130x130_sq_1324628192982-jamesrubiofacebookbrand201212

James Rubio Photography

Hilo , HI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Hilo, HI US 96720 (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

hi there!

we're a husband and wife team (james & bev)

we're based out of hilo, hawaii on the beautiful big island of hawaii

we love our job
... Read more
hi there!

we're a husband and wife team (james & bev)

we're based out of hilo, hawaii on the beautiful big island of hawaii

we love our job

we love to travel

bev likes noodles and i like chocolate!

(but i also like noodles and bev likes chocolate too)

we also write a hawaii food blog at http://www.bigislandgrinds.com/ Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1275625181905-dianadavidwedding1003
130x130_sq_1275625175342-andreakamu1000
130x130_sq_1275625177342-andreakamu10015
130x130_sq_1275625174905-candiceoskarwedding1000
130x130_sq_1275625179436-laurenjangrass1000
130x130_sq_1275625180342-dianadaviddayafter1004
130x130_sq_1275625185545-jamesrubio2010100
130x130_sq_1275625186186-jamesrubio2010101
130x130_sq_1275625188639-sabineholger1000
130x130_sq_1275625188733-lauramark1001

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Digital Files, High Resolution Images, Proof CD of All Images, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracey
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
If you're looking for a photographer that you can TRUST to capture your wedding day in it's full glory, this is the man you want to hire. Being a wedding photographer myself, Jame's work never stops short of taking my breath away. But his beautiful work isn't the only reason we went with James, his level of professionalism and easy going personality makes him a pleasure to work with and have around on your wedding day. When hiring vendors like a photographer that will basically be with you every moment of your wedding day, it's so important that you not only live their work, but enjoy them as people as well, and James was a blast to have around on our wedding day.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1388527587569-tm
Melanie
Wedding:
9/23/2013
5.0/5.0
We recently got married on the Big Island and James was the first vendor we booked! He was actually one of the reasons we decided on the Big Island instead of Maui or O'ahu. I guess we could have flown him over to the other islands (yes, he's that good and would have been totally worth it!). I was VERY picky about the photography since we weren't doing video and it was just me and my fiance there. The pictures were the only thing we could share with our families so they HAD to be good. James exceeded expectations and captured every moment beautifully. Everyone who's seen them thinks they could easily be in a magazine. Thanks James and Bev!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessie
Wedding:
7/21/2013
4.9/5.0
After I checked out James' portfolio online, I knew he was the photographer for me! He manages to capture not just the personalities of the couples, but also the natural beauty of the Big Island. Our photos are amazing because he saw the unique qualities in our location (blooming garden, stormy sky, large boulders, etc!) and used those backdrops to make our pictures stunning. STUNNING! We also had the wedding party perform songs, dances, and speeches at the reception, and James was ready with strong lights to capture the moments as the sun set and darkness descended. I can't recommend him highly enough! He's an artist and worth every penny.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bernice
Wedding:
6/10/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married on the Big Island this past June. At first we were disappointed at the limited selection of vendors the Big Island had (compared to say Oahu, and definitely compared to NY where we are from). We had done A LOOOOOTTTT of research, looking into nearly every photographer in and out of Hawaii. And then we stumbled upon James Rubio...and thank goodness we did!! We were immediately taken away by his photos and knew we wanted to work with him. He took us away to scenic areas he knew that would fit what we wanted, based on photos that we showed him beforehand. He is SO incredibly easy-going and we felt such at ease with him (such a contrast from how awkward we felt during our engagement photos we took a few months prior in NY). You can sense that he is just as excited to get the right shot as much as you are -- and that sense of passion for his work really shines through. It really makes a difference in the experience. Okay, the experience is one thing...the outcome? Choosing James Rubio to do our photographs was one of the best wedding decisions we ever made! We were MORE than pleased with how they all came out. Ever since I posted some of his photos on my Facebook page, Ive received nothing but comments revolved around how breathtaking they are and how worthy they are of being postcards or the cover of a movie poster. I can't believe I even questioned getting wed on the Big Island, bcs had we not not, we would have never come across James and had these amazing photos he took that will be cherished forever. I cant recommend him enough!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lorell
Wedding:
5/28/2013
5.0/5.0
James and Bev are such wonderful people and photographers! Their work is unmatched as is the experience you will have working with them. I have never been comfortable having my picture taken and am really good at looking really awkward in pictures. James just told me where to look, what to do, and helped me relax. Our pictures are truly gorgeous. We look at them all the time and have made books and prints for family gifts. You can not go wrong with this amazing team. And if you aren't getting married on the big island? It would be worth it to fly them out to your wedding location!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
April
Wedding:
5/11/2013
4.6/5.0
James & Bev were wonderful, very professional yet so comfortable to work with. Made the awkwardness disappear and everything just flowed, nothing posed, moments were captured so naturally. Pictures turned out breath taking & he captured every detail so we could actually see what we missed of our own wedding. Preston & I were so happy and honored to have James Rubio Photography part of our special day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sherrie
Wedding:
4/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Words of appreciation pale in comparison to the phenomenal talent of James and Bev.

Bev was the sweetest, kindest person to deal with up to the event and the pictures have been described continuously by our friends and family as "fairy tale" and "out of a magazine". James was so relaxed, helpful and made us feel at ease the entire session.

As soon as we saw their portfolio, we knew we had to book them for our wedding. The photos are magical, truly candid shots of our most special moments, and we are forever grateful.

The only thing that could possibly be better than the photography was James and Bev's truly amazing personalities and committed professionalism. We could not have hoped for a more amazing experience from start to finish.

We would HIGHLY recommend James Rubio Photography for any occasion you may have. They are more than worth the price, and somehow manage to catch every memory with an intimacy and grace that is astonishing. Every time I see one of our photos, it brings me back to a very special moment - I still cannot believe how accurately and beautifully he was able to capture each one.

I remember saying to Bev that I would change my wedding date to ensure I could book them for our wedding (though we didn't have to). I would say that all over again, and believe anyone looking to book James Rubio Photography should consider the same. You won't regret it.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leah
Wedding:
12/12/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married in Kona on 12/12/12. We decided a private wedding was the best option for us – no stress, no hassle and definitely more affordable. The only real challenge was evaluating vendors for our special day, in a place we had never been. We didn’t know the first thing about photography styles or what we were looking for, but when we came across James Rubio’s work – we just knew he was the guy.

James works with his wife Bev. Both are extremely down to earth, and just good natured, likeable people. When you meet James you can tell this isn’t a job, this is a passion for him – and it is exactly what he should be doing.

He captures the essence of an event without staged set-ups and props. I’m sure he would do it, if that was your preference, but his photographs actually communicate feeling if you let him do his thing.

Some photographers can be loud, bossy, insistent… not James. He did not detract from our wedding in the least. He was great to work with, made us feel comfortable and added to our day being so special.

We had shopped around for other photographers before we found James Rubio Photography. There are others out there that are less expensive, but we recognized that these photographs would be the only true memories of our big day that we could physically share with others. It’s worth it, hands down.

Our wedding photographs are amazing - some jaw-dropping. We have received such overwhelmingly positive feedback on the pictures, and some people don’t even believe they are real. They are not photo-shopped, just taken with the eye of a super talented photographer. I would recommend James Rubio Photography in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annie
Wedding:
8/2/2012
5.0/5.0
James is a super talented and easy to work with photographer. His portfolio speaks for itself, but I can tell you that the entire album looks as good as the ones he selects to showcase. Every guest at my intimate wedding party has told me how much they love the photographs and I feel incredibly lucky to have James captured the day so wonderfully! Bev was super helpful during the planning process too. I can't recommend the couple highly enough!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laci
Wedding:
4/5/2012
3.4/5.0
Ohhh I can’t even believe I have to write a bad review about our photographer, James Rubio. When we decided Hawaii would be the location for our wedding he was one of the first people I spotted, I HAD to have him take my photos. It was not even negotiable. He was easy to work with via the internet, he was also friendly on the phone, and when we met him in person he was just as sweet. Maybe a little timid but I won’t judge his personality. A few weeks after he photographed the wedding we received the images and I kept clicking through them hoping to see the magic I had seen on his website and Facebook page from other clients. I didn’t see it…… I had to click back through them again to get a good look at some of the images and I bit my tongue a little because there were some great shots but I didn’t feel the magic that I did when looking through his portfolio. We did have a discussion about this and he did make some alterations to a few photos. We also look back at our pictures and find that we were looking at each other a lot or kissing during the photos. I wish he would have given us a bit more direction in terms of poses or to ask us to look at camera more. another reason I decided to have some additional photos taken later on. We wanted some where we were looking at camera.

My biggest complaint was that a few months later I tried to enlarge his photos (I had signed permission from him). I couldn’t enlarge anything over 8.5x11!!!!!! I was absolutely furious. He had not taken the images in HD or something. So there I was stuck with photos I had paid big money for and I couldn’t even enlarge them. We ended up having a smaller session back home with a friend, the images were jgreat and we could blow them up for a large print in our bedroom.

Overall very disappointed but we do have some very pretty images from our day.

http://fitness-fashionista.blogspot.com/2014/07/our-wedding-in-kauai.html
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Jocelyn
Wedding:
10/28/2011
5.0/5.0
I changed wedding day photographers. My luau photographer was originally our wedding photographer but when we saw James’s work, we were so enamored that we knew we had to have him too!!!! He is such a crazy sick artist!!!! His command of natural editing, lighting and arranging is the best I have ever seen. He is just so creative and incredible and such a nice person. We felt so comfortable with him from the start. After we saw the teasers, we said to ourselves WOW!!! He made us look like celebrities. He is by far one of the very best spur of the moment decisions I have ever made in my life!!!! He is just utter and complete photographic perfection.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
6/26/2011
5.0/5.0
James & Bev Rubio are absolutely amazing! We had so much fun our our shoot and were super comfortable working with them. It has been a month since our shoot and we have gotten some preview pics and are so excited to see the final images! I know they will be amazing cause the sneak peaks were breathtaking! I would 100% recommend them to anyone for a Trash the Dress shoot at sunset! Totally worth the money!!!! LOVE THEM!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
marianne
Wedding:
6/1/2011
5.0/5.0
James & Bev - what an amazing, talented team! When we first contacted them, they were quick to respond and answer any questions, and you could sense how warm and friendly they were just thru their emails :) After looking thru the portfolio online, there was no question about booking them - the photos are breathtaking. And after we did book them, they even sent a care package with some cookies and a handwritten thank you note!!! Working with them was so easy - they were punctual, friendly and fun. They weren't bossy, never got upset, and adapted to everything at the wedding. We couldn't have asked for a better experience, and we plan to book them again for a trash the dress session on our anniversary next year ;)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joshua
Wedding:
3/26/2011
5.0/5.0
My wife and I couldn't be happier with our decision to have James Rubio Photography capture our wedding day. James & his wife Bev were AWESOME throughout the entire process. They are very easy to work with and we barely noticed them the day of. They blended into the crowd and were able to capture priceless candid moments that we'll cherish forever. I highly recommend James Rubio Photography if documenting your wedding day with a modern, artistic eye is high on your priority list.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Wow! My husband and I cannot stop raving over our wedding photos. James and his assistant were awesome. They were very relaxed, yet punctual and professional. Our families loved working with them. James does mostly artistic photography, so we got some gorgeous shots. But he was also willing to do all of the typical requisite posed photography we did as well. The pictures were stunning. Yes, it does take 10 weeks to get your pictures back, but it is worth the wait! We know people who have gone with photographers who promise the photos sooner, but remember you're paying for quality not speed. James took a little longer to produce the photos, but it was WORTH IT. You have your wedding photos for the rest of your life. It's one of the only things that transcends the day. Splurge. You'll be so grateful!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
James is a fantastic photographer. Our wedding was very small and laidback and he caught every single detail. My husband is from Hilo and it was so nice to have a local photograph our wedding. We met with James and Bev about 6 months before our wedding and they discussed our vision for our wedding with us. They were so flexible with our meeting because we were traveling and had to adjust our schedule. I knew that I had chosen the correct person to document our special day.

Bev was unable to be the second shooter for our wedding but I trusted James to find an amazing replacement. And he sure did!

I can't describe how beautiful my photos are (which take a long time to recieve but just hang in there...they are worth the wait!! And it took exactly 10 weeks which is outlined in their contract, I was just so excited to see them!) James is truly an incredible photographer and I highly recommend using him for your wedding, engagement, anniversary...whatever! He will take your best photos!
Services Used: Photography
Bg19
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We did our engagement session with James and Bev. They made this experience very comfortable and fun for us. The pictures turned out amazing and they also came on a dvd slide show which we were able to play for our families. I highly recommend them for any type of photo shoot you are doing on the Big Island of Hawaii.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Hilo, HI 96720 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for James Rubio Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo