130x130 sq 1474743747 95393c296888bd37 j52 devils thumb ranch wedding cool night portrait

J. La Plante Photo

Aspen , CO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Denver, CO 80206 US (map)

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Jesse La Plante and Moira Kennedy are a husband and wife team who have been photographing weddings in Colorado since 2008. Located just outside of Boulder in Lafayette, they specialize... Read more
Jesse La Plante and Moira Kennedy are a husband and wife team who have been photographing weddings in Colorado since 2008. Located just outside of Boulder in Lafayette, they specialize in vibrant wedding photography for couples getting married in Colorado’s most breathtaking venues. The duo works primarily in Denver, Boulder and the Rocky Mountains, but travels all over the country – and abroad – to shoot weddings.



Our work is…

Unique
The highest compliment we receive is, “Wow, your pictures are so…different!” We got tired of seeing the same old wedding photos over and over, so when we started our business in 2008, we decided we were going to be, well… different.

Vibrant
Our photos feature rich color, genuine emotion, and dramatic angles and lighting. After all, we live in “Colorful Colorado,” so we try our best to do it justice.

Scenic
We like to create images that can stand alone as fine art landscape or architectural photographs. Whether it’s one of Colorado’s awe-inspiring mountain vistas or the urbane elegance of a venue in downtown Denver, we believe it’s important to integrate the beauty of the surrounding environs into your wedding photos.

Refined
We understand the intricacies of light and composition. At the end of the day, our goal is to make a piece of art that’s worthy of hanging on your wall.



We are…

Versatile
Weddings don’t always go according to plan. But that’s okay! If the weather isn’t cooperating, we’ll have a ton of cool photo ideas incorporating the elements. If your reception is running late and you need us to stay later than planned, no problem. If you have to change your venue at the last minute due to a flood (and yes, this has happened), we won’t bat an eye. It’s your wedding’s eccentricities that will make it unique, and as photographers, we’re willing and able to roll with the punches.

Easy to work with
We’re not easily stressed. We think it’s important for photographers to have a calming presence at a wedding. Everyone’s heard a story about a “drill-sergeant” wedding photographer who bossed everyone around all day. We like to let a wedding unfold naturally. It makes for more unique photo opportunities and promotes a relaxed and enjoyable environment for everyone involved.

Professional
We’ve been shooting weddings for over eight years. Jesse has a Bachelor’s degree in photojournalism and worked full-time as a professional photojournalist before switching over to wedding photography. Moira’s background is in event planning; she was the assistant director of presidential events at Georgetown University. Long story short, we know our shit.

Prepared
Before your wedding, we thoroughly scout your venue and surrounding environs. We take test shots and devise backup plans in case of inclement weather. We put together a timeline of your day and compile a list of important family and wedding party members. In other words, we come prepared.

Adventurous
We’ve climbed mountains, shimmied onto rooftops, stopped rush hour traffic and photographed from the trunk of a moving car. When it comes to making art, we find that the ends usually justify the means. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1474744868819 j56 mon cheri wedding colorado sunset photo
130x130 sq 1474744699698 j12 crying bride photo
130x130 sq 1474744978890 m52 devils thumb ranch wedding bride andgroom with
130x130 sq 1474744789727 j32 standley lake wedding
130x130 sq 1474744713356 j17 fox theatre detroit wedding
130x130 sq 1474744849213 j52 devils thumb ranch wedding cool night portrait
130x130 sq 1474744998411 m56 mon cheri wedding flower girl sneaking cake
130x130 sq 1474744669866 20160529 oliviacolin 1046 bw
130x130 sq 1474744957351 m46 planet bluegrass wedding toasts
130x130 sq 1474744992659 m54 shadow mountain ranch wedding bride and groom
130x130 sq 1478120909492 j54 della terra wedding bride and groom cutting ca
130x130 sq 1474744818543 j40 mile high station wedding denver skyline
130x130 sq 1474744896972 m09 copper mountain wedding
130x130 sq 1474744840245 j47 planet bluegrass wedding bride and groom by ri
130x130 sq 1474744985958 m53 cheyenne mountain resort wedding bride getting
130x130 sq 1474744875320 j57 wedgewood boulder creek groom crying during vo
130x130 sq 1478120899140 j55 downtown denver wedding bride and groom on 16t
130x130 sq 1474744721839 j19 kalamazoo country club wedding
130x130 sq 1474744741428 j23 olde town arvada engagement
130x130 sq 1474744942913 m42 beaver creek lodge wedding bride getting ready
130x130 sq 1474744861919 j55 shadow mountain ranch wedding bride and groom
130x130 sq 1474744706897 j15 dunafon castle wedding
130x130 sq 1474744687018 j03 aspen meadows resort wedding
130x130 sq 1474744669901 dsc7276
130x130 sq 1474744680270 j02 antique fire truck wedding
130x130 sq 1474744693153 j08 city park denver engagement
130x130 sq 1474744727967 j21 lake orion wedding
130x130 sq 1474744734997 j22 larimer square engagement
130x130 sq 1474744753964 j26 planet bluegrass ranch wedding
130x130 sq 1474744760452 j27 ranch country club wedding
130x130 sq 1474744929696 m36 wiens ranch wedding
130x130 sq 1474744767870 j28 red rocks engagement
130x130 sq 1478120800539 m54 cheyenne mountain resort wedding unique bride
130x130 sq 1474744773926 j29 rembrandt yard wedding
130x130 sq 1474744747253 j24 pines at genesee wedding
130x130 sq 1474744780626 j30 river lily farm wedding
130x130 sq 1474744795925 j34 studios at overland crossing wedding
130x130 sq 1478127957714 j64 boulder engagement hike with dogs
130x130 sq 1474744803784 j35 sunrise amphithreater wedding
130x130 sq 1474744951166 m45 city park denver engagement sunset photo
130x130 sq 1474744809615 j38 wiens ranch wedding
130x130 sq 1474744826157 j45 university of denver wedding garter toss
130x130 sq 1474744834068 j46 city park denver sunset engagement photo
130x130 sq 1474744855129 j54 cheyenne mountain resort wedding first dance
130x130 sq 1474744882000 j58 vail colorado wedding photographer
130x130 sq 1478120898984 j56 grand hyatt denver wedding unique portrait
130x130 sq 1478127957648 j65 horse ranch engagement shoot with horse
130x130 sq 1474744890241 m08 cheesman park engagement
130x130 sq 1478120800532 m55 downtown denver wedding bride and groom with m
130x130 sq 1474744904836 m24 pueblo hindu wedding
130x130 sq 1474744913643 m26 red rocks engagement
130x130 sq 1474744922243 m30 spruce mountain ranch wedding bride and groom
130x130 sq 1474744936012 m41 mile high station wedding cool portrait
130x130 sq 1478127998080 m64 sanitas brewing boulder engagement photographe
130x130 sq 1474744964117 m47 sloans lake denver wedding bride in limo
130x130 sq 1474744972035 m49 eldorado springs colorado sunset engagement

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What photography services do you offer?
2nd Shooter, Add'l Hours, Engagement Shoot, High-Res, Liability Insurance, Multi. Locations, One Event/Day, Trash The Dress
What photography items do you offer?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, Prints

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Sam
Wedding:
9/23/2017
5.0/5.0
Jesse and Moira are a phenomenal duo that make the process of taking photos a blast while making you feel like you're part of art in the process. Their professionalism, creativity and skill are incredible.
Jesse and Moira are a phenomenal duo that make the process of taking photos a blast while making you feel like you're part Read more...
Jesse and Moira are a phenomenal duo that make the process of taking photos a blast while making you feel like you're part of art in the process. Their professionalism, creativity and skill are incredible. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Kristen
Wedding:
10/15/2016
5.0/5.0
Jesse and Moira were absolutely fantastic. They were very reasonably priced, flexible, responsive and fun to work with. We were drawn in by their amazing landscape captures for other weddings/events (we had a mountain wedding) and their candid shots of guests. They delivered better photos than I could have imagined. I had been a little emotional the day before, so I had puffy eyes but they made me look gorgeous. Also, they are conscious of the entire day. They kept everything on time and still got all the shots we wanted and more! I cannot recommend them more. My brother is getting married soon and we will definitely be contacting Jesse again (even for a destination). They are well worth it!!!
Jesse and Moira were absolutely fantastic. They were very reasonably priced, flexible, responsive and fun to work with. We Read more...
Jesse and Moira were absolutely fantastic. They were very reasonably priced, flexible, responsive and fun to work with. We were drawn in by their amazing landscape captures for other weddings/events (we had a mountain wedding) and their candid shots of guests. They delivered better photos than I could have imagined. I had been a little emotional the day before, so I had puffy eyes but they made me look gorgeous. Also, they are conscious of the entire day. They kept everything on time and still got all the shots we wanted and more! I cannot recommend them more. My brother is getting married soon and we will definitely be contacting Jesse again (even for a destination). They are well worth it!!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Jessica
Wedding:
8/28/2016
5.0/5.0
Jesse and Moira are the best! They are such a fun and friendly couple. They accommodated our tight schedule when booking our engagement pictures and always emailed us back right away if we had questions! We had seen their work before, so we knew the pictures would be amazing - but we were absolutely blown away once we saw the final product from our wedding. We hardly even noticed them hard at work during our wedding, as they blended right in, and even with a little rain they were able to work around it and get in all our group photos and some spectacular spur-of-the-moment couple photos. They truly helped give us a unique set of pictures to help us cherish our wedding and engagement forever - and made the experience so much fun as well. We would recommend them to anyone!
Jesse and Moira are the best! They are such a fun and friendly couple. They accommodated our tight schedule when booking Read more...
Jesse and Moira are the best! They are such a fun and friendly couple. They accommodated our tight schedule when booking our engagement pictures and always emailed us back right away if we had questions! We had seen their work before, so we knew the pictures would be amazing - but we were absolutely blown away once we saw the final product from our wedding. We hardly even noticed them hard at work during our wedding, as they blended right in, and even with a little rain they were able to work around it and get in all our group photos and some spectacular spur-of-the-moment couple photos. They truly helped give us a unique set of pictures to help us cherish our wedding and engagement forever - and made the experience so much fun as well. We would recommend them to anyone! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Julie
Wedding:
8/27/2016
5.0/5.0
We ultimately decided on J. La Plante after combing through a number of other Colorado photographers whom we thought were very 'ok'. We decided on Jesse and Moira because we wanted the very best! Even with that said, J. La Plante still ended up beating the price for our second and third choices for photographer. Jesse went out of his way to call us the evening after our meeting to share with us a special package he tailored just for our needs that met our price.

We choose J. La Plante in particular for the cool strobe effect they demonstrated in many of their sample pictures; outlining the subject of the photo with a background burst of light. We also prioritized not having an album of mostly 'staged' looking photos with subjects staring directly into the camera, as we noticed in example albums from many other photographers. Jesse and Moira were masterful at catching the best of candid and 'natural' looking photos.

During our wedding day Jesse and Moira played a key role in helping coordinate and solving some logistical issues in making our special day go smoothly...all the while taking amazing pictures! They utilized the experience and skill they developed photographing for numerous other weddings.

Jesse and Moira spare nothing, once they have a vision, to execute the perfect shot. Moira was able to get businesses to grant us access to needed facilities (for our engagement shoot). Jesse didn't hesitate to take off his shoes, hike up his pants, and wade into a lake to hover his (probably extremely expensive camera) an inch above the water to make it appear as though Julie and I were standing on an endless beach by the ocean....in the middle of Colorado!

Now that were done and married, we're hearing about other couples who are asking for similar photo-shoots taken based off what they saw in our albums! J. La Plante really made us feel like celebrities!

-Ben ( using Julie's WeddingWire account :P )
We ultimately decided on J. La Plante after combing through a number of other Colorado photographers whom we thought were Read more...
We ultimately decided on J. La Plante after combing through a number of other Colorado photographers whom we thought were very 'ok'. We decided on Jesse and Moira because we wanted the very best! Even with that said, J. La Plante still ended up beating the price for our second and third choices for photographer. Jesse went out of his way to call us the evening after our meeting to share with us a special package he tailored just for our needs that met our price.

We choose J. La Plante in particular for the cool strobe effect they demonstrated in many of their sample pictures; outlining the subject of the photo with a background burst of light. We also prioritized not having an album of mostly 'staged' looking photos with subjects staring directly into the camera, as we noticed in example albums from many other photographers. Jesse and Moira were masterful at catching the best of candid and 'natural' looking photos.

During our wedding day Jesse and Moira played a key role in helping coordinate and solving some logistical issues in making our special day go smoothly...all the while taking amazing pictures! They utilized the experience and skill they developed photographing for numerous other weddings.

Jesse and Moira spare nothing, once they have a vision, to execute the perfect shot. Moira was able to get businesses to grant us access to needed facilities (for our engagement shoot). Jesse didn't hesitate to take off his shoes, hike up his pants, and wade into a lake to hover his (probably extremely expensive camera) an inch above the water to make it appear as though Julie and I were standing on an endless beach by the ocean....in the middle of Colorado!

Now that were done and married, we're hearing about other couples who are asking for similar photo-shoots taken based off what they saw in our albums! J. La Plante really made us feel like celebrities!

-Ben ( using Julie's WeddingWire account :P ) Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We chose to contact Jesse and Moira after a raving review from a friend. They were extremely responsive and willing to meet up with us to talk about our day and what we were looking for in a wedding photographer. After booking then, we had an additional meeting to talk about the specific events of the wedding day. They had a full schedule outlined and had some ideas for photo locations but would still be up at our venue a day early to scout out additional locations.
It was so relieving to let them take charge on the wedding day to coordinate first look shots, wedding party shots, family shots, etc. It was so great not to have to think about it.
We could not be happier with the quality and style of the photos, and having digital rights to every shot was a huge plus. They did such an amazing job capturing our day and were worth every penny. Our favorite shots were the ones taken outside at night. They have a great eye to create the perfect lighting for the most memorable photos.
We just received the photo book that was included in our package and can't speak highly enough of its quality. It is beautiful and they did a wonderful job selecting the perfect photos for it.
We have been recommending these photographers to every couple we know planning a wedding.
We chose to contact Jesse and Moira after a raving review from a friend. They were extremely responsive and willing to Read more...
We chose to contact Jesse and Moira after a raving review from a friend. They were extremely responsive and willing to meet up with us to talk about our day and what we were looking for in a wedding photographer. After booking then, we had an additional meeting to talk about the specific events of the wedding day. They had a full schedule outlined and had some ideas for photo locations but would still be up at our venue a day early to scout out additional locations.
It was so relieving to let them take charge on the wedding day to coordinate first look shots, wedding party shots, family shots, etc. It was so great not to have to think about it.
We could not be happier with the quality and style of the photos, and having digital rights to every shot was a huge plus. They did such an amazing job capturing our day and were worth every penny. Our favorite shots were the ones taken outside at night. They have a great eye to create the perfect lighting for the most memorable photos.
We just received the photo book that was included in our package and can't speak highly enough of its quality. It is beautiful and they did a wonderful job selecting the perfect photos for it.
We have been recommending these photographers to every couple we know planning a wedding. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Andrea
Wedding:
8/19/2016
5.0/5.0
You must have Jesse and Moira as your photographer for your wedding!!

I was a little nervous about selecting a photographer. When the memory of the day starts to fade, you are left with your photos to remember the day so you want to have top quality photos. Plus, you will be spending a lot of your time with your photographer so you want someone who will put you at ease and who you will enjoy being around. Jesse and Moira are the photographers for you. Not only are their photos AMAZING, Jesse and Moira are pure professionals. They go over and above just being a vendor with helping out with those unexpected moments that you can't plan for. They don't just sit back but help out if an extra pair of hands are needed. They fade into the background the day of the wedding and capture every moment. My husband and I always feel a little awkward being the center of attention and Jesse and Moira have a way of making you feel comfortable and at ease. It was like hanging out with friends, the tension and nervousness just melts away.
You must have Jesse and Moira as your photographer for your wedding!!

I was a little nervous about selecting a Read more...
You must have Jesse and Moira as your photographer for your wedding!!

I was a little nervous about selecting a photographer. When the memory of the day starts to fade, you are left with your photos to remember the day so you want to have top quality photos. Plus, you will be spending a lot of your time with your photographer so you want someone who will put you at ease and who you will enjoy being around. Jesse and Moira are the photographers for you. Not only are their photos AMAZING, Jesse and Moira are pure professionals. They go over and above just being a vendor with helping out with those unexpected moments that you can't plan for. They don't just sit back but help out if an extra pair of hands are needed. They fade into the background the day of the wedding and capture every moment. My husband and I always feel a little awkward being the center of attention and Jesse and Moira have a way of making you feel comfortable and at ease. It was like hanging out with friends, the tension and nervousness just melts away. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Susie
Wedding:
8/15/2016
5.0/5.0
As a professional photographer myself and mother of the groom, picking a stellar photographer was vitally important. I vividly recall meeting Jesse and Moira at the bridal show as their work stood out from all the rest-literally I was drawn to it. They were both incredibly easy to talk with and their pride and passion for their work was clearly evident. Later, they met with my now daughter in law and me (my son was out of the country on business) at the picked wedding venue and both fully answered/tolerated all my questions about their photography equipment, philosophy and style. Fortunately, they agreed to photograph an engagement shoot and the wedding despite me!

They both have a methodical workflow leaving no detail left undone and that combined with Jesse and Moira being gifted, talented , artistic, punctual, unique and professional photographers results in stunningly gorgeous images. During the wedding they are able to capture all special moments all the while being inconspicuous. Their images take you right back to that wondrous, monumental day and you know that they've "hit one out of the park" when EVERYONE that sees them LOVES them!!!
As a professional photographer myself and mother of the groom, picking a stellar photographer was vitally important. I Read more...
As a professional photographer myself and mother of the groom, picking a stellar photographer was vitally important. I vividly recall meeting Jesse and Moira at the bridal show as their work stood out from all the rest-literally I was drawn to it. They were both incredibly easy to talk with and their pride and passion for their work was clearly evident. Later, they met with my now daughter in law and me (my son was out of the country on business) at the picked wedding venue and both fully answered/tolerated all my questions about their photography equipment, philosophy and style. Fortunately, they agreed to photograph an engagement shoot and the wedding despite me!

They both have a methodical workflow leaving no detail left undone and that combined with Jesse and Moira being gifted, talented , artistic, punctual, unique and professional photographers results in stunningly gorgeous images. During the wedding they are able to capture all special moments all the while being inconspicuous. Their images take you right back to that wondrous, monumental day and you know that they've "hit one out of the park" when EVERYONE that sees them LOVES them!!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Leigh
Wedding:
8/6/2016
5.0/5.0
Jesse and Moira are a great team who captured some amazing moments at our wedding. Looking through the pictures afterward, my husband and I couldn't remember how they even managed to get some of the shots--they blend into the background of the wedding that well! We would absolutely use them again, and think other people should too. They listened to our ideas of what we wanted and made suggestions for how to adapt them to our location. The result was some amazing shots.
Jesse and Moira are a great team who captured some amazing moments at our wedding. Looking through the pictures afterward, Read more...
Jesse and Moira are a great team who captured some amazing moments at our wedding. Looking through the pictures afterward, my husband and I couldn't remember how they even managed to get some of the shots--they blend into the background of the wedding that well! We would absolutely use them again, and think other people should too. They listened to our ideas of what we wanted and made suggestions for how to adapt them to our location. The result was some amazing shots. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Kim
Wedding:
5/22/2016
5.0/5.0
Jesse and Moira were beyond wonderful. So accommodating, calm, creative, and a true pleasure to work with. They were on point and on time the entire day/night. They put so much effort into planning each moment and didn't let my husband or I worry a single bit. The best part for us was when they snuck us out in the middle of the party to take some intimate night photos. If you having a hard time deciding on a photographer all I have to say is that these two are creative and you will get photos unlike any other wedding photos out there. So much love to you two! M & K
Jesse and Moira were beyond wonderful. So accommodating, calm, creative, and a true pleasure to work with. They were on Read more...
Jesse and Moira were beyond wonderful. So accommodating, calm, creative, and a true pleasure to work with. They were on point and on time the entire day/night. They put so much effort into planning each moment and didn't let my husband or I worry a single bit. The best part for us was when they snuck us out in the middle of the party to take some intimate night photos. If you having a hard time deciding on a photographer all I have to say is that these two are creative and you will get photos unlike any other wedding photos out there. So much love to you two! M & K Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Allison
Wedding:
4/30/2016
5.0/5.0
Jesse and Moira were so great from start to finish! We live out of town and they were both so accommodating, first designing a custom package for a budget then with our schedules to have phone chats and then to meet when I was in town on short notice. Moira helped us set up our entire day from minute to minute and kept us on track without ever making us feel rushed. The photos are absolutely beautiful and we just got our album and we are just blown away!
Jesse and Moira were so great from start to finish! We live out of town and they were both so accommodating, first Read more...
Jesse and Moira were so great from start to finish! We live out of town and they were both so accommodating, first designing a custom package for a budget then with our schedules to have phone chats and then to meet when I was in town on short notice. Moira helped us set up our entire day from minute to minute and kept us on track without ever making us feel rushed. The photos are absolutely beautiful and we just got our album and we are just blown away! Read less
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Aspen, CO 81611 See On Map
 
Denver, CO 80206 See On Map
 
Vail, CO 81657 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for J. La Plante Photo
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1474743747 95393c296888bd37 j52 devils thumb ranch wedding cool night portrait