130x130_sq_1346358745472-04852

Jen Yuson Photography

Asheville , NC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Asheville, NC US 28806 (map)

PHONE

646-284-4997

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Award winning Asheville wedding photographer, Jen Yuson Photography has recently been featured as an artist on NPR's Real People, Real Stories and in the Greensboro News and Record Meet... Read more
Award winning Asheville wedding photographer, Jen Yuson Photography has recently been featured as an artist on NPR's Real People, Real Stories and in the Greensboro News and Record Meet an Artist section. Her work has also been seen gracing the pages of many national and regional wedding magazines.



Using both traditional film and digital, my goal is to capture a classic and intimate look, one that transcends past current trends and will be enjoyable for many generations. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1346358007254-0165
130x130_sq_1346358008653-0425
130x130_sq_1346358012421-04852
130x130_sq_1346358018297-0694
130x130_sq_1346358011309-0467
130x130_sq_1346358009829-0460
130x130_sq_1276250937102-0612jy13002
130x130_sq_1346358016106-0651edit
130x130_sq_1276250539711-0063
130x130_sq_1276251927742-05250212
130x130_sq_1346358013890-0544
130x130_sq_1346358014958-0644
130x130_sq_1346358017306-0681

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
No

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Jen and Shawn did an amazing job capturing our day. But it went beyond that. My husband and I had to change our wedding date 2 times due to various reasons, and Jen worked with us to make sure she would be available each time. She was SO patient with us during the process! While we had a smaller intimate wedding, I know our families can be hard to manage at times. But Jen and Shawn did an outstanding job mixing both professionalism and humor to make everyone feel relaxed and comfortable. So, her service was incredible in this way as well. She was very responsive to each of my emails through our tenure.
Onto the photos...ummmmm I am SO happy with them. My husband and I couldn't be happier. This dynamic duo are simply talented. They worked with the space and lighting and the outcome was hundred of truly amazing shots of my family and us. Just WOW!!!! Don't hesitate...book Jen Yuson for your special occasion.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelsea
Wedding:
12/14/2013
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved working with Jen Yuson Photography! We used Jo, and associate photographer, for our Elopement in December. Plans kept changing due to weather and our quick planning. Jen and Jo were so flexible! Jen was very professional, always responded quickly, and I was really glad she recommended Jo. The pictures were fabulous. I really felt like the told our story and felt really personal, while at the same time looked great. Jo has an amazing eye for photography and subject matter, while having a very unique artistic feel to her photography. I would definitely recommend Jen Yuson Photography. I promise you will not regret it!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
I had the BEST experience with Jen Yuson Photography. Jen and her husband/associate photographer were just awesome! So friendly and helpful from day 1! Jen's response time to my emails was unreal! She would get back to me the same day! They created wonderful posed photos on our wedding day and got awesome candid shots as well. The pictures were so creative and really captured the essence of our wedding and of us as a couple. Especially after seeing our photos, Jen's services seem like such a steal! Highly professional, beautifully composed photos done by exceptionally nice folks. Finally, Jen had our photos back to us within 3 weeks! Most brides I've spoken with had to wait one month or more for their photos. I HIGHLY recommend Jen Yuson Photograpy!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Beth, an associate of Jen Yuson, shot my wedding and engagement and she was amazing. Jen communicated with me via email and she was wonderful. I got my pictures back so quickly and they were amazing.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Jen Yuson photography provided us with more that photos. She and her husband were able to give us a catalog of memories, thoughts, and emotions in the form of photography. They were attentive, creative, and flexible to our needs. It wasn't always easy to work with our group the day of, but she managed to take it all in stride while keeping people on task long enough to get the shots that she needed. What we received just a short time later was a diverse photo diary that incapsulated our favorite memories just as vivid as the day they were taken. We can't thank Jen and Shawn enough for everything they were able to do for us and will have her photography to remind us of our special day always.

Melissa & Derek --- Oct. 2013
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amanda
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
If I could give Jen Yuson Photography six stars on everything, I would. She was so fun and easy to work with - extremely responsive from the first email sent. I had a hard time at first finding someone who matched exactly what we were looking for - someone who was fun - yet professional, could do some posed portraits - but also some awesome candids, someone who allowed our personalities to be reflected in her photography - but I knew when I looked at Jen's website, I had found exactly what we were looking for. She and her husband are such a fun, upbeat, but not over the top pair, and they both made us feel more comfortable and at ease in front of the camera. The groom is especially camera shy but you wouldn't know that by looking at the photos. Our photos were ready to view exactly one month and one day from the day of our wedding - such a huge surprise to receive them that fast. She took EVERY photo that we asked...and then some. We only had her for 4 hours and she managed to get every shot. All in all, I would recommend her to anyone. We were so happy with the quality of the photography. And the silly galleries were the best - so many laugh out loud moments! Thank you, Jen and Shawn!!! Such a talented pair of lovely people!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
It was so great to have you part of our special weekend!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Jen and her husband Shawn were the absolute best photographers we could have hoped for. Correspondence with Jen before our wedding day was timely and professional, and her questionnaire ensured that I had thought of everything beforehand, making me feel much more prepared and stress-free. We also hired Jen for our rehearsal dinner, and we are so happy that we chose that extra service. Jen and Shawn were punctual, professional, prepared, but most importantly had great senses of humor, which is a must in our families. Within minutes of the coverage, we felt like we had hired our oldest friends. Jen was great at corralling everyone for group shots, and both she and Shawn kept the mood fun and relaxed, making for even better candid shots. On our wedding day, Jen even came prepared with a "rescue kit" that came in handy for a couple of last-minute rescues. The wedding day itself was perfect, but it wouldn't have been without the amazing photography, humor, and attitudes of Jen and Shawn. We couldn't be more pleased with our wedding photos. You will not be disappointed hiring Jen Yuson photography! Wonderful people and extremely talented photographers.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Jen and second photographer Shawn were awesome. They made the picture taking quick and un-awkward. Their personalities were calm and professional and we all had a good time together. I really relied on Jen to help me figure out a good schedule for the timeline of getting ready, photos, ceremony start, and cocktail hour (in regards to getting all the pictures we wanted done). She rolled with my indecisiveness and was awesome with coordinating all of those events and people.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Absolutely incredible - from beginning to end just perfection. Jen responded to my initial inquiry within 1 day and that set the tone all the way through. She addressed any and all questions immediately and walked me through pricing and packages thoroughly and clearly - grab her now before she realizes how cheap she is! :)
Then there was the wedding day: I met one of Jen's associate photographers, Suzie, in the lobby and from that point forward she was this calming, reassuring presence in the background of my wedding day. I never knew what an intimate bond the bride has with her photographer but I realized on my wedding day that Suzie was trying to capture our wedding AS WE WANTED IT TO BE. Jen and Suzy worked with me ahead of time on what my 'vision' was (c'mon what woman hasn't dreamt of her wedding day???), and OMG the photos captured that and so much more.
The photos...OMG the PHOTOS!!! Every single person who has seen them has been blown away - our parents all cried when they saw what Suzie and Jen had created - I am still speechless when I look at them. I've asked Jen to post them to her website so people could see for themselves.
And, finally, here's the kicker: Jen had the finished, post-production product to me, which included a 6 minute slideshow to music in SIX DAYS. 6 DAYS. 6. SIX DAYS!!! That is an unheard of turnaround (at least in Boston where I'm from).
There aren't words to express my debt of gratitude for the experience I had working with Jen and Suzie on my wedding day. They are simply the best.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot recommend Jen and Beth from Jen Yuson Photography highly enough! Jen was fantastic throughout the process - quick with communication and creative brainstorming for ways to make sure we planned appropriately and got all the shots we wanted. She helped me stay within my budget and recommended Beth Ely, her associate photographer to work with me.

Beth, you was AMAZING and I cannot fully express the value of having her there to help with the timeline, different shots and ideas for pictures. Many people came up to me throughout the evening and asked if she was a close friend of mine - a true testament in my eyes that she are fabulous at your job! She even carried a 20 ft ladder through a crowded room at the reception by herself and corralled all my guests in order make sure to get the group shot that I wanted!

Most importantly: the pictures are better than I could have ever imagined. I received the online album access within a few days and the dvd with all of my photos within a week. Amazing value, service and quality.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
S
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Jen Yuson is an excellent wedding photographer. She did a wonderful job capturing the personality and spirit of our Asheville, North Carolina wedding. She is so friendly and lots of fun to work with. She was super responsive in all stages of the planning process. We were planning the wedding from out of town and she made everything so easy for us, even adjusting her schedule to meet with us when we were in town a few weeks before the wedding. Our pictures were ready less than 2 weeks after the wedding, and I love them all! Looking through them made me feel like I was back at the wedding again! I would highly recommend Jen to anyone looking for a great photographer. She is professional, personable and very talented. She made our wedding day so special!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1343601602970-engagement5
Allison
Wedding:
12/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Our best decision of the whole wedding process. We absolutely adore Jen and her husband Shawn. Our photos are stunning! It was important to us to spend a little extra on a great photographer in order to preserve the memories of such a monumental day... And we are so happy we did! Our portraits capture the feel and emotion of the day. Our wedding party photos also portray the personalities of each of the close friends we wanted as part of our day. When it comes to responsiveness and flexibility, Jen is top-knotch. She had our photos edited and uploaded to be viewed within a week's time. Any questions or concerns I had leading up to our wedding day were responded to within 24 hours. Because our venue did not have a lot of natural light during the winter months, Jen was able to work her magic to keep our photos esthetically pleasing to the eye. She and Shawn blended in to the scene and could have passed as guests of the wedding. Due to our own busy schedules, Jen and Shawn came to Nashville to take our engagement pictures for a very reasonable fee. Looking back, we are so happy to have our engagement pictures in the area where we were living. Our wedding was almost a year ago now. I periodically look through our wedding book (which is divine quality, btw) and the flood of emotions from the day overwhelm me. That, folks, is how you know you have wonderful photos! I cannot recommend them enough! We look forward to looking up Jen and Shawn whenever we return to the Asheville area to visit.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelsi
Wedding:
12/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Jen and Shawn were fantastic!!! They were friendly, funny, and professional. They arrived on time and got right to work taking pictures. The photos turned out perfect and we could not have been any happier with our choice of photographer!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
marlene
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Jen is amazing! She did an astounding job on our engagement portraits, and our wedding photos are astonishing!

For our engagement portraits: We had to shoot our pics early in the day due to a massive heat wave (max temps at 103 degrees!) so we were nervous for everyone involved that it would be a tiring day. Not so. We had so much fun, even with the heat wave-ness and got some wonderful shots! Honestly, I couldn't find one picture I was luke warm on. I loved them all! She has great ability to capture the personality and vibe of a couple, it's really quite amazing.

For our wedding: She makes everyone look amazing! She can capture an entire story in a single photograph. There was a photo she took of my grandmother's cardigan that I used as my "something old" and it made my mom tear up. It brought back so many memories in such a good way, and it's awesome to see.

Our portraits and post-ceremony pictures were so stress free. That's saying a lot on your wedding day! She makes having your photos taken fun. She was great with family and friends, too. Very personable.

Also, we were married on a farm in the Blue Ridge Mountains right outside of Asheville, so the setting was perfect. We have amazing wedding photos that we will love looking at throughout the years.


We are so very happy with her. Hire this woman!!! I mean it. Go on...you will not be disappointed.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Jen and Shawn from Jen Yuson photography were wonderful to work with from beginning to end. When we were looking for photographers, Jen drew us in with creative photos, and when we met her, her friendly and professional personality convinced us that she should shoot our wedding. She has a great eye for unique shots and is organized, sweet, and calming. Jen was communicative and responsive to my questions leading up to the wedding day and then, on that day, she and Shawn arrived early to get a feel for the venue. Their extra consideration paid off in photos that captured unique perspectives of the wedding events in the context of the beautiful setting. She and Shawn were flexible, helpful, and reassuring as weather caused us to shift the day's events, and they captured a memorable day beautifully. Jen and Shawn are great people that we hope to keep in touch with and excellent photographers that we hope to bring in again to shoot future important events.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ANGELA
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
1. Pre-planning! Jen is extremely professional, organized, & thoughtful.. She stayed in close contact, emailing me w/ pre-wedding hints sheets & questionnaires that helped me put the day's schedule together. She asked thorough questions to ensure that everyone dear to us was in the formal portraits. Jen talked me through the small details that a stressed-out bride is likely to forget, putting me at ease and helping me to get more organized. She was also flexible and willing to work out additional package items & payment options. 2. Picture time! *On the day, Jen and Shawn were GREAT at keeping me and the groom separate. no paths crossed! Shawn took some of the coolest shots of the groomsmen getting ready & my husband's family. The guys all told me that he put them at ease & was so much fun to have around that they felt totally natural & I think that came across exquisitely. Somehow in the middle of all that, they captured ALL the details of the wedding that slip by so quickly on the day. *Family portraits -they kept everyone moving quickly, & took tons of different kinds of pictures, from traditional to more contemporary, black/white & color. *These two didn't even take a break. Like what?! Hours of picture-taking & they kept going and going, not even stopping to eat. 3. Finished product. Would I give 5 stars if the pictures weren't fabulous?! *They were beautiful. The light was lovely. The details were all there. They are preserved memories &moments that I can't wait to revisit over the years. *I cried so many times while looking at them. Yes, I was probably a little weepy from post-wedding relief... but there were so many pictures from the reception that captured our friends and family looking so happy & so THEMSELVES. *The pics were ready fast - 10 days after the wedding, both online albums and DVD format - which made our mothers really happy. Ordering online is easy & quick. 4. Price/Value: 2 photogs w/o steep markup pricing who ask what you want & listen. A++
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I cannot express how over-the-moon I was when I saw the pictures of our day. She took the theme of our wedding and captured moments and personalities that I didn't expect. She was just perfect.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christi
Wedding:
1/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Jen captured every essence of each special moment amazingly. All of my photos I absolutely love. She rocks!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1324570408857-wedding91
jpk617
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Jen is absolutely amazing and I wish there was a rating system that went above 5.0 in order to express how superior her services are!

From her wonderful and engaging personality, her desire and sincere interest to provide us with the photography services and photos we wanted, to the stunning work she produced - All we can say is Wow!! Our expectations were far exceeded.
I truly hope we will have more wonderful events in our future so that I will have the opportunity to work with her again.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kyra
Wedding:
10/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Wonderful! Jen is professional, talented, and a joy to work with. She shot my wedding and bridal portraits -- my husband and I (and our families) are SO happy with the results. She's expert at capturing invaluable moments in time, telling the story of the day, and making you laugh along the way. In the beginning, I was nervous to be in front of the camera, but Jen's great sense of humor, easy going nature, and fun disposition made me at ease almost immediately. As a result, we got great photos that are genuine and lovely. The highest of recommendations from me --
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1297302701561-meandjon10
Rachel
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Jen was absolutely fantastic from start to finish. She exceeded my expectations at every level, and her pictures were amazing! I feel fortunate to have booked her for my wedding; you should book her if you can!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erika
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
In a word, Jen Yuson Photography is AMAZING. From the very beginning, Jen provided my husband and I with lots of information and was responsive to all of our questions. In addition, she provided a thorough pre-event consultation questionnaire that gave us the opportunity to describe our special event and specific moments that we wanted her to capture. On the day of the event, Jen and her husband Shawn were both professional and enjoyable. I had been leary about having a photographer shoot my "getting ready" process; however, Jen was so easy and fun to work with that it only enhanced an already wonderful morning! During our ceremony (a full Catholic Mass) and reception (a brunch), Jen and her husband were so inconspicuous that my mother remarked "Wow! I didn't even notice them taking those photos!" after viewing our digital photo album.

There is no question that Jen is an experienced and accomplished photographer. She used several different types of cameras (digital camera, color film camera, black & white camera - and others that I cannot readily identify!), and knew exactly which ones were best for capturing specific shots. We were seriously "WOW-ed" as we looked through all of the photos from our special day (and, there were SOOOO many beautiful photos to look through!)!

We are also totally satisfied with the different product packages that Jen Yuson Photography had to offer, and were able to pick one that fit our needs and budget. The end products (digital album, flipbook, DVD, proof books, and prints) were put together beautifully, and delivered quickly. Also, Jen's digital photo gallery is easy to navigate and easy for others (e.g., parents) to access and purchase their own prints if they so desire.

All in all, my husband and I are 100% thrilled with the service and products provided by Jen Yuson Photography. We both consider choosing Jen Yuson Photography as one of our absolute best wedding planning decisions!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
7/3/2010
5.0/5.0
Jen is amazing! An amazing person and photographer. She has a magical way of making something ordinary look beautiful! Jen is a true pro at capturing wonderful and glorious life moments.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bruno
Wedding:
5/28/2010
5.0/5.0
I LOVED working with Jen Yuson--she was fantastic, from the moment of our first email communications to how quickly she got our photos back--I knew she said that it was typically going to be 6-8 weeks, but perhaps knowing the upcoming challenges ahead for me (I got married and then 2 weeks later started chemo treatment for breast cancer) Jen moved heaven and earth and sent our flip book so that it was waiting for us when we got back from the cancer center--such a treat! But really, it's Jen's eye that is incredible--she is a true artist--I can easily envision her work on the walls of the NC Art Museum (Jen, you should consider sending them some of the photos of the sculpture "gyre" and the Lowe's Pavillion). Seriously, I am not prone to gushing but all I can say is that if you are looking for a photographer for any event, stop now--you've found her! She's flexible, unobtrusive during the event, but absolutely charming and delightful in all the right ways.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LexiAlbert
Wedding:
4/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Jen was great. Gorgeous wedding pictures, very responsive and flexible service, and she has given us stunning albums. I would recommend her to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
K
Wedding:
8/25/2012
4.9/5.0
Fabulous to work with and fabulous work!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
5/25/2012
4.9/5.0
I hired Jen to shoot our engagement pictures in May of 2012 based on her portfolio from her website, since I was not unable to meet in person. I absolutely LOVED working with her! She had never visited our location (family lake house) and automatically scooped out some beautiful spots around the lake and property to shoot us. She was full of ideas and made my fiance and I feel comfortable the entire time. She made us laugh and smile with ease. The photos came out just as beautiful as we anticipated! She was super fast with blogging our session and editing our pictures. Jen is wonderful!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
7/13/2013
4.8/5.0
Jen and Beth were fantastic. They always responded to my emails very quickly and answered all my questions immediately (something I struggled with with other vendors). Beth was easy to talk to and didn't make us feel nervous while taking the photos. After the family and couple shots I hardly noticed she was even there. Right before Beth left she made sure that she had captured all the moments we wanted to remember and made suggestions for groupings that I had not thought of but should have! I'm so glad she did this. She was so attentive and professional and helpful too! We couldn't figure out how to bustle my dress, but Beth fixed it up with no trouble at all!

The photos turned out absolutely beautiful! I truly love them. They captured the memories, look, and feel of our wedding exactly as I had hoped. I was happy we decided to do b&w film in addition to digital. They added a more artsy/old timey feel to the photos. My husband wasn't as big a fan of the film. He prefers crisp, clear images and some of the b&w photos were a bit grainy. Just different tastes! As far as pricing goes, it was about middle of the road. However, the quality of the service and photos was, in my opinion, as good as if not better than more expensive options. Overall I had a wonderful experience with Jen Yuson Photography and am very happy with my choice. I would definitely recommend her to friends, family, and internet strangers too!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
6/14/2013
4.8/5.0
We are so happy with our decision to use Jen Yuson as our wedding photographer and as an added bonus, her husband Shawn, assisted her that weekend! Both Jen and Shawn are wonderfully talented and we are beyond pleased with the product. Not only were Jen and Shawn completely professional in their work, they were also so fun to work with and this was important because we spent a significant amount of time with them on our special day. They are both very personable and upbeat/happy. This meant alot because it kept us comfortable and relaxed on a day that emotions are running in fast forward! Jen is very detail oriented and highly organized - she kept us on track during the planning process by making sure that we completed her questionaire, discussed what we wanted in the way of photographs/images, style, posed vs. "in the moment", the timeframe/schedule, and all other elements that played into her role. We truly cannot say enough positive about Jen and Shawn. We recommend Jen Yuson Photography to anyone who wants not only a professional, detail oriented photographer who produces a beautiful end product - but also someone whose company will be enjoyed on that special day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsKocher
Wedding:
6/25/2011
4.8/5.0
Jen and her husband were awesome! From the very first meeting until the night of the wedding, Jen worked out every detail with us. We had a few non-traditional activities and requests and she happily found a way to give us exactly what we wanted, all while keeping our budget in mind. They were unobtrusive during the ceremony, flexible with our schedule, and such a pleasure to work with! Undoubtedly the BEST vendor we worked with and a photographer I would use again and again.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Asheville, NC 28806 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Jen Yuson Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo