Nophoto-130

Joyelle West Photography

Cambridge , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

720 Massachusetts Ave.
Cambridge, MA US 02139 (map)

PHONE

781-771-3804

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Photography

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Joyelle was an outstanding photographer for our recent wedding. From our first conversation, I knew she was organized and had an amazing talent to capture special moments.

Joyelle was so easy to work with despite the fact I was planning a Boston area wedding from Los Angeles. She was quick to respond to my many emails and provided helpful input/suggestions.

Joyelle's presence at our wedding was perfect - she put my husband and me, as well as our families, at ease and understood our desire to focus on the moments and not spend too much tie on staged group shoots. During the ceremony and reception, she blended into the party and we forgot she was there!

When we received our photos a few short weeks later, we were all so impressed by Joyelle's work. She captured our wedding with such thought and care - it's hard to choose which photos are our favorites!

I would recommend Joyelle's work to those interested in finding a talented and personable photographer to capture special moments.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Joyelle is a talented and artistic photographer and we were so happy to have found her to photograph both our wedding and engagement pictures. Photos were one of the most important things to us as we knew we would look back on those for many years. Joyelle was the first vendor we found and our favorite person to work with. After my husband and I met with her in her welcoming studio, we knew immediately that she would be a great choice and it was an easy decision to choose her as our photographer.

We are so pleased with Joyelle's work and it completely exceeds our expectations. She is very personable, easy to work with, professional and pleasant to spend time with. She listened carefully to our ideas for our pictures and made excellent suggestions at the times when we just weren't sure what we wanted. She captured every aspect of our wedding from the scenery and decorations to getting beautiful candids of nearly every guest at some point throughout the wedding. We barely saw her during the reception, yet she was always in the right place at the right time as we could see from the beautiful photos she took throughout the night. We loved her work and would recommend her to everyone. We are thrilled to have her gorgeous pictures to document such an important day in our lives!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adam
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Simply put: we couldn't have chosen a better photographer than Joyelle West. From the first moment we met her, my wife and I both felt extremely at ease. Starting with our engagement photo session, Joyelle was able to capture us in ways we didn't think possible. Her artistry, professionalism, and overall personality made us feel incredibly fortunate for having found her. We couldn't recommend a wedding photographer any more highly than we recommend Joyelle.

-Adam M.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Where do I start? We absolutely LOVE Joyelle and LOVED her photos.

She took our engagement photos the spring before our wedding and did a great job of putting two way-too-self-conscious folks at ease in front of the camera. We laughed our way through the session and are so pleased that we captured that exciting, somewhat frenzied time.

Come wedding day, Joyelle was a total blessing. She helped keep me calm throughout the day, even when things started to run a bit behind schedule. She has a sweet, warm presence that made me feel instantly at ease. Like a good friend was taking the photos. For the posed shots, she did a wonderful job corralling the herd of family members. For the candids, she was invisible. I still don't know how she managed to capture so much.

Throughout the process, she was a total professional. Really, a dream to work with. Helpful, super responsive, funny, sweet, respectful and collaborative.

And her photos? Absolutely lovely! Friends and family have been singing her praises for weeks. Going in, we totally trusted her to capture the spaces and faces and emotions of the day, and she nailed it. Her photos show belly laughs, tears, details we missed and some pretty ridiculous dance moves. When looking back at the photos, it’s very easy to be transported back to the day.

In sum, Joyelle is the best! I couldn't recommend her more highly.

Jennifer M.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We could not have asked for a better wedding photographer than Joyelle West. She's amazing! In each of our interactions with her, beginning with our first meeting in her cute Cambridge office, Joyelle was pleasant, thoughtful, and new exactly which questions to ask so that she could meet our photography needs -- a true professional.

Joyelle beautifully captured the feel of our big day, mixing emontionally vivid candids with just the right detail shots. Probably what amazed us (and our family) most was the number of photos with my husband and I both looking natural, happy, and totally in love. We normally ruin pictures with funny faces or with fake plasticky smiles, but Joyelle made us feel so at ease that we forgot about looking a certain way and could focus on the extreme happiness of getting married!

Our package included a digital copy of the entire suite of photos, which arrived on the cutest USB drive ever, making them easy to share with our family. We also had the option to purchase prints from her photolab, which are of the utmost quality. Even though we had our digital files, we ordered some prints from her lab because the hard copies were so gorgeous.

I wish we could give Joyelle 6 out of 5 stars because she exceeded our expectations in every way. When I look at her photos, I feel like I've gone back in time to my wedding day, and all of the joy and excitement comes surging back. Priceless.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
Don't let her casual and laid back demeanor fool you...Joyelle is a true professional. She did a wonderful job capturing all the important moments of our wedding. Looking through our pictures is like re-living the day. Her emphasis is on natural shots and less so on posed shots...which worked well for us. Also straightforward about costs and services from the beginning (ie. no hidden costs or attempts to rip you off)...which was a nice change when comparing her to other photographers.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Phoebe
Wedding:
6/22/2013
4.9/5.0
Joyelle took the most amazing photos at our wedding. Not only were they beautiful to look at online, but the prints are stunning in person. She truly captured the energy of the day and every time we look at a photo we are transported right back. We've had the hardest time narrowing in down our favorites because they are all so good.
Joyelle was also really flexible on site. We definitely ended up with a lot of shots requested by family and friends that were not on the original list, and required some running around but she got every important one.
From start to finish, she was great to work with. I definitely recommend Joyelle.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We had a city hall ceremony in June and we only started contacting photographers one month before the date. Luckily we were able to book Joyelle to photograph our ceremony and worked out a package that fit our needs. We did two hours in and around Boston City Hall. Because it was raining, we regathered another day and did one hour outside in public gardens and BU. She was professional, efficient, and very accommodating. And most important of all, we received great photographs of the significant moments we had with each other and with friends, and at meaningful places. We highly recommend Joyelle!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
It is a pleasure to write a review for Joyelle West. In our search for a photographer for our daughter’s wedding, it was important to find someone that would be a good fit for our family and one who would interact well with our guests. Joyelle met all of our criteria. She was creative, professional, flexible, and responsive. We loved her calm, laid-back personality and knew that she would put the bride and groom at ease.

During the festivities of the day, Joyelle effortlessly captured every moment. She calmly kept us on schedule and was unobtrusive at all times. Joyelle was hands-down the bride and groom’s favorite vendor of the day.

At the end of the day though, I had to trust that Joyelle would deliver beautiful photos. I remember being at work when I received an email from Joyelle with a link to the wedding photos. I wanted to take a sneak peak, so I just opened the link to Joyelle’s blog. I saw the first photo and started sobbing. It was so overwhelmingly beautiful. I couldn't stop crying. My co-worker wanted to know why I was upset. I showed her the photos and then the two of us started sobbing. I saved the rest to view with my husband. When I showed them to him, he couldn't stop crying. We were so overwhelmed (and still are) that it is difficult to properly articulate how pleased we are with the photos. We wanted the wedding to be warm, sentimental and fun and she captured the joy in every moment.

Thank you Joyelle for being part of our family for the day! My only regret is that we didn’t have you longer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I met Joyelle on my wedding day right before our first look photo shoot. My husband and I immediately felt comfortable with her and she did a fantastic job working with us and capturing the excitement of the moment. We were impressed with her ability to get meaningful candid photos without realizing she was even there taking the pictures. She had also planned out good spots to take pictures prior to our arrival and made great efficient use of the limited time we had with her before the ceremony. We were very impressed with the photos we received less than a month after the wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Joyelle was recommended to us by a family friend, and we were incredibly impressed with the work she did for her.

When we met with her, we were even more impressed. She immediately got our style and was great at suggesting portrait locations and helped us to stay within our price range.

On our wedding day, she was a pro at wrangling our family, captured incredible candid moments, and was an all around joy to work with. The pictures captured our day in the best possible way, and we're eternally grateful.

I recommend her to anyone who asks and even some that don't.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hilary
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Joyelle is fantastic!! She was recommended to us by my brother and sister-in-law, and we could not have been happier with her! Right from our first Skype chat, she was open and friendly - giving advice when asked (and we did a lot of asking!) and otherwise listening and helping us plan out our big day. She kept us in the loop about logistics as the date got closer, and she also worked directly with the reception venue's wedding coordinator...making the whole process smooth and stress-free for us. On the day of the wedding, she took wonderful, high quality photos, capturing the people, emotions, and dancing of the afternoon/evening -- although we don't know exactly how she did it, as we barely seemed to see her! She sent us the photos promptly a few weeks after the wedding -- even before we were expecting them, actually. We highly recommend her!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexandra
Wedding:
11/17/2012
5.0/5.0
When my husband and I started planning our wedding the very first vendor that we hired was Joyelle. I had seen images of her work(she photographed two colleagues weddings) before but that was nothing compared to what she did for us. Joyelle listened to our vision for what we want captured that day and the types of images that were important to us. She was open to all of our ideas involving our engagement photos and drove all the way to Meredith, NH for a 2 hour shoot for them as she knew how much they meant to us. 5 stars is not even enough for Joyelle- she always goes above and beyond listening to exactly what you want and ensuring that you are at ease the entire time! Thank you for all of our amazing pictures, Joyelle!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Joyelle was amazing to work with and we absolutely loved both our engagement and wedding photos! She was able to capture moments that we did not even realize happened the day of and we are forever grateful for that. It is so nice to relive all the special moments of our day by looking at our pictures. We can honestly say that there was not one picture we did not enjoy. They were all great and she did such a nice job of taking candid photos. She captured the day exactly how we had envisioned. She sent us our pictures on a dvd a few weeks after the wedding. We also had three albums made (our wedding album and two parent albums) and they are truly incredible. The quality is unlike any other wedding album that we have seen. Joyelle has such a nice and calm way about her, which was exactly what we needed the day of. She was very well organized, efficient and professional. After the ceremony the skies opened up. Joyelle was extremely creative with our outdoor photos by using the rain to our advantage. She has incredible vision and it shows in each and every one of her photos. We were fortunate enough to have one of our favorite pictures featured in the Boston Wedding magazine – a true tribute to how talented Joyelle is. We are so thrilled that we had the pleasure to work with Joyelle on such a momentous occasion in our lives. We would highly recommend Joyelle to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annemarie
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
We can't thank Joyelle enough for helping us have such a special, meaningful wedding day. We know that our wedding day would not have been as special without Joyelle's amazing organization skills, communication with our other vendors (and us!) and attention to detail. We truly appreciated Joyelle's warm, calm demeanor and genuine care for our happiness on our wedding day. Her support for us, as a couple, from our first meeting at her office over a year ago to our wedding day, was evident in every email she sent and every word she spoke. Family and friends came up to us throughout the wedding and afterwards to say how much they enjoyed watching Joyelle work and photograph and how she managed to capture moments so effortlessly- they didn't even realize she were there! We especially appreciate that she helped out my Mom's friend who decide to videotape at the last minute.

We also received our beautiful wedding album only four months after our wedding date! Joyelle communicated with us via email about her creative vision for the album and helped us make revisions to the proposed drafts that captured the true, beautiful spirit of our day. We love our album and all our pictures and so many friends and family have commented on the amazing, professional quality of our photos. We know we will have these photographs as everlasting memories for years to come. Since we've gotten married, we've recommended Joyelle to numerous friends and we know they will be just as happy as we are about Joyelle's skills as a photographer, as well as her thoughtful, sweet and caring personality.

We are so grateful to have had Joyelle as our wedding photographer!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We had the pleasure of working with Joyelle for our wedding. I cannot begin to explain how thrilled we are at the pictures we received from Joyelle. She was able to capture the essence of why we love Vermont and our family house where we chose to have our ceremony with her incredible sense of color and composition. In the photos she took, she made us look like the most naturally beautiful and genuinely happy versions of ourselves on our special day. We highly recommend Joyelle!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We had an incredible experience with Joyelle as our wedding photographer. I was so overwhelmed by the number of photographer options that my husband ultimately made the call to hire Joyelle and I could not be happier with his decision! Joyelle's packages are extremely fairly priced and flexible and she was one of the only photographers who did not push us on engagement photos or an album at any point in the process. She traveled to southern VT for our wedding at no additional cost and was wonderful both during the planning and on our wedding day. She is very professional and kept things running on schedule but also flexible and was able to change plans seamlessly and keep us calm when the weather went from too sunny to threatening thunderstorms over the course of 30 minutes during our portraits. Joyelle is generally a very sweet and calming person and struck a perfect balance of fading into the background to capture candids and firmly getting people to where they needed to be at certain points during the day. We also used the second shooter option, and her assistant for the day was equally capable and contributed great ideas.

Joyelle is a pleasure to work with and I am so glad she was recommended to me in a sea of Boston-based wedding photographers. I would not hesitate to recommend her to another New England bride!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KLambert
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Joyelle was amazing to work with! She has such an upbeat and relaxed personality that definitely help to calm the nerves when your running around on your wedding day. Her style is to be in the background and you will not even notice she is there. She captured the whole day perfectly and it was like being there all over again. She is great at capturing the little moments that you do not realize and her work has a very natural feel.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1306089623381-vegas
Jamie
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
I would strongly recommend Joyelle West to any future brides!!!! Joyelle is so talented and is so eager to catch all the special moments without making us feel too stiff. We had the opportunity to work with Joyelle all day since she also took pictures of the Chinese Tea Ceremony we had the morning before the wedding and she really made us feel special from start to finish. I cannot wait to see the final pictures!
Thanks Joyelle!
Jamie and Jon
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Boston Wedding
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Joyelle's photographs of our wedding are absolutely gorgeous, and she is such a pleasure (organized, responsive, sweet, calm, cool and collected) to work with! Would absolutely recommend her.
Services Used: Photography
Bg21
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I really enjoyed working with Joyelle. Our photos are beautiful because they captured the day in a natural and expressive way. Joyelle always made us feel like we were her only clients throughout the entire process.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hostagesk
Wedding:
10/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Joyelle was awesome! My husband-to-be and I had decided that photography was one of the most important parts of the wedding for us, we wanted great pictures that had some artistic feel but without missing any of the classic groupings and moments from the wedding. Joyelle listened to exactly what we wanted, and captured all of the greatest parts of the day. The groups came out great, not too overly-posed, and the candid shots she got were amazing. She is worth every penny we spent, we will love these pictures forever. You cannot go wrong hiring her!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lyndsey
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Joyelle was truly a pleasure to work with! She made us feel so comfortable and was fun to be around. Her experience and expertise were incredibly helpful in the planning of our e-session and wedding and were evident in the absolutely gorgeous photos. She captured every detail and special moment and yet many of our guests remarked that they never even saw a photographer. Her artistic talent and professionalism were impressive, our photos beautifully tell the story of our day and we were pleasantly surprised by how quickly we received them after the wedding. We definitely recommend Joyelle!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kkaplan32
Wedding:
7/30/2010
5.0/5.0
Joyelle is an amazing photographer. She really listened to what we wanted in our wedding photos and captured our personalities perfectly. She went out of her way to shoot an engagement session for us in two different locations in Boston - which we very much appreciated! I have been to weddings where the photographer is "in your face" - Joyelle was just the opposite. She managed to capture amazing, artistic photos while blending in with the guests. I will continue to recommend Joyelle to every engaged person I meet!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MayBride09
Wedding:
5/30/2009
5.0/5.0
I cannot rave enough about Joyelle. I met her about 5 years ago when I had theatre headshots taken. While I was there for my headshots I looked through some of her wedding albums and told her if I ever got married- she had to take the pics. One of the sweetest, most laid back people I have ever met; Joyelle really listens to what you are looking for. We had an engagement shoot in the fall which was great practice. The Wednesday before the wedding, we walked through the venues and talked about where would be great places to take pics. Joyelle�s photojournalistic style is amazing- she really captures the emotions of the day and looking through my pics was like experiencing the day all over again. The details and little moments caught on film took my breath away. Our pictures were on line before we got back from our honeymoon and I had my album in hand less than 2 months after the wedding. I highly recommend her to any bride!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carolyn
Wedding:
6/22/2008
5.0/5.0
I love Joyelle! It was a true pleasure working with her. She is very positive and fun to be around, yet not overbearing on your wedding day. She is flexible with packages (for example, we traded an hour of ceremony shooting for an engagement session). She has several beautiful album options. I would recommend her without hesitation.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Polly
Wedding:
7/14/2007
5.0/5.0
She and her assistant were so great, the pictures were phenomenal! I really wanted a photographer that was behind the scenes and I didn't want to hear someone clicking away throughout our special day, and besides the formal pictures, we really never noticed them, and yet we had these fabulous pictures that proved they didn't miss a beat. The package options were very diverse and very affordable. I have many girlfriends that asked for her name afterwards because they were so impressed.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
720 Massachusetts Ave., Cambridge, MA 02139 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Joyelle West Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220