130x130_sq_1278642732025-moore082mod

jac photography

South Pasadena , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

South Pasadena, CA US 91030 (map)

PHONE

323-333-8952

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We are Jamie and Chris, a South Pasadena based husband and wife photography team. We shoot weddings, commercial shoots, portraits and tons, and I mean tons, of polaroids. If you’re new... Read more
We are Jamie and Chris, a South Pasadena based husband and wife photography team. We shoot weddings, commercial shoots, portraits and tons, and I mean tons, of polaroids. If you’re new to our work please do visit our website and blog! Please contact us for pricing and availability! Thanks! Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1278643747634-moore089
130x130_sq_1297814132674-dawnjoe0379
130x130_sq_1297814154815-dawnjoe0219
130x130_sq_1278645276384-ta113
130x130_sq_1278645569431-vivianjames265blog
130x130_sq_1278645866993-biancofilm165
130x130_sq_1297814281424-harmalink230
130x130_sq_1278643724993-moore112mod
130x130_sq_1297814222065-dawnjoe0004
130x130_sq_1278643662493-moore008
130x130_sq_1278643400196-wong076mod
130x130_sq_1278643750478-moore103
130x130_sq_1278643411931-wong084mod
130x130_sq_1278643665384-moore006
130x130_sq_1297814183752-dawnjoe0206
130x130_sq_1278645328368-ta114
130x130_sq_1278646110696-moore311

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Negatives, Prints, Proof CD of All Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Is your media preference film or digital?
Film Photographers

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
crcook
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Chris and Jamie are fantastic to work with. They are extremely professional and responsive, as well as incredibly talented. We really enjoyed working with them and the photographs from our engagement shoot and wedding day are absolutely gorgeous. We were very lucky to work with Chris and Jamie.
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
ivana
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Chris and Jamie are so great to work with! I was new to wedding planning and was a little lost with the so many options in wedding photography. Through looking at wedding blogs, I noticed that I am drawn to the film photography more than digital photography. The color is softer and more romantic , I feel. I came across JAC photography through a casual, relaxed beach side wedding on Style me pretty. Chris shoots film and Jamie shoots digital. Perfect! I met up with Chris and Jamie and really liked their works. Working with Chris and Jamie is great because Chris will ensure you'll get what you want on the photography and Jamie is on top of things in corresponding with you and on the album designs.

I really love how Chris and Jamie are really great in capturing all the emotion throughout our wedding.. I am in love with our wedding photography and have been looking through the favorite slideshow probably 20 times since they shared it to me 10 days ago. Looovvvveeee............
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Fantastic photographers and photographs. So much fun to work with. We loved the photobooth!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
I honestly don't know where to begin when I think about my wedding photos. Or how to express all the gratitude I have for Jamie and Chris (JAC Photography).

We had the most perfect wedding day and they captured some of the magic that seemed to fill the air. When we look at our photos, we are in awe about how they make us feel. After marrying my husband, hiring Jamie and Chris to photograph our wedding was the most important decision I made.

We love our wedding photos. We love them. It’s a year later and sometimes we just take them out and stare at them. Memories can fade, but pictures are like a time machine… they can bring you right back. My husband said: that he will "never forget how I felt watching Lindsay walk toward me. One of my favorite pictures is of my reaction when I saw my bride for the first time.”

Actually one of the most interesting things about JAC is when we were first looking at the pictures, we couldn't believe some of the little moments they got. I literally said "how did I not see someone taking that picture?" Something took 3 seconds and they got it. How were they there for that? How did they see that? How did they have the time to take a perfect photo within a moment or conversation?

And they are the nicest, kindest and most loving couple, to boot.

Okay, so I could write a love note about them all day, but let's get down to business. Let me tell you about some of the logistical parts of hiring Jamie and Chris.
My husband and I spoke to Chris on the phone for our initial consultation and we chatting about ourselves and our vision for our wedding and he instantly "got" what we were trying to do.

They put together a custom package for us and tailored their services to what we needed and wanted within our budget. (Brides: don't just limit yourself to local photographers, JAC is in LA, we're in DC. They turned out to be comparable to photographers in my town, but I wanted their aesthetic.)

Our engagement session was the day before the wedding. We aren’t a very “pose-y” couple, so they didn’t make us pose. Chris and Jamie made us comfortable… they were just like some out-of-town "guests" that were smiling from behind a camera. They were able to work like mad while being half invisible to us.
We received our proof boxes (which were adorably decorated cigar boxes) with STUNNING prints (quality like you wouldn’t believe)... and we were just blown away. The prints we bought from them were better quality than any we received from anyone else. Our friends and family have also noticed.

