130x130_sq_1282764417734-0034

Joseph Lin Photography

New York , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

373 Broadway Suite D5
New York, NY US 10013 (map)

PHONE

347-724-6259

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Having attended the prestigious International Center of Photography in midtown Manhattan, Joseph Lin is technically trained in making his photos vibrant and beautiful but it is his... Read more
Having attended the prestigious International Center of Photography in midtown Manhattan, Joseph Lin is technically trained in making his photos vibrant and beautiful but it is his quirky demeanor that brings about the reactionary joy & personality in his subjects. Born and raised in Manhattan, his facetious character is an asset to any lively environment, making him a popular choice for many event planners in the region. Never dragging along with his camera and always full of optimistic energy that can only be seen for individuals who truly love what they do. And once he event comes to a close, expect him to spend endless nights gargling in java to ensure that every photo presented to his clients are bodies of art. Joseph's work can regularly be seen in the Daily News and Brides Magazine. He was also the photographer for the show "Whose Wedding Is It Anyway?" Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1282767470203-0001
130x130_sq_1282767469203-0002
130x130_sq_1282767476109-0003
130x130_sq_1282767474797-0004
130x130_sq_1282767482141-0006
130x130_sq_1282767479797-0005
130x130_sq_1282767489375-0008
130x130_sq_1282767486094-0007
130x130_sq_1282767496234-0010
130x130_sq_1282767494281-0009
130x130_sq_1282767500469-0011
130x130_sq_1282767501453-0012
130x130_sq_1282767505297-0013
130x130_sq_1282767512797-0014
130x130_sq_1282767512156-0015
130x130_sq_1282767520297-0017
130x130_sq_1282767520156-0016
130x130_sq_1282767537109-0018
130x130_sq_1282767537109-0019
130x130_sq_1282767544047-0021
130x130_sq_1282767542047-0020
130x130_sq_1282767554609-0023
130x130_sq_1282767552734-0022
130x130_sq_1282767562297-0025
130x130_sq_1282767562250-0024
130x130_sq_1282767569609-0027
130x130_sq_1282767571281-0026
130x130_sq_1282767578125-0028
130x130_sq_1282767579188-0029
130x130_sq_1282767589078-0031
130x130_sq_1282767588656-0030
130x130_sq_1282767596078-0032
130x130_sq_1282767597828-0033
130x130_sq_1282767605219-031
130x130_sq_1282767600578-0034
130x130_sq_1282767625203-0351
130x130_sq_1282767610203-034
130x130_sq_1282767626859-042
130x130_sq_1282767643281-a
130x130_sq_1282767647047-c
130x130_sq_1282767643391-b
130x130_sq_1282767655969-e
130x130_sq_1282767649797-d

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Negatives, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
That's the best thing about wedding photography. Unlike many other avenues of photography, you have limited control of lighting and environment. So we're experienced and are often exposed to situations where one has to adapt and work with what is given on hand. As an example: I actually like rainy days...not that I hope for rain. =)
Is your media preference film or digital?
Digital
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes. I take great pride in my own work and as well as my relationship with my couples.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
Never more than 1 in a day. Often, 2 in a weekend. But I have fresh legs.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Every good photographer has to have a plan B, C & D.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
Here’s my equipment list: 
 Body: 
 2 Canon 5D Mark ii’s
 1 Canon 1Ds Mark III
 Lenses: 
 Canon 85 1.2 
 Canon 50 1.2
 Canon 16-35 2.8
 Canon 24-70 2.8
 Canon 70-200 2.8
 
 2 Canon Speedlite 580 EXII's
 
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Again, every good photographer has a plan B,C & D.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
My packages are on my website.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
I do, $350 per hour.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
It would be nice for my brides & grooms to provide a meal. But if not, please advise me before hand to bring my own.
Do you charge for travel?
Not unless you're outside of the great NY/NJ area.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
3-4 Weeks
How long can the client keep the proofs?
Forever.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
I do, for printing, advertising and editorial purposes.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Definitely. Nor do I charge for them either.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes.
What kind of albums do you offer?
Flush mount.
When will the client get the final album?
It all depends on how fast they get back to me. Often times, 3-4 months.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gwen
Wedding:
2/23/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I found out about Joe through a friend. She had him as her photographer at her wedding. Saw the pictures, we booked an appointment right away, and the rest was history.

First time meeting him, we immediately felt at ease. I was comfortable enough to even give him a hug first time we saw him! We had gone through a few photographers before Joe but our meeting with him different. He was the first one that did not try to sell his pictures to us unlike the others we've interviewed. Instead he wanted to know more about us as a couple... and was actually interested at hearing our story! It was a no-brainer. This guy was as easy-going as us, he's super funny, we shared similar interests, and last but not least - he takes great pictures!! After the interview, I gave him another hug, and we booked him as soon as we could.

We could go on and on raving about his work: how awesome our engagement pictures turned out to be, how professional and friendly he (and his second photographer also named Joe) was to our friends and family during the wedding...but obviously you'd know that by now reading the other reviews before ours.

We gave him a 5 star not only because of his talent and professionalism, but also because he is honest (he's not afraid to give his own opinions and inputs regarding your requests), he gives great direction (for all you camera-shy couples out there, have no fear! he'll make you look good on your pictures!), and not to mention he has a great sense of humor =) People need to realize it's not just the photographer's pictures you should look into, but also how you get along with them. But I don't know how anyone could not get along with this guy unless they're living under a rock. We could not thank him enough for being there for us on our special day but better yet, he is now one of our good friends! Not all newlyweds can say that about their photographer! We love Joe Lin!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
10/13/2012
4.8/5.0
Joe was an amazing photographer - flexible, engaging, and so incredibly talented. We loved taking both our engagement pictures and seeing our wedding pictures. Our engagement pictures were taken around Manhattan and our wedding was outside at winery in the Hudson Valley. Even with the dramatic differences in landscape and lighting, we felt like Joe capture the essence of each place we were at, the occasion, our relationship, all our friends and family at the best moments, and all the fun we had. Couldn't have asked for more!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
E.H.
Wedding:
9/23/2011
5.0/5.0
Searching for a photographer was one of the hardest things we did during the wedding planning process. We met Joe Lin at a Bridal show in Manhattan and just from a quick glimpse of his work (in a fast paced show) I wanted to be sure to get his brochure so I can look into his work. Again, after one glimpse of his webpage - I fell in love with his work and couldnt wait to meet him. Once we met, it was no question that we wanted him to be our photographer - his personality was just awesome. After seeing all the pictures from our engagement shoot and wedding, we couldnt be happier with our choice. He was an absolute pleasure to work with - fun, extremely professional, very passionate about his work, and he captures beautiful (and I mean gorgeous), in the moment, natural pictures. He really is an artist and his pictures really do tell an awesome story (he seems to live his life to the fullest, truly appreciates it, and knows how to capture it all on camera). We would recommend him to everyone. Check him out - you'll be glad you did. =) - E.H.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kellie
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Words cannot describe how beautiful Joe's work is. His eye and artistic sense are incredible - he managed to capture moments and emotion from our day that we'll forever treasure. In addition to the stunning photographs, Joe was an absolute pleasure to work with. We recommend him to all of our friends who are in the process of planning their weddings, as we truly do feel that he made our wedding even more special that we could have ever imagined. THANK YOU JOE!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krizia
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Joe is an amazing person to work with! We originally were leaning towards another photographer but after speaking with Joe, his knowledge and the candid conversation we had with regards to wedding photos (i.e. what to look for) really showed his experience in the field. He showed us weddings he photographed from start to finish rather than just focusing on highlights and we saw that there's a lot of detail and work put into every shot.

During our engagement shoot, Joe went out of his way to get to know us and make sure we were comfortable (since it isn't everyday that we have couple photoshoots and we aren't crazy about PDA!). We haven't taken a ton of photos of ourselves in the 8 years we've been together, so I was anxious about the results. The photos were incredible and I was so happy to share them with everyone we knew. After then, we jokingly agreed (but were somewhat serious) that we should have couple shots done on a yearly basis with Joe! We definitely couldn't get enough! We especially loved the candid photos he took during our wedding. Joe really understood our personalities and was able to capture the most important moments of our day. He is an easygoing and fun person to be around so it made our experience infinitely enjoyable.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
9/2/2011
5.0/5.0
I have not written this review yet because I knew that once I did it would be a long one. Joe was 100000000% the best vendor decision I made, hands down. I was completely satisfied with all of my vendors and they were all great, but Joe was above and beyond. I actually randomly came upon him from a wedding showcase that I went to so I had no word of mouth recommendation and had to go with my gut. I am so glad I did.

Photos and Skill: Joe is an amzing photographer. You can just see this from his work. Not only does he get the shots you ask him for, but he adds his own professional and artistic (but not too artsy) touch to every single one. Joe and his assistant didn't miss a beat during the entire day. From the moment they arrived at our hotels, to the church, to in between time, to the reception, they were there, but they were not in the way whatsoever. I can't tell you how many of my family members and friends kept going on and on about how he got every sinlge shot, he didn't miss anything..and this was all before they ever even saw the photos themselves. When you see the photos yourself, you are blown away. I have been told by two brides that got married before my, they had photographer envy. The shots are beautiful and words can't describe them. The color, the angles, the lighting, everything is perfection. I didn't buy albums in my package becuase I didnt want to commit to the $ upfront, but I will go thru Joe when I actually get around to deciding which are my favorite shots because there are too many.

Personality and Professionalism: Joe made my entire wedding day go smoothly. He wasn't the DOC, but he knew everything that was going on. He made sure that we were where we needed to be when we needed to be there. He made me feel calm when I was nervous, he communicated to his assistant photog who was already at the Church when we were running late so that everyone knew what was going on. He monitored the time in between the Chruch and Reception and when we were getting close on time, he made suggestions and knew exactly where to take us to make it back to the cocktail hour with time. He handled my large and sometimes non-coopertive bridal party and made them actually want to take pics..he knew exactly how to treat them. He was there when I wanted him there and he blended into the background when he needed to. Perfection.

I would recommend him over and over again. I got lucky with this one!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sharon
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
After meeting Joe for the first time, we knew right away we wanted him as our wedding photographer! He is able to capture so much emotion in his work, which is important especially for such an emotional day (your wedding!). In addition, he's a ton of fun! He had a number of great ideas for our engagment session as well as on our wedding day. We couldn't be happier with his work. My husband and I would certainly recommend Joe for your special day!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
V
Wedding:
7/16/2011
4.8/5.0
Joe and his team were amazing! Responsible, hardworking and great to get along with! He arrived 1 hour early and stayed well beyond the original agreed upon time. His team blends right in and you barely notice they are at the wedding. But they are! and are extremely hardworking not wasting a minute - everyone was so impressed at how many pics they took! Best of they, they are just great pple to be with, fun, nice, flexible and easy going but they know their stuff and direct you when you need help for the best shots possible. Highly recommend Joe Lin!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Flkycat
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Joesph lin and his team were great to work with. Beautiful pics.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1300947425927-joyjames110
Joy
Wedding:
6/24/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband & I couldn't have been more pleased with Joe & his work. When we began looking for a photographer, we decided we didn't want someone who just took highly choreographed portraits, but someone who had a more photojournalistic style. Someone who could capture the emotions in the instance of a moment. Joe was always punctual, professional, and personable. He was completely open to our suggestions. Our family and friends were very impressed with how he worked and more so the beautiful photographs that developed. The photos from both our wedding ceremonies and the reception were everything we had hoped for. We truly enjoyed working with both Joe & Sam and would highly recommend them to anyone.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LaminaV07
Wedding:
5/22/2011
5.0/5.0
There isn't enough room on this page to say all the nice things there is to say about Joe. Not only is he a genuinely nice person he is an EXTRAORDINARY photographer!!!
Throughout the entire wedding planning process this experience was by far the least stressful and most enjoyable thanks to Joe and his wonderful personality. You always feel good just being in his presence.
The moments he manages to capture in his photographs are breathtaking and you will surely regret using anyone else in the business!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1251292654361-lauraariel1
Laura
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Joe was amazing, from our engagement photos to the wedding day he was wonderful to work with and provided amazing photos. So many people were impressed by him and the second photographer (also named Joe) The bridal party especially were amazed at their work and on the day of the wedding how they never missed a moment. Every wedding has things that go on that most people miss but not Joe he was there for everything! I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for an amazing photographer!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrlp122
Wedding:
3/11/2011
5.0/5.0
All I can say is Joe Lin is AWESOME! He deserves a 10 our of 5!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyson
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Joe was hired as our Wedding Photographer but through the process of working with him became a good friend. He is enthusiastic, caring, and wants to ensure each picture he takes captures the day as much as the bride and groom. Joe shot both our Engagement photo shoot and Wedding day and we were THRILLED with all of the memories he gave us. The moments, expressions, and actions he captures truly brings the photos to life and helps tell a story of each and every special detail of the day. We know we will cherrish these photos for the many years to come. He is an ABSOLUTE PLEASURE to work with and is truly talented!!! -Alyson & Ryan
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
karen
Wedding:
10/15/2010
5.0/5.0
Joe is the best photographer I have ever met.
He is very professional and fun to work with and has really great ideas.
His photos are amazing
I will never use another photographer
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeanie
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
We had a great time with Joe, he really made sure everything was well planned out on my wedding date. Everyone loved the pictures and i loved the fact that he was able to capture each special moment during the whole day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bduffy
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Joseph was perfect! The pictures are amazing, and I am so glad i went with him. His energy combined with his great eye really captured everything on my wedding day, better than I could have ever hoped!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Joe is amazing! He is so friendly and easy going. Whatever you need he will help you with and work with you. Everyone that sees my final pictures are amazed by them. I LOVE them. He is quick to respond to your emails, his prices are well worth it for the service and everything that you get. He is very professional. I would recommend him to do another event and maybe when we have kids have him take professional pictures of them!

Book him while he still has availability. YOu wont regret it!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsDaniels
Wedding:
8/29/2010
5.0/5.0
Joe is absolutely great. He is very good at listening to your requests. The most impressive thing about Joe is his creativity. He gets a feel for your personality and creates art that is so you!!! He is both professional and very personable. Both our engagement and wedding pictures were absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!! Everyone who attended my wedding on August 29, 2010 are still complimenting Joe's work!!! Each time we view our pictures its like reliving our wedding day!!! He created the most awesome guest book as well that included images from our engagement shoot,so creative and so us!! Our guests loved it!!! Joe worked really well with our guests,the team at our venue and us. The only sad thing about our wedding day is knowing that Joe was finished with our wedding,it felt like loosing a friend,because he is such a joy to be around and work with. If your looking for a photographer who is creative and whose team will capture every precious moment of your SPECIAL DAY,Joe is your guy!!!

Jeanine Daniels
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1286599604070-1030373
Min
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
Planning a wedding from Maryland to take place in NY can be a daunting task. So, when it came to choosing our photographer, we searched hundreds of wedding websites, magazines, visited each photographers blogs and their own personal websites before we decided on Joe.

Joe truly loves what he does and it shows through his incredible work. He is quick to answer your emails and phone calls, always open to suggestions, patient and understanding, even when we were late for our engagement session! The Guestbook with our engagement pictures were a big hit at the wedding and the photos were amazingly beautiful. Having Joe is like having a close friend who genuinely wants your day to be perfect in every possible way.

I waited to do this review until we got to see our wedding pictures, to avoid any kind of bias. I don’t know how, when and where he took all these photos but he captured everything! Needless to say, the pictures are fabulous! They are a great blend of our style (photojournalistic) AND our parents (VERY traditional), an impossible feat, until we found Joe. Our favorite vendor by far!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
8/14/2010
5.0/5.0
Joseph is awesome! He was super nice and professional throughout the planning process and made us feel really comfortable both on our engagement shoot and on our wedding day. At our wedding, he was both really laid-back (in a good way) and really fun and great with all of our family members (including the kids) and our friends. He really captured the action on the dance floor, snapping away but also being very discreet and in-the-background. He also made a beautiful guest book for us -- many of our relatives and friends were amazed by it and thought he was just about the coolest photographer they'd met! We are counting down to when we can see our wedding photos, which we are sure will be equally if not more amazing!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CherylBMW
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
THIS IS A MAN THAT CARES! Joe certainly wasn't kidding when he said that he'll make you & your guest feels comfortable and that customer service goes a long way. My mom even wants him to date my younger sister! -That is a testament to how great the guy is -AND EVEN MY DAD LIKES HIM. HE DOESN'T LIKE ANYBODY! The day of, he was my very own day of coordinator. Made sure we didn't see each other and scouted ahead of me. Taught me how to sit my dress without wrinkling it. Even got the steamer from the hotel when I did. Helped pin the guys when they were clueless. Even had shoe tape for us when our feet were killing us! Great energy on the dance floor when everything got going. Always smiling and laughing with our guests. I don't know what he was saying to them but they certainly loved him. And THAT goes a long way. I've been to weddings where the photographer was just dragging along and just didn't see like they want to be there. But Joe truly loves his job.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1254276023823-jl
Mrs.RomeJ
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Joseph Lin was TRULY AMAZING!!! one of my favorites if not the best vendor we had that day. He was our main splurge so I knew we would get the best of the best but he really blew us away that day. The engagement session was amazing and he used the pics from that day to create a sign/guest book which he brought to the wedding. Everyone mentioned how beautiful it was and my brother who is getting married in two months actually decided to book him because he was so impressed with him. He exceeded all our expectations and I can't wait until the pictures are ready.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annmarie83
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Like many of you, we did our homework when searching for the “right” photographer. We reviewed websites, reviews, rating lists, and so on. In the end we could not have been more “right” in our choice. Our goal was to find a photographer who captured natural and artificial lighting well, as well as took candid shots, which told the story of our wedding. Joe Lin was more than we could have asked.

Our wedding pictures are documentary style and took each moment of our wedding and make it into its own story. Not only are the photos aesthetically beautiful, they tell who we are, who our family is, and what our wedding was.

With all that said when you meet Joe, you meet an amazing human being. Joe is someone that not only would we want as a photographer, but whom we wanted to be our friend. Each person who enjoyed our wedding enjoyed him as a person and felt like he was part of our family. In addition to a personality that exudes kindness, humility, and genuiness, Joe does a significant amount of volunteer work. He told us and showed us his photos from humanitarian and service trips he had been a part of and they were truly incredible. You could not be more fortunate than to meet a person who fits your personality and fits the type of person you want to surround yourself with.

It was more than an honor to have Joe Lin enjoy our day with us; it was a blessing. He was professional, courteous, and is the kind of human being that this world needs more of. We highly recommend Joe Lin and could not speak anymore highly of his work.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Delia Orlando
Wedding:
5/29/2010
5.0/5.0
Absolutely the best in every way!!! A pleasure to work with and exceptionally talented. We have nearly 500 images--all amazing.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
11/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Out of all the vendors we used that day and we used a lot.. Joseph Lin Photography was the only vendor that made our day easier to manage; it was truly a pleasure to work with Joe. He arrived on time and was ready to work with what ever we threw at him. Joe was very easy going and accommodating; as hectic as our wedding day was. Joe blended in with our family and friends and actually became a part of our wedding celebration while capturing the candid moments of our wedding. I couldn't have chosen a better vendor/ person to work with on such a crazy, fun, joyest, and most memorable day we call "our wedding". Everytime we look back on the photos he took it brings us back to our joyest wedding day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mailelei
Wedding:
8/8/2009
4.8/5.0
Joe is a wonderful and energetic person, which is key in what he does. He is great to work with, and just brought out the best in us, which created beautiful pictures that we will remember forever :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
laurac
Wedding:
6/7/2009
5.0/5.0
Joe was a pleasure to work with for our wedding. I am very camera shy, but he put us both at ease, both for our wedding and the engagement shoot.
He is very knowledgeable and professional and very calming, which helps on your wedding day. (He even reminded me about picking up the flowers in the rush of getting ready and jumped in to help with corsage's on guests). I can't recommend Joe enough and we had so many compliments from guests. He captured all of the wedding, without being obtrusive. He was extremely considerate of guests and letting us enjoy our guests, but at the same time "capturing the moments" and little details (some which I would have missed, had I not seen the photo's). He really listens to the style of photography that you have in mind and gives ideas and options.
Overall, from our first meeting to the end process, I can't think of anything negative to say about Joe and I would go so far as to say that he was our best wedding vendor. I am also happy to be contacted to give feedback for Joe, if you are unsure of who to choose for your wedding.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
373 Broadway Suite D5, New York, NY 10013 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Joseph Lin Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo