130x130 sq 1434993210127 jlpsquare

J. La Plante Photo

Lafayette , CO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Lafayette, CO 80026 US (map)

PHONE

303-868-5705

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Jesse La Plante and Moira Kennedy are a husband and wife team who have been photographing weddings in Colorado since 2008. The pair is located just outside of Boulder in Lafayette, but... Read more
Jesse La Plante and Moira Kennedy are a husband and wife team who have been photographing weddings in Colorado since 2008. The pair is located just outside of Boulder in Lafayette, but travels all over the state—and the country—during the wedding season.
Meet Jesse
I’ve worked as a professional photographer for more than a decade. I have a Bachelor’s Degree in photojournalism and started out as a newspaper photographer. During that time, I shot everything from criminal court trials to Detroit Pistons games (I’m originally from Michigan); structure fires to beauty pageants; congressional debates to high school football games. Every day was a new challenge; every assignment a new learning opportunity. My time as a photojournalist taught me to be resourceful and to think on my feet, which has proven invaluable for wedding photography.

In the summer of 2008, I started shooting weddings on the side and loved the freedom that I found in it. The idea of being able to make a living in photography without having to go to a “nine-to-five” job excited me. When Moira and I moved to Colorado that fall, I decided to make wedding photography my full-time career; we started J. La Plante Photo and never looked back.

When I’m not behind the lens, I’m probably skiing or concert-going (especially at Red Rocks). Or shooting pool or playing racquetball. I’m a craft beer nerd, a movie buff, an amateur screenwriter and an avid reader of both fiction and non-fiction alike. And I love to travel. I’ve been to 15 foreign countries and 49 United States; Alaska is my white whale. I drove all over the American West before deciding to settle in Colorado, where I immediately fell in love with the state’s blend of urban and outdoor lifestyles. The proximity of Denver to the mountains felt too good to be true and now, seven years later, it still feels that way. I can’t imagine a more perfect setting for a photographer.
Meet Moira
Everything I know about photography, I learned from Jesse. Before we met, I was definitely one of those people who would try to take a photo at a concert using direct flash and not understand why it wouldn’t come out right. Now, I can talk shop with the pros and anticipate the precise moment to get the best photo. My formal background still dovetails nicely with wedding photography. Before moving to Colorado, I planned events for international political, religious, and educational leaders as the assistant director of presidential events at Georgetown University. I’ve got an innate feel for the flow of events and always have multiple contingency plans for when the day inevitably deviates from the plan.

My childhood was spent in Montana, so our move to Colorado was a return to the mountains for me. After five years on the east coast, I knew that I couldn’t live without skiing—and I also knew that there’s no place like the Rockies for outdoor activities.

My first name is Gaelic, an allusion to my parents’ marriage in Ireland and a problem for customer service representatives everywhere. I wholeheartedly share Jesse’s passion for traveling. In fact, we met in the Bahamas on spring break our senior year of college. He introduced himself by offering to buy me a drink, even though we were staying at an all-inclusive resort. I will read anything you put in front of me, and I have an unhealthy addiction to the New Yorker. The most direct way to my heart is with crème brulee, but a good steak will get you most of the way there. And I fully believe that moving back to the Rockies was one of the best decisions of my life.
We are…
Experienced – We’re entering our seventh year photographing weddings and Jesse has more than a decade of professional photography experience in all.

Professional – Jesse has a Bachelor’s degree in photojournalism and worked full-time as a professional photojournalist before switching over to wedding photography. Moira’s background is in event planning; she was the assistant director of presidential events at Georgetown University.

Prepared – Before your wedding, we thoroughly scout your venue and surrounding environs, take test shots and devise backup plans in case of weather. We put together a timeline of your day and compile a list of important family and wedding party members. In other words, we come prepared.

Adventurous – We’ve climbed mountains, shimmied onto rooftops, stopped rush hour traffic and photographed from the trunk of a moving car. When it comes to making art, we find that the ends usually justify the means.

Adaptable – A wedding is constantly evolving and we like to evolve with it. If your reception is running late and you need us to stay later than planned, no problem. If you come up with a cool idea for a photo, please let us know; a little spontaneous collaboration makes for a more interesting wedding shoot.

Perceptive – We are not “drill-sergeant” photographers. We like to let a wedding unfold naturally. It makes for more unique photo opportunities. That said, we’ve shot a ton of weddings and can recognize when it’s time for us to step in and make a friendly suggestion or two.

Efficient – We believe in a quick turnaround. In most cases, we’ll have a sneak peek up on our website the day or two after your wedding, and you’ll be able to download all of your high-res photos within 1-2 weeks.
Our work is…
Unique – We run a quality over quantity-based business and limit our schedule to 20 weddings per year. Capping the number of weddings helps us to focus our attention on the quality of our work and keep our ideas fresh.

Refined – We understand the intricacies of light and composition. These individual components and the care with which they are integrated are crucial to the quality of the final product. At the end of the day, our goal is to make a piece of art that’s worthy of hanging on your wall.

Enduring – We don’t follow the latest trends, so your photos will never go out of style. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1434992380837 jf36
130x130 sq 1434992385720 jf37
130x130 sq 1434992375008 jf34
130x130 sq 1434992302723 jf03
130x130 sq 1434992300416 jf02
130x130 sq 1434992321240 jf12
130x130 sq 1434992352661 jf25
130x130 sq 1434992305875 jf05
130x130 sq 1434992308626 jf06
130x130 sq 1434992311847 jf07
130x130 sq 1434992314917 jf10
130x130 sq 1434992318151 jf11
130x130 sq 1434992324122 jf13
130x130 sq 1434992327115 jf15
130x130 sq 1434992329875 jf016
130x130 sq 1434992332284 jf17
130x130 sq 1434992335051 jf18
130x130 sq 1434992337664 jf19
130x130 sq 1434992340866 jf20
130x130 sq 1434992343523 jf22
130x130 sq 1434992346329 jf23
130x130 sq 1434992355503 jf26
130x130 sq 1434992349110 jf24
130x130 sq 1434992361559 jf28
130x130 sq 1434992358540 jf27
130x130 sq 1434992364641 jf29
130x130 sq 1434992367020 jf31
130x130 sq 1434992371425 jf33
130x130 sq 1434992377487 jf35
130x130 sq 1434992389010 jf39
130x130 sq 1434992392120 jf40
130x130 sq 1434992395984 jf41
130x130 sq 1434992512940 mf01
130x130 sq 1434992515273 mf03
130x130 sq 1434992518351 mf04
130x130 sq 1434992538268 mf13
130x130 sq 1434992521091 mf05
130x130 sq 1434992523641 mf06
130x130 sq 1434992526325 mf07
130x130 sq 1434992529208 mf10
130x130 sq 1434992531902 mf11
130x130 sq 1434992534959 mf12
130x130 sq 1434992551600 mf18
130x130 sq 1434992541308 mf14
130x130 sq 1434992545458 mf15
130x130 sq 1434992548170 mf17
130x130 sq 1434992568021 mf24
130x130 sq 1434992554989 mf19
130x130 sq 1434992557386 mf21
130x130 sq 1434992561141 mf22
130x130 sq 1434992564237 mf23
130x130 sq 1434992570711 mf25
130x130 sq 1434992573278 mf26
130x130 sq 1434992576165 mf27
130x130 sq 1434992578342 mf28
130x130 sq 1434992604766 mf39
130x130 sq 1434992580775 mf30
130x130 sq 1434992586705 mf32
130x130 sq 1434992583365 mf31
130x130 sq 1434992590229 mf34
130x130 sq 1434992593948 mf35
130x130 sq 1434992596600 mf36
130x130 sq 1434992599593 mf37
130x130 sq 1434992602082 mf38
130x130 sq 1434992607573 mf40
130x130 sq 1434992610904 mf41

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism
What photography services do you offer?
High-Res, Liability Insurance
What photography items do you offer?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, Prints, Proofs

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Kendra
Wedding:
12/13/2014
5.0/5.0
We met Jesse and Moira at a Bridal Show about a year before our wedding. If you've been to a bridal show you know there are tons of photographers all wanting you to book with them. My husband and I talked to several. They handed us their brochures and shuffled us along not wanting to miss potential business walking by. None of them stood out, they all blended together and none made us feel good.

Then we met Jesse and Moira! We were first in awe of the amazing photography hanging in their booth. Their photos stood out! They were different in a great way! After talking to Moira for a few minutes I knew they were different. They didn't try to shuffled us along, they answered our questions, told us a little about their background and how it helps the in photography. Meeting them was sort of like finding "the dress". We knew they were it!

I was impressed with Jesse and Moira's planning leading up to the wedding. We met so we could tell them about a few wedding day surprises that we wanted captured. Jesse and Moira worked up a timeline and scouted the venue for great places to photograph. Moira called me with a few follow questions to make sure everything was perfect.

The day of the wedding was perfect. Moira and Jesse were in the background and captured the day perfectly. They didn't miss a thing and the images are beautiful candid reminders of our day. It's been three months since our wedding and I look at our pictures daily! They are beautiful!

I can't say enough good things about Jesse and Moira and would highly recommend them!
We met Jesse and Moira at a Bridal Show about a year before our wedding. If you've been to a bridal show you know there Read more...
We met Jesse and Moira at a Bridal Show about a year before our wedding. If you've been to a bridal show you know there are tons of photographers all wanting you to book with them. My husband and I talked to several. They handed us their brochures and shuffled us along not wanting to miss potential business walking by. None of them stood out, they all blended together and none made us feel good.

Then we met Jesse and Moira! We were first in awe of the amazing photography hanging in their booth. Their photos stood out! They were different in a great way! After talking to Moira for a few minutes I knew they were different. They didn't try to shuffled us along, they answered our questions, told us a little about their background and how it helps the in photography. Meeting them was sort of like finding "the dress". We knew they were it!

I was impressed with Jesse and Moira's planning leading up to the wedding. We met so we could tell them about a few wedding day surprises that we wanted captured. Jesse and Moira worked up a timeline and scouted the venue for great places to photograph. Moira called me with a few follow questions to make sure everything was perfect.

The day of the wedding was perfect. Moira and Jesse were in the background and captured the day perfectly. They didn't miss a thing and the images are beautiful candid reminders of our day. It's been three months since our wedding and I look at our pictures daily! They are beautiful!

I can't say enough good things about Jesse and Moira and would highly recommend them! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
JAMIE
Wedding:
11/22/2014
4.8/5.0
We absolutely loved having Moira and Jesse photograph our wedding. Not only were they professional and extremely good at what they do, they were also fun to hang out with and a pleasure to have around the day of our wedding. We chose them after seeing a friends wedding photos on FaceBook. We got married at sunset on November 22nd and I wanted someone who had experience photographing sunset or night shots and Jesse La Plante Photography absolutely did. Our photos turned out beautiful and even better than we though considering the weather was not cooperating with us. What Jesse and Moira captured with the wind and clouds was spectacular and we fell in love with the photos the minute we saw them. They also did a panoramic of the city scape view from our venue and included it in our photo album. We will definitely be calling them again for family photos and baby photos when our little bundle of joy arrives in May. Thanks Jesse and Moira for being a part of our wedding day and capturing the memories so beautifully.

Jamie and Mike
We absolutely loved having Moira and Jesse photograph our wedding. Not only were they professional and extremely good at Read more...
We absolutely loved having Moira and Jesse photograph our wedding. Not only were they professional and extremely good at what they do, they were also fun to hang out with and a pleasure to have around the day of our wedding. We chose them after seeing a friends wedding photos on FaceBook. We got married at sunset on November 22nd and I wanted someone who had experience photographing sunset or night shots and Jesse La Plante Photography absolutely did. Our photos turned out beautiful and even better than we though considering the weather was not cooperating with us. What Jesse and Moira captured with the wind and clouds was spectacular and we fell in love with the photos the minute we saw them. They also did a panoramic of the city scape view from our venue and included it in our photo album. We will definitely be calling them again for family photos and baby photos when our little bundle of joy arrives in May. Thanks Jesse and Moira for being a part of our wedding day and capturing the memories so beautifully.

Jamie and Mike Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Theresa
Wedding:
10/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Jesse and Moira did the photography at our destination wedding this past October in Mexico. I was thrilled that they were willing to travel that far since I have always been impressed with their work and always had hoped to hire them for my own wedding. Our wedding definitely showed how well prepared they are and how wonderful they are at what they do. We had a traditional Mayan ceremony on the beach. To be totally honest we didn't know what all the ceremony involved so everything was a surprise. There was so much going on between dancers, and the Shaman, and the guests that I felt like I was missing parts of the ceremony while it was happening, but Jesse and Moira didn't miss a beat of our wedding. If I hadn't known better I would have said that they had photographed a Mayan ceremony before because they captured everything so perfectly while also being extremely discrete. We only had a few poses in mind and left the ideas of the other photos up to them since that is what they do after all. Each and every picture came out beautifully and we could not be happier with them. They started with the "getting ready" photos and did not stop capturing our day until after our night shoot on the beach. This was exceptionally important to us as not all of our friends and family were able to make it to our wedding so now we can show them all of our pictures that tell the story of our special day. I definitely recommend them, trust me you will not be dissapointed!
Jesse and Moira did the photography at our destination wedding this past October in Mexico. I was thrilled that they were Read more...
Jesse and Moira did the photography at our destination wedding this past October in Mexico. I was thrilled that they were willing to travel that far since I have always been impressed with their work and always had hoped to hire them for my own wedding. Our wedding definitely showed how well prepared they are and how wonderful they are at what they do. We had a traditional Mayan ceremony on the beach. To be totally honest we didn't know what all the ceremony involved so everything was a surprise. There was so much going on between dancers, and the Shaman, and the guests that I felt like I was missing parts of the ceremony while it was happening, but Jesse and Moira didn't miss a beat of our wedding. If I hadn't known better I would have said that they had photographed a Mayan ceremony before because they captured everything so perfectly while also being extremely discrete. We only had a few poses in mind and left the ideas of the other photos up to them since that is what they do after all. Each and every picture came out beautifully and we could not be happier with them. They started with the "getting ready" photos and did not stop capturing our day until after our night shoot on the beach. This was exceptionally important to us as not all of our friends and family were able to make it to our wedding so now we can show them all of our pictures that tell the story of our special day. I definitely recommend them, trust me you will not be dissapointed! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
julie
Wedding:
9/22/2014
4.9/5.0
Working with Jesse and Moira was an absolute pleasure from beginning to end. After meeting them at a wedding expo and chatting with them, we decided to meet at a coffee shop to get a closer look at his work and talk about what we were looking for -they drove down from Boulder to Denver to meet us near our home. My then fiance-now-lifepartner and I (we are two women) were instantly at ease with Jesse and Moira both - they compliment each other's personalities well - Jesse is more the quiet and brilliant artist who prefers to focus on the work as much as possible. Moira is the public relations part of the team - she always knew just what to say and is a superb listener, even mind-reader at times! The fact that we are a same-sex couple was truly a non-issue for these two; they could not have been more authentically supportive, congratulatory and gracious. On the wedding day itself, it was actually kind of FUN walking around, talking with both of them while Jesse snapped shots and Moira kept us smiling and relaxed! Both of them are wonderfully laid back and unflustered by wedding stressors; they kept a sense of humor throughout and did a great job politely corralling the family members for the group shots. And, of course, the most *amazing* part of the entire experience working with Jesse and Moira was seeing the photos just a few days after the wedding... We were blown away, no joke. Our photos are out of this world, and we could not be happier with them. This was the most worthwhile expenditure of our entire wedding budget - and even though Jesse gave us a fantastic deal since our wedding was actually on a Monday - knowing what we know now after working with him, we would be willing to pay much more!! You would not be disappointed working with JLP - we are so grateful for his skill and artistry in capturing our most-important day. Thank you Jesse and Moira!!
Working with Jesse and Moira was an absolute pleasure from beginning to end. After meeting them at a wedding expo and Read more...
Working with Jesse and Moira was an absolute pleasure from beginning to end. After meeting them at a wedding expo and chatting with them, we decided to meet at a coffee shop to get a closer look at his work and talk about what we were looking for -they drove down from Boulder to Denver to meet us near our home. My then fiance-now-lifepartner and I (we are two women) were instantly at ease with Jesse and Moira both - they compliment each other's personalities well - Jesse is more the quiet and brilliant artist who prefers to focus on the work as much as possible. Moira is the public relations part of the team - she always knew just what to say and is a superb listener, even mind-reader at times! The fact that we are a same-sex couple was truly a non-issue for these two; they could not have been more authentically supportive, congratulatory and gracious. On the wedding day itself, it was actually kind of FUN walking around, talking with both of them while Jesse snapped shots and Moira kept us smiling and relaxed! Both of them are wonderfully laid back and unflustered by wedding stressors; they kept a sense of humor throughout and did a great job politely corralling the family members for the group shots. And, of course, the most *amazing* part of the entire experience working with Jesse and Moira was seeing the photos just a few days after the wedding... We were blown away, no joke. Our photos are out of this world, and we could not be happier with them. This was the most worthwhile expenditure of our entire wedding budget - and even though Jesse gave us a fantastic deal since our wedding was actually on a Monday - knowing what we know now after working with him, we would be willing to pay much more!! You would not be disappointed working with JLP - we are so grateful for his skill and artistry in capturing our most-important day. Thank you Jesse and Moira!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We truly enjoyed working with Jesse La Plante Photography for our wedding! Jesse and Moira were fun and easy to work with, and we couldn't be happier with our photos! They were very helpful in making our photos an enjoyable part of our day, and captured some beautiful moments of us and our guests!
We truly enjoyed working with Jesse La Plante Photography for our wedding! Jesse and Moira were fun and easy to work with, Read more...
We truly enjoyed working with Jesse La Plante Photography for our wedding! Jesse and Moira were fun and easy to work with, and we couldn't be happier with our photos! They were very helpful in making our photos an enjoyable part of our day, and captured some beautiful moments of us and our guests! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Seanee
Wedding:
8/23/2014
5.0/5.0
Choosing Jesse and Moira as our wedding photographers was hands down the best decision we made! Not only were they kind, very knowledgeable, and fun, they were also extremely easy to work with. Instead of telling us how things would be, they asked us about our vision, wishes, and what we did and did not want. When it came to our actual wedding day, they definitely surpassed every expectation that we had - if something came up or we wanted something different than what had originally been decided upon, they had no objections to the change(s) and, despite the overwhelming amount of people they had to corral together for photos, they never seemed stressed and were always easy going, professional, and nice. Needless to say, they went above and beyond in meeting our wishes! Furthermore, their impeccable attention to detail and their unique eye for obtaining the most incredible photos/shots are unmatched by anyone else. Jesse and Moira, and the work that they do, are unparalleled. They are by far the best in the industry!
Choosing Jesse and Moira as our wedding photographers was hands down the best decision we made! Not only were they kind, Read more...
Choosing Jesse and Moira as our wedding photographers was hands down the best decision we made! Not only were they kind, very knowledgeable, and fun, they were also extremely easy to work with. Instead of telling us how things would be, they asked us about our vision, wishes, and what we did and did not want. When it came to our actual wedding day, they definitely surpassed every expectation that we had - if something came up or we wanted something different than what had originally been decided upon, they had no objections to the change(s) and, despite the overwhelming amount of people they had to corral together for photos, they never seemed stressed and were always easy going, professional, and nice. Needless to say, they went above and beyond in meeting our wishes! Furthermore, their impeccable attention to detail and their unique eye for obtaining the most incredible photos/shots are unmatched by anyone else. Jesse and Moira, and the work that they do, are unparalleled. They are by far the best in the industry! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
zoie
Wedding:
7/12/2014
5.0/5.0
I haven't gotten my photos yet, but can hardly wait to see them. Jesse and Moira were very professional, and not obtrusive at all. I saw them getting great candid shots of me and my new hubby, and my guests, and can tell there will be some great ones in the mix. Jesse met with me several months before hand to go over his "style" and I really liked his professionalism. Moira called me a week before to make sure they had the photo list for all of the stills that I wanted done. Overall, I am very happy.
I haven't gotten my photos yet, but can hardly wait to see them. Jesse and Moira were very professional, and not obtrusive Read more...
I haven't gotten my photos yet, but can hardly wait to see them. Jesse and Moira were very professional, and not obtrusive at all. I saw them getting great candid shots of me and my new hubby, and my guests, and can tell there will be some great ones in the mix. Jesse met with me several months before hand to go over his "style" and I really liked his professionalism. Moira called me a week before to make sure they had the photo list for all of the stills that I wanted done. Overall, I am very happy. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Nick
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
These guys are the best. Jesse and Moria are great to work with. They were by far our favorite vendor at our wedding. They got all the shots we wanted, and were very professional. I would recommend them to anyone wanting great photos.
These guys are the best. Jesse and Moria are great to work with. They were by far our favorite vendor at our wedding. They Read more...
These guys are the best. Jesse and Moria are great to work with. They were by far our favorite vendor at our wedding. They got all the shots we wanted, and were very professional. I would recommend them to anyone wanting great photos. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Courtney
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
I am sooo in LOVE with the pictures from my wedding!! I absolutely could not have been happier with how they turned out! Jesse and Moira traveled all the way to Michigan for our wedding and were so wonderful! They were professional but really fun and flexible too! They do their very best to make sure you get exactly what you are looking for! When I saw my photos for the first time, it actually brought tears to my eyes....they were absolutely perfect! There is just something about Jesse's photography that is so unique, amazing and beautiful! We are so lucky to have such fantastic photos to help us remember our big day for years to come! I can PROMISE you will not be disappointed with Jesse's one of a kind photography!!
I am sooo in LOVE with the pictures from my wedding!! I absolutely could not have been happier with how they turned out! Read more...
I am sooo in LOVE with the pictures from my wedding!! I absolutely could not have been happier with how they turned out! Jesse and Moira traveled all the way to Michigan for our wedding and were so wonderful! They were professional but really fun and flexible too! They do their very best to make sure you get exactly what you are looking for! When I saw my photos for the first time, it actually brought tears to my eyes....they were absolutely perfect! There is just something about Jesse's photography that is so unique, amazing and beautiful! We are so lucky to have such fantastic photos to help us remember our big day for years to come! I can PROMISE you will not be disappointed with Jesse's one of a kind photography!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Cheryl
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Fantastic. Very professional and organized. He and his crew were like 'flies on a wall'. They did their job and stayed out of the way and didn't try to run the event. Great phototgraphers. Beautiful pictures. We were on a budget and he is one of the most reasonably priced phototgraphers that I came across, but the quality was not reduced.
Fantastic. Very professional and organized. He and his crew were like 'flies on a wall'. They did their job and stayed out Read more...
Fantastic. Very professional and organized. He and his crew were like 'flies on a wall'. They did their job and stayed out of the way and didn't try to run the event. Great phototgraphers. Beautiful pictures. We were on a budget and he is one of the most reasonably priced phototgraphers that I came across, but the quality was not reduced. Read less
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Lafayette, CO 80026 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for J. La Plante Photo
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1434993210127 jlpsquare