Jamie and I worked together on our album (she does this on her own, but I’m super particular and wanted to be involved – she was totally OK with that). The album page designs are awesome and the quality was beyond our expectations. I’m thinking about keeping it by the front door in case the house goes on fire. It’s. that. awesome.

What I tell all brides is that you need to choose a photographer whose style you love and you want to see your life through their lens versus taking a photographer of any style and trying to explain to them the shots you want.

We told Chris and Jamie to just do their thing and we couldn’t be happier with the results.

Kevin has one more thing to add: “At the end of the day, we went for some portraits. We had thought about taking some shots down in the metro (that we ride to work every day). I won't even try to put into words how these pictures turned out. These photos that will forever be on my walls and in my heart.”

We could not be happier with JAC Photography. I would make this decision over and over again.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
annaofgreengables
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I loved working with Jamie during my wedding. She was so easy to get to know, and I felt like good friends with her right away. She made me feel really comfortable during the photo shoots, found fantastic locations, and we came out with such beautiful pictures! I would recommend Jacshoot to anyone planning a wedding. They are so wonderful to work with!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Peggy
Wedding:
3/20/2010
1.0/5.0
I heard about JAC Photography from a friend of mine who had used them for her wedding. I really liked her pictures, so I contacted them and set up an appointment. My husband and I found Jamie and Chris to be professional and easy to talk to. Although their prices were a little higher than what we had initially budgeted for, we decided to book them for our wedding in March 2010. We liked them so much, we signed the contract and paid the deposit 9 months prior to our wedding date, because we wanted to ensure that they would be available that day.

In January 2010, we met up with JAC to take our engagement pictures and absolutely loved the way they came out. Throughout the shoot, Chris was very verbal and set up each shot before taking the picture. He gave us suggestions on how to pose, stand and made us feel really comfortable. We noticed that he focuses more on the big picture, while Jamie captures the smaller details. We liked the chemistry they had with each other and it was really important to us to have both a male and female perspective behind the lens, which is another big reason why we booked them. After seeing the engagement pictures, we assumed the wedding pictures would look equally as great. Not only that, but they made us feel like we were important: they featured our pictures on their blog, sent us a thank you card and they would respond quickly anytime we would email with questions. We felt like we didn’t have anything to worry about on our wedding day, since we had already interacted with them and they had gotten to know us and the style of pictures we were looking for.

Unfortunately, all of that changed. Less than 24 hours before the wedding, Jamie called me to let me know that Chris was out of the country and would not be able to make to our wedding. She reassured me that she had already gotten a second shooter, but we didn’t know anything about this person and she didn’t know anything about us. The fact that Chris wasn’t going to be there and that we had such short notice added a lot of stress and worry on us. We hoped for the best, but were very disappointed when we received our proofs. There are multiple pictures where people’s heads were intentionally cut off, pictures where there are random people or cars in the background, pictures where the top of my husband’s head was cut off, pictures that are off center and pictures that were taken from the same angle and same spot, so they look almost identical. They also failed to capture important moments, such as the bridal party walking back down the aisle after the ceremony was over. Overall, they look very sloppy and out of 1250 proofs, there are only a handful of ones that I would consider printing out and framing.

Although I can understand why Chris couldn’t be there, we cannot forgive the lack of customer service they provided after the wedding. I emailed JAC to let them know our disappointment with the pictures and Chris immediately responded and offered a complimentary day after shoot, which we were fine with. We set a date in June, which he then later cancelled. Throughout the following months, we’ve had to reschedule over and over again because something always seemed to come up. The thing we found most frustrating was Chris would often take 2 weeks or more to respond to an email and I always had to follow up with him, which is unacceptable in my opinion. Not only that, but during this whole time, Jamie never said one word to us or offered any type of explanation, which I found to be extremely unprofessional. I was always very cordial in my emails and remained pleasant, although I was heartbroken that our wedding pictures looked horrible.

I eventually had to seek legal advice and send JAC a demand letter after months of going back and forth and their lack of treating us as a priority. Our wedding pictures were never featured on their blog and they made us feel as if we didn't matter anymore. They did give us a partial refund after receiving the letter, but that doesn’t change the fact that we can never go back and recapture those moments. After close to a year had gone by, my husband and I decided to forget the day after shoot. We never emailed Chris to cancel and he never bothered to follow up with us either.

I thought a lot about whether or not I should post this review, but I know that reviews really helped me when I was searching for vendors. Unfortunately I could never recommend them, based off the disappointing experience we had with them.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
South Pasadena, CA 91030 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for jac photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1278642732025-moore082mod