220x220_1195167674648-block05-144x144
Jerry Yoon Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
 
24 Reviews      11 people has saved this vendor.
Address:
480 42nd St
Oakland, CA US 94609 (map)
Phone:
510-229-7736
Categories:
 
 
 
4.8 
(4.9/5.0)
 
Quality of Service 
(4.7/5.0)
 
Responsiveness 
(4.8/5.0)
 
Professionalism 
(4.8/5.0)
 
Value 
(4.7/5.0)
 
Flexibility 
Sort
 
Wwnetwork-128
Sarah
Wedding:
5/15/2010
 
5.0 out of 5.0
My husband and I just received our wedding photos, and to sum it up, they are INCREDIBLE. Jerry and his team are masters at what they do.

Just by going through some of the photos on Jerry's blog, we knew he'd be the perfect photographer for us. Jerry and Ingrid flew all the way to Philadelphia (where we live) to do our engagement shoot. Despite it being over 90 degrees outside, they were upbeat the entire time and made us feel incredibly comfortable. It's insane how creative they are with lighting and with making seemingly banal locations come to life in photographs. We loved our engagement photos, and were so happy with how non-cheesy they were! Ingrid even designed a photobook of our engagement photos for us, and we used it as our guest book at our wedding. Our guests loved it!

Our photographs from our wedding far surpassed our expectations. My mom was afraid that our ceremony would not photograph well because we were backlit the entire time by the strong afternoon sun, but Jerry and Ingrid did an amazing job working with our poor lighting. They were able to capture the emotion of the day perfectly without being intrusive at all. They have such natural instinct and an incredible eye for composition and color. They also provided a photobooth for us with a clean white backdrop, and their associate Terence did an amazing job keeping all our guests laughing with our crazy props. We would be honestly be happy to frame any one of the photos they shot because each one has such a unique perspective.

The utmost professionals, Jerry and Ingrid are easy-going, super-duper nice, genuine, funny, quick to respond to emails/calls, and most importantly, ridiculously talented at what they do. Seriously, they are just amazing.
Services Used: Photography
1375154992_thumb_f969f26284bcfe0e1f40c55fa642e324
lingy
Wedding:
11/7/2009
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Josh and I feel so fortunate to have been able to book Jerry Yoon Photography for our wedding. When we first researched potential photographers, we weren't really excited about all the ones we came across; it's not that they had bad work, we just wanted someone who put the art first. Maybe it's because Josh and I are both artists that we're so choosy about anything visual. Anyway, we didn't think we'd ever find that photographer, so we were about to throw in the towel and settle for someone we felt was more standard, until I stumbled across Jerry Yoon's page on Martha Stewart Weddings. After scrolling through his images in his blog, I dropped everything I was doing, showed Jerry's work to Josh, and e-mailed him immediately to see if he was available. The gods must have been smiling on me that day, because it turned out Jerry was indeed available for our wedding date. Working with him and his team has been nothing short of a pleasure. Our engagement session ROCKED (see here http://www.blogjerry.com/archive/san-francisco-engagement-red-riding-hood-rosann-josh.html) and they did a KILLER job on our actual wedding! I could wax poetic for a long time, but if I had to summarize what separates them from the pack in a sentence it would be the following: they're not just about getting the composition or the colors right; they're also about the narrative told through the image. If we could do it all over again, we would go with Jerry Yoon Photography again in a heartbeat. They are truly artists' artists.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tenkyuu
Wedding:
11/7/2009
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Josh and I feel so fortunate to have been able to book Jerry Yoon Photography for our wedding. When we first researched potential photographers, we weren't really excited about all the ones we came across; it's not that they had bad work, we just wanted someone who put the art first. Maybe it's because Josh and I are both artists that we're so choosy about anything visual. Anyway, we didn't think we'd ever find that photographer, so we were about to throw in the towel and settle for someone we felt was more standard, until I stumbled across Jerry Yoon's page on Martha Stewart Weddings. After scrolling through his images in his blog, I dropped everything I was doing, showed Jerry's work to Josh, and e-mailed him immediately to see if he was available. The gods must have been smiling on me that day, because it turned out Jerry was indeed available for our wedding date. Working with him and his team has been nothing short of a pleasure. Our engagement session ROCKED (see here http://www.blogjerry.com/archive/san-francisco-engagement-red-riding-hood-rosann-josh.html) and they did a KILLER job on our actual wedding! I could wax poetic for a long time, but if I had to summarize what separates them from the pack in a sentence it would be the following: they're not just about getting the composition or the colors right; they're also about the narrative told through the image. If we could do it all over again, we would go with Jerry Yoon Photography again in a heartbeat. They are truly artists' artists.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
swtpinay419
Wedding:
9/20/2008
 
