130x130 sq 1368218113672 michaelblakeheadshot

John Ross Music and Production

Portland , OR
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2104 NE 45th Ave.
Portland, OR 97213 US (map)

PHONE

503-515-3559

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

John Ross Music and Production has been the Northwest’s premier provider of live music and sound for weddings and parties since 2004. Based on owner John Ross’ extensive experience as a... Read more
John Ross Music and Production has been the Northwest’s premier provider of live music and sound for weddings and parties since 2004. Based on owner John Ross’ extensive experience as a musician and event planner, the company provides all-inclusive packages that offer quality, simplicity and affordability to its clients.

The company got its start in 2004 when owner John Ross began offering simple all-inclusive solutions to the complex requirements of special events. By grouping DJ service together with live ceremony music and complete sound support, the company began saving brides and grooms time, money and energy. Planning birthday parties and corporate events became easier thanks to a vendor who offered the flexibility to feature both live music and DJ service at the same event.

Over the years, John Ross Music and Production has become known for inspired live music, flawless audio production, and attentive DJ service. Our clients appreciate the simplicity of working with just one person. They also appreciate the friendly professionalism with which they are treated and the attention to detail their wedding or event receives. Whether yours is an elaborate wedding or a simple get together with friends, John Ross Music and Production has the talent and experience to deliver an event that looks great, sounds amazing and flows perfectly.



johnrossmusic@gmail.com | 503.515.3559 Read less
Ceremony Music

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1362090086819 7347074548731279000581784689493n
130x130 sq 1362090095850 gabrielboone0698
130x130 sq 1445270841667 577280540913299290968334212237n
130x130 sq 1362090097137 johnheadshotforweb214x300
130x130 sq 1445270870210 9230586102191923603781179215292n
130x130 sq 1362090091349 bandpromo
130x130 sq 1445270851428 7361916530036114152693975361720679502544o
130x130 sq 1445271257764 903458101521807174954501105461920o
130x130 sq 1445270900079 103739736762158824273757844108634619766840n
130x130 sq 1445270910143 10390412676669609048669306936811455850545n
130x130 sq 1445271246703 5470624703051296851192112306694n
130x130 sq 1362092199569 530711394264127729943718308o
130x130 sq 1445271251824 553992470318716350427527072654n
130x130 sq 1445270893474 12371495409133726242941298922015n
130x130 sq 1445270883333 10487915197915414031441951760969o
130x130 sq 1362092201335 767821394264594396563584786n
130x130 sq 1445270834306 5337545409133026243011277471241n
130x130 sq 1445270859156 8826965916489308840711174231039o
130x130 sq 1445271240866 3123604703038696852451751278867n
130x130 sq 1445270877097 1000590540913295957635649362413n

INFO FOR CEREMONY MUSIC

What ceremony music arrangements can you provide?
Instrumental - Duo, Instrumental - Solo, Instrumental - Trio, Soloist / Vocalist, String - Quartet, String - Trio
How many musicians are in your band(s)?
1-3
What instruments does your group play?
Cello, Guitar, Piano, Viola, Violin
What services do you provide?
Ceremony Music, Cocktail Hour Music, Instrumentals, Learn New Songs, Microphones, Music During Breaks, Reception Music, Rehearsal Dinner Music, Sample Performances, Sound/PA System, Vocals

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Courtney
Wedding:
8/9/2016
5.0/5.0
John Ross literally made our wedding. He is a master of his craft. My husband and I met with John on multiple occasions, to get help with music choices, and he was extremely friendly, funny, and professional. John was not only the DJ for our reception but played live music during the ceremony and MC'd all night and it was incredible. So many guests have come up to me and told me how wonderful John Ross was. I feel like I can not say enough great things about John Ross. So if you want your guests to have a great time at your wedding you will not hesitate to hire him!
John Ross literally made our wedding. He is a master of his craft. My husband and I met with John on multiple occasions, Read more...
John Ross literally made our wedding. He is a master of his craft. My husband and I met with John on multiple occasions, to get help with music choices, and he was extremely friendly, funny, and professional. John was not only the DJ for our reception but played live music during the ceremony and MC'd all night and it was incredible. So many guests have come up to me and told me how wonderful John Ross was. I feel like I can not say enough great things about John Ross. So if you want your guests to have a great time at your wedding you will not hesitate to hire him! Read less
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Absolutely exceptional team! Couldn't have asked for better live music or DJ. Friendly, helpful, accommodating and thorough staff. Pleasant and easy to coordinate with office administrator. Overall, went above and beyond to make sure our day was extra special!
Absolutely exceptional team! Couldn't have asked for better live music or DJ. Friendly, helpful, accommodating and Read more...
Absolutely exceptional team! Couldn't have asked for better live music or DJ. Friendly, helpful, accommodating and thorough staff. Pleasant and easy to coordinate with office administrator. Overall, went above and beyond to make sure our day was extra special! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Mae Joy
Wedding:
7/3/2016
5.0/5.0
Hunting for the perfect DJ/Performer was such a task and was on the top of the list of the things we really wanted at our wedding to be perfect. We were referred to John Ross Music and Production through our wedding officiant who also gave us a CD of some of their sample music. After meeting with our officiant, we listened to the CD in the car and automatically fell in love with their style. Right away, my husband and I looked them up and saw that they did both live/acoustic performances and DJ; major bonus points on that end. My husband and I were torn on having either a live band play or just a DJ so we were ecstatic that they did both. We met at their studio where John Ross introduced us to our musician, Micheal Blake. During that meeting, Micheal Blake was already playing music for us and we were able to get a taste of what we would hear on our wedding day. My husband and I did not hesitate and booked them right then and there.

On our wedding day, Micheal Blake really did set the tone of our wedding which was full of love, romance, and a party at the end. He learned a song in which he performed live for us as our first dance and it was so beautiful and perfect, I couldn't stop crying. He played "Latch" by Sam Smith and his version was so perfect. They even sent over a copy of all the recordings from the wedding. Couldn't be more happier with our music choice. Every one from the wedding were super impressed by him and heard nothing but raving reviews from all of our guest.

All in all, I HIGHLY recommend John Ross Music and Production.
Hunting for the perfect DJ/Performer was such a task and was on the top of the list of the things we really wanted at our Read more...
Hunting for the perfect DJ/Performer was such a task and was on the top of the list of the things we really wanted at our wedding to be perfect. We were referred to John Ross Music and Production through our wedding officiant who also gave us a CD of some of their sample music. After meeting with our officiant, we listened to the CD in the car and automatically fell in love with their style. Right away, my husband and I looked them up and saw that they did both live/acoustic performances and DJ; major bonus points on that end. My husband and I were torn on having either a live band play or just a DJ so we were ecstatic that they did both. We met at their studio where John Ross introduced us to our musician, Micheal Blake. During that meeting, Micheal Blake was already playing music for us and we were able to get a taste of what we would hear on our wedding day. My husband and I did not hesitate and booked them right then and there.

On our wedding day, Micheal Blake really did set the tone of our wedding which was full of love, romance, and a party at the end. He learned a song in which he performed live for us as our first dance and it was so beautiful and perfect, I couldn't stop crying. He played "Latch" by Sam Smith and his version was so perfect. They even sent over a copy of all the recordings from the wedding. Couldn't be more happier with our music choice. Every one from the wedding were super impressed by him and heard nothing but raving reviews from all of our guest.

All in all, I HIGHLY recommend John Ross Music and Production. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Maresha
Wedding:
7/3/2016
5.0/5.0
John and his team were fabulous, kind, and easy to work with. They were so professional while still making us feel casual and comfortable. On the day of the wedding, we never worried about a thing with John- he had everything worked out and we simply enjoyed the evening. Thanks!!!!
John and his team were fabulous, kind, and easy to work with. They were so professional while still making us feel casual Read more...
John and his team were fabulous, kind, and easy to work with. They were so professional while still making us feel casual and comfortable. On the day of the wedding, we never worried about a thing with John- he had everything worked out and we simply enjoyed the evening. Thanks!!!! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Zoe
Wedding:
7/2/2016
5.0/5.0
Amazing! My husband and I were so pleased with Kevin Florence and the whole John Ross team! Kevin's original music was perfect for our cocktail hour, and the DJ music was great for dancing. Would not hesitate to recommend John Ross to anyone looking for even music! There's a reason why they are the best in Portland!
Amazing! My husband and I were so pleased with Kevin Florence and the whole John Ross team! Kevin's original music was Read more...
Amazing! My husband and I were so pleased with Kevin Florence and the whole John Ross team! Kevin's original music was perfect for our cocktail hour, and the DJ music was great for dancing. Would not hesitate to recommend John Ross to anyone looking for even music! There's a reason why they are the best in Portland! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
John Ross and his staff were so amazing! They made the entire process as easy and seamless as possible. As a bride and groom with a unique work schedule, they made the music process entirely stress free. John was so accommodating and we knew immediately during our first meeting with him we were booking the right people. Their admin staff was prompt and on top of every detail. Andrew, our musician, was absolutely incredible and very talented. His passion for music was definitely apparent and executed our wishes perfectly. He was also the best DJ during the reception and full of energy! Everyone could not stop commenting on how amazing our music was. We were so happy with our decision to utilize their services. If you don't book them, you're missing out big time!!!!
John Ross and his staff were so amazing! They made the entire process as easy and seamless as possible. As a bride and Read more...
John Ross and his staff were so amazing! They made the entire process as easy and seamless as possible. As a bride and groom with a unique work schedule, they made the music process entirely stress free. John was so accommodating and we knew immediately during our first meeting with him we were booking the right people. Their admin staff was prompt and on top of every detail. Andrew, our musician, was absolutely incredible and very talented. His passion for music was definitely apparent and executed our wishes perfectly. He was also the best DJ during the reception and full of energy! Everyone could not stop commenting on how amazing our music was. We were so happy with our decision to utilize their services. If you don't book them, you're missing out big time!!!! Read less
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Lela
Wedding:
7/2/2016
5.0/5.0
Worth the money spent for sure! The whole process was just seamless. From the website that allows you to listen to each musician, clear through the wedding ceremony and reception, Michael Blake was a perfect fit for our daughter's wedding. His voice and guitar were amazing during the ceremony and cocktail hour, and he transformed into a super fun DJ for the reception. He kept the night flowing beautifully. I cannot recommend he and John Ross Music enough.
Worth the money spent for sure! The whole process was just seamless. From the website that allows you to listen to each Read more...
Worth the money spent for sure! The whole process was just seamless. From the website that allows you to listen to each musician, clear through the wedding ceremony and reception, Michael Blake was a perfect fit for our daughter's wedding. His voice and guitar were amazing during the ceremony and cocktail hour, and he transformed into a super fun DJ for the reception. He kept the night flowing beautifully. I cannot recommend he and John Ross Music enough. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Logan
Wedding:
6/26/2016
5.0/5.0
John was fantastic, on top of just handling the music and sound system he kept everything moving on schedule handled all the announcements and anticipated what needed to happen without us having to worry about anything, would absolutely recommend him to anyone!
John was fantastic, on top of just handling the music and sound system he kept everything moving on schedule handled all Read more...
John was fantastic, on top of just handling the music and sound system he kept everything moving on schedule handled all the announcements and anticipated what needed to happen without us having to worry about anything, would absolutely recommend him to anyone! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
130x130 sq 1421653044526 10516634102034535907335725124338963459912523n
Siloh
Wedding:
6/25/2016
5.0/5.0
Yes! Yes! Yes!

First off you are able to go onto their website and hear each of their musicians and get a feel for their style and vocals. This was my favorite because it helped us pick who would best fit the vibe and style of our wedding and our own vocal preferences. Although, to be fair, and honest, it was a hard choice because they were all amazing.

We booked with John Ross Music and had Michael Blake as our musician and dj. WOAH! We were absolutely mind blown with his vocals,his voice is crisp and clear, but mellow and a little raspy at the same time. It short, it was magical perfection! His ability to read the room and play exactly what the crowd is feeling beyond impressive -seriously he has a sixth sense!

Countless people came up to us during the wedding and asked how did we find him, and praised his amazing vocals!

He was such a huge part of the wedding, but in a non-intrusive way. He made announcements and kept the flow of the wedding going strong. We cannot thank him enough!

Overall, the interface of JRM's website is flawless. It made it so easy to view our contract, pick, edit and re-pick songs, and even pay our bill. By far the best website out of all of our vendors! Email was quick and responsive.


Music can make or break a wedding, and I promise if you book with John Ross Music, especially with Michael Blake you will not be disappointed. If you are looking for the BEST then book with John Ross Music.
Yes! Yes! Yes!

First off you are able to go onto their website and hear each of their musicians and get a feel Read more...
Yes! Yes! Yes!

First off you are able to go onto their website and hear each of their musicians and get a feel for their style and vocals. This was my favorite because it helped us pick who would best fit the vibe and style of our wedding and our own vocal preferences. Although, to be fair, and honest, it was a hard choice because they were all amazing.

We booked with John Ross Music and had Michael Blake as our musician and dj. WOAH! We were absolutely mind blown with his vocals,his voice is crisp and clear, but mellow and a little raspy at the same time. It short, it was magical perfection! His ability to read the room and play exactly what the crowd is feeling beyond impressive -seriously he has a sixth sense!

Countless people came up to us during the wedding and asked how did we find him, and praised his amazing vocals!

He was such a huge part of the wedding, but in a non-intrusive way. He made announcements and kept the flow of the wedding going strong. We cannot thank him enough!

Overall, the interface of JRM's website is flawless. It made it so easy to view our contract, pick, edit and re-pick songs, and even pay our bill. By far the best website out of all of our vendors! Email was quick and responsive.


Music can make or break a wedding, and I promise if you book with John Ross Music, especially with Michael Blake you will not be disappointed. If you are looking for the BEST then book with John Ross Music. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Laura
Wedding:
6/24/2016
5.0/5.0
Absolutely perfect! John Ross music was so flexible, accommodating, professional, fun, and talented!! If you want your wedding music to be flawless and hassle free then hire John Ross music.
Absolutely perfect! John Ross music was so flexible, accommodating, professional, fun, and talented!! If you want your Read more...
Absolutely perfect! John Ross music was so flexible, accommodating, professional, fun, and talented!! If you want your wedding music to be flawless and hassle free then hire John Ross music. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ

MAP

 
2104 NE 45th Ave., Portland, OR 97213 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for John Ross Music and Production
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1368218113672 michaelblakeheadshot