130x130 sq 1440793644418 11224292101540976897739738862424791157304852o

Jewish Heart and Soul—Rabbi-Cantor Annie Bornstein

Glen Allen , VA

LOCATION

4560 Marshall Run Circle, Apt 103
Glen Allen, VA 23059 US (map)

PHONE

804-335-4041

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

“From every human being there rises a light that reaches straight to heaven. And when two souls that are destined to be together find each other, a single brighter light goes from their... Read more
“From every human being there rises a light that reaches straight to heaven. And when two souls that are destined to be together find each other, a single brighter light goes from their united being.” - Baal Shem Tov

It would be my privilege to work with you on creating a warm, unique and inclusive ceremony that reflects your values and love.

I officiate at Jewish, Interfaith, and Same Sex Marriages Same Sex ceremonies as well as Baby Namings, Pet Memorials, and special Anniversary Celebrations.

Each couple is unique. As we get to know one another, we together create a ceremony that is reflective of you, your vision and your beliefs. Each and every ceremony is a bit different but all are warm and inclusive.

When appropriate, I am happy to co-officiate with clergy of other faiths.

It is my pleasure to serve Washington, DC, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia and areas in North Carolina. As well, I am available for destination weddings.

Again, it would be my privilege to guide you as you begin the exciting journey which leads us to your wedding.

I am happy to perform wedding services for:
▪ Jewish couples ▪ Interfaith couples ▪ Same-sex couples I happily co-officiate with clergy of other faiths in a neutral venue.


I look forward to hearing from you! I may be reached at 804-335-4041 or through Jewishheartandsoul.com. Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1440792832651 11850720101540976907689732981564845572369522o
130x130 sq 1440792984476 11224292101540976897739738862424791157304852o
130x130 sq 1440793093074 11058573101541164089289738483424835301375244o
130x130 sq 1438620012865 persian sofre
130x130 sq 1433723757793 bride  bride
130x130 sq 1436151660370 mature bride  groom
130x130 sq 1388805841360 jeffwhitneybolle phot
130x130 sq 1421779723593 yay were married
130x130 sq 1421779580851 meredith aaron 1528
130x130 sq 1421780420887 sarahphoto2
130x130 sq 1421779457594 10341451102033400586551081289239399712872932n
130x130 sq 1421779605662 so pretty
130x130 sq 1421779472169 rachel  iain
130x130 sq 1421779827881 2
130x130 sq 1421780112652 2
130x130 sq 1421780246270 rabbi  bishop best
130x130 sq 1421779766950 bridephoto
130x130 sq 1421779807622 emilyandjon copy
130x130 sq 1421779488172 photo bride  groom
130x130 sq 1421779948806 2
130x130 sq 1421780193728 kenand
130x130 sq 1421780497721 2014 04 26 15.34.28
130x130 sq 1402234577308 sarahphoto2
130x130 sq 1419087260810 air force wedding couple
130x130 sq 1414628885301 meredith aaron 1528
130x130 sq 1417452865063 1
130x130 sq 1417452984993 1
130x130 sq 1417453059508 3
130x130 sq 1417452869333 3
130x130 sq 1417452872024 4
130x130 sq 1417452873676 5
130x130 sq 1417452987479 2
130x130 sq 1417452989695 3
130x130 sq 1417452867811 2
130x130 sq 1417453056076 1
130x130 sq 1417453057911 2
130x130 sq 1417453370662 1
130x130 sq 1417453377392 3
130x130 sq 1417453380541 4
130x130 sq 1417453707809 2
130x130 sq 1417453710760 5
130x130 sq 1417454114591 1
130x130 sq 1417454116529 2
130x130 sq 1388805272013 bridephot
130x130 sq 1388805146363 kwonphot
130x130 sq 1405219954039 in love.
130x130 sq 1432594071685 im ready
130x130 sq 1432594123539 fullsizerender 1
130x130 sq 1388838059901 kwonphot
130x130 sq 1435504143146 melissa  parents
130x130 sq 1434391327882 helen vasaly photo copy copy 4
130x130 sq 1388837586988 bridegroom   real
130x130 sq 1438620382460 2014 04 26 15.34.28
130x130 sq 1399685664444 another beautiful bride..
130x130 sq 1405220010793 im so happy.
130x130 sq 1405220128461 were ready.
130x130 sq 1403407270618 ketubah lc 2
130x130 sq 1403445102768 kenand
130x130 sq 1438618381809 unique chuppah
130x130 sq 1401027696279 jessicatravi
130x130 sq 1413664815482 home weddig x
130x130 sq 1413816375859 rabbibishopunderchuppah
130x130 sq 1413816405630 rabbibishopunderchuppah
130x130 sq 1413816494582 photo bride  groom
130x130 sq 1419090437097 rabbi  bishop best
130x130 sq 1424563763008 helen vasaly photo copy copy 4
130x130 sq 1433723807109 keubah   ornate
130x130 sq 1434391005795 untitled
130x130 sq 1433723911397 framhoue wedding
130x130 sq 1435504090303 keubah   ornate copy
130x130 sq 1413816762189 ketubahleeronchadd
130x130 sq 1431638551500 ketubah full on
130x130 sq 1431638472966 sharadaphoyo
130x130 sq 1388838262519 chuppah manda
130x130 sq 1432473999980 2015 05 23 17.26.39
130x130 sq 1432473933179 2015 05 23 17.02.43
130x130 sq 1433724069734 wedding on farm copy
130x130 sq 1432474090139 2015 05 23 17.05.11
130x130 sq 1432474180627 2015 05 23 17.02.16
130x130 sq 1432594277876 fullsizerender
130x130 sq 1432594332600 2015 05 23 17.19.09
130x130 sq 1432594390768 2015 05 23 17.02.43
130x130 sq 1433723698896 sooo happy
130x130 sq 1438620055715 fullsizerender 40
130x130 sq 1438620136766 willard hoteldc
130x130 sq 1438620087585 sultry beauty
130x130 sq 1434390837347 horticultural alexandria wedding
130x130 sq 1435503779752 tinaben photo
130x130 sq 1434390742541 gaylord wedding
130x130 sq 1419089448845 air force groom builds chuppah good
130x130 sq 1419089450079 air force couple   andrews af base good
130x130 sq 1419089451313 air force bride good
130x130 sq 1419089452514 the guys andrew af base wedding good
130x130 sq 1435504231210 melissa  parents
130x130 sq 1437944896643 in love
130x130 sq 1436711199621 bride is ready
130x130 sq 1436711277258 bride is ready
130x130 sq 1436711185094 were ready
130x130 sq 1436711233911 bride is ready
130x130 sq 1438618921800 helen vasaly photo copy copy 4
130x130 sq 1439488086280 the family
130x130 sq 1439488227517 bridesmaid cuties
130x130 sq 1439488341401 bridesmaid cuties
130x130 sq 1439488140570 setting up
130x130 sq 1441040550418 happy wedding day
130x130 sq 1441040598616 ketubah time
130x130 sq 1441040705458 ketubah time

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What types of weddings and events do you provide services for?
Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious, Single Religion, Vow Renewal
What services do you provide?
Allow Couples' Own Vows, Licensed, Premarital Counseling
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Agnostic, Jewish
On average, how long are wedding ceremonies you officiate?
<30 Mins.
In which states are you licensed?
DC, MD, NC, NY, VA

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Rabbi-Cantor Bornstein conducted a lovely service. She spoke with passion and integrity, explained traditions clearly and meaningfully, and sang beautifully. Rabbi-Cantor Bornstein provided worthwhile advice before the wedding, was always accessible when questions arose, and was very patient and helpful.
Rabbi-Cantor Bornstein conducted a lovely service. She spoke with passion and integrity, explained traditions clearly and Read more...
Rabbi-Cantor Bornstein conducted a lovely service. She spoke with passion and integrity, explained traditions clearly and meaningfully, and sang beautifully. Rabbi-Cantor Bornstein provided worthwhile advice before the wedding, was always accessible when questions arose, and was very patient and helpful. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
130x130 sq 1440775286837 avatar
Dr. Maryam Nazemzadeh and Michael
Wedding:
8/1/2015
5.0/5.0
Rabbi Annie was remarkable - better than anything we could have ever imagined. She had the difficult job of officiating a 1/2 Persian and 1/2 Jewish wedding with an Imam. She did an incredible job integrating the ceremonies and leading a transition from the Persian ceremony to the Jewish.

She speaks beautifully. She did a wonderful job explaining the meaning of marriage and the meaning of our relationship. She also did a wonderful job of explaining the Jewish traditions so that everyone felt included. Her singing is incredible and even surprised us. She has a powerful voice.

Annie has great vision and creativity and knows how to design ceremonies from scratch. She is also inclusive and knows how to defer to the wants/needs of the couple so that what ultimately gets designed is the result of a true collaborative process.

We also loved our counseling sessions. Annie always makes you feel loved and safe. She is full of knowledge and we learned a lot from her.

She is A+++++.
Rabbi Annie was remarkable - better than anything we could have ever imagined. She had the difficult job of officiating a Read more...
Rabbi Annie was remarkable - better than anything we could have ever imagined. She had the difficult job of officiating a 1/2 Persian and 1/2 Jewish wedding with an Imam. She did an incredible job integrating the ceremonies and leading a transition from the Persian ceremony to the Jewish.

She speaks beautifully. She did a wonderful job explaining the meaning of marriage and the meaning of our relationship. She also did a wonderful job of explaining the Jewish traditions so that everyone felt included. Her singing is incredible and even surprised us. She has a powerful voice.

Annie has great vision and creativity and knows how to design ceremonies from scratch. She is also inclusive and knows how to defer to the wants/needs of the couple so that what ultimately gets designed is the result of a true collaborative process.

We also loved our counseling sessions. Annie always makes you feel loved and safe. She is full of knowledge and we learned a lot from her.

She is A+++++. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Shelby
Wedding:
7/11/2015
5.0/5.0
Rabbi Annie was unbelievable every step of our wedding process. We had an unique situation living abroad up until the wedding but we kept in touch via Skype and email. Our ceremony was perfect and everyone complemented how well she did. We had an interfaith marriage and she did a great job explaining the traditions. She truly made the ceremony about us and we really enjoyed working with her. We would recommend her to EVERYONE!
Rabbi Annie was unbelievable every step of our wedding process. We had an unique situation living abroad up until the Read more...
Rabbi Annie was unbelievable every step of our wedding process. We had an unique situation living abroad up until the wedding but we kept in touch via Skype and email. Our ceremony was perfect and everyone complemented how well she did. We had an interfaith marriage and she did a great job explaining the traditions. She truly made the ceremony about us and we really enjoyed working with her. We would recommend her to EVERYONE! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Judith
Wedding:
7/5/2015
5.0/5.0
Annie was so wonderful and a delight at the service. She really made the ceremony special and everyone loved loved loved her singing of the 7 blessings. It was perfect !!
Annie was so wonderful and a delight at the service. She really made the ceremony special and everyone loved loved loved Read more...
Annie was so wonderful and a delight at the service. She really made the ceremony special and everyone loved loved loved her singing of the 7 blessings. It was perfect !! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Judith
Wedding:
7/5/2015
5.0/5.0
Rabbi Annie made our wedding the special Jewish occasion we had hoped for. She spent a good deal of time learning about us, our families, and why we had decided to ""try it again". We were so happy that she was a part of the celebration. The highlight of the ceremony (in addition to the breaking of the glass) was the 7 blessings that she sang, they were beautiful. Our 5 children were included in the ceremony and it was indeed beautiful.

Thank you so much for helping us tie the knot and bring our two families together as one.

Judith and Mark
Rabbi Annie made our wedding the special Jewish occasion we had hoped for. She spent a good deal of time learning about Read more...
Rabbi Annie made our wedding the special Jewish occasion we had hoped for. She spent a good deal of time learning about us, our families, and why we had decided to ""try it again". We were so happy that she was a part of the celebration. The highlight of the ceremony (in addition to the breaking of the glass) was the 7 blessings that she sang, they were beautiful. Our 5 children were included in the ceremony and it was indeed beautiful.

Thank you so much for helping us tie the knot and bring our two families together as one.

Judith and Mark Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
AD
Wedding:
6/6/2015
5.0/5.0
As an inter-faith, same sex couple, we were happy to find Rabbi Annie through an online search. Initially, we were seeking a rabbi who would officiate for our wedding before sundown on the Sabbath because our belief system didn’t preclude us from marrying on a Saturday. In Rabbi Annie, we found more than an officiant. Annie helped make the experience of preparing for our nuptials thoughtful, intimate, and special; and what she brought to the big day, itself, made the ceremony powerful, rich and meaningful both for us and our guests.

Annie understood and appreciated that our belief systems include a blend of secular Humanism and Judaism, and worked with us to plan the right balance of Jewish ritual with non-religious content. Annie worked with us to create a ceremony that blended tradition and modernity.

Rabbi Annie was generous with her time in pre-ceremony consultations. And she both patiently and assertively advised us to act on ceremony priorities when wedding planning got hectic. She worked well with our style of planning, and brought everything together prior to the ceremony so all pieces fell into place.
As an inter-faith, same sex couple, we were happy to find Rabbi Annie through an online search. Initially, we were seeking Read more...
As an inter-faith, same sex couple, we were happy to find Rabbi Annie through an online search. Initially, we were seeking a rabbi who would officiate for our wedding before sundown on the Sabbath because our belief system didn’t preclude us from marrying on a Saturday. In Rabbi Annie, we found more than an officiant. Annie helped make the experience of preparing for our nuptials thoughtful, intimate, and special; and what she brought to the big day, itself, made the ceremony powerful, rich and meaningful both for us and our guests.

Annie understood and appreciated that our belief systems include a blend of secular Humanism and Judaism, and worked with us to plan the right balance of Jewish ritual with non-religious content. Annie worked with us to create a ceremony that blended tradition and modernity.

Rabbi Annie was generous with her time in pre-ceremony consultations. And she both patiently and assertively advised us to act on ceremony priorities when wedding planning got hectic. She worked well with our style of planning, and brought everything together prior to the ceremony so all pieces fell into place. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Rabbi Cantor Annie was a phenomenal officiant. After my home Rabbi would not co-officiate I was really disappointed but I got connected with Rabbi Cantor Annie and she reassured me and gave me the comfort of a warming officiant. On the wedding day she was wonderful and did everything we asked and her performance surpassed expectations. We were so pleased!
Rabbi Cantor Annie was a phenomenal officiant. After my home Rabbi would not co-officiate I was really disappointed but I Read more...
Rabbi Cantor Annie was a phenomenal officiant. After my home Rabbi would not co-officiate I was really disappointed but I got connected with Rabbi Cantor Annie and she reassured me and gave me the comfort of a warming officiant. On the wedding day she was wonderful and did everything we asked and her performance surpassed expectations. We were so pleased! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Jewish Heart and Soul—Rabbi-Cantor Annie Bornstein responded with the following comments:

I don't know who wrote this review but I wanted to tell you how much your words mean to me. I know how disappointing it was for you not to be able to have your home rabbi officiate. If I was able to make your wedding ceremony warm…if you felt good about it…then it is YOU have given me a great gift. Thank you...
Default vendor profile pic
Lauren
Wedding:
5/23/2015
5.0/5.0
Rabbi Annie exceeded all of my expectations. My husband is Jewish and it was important to me to have a Jewish ceremony as I hope to convert after the wedding. While wanting to keep Jewish traditions, I also wanted to make sure the ceremony reflected us as a couple and felt personal. Through our meetings, Rabbi Annie really got to know us and understand our relationship. We reviewed a traditional Jewish wedding program and Rabbi Annie helped me alter the layout to better fit our needs. Even after our meetings I still wasn't sure what to expect from the ceremony, as I had never been to a Jewish wedding. I was completely blown away by how perfect it was. As the majority of our guests were not Jewish, Rabbi Annie took the time to explain the different elements of the service. She also incorporated conversations that we had in our meetings to share with the guests the love my husband and I have for each other. She knew we wanted the ceremony to be under 30 minutes, and she had it completed in 22! Every guest I spoke to during our cocktail hour couldn't stop talking about how perfect the ceremony was.

Rabbi Annie thank you so much for guiding me through this process and making our ceremony so incredibly special.
Rabbi Annie exceeded all of my expectations. My husband is Jewish and it was important to me to have a Jewish ceremony as Read more...
Rabbi Annie exceeded all of my expectations. My husband is Jewish and it was important to me to have a Jewish ceremony as I hope to convert after the wedding. While wanting to keep Jewish traditions, I also wanted to make sure the ceremony reflected us as a couple and felt personal. Through our meetings, Rabbi Annie really got to know us and understand our relationship. We reviewed a traditional Jewish wedding program and Rabbi Annie helped me alter the layout to better fit our needs. Even after our meetings I still wasn't sure what to expect from the ceremony, as I had never been to a Jewish wedding. I was completely blown away by how perfect it was. As the majority of our guests were not Jewish, Rabbi Annie took the time to explain the different elements of the service. She also incorporated conversations that we had in our meetings to share with the guests the love my husband and I have for each other. She knew we wanted the ceremony to be under 30 minutes, and she had it completed in 22! Every guest I spoke to during our cocktail hour couldn't stop talking about how perfect the ceremony was.

Rabbi Annie thank you so much for guiding me through this process and making our ceremony so incredibly special. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Jessica
Wedding:
4/26/2015
5.0/5.0
Rabbi Annie was absolutely fabulous. She was always very responsive. In fact, when my grandmother was quite ill on a Friday night and we couldn't reach any other rabbis to come say a prayer, Rabbi Annie answered my calls and said the prayers via speakerphone for us. It was quite a blessing. Rabbi Annie really took the time to get to know us during our premarital sessions and put together a beautiful service for the wedding. Our friends and family were very impressed. Would definitely recommend her to anyone looking for a wonderful Rabbi to be by their side on their special day.
Rabbi Annie was absolutely fabulous. She was always very responsive. In fact, when my grandmother was quite ill on a Read more...
Rabbi Annie was absolutely fabulous. She was always very responsive. In fact, when my grandmother was quite ill on a Friday night and we couldn't reach any other rabbis to come say a prayer, Rabbi Annie answered my calls and said the prayers via speakerphone for us. It was quite a blessing. Rabbi Annie really took the time to get to know us during our premarital sessions and put together a beautiful service for the wedding. Our friends and family were very impressed. Would definitely recommend her to anyone looking for a wonderful Rabbi to be by their side on their special day. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Richard
Wedding:
11/1/2014
5.0/5.0
Rabbi-Cantor Annie Bornstein and I recently co-officiated at my niece's wedding at the University of Virginia Chapel. It quickly became a warm and wonderful collaboration as we crafted a ceremony that honored the religious traditions of a Jewish - Christian union, and of course, the wishes of the couple. All of us were deeply moved by Annie's beautiful voice chanting of the Seven Wedding Blessings and her stories and explanations of the Jewish wedding customs which were part of this service. The result was a beautiful ceremony and a lovely memory for the couple, their families and friends.

The Reverend Richard H. White
Rabbi-Cantor Annie Bornstein and I recently co-officiated at my niece's wedding at the University of Virginia Chapel. It Read more...
Rabbi-Cantor Annie Bornstein and I recently co-officiated at my niece's wedding at the University of Virginia Chapel. It quickly became a warm and wonderful collaboration as we crafted a ceremony that honored the religious traditions of a Jewish - Christian union, and of course, the wishes of the couple. All of us were deeply moved by Annie's beautiful voice chanting of the Seven Wedding Blessings and her stories and explanations of the Jewish wedding customs which were part of this service. The result was a beautiful ceremony and a lovely memory for the couple, their families and friends.

The Reverend Richard H. White Read less
Services Used: Officiant

DEALS

The GIFT of Premarital Counseling - No charge!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $375 Value
Three (3) free pre-marital counseling sessions via Skype or in person depending upon location. This significant and beneficial deal is valued at $375.00!!!

Offer Expires: 12/31/2015
Deal #WW3dd54370319d3adf
220x220 1440793644418 11224292101540976897739738862424791157304852o

MAP

 
4560 Marshall Run Circle, Apt 103, Glen Allen, VA 23059 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Jewish Heart and Soul—Rabbi-Cantor Annie Bornstein
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1440793644418 11224292101540976897739738862424791157304852o