130x130_sq_1233266139546-bloglogo

Jim Kennedy Photographers

Costa Mesa , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

930 W.16th St. #B1
Costa Mesa, CA US 92627 (map)

PHONE

800-264-4558

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Jim and his amazing team of photographers have become one of the most sought after studios in Orange County. Jim's passion for weddings is evident in your first meeting with him. Jim... Read more
Jim and his amazing team of photographers have become one of the most sought after studios in Orange County. Jim's passion for weddings is evident in your first meeting with him. Jim feels so blessed to have the opportunity to photograph so many amazing couples every year. The studio prides itself that almost 100% of the bookings are from referrals.They say once you find what you love to do you'll never work another day in your life. This is Jim's life. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1233268485468-peacock_3526
130x130_sq_1233268448906-parra_2813
130x130_sq_1233269195765-hobbs_233
130x130_sq_1233268097046-klimas_3051
130x130_sq_1233268719359-felsot_0764
130x130_sq_1233267781656-buccola_2993
130x130_sq_1233267677203-047
130x130_sq_1233267838750-chelsea_017
130x130_sq_1233267670000-boggs_2559
130x130_sq_1233267938359-hutzler_3801
130x130_sq_1233267956937-hutzler_5006
130x130_sq_1233268128875-klimas_2538
130x130_sq_1233268215312-klimas_3125
130x130_sq_1233268280093-knight_1266
130x130_sq_1233268312171-parker_1341
130x130_sq_1233268409828-parra_3088
130x130_sq_1233268558234-peterson_3908
130x130_sq_1233268589468-peacock_3809
130x130_sq_1233268626281-027
130x130_sq_1233268631515-boggs_1832
130x130_sq_1233268678218-eunice_022
130x130_sq_1233268713281-eunice_013
130x130_sq_1233268814921-gielow_6881
130x130_sq_1233268815843-foster_0367
130x130_sq_1233268955218-greer_2412
130x130_sq_1233268961031-greer_2441
130x130_sq_1233269066296-gress_2430
130x130_sq_1233269083968-hobbs_088_a
130x130_sq_1233269206281-hobbs_293
130x130_sq_1233269317437-hobbs_425_a
130x130_sq_1233269359031-hobbs_748_a
130x130_sq_1233269414453-hutzler_2728
130x130_sq_1233269425046-klimas_1296_a
130x130_sq_1233269861218-klimas_1355_a
130x130_sq_1233269939375-parra_1014
130x130_sq_1233270001968-parra_2064
130x130_sq_1233270089109-peacock_2780
130x130_sq_1233270051421-peacock_2696
130x130_sq_1233270119421-shafer_2032
130x130_sq_1233270149468-sherwin_2936

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shelly
Wedding:
5/30/2014
5.0/5.0
We hired Jim Kennedy for our wedding! He first took our engagement photos which we loved and then our wedding day! He was amazing and we loved our photos! He was very professional and got all of our pictures in for the amount of time we had during cocktail hour! I would highly recommend him! The pictures won't disappoint!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Jim Kennedy and his photographers are wonderful! I worked with Amber and Stephanie on our wedding day. We decided to have "first look" photos before the ceremony and we're so glad we did. Even though it was the first day we had met them in person, I felt comfortable with the ladies right away. It felt so intimate. We just got married last week so we haven't seen all of our photos yet but they did create a sneed-peek for us and we are thoroughly impressed by their work. Any bride and groom would be extremely pleased with the experience and products that JIm Kennedy Photographers provide.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
11/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Working in the events industry, I knew immediately after getting engaged that I wanted Jim to be my wedding photographer. He and his team were an absolute pleasure to work with throughout the planning process. His studio manager Megan was there to answer any questions we had, and always responded very quickly.
Jim took us to the San Juan Capistrano Mission for our engagement pictures and the pictures were amazing! My husband and I aren't the most comfortable taking pictures and he made us feel at ease and helped us have a blast the whole time! We had the studio create a guest sign-in book out of our engagement pictures. I definitely recommend getting that, as it makes for the perfect keepsake!
On the day of the wedding, Jim and Amber were our photographers. Jim made sure everything ran smoothly and on time the entire day/night. It's hard for me to let go of the control, but I had the utmost confidence in him. So I didn't worry about a thing.
They captured the day better than we could've imagined and we're getting so many compliments on how beatiful the pictures turned out. I don't know how we're going to narrow them down for our wedding picture book, which we also plan to get through the Jim Kennedy Photographers studio. Jim is simply the best!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nancy
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim Kennedy was wonderful! The pictures turned out beautiful and he is a delightful person. He is definitely an artist.
I think my recommendations would be to let him know exactly what you want. I was told that by many others who have put on weddings and it is the one thing I regret that I didn't remember to do.
He takes a lot of pictures on the slant and I really would prefer the old fashioned way where they are just up and down.
I wish I had written down the extended family shots that I wanted. I also think it would have been nice to have a picture of each table with the guests at it.
I felt there were too many of the couple kissing when I would prefer to see their faces.
Jim can do anything you want. It is my fault for not taking the time to look at his portfolio and make my requests. I would highly recommend using him. He is so nice and easy to work with and a true artist.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
8/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim is phenomenal. There is no other word to describe our experience with him. I was so impressed by his portfolio online but never expected we would have the amazing engagement and wedding photos that we do! I was so nervous for our engagement pictures and he immediately made us comfortable and we had SUCH a blast. There were no nerves for the wedding day pictures after that. I honestly can't say enough about his talent. These photos are all we have left of our wedding and I would not have trusted another photographer to do anywhere near as good a job as Jim. The whole team is responsive and just awesome to work with. Do yourself a favor that will last your lifetime and book JKP.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Jim is definitely one of the most creative, talented, and amazing photographers ever. He really defines professional photography but keeps it ridiculously fun! I was very nervous about who to choose for our engagement and wedding photographs...and I can tell u without reservation he absolutely went above and beyond with the quality of photos, and the overall energy of every shoot and every image! We love Jim Kennedy and his team and couldn't be more thrilled with their work!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Myhanh
Wedding:
4/25/2013
5.0/5.0
This is a review for JKP For His Eyes Only. I was referred by a friend who had worked with him in the past and thought the world of him and his work. I spoke with Jim to give him some context into what I was looking for. Jim is professional, sincere, talented, a great listener and very focused. I felt like we were on the same page in that we both wanted to get the best shots in the most flattering poses and to highlight my best attributes. My pictures turned out amazing. If you are on the fence about doing something like this, now is the time to just go for it. You will be in great hands. It will be the best gift to your significant other and surprisingly the best gift you could get for yourself. Jim is a genius and he will make you look even more amazing than you already are.

As for how the business is run, it's like a well-oiled machine. Jim and Megan were very responsive to my calls, texts and emails (within minutes to a couple hours). Turnaround time for the proofs was a couple weeks and should be a couple weeks for the Album. This isn't fast food photography, it's gourmet and I think a month to 6 weeks is extremely efficient. I've given my husband some sneak peaks while waiting for the Album and to build up his anticipation and he was blown away so far.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Jim and his team did an amazing job for our engagement photos and an even better job on our wedding day. His work is flawless and you will always be happy at the end of the day. Jim is great to work with and is very passionate about his work. If you want the best of the best go with JKP every time.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Drutherford
Wedding:
4/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim and his team did a great job. They were very professional and helpful in making sure we got all the photos taken that we wanted. He was busy working during the entire event and I am sure we will have many photos to choose from. I can't wait to see the pictures!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristi
Wedding:
2/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim Kennedy is amazing!! Starting with our engagement session to our wedding our pictures are breathtaking! Jim does such a great job of making you feel comfortable with the whole picture taking process. Shannon at his studio is so wonderful to work with. She responded to all our questions, requests very quickly. Our wedding pictures took our breath away. One of my bridesmaids said after looking at our proofs that he really captured what it was like to be there that day which is exactly what we wanted! I would highly recommend him.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cvjones
Wedding:
1/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim is the best and his team is amazing. Not only is he beyond talented and our pictures are AMAZING, but he was so professional. He handled all the mom requests so professionally, and there were a lot. Also, when our coordinator was busy doing other things Jim was able to keep us on schedule and navigate us around and be a mini coordinator for us when we needed him. He just knows what he is doing and I would recommend him to anyone i know.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
11/26/2011
5.0/5.0
I am a catering manager at the St. Regis Monarch Beach so I have known and worked with Jim and his team for a number of years. When it finally came time for my wedding he was my first choice! Not only is he fantastic to work with, but my pictures are absolutely stunning. Everyone i know has commented on how beautiful the pictures are and i owe it all to Jim and Lauren.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Venessa
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
We don't have our final pictures yet, but our engagement photos were fabulous. Dawn was our photographer and she was incredible. She was not pushy or bossy, but got everyone together and didn't miss a trick. She made quick adjustments for weather and I am confident that my pictures will be all that I could hope for. Dawn has done other shoots for us and we love her!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steph
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Jim and his team were amazing! Their ability to capture quality candid moments while blending into the crowd is phenomenal. We felt very comfortable with Jim and this shows in our wedding images. I would highly recommend Jim Kennedy Photographers. We are so happy with the documentation of our wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
GJ
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
JIm Kennedy Photography was the perfect addition to my daughter's wedding. Beautiful pictures were taken, yet you barely knew they were there. PERFECT!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jkarnezis
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Jim Kennedy is simply the best. Both Jim and his team are extremely talented, organized and professional. Jim is so easy to work with - my fiancé and I felt instantly comfortable around him which is so important when you want to capture beautiful, but authentic moments. None of our photos felt posed or unnatural and even though he captured every special minute, I never felt restricted by his movement and never felt like we had to stop and "pose" for cameras or have anyone move out of the way. After seeing our engagement session photos, I was blown away and the wedding photos were even better! Our wedding pictures are so beautiful and diverse in terms of style and finish (Jim picks the perfect finish for key shots to bring out the best quality of the picture), that we have had several married friends tell us they wished they had chosen the same photographer we did. We couldn't be happier with the experience and the end product!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1280382218681-dsc01600
Jenna
Wedding:
6/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Eric from Jim Kennedy Photographers is amazing!!! He so fun to work with and makes you feel so relaxed. My husband hates to have his picture taken and starting from our engagement session Eric had him feeling absolutely comfortable. We felt like we had known him forever!

The moments that he is able to capture on camera are beautiful. Our engagement pictures were truly amazing and I know our wedding pictures will be too. I had always wanted Jim Kennedy Photographers to be my wedding photographer and I couldn't have been happier with my choice. I do not have one complaint about JKP; they were one of my favorite vendors. They were easy to work with, professional, and produce a great product. Wedding pictures are the thing you have forever and Eric captured all of those moments for us.

If you want an excellent vendor and fabulous wedding pictures be sure to choose Eric from JKP!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
angelwbw1
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
I used Jim Kennedy for my Boudir photo shoot i did for my husband to give to him as his wedding gift! At first i was very nervous and shy about it because im not the skinniest girl in the world and i have never done anything like that before. But Jim was amazing!!! He made me feel so comfortable and made the whole experience so much fun. And the photos turned out amazing!! I never knew i could look that sexy! I would do it 1,000 times over again if i could! I wish i would have used Jim for my wedding photography as well! And the price is so affordable! The book at that i got through them to show off my photo shoot was wonderful, and when i gave it to my husband he loved it! He said it was the best gift ever! I highly recommend Jim to everyone i know!
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liza K.
Wedding:
9/18/2004
5.0/5.0
I hired Jim Kennedy to photograph my wedding in 2004. He was amazing!
I couldn't even imagine that he could be better than he already was, but he is! His studio has grown so much since then! He has added amazing photographers to his team. I sent all of my friends and family that were getting married to Jim Kennedy Photographers. Jim has an amazing personality and is so talented. Everyone in my wedding party loved him!
We love our wedding pictures! Thanks Jim! You're the best!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paris225
Wedding:
2/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Jim is a pro. Hands down, best photographer in OC. He takes classic wedding photos that you will love for the rest of your life. He photographed my brother's wedding and then my own, 4 years later, and he did an amazing job both times. The great thing about JKP is that you don't have to worry about him AT ALL. The guy is everywhere, getting every picture you could possibly want. Plus, he's great at capturing random moments. I would give him more than 5 stars if I could!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brookeoverfelt
Wedding:
8/14/2010
5.0/5.0
Our pictures were amazing! Eric was great to work with. Friends and family have said that they are the best wedding pics ever!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AngieAn
Wedding:
8/14/2010
5.0/5.0
The photography and the final product was AMAZING!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sherelle
Wedding:
8/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Anything that I say will pale in comparison to the AMAZING job Jim did with photography at our wedding! Jim and his assistant were on time, laid back, easygoing and kind. They made me feel at ease and allowed me to get the shots I wanted, while getting the shots that they thought were needed too. Jim works very quickly, so that he could get all the shots we wanted, and we could enjoy the wedding too without having to take a lot of time out for pictures. The photographers were also behind the scenes. The guests did not even notice them taking pictures! I would recommend Jim Kennedy Photographers for any and all occasions. They are worth every penny!!!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1281632707910-rueda165
TERESA
Wedding:
7/29/2010
5.0/5.0
AMAZING PHOTOGRAPHERS, YOU CANT GO WRONG WITH ANY! WE HAD MANDY MARIE AND SHE WAS AMAZING! PICTURES ARE BEAUTIFUL!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1248660709644-jacobs0423
Charlene
Wedding:
7/3/2010
5.0/5.0
I just received my wedding photos, and I could not be happier! I really do not know how I will choose - they are all amazing. Any bride considering JKP should hire them! The entire team there was also really helpful during the planning process. Jim himself called me to help me work through a timeline. Any time I had a question, Tiana was at the office and always answered it quickly. And, if you have to hire a photographer other than Jim, we used Eric Cotter and loved him!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
I was so happy with our photos I cried. They were just beautiful. I was truly amazed. Hands down the best around.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Audrey
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
Eric. Cotter.

This guy is a.m.a.z.i.n.g. Jim Kennedy had done our family pictures a few years back, so our experience with him was set in stone as a must have for our engagement/wedding day.

Jim was booked for the day, so we got Eric Cotter. He was so cool to coming up to the Union Station up in Los Angeles, and doing the shoot up there.

The photos? Gorgeous. When they were developed, people thought it looked like we were in some kind of magazine shoot. We looked like models. Eric and his magical camera made it happen.

The wedding day- fun, fun, fun. Eric made us laugh, and the smiles that we saw in the photos were because we genuinely happy. When he tells you to smile, he'll make you smile. A smile is not just looking for your pearly whites, but a real smile is when you have those sexy laugh lines shooting out from the corner of your eyes. Eric will bring those out and capture THAT moment and and all the beauty that surrounds you.

I tell everyone about Eric and his work. One of my girlfriends is booking him in September. Jump on board, ladies...Eric Cotter is one cool dude.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1272740234382-wedding
angelswalk
Wedding:
4/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Jim Kennedy Photographers did a boudoir photo shoot and album for my husband's wedding gift. They call it "For His Eyes Only" Tiana communicated well and answered my numerous questions until I finally decided that I could do it. She also kept me up to date on what was going on with the album. It was kind of a rush job since I didn't have many days off of work to get it done. Amanda did the photo session. She was amazing; made me comfortable in what could have been a very uncomfortable situation. She did great work. The editing staff did an awesome job of softening rough spots in the pictures to make an incredible final product. Jim was willing to work with me on the price since I upgraded quite a bit to get the album I thought my husband would like the best. Overall, this was a great experience. My husband loved the album that was presented to him on our wedding day right before the wedding. It is something that he will cherish forever. I just wish I had done this when I was younger. If you want to give your husband a gift that he will use often and cherish forever, make him a "for your eyes only album" with Jim Kennedy Photographers.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Atsang045
Wedding:
3/20/2010
5.0/5.0
We enjoyed working with everyone at Jim Kennedy for our wedding photography. Dawn and Dory were our photographers and are very talented professionals. Their photos are beautiful and really captured all the special moments throughout the day. They were so easy to work with;they were on time and kept us on schedule.

We also had an engagement session with Dawn and we had a blast. The shoot was down in Balboa and Dawn's artistic eye found all the perfect places for us.

We also worked closely with Tiana at the studio to help get all our logistics worked out, schedule our engagement session, order our prints... she's so incredibly patient and so sweet... thanks, Tiana!

Needless to say, our photos from our wedding and engagement came out beautiful and we've already recommended Jim and any of his photographers to other friends.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
11/21/2009
5.0/5.0
I have been married 2 years now and I still love my wedding pictures. Our big day is forever captured in beautiful photographs that we still get compliments on. Amanda was amazing and the service from the rest of the JKP staff was excellent.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
FabFlowers
Wedding:
9/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Out of all of the vendors that you choose during your wedding process, the photographers is SO important because you see your photographs. . .daily. . .for years to come! Jim Kennedy Photography did such an incredible job on our photographs and we are so happy every time we pick up ours to relive the day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
8/29/2009
5.0/5.0
We worked with Amanda from Jim Kennedy Photographers and she was great! I would highly recommend this company. We had an amazing experience and she captured all of the special moments of our wonderful day. The team also incorporated all of my comments and ideas about our album which turned out great. All in all we were extremely happy with the way everything turned out and I would definitely use Jim Kennedy again. You will not be disappointed with their service if you chose to do business with them.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lacielou
Wedding:
6/27/2009
5.0/5.0
I love love love Stephanie Kennedy and photographs that she took at our wedding! She was amazing! While punctuality may not be her strength, she is worth the wait! She and her husband Jim are an amazing team!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
6/6/2009
5.0/5.0
My sister and I got married four months of eachother and both used Jim Kennedy as our photographers. Eric Cotter did such an exceptional job from our engagement pictures to our wedding pictures. I couldn't be more pleased with the results of both! I've recommended a couple of friends too and they were as satisfied as I was.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SDbride
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
Amanda Collins was our photographer and she did an amazing job! She was worth every penny! She knows what she is doing and how to get that perfect shot. We loved her energy and her ability to capture every moment. I would highly recommend Jim Kennedy and Amanda Collins for any photography.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
May
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
One word: Amazing!. Amanda Collins was our photographer and she did a wonderful job. She was able to capture several candid moments and also had great ideas for locations and poses. We ended up ordering several pictures and I constantly have people asking me who did our photographry when they see our album. I couldn't be more happy and I am so thankful that we had Jim Kennedy team for our weddding!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
4/4/2009
5.0/5.0
Eric Cotter from Jim Kennedy Photographers did an AMAZING job on our wedding photography! He was able to make everyone comfortable and relaxed, even the groom and groomsmen :) The service he provided was above and beyond what I expected. He even came an hour early to photograph the bridal party at the hotel. He also had a slideshow of some of the photographs done by the end of dinner. The pictures were done and posted on the website in a week and a half and they are beautiful. We've had friends and family comment on how they could be in a magazine. Very artistic. Eric is truly talented as a photographer. The Jim Kennedy studio was also wonderful to work with. We definitely got value for our money. I would recommend Jim Kennedy Photographers to anyone who wants amazing wedding photographs!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
princessmichi07
Wedding:
3/28/2009
5.0/5.0
Jim Kennedy Photographers was amazing. We had the blessing of working with Eric. He is hilarious and made the experience such a blast. We would never go with another photographer. The photo album was great also. And the distance of our wedding (being in the Inland Empire) was not a factor. They gladly came :-) We loved it!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
filiaDei
Wedding:
11/26/2008
5.0/5.0
Jim Kennedy Photographers is an amazing group of enthusiastic, professional, and fun people to be around. We were honored to have them as a vendor at our wedding and highly recommend them. Jim Kennedy, in particular, is a VERY fun and energetic individual with the experience to make him one of the best.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindy
Wedding:
11/1/2008
5.0/5.0
If you can book Eric, I would highly recommend him. He was a great photographer and super cool to work with. Had great ideas and amazing pictures! I would get him again if we remarried.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/18/2008
5.0/5.0
We LOVED our pictures. Jim has a very unique style, and an undeniable talent! I would definitely recommend him! I was a little hesitant to go into the ocean for our engagement pictures, but it was SO worth it. We were amazed at how well the pictures from that session turned out. Just trust him and go with it! :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JEVANS
Wedding:
9/27/2008
5.0/5.0
They r incredible. Stephanie is a great photographer and Michelle was great for wedding planning and event coordination the day of! I recommend them all the time!!! They have great pictures and an album that I will treasure always...People comment all the time on how beautiful it is!!! Love JKP
Services Used: Photography, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jamigoto
Wedding:
5/25/2008
5.0/5.0
Jim was the photographer for both of our daughter's weddings and we could not be more happy with his services. He got some phenomenal shots without being disruptive to the wedding or reception. We will definitely be using Jim when our other two children get married. It was money well spent!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystal
Wedding:
2/22/2008
5.0/5.0
The Jim Kennedy Team is worth every minute they spend with you. I wanted our day to be looked back on as a story and they made my dream come true and then some. Photos will last a lifetime and you can never go back and change your photographer or take the pictures again. With my photos I get to relive my day whenever I want
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin Gilder
Wedding:
10/26/2007
5.0/5.0
Would definitely recommend him. Not only is his style unique, but he is also a very motivated worker and always goes the extra mile.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
elsa
Wedding:
10/12/2007
5.0/5.0
I love my pictures!!!! Great photographers!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nadia
Wedding:
11/3/2006
5.0/5.0
Jim himself brought out the best in both Scott and I At our wedding. He was so good at engaging us in the pictures and making us feel comfortable, the pictures snapped were priceless!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krista
Wedding:
10/16/2004
5.0/5.0
Jim did our engagement shots and our wedding. I was beyond thrilled to have him as our photographer. He took amazing pictures and everything he did was of superb quality.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DeannaPeterson
Wedding:
3/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Great value, enjoyed working with you!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anne
Wedding:
9/27/2013
4.9/5.0
Jim Kennedy Photography provides amazing service. We had JoeFoto shoot our engagement session and wedding photos. He did an amazing job and was a professional through out the entire day. We are more than pleased with the customer service they provided and can't wait to see the pictures from our big day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
8/11/2013
4.9/5.0
My husband and I were blown away by Jim and his work from the minute we met him. He manages to capture genuine moments in a unique way that no other wedding photographer can match. He's been amazing to work with from our first meeting to our engagement shoot to our wedding day and beyond. Definitely worth every penny! We can't tell enough people enough good things about Jim.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
8/17/2012
4.9/5.0
We loved having Jim and his assistant shoot our wedding! We were recommended to him by a friend (as well as our venue, wedding planner, and everyone else we met). Jim was so professional and made the entire picture process very easy and fun. My husband and I decided to do a first look before the ceremony and Jim made sure that moment was very special and private, and the pictures are great. He did a great job capturing posed shots, but also captured so many candid moments that are so wonderful to see! So far, I've only seen the photos that he posted on his blog, but I am extremely happy about them. While his services are pricey, they are comparable with several other photographers we researched in the area and his quality and package deals were much better. We can't wait to see the rest of the photos and order our album.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennrose1981
Wedding:
1/14/2012
4.9/5.0
We used Eric J. Cotter of Jim Kennedy Photographers. He was great and our pictures look amazing. The office is a little slow in responding to questions and it took quite a while to view our proofs and get our pictures. It is worth the wait!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jfewer
Wedding:
10/22/2011
4.9/5.0
There is a reason that Jim Kennedy is one of the most highly ranked photographers in Orange County. His group does a great job. I had Eric J. as my photographer and he was great. He knew his way around both my engagement picture site and the place we went after the ceremony. Although their prices are a bit pricey compared to other vendors, you know that when you book with Jim you will always get the highest quality photography!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
10/11/2008
4.9/5.0
I absolutely LOVED working with Jim! He made everything really relaxed and fun while capturing moments from our wedding that were just us. My now husband hates taking pictures, but Jim doesn't make it feel like you're taking pictures. He finds a way to capture all those little moments. I will always use the Jim Kennedy team for any of my photography needs in the futre and I suggest you do to.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christy
Wedding:
9/6/2008
4.9/5.0
You will not regret using Jim Kennedy Photographers. Truly professional.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Prnssjen
Wedding:
3/26/2011
4.8/5.0
Jim Kennedy and his whole team are awesome! My pictures turned out so beautiful. I was extremely impressed with their work. I used Amanda, one of his other photographers to do my wedding and she was so great. She made me feel so comfortable. Everything was so quick and easy. I didn't feel like I spend my whole wedding day taking boring pictures. She got right down to business and she made it fun.
Another thing I love about Jim and his team is that they always send me emails with the latest promo's they have going. I was able to do a family session a few months before the wedding. I got a great deal and got some priceless family photos.
I would recommend Jim to everyone! I am so happy with my pictures and my photo album!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1235150030656-n29000206_31107249_1223
lnorris
Wedding:
10/18/2009
4.8/5.0
Our photography services with JKP was amazing. From the first consultation to the final photographs, we could not have been happier with the service and quality of product provided. What initially sold us was the quality of the album we'd receive with the packaged purchased. Also, the option to get a parent album was a plus. We also really liked that two photographers would be present during our wedding. Jim met with us personally during our consultation and then matched us with one of his photographers that would mesh with our style and what we wanted when we discovered he was not available on our wedding date. Amanda, our photographer, was just amazing and her work was very professional and I love how she took charge of the wedding party during photographs to capture exactly what we were looking for. I recommend booking them EARLY as their dates fill up quickly! I would use them again in a heartbeat!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1380865699328-avatar
Amanda
Wedding:
9/14/2013
4.7/5.0
As you may have noticed in my profile picture... We have some of the best beach wedding photos I've ever seen! We saw Jim Kennedy's albums at nearly EVERY resort we considered and fell in love with his work every time. Our wedding coordinator suggested a photographer but he was an amateur almost as much as JKP, including engagement photos. We thought we should just see what ballpark someone like JKP would be and boy am I glad we made the call! We had a package that included engagement photos plus two amazing photographers following us around on the day of the wedding! Stephanie Brockman-Kennedy did our wonderful engagement photos and our wedding. I gave my husband a "For His Eyes Only" book as a gift the day of the wedding too... He LOVED it! Cheryl shot the boudoir photos for the book and our wedding as well. My wedding photos are SO AMAZING that people on FB have suggested we submit them to bridal magazines! I wouldn't gamble with the pictures being taken on one of the most important days of your life... Jim Kennedy Photographers are a sure bet every time!...And we are from Las Vegas ;-)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lizzy51785
Wedding:
10/9/2010
4.7/5.0
Overall I was very happy with Jim Kennedy Photographers. Amanda Collins was our photographer for our engagement photos and wedding. She is PHENOMENAL. She made us feel so comfortable and was fun to have around. Her assistant on our wedding day was fabulous too. She was responsive to our requests and the results were great!

There are only two small complaints I have, but they are in no way deal-killers. 1) It was difficult to get in touch with Jim and Amanda, but the receptionist was always helpful and could get me what I needed within a few days. 2) It took what seemed like FOREVER to get our wedding photos. It was more than 5 weeks after our wedding before we got them! They are amazing, an worth the wait, but I would have liked to know beforehand that we would have to wait so long.

Wedding photography is very expensive, but I was very impressed with what JKP was able to offer for my price range. I got a spectacular photographer, engagement shoot, 10 hours of photography with an assistant on our wedding day, digital images, and a small album for within my budget. Remember that your wedding photos will last a lifetime, and these are professional artists. They are worth every penny.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1261972561057-chadandchristy
Christy
Wedding:
9/4/2010
4.7/5.0
I knew i was going to book with this team of photgraphers because i have wroked as an event planner and have worked many weddings with them. I knew the quality of their work and had many brides extremely happy for choosing them. I worked with Eric Cotter, who is not only a great photographer but a funny and attentive person; especially to the needs of the Bride and Groom. I can get shy having my photos taken and each time he felt me plaster a fake smile on my face, he said a joke or something funny to capture the real joy i was feeling that day.
He was so much fun on the engagement session as well. He worked hard the entire time, taking a small break. I never wondered "Where is the photographer?" i never had to becasue he was always there.
He took to heart the points i told him were the most important to me. Sometimes all Brides should communicate to their vendors; and i have the most beautiful photos of my wedding. I don't just have one good photo, i have a bunch of great photos.
I cannot thank Eric and the company enough for understanding their job the way that they do. I would recommend them to everyone.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aquafinakid
Wedding:
10/3/2009
4.7/5.0
I first met Jim last year, he didnt turn out to be our photog, but this man is just an absolute delight to work w/ for the short 15 min i spoke to him. and over the phone as well. he wanted to do whatever i asked and tried to make it happen. got back to me asap. i was dissapointed he wasnt going to be our photographer... until:

the photog he paired us up w/ turned out to be the SWEETEST FUNNIESET GIRL AMANDA COLLINS. OMG. i LOVE THIS GIRL, she is so awsome, makes u feel so comfortable (we had her for our engagement session first @ Laguna B.).... so SO GLAD we ended up with someone like her. i mean, i think she is pretty much the closest vendor to you (other than your planner) the whole night of your wedding since they are right there in suhc close proximity taking your picture!

pictures of course done by the studio comes out CRAZY beautiful. this team of photogs are seriously talented and have some experience under their belt. albiet, they are not as cheap as some photogs out there... u get everything u need and feel SECURE they will DO THEIR JOB and get it done the way you want.

omg. i forgot to mention the crazy service, their front desk girl, IS THE BEST. she gets back to you w/in the seconds. i never even had to call her becuase when i emailed, i would get a response back in literally min, or if it was after hours, she would respond as soon as she got in. thanks tiana!!!!

LOVE JKP!!!!!! xoxoxoxoxoxoxo!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kwhet001
Wedding:
12/31/2011
4.6/5.0
Expensive, but worth the price. Did a great job with the photos and editing. Overall a great experience! Not cheesy at all, efficient and thorough and got great pictures.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane004
Wedding:
4/3/2010
4.6/5.0
We just loved Jim. The initial photographs look amazing and we can't wait to see the final set. Jim was just great with our guests and families and manages to get everyone smiling and laughing. Such great creativity - we loved his work.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
whitval05
Wedding:
9/26/2009
4.6/5.0
Overall, I loved my experience with Jim Kennedy Photographers. I felt that the photographs could have been a little more creative, especially for the price that I paid. Besides that, everything else was great. I would recommend to a friend.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kcgowan
Wedding:
7/25/2009
4.6/5.0
My dealings with Jim Kennedy Photography exceeded my expatiations on every level. For the quality and professionalism, the price lists were more than fair. They had several packages available and I was easily able to find one that worked with my budget. I would recommend them to my friends and family in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
misskc94
Wedding:
10/5/2008
4.6/5.0
Jim Kennedy and his staff created amazing engagement & wedding photos. They were all wonderful to work with and he was so flexible. My photos turned out wonderful and I've ordered the wedding album and can't wait to get it. Even though he's a bit pricey, your photos and video are all you have left of your wedding and it helps to hold the memories. He's creative and talented. We highly recommend Jim or anyone else on staff with him.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caroline
Wedding:
11/3/2007
4.6/5.0
Beautiful pictures, so happy with the way they turned out. Turn around time on album is long.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
10/19/2008
4.4/5.0
Great photos. Great initial meeting with Jim. So busy that sometimes it was hard to get a timely response for my questions.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/10/2007
4.4/5.0
I used Amanda Marie from Jim Kennedy Photographers. She was incredible! She was so fast at taking pictures and with a huge wedding party, that was important. She was incredibly artistic and creative--a perfect blend of photojournalism and traditional. She captured the entire day and the quality of the photos are fantastic. I absolutely love every picture.
It has taken awhile to get our album--I don't know if that is normal or not. This vendor was expensive but I think it is worth it!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nikki
Wedding:
10/6/2007
4.1/5.0
Jim Kennedy Photographers is awesome. Their pictures are incredible, you will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
7/7/2012
3.9/5.0
While I worked with Jim for another shoot and loved my photos, for our wedding I couldn't afford him so we contracted with another photographer in his company. She was described as his OC rival prior to joining forces. We did our engagement shoot and after about 6+ weeks we were able to view our proofs. We had been planning on purchasing a guest book with these photos but we were disappointed in the selection. There were a lot to choose from but we struggled to find 6 we liked. The vaguely instructed poses looked overly contrived. Many of the photos had one or the other of us not smiling, blinking or just looking awkward. I ordered a few small prints and decided the less than natural photos were a result of not being models and thus not used to 'photo shoots'. We should have asked questions or provided a shot list.
We did not hear from our photographer prior to the wedding until she knocked on the door. I did receive a friendly call from Jim, making sure we were ready for the big day and that we pay the balance on our bill. I asked if need to prepare a shot list but was assured Lauren is great and it wouldn't be necessary. We just got our wedding photos back, there are a lot to choose from we felt there were a few important ones missing and that some of the backgrounds used didn't work. I had to ask for a photo with my siblings. Even with two photogs they didn't get photos of my husband getting ready (I wish there were fewer photos of my shoes and at least a few of him), there were no photos of the cocktail hour, our dip from our first dance that we practiced for months wasn't captured. There was little directions on angle of the face, body stances etc. Overall the quality is great and I am having a hard time narrowing down the shots for our album. Lesson being if you have set ideas you should voice them. JK is definitely the best of the bunch but it seems the rest of the staff are great too.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
12/8/2013
3.7/5.0
Jim Kennedy did our engagement and wedding photos, and they came out looking great. He's very relaxed, though I almost made it a game to try to get him to really laugh, he's very serious about his work! He does take gorgeous photos, we really love how they look. He is a little expensive, but we decided the one thing we'd spend the extra money on would be photos, since those are forever. We did find it hard to sometimes get a response from him or his office, as he's out of town frequently. On the day of the wedding, I was also a little upset that, even with the 2 photogs, he didn't get any pictures of my husband getting ready, or any pictures of the cocktail hour. I am VERY bummed about that, because I had made a few things that he didn't get any pictures of that were included outside in the cocktail hour.

Overall, photos are pretty and we love them. Getting our wedding album has also proved difficult, and it seems like the process has been handed off to someone else at his studio, even though we paid a higher price for the owner package.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Martina
Wedding:
10/2/2010
2.6/5.0
I had really high hopes for this studio, as I had been in a wedding that used their photographers and the pictures were amazing. Unfortunately, mine were not. I had better pictures from my guests. It was really confusing because our engagement pictures were so good! Loved them. And I loved our photographer, she was very friendly and sweet. But when I saw our wedding proofs I hardly recognized her pictures. I don't know what happend, but when I tried to reach out to the studio and Jim specifically, I got the run-around and no response and no one seemed to care that I was disappointed. All I wanted was an explanation of what happened and how my engagement pictures could be so good and my wedding pictures so bad... But nothing. So I would unfortunately not recommend this studio unless maybe you had Jim himself taking your pictures. I don't even have a good picture of me, my husband and my parents. Really disappointing all around.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
2/11/2007
0.0/5.0
I booked one of his photogrpahers for my wedding & epics. After several major issues with responsiveness before & after our epics, I broke off the contract. Although Jim acknowledged we failed to receive adequate customer serivce, he refused to refund any of our deposit for the wedding. I filed a complaint with the BBB.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
930 W.16th St. #B1, Costa Mesa, CA 92627 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Jim Kennedy Photographers
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1233266139546-bloglogo