130x130 sq 1368218113672 michaelblakeheadshot

John Ross Music and Production

Portland , OR
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2104 NE 45th Ave.
Portland, OR 97213 US (map)

PHONE

503-515-3559

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

John Ross Music and Production has been the Northwest’s premier provider of live music and sound for weddings and parties since 2004. Based on owner John Ross’ extensive experience as a... Read more
John Ross Music and Production has been the Northwest’s premier provider of live music and sound for weddings and parties since 2004. Based on owner John Ross’ extensive experience as a musician and event planner, the company provides all-inclusive packages that offer quality, simplicity and affordability to its clients.

The company got its start in 2004 when owner John Ross began offering simple all-inclusive solutions to the complex requirements of special events. By grouping DJ service together with live ceremony music and complete sound support, the company began saving brides and grooms time, money and energy. Planning birthday parties and corporate events became easier thanks to a vendor who offered the flexibility to feature both live music and DJ service at the same event.

Over the years, John Ross Music and Production has become known for inspired live music, flawless audio production, and attentive DJ service. Our clients appreciate the simplicity of working with just one person. They also appreciate the friendly professionalism with which they are treated and the attention to detail their wedding or event receives. Whether yours is an elaborate wedding or a simple get together with friends, John Ross Music and Production has the talent and experience to deliver an event that looks great, sounds amazing and flows perfectly.



johnrossmusic@gmail.com | 503.515.3559 Read less
Ceremony Music

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1362090086819 7347074548731279000581784689493n
130x130 sq 1362090095850 gabrielboone0698
130x130 sq 1445270841667 577280540913299290968334212237n
130x130 sq 1362090097137 johnheadshotforweb214x300
130x130 sq 1445270870210 9230586102191923603781179215292n
130x130 sq 1362090091349 bandpromo
130x130 sq 1445270851428 7361916530036114152693975361720679502544o
130x130 sq 1445271257764 903458101521807174954501105461920o
130x130 sq 1445270900079 103739736762158824273757844108634619766840n
130x130 sq 1445270910143 10390412676669609048669306936811455850545n
130x130 sq 1445271246703 5470624703051296851192112306694n
130x130 sq 1362092199569 530711394264127729943718308o
130x130 sq 1445271251824 553992470318716350427527072654n
130x130 sq 1445270893474 12371495409133726242941298922015n
130x130 sq 1445270883333 10487915197915414031441951760969o
130x130 sq 1362092201335 767821394264594396563584786n
130x130 sq 1445270834306 5337545409133026243011277471241n
130x130 sq 1445270859156 8826965916489308840711174231039o
130x130 sq 1445271240866 3123604703038696852451751278867n
130x130 sq 1445270877097 1000590540913295957635649362413n

INFO FOR CEREMONY MUSIC

What ceremony music arrangements can you provide?
Instrumental - Duo, Instrumental - Solo, Instrumental - Trio, Soloist / Vocalist, String - Quartet, String - Trio
How many musicians are in your band(s)?
1-3
What instruments does your group play?
Cello, Guitar, Piano, Viola, Violin
What services do you provide?
Ceremony Music, Cocktail Hour Music, Instrumentals, Learn New Songs, Microphones, Music During Breaks, Reception Music, Rehearsal Dinner Music, Sample Performances, Sound/PA System, Vocals

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
130x130 sq 1421653044526 10516634102034535907335725124338963459912523n
Siloh
Wedding:
6/25/2016
5.0/5.0
Yes! Yes! Yes!

First off you are able to go onto their website and hear each of their musicians and get a feel for their style and vocals. This was my favorite because it helped us pick who would best fit the vibe and style of our wedding and our own vocal preferences. Although, to be fair, and honest, it was a hard choice because they were all amazing.

We booked with John Ross Music and had Michael Blake as our musician and dj. WOAH! We were absolutely mind blown with his vocals,his voice is crisp and clear, but mellow and a little raspy at the same time. It short, it was magical perfection! His ability to read the room and play exactly what the crowd is feeling beyond impressive -seriously he has a sixth sense!

Countless people came up to us during the wedding and asked how did we find him, and praised his amazing vocals!

He was such a huge part of the wedding, but in a non-intrusive way. He made announcements and kept the flow of the wedding going strong. We cannot thank him enough!

Overall, the interface of JRM's website is flawless. It made it so easy to view our contract, pick, edit and re-pick songs, and even pay our bill. By far the best website out of all of our vendors! Email was quick and responsive.


Music can make or break a wedding, and I promise if you book with John Ross Music, especially with Michael Blake you will not be disappointed. If you are looking for the BEST then book with John Ross Music.
Yes! Yes! Yes!

First off you are able to go onto their website and hear each of their musicians and get a feel Read more...
Yes! Yes! Yes!

First off you are able to go onto their website and hear each of their musicians and get a feel for their style and vocals. This was my favorite because it helped us pick who would best fit the vibe and style of our wedding and our own vocal preferences. Although, to be fair, and honest, it was a hard choice because they were all amazing.

We booked with John Ross Music and had Michael Blake as our musician and dj. WOAH! We were absolutely mind blown with his vocals,his voice is crisp and clear, but mellow and a little raspy at the same time. It short, it was magical perfection! His ability to read the room and play exactly what the crowd is feeling beyond impressive -seriously he has a sixth sense!

Countless people came up to us during the wedding and asked how did we find him, and praised his amazing vocals!

He was such a huge part of the wedding, but in a non-intrusive way. He made announcements and kept the flow of the wedding going strong. We cannot thank him enough!

Overall, the interface of JRM's website is flawless. It made it so easy to view our contract, pick, edit and re-pick songs, and even pay our bill. By far the best website out of all of our vendors! Email was quick and responsive.


Music can make or break a wedding, and I promise if you book with John Ross Music, especially with Michael Blake you will not be disappointed. If you are looking for the BEST then book with John Ross Music. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Hilary
Wedding:
5/28/2016
5.0/5.0
Great experience! We loved them! John Ross Music was very professional and easy to work with. John Ross himself made time to speak with my husband and me before the wedding to help us pick our music for special moments. They had surveys for us to fill out to make sure we had music for every moment. They think of everything so you don't have to. Thank you John Ross so much!! You are amazing!
Great experience! We loved them! John Ross Music was very professional and easy to work with. John Ross himself made time Read more...
Great experience! We loved them! John Ross Music was very professional and easy to work with. John Ross himself made time to speak with my husband and me before the wedding to help us pick our music for special moments. They had surveys for us to fill out to make sure we had music for every moment. They think of everything so you don't have to. Thank you John Ross so much!! You are amazing! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
John was happy to customize his packages to add/remove services that we didn't need which helped save us some money! One of the most affordable of all the DJ's we looked at. Michael, our DJ, was fantastic. He was amazing (so I've heard) during our cocktail hour. He really catered to our unique song choices and had everyone dancing all night!
John was happy to customize his packages to add/remove services that we didn't need which helped save us some money! One Read more...
John was happy to customize his packages to add/remove services that we didn't need which helped save us some money! One of the most affordable of all the DJ's we looked at. Michael, our DJ, was fantastic. He was amazing (so I've heard) during our cocktail hour. He really catered to our unique song choices and had everyone dancing all night! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Joshua
Wedding:
5/20/2016
5.0/5.0
Choosing John Ross was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding, we are so very happy with their service and their talent pool of musicians and styles is perfect for most any one.
Choosing John Ross was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding, we are so very happy with their service and Read more...
Choosing John Ross was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding, we are so very happy with their service and their talent pool of musicians and styles is perfect for most any one. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Jessica
Wedding:
5/20/2016
5.0/5.0
I love John ross music! They give the perfect balance of live music with djing. They guys are super personal and actually want to get to know you. They complete my wedding!
I love John ross music! They give the perfect balance of live music with djing. They guys are super personal and actually Read more...
I love John ross music! They give the perfect balance of live music with djing. They guys are super personal and actually want to get to know you. They complete my wedding! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Kolbi
Wedding:
5/14/2016
5.0/5.0
Music can make or break a wedding and John Ross and his team will definitely make the wedding. The value of the service that is offered is unbelievable - we had a live acoustic guitar during our cocktail hour, a three piece band during dinner, and live music for first dances. Nate from John Ross was PHENOMENAL. People will not stop talking about how talented he was. Additionally, the music selections made were perfect to allow people to visit, while still enjoying the beautiful live music. He then transitioned to DJ - filling our dance floor until the last dance, knowing what songs worked to get the guests on their feet and not wanting to sit down. If you have not booked John Ross yet, do it now - it will be the best investment that you can make for your big day!
Music can make or break a wedding and John Ross and his team will definitely make the wedding. The value of the service Read more...
Music can make or break a wedding and John Ross and his team will definitely make the wedding. The value of the service that is offered is unbelievable - we had a live acoustic guitar during our cocktail hour, a three piece band during dinner, and live music for first dances. Nate from John Ross was PHENOMENAL. People will not stop talking about how talented he was. Additionally, the music selections made were perfect to allow people to visit, while still enjoying the beautiful live music. He then transitioned to DJ - filling our dance floor until the last dance, knowing what songs worked to get the guests on their feet and not wanting to sit down. If you have not booked John Ross yet, do it now - it will be the best investment that you can make for your big day! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Katherine
