130x130_sq_1288108416521-port2

John Harper Disc Jockey Services

Nags Head , NC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Nags Head, NC US 27959 (map)

PHONE

252-473-4528

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
DJ

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristiana
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
John Harper is the way to go. Period. When asked by several people in Nags Head who my DJ was, they would swoon after I told them John Harper was our DJ!

He is such a cool guy. We met him at the OBX Wedding Expo and chatted anough to know that he was the one for us. John's a radio DJ for 99.1 The Sound and before the wedding, my husband and dad would listen to the station regularly. As weird as this sounds, he has the perfect voice for announcing. He is easy to understand and pronounces things extremely well.

Something else he does is play to the crowd. I never gave him a playlist for our wedding, aside from the dance songs, and my guests raved about the music selection and everyone had a blast dancing all night!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Britney
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
John Harper was the perfect DJ for our wedding!! He listened so well to everything we wanted. And he could read the response from our guests to play the best choices at our reception. He was incredibly kind and unobtrusive. Everyone raved about him and the great song choices he played. My husband and I agreed that he wasn't our DJ but another guest because he was so much fun!! Hire John for an unforgettable wedding!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bryan
Wedding:
5/23/2014
5.0/5.0
John was extremely flexible in working with us throughout the wedding process. He even served as a resource for us as we were deliberating on other catering and photography vendors. While John's not the most technologically savvy guy in the business, he did a really nice job and played great music throughout dinner and the reception. He even loaned us a portable audio system to use throughout the week and for our beach ceremony. That came up clutch! John is a great dude!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pam
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
John Harper knows music! There wasn't a minute during the entire reception that the dance floor wasn't moving with dancers of all ages. He's flexible, easy to work with, and loves music. I would not hesitate to book him for your party.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Malorie
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
John Harper was the perfect DJ for our wedding. Everyone danced the whole night because the music was so awesome. He also did the music for our ceremony and it was flawless. He has a great personality and truly wants to make your wedding day perfect. I would highly recommend John Harper if you want to have a great wedding reception.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelli
Wedding:
5/9/2014
5.0/5.0
John did a fantastic job for our wedding reception! He jumped aboard for our in the spot requests and made it happen!!! He was so kind and responsive, plus he has a great DJ voice :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sarah
Wedding:
5/2/2014
5.0/5.0
John Harper was AMAZING during the whole process of planning our wedding!! He was extremely easy to talk with and not only helped us out with song choices but also gave us recommedations for other vendors he worked with in the past. THe music was FANTASTIC and fit our personalities perfectly!!! Our guest were dancing throughout the night. John also played "Let It Go" for the little ones during dinner, which made their night :) We would defianetly recommed John to anyone who wants a outstanding DJ, who arrives early, easy to talke with, always returns your call, gives advice to help planning and is just a great individual all together!! Thanks John for everything!
Love,
GeeJay and Sarah Clark
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suzanne
Wedding:
4/12/2014
5.0/5.0
John was recommended by our photographer, and after reading his reviews I knew he'd be a great fit! He always kept in great contact with me, and I really appreciated John speaking with me on the phone to get to know us as a couple since we were planning a destination wedding. The day of, our wedding seemed to be very whirlwind but when we finally got to dance and relax it was because of John! Everyone had a fantastic time, wish it could have lasted longer. Definitely go with John, you will not be disappointed, plus his "radio" voice is awesome!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
11/9/2013
4.9/5.0
John was great! He immediately called me after I contacted him the first time even though he was out of town himself. He does prefer to chat on the phone (which I think he can better read your style that way) and traditional mail. We barely gave him guidelines for music and he filled in the blanks perfectly. John was also very flexible the day of the wedding when we changed wanting our wedding party introduced.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Honestly, John Harper could not have done better. We gave him a fairly detailed song list, and he executed to perfection. The ceremony music was perfectly timed. During the reception our guests never left the dance floor. But more, overall John is just a very nice, accommodating person. I would highly recommend him to anyone. A pleasure to work with.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gretchen
Wedding:
10/6/2013
5.0/5.0
John was a wonderful addition to our wedding. He was easy to work with, helped us troubleshoot an issue with a song we wanted for the father daughter dance, and knew exactly how to get the group moving. We had a small wedding, so wasn't sure how our dance floor would turn out, but our friends stayed dancing all the way til the end!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
10/4/2013
5.0/5.0
John did an amazing job. He played the music for our reception, and everything was perfect. John was very easy to work with, and super professional. We highly recommend him for your DJ. Thanks John.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
When I first met John Harper, I knew I wanted him to be the DJ for our wedding. He is laid back, but responsive. I knew he would have a great time with our guests and would make sure our guest were out on the dance floor. He did not disappoint! John is a great value and a great DJ. I would highly recommend him.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ericka
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
John did a fabulous job!! He played the absolute perfect music for us during our reception, based only off of a few songs that we had requested in advance. Everyone kept telling us how perfect the DJ was and how not a single song he played seemed "out of place". He arrived right on time, set himself up, and went with the flow. He is obviously extremely experienced and we are so pleased that John was our DJ!!! I would most definitely recommend him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
6/25/2013
5.0/5.0
My wedding was a destination wedding. John made it easy and simple to plan from a distance. He was easy to talk to and knew what he was doing. He listened to us about the songs we wanted to play but also picked songs depending on the crowed at the wedding.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Renata
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
John was an awesome DJ! He kept the party going and everyone had a blast. I would definitely recommend John - but reserve in advance since he books up quickly!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1375589877278-avatar
Johanna
Wedding:
6/21/2013
5.0/5.0
John Harper helped us throw one heck of a party at our wedding reception. It was a destination wedding and our wedding coordinator referred him. After only meeting him once and speaking to him a couple times on the phone before the wedding, we got a really good feeling that we could completely trust him with the music selection. We only gave him a few "must plays" and a few "no plays" and he completely took care of the rest of the music. Our guests were dancing nonstop the entire night! I would highly recommend his DJ services to any bride or groom.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
John Harper did a phenomenal job DJ-ing our 200+ person wedding. He kept the dance floor busy all night and by the end had it completely packed, which was probably the most important thing that we cared about at our reception. John is friendly, laid-back, and very easy to work with. With only 1 short meeting and 1-2 emails, he understood all of our needs/preferences and followed them to the letter on the wedding day. All of our guests who interacted with him had nothing but great things to say, and it was clear to everyone throughout the night that he was enjoying himself and his work. John also had to put up with several of our more boisterous guests making song and speech requests (something we had requested that he not allow for obvious reasons at an open bar wedding) and he did so politely and professionally. I highly, highly recommend John for DJ services and I am so thankful that we had him at our wedding!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
We highly recommend John Harper to DJ your next event on the Outer Banks. John was interested in listening to exactly what we wanted and he provided exactly what we imagined. We had a diverse group of people at our wedding reception on Jennette's Pier and we worried not all of them would have a good time. With John behind the music controls, we had people from age five months to 85 out on the dance floor having a blast! John is not only professional, but is just a down to earth nice guy. He was always available to us whether by phone or email, quickly returning any calls we made. Thanks John Harper!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
4/19/2013
5.0/5.0
John was amazing! I was able to pick a lot of songs from his list of available songs and based on the choices I made he was able to fill in the gaps. He did a great job keeping my guests on the dance floor and chose appropriate music for the cocktail hour. 5 starts for sure! Thanks John!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
1/19/2013
5.0/5.0
John did an amazing job. He played the music for our ceremony and reception, and everything was perfect. Everyone was dancing all night long. We couldn't have picked a better DJ! Thanks for an amazing time, John!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
John was amazing at our wedding! He took the crowd in stride and made sure to include as many requests as he could. It was a very rowdy crowd, and he handled it so professionally. I could not have been happier!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelley
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
We can't say enough about John - he was really the perfect wedding DJ. He did exactly what we asked, plus took our musical tastes and made a perfect playlist that kept people dancing all night. He was totally responsive to our guests and knew just how to keep people moving. And all of our guests keep telling us how he was the best wedding dj ever. Thanks John!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tonya
Wedding:
7/8/2012
5.0/5.0
John is just the BEST!!! He listened to exactly what we wanted- and did it! He is super easy to work with, incredibly accessible and professional. I am very leery of DJ's as a rule- suffered through too many bad ones. John Harper is a delight- had our very mixed group at the wedding dancing the entire night. FUN! Hire John Harper- I am one tough customer and I can only say the best things about him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
7/6/2012
5.0/5.0
John did an awesome job with our wedding. He kept the party going even when the cops came to check our permit and try to shut down the party. He even went to talk to them to see what he could do to help. The cops showing up isn't what we remember from the wedding night, it is the dancing and music. Also was great that he brought his own disco lights that he placed on the ground since we had a yard wedding.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1333679750521-camera050
Lillian
Wedding:
6/15/2012
5.0/5.0
My Husband and I were married 6/15/12 and had John DJ for our wedding. He was wonderful!! The music was fantastic, a great mix for everyone and we danced the night away with our families and friends! John was very accomodating and super professional. We highly reccomend him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Summerfarm
Wedding:
6/11/2012
5.0/5.0
We had a very small wedding of about 25 people on the beach. I really like to dance but was unsure if it would be overkill to have a DJ. John was really honest and said he did things that small but left the decision up to me. I am really glad he came and everyone commented on how great the music was he played. I like a lot of different kinds of music and he had everything I requested. I would highly recommend him for any event.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
John Harper was our DJ for our reception at the Hilton Garden Inn Pier House. If you would like a party to last all night and not have a slow moment, John Harper is it. His DJ skills are top notch and we did not stop dancing all night. He did a great job keeping everyone, young and old, on the dance floor all night. John was also a great MC throughout the night. He kept the reception time-line events on track and did a great job letting me know when the first dances needed to done etc. We could not have asked for a more professional, fun, and excellent DJ. Thanks John! - Becca and Steve
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Malerie_K
Wedding:
6/5/2012
5.0/5.0
John was amazing! He was so easy to work with, and really kept the party going. We decided we wanted the reception to last another hour, and he was more than willing to stay on such short notice. We didn't give him a 'no play list' as we weren't sure what the crowd would dance to. He did an awesome job reading the crowd and accepting requests. He played a wide variety and everyone loved it! I would highly recommend him for your DJ!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jdement03
Wedding:
6/1/2012
5.0/5.0
John was great to work with throughout the entire process. He is very professional, very responsive and knows how to keep the party going! My husband and I never left the dance floor. Great music and great to work with.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jodi
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
John is a great guy! He sat down with us over lunch when we were in the Outer Banks checking out vendors. He is very easy to work with. Kept the party on the dance floor the entire night. I'm positive we had the best DJ in the Outer Banks!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I married on 5/12/12 at Jennettes Pier. I spoke with John Harper when i first started planning and i knew that i wanted to hire him. My mom and I traveled to OBX to meet with several vendors and reserve our wedding team. John Harper is such an awesome person, we booked him right then and i was SO excited we did! He rocked our wedding. My husband and I did not give him a "No play list"and let him do what he does best, and He did and AMAZING job!!! All of our guests loved him and have been talking about what a great job he did. He does such a wonderful job at reading the crowd and was right on point with all of the music played at the wedding. I would HIGHLY recommend John Harper!! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for making our big day an evening to remember not only for us but our wonderful guests! <3 Emily
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mandafite821
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
John was amazing! He was so easy to work with, and really kept the party going. When we decided we wanted the reception to last another hour, he kept the tunes rolling. I would highly recommend him for your DJ!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrsshillingsford
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
John is wonderful -- very professional and accommodating. An expert on "reading the crowd!"
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AndreaRJohnston
Wedding:
9/14/2011
5.0/5.0
So easy to work with. My guests danced all night!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
annhamel
Wedding:
7/16/2011
5.0/5.0
John was great to work with. He is very flexible and able to read a crowd, get them dancing, and adjust quickly when necessary. I spoke with him before the wedding told he what we wanted and he executed on our special day. Magnificent to work with and I would recommend him and his years of experience to anyone.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jleather9
Wedding:
7/15/2011
5.0/5.0
John was a great DJ for us! He played the music we wanted, and made sure to clear it with me for any requests guests made that we had told him not to play. He kept our guests on the dance floor the entire evening, and was always available for us if we had questions or needed to discuss something with him before our wedding day. I highly recommend him for anyone planning an OBX wedding!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leslie
Wedding:
7/1/2011
5.0/5.0
John Harper is an AMAZING DJ! We chose John for our DJ after attending 2 weddings that he worked and seeing how he can truly keep the party going! He is able to read the guests and choose music that can keep them dancing all night long! Our wedding was an absolute BLAST and John had a lot to do with it! We just wish the party didn't ever have to end!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jmepogue
Wedding:
6/29/2011
5.0/5.0
John was absolutely FANTASTIC! He had our guests up and dancing during cocktail hour! We were so reluctant to hire a DJ and being from out of town did not know who to turn to for a recommendation. We did not want your typical cheesy dj. John was referred to us by our cater and after just a few moments on the phone with him we knew our special day was in great hands. John listened to all our wants and don’t wants, honored our special requests, and offered great suggestions about our timeline. This man has great charisma, is full of authentic charm, and is extremely professional. If you our searching for a DJ, look no further….John Harper truly ROCKS!

