseradish sauce. We were told that would be no trouble, but despite the fact I saw that appetizer being served, I never saw any sauce.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justine
Wedding:
10/1/2011
3.0/5.0
I can tell you all the food and decor was EXCELLENT and my husband and I received many many compliments on our caterer, and still do. What was less than impressive was the professionalism, or lack there of, that we received. We often had a difficult time getting a response to our inquiries throughout planning, and the responses we did get were, for the most part, terse and abrupt. This made for a stressful time planning and interacting with our caterer. Overall, the wedding day came together for us and as I said, the food and decor were amazing! The one final interaction we had was also very diasspointing- after signing a contract detailing the exact cost of "added time" to our wedding (in the event we decided to add time the night of the celebration, which we ended up doing...), we were asked to pay more than double that cost! When citing the contracted fee for the added time, we were told "looks like you got a great deal." I do not find that to be a "great deal", but it is the cost we contractually agreed to pay...we could have done without that final comment. Those types of interactions left a bit of a poor taste in our mouths and ultimately resulted in a less than stellar review of a caterer who did a wonderful job with the food & decor for our wedding.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
189 Pennsylvania Avenue, Malvern, PA 19355 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for J Scott Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1367610168641-jscottlogorgb--large