5.0 out of 5.0
I would recommend Jerry and Ingrid. They are a great team to work with and you can tell that they pride in their work by just checking out their blog. They always try to get the best out of their photos so that you have something to remember you special day. They may look expensive but you really get what you paid for. You will not be sorry if you decide to hire them.

During the wedding with things going by so fast, we barely noticed them. Surely this goes to show how professional they are because they are not in your face taking photos. They capture those special moments or even the funny ones when you least expect it.
Services Used: Photography
Missing_profile
dcwu74
Wedding:
9/13/2008
 
4.0 out of 5.0
We've seen Jerry and Ingrid shoot a number of our friends' weddings, so of course they were one of the first photographers we considered. Although we live in Seattle, we had a chance to meet up with them while they were in town for another couple's engagement shoot. We had a great time getting to know each other and learnig about their work. We flew back to CA for our engagement session, and J&I were great in helping me coordiante a surprise I had planned for my fiance during the session. Even though the do tons of e-sesssions at the Berkeley campus, they're still able to make every session unique. On the day of the wedding, they captured so many of the little details- things that we were too busy to notice at the time- and we're so glad they did because looking at the photos a month later really helped us remember and reflect upon that special day. Props to Jerry and Ingrid for being such awesome photographers!
Services Used: Photography
Missing_profile
melissaw
Wedding:
7/18/2008
 
5.0 out of 5.0
jerry really does set the standard. when i first saw his work i thought wow, every picture could be printed, framed, used for stock photos, advertisements, the works-- his shots are all equally incredible. (then again, you might be thinking what else would you expect to see a photographer promote right?) this was even more confirmed after he shot my wedding and i saw his exhaustive file of proofs. it's true, they're literally all equally stunning. the work of only someone with a real natural talent and gift. i remember thinking, oh i for sure want to print that one, oh wait, no for sure that one, oh but this one... they're all so great, it's going to be really hard to decide!! he's able to capture the true beauty of a moment on film, freeze framing emotions in his camera so that when you look at them well after the event, you can still feel the same joy and love come pouring through. *as a side note, because jerry's so good at capturing the Real moments in life, the focus isn't anything but candids-- so if you want those posed portraits, make sure to be deliberate about telling him specifically. =)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melissaw
Wedding:
7/18/2008
 
4.6 out of 5.0
jerry really does set the standard. when i first saw his work i thought wow, every picture could be printed, framed, used for stock photos, advertisements, the works-- his shots are all equally incredible. (then again, you might be thinking what else would you expect to see a photographer promote right?) this was even more confirmed after he shot my wedding and i saw his exhaustive file of proofs. it's true, they're literally all equally stunning. the work of only someone with a real natural talent and gift. i remember thinking, oh i for sure want to print that one, oh wait, no for sure that one, oh but this one... they're all so great, it's going to be really hard to decide!! he's able to capture the true beauty of a moment on film, freeze framing emotions in his camera so that when you look at them well after the event, you can still feel the same joy and love come pouring through.

*as a side note, because jerry's so good at capturing the Real moments in life, the focus isn't anything but candids-- so if you want those posed portraits, make sure to be deliberate about telling him specifically. =)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CCDC
Wedding:
6/7/2008
 
4.9 out of 5.0
We love this photography team...Jerry & Ingrid are not only incredibly creative and do excellent work, they really show care for the couple and their families. We really felt they understood and captured the essence of our personality as individuals and as a couple in their photographs. From the engagement shoot to the wedding pictures, they really made us feel comfortable during the shoots. They also got some amazing candids during the reception of our families that we loved...

Highly recommended, totally worth it.
Services Used: Photography
1375009176_thumb_58e19cbbea3c83ab5f1709bcc176777a
schoi110
Wedding:
5/17/2008
 
5.0 out of 5.0
After finding Jerry through a a friend (iyroe-she wrote the first review here for Jerry), my then fiance (now husband!) and I knew that we had to have him shoot our engagement/wedding. After meeting with him SF we decided we MUST have him at any cost. :) It was already February when we met with him and his weekends were pretty much booked up for the rest of 2008. He had about three weekends open so my husband and I picked a date and location of our wedding based on Jerry and Ingrid's availability. That might sound extreme to some of you but we have never regretted that decision. We were on a tight budget for our wedding and although Jerry cost more than we budgeted for photography, we really felt that he was worth more than what we paid for. I agree 110% with what the other reviewers posted. Both Jerry and Ingrid are not only extremely professional and creative, they are just cool people. They're the type of people you want to hang out with and be buddies with. Jerry and Ingrid flew up to Seattle (where we had moved just before our wedding) for our engagement session so we got to hang out with them for a bit and we really had a lot of fun getting to know them a little better. And our engagement pictures turned out sooo amazing. The pictures are artsy, fun, and most importantly, they feel like us. Jerry and Ingrid do an awesome job of trying to get to know you so that your personality comes through in the pictures. As Iris said, Jerry does a great job of calling and checking in with you periodically before the wedding just to reassure you that everything is on track. I think this personal touch is great and really put me at ease during that stressful week leading up to the wedding. During the day of the wedding, they were there early to scout out the location and to shoot some pre-ceremony pictures. We had a special arrangement with them to shoot our two day wedding. Saturday was the traditional western style wedding at the church. They were everywhere capturing the details but were so unintrusive that I hardly remember them being there! At the reception my 10 year old cousin Jack took an interest and started bugging them and following them around. Instead of getting annoyed, Jerry gave him one of his own cameras to take pictures with for the night! I mean, who does that?! It was so amazingly sweet...above and beyond anything I ever expected from our wedding photographer. Then on Sunday we had the traditional Cambodian ceremony at my husband's family's house in Irvine. Now, mind you our wedding was during a ridiculously hot weekend (temperatures in the high 90's-low 100's) and because there was a lot of going in and out of the house, it was not exactly cool in there. I have to admit I was feeling pretty grumpy from the heat and exhaustion but Jerry and Ingrid remained in good spirits and THEY actually tried to cheer ME up. And they were professional and courteous to my sometimes demanding mother-in-law. The ceremony started super early and lasted three hours longer than we had anticipated yet Jerry and Ingrid stayed until the end and never complained about the change in schedule or the ridiculous heat. Needless to say, my husband and I are Jerry/Ingrid fans for life. If I could I would hire them for every special occasion in my life because everything they capture on camera looks magical! If you don't believe me, see for yourself! www.blogjerry.com
Services Used: Photography
1375009050_thumb_d32a0ef47264730ae21cb38f4b245d78
iyroe
Wedding:
3/15/2008
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Hiring Jerry and Ingrid to shoot our wedding was definitely the best decision I made for our wedding (besides saying yes when my husband proposed, of course)! I wasn't picky about much, but I invested a fair amount of time in finding the right photographer, and I'm so happy I spent that extra time and eventually found Jerry Yoon Photography. From the start, Jerry and Ingrid were incredibly responsive and accommodating to any questions and special requests that my husband and I had. We wanted our photographs to be artistic and a little more unique than the typical engagement/wedding photos, and when I saw samples of their work on their website and blog, they had totally captured the type of feel we wanted for our photos. We wanted our engagement pictures to be modern and a little funky, and Jerry pulled this off beautifully! He captured amazing photos in our home (a downtown loft) and in and around the Disney Concert Hall. Not only were the images crisp, vibrant, and flattering, they were really unique and artistic. As for our wedding day, we seriously couldn't have asked for better photographers. They came early to the beauty salon where my bridesmaids and I were getting ready, and then they followed us to the hotel where we got dressed and then to our wedding venue. They were consummate professionals the whole time, being unobtrusive but still making sure to capture all the important shots (both candid and posed). Above anything else, though, WE LOVE OUR PICTURES! These two are truly amazing photographers... they really captured everything we loved about our wedding day and gave us photos that look like they belong in a book or a magazine. AND, they were so much more reasonably priced than all the other photographers that we had been considering. We got incredible value for the money we spent. Some nice extras: - As mentioned before, Jerry came down to LA during Thanksgiving weekend (he was spending it with his family), and took that time to do our engagement photos without charging us for the cost of his trip. - After our wedding, I requested some advance images to use for custom thank you cards, and they happily and promptly obliged. - They provided me with last-minute enlargements from our engagement shoot for display at our wedding, and took less than a week to get them to me. - They managed to completely avoid getting the videographer in any of our wedding pictures. - They also obliged my request to send advance images to one of my bridesmaids, who designed some of the signage and the programs for our wedding. - Jerry called me periodically before our wedding to make sure we had our ducks in a row, and to reassure me that he was on top of everything he was supposed to take care of. And to top it all off, they're super nice, fun people who are so easy to work with. I love sending my friends to them because they end up as happy with their images as we are with ours.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
irisroelee
Wedding:
3/15/2008
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Hiring Jerry and Ingrid to shoot our wedding was definitely the best decision I made for our wedding (besides saying yes when my husband proposed, of course)! I wasn't picky about much, but I invested a fair amount of time in finding the right photographer, and I'm so happy I spent that extra time and eventually found Jerry Yoon Photography.

From the start, Jerry and Ingrid were incredibly responsive and accommodating to any questions and special requests that my husband and I had. We wanted our photographs to be artistic and a little more unique than the typical engagement/wedding photos, and when I saw samples of their work on their website and blog, they had totally captured the type of feel we wanted for our photos. We wanted our engagement pictures to be modern and a little funky, and Jerry pulled this off beautifully! He captured amazing photos in our home (a downtown loft) and in and around the Disney Concert Hall. Not only were the images crisp, vibrant, and flattering, they were really unique and artistic.

As for our wedding day, we seriously couldn't have asked for better photographers. They came early to the beauty salon where my bridesmaids and I were getting ready, and then they followed us to the hotel where we got dressed and then to our wedding venue. They were consummate professionals the whole time, being unobtrusive but still making sure to capture all the important shots (both candid and posed).

Above anything else, though, WE LOVE OUR PICTURES! These two are truly amazing photographers... they really captured everything we loved about our wedding day and gave us photos that look like they belong in a book or a magazine. AND, they were so much more reasonably priced than all the other photographers that we had been considering. We got incredible value for the money we spent.

Some nice extras:
- As mentioned before, Jerry came down to LA during Thanksgiving weekend (he was spending it with his family), and took that time to do our engagement photos without charging us for the cost of his trip.
- After our wedding, I requested some advance images to use for custom thank you cards, and they happily and promptly obliged.
- They provided me with last-minute enlargements from our engagement shoot for display at our wedding, and took less than a week to get them to me.
- They managed to completely avoid getting the videographer in any of our wedding pictures.
- They also obliged my request to send advance images to one of my bridesmaids, who designed some of the signage and the programs for our wedding.
- Jerry called me periodically before our wedding to make sure we had our ducks in a row, and to reassure me that he was on top of everything he was supposed to take care of.

And to top it all off, they're super nice, fun people who are so easy to work with. I love sending my friends to them because they end up as happy with their images as we are with ours.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
yvonneting
Wedding:
3/10/2008
 
4.5 out of 5.0
Jerry and Ingrid are very talented photographers. They are creative and have many interesting ideas about the shooting. I like their attitude- professional and friendly! We had very great time working with Jerry, and are satisfied witb the final works. Very recommended!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cal Alum
Wedding:
1/26/2008
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Jerry provides amazing photography at a reasonable price. Not only that, but he and his assistant, Ingrid, are really fun to work with and get you comfortable so you don't look posed. He uses creative and unique angles and locations, things you would never think would look good, but somehow they do. I think that Jerry can take photos of you anywhere, and you'll still look amazing. The quality of his photography is exceptional. All of my friends have been showing their friends our wedding photos and everyone has been commenting that they absolutely love our photos. I also love the type of albums that they provide; they are the best looking wedding albums I have ever seen. Another great thing about Jerry is that he is always trying new things, and they turn out great! To this day, I still check out his website/blog to see what new ideas he's coming up with.
Services Used: Photography
Missing_profile
xnerakalix
Wedding:
1/26/2008
 
5.0 out of 5.0
When I first saw the photographs Jerry and Ingrid took for a friend's wedding, I knew that his ability to capture the personality of a moment was exactly what I wanted for my wedding. We were on a tight budget so photography was one of our "splurges", and Jerry was worth every penny. He's actually a STEAL when you compare his prices and work to his peers. His talent ensures that regardless of what kind of wedding you have, it will be documented better than you can remember. My wedding day was in the middle of a storm, but Jerry was so accommodating and creative with his work space that you wouldn't have known it by looking at my album! Jerry is extremely warm, relaxed, and very easy to talk to. He is genuinely interested in who you are and will do a great job catering to your every desire, need, and limitation. Whether you want modern funk, fresh romance, simple fun, or whatever mood you can think of, he'll make it happen for you. His raw footage is so good that it can stand on it's own, but he kicks it up with the dreamy post processing skills of his assistant, Ingrid, to give you rich professional eye candy every single time. If you check his blog you'll see that their work just gets more and more amazing. You just can't go wrong with such talented and charming vendors!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
 
5.0 out of 5.0
AWESOME! We came across Jerry Yoon Photography after an exhaustive search and a photographer that bailed on us a few months before the wedding. Since they are based in Cali and we lived in NYC, we never met Jerry & Ingrid before committing to flying them down to our wedding in Aruba. We spent 3 days with them shooting our rehearsal dinner, wedding day, catamaran cruise & island photo shoot. When they first arrived, they had gotten food poisoning on their trip over but you would have never noticed. That's how professional and committed they are.

To get the money shot of all my guests at the wedding, Jerry waded in knee deep water as we threw wishing rocks into the ocean (in his direction!). Jerry never missed a beat and by the time our wedding weekend came to an end, all my guests raved about him.

Jerry & Ingrid are not just great photographers who are unobtrusive while taking their shots but they are always friendly. They got amazing shots of many of our guests and always knew when to be at the right spot at the right time. They are quick with their cameras and as far as I can tell, never missed any of the action. They know to give just the right amount of direction for the portraits and photoshoot (something I especially appreciated). They are extremely hardworking and always aim to make themselves flexible. They are a great team and their friendly attitude makes them even more amazing wedding photographer.

Oh yeah.... all my photos ROCK! Looking thru the slideshow 3 months after my wedding, it was like reliving the moments all over again. I truly felt it was an honor to have them photograph my wedding. Thank you!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
 
4.3 out of 5.0
Although I think my pictures turned out good, I wasn't necessarily blown away by them. I think the candid shots are what turned out the best, but the photos we took of just us wasn't that great. My husband and I are certainly not models by any means and so during the shoots, I always wasn't sure what I / us were supposed to do as far as posing to get a good shot. I thought they captured some really beautiful shots of the scenery, but then my husband and I wouldn't have the most flattering smile or whatever. Everyone was so nice and easy to work with, and very responsive. I do have to say that during our engagement shoot that since the camera started malfunctioning during the shoot, they offered to come shoot us again which was very nice.
Services Used: Photography
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Jerry Yoon Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo