130x130_sq_1297797578249-glaser521

Jake's Catering at Sentinel

Portland , OR
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

614 SW 11th Avenue
Portland, OR US 97205 (map)

PHONE

503-241-2125

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Jake’s Catering handles the function spaces at the Governor Hotel. We provide detailed planning assistance and day of coordination for your special day. Utilizing Jake’s Catering at the... Read more
Jake’s Catering handles the function spaces at the Governor Hotel. We provide detailed planning assistance and day of coordination for your special day. Utilizing Jake’s Catering at the Governor Hotel will give you peace of mind because we are known as a leader in service, value and product in the Greater Portland area.

Additionally, we provide tables, chairs, choice of: black, white, ivory or chocolate brown table linens, choice of napkin color from our in house stock of over 20 colors, all banquet supplies and overnight accommodations. Tray passing beverages or hors d’oeuvres is also included in our service standard. Our staff will cut and serve cake to your guests tableside—with no additional fee! The Historic Governor Hotel reached its 100 year anniversary in 2009 and will provide an elegant backdrop to your once in a lifetime event.

We would love to hear from you and be part of this incredible and memorable time for you and your fiance! Jake's Catering at the Governor Hotel will truly make your wedding day spectacular! Read less
Catering , Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1281545020798-untitled9
130x130_sq_1281545022720-copyofnoraswedding061
130x130_sq_1281545048939-ceremontheknotpictures082
130x130_sq_1281545060861-jakesweddingpictures003
130x130_sq_1281545073267-jakesweddingpictures077
130x130_sq_1281545069439-823

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Rail Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New)
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What is your maximum catering capacity?
500

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1929
When was your venue last renovated?
2013
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Hotel
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
500
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
5
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
100
Number of suites
20
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
0
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
60
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dana
Wedding:
3/23/2014
4.0/5.0
Other than slow responses while planning, everything went great. The day of staff was amazing and the bartender was hilarious! The head server managed the day of catering and she was on top of everything. I was very impressed with the quality of service we received on the wedding day. We are still hearing about how much everyone enjoyed the food and how much fun Lonnie (the bartender) was.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
john
Wedding:
8/3/2013
1.4/5.0
wait staff and meal were excellent...Sales staff is decidely unprofessional and horribly unresponsive
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robyn
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding ceremony and reception at The Governor - Stephanie and Erin at Jake's were a pleasure to work with. Always on top of it, they had it covered. The food was fabulous, the rooms are gorgeous, and the hotel and Jake's were both always quick to respond to any questions I had. They had SIX weddings, yes you read that right SIX, the weekend I got married. Three were happening simultaneously on my wedding day. Were there hiccups? Delays? A drop in service? Nope. Nope. Nope! Total professionals, they know what they are doing and they do it well. Many many thanks to all of the staff at Jake's and The Governor for a fabulous weekend
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly
Wedding:
5/26/2012
4.9/5.0
The Governor was the perfect venue for our reception. The Heritage Ballroom, though huge, warmed up beautifully with the lighting and flowers. Jake's Catering provided a delicious menu that we selected through a preview tasting. The chef was excellent when it came to food requests and slight changes. The set-up was flawless and the staff was wonderful regarding service and looking for lost items.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maddrummer3
Wedding:
10/8/2011
3.9/5.0
The venue was great. The catering staff was wonderful, on the spot and very helpful. The only negative I really could say was that they were used to doing things the way they always do. And if your creative, its hard to get them to set up anything out of the box.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
a
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.3/5.0
Everything went well. I would suggest doing a sit down plated versus buffet style for anything over 100 guests.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1310498742785-2010maidenvoyage023
Berniece
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Linda was AWESOME! She went above and beyond to make our wedding a wonderful experience. She was both personal and professional and was able to turn a stressful experience into something fun. I would highly recommend holding any event at the Governor Hotel. With Linda’s expertise and friendly spirit you can’t go wrong.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bailey
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Jake's catering was willing to do anything possible to make my day perfect!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mmbentz
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Everything went without a hitch, every reasonable request was accommodated, I could not have asked for a better day or venue to have my pre-event functions and wedding at!
Services Used: Catering
Bg22
Lindsay
Wedding:
3/27/2011
5.0/5.0
We stayed at the Governor for two nights, the night before, and the night immediately following, the wedding. We loved our suite! The majority of our out-of-town guests (we had many — most of our friends and family do not live in Portland!) stayed there as well. I believe we had over 30 blocked rooms there, and Melissa Staneck did a magnificent job taking care of coordinating those reservations. I'd definitely recommend working with her if you plan to have hotel blocks at the Governor. She was extremely responsive, friendly, and capable of thinking of potential guests needs that slipped my mind.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
2/5/2011
5.0/5.0
We loved everything! The menus they provided us to choose from were fantastic. We had a few changes we made to upgrade some of the meat selections and they had no problem with that. Really got our moneys worth. Everyone at the wedding commented on how good the food was and they even provided us with some kid friendly options as well.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bncraig
Wedding:
1/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Everything was wonderful! We could not have chosen a better place to have our wedding. We had many out of town guests and the hotel was very accommodating. The hotel is beautiful and has so many rooms to choose from for all the wedding festivities!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lottiesmom
Wedding:
10/10/2010
4.5/5.0
We worked with Linda at Jake's Catering and she was great. Both the ceremony and reception rooms were beautiful, and just as we had discussed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
Working with Linda Wolfson and her Team was a distinct pleasure. Linda is the total package. Someone that personifies professionalism, expertise, flexibility, warmth, humor and grace.

