130x130 sq 1416012458426 daisywinny 065

Jennifer Whalen Wedding Photography + Cinematography

Los Angeles , CA

LOCATION

976 1/2 Hyperion Ave
Los Angeles, CA 90029 US (map)

PHONE

818-720-6769

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Hello, My name is Jennifer! My brand is based all around authentic candid moments! My goal is to always capture the nuances and those in between moments throughout the day in an artful... Read more
Hello, My name is Jennifer! My brand is based all around authentic candid moments! My goal is to always capture the nuances and those in between moments throughout the day in an artful and documentary way.



My background is in photography and I have been happily documenting weddings for five years full time and have two bachelor of Arts degrees in Fine Art and Journalism from the University of Minnesota. My vision is to take my photojournalism experience and Fine Art background to tell a compelling story of your life's events. My natural curiosity toward image making lead me to start getting involved with video. My partner, Dan, and I work hard to capture your day in an upbeat and exciting way! With my eye for CANDID moments, composition and all around extensive wedding knowledge and with Dan's background in music and talent for editing, we are the perfect combination for making your wedding video lively and memorable. We come together as a team to every wedding bringing with an assistant. We are passionate about storytelling and very excited to continue on this path.



Artist Statement: For me, Art is about capturing a small part of a much larger world. I live to explore, create and tell stories in a candid and documentary style. I gravitate toward imagery that has energy and momentum. As an image storyteller, I aspire to show my clients an authentic and artful interpretation of their own life stories. Each couple brings a distinct personality and energy, sparking new ideas that add their own flair to the story.



Contact:

Website - http://www.jenniferwhalen.com

Email - info@jenniferwhalen.com

Phone - 818.720.6769 Read less
Photography , Videography

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1416011652666 daisywinny 065
130x130 sq 1416011156790 ca 002
130x130 sq 1416011176884 ca 003
130x130 sq 1416011729103 krisjess015
130x130 sq 1416011140677 ca 001
130x130 sq 1416011190729 ca 004
130x130 sq 1416011585198 daisywinny 009
130x130 sq 1416011601341 daisywinny 022
130x130 sq 1416011280624 ca 005
130x130 sq 1416011297327 ca 006
130x130 sq 1416011318595 ca 007
130x130 sq 1416011341628 ca 008
130x130 sq 1416011360632 maui 1
130x130 sq 1416011476705 screen shot 2014 07 16 at 6.31.10 pm
130x130 sq 1416011869726 steffichristoph002
130x130 sq 1416011379767 screen shot 2014 07 16 at 6.30.15 pm
130x130 sq 1416011706029 johnnyeileen001
130x130 sq 1416011715498 johnnyeileen037
130x130 sq 1416011824533 setarehnick 067
130x130 sq 1416011833188 steffichristoph 13
130x130 sq 1416011435425 screen shot 2014 07 16 at 6.30.27 pm
130x130 sq 1416011458434 screen shot 2014 07 16 at 6.30.51 pm
130x130 sq 1416011497574 screen shot 2014 07 16 at 6.31.28 pm
130x130 sq 1416011522930 screen shot 2014 07 16 at 6.41.56 pm
130x130 sq 1416011539811 screen shot 2014 07 16 at 6.42.04 pm
130x130 sq 1416011554421 screen shot 2014 07 16 at 6.43.52 pm
130x130 sq 1416011574577 screen shot 2014 07 16 at 6.44.02 pm
130x130 sq 1416011628995 daisywinny 056
130x130 sq 1416011893068 stephaniejames 4
130x130 sq 1416011663787 elieenejohnny 012
130x130 sq 1416011684825 elieenejohnny 019
130x130 sq 1416011745792 krisjess017
130x130 sq 1416011760660 krisjess018
130x130 sq 1416011781495 krisjess019
130x130 sq 1416011799669 krisjess020
130x130 sq 1416011810895 setarehnick 047
130x130 sq 1416011845389 steffichristoph 22
130x130 sq 1416011860130 steffichristoph 23
130x130 sq 1416011878726 stephaniejames 2
130x130 sq 1416011908431 stephaniejames 14
130x130 sq 1416011918863 stephaniejames 18
130x130 sq 1416011930427 stephaniejames 26
130x130 sq 1416011943721 winny and daisy  098
130x130 sq 1416011982406 winny and daisy  113

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
All of the images are enhanced in Adobe Lightroom.
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Yes, I have shot in all types of lighting situations.
Is your media preference film or digital?
I use digital film for all commissioned work.
How many photographers do you work with?
I work with a 2nd photographer.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
I am the owner of Jennifer Whalen Wedding Photography and am the lead photographer at every wedding I book.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
The most weddings that I will book in a weekend is 2 weedings--usually Saturday and Sunday.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
If I become unavailable, I have a lot of professional photographer friends in the metro area that I would contact in case of an emergency. My second photographer would also be at the wedding.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
I bring professional Canon equipment
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
I have back-up equipment
Do you charge hourly or full day?
All of my packages include full day coverage
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
I require that I eat at the same time as the wedding party and that I sit close to the head table so that I don't miss anything.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
The images are up on the client gallery no more than one week after the wedding. The disk of images is mailed out shortly after
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
All images will be delivered to the wedding couple in jpeg format on a DVD.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
I retain the right to use my images for advertising purposes.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes, I am very active with social media and like to tweet, blog and facebook photos.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes
What kind of albums do you offer?
I offer custom designed flush mounted Zookbinder Fine Art Albums
When will the client get the final album?
They will get the album around 1 month after they have signed off on the album design that I have made for them.

INFO FOR VIDEOGRAPHY

What primary style do you identify with?
Cinematic, Documentary, Short Form, Storytelling
What do your packages include?
Ceremony, Edited Video, High Definition Video, Montage - Wedding Highlights, Multiple Cameras, Multiple Videographers, Online Highlight Films, Pre-Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner, Same Day Edit Video
What formats can the final video be in?
Blu-Ray, DVD
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Stefanie
Wedding:
9/25/2014
5.0/5.0
What can I say?! PERFECT!!
We are from germany and we we´re looking for someone who could capture images of our elopement in Santa Monica. I´ve contacted Jenn and she was sooo great from the beginning. She answered all our questions via EMail (and I had a lot of questions) and that made us feel really good. When we arrived in Venice, we´ve met her and it felt like meeting a friend. She´s fun and professional at the same time. We´ve talked about our ideas and she was unbelievably motivated and creative. Then we definitely knew, that she was the right choice. On our elopement day she arrived with her colleague Dan. They we´re more than on time, well prepared and they are a really great team! Dan did the filming and Jenn took pictures. I would highly recommend to make a video! To have a video of that day is so precious!
We showed it to our family and friends when we came back from Los Angeles and they we´re amazed. My nephew (6 years old) said: "That doesn´t look real. ", because it was so perfect.
Working with Jenn and Dan was the best thing, that could have happend to us. It was fun, uncomplicated and they had so much energy and they went on a rollercoaster ride with us :) Awesome pictures, awesome video and AWESOME PEOPLE!
Thanks for everything Jenn & Dan!
What can I say?! PERFECT!!
We are from germany and we were looking for someone who could capture images of our Read more...
What can I say?! PERFECT!!
We are from germany and we we´re looking for someone who could capture images of our elopement in Santa Monica. I´ve contacted Jenn and she was sooo great from the beginning. She answered all our questions via EMail (and I had a lot of questions) and that made us feel really good. When we arrived in Venice, we´ve met her and it felt like meeting a friend. She´s fun and professional at the same time. We´ve talked about our ideas and she was unbelievably motivated and creative. Then we definitely knew, that she was the right choice. On our elopement day she arrived with her colleague Dan. They we´re more than on time, well prepared and they are a really great team! Dan did the filming and Jenn took pictures. I would highly recommend to make a video! To have a video of that day is so precious!
We showed it to our family and friends when we came back from Los Angeles and they we´re amazed. My nephew (6 years old) said: "That doesn´t look real. ", because it was so perfect.
Working with Jenn and Dan was the best thing, that could have happend to us. It was fun, uncomplicated and they had so much energy and they went on a rollercoaster ride with us :) Awesome pictures, awesome video and AWESOME PEOPLE!
Thanks for everything Jenn & Dan! Read less
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default vendor profile pic
Glis and Thomas
Wedding:
8/21/2014
5.0/5.0
Jennifer Whalen and her team were so much fun to work with! They were an absolute pleasure to have around on our wedding day. My husband and I are beyond pleased with the engagement photos, wedding video and wedding photos Jenn and her team captured – we could not have asked for anything better! Throughout our wedding day, Jenn was definitely a calming factor for me. She was very easy going, but also very professional and very in control of what she was doing. She has such a great attitude and you can tell she really loves what she does. Her experience and talent is so evident, not only through her art (photos) but also in how well she works under pressures of the wedding day. I can go on and on about how positive my experiences were with Jenn and her team! She is definitely worth every penny and I highly recommend you choose her for your wedding day….you’ll really miss out if you don’t!!
Jennifer Whalen and her team were so much fun to work with! They were an absolute pleasure to have around on our wedding Read more...
Jennifer Whalen and her team were so much fun to work with! They were an absolute pleasure to have around on our wedding day. My husband and I are beyond pleased with the engagement photos, wedding video and wedding photos Jenn and her team captured – we could not have asked for anything better! Throughout our wedding day, Jenn was definitely a calming factor for me. She was very easy going, but also very professional and very in control of what she was doing. She has such a great attitude and you can tell she really loves what she does. Her experience and talent is so evident, not only through her art (photos) but also in how well she works under pressures of the wedding day. I can go on and on about how positive my experiences were with Jenn and her team! She is definitely worth every penny and I highly recommend you choose her for your wedding day….you’ll really miss out if you don’t!! Read less
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default vendor profile pic
Setareh
Wedding:
8/9/2014
5.0/5.0
I can't even begin to express my overwhelming appreciation for the work that one of my photographers, Jennifer Whalen, did to master the detail, simplicity, and authentic memory of our wedding day. She captured so many incredible shots and has shared some of them on her blogpost. Not only was she the perfect addition to our photography duo but I loved the way Nick and I officially met her in person which must have been a sign that she was meant to be!
Now that our go-to photographer for all of our family events is leaving the state, I will personally be using her for our future events and stand by her work, professionalism, and eye for capturing the perfect images, HANDS DOWN 100%.

Thank you Jennifer!!! ‪#‎readysetwed‬
I can't even begin to express my overwhelming appreciation for the work that one of my photographers, Jennifer Whalen, did Read more...
I can't even begin to express my overwhelming appreciation for the work that one of my photographers, Jennifer Whalen, did to master the detail, simplicity, and authentic memory of our wedding day. She captured so many incredible shots and has shared some of them on her blogpost. Not only was she the perfect addition to our photography duo but I loved the way Nick and I officially met her in person which must have been a sign that she was meant to be!
Now that our go-to photographer for all of our family events is leaving the state, I will personally be using her for our future events and stand by her work, professionalism, and eye for capturing the perfect images, HANDS DOWN 100%.

