130x130_sq_1386137350164-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara
(8)

J Wiley Photography

Los Angeles , CA

LOCATION

Los Angeles, CA US 90404 (map)

PHONE

424-272-5360

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Hi, I’m Jen! I specialize in small and mid-sized weddings, and click ridiculously well with couples who are offbeat romantics with a touch of irreverence, and who dig all things... Read more
Hi, I’m Jen! I specialize in small and mid-sized weddings, and click ridiculously well with couples who are offbeat romantics with a touch of irreverence, and who dig all things non-traditional.

I love raw emotion, photojournalism, and imperfection. Reality isn’t perfect, and that’s what makes each wedding unique and so much fun. My passion for wedding photography is fueled by the excitement of being surrounded by beautiful, real, emotional moments on a wedding day.

My style is very much personality-driven. I strive to get to know my couples on a personal level because it's my goal to intuitively understand you and the people you love so that I can document the unique connection you share through your eyes. I can't help but bring my unbridled enthusiasm to the work that I do, and I know from experience that having a great rapport with your photographer makes for the very best photos and happiest memories.

Be sure to find me on Facebook to connect with me & check out my most recent work! https://www.facebook.com/JWileyPhotography

And feel free to contact me directly at photos@jwileyphotography.com Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1386138473753-cs-638
130x130_sq_1386138478681-cs-698
130x130_sq_1386138482849-img449
130x130_sq_1386138487137-kj-154
130x130_sq_1386143519912-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angele
130x130_sq_1386138466609-653
130x130_sq_1386132442912-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132402586-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132404382-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132412489-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132452883-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132406406-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132508024-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132408292-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132410303-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132438371-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132440188-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132444980-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132446887-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132448874-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132450918-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132459744-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132454844-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132495121-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132457112-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132497645-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132461852-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132463834-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386132499497-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara-
130x130_sq_1386128778156-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386121078596-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386121273977-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386121275879-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386128764833-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386121261803-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386121263694-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386121265901-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386121267699-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386121269985-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386121278133-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386129758022-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386128760541-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386121271785-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386129762240-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386129760270-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386128769365-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386128762660-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386128771735-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386128774027-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386128776149-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386128783758-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386128781870-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-
130x130_sq_1386128779916-carondelet-house-wedding-los-angeles-photographer-

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Proof CD of All Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
I individually process each photo my clients receive.
Is your media preference film or digital?
Digital
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Absolutely!
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
All professional Canon gear
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Yes. I carry two professional Canon camera bodies, multiple lenses, flashes, and batteries.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
4-6 weeks
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
A digital gallery available online, and clients receive a USB drive with high resolution, edited images shortly thereafter. No strings attached!
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Always
What kind of albums do you offer?
The best kind! Heirloom quality, seamless spreads that I custom design.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krista
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
My fiance and I asked Jen to photograph our engagement session, and we were so incredibly happy with this decision.

Right from the get-go when we contacted her, Jen was friendly, excited, and supportive of our hopes and vision for the shoot. She gave us helpful tips on what to wear and was 100% in for including our little dog in part of the shoot- a must for us!

We instantly clicked with Jen, and she really put us at ease in front of the camera. We had so much fun exploring our neighborhood with her and heading down to the beach. Jen captured our relationship in a special, organic way- she gave us just enough direction to get great shots, but my favorites were the shots she captured of us in the "in-between" moments.

Not only did we have a blast hanging out with Jen, but our pictures are so incredibly special to us and turned out better than we could have imagined. THANK YOU, Jen- you are so talented and a true gem!
My fiance and I asked Jen to photograph our engagement session, and we were so incredibly happy with this decision.
Read more...
My fiance and I asked Jen to photograph our engagement session, and we were so incredibly happy with this decision.

Right from the get-go when we contacted her, Jen was friendly, excited, and supportive of our hopes and vision for the shoot. She gave us helpful tips on what to wear and was 100% in for including our little dog in part of the shoot- a must for us!

We instantly clicked with Jen, and she really put us at ease in front of the camera. We had so much fun exploring our neighborhood with her and heading down to the beach. Jen captured our relationship in a special, organic way- she gave us just enough direction to get great shots, but my favorites were the shots she captured of us in the "in-between" moments.

Not only did we have a blast hanging out with Jen, but our pictures are so incredibly special to us and turned out better than we could have imagined. THANK YOU, Jen- you are so talented and a true gem! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pooja
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Jen (and her incredible assistant, Mary) photographed our wedding in June. There are literally thousands of photographers out there and a web search will easily lead you to many of them. Right from the first search, Jen's photos stood out to us because they felt "real". The moments were natural, raw, and immensely genuine. She captures a mood, tells a story, and always makes you laugh - really laugh! We barely noticed her at all during the actual wedding, but when looking at the pictures it seems like she didn't miss a beat. We cannot recommend Jen highly enough
Jen (and her incredible assistant, Mary) photographed our wedding in June. There are literally thousands of photographers Read more...
Jen (and her incredible assistant, Mary) photographed our wedding in June. There are literally thousands of photographers out there and a web search will easily lead you to many of them. Right from the first search, Jen's photos stood out to us because they felt "real". The moments were natural, raw, and immensely genuine. She captures a mood, tells a story, and always makes you laugh - really laugh! We barely noticed her at all during the actual wedding, but when looking at the pictures it seems like she didn't miss a beat. We cannot recommend Jen highly enough Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aline
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Jen photographed our wedding day in June 2013. We can't begin to say how much we loved working with Jen. First of all, her personality is wonderful. She is so positive and is such fun to hang out with. She made us feel right at ease during our engagement session and we knew our wedding day would be so fun knowing that she would allow us to be our silly selves without too many "posed" pictures.

The photographs themselves are absolutely stunning and very much unique, which make her photos stand out. We searched high and low for our perfect photographer (after all, when we are old and grey, the photos are what we will most likely cherish) and Jen was our perfect match!

All the photos are natural and capture the fun, love and laughter of the day. Our reception was at a vineyard and those shots at sunset are just spectacular! She was able to capture shots of our family and friends that show such emotion and happiness. We know that we made the right decision in hiring Jen for our special day and we can't wait for our next photo shoot with her (baby shoot is next!!!!).
Jen photographed our wedding day in June 2013. We can't begin to say how much we loved working with Jen. First of all, her Read more...
Jen photographed our wedding day in June 2013. We can't begin to say how much we loved working with Jen. First of all, her personality is wonderful. She is so positive and is such fun to hang out with. She made us feel right at ease during our engagement session and we knew our wedding day would be so fun knowing that she would allow us to be our silly selves without too many "posed" pictures.

The photographs themselves are absolutely stunning and very much unique, which make her photos stand out. We searched high and low for our perfect photographer (after all, when we are old and grey, the photos are what we will most likely cherish) and Jen was our perfect match!

All the photos are natural and capture the fun, love and laughter of the day. Our reception was at a vineyard and those shots at sunset are just spectacular! She was able to capture shots of our family and friends that show such emotion and happiness. We know that we made the right decision in hiring Jen for our special day and we can't wait for our next photo shoot with her (baby shoot is next!!!!). Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mackenzie
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about Jen and her ability to take phenomenal pictures. Not only is she extremely talented with a camera, but she is warm and funny and instantly put myself and my husband at ease. I did a lot of research to find the perfect photographer for our engagement and wedding pictures and it certainly paid off. We were thrilled with the finished product and have received endless compliments on how great our engagement and wedding photos turned out.

Jen was easily the best investment of our wedding day - I look at these photos every day and am always in awe of how accurately she captured the love, excitement, and happiness of our wedding day. I cannot say enough positive things - you will not regret the decision the have her capture the most important moments!
I cannot say enough about Jen and her ability to take phenomenal pictures. Not only is she extremely talented with a Read more...
I cannot say enough about Jen and her ability to take phenomenal pictures. Not only is she extremely talented with a camera, but she is warm and funny and instantly put myself and my husband at ease. I did a lot of research to find the perfect photographer for our engagement and wedding pictures and it certainly paid off. We were thrilled with the finished product and have received endless compliments on how great our engagement and wedding photos turned out.

Jen was easily the best investment of our wedding day - I look at these photos every day and am always in awe of how accurately she captured the love, excitement, and happiness of our wedding day. I cannot say enough positive things - you will not regret the decision the have her capture the most important moments! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Jen is amazing!! She photographed our engagement session and wedding in Chicago in July, and we couldn't have made a better choice. We were initially drawn to her photojournalistic style and after our first meeting, we were sold by her warm, outgoing, and cheerful personality. It was important for me to not only love the photo style (none of those posey boring shots here) but also to connect with the photographer.

During our engagement session and beyond, Jen remained incredibly positive, in a genuine way, which made us newbies to the camera lens as comfortable as can be. Apart from her awesome personality, she delivers a quality product. Her passion for photography and her ability to put her emotions into her work sets her pictures apart from others. I also cannot tell you how many compliments we have received on our wedding pictures (and engagement photos which we used for the save the date). Please check out her photoblog on her website!

Bonus is that her price point is comparable if not better than the other photographers we looked into making her totally worth it and a complete package! I recommend JWiley without reservation :)
Jen is amazing!! She photographed our engagement session and wedding in Chicago in July, and we couldn't have made a Read more...
Jen is amazing!! She photographed our engagement session and wedding in Chicago in July, and we couldn't have made a better choice. We were initially drawn to her photojournalistic style and after our first meeting, we were sold by her warm, outgoing, and cheerful personality. It was important for me to not only love the photo style (none of those posey boring shots here) but also to connect with the photographer.

During our engagement session and beyond, Jen remained incredibly positive, in a genuine way, which made us newbies to the camera lens as comfortable as can be. Apart from her awesome personality, she delivers a quality product. Her passion for photography and her ability to put her emotions into her work sets her pictures apart from others. I also cannot tell you how many compliments we have received on our wedding pictures (and engagement photos which we used for the save the date). Please check out her photoblog on her website!

Bonus is that her price point is comparable if not better than the other photographers we looked into making her totally worth it and a complete package! I recommend JWiley without reservation :) Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NSchaefer
Wedding:
7/1/2011
5.0/5.0
was lucky enough to have Jen be our photographer for our July 1st 2011 wedding- I do not think their are enough positive adjectives in the world to describe Jen and her amazing photos. She's extremely easy to work and communicate with, very professional but fun with a great personality, responds quickly to questions/emails (any Bride will appreciate this) and most importantly a wonderful person in general. Her photos are timeless and elegant but also fun and quirky at the same time. When it came to planning our wedding one thing we both wanted was to have a unique photographer-most times when you look at wedding photos they are standard and unoriginal and that was the last thing we wanted. I searched the web and called a few places and after talking to the photographers without any chemistry at all-I turned to Facebook and started clicking on random peoples wedding photos, I luckily some how got redirected to Jens page and was amazed by her work -it had the vintage romantic feeling we were looking for. The first time I talked to Jen we ended up being on the phone for over 2 hours-talking about everything from my upcoming wedding to our personal life and by the end of our conversation I told her to save our date.

We used her for both our engagement and wedding photos and both experiences were extremely enjoyable- especially since we were both nervous having our pictures taken. Everyone loved our engagement pictures and were blown away by all the different shots and angles- they turned out better then we could have imagined and ended up using them for our save the dates. Everyone at our wedding loved how easy she was to work with and how she made taking so many pictures extremely enjoyable-especially since it was over 90 degrees that day. The compliment I received the most was "I wish I had her as my wedding photographer." She understood our vision and we will now have beautiful photos to last us a lifetime-although I feel her work is more like art then just photos. She captured all the important moments but also all the moments we would of missed since the day goes by so fast.

Any one that books Jen is extremely lucky-not only is she an amazing wedding photographer but also an incredibly passionate-caring person. I can guarantee you will not be disappointed with her work.
was lucky enough to have Jen be our photographer for our July 1st 2011 wedding- I do not think their are enough positive Read more...
was lucky enough to have Jen be our photographer for our July 1st 2011 wedding- I do not think their are enough positive adjectives in the world to describe Jen and her amazing photos. She's extremely easy to work and communicate with, very professional but fun with a great personality, responds quickly to questions/emails (any Bride will appreciate this) and most importantly a wonderful person in general. Her photos are timeless and elegant but also fun and quirky at the same time. When it came to planning our wedding one thing we both wanted was to have a unique photographer-most times when you look at wedding photos they are standard and unoriginal and that was the last thing we wanted. I searched the web and called a few places and after talking to the photographers without any chemistry at all-I turned to Facebook and started clicking on random peoples wedding photos, I luckily some how got redirected to Jens page and was amazed by her work -it had the vintage romantic feeling we were looking for. The first time I talked to Jen we ended up being on the phone for over 2 hours-talking about everything from my upcoming wedding to our personal life and by the end of our conversation I told her to save our date.

We used her for both our engagement and wedding photos and both experiences were extremely enjoyable- especially since we were both nervous having our pictures taken. Everyone loved our engagement pictures and were blown away by all the different shots and angles- they turned out better then we could have imagined and ended up using them for our save the dates. Everyone at our wedding loved how easy she was to work with and how she made taking so many pictures extremely enjoyable-especially since it was over 90 degrees that day. The compliment I received the most was "I wish I had her as my wedding photographer." She understood our vision and we will now have beautiful photos to last us a lifetime-although I feel her work is more like art then just photos. She captured all the important moments but also all the moments we would of missed since the day goes by so fast.

Any one that books Jen is extremely lucky-not only is she an amazing wedding photographer but also an incredibly passionate-caring person. I can guarantee you will not be disappointed with her work. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mlpsk8r
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
We found Jennifer thru a booking company. I wish we would have know she was venturing out on her own. We loved working with her for our engagement pics. She has a great personality and put both my husband and I at ease for the duration of the shoot. The day of the wedding was the best though. Both Dennis (husband) and I were excited to see how the photos turned out. We knew they were going to be good, but we were blown away with the shots that she was able to capture.

We are planning on using her again in the future, but not through that other company. She is a great photographer to work with and very talented.
We found Jennifer thru a booking company. I wish we would have know she was venturing out on her own. We loved working Read more...
We found Jennifer thru a booking company. I wish we would have know she was venturing out on her own. We loved working with her for our engagement pics. She has a great personality and put both my husband and I at ease for the duration of the shoot. The day of the wedding was the best though. Both Dennis (husband) and I were excited to see how the photos turned out. We knew they were going to be good, but we were blown away with the shots that she was able to capture.

We are planning on using her again in the future, but not through that other company. She is a great photographer to work with and very talented. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.7/5.0
Jen was hands down, our favorite wedding vendor. Wedding photography was the top of my priority list while wedding planning. I went through dozens and dozens of photographer websites and portfolios before finding Jen. As soon as I met her, I knew we'd be in good hands. Not only is her work amazing - our engagement photos and wedding photos won rave reviews from everyone - but she is just so darn nice! Being in front of the camera can be awkward and vulnerable but Jen made it so easy. As everyone else here has said, she's super friendly, warm, and accommodating. I originally had all these crazy ideas for our photoshoot and Jen managed to very diplomatically talk me down to something more manageable. It's takes real skill to deal with high-maintenance, emotional brides and Jen never made me feel like a bridezilla. She was also incredibly meticulous during the album editing process and her design skills there are amazing as well.

I'll probably remember a dozen other wonderful things about Jen that I forgot to mention as soon as I hit post on this review, but suffice it to say that you should just hire her. It's completely worth it.
Jen was hands down, our favorite wedding vendor. Wedding photography was the top of my priority list while wedding Read more...
Jen was hands down, our favorite wedding vendor. Wedding photography was the top of my priority list while wedding planning. I went through dozens and dozens of photographer websites and portfolios before finding Jen. As soon as I met her, I knew we'd be in good hands. Not only is her work amazing - our engagement photos and wedding photos won rave reviews from everyone - but she is just so darn nice! Being in front of the camera can be awkward and vulnerable but Jen made it so easy. As everyone else here has said, she's super friendly, warm, and accommodating. I originally had all these crazy ideas for our photoshoot and Jen managed to very diplomatically talk me down to something more manageable. It's takes real skill to deal with high-maintenance, emotional brides and Jen never made me feel like a bridezilla. She was also incredibly meticulous during the album editing process and her design skills there are amazing as well.

I'll probably remember a dozen other wonderful things about Jen that I forgot to mention as soon as I hit post on this review, but suffice it to say that you should just hire her. It's completely worth it. Read less
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Los Angeles, CA 90404 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for J Wiley Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1386137350164-gainey-vineyard-wedding-photography-santa-barbara