Wedding:
5/2/2016
5.0/5.0
My now husband and I got engaged in August of 2015, just a few weeks later we went to a wedding that John Ross worked. We LOVED him! So much so that he was the first vendor we booked! We were so impressed with his professionalism and talent. When we looked into his reviews we found that he was very highly rated and we knew we couldn't go wrong with hiring him! When we searched for a venue they each mentioned how amazing John is, which put any worries we may have had aside. Worth every penny! I know he has a team of great DJ's but be sure to hire John for your day! He's the best! Also, you get a recording of your ceremony and that is priceless to have. The audio quality is amazing! I was worried since our ceremony was outdoors that our guests might not be able to hear us clearly but John knew exactly what to do as every guest I asked heard every word!
My now husband and I got engaged in August of 2015, just a few weeks later we went to a wedding that John Ross worked. We Read more...
My now husband and I got engaged in August of 2015, just a few weeks later we went to a wedding that John Ross worked. We LOVED him! So much so that he was the first vendor we booked! We were so impressed with his professionalism and talent. When we looked into his reviews we found that he was very highly rated and we knew we couldn't go wrong with hiring him! When we searched for a venue they each mentioned how amazing John is, which put any worries we may have had aside. Worth every penny! I know he has a team of great DJ's but be sure to hire John for your day! He's the best! Also, you get a recording of your ceremony and that is priceless to have. The audio quality is amazing! I was worried since our ceremony was outdoors that our guests might not be able to hear us clearly but John knew exactly what to do as every guest I asked heard every word! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Karen
Wedding:
5/1/2016
5.0/5.0
John Ross music was great! They were very responsive, attentive to details and professional. They kept the music in keeping with our taste and checked in with us throughout the reception to make sure we were okay with the pace and timing of things. Couldn't be happier with the way everything went!
John Ross music was great! They were very responsive, attentive to details and professional. They kept the music in Read more...
John Ross music was great! They were very responsive, attentive to details and professional. They kept the music in keeping with our taste and checked in with us throughout the reception to make sure we were okay with the pace and timing of things. Couldn't be happier with the way everything went! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
John Ross is a great DJ. We used him for both ceremony and reception. We had live music during cocktail hour and for the first dance which every one loved. We had a mixed wedding with Turkish and American music and he was able to keep the dance floor moving with Turkish music. John took many roles during the reception, impressing the guests helping as needed and also providing music. We didn't meet with John ahead of time but we didn't need to. John and his team was very responsive to email. Overall, John Ross is a good musician and laid back DJ to have at your ceremony and reception.
John Ross is a great DJ. We used him for both ceremony and reception. We had live music during cocktail hour and for the Read more...
John Ross is a great DJ. We used him for both ceremony and reception. We had live music during cocktail hour and for the first dance which every one loved. We had a mixed wedding with Turkish and American music and he was able to keep the dance floor moving with Turkish music. John took many roles during the reception, impressing the guests helping as needed and also providing music. We didn't meet with John ahead of time but we didn't need to. John and his team was very responsive to email. Overall, John Ross is a good musician and laid back DJ to have at your ceremony and reception. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Michelle
Wedding:
4/17/2016
5.0/5.0
My wedding day could not have been more perfect. And John Ross Productions was a part of that. Nate was our musician as well as a violinist for the ceremony. Nate sang a special song for us during the ceremony and it was so beautiful and I couldnt have had it go any better had I tried! Nate also DJ'd the reception and kept things fun and upbeat. He played anything that was asked, which I had approved. And he also sang some live stuff as well. John was a big help with our recessional song and helped me get it just right so that I was happy with it. Nate also did our Shoelywed game which ended up being a lot of fun. Overall I would recommend John Ross to anyone looking for a DJ. They followed up with me regularly to make sure everything was the way I wanted it to be. The day of they worked with the venue and there were no snags or hiccups. They know what they are doing!
My wedding day could not have been more perfect. And John Ross Productions was a part of that. Nate was our musician as Read more...
My wedding day could not have been more perfect. And John Ross Productions was a part of that. Nate was our musician as well as a violinist for the ceremony. Nate sang a special song for us during the ceremony and it was so beautiful and I couldnt have had it go any better had I tried! Nate also DJ'd the reception and kept things fun and upbeat. He played anything that was asked, which I had approved. And he also sang some live stuff as well. John was a big help with our recessional song and helped me get it just right so that I was happy with it. Nate also did our Shoelywed game which ended up being a lot of fun. Overall I would recommend John Ross to anyone looking for a DJ. They followed up with me regularly to make sure everything was the way I wanted it to be. The day of they worked with the venue and there were no snags or hiccups. They know what they are doing! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ

MAP

 
2104 NE 45th Ave., Portland, OR 97213 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for John Ross Music and Production
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1368218113672 michaelblakeheadshot