130x130_sq_1396310753621-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-3-of-

Joseph Esser Photography - Honolulu Wedding Photographer

Honolulu , HI

LOCATION

3523 Maluhia Street
Honolulu, HI US 96816 (map)

PHONE

808-259-1475

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Let Joseph Esser photograph your special day with the attention and professionalism it deserves. Joseph's fun, creative and efficient disposition expresses the best elements of... Read more
Let Joseph Esser photograph your special day with the attention and professionalism it deserves. Joseph's fun, creative and efficient disposition expresses the best elements of traditional picture storytelling and modern photojournalism. All wedding packages include event photography by Joseph Esser, professional photo editing, dvd with copy-right release, and an online photo gallery making it easy to share your images with friends and family. I am based in Honolulu and provide service to all the Hawaiian Islands.

Contact Joseph at:
Email: Info@EsserPhotography.com
Website: www.EsserPhotography.com
Tel.: (808) 259-1475 Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1396310236644-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-3-of-2
130x130_sq_1396310521913-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-17-of-2
130x130_sq_1396310302877-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-7-of-2
130x130_sq_1284489902045-angelandearl148
130x130_sq_1396310282551-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-5-of-2
130x130_sq_1284488774779-mandijohn476
130x130_sq_1284490053841-coridonald29
130x130_sq_1396310210323-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-2-of-2
130x130_sq_1396310257524-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-4-of-2
130x130_sq_1396310380334-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-10-of-2
130x130_sq_1396310357988-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-9-of-2
130x130_sq_1396311272718-joseph-esser-photography-2
130x130_sq_1284488583701-mandijohn174
130x130_sq_1396310403039-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-11-of-2
130x130_sq_1396310339709-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-8-of-2
130x130_sq_1396310439441-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-13-of-2
130x130_sq_1396310192025-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-1-of-2
130x130_sq_1396310501002-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-16-of-2
130x130_sq_1396310566553-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-19-of-2
130x130_sq_1396310308465-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-6-of-2
130x130_sq_1396310483887-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-15-of-2
130x130_sq_1396310425117-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-12-of-2
130x130_sq_1284489593373-jetandkelsey263q
130x130_sq_1396310459594-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-14-of-2
130x130_sq_1396310548559-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-18-of-2
130x130_sq_1396310583965-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-20-of-2

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Prints, Proof CD of All Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mercedes
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
excellent photographer! very professional and amazing quality!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
3/21/2014
5.0/5.0
Joseph Esser Photography was recommended to me by a photographer friend from CA (I really value her opinion). I checked out his website and blog and really loved the way he captures and edits. I also booked our videographer through Joseph Esser Photography. I booked Image Creations. I hadn’t heard of the video team until I talked with Joseph and looked at his website. I was grateful for the partnership between the two, which cut out any added time of trying to negotiate between two separate vendors. Joseph handled all of those details. He communicated very clearly and made me very comfortable and confident with working with him.
My husband and I were married in Hawaii without friends, family, or guests. I expected a small team for our simple affair. But in fact, the photography and videography team outnumbered our group of pastor, witness, bride and groom.
Joseph and the video team worked seamlessly so that my husband and I really enjoyed the process. Joseph was detailed oriented making sure our product would be the best—he constantly stopped to make sure my dress, flowers, and hair were in place!!
We received a few teaser images a few weeks after the wedding and then the link and CD of images about a month after the wedding. He delivered an excellent product-- polished, professional, stunning images!!!
I whole-heartedly recommend Joseph Esser Photography to couples or anyone looking for a photographer!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krystyn
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Thanks so much to Joseph and his team! He did an excellent job of capturing all our precious moments. Joseph was very pleasant and made us feel comfortable in front of the camera, which is so important when all eyes are on you. He caught every single pose we requested, I especially love the groom shots!!! We are very grateful that Joseph was there for us and wouldn’t have it any other way. It was truly PERFECT!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1311628452013-ericcandaceengagementpics2011016
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I couldn't have asked for a better photographer. Joseph was very flexible with our package. He was very responsive to all emails and correspondence. Joseph is very personable and made taking pictures fun. We gave him a list of all our must have pictures and he made sure that we got every single one of them. We received our pictures about a month after our wedding & we loved every single one. I would definitely recommend Joseph to other Hawaii brides.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracey
Wedding:
1/9/2013
5.0/5.0
I realize that it has been 5 months since I was married and I didn't write a review. Oops!
WELL.. Joseph Esser and his assistant were fantastic to work with. Very professional, kind, fun and very talented. They made taking pictures a lot of fun for the whole wedding party and everyone involved. They were great with us asking them to take specific pictures as well.
The picture quality was simply AMAZING! Everyone has absolutley loved them and they don't only look great on the computer, but developed as well. People have said they almost don't look real they are so well done. Even the packaging that the disks came in were beautiful.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND Joseph Esser!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kellie
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Extremly punctual. Super easy to work with. Willing to do what it takes to get that great shot. Creative. Fair pricing.
Services Used: Photography
Bg20
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Joseph was great. He's very easy to work with and made the photo shoot fun. He stayed pass his time to catch our hula show.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mari.uchima
Wedding:
2/21/2011
5.0/5.0
My fiance had just come back from a deployment and we had planned our wedding in three weeks. I had found Joseph on facebook and was able to see his photos on his website. I contacted him possibly a week and a half to two weeks before our wedding date and he said "No problem!" so we met and got everything set up.

He has to be the nicest guy and he's so easy to get along with, which makes working with him even better. We felt so relaxed and so comfortable while doing our couple photos after our wedding ceremony and all of the pictures came out beautifully. I would definitely refer him to another bride and we would love to work with him again!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dh
Wedding:
2/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Joseph did a great job. He was very calm and welcome to different ideas for pictures during the wedding. He handled the dreadful family pictures very professionally and took amazing pictures. Joseph was also very prompt on getting the pictures to us as well as the cd. His prices are extremely affordable for engaged couples just starting their careers. Thanks Joseph
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JoyKam09
Wedding:
11/21/2010
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding on November 21, 2010 at Turtle Bay Resort, Oahu. Joseph was referred to us by our really good friend- whom was a brides maid in another friend's wedding-who hired Joseph to photograph her wedding! whew! When we first meet Joseph he was very professional, organized, his personality is so warm and comfortable, he made us feel right at home, like we knew him forever! He never deviated from what he quoted us along with his services. He is very upfront and honest. His return calls/email are in a timely manner. When it was the "big" day, Joseph was on-time, upbeat, personable, and ready to work and have fun! He stayed all day as promised in our contract. We received our photos in about 2 weeks! Wow! Where do you find someone this good? And when we reviewed our photos we were NOT DISAPPOINTED! WE LOVED EVERY PHOTO HE TOOK! His journalistic and creative captures of our special day is loudly spoken in every single photo! Words cannot express how much we loved his work, his passion for what he does, and the person that he is. God bless you Joseph in all areas of your life! MAHALO NUI LOA! BRIDES- JOSEPH ESSER PHOTOGRAPHY IS A MUST HAVE ON YOUR WEDDING CHECKLIST! YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
riley20
Wedding:
10/11/2010
5.0/5.0
We had a destination wedding and didn't know what to expect. We planned our wedding through emails, phone calls and websites so being the bride I was very stressed. On the big day Joseph was the first person I ran into, because of his easy going personality it made it very easy to relax. Joseph was amazing to work with. He was very professional but yet a lot of fun. He had creative ideas that we absoultly loved. He captured all of our natural moments at the right time. Our pictures turned out fabulous.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SheilaMarie D.
Wedding:
8/1/2010
5.0/5.0
We just received our amazing destination wedding photos from Joseph just three weeks after the event. This is extremely timely, yet very polished, professional, stunning images. The pictures are breathtaking. We are already getting so many compliments from family and friends.

Having spent many hours of my wedding day, from morning preparation with hair/make-up, to ceremony-reception and finally a sunset photo shoot, I can say Joseph is completely enjoyable to work with. This is a true compliment from a high maintenance NYC couple. He puts you at ease with his friendly, kind nature and honest communication. He is a natural talent with an insightful eye for capturing the joy of the moment. He is very knowledgeable about the secret locales on the island to get the best light and natural backdrop. We benefited from this on our evening trash-the-dress session. His website portfolios demonstrate this.

We are completely delighted and thrilled with our wedding pictures. We will look back over the years at our beautiful wedding album and relive the bliss of our wedding day through Joseph's eyes. We are so pleased and grateful we found such a gifted photographer. We enthusiastically recommend Joseph Esser!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christy Lee
Wedding:
7/31/2010
5.0/5.0
We hired Joseph to photograph our wedding this past July and recommend him to all our friends. We just got our photos back from him and love every one of them. The only problem is deciding which ones to print. Joseph was very easy to work with and managed to get all the key shots throughout the day. I also liked that he gave us all the images on a DVD and the rights to print the pics on our own. Great job!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Winnie
Wedding:
6/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Joseph was a pleasure to work with. We initially worked with him for our engagement photos and because we loved the pictures we hired him for our wedding. He responds quickly and his professionalism during our wedding was great. Never disturbed our evening and was extremely flexible to our wants that day.

We'd definitely recommend Joe for your photography needs! :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lnmoore83
Wedding:
6/15/2010
5.0/5.0
Joseph was an amazing photographer! He took his time to pay attention to detail and was extremely thorough. In turn, I was unbelievably happy with the end result. On top of loving all of my pictures, I recieved a photo dvd in the mail with the copyright to ALL of them! He hosts your pictures to a professional photo printing website, but also lets you print them out at the photo printer of your choice. I definitely recommend his services!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JDog
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
I know this review is a bit late, but I've also had time to reflect and months to review and show-off my daughter's wedding pictures that Joseph Esser took. We found Joseph online and after talking with him over the phone, knew he was the right person. On the day of the wedding, Joseph became part of the family, his pictures are amazing, and he captured all the emotion, character and beauty of the day. He is an amazing value and even better photographer, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Joseph Esser and his photography, you won't be disappointed!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
5/27/2010
5.0/5.0
Joseph was a wonderful photographer!!!! Our pictures turned out beautiful and he is very creative and was happy to work with all of the ideas that I had :) His rates very very affordable and he worked with my budget. As promised he delivered the photographs with copyright to me in under 2 weeks! And he put them on a website for us to view before that (you can purchase the pics from the website too if you want nicer quality prints than at walgreens). He was so nice and he even stayed an hour longer than I schedule him to. I think that the thing that I liked the most about Joseph is the fact that he made you feel comfortable and he wasn't in the way at all. When my sister got married her photographer was in our faces snapping picture after picture it was annoying! Joseph must have great camera equipment because I honestly didnt notice him the entire ceremony and we had wonderful pictures, close-ups and everything. Very happy with his work! If you would like to see how my wedding pictures that he took turned out you can visit: http://www.pictage.com/825828
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mother of the bride
Wedding:
2/10/2010
5.0/5.0
If you are shopping for a photographer online, DO NOT HESITATE to contact Joseph Esser! I JUST received my pictures and they are AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! My daughter was married to a Marine on the beach...I was very nervous about choosing a photographer online. Not only was he super easy to work with, he was fun, very efficient, and affordable!!! We had a conservative budget and he was SO willing to give us the very best service. Thank you Joseph! You have given us memories that will last a lifetime!!! You are the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
John and Kehau
Wedding:
11/12/2009
5.0/5.0
Great Photographer! Joseph was easy to work with and we really appreciated his enthusiasm and creativity. Our wedding was a small, intimate beach wedding held on Waimanalo beach. We love our photos and highly recommend his services!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Troy
Wedding:
11/7/2009
5.0/5.0
We loved Joseph! He was so much fun to work with and our photos turned out amazing! Our bridal protraits were so diverse and we love the panoramic ones. He also caught all the details from our wedding. The day happened so fast that I did not even see some of the things he photographed. haha. Troy and Christy Tanaka.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystal
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
We absolutely LOVED working with Joseph! He was professional & fun. He's a down to earth, great guy & he took beautiful photos to make our special day timeless! We would recommend Joseph to anyone getting married in Hawaii that's looking for an amazing photographer!!
Mahalo again Joseph! ~Keola & Crystal Nobriga
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1382543700375-2013-10-12-0085-2
Shauna
Wedding:
10/12/2013
4.8/5.0
Joseph Esser was awesome to work with. Very friendly and super accommodating. Planning a destination wedding, almost all of my correspondence was done via email and Joseph always responded in a timely manner. Joseph even met my parents and I for a site visit of my venue so that we could discuss potential picture locations.

On the day of my wedding, there were two photographers to capture everything, which allowed for pictures to be taken while the girls and guys were getting ready. For the most part, I forgot I even had photographers around taking pictures of everything. Joseph did a great job dealing with all of my family who thought they were professionals and made sure everyone was focused on his camera when needed.

When my photos arrived, it came in a beautiful case (that I know I will never lose). All the pictures came out beautiful and captured my entire day (memories I will forever cherish). I really like the idea of candid shots and Joseph provided a lot of those. Ordering prints online and sharing my photos with family and friends through his Pictage website is extremely easy. They ONLY reason I didn't give all five stars is because a handful of pictures unfortunately got lost in space. Although I'm super bummed out, I think Joseph handled this well and did his best to make me feel better about the sad situation.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marisa Kaleohano
Wedding:
12/31/2009
4.8/5.0
Absolutely fantabulous in every way! Joseph's ideas made our photos breath-taking. He captured candid moments that will be cherished forever. Thank you, Joe!!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1346816634803-sunsetembrace
Charity
Wedding:
5/19/2012
4.6/5.0
Joseph was so flexible and creative. He always stayed one step ahead of the game. He never missed a moment during our big day and we have a million beautiful photos to prove it! Thank you Joseph! We already recommended you for another family wedding in a few months! See you soon!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paradise Bride
Wedding:
12/17/2009
4.4/5.0
My photos are beautiful! Joseph Esser was a pleasure to have during our wedding. He was upbeat, fun, and had unique ideas! He was all over the place in order to make sure he captured really great moments. Honestly, I only had one area where I felt disappointment, which had to do with the unique make-up of our wedding party. I only wish I had not relinquished or continued to stress the importance of people standing in their proper order of importance.
Overall, I could not have dreamed of a better experience. Almost every single guest at my wedding commented on how wonderful Joseph was. And from the bride’s point I think he almost got tired of my compliments and gratitude! Wonderful photographer!
Services Used: Photography

DEALS

Save -$100 on Photography - with Wedding Wire
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $100 Value
Receive $100 off your wedding photography package if you book our services within 2 weeks of your first contact. Please mention you saw us on Wedding Wire to receive this discount. Valid on any +4 hours booking.
Deal #WWea1e3af7a2922b22
220x220_1396310753621-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-3-of-

MAP

 
3523 Maluhia Street, Honolulu, HI 96816 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Joseph Esser Photography - Honolulu Wedding Photographer
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1396310753621-honolulu-wedding-photographer-joseph-esser-3-of-