John Harper,
Thank You! Thank You! Thank You! From the bottom of our hearts
Jaime & AAron
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
6/27/2011
5.0/5.0
John was great to work with; after speaking with him on the phone the 1st time we knew he was the right DJ for us. He had a great mix of music, and was flexible as well. The dance floor was hardly ever empty the entire evening. Thanks John!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
keasandeiu
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
John Harper did an amazing job at our wedding. The music was perfect and he knows what he is doing. He was flexible and kept the party going. We really enjoyed working with John. Very reliable.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deanna
Wedding:
5/26/2011
5.0/5.0
My Husband and I live in San Diego and had our wedding in OBX. With me on the west coast and both of our families in New York/New Jersey, my Mom and I decided it would be best to hire a wedding planner (Kathy Halloran) to help us out. We flew down to NC in January to meet Kathy and visit all of the vendors. John was recommended by Kathy, but was out of town during my visit, so he kindly called in to speak to me on the phone and from the moment I heard his voice - he was hired! He's really got a great voice - it is the absolute perfect radio/dj voice! I'm serious - and when you call him to DJ your event (I highly recommend you do) you will see what I mean!

My husband is pretty picky about his music and John was great at playing whatever we wanted. We sent him a list of over hundreds of songs. He asked us which songs we wanted to play during certain times - like our first dance, and our dance with our parents, but the rest of the music he took and ran with it and did an excellent job. Our guests are honestly still talking about how great the DJ and music were.

I never had to worry about anything during the time that I worked with John. He was extremely kind to my family and to my guests. Overall, John is professional and courteous and a complete pleasure to work with. You can tell he really loves what he does.

Thank you John!
Nate and Deanna Waterman
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kristen6488
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
John had my wedding attendants dancing the entire night! He was great! Not only that, but he was extremely flexible...we had him moving from the entrance of the aquarium, back to the dance room, and also playing CDs during dinner, anddd incorporating a song into the matron of honor's speech. He did an incredible job and everyone at the wedding loved him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cindy Stinson
Wedding:
5/7/2011
4.9/5.0
John did an excellent job for my daughter's wedding at the Outer Banks. He was always a professional and went above and beyond to accommodate our music needs--even at the end when no one wanted to leave and kept chanting "one more song." He is very easy to talk to and the music flowed through the night for an exciting and fun finish. I would give him my highest recommendation for anyone looking for an experienced DJ. His expertise meant that was one thing we did not have to be concerned with during the wedding planning!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy F.
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
John was great! He was very easy to reach and very helpful in planning the wedding, especially from afar. I could tell he had done this for many years! He read the crowd well and played everything we wanted, did not play what we didn't, and made excellent choices. Everyone had a great time and the impending storm was the only reason we ended. A true professional- you will not be sorry!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
megrunsfast
Wedding:
10/3/2010
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough about John Harper. From the get-go, John preferred to talk on the phone so that we could better collaborate on the music for our wedding day. He was able to meet all our needs even from another state. He even initiated contact to check on us and our plans for our wedding day music. We gave him a very extensive playlist and he played those songs, plus added some songs that matched our taste based on the list. When my Grandparents requested a polka, he came up quietly to check and see if that was ok, which, of course, it was. Our wedding was small, but every single second of the reception (excluding dining and speech times), the dance floor was packed with EVERYONE. The comments on how great of a time everyone had and the great job that John did were unending from all sides. We LOVED having him make our wedding day much more fun than it would've been without him. (He's got great music taste, too, and during our conversations, we found ourselves talking about how great the Beatles are...and he taught me a few things about them I did not know--he's got great music knowledge.) I can't imagine another DJ coming close to John Harper's high quality. Great value, too! Thanks, John!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BEFewell
Wedding:
9/17/2010
4.9/5.0
We were married in the Outer Banks two weeks ago and John Harper was the best DJ we could have asked for! He gave us great advice and answered all of our questions, plus he really listened to us and gave us what we asked for. He's a terriffic DJ and knows how to read the crowd and play what will keep people on the dance floor. Highly recommended!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.7/5.0
John was really easy to work with, he was very accomodating with my selections and was a very good MC throughout the reception. Great Job! Would recommend:)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
uncgslp
Wedding:
7/30/2010
5.0/5.0
I can not say enough wonderful things about working with John. He was so helpful with planning our event, even beyond just the music! He was so responsive to any calls/emails, and able to answer all questions and make me feel at ease. We never met him until our reception, but the way things went, you would think he had known us for a long time. The reception was so much fun, and that is in large part due to John. I would highly recommend him to anyone.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley Claire
Wedding:
7/2/2010
5.0/5.0
We truly enjoyed having John as the DJ for our wedding. Leading up to the wedding, he was easy to get in touch with and even easier to work with. He had great suggestions about what we would want, and he was right about it all. During the evening, John was effective in guiding our guests through the evening without ever being intrusive. People of all ages were up and dancing, and he kept people dancing for the entire evening. To top it off, John was also very reasonably priced. John truly was the perfect choice for our evening!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dawn
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
John Harper was amazing!! He kept my guests dancing from start to finish. He had a great playlist with little input from us. He made our special day perfect! We highly recommend him for your wedding or special event.
Services Used: DJ
Bg21
Deonna
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
John was a terrific DJ. Even though I had some odd music requests, including a good bit of older music (like Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, the Beatles), he played everything I wanted to hear - It almost seemed like I made up the playlist myself. He also had very good timing as far as when and what dance music to play - Even though my guest list was small, people were always out on the dance floor, including people of all ages - young kids all the way up to grandparents!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1247342272737-obxweddinggwyn343
Gwyneth
Wedding:
1/24/2009
5.0/5.0
My family and I have known John for a while, so I knew he would do a great job. He has lots of experience and knows how to play the right music to get people dancing.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
6/27/2008
4.0/5.0
John played great music. People complimented it all night.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristie
Wedding:
5/11/2007
4.5/5.0
John was great! I would definitely recommend for those who want a DJ who will get the party dancing.
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
Nags Head, NC 27959 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for John Harper Disc Jockey Services
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1288108416521-port2