130x130_sq_1330524959437-rossiaftwedsessmg0450

Jennifer Shaffer Photo

Chicago , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Chicago, IL US 60622 (map)

PHONE

773-991-7369

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Approach:

I believe that I am first and foremost a documentarian. My work is to simply tell the story of the wedding day. My style is to photograph as events unfold and... Read more
Approach:

I believe that I am first and foremost a documentarian. My work is to simply tell the story of the wedding day. My style is to photograph as events unfold and capture fleeting moments perhaps missed or forgotten in the rush and emotion of the day. Prior to the wedding day, I work efficiently with my clients to ensure the schedule for the day allows time for quiet moments between the bride and groom to take portraits. I also allow for time to capture family formals (quickly! I promise!) My experience with the flow of a wedding allows my clients to enjoy their day. When my clients are at ease, cherishing the day, I am able to capture my best work.

Background:

Photography has always been a part of my life. My earliest memories include posing for my father as he tested a new camera and new lighting set-ups. When I was old enough, my father took me into a darkroom and I remember watching images appear in developer underneath a red light. I have had a fascination with capturing images ever since those early days. My love for photography soon placed me in the unlikely position of a photo assistant…at the age of 9! I started by helping my father with weddings of family and friends and as soon as I showed my worth, he allowed me to assist him with weddings for clients. After about 9 years of assisting, I began shooting weddings on my own under my father’s company.

While I attended Columbia College of Chicago, majoring in photography, I worked for an independent documentary television company. Both my college experience and work experience in documentary film taught me the importance of storytelling with my imagery. After finishing school, I started my own photography company specializing in documentary wedding photography and documenting growing families.

Experience:

I have photographed well over 300 weddings in both film and digital formats. I have a bachelor’s degree in photography and over 10 years experience photographing weddings and families.

Personal:

I live next to the most beautiful park in Chicago (Humboldt Park) with my husband, son, daughter and pup. When I am not shooting, I am editing from home or my studio located in Logan Square. I love spending time on my family farm located about 2 hours west of Chicago and talking sports and politics with my husband. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1354055576667-9912brachewed0329edit
130x130_sq_1344403625817-62312tellwed1060
130x130_sq_1354055639586-9912brachewed0522edit
130x130_sq_1344403694820-7712alshousewed0486
130x130_sq_1354055607008-9912brachewed0354edit
130x130_sq_1344403733494-7712alshousewed0512
130x130_sq_1330524638415-joeaimeewedmg4999
130x130_sq_1344403662943-62312tellwed1078
130x130_sq_1330524594440-joeaimeewedmg4660
130x130_sq_1344403775616-7712alshousewed0532
130x130_sq_1344403817753-7712alshousewed0655
130x130_sq_1330524712178-rossiaftwedsessmg0450
130x130_sq_1330524781649-tonyheidiwed2011mg9680
130x130_sq_1330524824414-tonyheidiwed2011mg9704
130x130_sq_1344403448219-62312tellwed0854
130x130_sq_1344403584516-62312tellwed0869
130x130_sq_1344403850671-bracheeng2012tt6c6387
130x130_sq_1344403863057-cegielskiwed2012mg7713
130x130_sq_1344403926116-lammwed20123628
130x130_sq_1344403963467-lammwed20123702
130x130_sq_1344403991432-lammwed201237862
130x130_sq_1344404017021-webbwed2012mg6904
130x130_sq_1344404040921-webbwed2012tt6c4634
130x130_sq_1354055546730-9912brachewed0284editedit
130x130_sq_1354055666354-9912brachewed0802edit
130x130_sq_1354055696479-9912brachewed1153editedit

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Digital Files, High Resolution Images, Prints, Proof CD of All Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My husband and I could not be happier with our decision to have Jennifer photograph our Chicago elopement. She is an amazingly talented photographer, and beyond being beautiful pictures in their own right, her photos really captured the joy of our wedding day. Because we eloped, our friends and families are "seeing" our wedding day through Jenn's camera lens, so having great photos was very important to us. We love the photos, and we have gotten lots of compliments about how beautiful they are and how happy we look in them.

Jenn was very attentive to our ideas and preferences, and she also had lots of wonderful, creative ideas of her own. She was very organized and professional throughout the entire process, and her warmth and good humor immediately made us feel at ease. We knew we were in good hands, and we never felt rushed or stressed. The photos and the experience itself were exactly what we had hoped for.

I would enthusiastically recommend Jennifer to anyone looking for a photographer! She's wonderful!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough wonderful things about Jenn! She is phenomenal!!! We did both our engagement session and our wedding photography with her and our pictures are absolutely amazing. Jenn is creative, organized, friendly, and extremely talented. I highly recommend Jennifer Shaffer Photography!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1388965174876-avata
Erin
Wedding:
12/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding would not have been the same without Jenn... In one word, she is PHENOMENAL! She helps the day run smoothly and efficiently, but she also makes sure everyone is comfortable and has fun. I would recommend her to ANYONE and EVERYONE!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Jennifer is a wonderful photographer and warm and friendly too. She put everyone at ease with her calm professionalism. The whole day went very smoothly thanks to Jenn and the pictures were just beautiful. Don't look any further for the perfect photographer for your Chicago area wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
6/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Jenn was an amazing photographer who not only captured every moment of my wedding exactly how I wanted it but made me feel like I was working with an old friend. When Jenn discovered I was on pinterest she suggested that we share a board for engagement and wedding photo ideas. She made sure every picture I wanted was taken and even made my husband who is very shy and reserved feel completely comfortable in front of the camera. She gave me the unique photos I was looking for and also made my parents happy with traditional photos. She is so thoughtful she even thought to have me and my bridesmaids wait in the shade while she was taking individual pictures.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristi
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Jennifer was an amazing addition to my entire wedding experience. Not only is she a talented photographer that captures every moment in such a perfect way, she is also such a pleasure to have around. She walked me through wedding details that not only pertained to the photographs, but also scheduling issues and transportation recommendations. She is very knowledgeable and organized and open for new ideas. I love how our pictures turned out and appreciate all the time she took to really understand what we wanted. I would recommend her to anyone that is looking for phenomenal wedding photographs taken by the coolest person!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
I was looking for a photographer for my wedding in March, and I found Jenn on the Knot, and emailed her a few questions. She responded to me right away, and her promptness with responses continued throughout my husband and I's entire engagement and wedding day. Not only did her artistic ability with her photographs win me over, but it was her personality as well (she is very professional, funny, & sweet). She made me feel comfortable throughout the entire process including an engagement session and my wedding day. I have never received so many compliments in my life than I did with my engagement and wedding photos. As a photographer, Jenn is up for anything- she embraced my husband's harley davidson in the city for some great engagement shots of us with it. She was even standing on chairs pregnant the day of my wedding & captured my beloved golden retriever licking my face on my wedding day- anything to make the memorable photo for my husband and I. Her turnaround time with pictures is very fast, and she gets you excited by posting preview pictures on her facebook or blog. Also- she has great time management skills and knows how to take control of a situation that needs it. I have truly found a one of a kind photographer to capture all of my life's events and I can't wait to see her again at my sister's wedding! I would HIGHLY recommend this photographer to everyone and anyone!! She does amazing work!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Seriously, Jenn is the best photographer around and anyone would be absolutely insane not to book her. Her shots are gorgeous, she is very professional, she listens to her clients, she is thoughtful, she has a great eye, and everyone in my wedding thought she was amazing.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
10/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Jenn is wonferful - she made my day a dream come true. It was raining on and off all day and I was super nervous about pictures being outside. But, she made it work when I never thought it would. We had a "first glance" picture prior to our ceremony and it was beautiful. My husband cried when he first saw me and it was all captured in such a beautiful location she picked out. Also, we had a wedding party of 23 in total and all of those pictures can get really tedious. She made them so quick and easy that no time was wasted. We had our engagement photos taken by her as well on the coldest day of the year! She brought all of these props and had scouted out the area ahead of time. She is always so planned and ready to go which is awesome. I HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend her!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
10/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Jenn is by far one of my new favorite people in the whole world right now! From the moment I saw her gorgeous photos I knew she had to be our photographer. From the first time my husband I met her, she's bubbly, sweet, pleasant to work with, and really knows how to read her couples. She has a gift!
The best part was that an engagement session is built into her price! Her prices have gone up since we booked with her, and I can understand why. She's beyond one of the best photographers in Chicago and people are beginning to notice.
Jenn was prompt on contacting me, she was always on time, and she even tries to research your locations before hand so she has a better feel of the land. She was never in the way of anyone during the entire night. Which for me was a huge deal to me. I hate weddings when the photographer is in everyone's way. She's not (and she gets the shots!). She stayed most of the evening capturing those hilarious moments after everyone's indulged in a little too much!
Word of advice: don't go the cheap route when it comes to photography (you know, that $695 "all inclusive value pack" photographers). Because at the end of the day, what do you have to remember your biggest day of your life? The photos!! Jennifer will capture your day like no one else could.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/14/2012
5.0/5.0
There aren't enough words to express how amazing Jenn is! From the consultation to getting the pictures to us, she was on top of things! Jenn really had everything I was looking for in a photographer. I specifically wanted someone that was going to be with us through the whole wedding process that I would be comfortable with and know on the day of the wedding...something you usually don't get out of a big photo company, which is why I went with Jenn! She had great ideas for our engagement shoot and answered my emails with questions back vrey quickly. She helped plan out a schedule for the day of the wedding and worked with my wedding planner. On the day of the wedding she was super fast and amazingly got in all the shots I wanted within our time frame. She had a preview of our photos up within a week and ALL of our photos back within 2 weeks! Jenn is such a ball of fire, energy, and enthusiasm. She works so incredibly hard to make sure you get what you want. I would highly HIGHLY recommend her to everyone! And I will definitely be using her for photos for my kids when I eventually have them!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Martin
Wedding:
6/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Jennifer was an absolute pleasure to do business with. You can tell that she loves her job and is a very easy person to interact with. Jennifer worked with our schedule to meet our needs and she was always replied quickly to our questions.

During the wedding day she made me feel much more relaxed with just her experience which wasn't an easy feat. She took all the photo's that we asked for and my family and friends all enjoyed the experience.

My wife and I are very happy with the photo's that were taken and the level of service that we received. I really don't have any complaints here with what we got and while the price isn't cheap it was well under what other people are going for especially when you factor in what your getting for the price. In fact I wouldn't be surprised to see her rates go up in the near future because she would still be worth it.

My advice to you would be to book her for your wedding before she does increase her prices due to demand.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
I hired Jennifer for my wedding in May. She arrived early and stayed late. She was full of energy and worked well with my guests. My friends and family were blown away with the photos made comments such as, "these look they could be in a magazine,"this captures so much emotion," and "what an amazing picture." Jennifer was so easy to work and her pictures were wonderful. There is so much that goes on during a wedding its hard for the bride to experience ever moment, but the moments I missed Jenn captured so well I felt like I as right back in my wedding day. I have already recommended Jenn to others.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Jenn is absolutely wonderful! Guests at my wedding have decided to book Jenn for their day. From my initial contact with Jenn, I knew she was a great fit. Her kind and professional demeanor are a reflection of her work. Jenn was prompt and personable. She is passionate about what she does and takes great pride in her business. Jenn includes an engagement session because she wants to get to know the bride and groom. Throughout our wedding planning, on that day and after, she consistently made herself available to us. You're definitely a valued client of hers and develop a relationship. Jenn is very comfortable to be around – our engagement session was fun and we got to really connect before the big day. When we met her in person for the first time, she gave us a questionnaire, to help determine styles of photography we best liked. Jenn called a few days before the wedding to touch base and go through the details of the day. I informed Jenn a group of us were going to a hotel downtown following our reception (a good half hour away). Jenn volunteered to come with us. I thought it was extremely sweet of her to drive that distance just to take a few additional photos. She didn't have to, but that she wanted to, reiterated how happy I was with our decision to book Jenn. Jenn arrived early to my house that morning, ready to go. She was not at all invasive and got photos I wasn't even aware she took – each one turned out beautifully! Jenn was extremely helpful in the general schedule of the day. During our reception, she had the ceremony photos running on her iPad. The countless compliments received by friends and family were not only on Jenn's photography skills, but on her genuine personality as well. She knew each member of the family and wedding party by name. It was during our honeymoon that Jenn had sent us the edited photos (unbelievable turn-around time). My husband and I are looking forward to having children so we can hire Jenn again for more great photos!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dhkay09
Wedding:
3/9/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about Jennifer Shaffer Photography. Jennifer did such an amazing job of capturing the feeling of our wedding. My husband was speechless when he saw the finished photos, absolutely beautiful. She was able to get so much emotion to show through, we had no cookie cutter photos. Working with her was such a breeze from start to finish. I live in Indiana and she was willing to travel from Chicago to photograph our wedding for only a small expense fee. She listened to everything we asked for and gave us so much more. We had a lot of mishaps at the rehearsal and wedding and she just went along with everything like a pro. Nothing phased her. I would recommend her to anyone and plan on using her for any family photos in the future. Two thumbs up.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
December Bride
Wedding:
12/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Jenn was awesome! Jenn was the first photographer that we met and as soon as my husband and I left our meeting, we turned to each other and said "she is the one". We did not need to look any further. Jenn was super friendly and made me feel comfortable. Her creative personality was a great fit for my husband and I. The quality of Jenn's work was amazing and her prices were unbeatable (literally I must have looked at 100+ photographers online). She kept in contact with us throughout our engagement so we never felt nervous about what still needed to be done. Although Jenn just does photography she offered to help videotape our wedding and brought a friend (Sarah Miller who also did a great job!) to be our videographer. This was great because she provided us the whole package in one. On the day of our wedding Jenn was on time and relaxed, even when we were running late. Throughout the wedding we heard from all of our guests how friendly and personable she was. We could not have asked for more and would recommend her to anyone who wants a great photographer that is creative, up for anything, organized (that was really reassuring!), and will deliver excellent photos. We will continue to keep in contact with Jenn and will use her again and again as life brings us new celebrations.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SatisfiedBride
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Jenn was up for anything we wanted to do. We opted for a lot of candid shots and few posed pictures and she made all of it work. It was so nice not to have a photographer in my face all the time. She took pictures in stealth mode like a photo ninja. Amazing value for the money! Cannot sing her praises enough.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Chicago, IL 60622 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Jennifer Shaffer Photo
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo