130x130_sq_1224161625962-jim130

Jim Casey Entertainment LLC

Sarasota , FL

LOCATION

5077-109 Fruitville Rd, #250
Sarasota, FL US 34232 (map)
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Hello, my name is Jim Casey, a Full-Time professional DJ Entertainment Host, and two-time winner of Wedding Wire's Bride's Choice Awards.

My job is to be your musical... Read more
Hello, my name is Jim Casey, a Full-Time professional DJ Entertainment Host, and two-time winner of Wedding Wire's Bride's Choice Awards.

My job is to be your musical representative at your wedding reception and to provide FUN while maintaining the ELEGANCE of the occasion.

I have over two decades of experience providing detailed pre-planning, superior music programming, DJ & MC skills & tasteful interaction at hundreds of weddings.

I will coordinate ALL the details with the vendors involved, to ensure EVERYTHING happens with perfection! Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1241446586500-jimbetjhelinn150

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
My style is whatever your wedding needs it to be.
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
The only limit is the tme alotted. The average sone is about 4 minutes, meaning I could play an average of 15 songs oer hour, or more if I am beat mixing.
What is your usual attire?
I will dress in a tuxedo unless otherwise requested
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
Given at least 30 days notice, I will guarantee to provide all music required.
How many other DJs do you work with?
I am a single operator, but network with members of the Tampa Bay Bridal Association.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
There is not a minimum of time required. However, there is a charge for wedding Entertainment, dependant on day, time, and location.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
Always - and with unlimited pre-wedding consultations
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
Bar and Bat Mitzvah Entertainment
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Yes. This is done on my exclusive wedding web portal.
Do you bring your own equipment?
The equipment used at events is mine.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
I offer upgraded lighting, custom monograms, slide shows and more. Inquire for details.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
My 7-Point Peace of Mind Money Back Guarantee gives you the time frame of 60-90 minutes BEFORE an event begins.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
Only if extra equipment is required.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No. This is compeltely tacky and takes away from the atmosphere.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
This is up to the client.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
I do not require a meal break.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
No breaks are taken.
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes, members of the Tampa Bay Bridal Association.
What is your overtime rate?
Overtime generally starts at $300 per hour
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
No. All packages are all-inclusive. Lodging charges may be added for long-distance receptions.

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
12/29/2013
4.9/5.0
LOVE the client portal! Jim makes it so easy to plan your music for your event. The worksheets he provides are easy to follow and easy to fill out. He didn't have two of the songs I wanted for my ceremony but that was taken care of when I emailed them to him. Easy peasy!! Super easy to work with!!! Jim is a real friendly guy and is very good at his job. If I ever plan a big event again he is my first choice for a DJ.
LOVE the client portal! Jim makes it so easy to plan your music for your event. The worksheets he provides are easy to Read more...
LOVE the client portal! Jim makes it so easy to plan your music for your event. The worksheets he provides are easy to follow and easy to fill out. He didn't have two of the songs I wanted for my ceremony but that was taken care of when I emailed them to him. Easy peasy!! Super easy to work with!!! Jim is a real friendly guy and is very good at his job. If I ever plan a big event again he is my first choice for a DJ. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Glenn and Anna
Wedding:
3/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim did a wonderful job at our wedding. Being this was a second wedding for both my bride and I, we wanted to dispense with most of the traditions (throwing the bouquet, the garter, the dollar dance, etc.) and focus on ensuring our guests had an awesome time. Jim played the music that made this happen. Jim listened to us thoroughly during our consultation and did exactly what we requested for the wedding. He also threw in lots of suggestions, some which we did and some we passed. I would highly recommend him to any one who needs DJ services in the future and would definitely use and recommend him to our friends.
Jim did a wonderful job at our wedding. Being this was a second wedding for both my bride and I, we wanted to dispense Read more...
Jim did a wonderful job at our wedding. Being this was a second wedding for both my bride and I, we wanted to dispense with most of the traditions (throwing the bouquet, the garter, the dollar dance, etc.) and focus on ensuring our guests had an awesome time. Jim played the music that made this happen. Jim listened to us thoroughly during our consultation and did exactly what we requested for the wedding. He also threw in lots of suggestions, some which we did and some we passed. I would highly recommend him to any one who needs DJ services in the future and would definitely use and recommend him to our friends. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lorrie
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim was great. He was organized & professional. Jim put my mind at ease knowing that he would handle & take care of this piece of the celebration, which he most certainly did. I did not have to worry or wonder about anything.
I would highly recommend Jim!
Sincerely,
Lorrie
Jim was great. He was organized & professional. Jim put my mind at ease knowing that he would handle & take care of this Read more...
Jim was great. He was organized & professional. Jim put my mind at ease knowing that he would handle & take care of this piece of the celebration, which he most certainly did. I did not have to worry or wonder about anything.
I would highly recommend Jim!
Sincerely,
Lorrie Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maine38
Wedding:
9/20/2008
5.0/5.0
Jim was excellent to work with. He is extremely professional and really listens to his customers. He helped make our reception special and FUN! We had a variety of guests from small children to elderly family members to crazy younger friends to catholic nuns and Jim managed to keep everyone happy and dancing. He knows how to read and please a crowd. He seamlessly shortened some of the lame songs my husband and I picked as must plays when they caused a mass dance floor exodus but he played all of the songs we asked for and stayed away from the types of music we can't stand. I can't say enough about him- he is well worth the cost! He even worked with my husband secretly to plan a surprise for our first dance and slipped him the score of the ball game from time to time- my husband loved him! Book Jim now.
Jim was excellent to work with. He is extremely professional and really listens to his customers. He helped make our Read more...
Jim was excellent to work with. He is extremely professional and really listens to his customers. He helped make our reception special and FUN! We had a variety of guests from small children to elderly family members to crazy younger friends to catholic nuns and Jim managed to keep everyone happy and dancing. He knows how to read and please a crowd. He seamlessly shortened some of the lame songs my husband and I picked as must plays when they caused a mass dance floor exodus but he played all of the songs we asked for and stayed away from the types of music we can't stand. I can't say enough about him- he is well worth the cost! He even worked with my husband secretly to plan a surprise for our first dance and slipped him the score of the ball game from time to time- my husband loved him! Book Jim now. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shelly
Wedding:
9/6/2008
5.0/5.0
Jim was outstanding! He provided alternate driving routes for my guests to avoid a potential traffic issue. He was also extremely friendly,arrived in a tuxedo and provided a wide range of music to satisfy a very diverse crowd of wedding guests. Everyone had a wonderful time!
Jim was outstanding! He provided alternate driving routes for my guests to avoid a potential traffic issue. He was also Read more...
Jim was outstanding! He provided alternate driving routes for my guests to avoid a potential traffic issue. He was also extremely friendly,arrived in a tuxedo and provided a wide range of music to satisfy a very diverse crowd of wedding guests. Everyone had a wonderful time! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julz14
Wedding:
6/28/2008
2.8/5.0
Having the right DJ is very important in making your reception fun for all. I was plainng a wedding 4 hours away from home so finding the right dj was going to be hard seeing that I didn't know any from that area. We ended up hiring Jim Casey and although he was an OK dj, he wasn't what I thought I was hiring. We paid 1400.00 for him to entertain as well as dj. He did no entertaining. He simply played the music that I picked out and told him to play. He does have nice small set up for himself with wireless speakers which was a plus in a small reception facilities but what I was most surprised about was the fact that someone that charged 1400.00 for 5 hours didn't own a wireless microphone for the Best Man and Matron of Honor to speak. He gave them a wireless headset....the photos look great. He was just an ok dj, I could have paid a lot less and gotten the same service from someone else.
Having the right DJ is very important in making your reception fun for all. I was plainng a wedding 4 hours away from home Read more...
Having the right DJ is very important in making your reception fun for all. I was plainng a wedding 4 hours away from home so finding the right dj was going to be hard seeing that I didn't know any from that area. We ended up hiring Jim Casey and although he was an OK dj, he wasn't what I thought I was hiring. We paid 1400.00 for him to entertain as well as dj. He did no entertaining. He simply played the music that I picked out and told him to play. He does have nice small set up for himself with wireless speakers which was a plus in a small reception facilities but what I was most surprised about was the fact that someone that charged 1400.00 for 5 hours didn't own a wireless microphone for the Best Man and Matron of Honor to speak. He gave them a wireless headset....the photos look great. He was just an ok dj, I could have paid a lot less and gotten the same service from someone else. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Jim Casey Entertainment LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the honest review about June 28, 2008.

Julie and Stuart were wonderful to work with. It is unfortunate that I did not hear of these issues until months after the wedding, but we did discusss this by phone the on January 29, 2009 so I could get a better understanding from their perspective.

"He did no Entertaining" - This was a misunderstanding between the bride & groom and me. My interpretation of our consultations was that she wanted the party to happen and to have the DJ be laid back. Her expectation (I found out with this review) was one that would constantly interact and pump up the crowd.

I got this one wrong and take full responsibility.

"Didn't own a wireless microphone" - As is required in my 7-Point Peace of Mind Money Back Guaranmtee, I always carry two wireless microphones, one handheld and one headset. Unfortunately, the handheld gave me issues that I could not fix on-site in Bethel. As a result, the toasts had to be done on my wireless headset, not a perfect situation, but I improvised on the fly.

As a result, I have sent the couple a partial refund and a certificate for a FREE 4 hour event in Maine, New Hampshire, and Massachusetts - up to $1400 in value.

It is unfortunate that these mistakes occured, but they will be remedied and not repeated.

Policy changes:

1. Style of DJ/MC will be a section on my forms and at pre-wedding consultations I will double check to make sure what style is required.

2. 4 Wireless Microphones on-site as part of my 7-Point Peace of Mind Money Back Guarantee - 2 Handheld, 2 Headset (plus 2 Lavalier if I am providing music and sound at a ceremony)

Thank you again for the review.


Jim Casey
Jim Casey Entertainment
www.djmaine.com

(877) DJ-MAINE
130x130_sq_1227621491796-kiss
bsensenig
Wedding:
8/18/2007
4.9/5.0
I was living in a different state while planning my Maine wedding, and had to find vendors over the phone, for the most part. I do not recommend this, as it is a nightmare, and I ended up talking to some VERY unprofessional "wedding professionals". This was as far from the case as possible when I was working with Jim. From the moment I sent him my "check the availability of my date" request, he was professional and responsive. He spent a lot of time telling me about his services, and his philosophy when it comes to his business. I felt respected, and appreciated, and immediately booked him. We did not have a lot of flexibility when it came to planning time, and he was able to meet with us on our schedule and really listed to our preferences. From P Funk to Sinatra, Jim really had it all. We danced ALL NIGHT! Even the grandparents. He made the evening seamless, and was a great MC. Book Jim, you WILL NOT regret it!
I was living in a different state while planning my Maine wedding, and had to find vendors over the phone, for the most Read more...
I was living in a different state while planning my Maine wedding, and had to find vendors over the phone, for the most part. I do not recommend this, as it is a nightmare, and I ended up talking to some VERY unprofessional "wedding professionals". This was as far from the case as possible when I was working with Jim. From the moment I sent him my "check the availability of my date" request, he was professional and responsive. He spent a lot of time telling me about his services, and his philosophy when it comes to his business. I felt respected, and appreciated, and immediately booked him. We did not have a lot of flexibility when it came to planning time, and he was able to meet with us on our schedule and really listed to our preferences. From P Funk to Sinatra, Jim really had it all. We danced ALL NIGHT! Even the grandparents. He made the evening seamless, and was a great MC. Book Jim, you WILL NOT regret it! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbara
Wedding:
7/7/2007
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were living in Callifornia and planning a wedding in Massachusetts. I just happened to be looking on line for DJ's and I found Jim Casey. I had previously contacted a couple of other DJ's, but they were not prompt at returning calls and had little enthusiam. When I contacted Jim Casey, he was was totally different and a breath fo fresh air. He returned all my calls promptly, was very friendly and accommodating, and willing to work with me in anyway possible. His website was user friendly and I was able to easily select all our favorite songs for the reception as well as music for special dances and wedding traditions. Jim did a great job with all aspects of the reception and gave it all a personal touch. Due to time limitions on our part, we were unable to meet with Jim prior to the reception and only meet him for the first time at the reception. Despite that, Jim had everything under control and did a fantastic job. My husband and I were extremely pleased with the kindness and professionalism of Jim Casey. We would highly recommended him to be a part of anyone's special day.
My husband and I were living in Callifornia and planning a wedding in Massachusetts. I just happened to be looking on line Read more...
My husband and I were living in Callifornia and planning a wedding in Massachusetts. I just happened to be looking on line for DJ's and I found Jim Casey. I had previously contacted a couple of other DJ's, but they were not prompt at returning calls and had little enthusiam. When I contacted Jim Casey, he was was totally different and a breath fo fresh air. He returned all my calls promptly, was very friendly and accommodating, and willing to work with me in anyway possible. His website was user friendly and I was able to easily select all our favorite songs for the reception as well as music for special dances and wedding traditions. Jim did a great job with all aspects of the reception and gave it all a personal touch. Due to time limitions on our part, we were unable to meet with Jim prior to the reception and only meet him for the first time at the reception. Despite that, Jim had everything under control and did a fantastic job. My husband and I were extremely pleased with the kindness and professionalism of Jim Casey. We would highly recommended him to be a part of anyone's special day. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suzanne
Wedding:
6/30/2007
5.0/5.0
Jim is wonderful! My husband and I were planning a wedding that would be combining 2 families with a total of 5 children ranging in age from 5-20. Just our immdiate familiy was multi-generational!. Between the children and my husband and I , our choices for music were varied. We also were having Jim do the pre-wedding, wedding , cocktail hour, dinner music and dance. Plus we had a whole list of gotts haves. Jim spent about 4 hours with myself and my 18 year old daughter choosing all the music, prosessional, recessional.... My husband and I wanted our guest to have a blast and "talk " about our wedding as being the best party they had been to. I mean we have all been to "ho hum" receptions. With jim's help our guest are still talking about what a great time they had. He kept the party rolling. The dance floor was never empty. Thank You Jim!
Jim is wonderful! My husband and I were planning a wedding that would be combining 2 families with a total of 5 children Read more...
Jim is wonderful! My husband and I were planning a wedding that would be combining 2 families with a total of 5 children ranging in age from 5-20. Just our immdiate familiy was multi-generational!. Between the children and my husband and I , our choices for music were varied. We also were having Jim do the pre-wedding, wedding , cocktail hour, dinner music and dance. Plus we had a whole list of gotts haves. Jim spent about 4 hours with myself and my 18 year old daughter choosing all the music, prosessional, recessional.... My husband and I wanted our guest to have a blast and "talk " about our wedding as being the best party they had been to. I mean we have all been to "ho hum" receptions. With jim's help our guest are still talking about what a great time they had. He kept the party rolling. The dance floor was never empty. Thank You Jim! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
toby
Wedding:
7/21/2006
5.0/5.0
Jim Casey is a great DJ and a complete professional. The most important thing about Jim is that he listens to what you want out of your event. He does as much or as little as you want and is super easy to work with. He does the event the way you want it done and he helps guide you through the whole process seamlessly. It was easy to pick our music through his website and all of our phone conversations were professional and productive. He kept everyone dancing and having a great time. Everyone had a blast at our wedding and one of the main reasons was because of Jim Casey. I would highly recommend Jim Casey to anyone. He also did my sister's wedding and that's how we chose Jim for our wedding. Book Jim, and you will be completely satisfied.
Jim Casey is a great DJ and a complete professional. The most important thing about Jim is that he listens to what you Read more...
Jim Casey is a great DJ and a complete professional. The most important thing about Jim is that he listens to what you want out of your event. He does as much or as little as you want and is super easy to work with. He does the event the way you want it done and he helps guide you through the whole process seamlessly. It was easy to pick our music through his website and all of our phone conversations were professional and productive. He kept everyone dancing and having a great time. Everyone had a blast at our wedding and one of the main reasons was because of Jim Casey. I would highly recommend Jim Casey to anyone. He also did my sister's wedding and that's how we chose Jim for our wedding. Book Jim, and you will be completely satisfied. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ

MAP

 
5077-109 Fruitville Rd, #250, Sarasota, FL 34232 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Jim Casey Entertainment LLC
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1224161625962-jim130