We had a lot of moving parts with our wedding, it was a true event production with a Rolling Stones reception, 300+ people, live band, 38 person head table, etc. Linda met us every step of the way and executed flawlessly. We also can't say enough about John Liles. He is a pro and a class act. You are lucky to have him in charge of your AV.

Lastly, we just simply love Jakes catering. The food is amazing.

Thank you,
David & Reegan Rae
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Roberta
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Gorgeous venue that needs little to no extra decorating. The uplight package makes a huge difference in the room and well worth the price. Staff and Erin the coordinator were very helpful and professional.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carla
Wedding:
8/29/2010
5.0/5.0
The Governor Hotel was the perfect place for my daughter's wedding. I loved working with their wedding consultant, "Erin Hight." She was fun, organized and made you feel like you were the only one in the world she was working with. The ceremony and reception flowed so smoothly I am still pinching myself to make sure it really happened. I highly recommend The Gov. to anyone planning a wedding, it will be a wonderful experience you will never forget.
Carla Adler
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cspeer
Wedding:
8/29/2010
5.0/5.0
We just had our wedding at the Governor Hotel, and it was the best experience one could dream of! Our wedding coordinator was always keeping us updated and she was always very responsive to my emails. They're so professional, everything went off without a hitch. Even some last minute changes did not faze Erin or Russ. There was some confusion on payments that were worked out, the ceremony planning was a little scattered but they pulled it together. While some might consider the cost a little daunting, it is beyond worth the services they give!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
buschreb
Wedding:
7/17/2010
4.7/5.0
We loved working with Erin Hight and the event team at Jake's Catering for our wedding reception. They were very flexible from the beginning and worked hard to ensure the event was successful. Our wedding day would not have been the same (or so easy for us) without their assistance. The entire team was professional, friendly, and fun to work with planning and carrying out our reception.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becky Butler
Wedding:
7/9/2010
4.9/5.0
We had a wonderful wedding reception and the governor and Jakes catering provided everything we imagined and more. Multiple guests comment on how delicious the food (especially for volume service) and how engaging the waite staff was to all their needs.
Erin was delightful to work with and help us narrow down the menu and provide for all the extra vendors that made our reception personal. Erin recommend the paparrazzi photograph booth that our guests are still talking about. As a matter of fact, I went to a friends house the other day only to find the photos on their frig. Erin returned phone calls and e-mails in a timely fashion...making organizing the event smooth.
After the fact, we found that due to a communication error, the waite staff went the extra mile to make the room exactly as we requested. There was no hesitation or complaint ~ they just re-did when they discovered an error. Wow~I was so impressed to discover how far they would go to meet my every request.
Naturally, a venue like this is not cheap, but we found it worth every dime.
I can say that should I plan an event like this again...due to no show guests...I had a little more in my budget that could have provided a little something extra for food. That was my error and certainly not a reflection on the governor/jakes. It was just a surprise to me that such specific RSVP's did not accurately reflect our actual attendance.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tattooed_girl78
Wedding:
1/16/2010
5.0/5.0
Erin at Jake's Catering was great. We were having a small wedding so it was wonderful to have someone who would handle all the details for the day of. The waitstaff were fun and very professional. The head server even asked if we wanted to push dinner back 15 minutes so that everyone could have their share of the appetizers before the meal was served. I was so impressed with the whole package I wish I had another even to plan there.

I will recommend, the Governor Hotel and Jake's Catering to everyone looking for a wonderful event space.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
OregonWedding
Wedding:
8/15/2009
5.0/5.0
Jake's was terrific! We were planning our Portland wedding from Chicago, which adds a level of stress. But Erin Hight at Jake's made everything incredibly easy for us. She thought of all the millions of details that hadn't even crossed my mind and had solutions to every possible problem. I would have had a nervous breakdown planning a wedding from so far away without her. She also had great suggestions for other local vendors for all our other wedding needs. And our guests loved the food at our wedding! The staff was incredibly helpful and polite, and the ballroom looked absolutely beautiful for our wedding. We couldn't have been happier with the service and the result at Jake's and the Governor, and we are so glad we got to work with Erin Hight!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
8/9/2008
3.6/5.0
Erin with Jake's Catering is great. Just make sure the actual catering team doesn't throw away things from your tables that you want your guests to keep, i.e menu cards, wedding favors, etc.... Food is awesome and venue is gorgeous!!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chioggiabeetroot
Wedding:
12/27/2005
4.0/5.0
Overall, we had a great experience at the Governor. We used their medium-sized room for our reception and two other rooms came with it for a bar and the buffet. The food was good, for the price. The service was OK, but not spectacular. We had to manage them a lot in the planning process; I did not feel like they seemed as experienced at doing an event of this type as I would have liked. This was in 2005, so things may have changed. In the end, it went well and we were very pleased. It was great to have our reception in a nice hotel that's still reasonably priced so that our guests could enjoy staying there, too.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.7/5.0
Aside from a gorgeous ballroom, dealing with the Governor Hotel and Jake's Catering was a complete disaster on every possible front during the planning phase. Unforunately, clients are required to use Jake's at the Governor. Jake's is the furtherst away from accommodating on simple things like meetings and important things like the tasting- we came for a meeting and they had prepared some choices based on their preference. When we asked if we could try some alternatives, they said they were not available until we coincidentally saw the Chef who was actually quite helpful. With that said, the food and service on the wedding day was great.
The service at the Governor Hotel is also terrible- thankfully they were bought out and a makeover to their attitudes is underway.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I was so happy with my service. Their event coordinator Stephanie was like a good friend, so easy to be with and so willing to help and advise. She always believed in the wedding vision (it was a bit unusual) and was someone I could count on to be calm, think of solutions and run things as much or as little as I wanted.

The venue itself is stunning--I got married in the Heritage Ballroom. Jake's food and catering were also excellent, and the staff were friendly, smooth and flawless. I hardly knew they were there.

We had a tiny bit of trouble with the rehearsal. Just be sure if you aren't using a different room for the ceremony than for the reception that you work that out in your contract or with Stephanie well ahead of time. I wasn't quite on top of that and it caused some trouble for the rehearsal the day before, but Stephanie bent over backward to resolve it, and everything worked out well.

The wedding and reception were absolutely dreamlike and perfect. I couldn't recommend this venue more!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
614 SW 11th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Jake's Catering at Sentinel
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1297797578249-glaser521