Thank you Jennifer!!! ‪#‎readysetwed‬ Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Tessa
Wedding:
7/12/2014
5.0/5.0
Jennifer Whalen created a beautiful video of our wedding day. I hadn't originally planned to get a videographer, as I felt that photos would be sufficient to capture the day. I am so happy that I ended up having Jennifer capture my event on film! This short video captures EVERYTHING! Jennifer's artistic eye and skill allowed her to take moments from throughout the day and create a video that captures the emotion, fun, and beauty of our event. I have watched it countless times and shared it with many family and friends. People who were not able to attend the event felt like they had been there when they watched this film. My mom has forwarded me many messages from her friends who have become teary-eyed from watching the video. Like many brides, I worked hard for months prior to our wedding to ensure that the day was perfect only for the time to fly by during the event. I am so grateful for Jennifer, as her video was able to capture all the little details and the true essence of our event. The video allows me to relive all the special moments that I feel like were gone in the blink of an eye. During the wedding, my husband and I were so busy fulfilling our duties as bride and groom and Jennifer never bugged us for any specific shots. She was so great because she was so discrete with her filming and when watching the video I was amazed with all her shots, as I don't even remember her being there to capture them. I highly recommend Jennifer to capture your event.
Jennifer Whalen created a beautiful video of our wedding day. I hadn't originally planned to get a videographer, as I felt Read more...
Jennifer Whalen created a beautiful video of our wedding day. I hadn't originally planned to get a videographer, as I felt that photos would be sufficient to capture the day. I am so happy that I ended up having Jennifer capture my event on film! This short video captures EVERYTHING! Jennifer's artistic eye and skill allowed her to take moments from throughout the day and create a video that captures the emotion, fun, and beauty of our event. I have watched it countless times and shared it with many family and friends. People who were not able to attend the event felt like they had been there when they watched this film. My mom has forwarded me many messages from her friends who have become teary-eyed from watching the video. Like many brides, I worked hard for months prior to our wedding to ensure that the day was perfect only for the time to fly by during the event. I am so grateful for Jennifer, as her video was able to capture all the little details and the true essence of our event. The video allows me to relive all the special moments that I feel like were gone in the blink of an eye. During the wedding, my husband and I were so busy fulfilling our duties as bride and groom and Jennifer never bugged us for any specific shots. She was so great because she was so discrete with her filming and when watching the video I was amazed with all her shots, as I don't even remember her being there to capture them. I highly recommend Jennifer to capture your event. Read less
Services Used: Videography
Default vendor profile pic
Angela
Wedding:
5/18/2014
5.0/5.0
Jennifer and her partner did an AMAZING job on our wedding video! It was incredible! They were probably one of my favorite vendors from the wedding. They were both very professional, fun, honest, and genuinely nice people. The work that they did was nothing but the highest quality. If you were thinking about not having videography (like I was) think again. I promise you will not regret hiring Jennifer. I am so happy we have that video to remind us of what an amazing day it was. It goes by so fast ... capture it with more than a picture, I'm so glad we did!


Thank you again Jennifer!
Jennifer and her partner did an AMAZING job on our wedding video! It was incredible! They were probably one of my favorite Read more...
Jennifer and her partner did an AMAZING job on our wedding video! It was incredible! They were probably one of my favorite vendors from the wedding. They were both very professional, fun, honest, and genuinely nice people. The work that they did was nothing but the highest quality. If you were thinking about not having videography (like I was) think again. I promise you will not regret hiring Jennifer. I am so happy we have that video to remind us of what an amazing day it was. It goes by so fast ... capture it with more than a picture, I'm so glad we did!


Thank you again Jennifer! Read less
Services Used: Videography
Default vendor profile pic
Kari
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Jennifer captured the day so perfectly and in such a unique way that I still feel the amazing happiness and FUN of our wedding every time I go back to look at the photos. I loved how Jennifer was flexible and stayed throughout the event to get every moment. Money very well spent!
Jennifer captured the day so perfectly and in such a unique way that I still feel the amazing happiness and FUN of our Read more...
Jennifer captured the day so perfectly and in such a unique way that I still feel the amazing happiness and FUN of our wedding every time I go back to look at the photos. I loved how Jennifer was flexible and stayed throughout the event to get every moment. Money very well spent! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Linette
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Jennifer is an awesome photographer! Choose her if you want quality and genuine care for your photos! I would highly recommend her for your wedding! She is easy to work with and has an amazing eye for great shots!
Jennifer is an awesome photographer! Choose her if you want quality and genuine care for your photos! I would highly Read more...
Jennifer is an awesome photographer! Choose her if you want quality and genuine care for your photos! I would highly recommend her for your wedding! She is easy to work with and has an amazing eye for great shots! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Alanna
Wedding:
7/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Jennifer was worth every penny. Not only does she have a vey easy going vibe but her work is stellar, as you can see. She delivered and captured EVERYTHING. Every handshake and shadow and smile and nuisance. And she also had a way of being unobtrusive about it! We highly recommend this photographer. You will not be disappointed. It also worked out that we had her assistant, Dan, on the day of our wedding as well. That was a dream combination. If this is possible for you, definitely add this as well.
Jennifer was worth every penny. Not only does she have a vey easy going vibe but her work is stellar, as you can see. She Read more...
Jennifer was worth every penny. Not only does she have a vey easy going vibe but her work is stellar, as you can see. She delivered and captured EVERYTHING. Every handshake and shadow and smile and nuisance. And she also had a way of being unobtrusive about it! We highly recommend this photographer. You will not be disappointed. It also worked out that we had her assistant, Dan, on the day of our wedding as well. That was a dream combination. If this is possible for you, definitely add this as well. Read less
Services Used: Photography
130x130 sq 1398046610604 avata
Jacki
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Jennifer captured our wedding day perfectly! Our photographs are beautiful and really show the excitement and emotion of the day. Jennifer took all of the photographs that we asked and had many more great ideas.
She was very responsive to questions and emails.
Jennifer is very professional. She was energetic and ready to work from the moment she arrived in the morning for hair and make up until she left well into the dance. She was there to capture our entire day and offered great advice for the day in general as well as choosing some locations to take photos and hang out between the ceremony and reception.
One thing that we really loved about Jennifer is that while she was there and attentive the whole day, we were not constantly taken away to pose for photos. She took photos of us celebrating with our friends and family.
Overall, I definitely recommend Jennifer! She is responsive, creative and wonderful person to share your wedding day with!
Jennifer captured our wedding day perfectly! Our photographs are beautiful and really show the excitement and emotion of Read more...
Jennifer captured our wedding day perfectly! Our photographs are beautiful and really show the excitement and emotion of the day. Jennifer took all of the photographs that we asked and had many more great ideas.
She was very responsive to questions and emails.
Jennifer is very professional. She was energetic and ready to work from the moment she arrived in the morning for hair and make up until she left well into the dance. She was there to capture our entire day and offered great advice for the day in general as well as choosing some locations to take photos and hang out between the ceremony and reception.
One thing that we really loved about Jennifer is that while she was there and attentive the whole day, we were not constantly taken away to pose for photos. She took photos of us celebrating with our friends and family.
Overall, I definitely recommend Jennifer! She is responsive, creative and wonderful person to share your wedding day with! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Stacy
Wedding:
10/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Jennifer is wonderful to work with! We LOVE our wedding photos and she captured our day exactly how we asked her to. We have received so many compliments on how awesome and fun our wedding photos are. I have recommended her to all my friends!
Jennifer is wonderful to work with! We LOVE our wedding photos and she captured our day exactly how we asked her to. We Read more...
Jennifer is wonderful to work with! We LOVE our wedding photos and she captured our day exactly how we asked her to. We have received so many compliments on how awesome and fun our wedding photos are. I have recommended her to all my friends! Read less
Services Used: Photography, Videography

DEALS

Competative pricing available for 2014 events
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $2,500 Value
Since I am new to the area, I am wanting to offer a huge incentive for couples to book either photography or video packages.

Available to the first 30 couples
Deal #WW6c91b2f452e140ec
220x220 1416012458426 daisywinny 065

MAP

 
976 1/2 Hyperion Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90029 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Jennifer Whalen Wedding Photography + Cinematography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1416012458426 daisywinny 065