130x130_sq_1388421027575-jim-peron

Jim Perona Guitar, Inc

Wheaton , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

892 Casa Solana Dr
Wheaton, IL US 60189 (map)

PHONE

630-853-9182

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

*Winner of "Bride's Choice Award" on WeddingWire, "Top National Gutiarist" on Gigmasters & "Best of Weddings" on The Knot*

My name is Jim Perona and thank you for visiting my... Read more
*Winner of "Bride's Choice Award" on WeddingWire, "Top National Gutiarist" on Gigmasters & "Best of Weddings" on The Knot*

My name is Jim Perona and thank you for visiting my WeddingWire Storefront! Music is my passion, my profession, and I can't wait to share more about it with you! I've been performing at weddings, corporate parties, restaurants, private events, & much more full-time for over 4 years now & the clients have spoken - I am amongst the top-reviewed solo guitarists in the country!

What makes me stand out from the other performers is my unique ability to take any song and arrange it for solo guitar. This means that I can accommodate ALL musical requests, making your music options virtually limitless!

Additionally, my versatile performance repertoire spans over 500 years of music covering the Renaissance, Baroque, Classical and Romantic eras as well as hits from the past 60 years. From Bach to the Beatles, I play it all. Just listen for yourself as I skillfully turn any song into an instrumental guitar piece by retaining its familiar melody and harmony while gaining a charming elegance that is beautifully suited for any occasion!

Because of the versatility in my repertoire, my act is compatible with virtually every type of event. I am enthusiastically ready, willing and able to perform at any event: Weddings, cocktail hours, receptions, civil unions, rehearsal dinners, retirement home recitals, birthday parties, anniversaries, seasonal holiday parties, wine tastings, and more! Any time, any place, you name it and I will be there!

***MY MUSICAL JOURNEY***

I was born to be a musician. As the youngest of 6 kids in a very musical family, I was completely mesmerized watching my older brothers play in their bands. In fact, on the days they had a gig, I'd scramble to finish my homework so I could have the chance to see them perform. After being a mini-roadie for many years, I decided it was time to be a part of the action. I started taking guitar lessons and, at the age of 11, found my calling and developed a deep passion for guitar. In 2008, I earned a Bachelor's Degree in Classical Guitar Performance from Northern Illinois University, where I had the incredible opportunity to study with modern guitar virtuoso Fareed Haque, the 2009 award recipient of "Best World Guitarist" from Guitar Player Magazine. In 2010, I received my Master's Degree in Classical Guitar Performance from New England Conservatory, where I had the amazing fortune of studying with world-renowned guitarist Eliot Fisk (winner of the 1980 International Guitar Competition, founder of the Boston Guitarfest and close friend and student of classical guitar great Andres Segovia). I feel so blessed to have been mentored by some of the best in the world and truly believe they have fully educated me to become one of the most versatile, accomplished guitarists around!

***TOP 10 REASONS TO HIRE JIM PERONA***

10. VOLUME CONTROL - The volume of my music is guaranteed to be loud enough to hear and enjoy, yet soft enough to have a comfortable conversation from 10 feet away!

9. PORTABILITY - Just me and my guitar (and usually some amplification, too), which means I can move from room to room with ease!

8. AFFORDABLE - Say good-bye to cutting hefty checks split among quartets and big bands and hello to me, myself and I!

7. DEDICATED - Above and beyond service with a smile. Will do just about anything to ensure you and your loved ones have the time of your lives. The sky's the limit!

6. PASSIONATE - Plenty of heart and drive. I respectfully treat you with the upmost care and will be there for you moment-by-moment!

5. HARD WORKING - Your happiness is number one in my book and I will work around the clock in order to create a flawless performance custom-made just for you!

4. RELIABLE - You can always count on me to be prepared, show up early to events and return all correspondence in a timely manner.

3. TRUSTWORTHY - No surprises when it comes to me! I will honestly and ethically communicate with you every step of the way!

2. PROFESSIONAL - My vast experience and friendly persona will erase all the stress so commonly experienced from an event.

1. VERSATILE/UNIQUE - You deserve nothing but the best and it's my goal to give you the highest-quality service possible. I eagerly accommodate ANY and ALL musical requests and will masterfully turn it into a one-of-a-kind, unforgettable solo guitar performance of a lifetime!

Thank you so very much for visiting my profile. It is greatly appreciated. I would love to be a part of your next event, so please feel free to contact me at any time and I will be more than happy to accommodate your every need!

All the very best,
Jim Perona Read less
Ceremony Music

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1388421294360-jim-perona

INFO FOR CEREMONY MUSIC

What ceremony music arrangements can you provide?
Instrumental - Solo
What instruments does your group play?
Guitar

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aly
Wedding:
6/13/2014
5.0/5.0
Jim was excellent! He made custom arrangements for all of our songs, used his expertise to make them sound amazing but adjusted things we requested, provided recordings for worst case scenario plans, travelled a far distance and arrived in a timely manner, and was overall professional and friendly. We really enjoyed having him be a part of our big day! Thanks so much!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Josh
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
I dont know where to start with Jim Perona....could it be the exceptional service or professionalism, or could it be that he is a master at his craft.....

Jim Perona is easily the best guitar player i have ever heard and if you get a chance to book him....do it.

Jim played at our ceremony and our cocktail hour. We couldnt be more pleased and thankful to have him on our special day. I cant tell you the amount of compliments and questions we got asked about Jim. Things like "that guitar player is amazing" "Where did you find him?!" "I need to get his card for one of my business events"

Jim made our day that much better. Thanks again Jim and I hope many more like us get to hear you play!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristy
Wedding:
3/22/2014
5.0/5.0
Jim was our guitarist for our March 2014 wedding, and I can’t begin to say how great it was to have him. From the first email to the last, Jim was professional, very flexible, and extremely knowledgeable. I felt like I emailed Jim a thousand times asking a billion questions and he always responded quickly and thoughtfully. He never made it seem like I was bothering him, but instead really made us feel like he was genuinely interested in making our wedding day great; he was even kind enough to email our church to speak with the sound director so that I didn’t have to worry about it.

Jim was able to give me a great list of songs to give me ideas about what I wanted for our ceremony. I knew that I didn’t want traditional wedding music, but I still wanted something timeless and appropriate and Jim was able to give that perfect blend with the songs we chose. Once it came time for our wedding day, I can say that Jim did not disappoint us in the least. The music was beyond beautiful and our guests couldn’t stop telling us how amazing it was. Jim accompanied our vocalists, played all of the songs for the processional, and even did a duet with another guitarist. After the ceremony, Jim joined us for cocktail hour where he played upbeat and contemporary music and our guests loved it.

Music is one of those things that really sets the tone for a wedding. I wanted my wedding to feel romantic and easy, yet somewhat traditional and Jim really helped to make that happen for us. From beginning to end, it was great to work with Jim and I hope that I can work with him again in the future.

Kristy & Erik
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
11/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim was absolutely fantastic! He was easy to communicate with, willing to learn songs that we wanted played at our ceremony, professional, on-time, friendly and extremely talented. He even coordinated with my cousin in New Jersey on a song she was singing. He played beautifully at the ceremony and the cocktail hour that followed. His music created the perfect ambience. After hearing him play someone even asked for his information because they wanted to book him for their wedding. I would recommend him to any bride and groom planning a wedding!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dan
Wedding:
10/18/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim performed at our ceremony and cocktail hour for our wedding back in October. He was an absolute pleasure to work with from the first time we contacted him. He was excellent with emails, phone calls, and made the entire booking process very easy for my wife and I.
Jim arrived at our church with plenty of time to set up his equipment and practice before the ceremony. He then played beautiful wedding music for our prelude that our family and friends really enjoyed. Jim was also nice enough to sing and play a song we requested for our unity candle portion of our wedding, which was absolutely wonderful.
Jim has a unique talent in that he can take classic rock songs, heavy rock songs, top party favorites, among many others and play them on the acoustic guitar. As a guitar player myself, I knew this would be great for our cocktail hour. If you watch his videos online, you’ll know what I mean. We were able to request any of the songs off of his playlist and Jim even offered to learn a special song for us if we wanted. He played all of the songs we asked for at our cocktail hour and everyone loved it.
Jim is not only a great guitar player and singer, but great to work with as well. He made our wedding truly special and we would not hesitate to ask him to play at another event. We definitely recommend him!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
130x130_sq_1360338533927-232323232fp43447nu3984299235wsnrcg3737884326nu0mrj
Aubrey
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim was amazing! Throughout the planning process he was extremely helpful and flexible with any requests or changes that I had. He was also very prompt in returning emails, which was a blessing during this chaotic time. During our event, Jim went above and beyond. Our ceremony was outside and the weather did not cooperate. Without missing a beat, Jim unplugged and continued on. As the bride, I was not even aware that there was an issue until after the fact. A true professional all the way!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cahryn
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim played the ceremony music and cocktail hour at our wedding last weekend. He was an absolute pleasure to work with from beginning to end. He is clearly talented at his craft, but is fun to work with as well. He has a busy schedule, but made time for us to plan our music to be just as we wanted it. He didn't even flinch when my now-husband asked him to learn a song he didn't know for our recessional! Jim was awesome - we would recommend him to anyone!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
"Working with Jim Perona was a wonderful experience. He was very accommodating to all our special requests, and his talent and professionalism was outstanding. The music Jim provided for our wedding and cocktail hour made our special day more spectacular than we had ever hoped for, and we would highly recommend him."
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
I had the pleasure of Jim performing during my wedding ceremony and cocktail hour and it was truly one of the better decisions I made regarding the wedding. From the planning stages to the actual event, I couldn't have been more pleased with the experience. The music set exactly the perfect mood for my outdoor wedding: classic, understated, and modern.

As I was searching for musicians, Jim stood out for his exceptional website and music library. I was able to choose all my songs for the wedding from his library. He has traditional wedding songs, contemporary music, and some oldies but goodies. He mentioned that he would be willing to learn a new song if I so desired. I gave him Carte Blanc to play a variety of whatever he wanted during the cocktail reception. I'm glad I did as I had several complements from my guests.

Jim was also amazingly responsive during the planning stages. He contacted me immediately after my inquiry. It was a breeze to email or text with him. Between the comprehensive music library and the ease in which I was able to communicate with him, I didn't even consider other musicians.

He was so professional and the music was amazing. My only complaint was that I couldn't even really appreciate him playing during the ceremony, as I was busy getting married. And I really wish I was able to see him during the cocktail hour, but unfortunately we were taking pictures. At least my guests enjoyed it! As my last piece of advice is this: if you have a musician that is as awesome as Jim--make sure you have a videographer to capture it.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Jim played for our ceremony and he did such an amazing job!!! We received several complements from our guests and was very much enjoyed. Jim is wonderful to work with and extremely responsive and professional. Jim is very talented and made the planning of ceremony music very easy and has great suggestions. He truly was a blessing on our wedding day & I would absolutely recommend him to anyone looking for a guitarist!!! :)
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim was fantastic! We were lucky to find him a month before our wedding and could not be more thrilled! He was able to learn the song we asked him to, and it turned our absolutely beautifully! We hired him for both ceremony and cocktail hour, and everyone loved him and talked about how amazing his skills were.

We would highly, highly recommend him to anyone we could! Thanks so much Jim for everything!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathryn
Wedding:
8/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim is so amazing! Music was absolutely perfect. We had alot of compliments. Jim helped us by learning a new song that we would dance to and only start dance lessons less than 2 weeks from wedding! He helped us pull it off! Thank you so much!!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
8/9/2013
5.0/5.0
There is no secret that planning a wedding is stressful! You always look for the best venue, reverend, photographer, florist and DJ. While planning my wedding I wanted something special. I wanted something that people would remember. I wanted something different then the regular music that is played through a surround sound system. Throughout all the hours of searching I found Jim. To my surprise Jim called me the same day that I emailed him asking for a quote. Jim was such a pleasure to work with. He listened to what I wanted and was willing and happy to work within my budget. Jim was full of great ideas when I needed help picking out songs for my ceremony. He also communicated with all the other venders at my wedding to ensure everything ran smoothly. Jim was very professional. He dressed accordingly and showed up early. It is a month after my wedding and I am still getting compliments on how Jim did such a beautiful job! I will be recommending Jim to all my family and friends with up coming events.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim is so talented and very professional - we (and our guests) so enjoyed his music during our rehearsal dinner. Great attitude, so much talent, he added an extra level of awesome to kick off the wedding weekend. He was also very good communicating with us prior to the event as well, which was wonderful and so appreciated. So glad we were able to work with him. Would highly recommend.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
7/19/2013
5.0/5.0
We found Jim on theknot.com and went to see him play at the Cellar Bistro. He was amazing, and we hired him immediately! He played everything we wanted to hear, and I just wish I could have heard him play before I walked down the aisle! I can't wait to see him perform again!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
7/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim was amazing! He was so easy to work with and extremely profesJim was amazing! He was so easy to work with and extremely professional. He listened to what I wanted....and was able to offer tips and suggestions to help deliver a perfect performance at our wedding. Jim would be the ideal musician for any special occasion. I couldn't be more happy or impressed with his work!!!sional. He listened to what I wanted....and was able to offer tips and suggestions to help deliver a perfect performance at our wedding. Jim would be the ideal musician for any special occasion. I couldn't be more happy and impressed with his work!!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot sing his praises enough! Not only is he a very talented musician, but Jim was very thorough in answering all communications in a timely manner. He was also willing to create several original arrangements for us when we wanted music that might not have been on his original repertoire list.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Jimmy played for my wedding ceremony in the church that I grew up in and really added to the entire relaxed and tranquil feel of the wedding. He played a solo as I walked down the isle with my brothers and I thought it was so beautiful to just hear his guitar with out all the bells and whistles of traditional church ceremony music. Leading up to the wedding Jim was so helpful with selecting the songs. I was so overwhelmed with all the other decisions that needed to be made at the time that I basically told Jim to pick a few of his favorites and I'd narrow them down. Immediately I was emailed a list of songs with links for me to listen to. Not having to figure out one more thing was amazing and made for a very stress free relationship with Jim. I also had a pianist/vocalist who played with Jimmy and they worked very well together, which is a true example of Jimmy's kind nature and real professionalism. I think his talent and knowledge of customer service is what makes Jim one of the best musicians I could find. He truly loves what he does and it showed when we worked together. Not to mention he's one of the nicest guitarist around! I would ABSOLUTELY recommend Jimmy to anyone looking for an acoustic guitarist.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Jim played guitar for our ceremony and cocktail hour for our Wedding and he did a fantastic job! He showed up on time, was dressed professionally and the music was perfect! Working with Jim was very enjoyable. He was prompt in all email correspondence. He was easy to talk to and work with. He was extremely patient while helping us decide what music to go with. He personally met with us so we could hear the music in person and worked with us until we felt comfortable with the music selections. He is an extremely talented musician and really added a great dimension to our Wedding. Everyone loved him!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
My only regret is that it has taken me this long to write this review. Jim provided the ceremony music to my wedding and he was an absolute pleasure to work with from start to finish. He consistently kept in touch via email and was willing to personalize my ceremony for a unique musical selection before during and after the ceremony. When I wanted to walk down the aisle to a song that he did not know, he personally made a beautiful arrangement of the song at no extra cost. I still have friends and family that compliment his beautiful playing. He was professional and at the same time made me feel that I was his only client and was completely focused on me throughout the entire wedding process. After my wedding I requested MP3 versions of each song he played and he happily sent them in a timely manner, again not making it about the money. I love that I still get emails about where he is going in his career because he is heading for big things! Get this musician while you can, because I am sure that I will be seeing and hearing about him in the future!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cynthia
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim was the perfect choice to have play during our wedding ceremony. He provided great selections and was extremely easy and professional to work with. I would recommend Jim to anyone who was looking for a guitarist to play at there wedding.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lauryn
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
There is simply no way to word how extremely appreciative we are of Jim Perona and his amazing talent. Jim helped us create the perfect soundtrack to our wedding and has left us with cherished memories for a lifetime. Our guests could not stop commenting on how he made our ceremony and cocktail hour just perfect! Jim helped us from day one to make sure everything ran as smoothly as possible. He had great song selections and suggestions; even cared enough to take the time and learn a song very dear to our hearts to include at our wedding. If you are looking to add an element at your event to leave guests speechless, you need to book Jim immediately! He is PHENOMENAL!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim is seriously awesome and im so glad we selected him to play for our big day!
He even went and learned a new song that we requested for our recessional music!

Highly recommend!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kara
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I recently had Jim play for our ceremony and cocktail portion of our wedding on September 1st. Jim was absolutely wonderful! He was extremely professional and always returned our emails as quickly as possible. We asked Jim to learn and play 6 songs for our wedding. He sent us recorded videos so we could see how they sounded and could assign them to various parts of our ceremony. The songs turned out perfectly! We were thrilled. Working with Jim couldn’t have been a better experience. He helped make our day even more perfect.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim was a true professional and was amazing! He played our ceremony and cocktail hour. Guests loved it and it made it personal versus piped in music. He took our requests and did an amazing job! Very impressed!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stefanie
Wedding:
7/20/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I knew we wanted something different for our ceremony music and since we are both guitar lovers decided to hire an acoustic guitarist for our outdoor ceremony. We found Jim on gigmasters and immediately wanted to meet him. From the moment we sat down with Jim, we knew he was the perfect fit for our wedding. He's incredibly talented, easy-going, open to ideas and extremely professional, which for any couple planning a wedding is a winning combination. We booked Jim almost a year and a half prior to our wedding, yet he reached out to us as we neared the day and walked us through how to determine the best songs. Not to mention, he has a fantastic website where you can listen to his music and hand-pick the songs that work for you. He was even more than willing to learn a song not originally in his repertoire because it was something my husband and I wanted included in our ceremony. I would not hesitate to hire Jim again for any event I was throwing in the Chicago area - we'd be lucky to have him.
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
Jim was extremely easy to work with and did a great job! He was helpful, professional, and did excellent work. He took on all responsibilities related to coordinating music with the designated staff at our church and was pleasant during all conversations. I would definitely recommend his services. A++
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
M
Wedding:
10/15/2011
4.9/5.0
Everything about working with Jim was great. He answered my emails right away, worked on special requests, was very proactive with information. The ceremony was beautiful, a little windy, but it was great and exactly what we wanted. Highly recommended.
Services Used: Ceremony Music

MAP

 
892 Casa Solana Dr, Wheaton, IL 60189 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Jim Perona Guitar, Inc
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo