130x130_sq_1271441278317-djlogowb

JP Artistic Entertainment (DJae Melee)

Uncasville , CT

LOCATION

Uncasville, CT US 06382 (map)

PHONE

860-917-5071

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

DJ Melee of JP Artistic Entertainment (J.A.E.)

DJ Melee offers the quality and experience you want when deciding on entertainment for your special day. Our goal is to give... Read more
DJ Melee of JP Artistic Entertainment (J.A.E.)

DJ Melee offers the quality and experience you want when deciding on entertainment for your special day. Our goal is to give anyone the opportunity to have a well-established DJ for their wedding without breaking the bank. With experience in all levels and genres of music, our DJ has developed extensive and indepth music banks covering just about every song on the planet. The library includes over 180,000 songs.

J.A.E. caters to outdoor and indoor weddings, providing small setups for ceremonies and cocktail hours, as well as full setups for dinner and dancing. J.A.E. strives to commuicate with each client to bring their individual nature to the entertainment. Song selection, proper lighting, and announcement structure can be the difference in any wedding.

With very affordable rates, great customer service, and years of references, has made JP Artistic Entertainment the path to choose in making your wedding reception that way you truly want.
Contact Jason (DJ Melee) by email for intial requests. jp_artisticentertainment@yahoo.com or musicbymelee.com. Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1272312553899-car013
130x130_sq_1281582581135-dscn0174
130x130_sq_1281582955588-dscn0094
130x130_sq_1289836794973-dscn0377

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
My wife and I were absolutely thrilled with DJae Melee. He was recommended to us by our photographer Marybeth from Capture photography (also an awesome vendor!). When we began looking at DJs we figured a club Dj with his amount of experience and talent would be very expensive. As it turned out we couldn't have been more wrong. My wife and I met with several DJs and Jae 's pricing was on par or less than the others. Jae is very easy to talk to and explains every part of what he plans to do at the wedding. His website (djaemelee.com) has planners to help you organize the ceremony and reception and it allows you to be as general or specific as you want. Jae brings all the equipment he needs including mics for readers and JPs and up lighting which added a lot to our reception. He followed our planner to the T and even made a custom entrance for us and our wedding party. We kept it pretty general when it came to dance music and gave him a few genres to work with. He took that and ran with it! The music was very tasteful and appropriate and Jae was able to keep everyone dancing until the last song. People are still raving about the music at our wedding.

The only part we did not mark a 5 was for responsiveness. You have to remember that Jae is extremely popular and is always working or with his family. A few times when we would email or call him it would take a little while for him to respond. This changed when the wedding was less than a month away. If we needed anything he was quick to call or write back and it wasn't an issue at all.

Overall we couldn't be happier with Jae. He has the knowledge and talent to entertain the crowd for the entire night and has a professional and courteous demeanor. We highly recommend him.
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kathleen
Wedding:
3/21/2014
2.6/5.0
My experience with Djae Melee was not great. On the positive end, he is affordable for what he offers, has a lot of useful equipment, offers a comprehensive online planning tool, and he was pleasant to speak with prior to the wedding. Unfortunately that's it :/ We had an initial meeting via skype bc he couldn't make an in person meeting work. I told him that we were interested in him b/c he was a seasoned club dj and we didn't want to hire someone who only did weddings. We had listened to a lot of his mixes on soundcloud and they were great. I explained that we wanted a "club style" with lots of mixing and dancing and he understood. The music played was extremely important to us and my husband and I loved the planning form tool on his website. We spent a whole night filling it out, picking our favorite songs for our "must play list", and gave detailed instructions on what type of music to play when. We made it SUPER easy for him to make us happy. All he had to do was follow it. Things started to go awry once dinner started. He stopped following our plan and was barely referencing the must play list. We were actually hearing music we hated. Eventually we calmly asked him what was up. Not only did he argue with us, but he placed blame on the truly wonderful venue staff and complained that I hadn't been specific enough. He also suddenly refused to play dance music between dinner courses like we had requested, bc he said he was the professional and that wasn't how it should be done. When I asked him to do that prior he had no issue with it. He looked sulky the rest of the night, and no one started dancing till after 10pm. We spent a portion of the night just being angry that one of our vendors would actually argue with us at our own wedding. If music is really important to you and you have specific taste I would not recommend Jason's service because he made it clear to us that it is more important for him to do what he wants than to ensure the couple's satisfaction.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kayla
Wedding:
10/25/2013
4.9/5.0
DJae Melee gave us pretty much the perfect wedding. He really listened to what we wanted (not the run-of-the-mill wedding music) and the music really played into our personalities while still being lots of fun to dance to! His prices were BY FAR the best, especially for everything we got with it.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Can't speak any more highly of DJae Melee than giving him 5 STARS! He was amazing, and we had a blast. If a particular genre of music wasn't working for our wedding guests, he knew to change the tempo of the music, which completely worked and got more people on the dancefloor. He had great insight, and definitely was fun to work with. Thank you so much!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Everything you’ve read about Jae on these boards is 100% accurate. He is extremely busy with weddings and club work, as well as his family, and sometimes I did have trouble getting in contact with him. However when it came down to the month before the wedding he was very responsive, and honestly I had nothing to worry about because he knows exactly what he’s doing. He is worth more than he charges! He has an online planning form in which you complete everything...names of the bridal party, black list, must-play songs, timeline of events, etc...it is very user friendly and easy to use. I had no worries at all with Jae, he read the crowd and knew how to get the dance floor packed. If you are considering booking him, or have booked, be sure to follow him on facebook because he does post booking or balance pay discounts.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
DJae Melee is by far the best DJ in the area. He is very professional, flexible, detail oriented and very hard working. We would recommend his services in a heartbeat. Our guests raved about his music selection and he pronounced everyone's name correctly during the introductions. Thanks for an awesome night DJ Melee! :)
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1343142756747-img1349
Erika
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
We used DJae Melee for our wedding September 1st and I am so glad we chose him!! He was awesome!! We used him for both our ceremony and reception and he did a great job. He has an online planning form that is super helpful and really easy to use. Jason is a really nice guy and such a great DJ! It was nice to be able to give him just a couple of songs that we liked and he just went off those and played songs similar! People were on the dance floor the whole night and everyone keeps raving about how much fun our wedding was and how awesome the DJ was!! I would recommend Melee to anyone!!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1375889944610-dance
Dawn Poitras
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
We used DJae Melee (Jason Palermo) for our July 2013 and I was so happy we did! I was recommended to him through my photographer (who actually photographed Jae’s own wedding a few years back) and they frequently work together, so it was awesome! We used the online planning form throughout the months leading up to the wedding and it was easy and took a lot of stress away! It was nice to know that we could give him a couple songs and he played each part of the night perfectly! When we met with him to go over everything right before the wedding (this was the first time my husband met him) he “got” exactly what we wanted from our ceremony to our cocktail hour and reception. On the ride home, my husband said, “He’s a really cool guy, I’m so excited!” (this coming from someone who doesn’t really care too much about music, artists, songs, etc.) To say that Jae knows what he is doing is an extreme understatement. From the moment the dancing started until he played the last song our dance floor was packed. He even got my grandmother, grandfather and my mother-in-law (who is quiet and reserved) dancing all night long! Jae is HIGHLY recommended!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
6/21/2013
5.0/5.0
We would absolutely recommend DJ Melee! He was great to work with before the wedding and throughout the wedding day. The online music selection made music planning very easy and he knew exactly what we wanted for our wedding. His music kept all of our guests on the dance floor and the party going! (AND His cost is extremely reasonable for what he does.) We have recommended him to our family and friends and can't wait to go to the next wedding where he will be the DJ. Thanks so much for everything! - Justin & Brittany
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeanine
Wedding:
5/26/2013
4.8/5.0
Jae was amazing! He really listened to what music we liked and rolled with it. He was extremely accommodating and willing to make last minute changes if needed. There were always people out on the dance floor. His prices are also extremely good!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.2/5.0
Jae delivered an incredible party with music that kept our guests dancing the entire night. We had such a blast and couldn't get off the dance floor. He played mixes of songs that were amazing!! He isn't the most responsive in the beginning, but closer to the wedding he was much more prompt getting back to us, and I couldn't have been more pleased with everything the day of. Jae totally rocked it. And he's totally affordable, too. Highly recommend.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
4/7/2013
4.8/5.0
Jae was awesome to work with. He played all of the music we requested and kept everyone dancing all night long. His online planning form makes planning out the music super easy too!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
4/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Jae was awesome to work with and we were so lucky to been able to have booked him for our wedding after reading all of the great reviews on the knot. Jae was responsive to e-mails, and very flexible with meeting with us via skype. We loved everything from the uplighting, to the custom entrances to our surprise harlem shake dance the we did during dinner. He was enthusiastic and excited about the visions we had for our wedding and was very budget friendly :) My husband and I were on the dance floor the entire night along with all of our guests and we continue to hear from our guests how much fun they had at our wedding.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
I went with Jae after skyping with him per all of the suggestions on theknot message boards. Loved his laid back attitude and the fact that he wasn't showy. I'm a big music fan and I sent him very specific stuff that I wanted. He played all of it and then some which he added (amazing choices, I might add). He wasn't talky or cheesy. I remember thinking at the end of the night when he said good night to everyone, how strange it was not to have heard him much. But that was also nice because he didn't take anything away from us or the music (which I feel like I've seen other dj's do). The goal of my wedding, a dance party, was fulfilled.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sandra
Wedding:
1/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Jason was wonderful to work with!!!!! We were so happy to find out that he was available to DJ our wedding since I had heard so many great things about him from work. He replied promptly and was very flexible in meeting to discuss what we wanted. Throughout our planning, Jason ALWAYS answered our questions and made us very comfortable about our decision to go with him. He is very affordable, although he could charge a ton more for what he does! We loved being able to put our song picks easily online up to 2 days prior to our wedding. He also made a wonderful customized entrance for our bridal party instead of the standard single song for everyone to enter in on. On the day of the wedding, the uplighting was absolutely perfect!! It really made the room! Following dinner, Jason really tuned into the guests and got everyone up dancing...I don't think that we have ever seen such a crowd on the dance floor! I would highly recommend Jason for any event, without any hesitation! You will not regret it!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
11/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Jason was an excellent DJ and knew exactly how to keep our wedding moving forward! He was incredibly professional throughout the entire process from planning to execution. We couldn’t have asked for anything better. Jason listened to us as we explained how we wanted our night to play out, and the type of music we felt best represented our style for each and personalities for each portion the evening. When it came time to perform he was exactly what we expected, he created a well-choreographed show for our guests to enjoy as they relaxed and danced the night way. That is saying a lot given that we had many friends and family who are not fans of dancing, but yet they spent the evening on the dance floor! The soundtrack for our wedding was exactly as we’d hoped, and Jason was able to read the crowd to keep the party moving the entire night. We highly recommend him for your event, you won’t be disappointed!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1354409731520-weddingwireprofilepic
Shawn
Wedding:
11/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Jae is by far the best wedding DJ I have ever been around! He came to us highly recommended and as soon as we met him we understood why. He is extremely knowledgable and experienced - during the initial meeting he shared his own wedding experience as well as some of his recommended do's and don'ts. He was spot on with everything. He took the time to get to know us as a couple, what type of wedding vibe we wanted and specifically what we did not want. We completely trusted him with creating a customized wedding entrance song ( he even accommodated an 11th hour request) which our guests continue to rave about. The dance floor was rocking the entire night and he was solely responsible for that. If you are looking for a modern DJ who can read a crowd like no other and make even those who "don't dance" stay on their feet for 5 hours then he is your guy! We had no challenges communicating with him at any point during our process and felt at ease and comfortable with him at all times. His electronic paperwork is thorough and had us thinking about things that had not crossed our minds. There is no way that any modern couple would be disappointed with Jae's service.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
11/10/2012
4.7/5.0
A board favorite and Jae did not disappoint.Like others have said before, communication before the day of can be spotty, but never fear, the week before he is there for you and certainly is the day of! His online tool was so helpful for us.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1289961106844-1014947
Courtney
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Jae is an amazing DJ who did a fantastic job for my wedding. The guests were on the dance floor the WHOLE night - even when the last song was played, the dance floor was still packed. His value is incomparable - he charges far less than any other area DJ, but the quality is not sacrificed in the slightest. He has detailed forms to ensure he is playing exactly what you want to hear, when you want to hear it. All of his forms are made available online, which I feel is comforting to have at your fingertips to complete at your own pace. I sent in a whole list of suggestions for our dinner music and was thrilled to hear he stuck to the songs in my list and style. In addition to playing "must hear" songs for the dancing, he took requests and played awesome music that fit with our personality and mood of the evening. He is very good at providing exactly what you need and making any necessary adjustments. I wrote him specific directions on how the ceremony music, first dance songs, and cake cutting music should play out, and he followed them exactly as I imagined. We opted for uplighting at our wedding, which was beautiful. He also brought along lights for the dance floor which was unexpected, but absolutely wonderful!! Finally, as we got closer to the wedding date, he was very responsive to my emails and answered all of my questions. I only became more and more excited about having him there to help entertain my guests. He is extremely friendly and made sure he said goodbye before he left at the end of the night. I was lucky to find Jae through my sister at her wedding... and any bride would be lucky to have him at their wedding in the future. I would recommend him 100%, over and over again.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
DJae Melee is an amazing DJ, he is very nice and experienced with weddings. On the wedding day everything went beautifully, he played the right songs to keep the dance floor full and he was perfect with announcement. He worked with my husband on a custom entrance mix and it was awesome. Jae also did uplighting in the room which looked beautiful. His prices are so affordable and you can tell he enjoys what he does.
My only critique would the communication, Jae's business has obviously grown significantly in the last few years. As a bride sometimes it is easier for me to shoot an email off with a question, sometimes the email would get lost in the shuffle. However if it was something urgent or once the wedding date got closer, if I picked up the phone I would hear from him within 24 hours. I would not change a thing, we enjoyed working with Jae and he did an awesome job on our wedding day!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Jae is probably one of the most popular vendors in CT on the Knot and other boards. DH and I booked him as soon as we met with him- he is young, down to earth, and really knows his stuff- all for a great price. I have read some reviews from other brides who have had trouble contacting him, but we didn't have any issues. He always seemed to answer within a reasonable amount of time and seemed to work really hard to make us happy. During the night he did refuse to play some of the songs that we had asked him not to play and always asked for my or DH permission before playing anything "questionable" which I appreciated. The only snag that we ran into was during entrances when I had forgotten to add one of the songs in for one of our couples- totally my fault and Jae worked immediately to fix it so no one ever knew any better. I would highly recommend him as a DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cate
Wedding:
9/1/2012
4.9/5.0
AMAZING!!! Jae is fabulous, I cannot imagine a better party. He just got the mood we wanted and the songs we loved - my husband kept saying that he loved every single song that came on, and he kept the mood upbeat and the dance floor packed. From my young cousins through my grandparents, everyone enjoyed busting a move.

Jae really impressed my parents when we first met with his professionalism, experience, and personality. Like many of Jae's other clients, we wrote a deposit before we left our first meeting. There was no question that Jae was the perfect DJ for our event! He's also worth twice what he charges, at least!

He was super helpful during the planning - occasionally there was a lag in communication, but like most brides, I can tend to go overkill on email updates sometimes. Jae had it all well in hand, I never had to worry. He had every song right, he stuck to the do-not-play list like glue, he checked any requests by us, and the lighting on the dance floor was absolutely perfect!

When we had to change things up last minute on our entrance, he was flexible and awesome to work with. When rain hit briefly and Jae's set-up was outside the tent, he fixed it all and then came in and just told me, "There was rain, so I moved." And that was it! I didn't have to problem-solve, he was just letting me know he had handled it. That's just the kind of vendor he is!

Jae's uplighting really set the mood - it made our venue absolutely glow. Worth every single penny and then some!

My husband keeps raving about the music, my friends told me it was the best wedding they've ever been to, the dance floor was packed, and it was truly the best party I've ever been to in my life! Thank you for everything, Jae!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
Melee was great as a DJ. When we first met with him, we had seen other DJs but hadn't clicked with any of them. Melee was down to earth and was just right for what we had in mind. We met with him again about 2 weeks before the wedding to go over song details and he was right on target on the day of the wedding. I would definitely recommend him he was one of my favorite vendors.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
We booked Melee without ever having met him in person. The few times I had need to email him, he replied within the week (sometimes I posted on his Facebook to catch his attention, but I think he would have replied even without that). About 2-3 weeks before my wedding we met in person for the first time- he was really down to earth and willing to play whatever type of music we asked for. The ceremony music was perfect and exactly what I wanted- we could hear it back in our hiding place, so I don't think the guests had any trouble hearing it! I don't know if we used Melee's mics for the ceremony or the JOPs- it sounded to me like they were cutting out a bit, but who knows? It might have just been I couldn't hear the echo. I didn't hear any complaints from our guests. For the reception, we only had two small problems. The first logistics with my venue- Jae came down to talk to us before the entrance, so he had to run back to his table (a long trip outside, along the building, then up some stairs before getting inside). We wanted a low-key intro, so instead of waiting for him we just sort of walked in. Most everyone was still at the bar anyway, so it wasn't a big deal. This was a logistics problem more than anything. The other issue was my fault- for our first dance, M/S dance and D/F dance, I had linked him to youtube videos of the songs I wanted. I didn't realize how long they were, and I never told him to cut them short, so for each song we got about half way through and then started trying to look up and tell him to cut the song… but we just had to dance through it. So advice to future brides: make sure you ask your DJ to cut the dance songs shorter. Other than that, he had the dance floor packed all night (thanks in part to my party hard family!), and played some great music. The only songs I really wanted, I remember he played, and the song I asked for as the last song he also played.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough great things about DJ Melee -- he is by far the best DJ a bride and groom could ask for! Jae was great to work with, truly understood what we wanted and made sure that we got it. He kept the dance floor packed the whole night! We gave him some guidelines (Sinatra-style during cocktail and dinner, oldies to start the dance floor, 90's and hiphop later in the night) and he nailed it the whole time, including the custom intro mix he created from scratch. He REALLY knows his music and is great at reading a crowd, he keeps a low profile and skips the gameshow host routine that so many DJs are known for. Jae is a great guy and a true professional, and if you can manage to beat the other brides to it, BOOK HIM! :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Krystal
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Jae was great to work with all around. We had some unusual song requests for our ceremony and he found the music and worked everything together perfectly. We also had a slight change to the wedding party intros and he added that in without a hitch, as well as impressively pronouncing multiple difficult last names between us and our wedding party. He did an awesome job picking the right mix of music for us at the reception, including all of my top requests I had sent in beforehand. I spent the majority of the night out on the dance floor having a blast. We are so happy we chose DJae Melee for our wedding.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerri
Wedding:
4/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Jae was very professional and helpful. We never went over when to cut off the first dance song. All I had to do was give him a nod and he knew exactly what to do. He was watching me all night to make sure I was happy with what he was playing. I stayed on the dance floor all night. I had an amazing time dancing to his amazing music choices. He also did the uplifting which was stunning.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carrie
Wedding:
4/21/2012
4.8/5.0
DJae Melee is great! I had seen other brides recommend him so I decided to contact him. I met with him that week and booked him on the spot. I wanted a DJ who would be able to play to the crowd to get everyone dancing, not overpower with MC'ing or comments, and was a reasonable price. DJae Melee filled all of our requirements. After the wedding we were getting compliments on how good he was. The only negative was sometimes communication was a little slow but I do understand that I was not his only client so it didn't bother me too much. I would definitely recommend him to anyone.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Frasc06
Wedding:
4/17/2012
4.9/5.0
DJae Melee, or Jae, is fantastic, and I highly, highly recommend him to anyone looking for a professional, extremely well priced DJ in the CT area.

The most highly noted and best comments we received on our wedding day about Jae were how he risked getting his equipment wet in the rain so that we could have our outdoor wedding ceremony. Our wedding venue staff told us that we were so lucky Jae was patient, willing, and relaxed during the rain as most DJs would either have forced us to move the ceremony inside or just not have been a part of an outdoor, pouring cats and dogs rain ceremony. Never once did DJae Melee make the rain an issue. He covered his equipment and played our ceremony music and mic'd the Justice of the Peace, no questions asked and no complaints. We were so, so grateful.

In addition to going above and beyond unpredictable circumstances, Jae was easy to work with. We met with him once to get ideas and then filled out every detail we wanted on his easy-to-fill-out, online forms. (He would meet with us as many times as we wanted, though). He thoroughly read over our requests and followed them perfectly, adding a few relevant touches. He made great music choices and took a few requests from guests--but not too many--just as we asked. We trusted him the whole night and the guests and my husband and I were so pleased. We had a blast, and the dinner music as well as the dance music was absolutely what we wanted and even more.

The other highlight of using Jae for our night was his custom DJ entrances. He played a song for each bridal party member and did a great job with introductions. People loved it! When our Maid of Honor decided to add in a game in the middle of the night, Jae was right there. He also made sure everything happened in order and on time. He helped structure our night just the way we wanted in a very subtle, non-intrusive way.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
DJ Melee was a pleasure to work with for our wedding. He was flexible, responsive, and extremely helpful throughout our planning process. And you can't beat the price!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1316658998006-fbavatar100000417867718
Ashley
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Jae was awesome. He really stuck up for me when my guests started to ask for forbidden songs, which I gave into anyway in the end, but he really stuck to the plan. We mapped out the night so I made sure I didn't miss anything like other weddings I had been to where they didn't do a bouquet or garter toss. Thank goodness I did! If that is my only advice to brides-to-be, it is make sure you set aside time for everything or you will miss it, because that night goes by so fast! He did an awesome job making my custom ceremony music, and it sounded perfect, just like I imagined. Also, the lighting was GREAT, and included in his base price! He completely understood my vision. My guests were on the dance floor as soon as the music came on, and the party was so good people even spilled into the parking lot after the reception ended just because it was such a good time. He can really read a crowd. As for his prices, if I could give him 10 stars for value, I would. Don't look anywhere else, he is the whole package and the best deal you will find.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Simplyme427
Wedding:
7/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Jason was extremely accommodating to our requests and really helped to personalized our ceremony. It was also refreshing to have someone closer in age and our generation. Jason was delighted to work with music that we appreciated and offered a wide variety of similar music. We had asked him to mix together Louie Armstrong's It's a Wonderful World with Joey Ramone's and he did an amazing job. In addition to this song, guests frequently came up to us to tell us how impressed they were with the music as well as the unique touches Jason provided for us. At the end of the night when the shuttle was running late he even offered to drive a few people back to the hotel. Luckily the shuttle came and it didn't come to that but this example really captures the care, attention, and commitment he has to being one of the best DJs around. We would highly recommend him for anyone looking to book an event.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Best DJ ever!! I found myself bogged down towards the end of planning and only ever provided Jason with my ceremony music and the key dances for the reception. He was able to find instrumental versions of all the off-the-wall songs I wanted in the ceremony and he provided us with some great advice on how to space out the traditional dances without boring our guests. He was incredibly professional, kept the dance floor packed (with no direction from us AT ALL), but we got loads of compliments on the music. I would recommend him to anyone, he was just that good!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
newwife
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about DJ Melee (Jason Palermo). He has a great ear for music and knew just what to play to get people out on the dance floor and keep them there. Our guests raved about his music selections and how much fun they had. Jason was great to work with and it was a pleasure having him DJ our wedding.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Jason provided DJing for my wedding on June 11th. He did a wonderful job and I was so happy that we had chosen him for our day. I am 100% against the typical cheesy wedding DJ and Jason is exactly what you are looking for if feel the same way as I do. He will only do what you want him to do in terms of music and announcements and does a lot of pre-planning so he knows exactly what you want. He provided music for our ceremony, cocktail and reception and kept in touch with me for timing on FOB dance and cake cutting. I did not have a hard-set time frame of when dances and cake cutting should happen and I left it to Jason to give me the sign of when he thought it was the best time to do these - and that worked perfectly. He played the perfect song choices for our dinner and the dance floor was packed all night long. I never take my shoes off at weddings and I had to take my shoes off very early in the night because I was dancing so much. We also had a lot of our guests coming up to us saying that our wedding was one of, if not the most, fun weddings. Jason was professional and a pleasure to work with. I even had comments from some of the older people attending that he played the music at just the right level and they didn't have to request it was turned down like they have done at other weddings. Truly a wonderful DJ and I would recommend him to everyone!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
DJ Melee provided a great service for our wedding in May 2011. He was very accomodating and flexible to our situation. Our wedding had both indoor and outdoor setups and DJ Melee mastered the entertainment. He was very quick to respond to the moods of the crowd- which saved our party!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jason
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
DJ was very professional. Took peoples request, provided fun and entertaining music. We had so many people tell us that was the best wedding they have ever been too and I feel our DJ was a big reason for that. The quality of equiptment was great and provided us with our ceremony music as well.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tricia
Wedding:
5/6/2011
2.7/5.0
Jason's prices were very reasonable, but in regards to our wedding, we felt like you got what you paid for. The quality of sound was awful, we couldn't hear the music most of the night, he refused song requests from guests, and played a CHRISTMAS SONG during dinner!! Communication before the wedding was good, but the day of services were very disappointing!
Services Used: DJ
JP Artistic Entertainment (DJae Melee) responded with the following comments:

I am not going to dispute anything about their opinions on my services, but I'm going to point out a few background points. First, the "Christmas" song she is referring to is Ella Fitzgerald's version of 'baby it's cold outside'. That song is not a christmas song, but a duet of love and intrigue dialogued through a mouse and a wolf. The original song was a love song, and really has only been converted to other artists for Christmas music recently in COUNTRY ALBUMS. At holiday parties, I have yet to play this song, yet I play this song at many weddings throughout the year when weather permits the use. It was not a warm day.

If they feel the sound was not adequate, I can see this happened for one reason. I was simply placed in the farthest corner from the dance floor, outlets, and their table. I told the caterer this sound situation was going to be difficult, because I was so far away from the event and dancefloor and that I had no where to hook my power up. I'm very sorry it was not adequate, I wish I could remedied the situation, but I did not have any say on where I was placed. The venue was not built for weddings, but for carousel & park use. I admit I should have gone to the venue to research the power access and acoustics, and I have changed that part of my research process for future couples.

As far as requests, I repeatedly was asked to play music that they had said not to play. I was refusing to play music that was on their DO NOT PLAY list, such as macarena, electric slide and more group stuff. I have a do not play list for each couple for a reason, and any reasonable request that was asked was made (abba-dancing queen), anything on that list was not (Kid Rock).

To be honest, I don't believe this is the reason for the dispute. My contract states that each couple must pay their final balance the Wednesday before the event, making financial conversations during or after an event unnecessary. Those conversations can be awkward and also get in the middle of saying goodbye to family and friends. This couple did not pay for services the wednesday before, and I let it go. Before, during, and after the event I was told that I would be paid by the mother of the bride. The couple left right away at the end, which forced me to confront the mother for payment. She said she had no way to pay me and that she would send a check, and then offered to have me to drive to her home at midnight. Needless to say, this made the situation exactly what I did not want. I didn't feel comfortbale in the position I was placed in, and I didn't feel comfortable putting any other person into that position. I was paid, but with an attitude like I was doing something wrong. I felt awful when I left the site, knowing I had done nothing wrong, but it still made me feel guilty.

I don't believe the couple had researched their venue enough to realize that the power provided was inadequate, I was placed well over 70 yards from the couples table and at least 30 yards from the dancefloor. These two factors would create a less than wanted sound level at any site. My sound equipment is powerful and brand new, used at Society Room in Hartford (60 foot walls) and for outdoor events covering 1000 ppl.

Again, everyone has their opinions, and I believe that every review, good or bad, improves my business. That is what reviews are for, and I appreciate her insight, and wish her and her husband and healthy and happy life together!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tanya
Wedding:
4/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Jae is a true professional and knows his business! He knows music and how to figure out what the client wants even if they aren't quite sure themselves. His prices are excellent.

Jae walked us through the process of what music was needed and it just flowed.

The music for our ceremony and our reception was flawless! (big band and instrumental.)I can't say enough good things about about Jae and his professionalism.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
smore
Wedding:
3/5/2011
4.8/5.0
Jae Palermo is THE MAN! He DJed our wedding on March 5, 2011 and we would recommend him to everyone. He made a custom entrance for our bridal party, and provided many suggestions for songs for parent dances, which we needed some help with. We really can't say enough about Jae- he is awesome. Everyone had the best time ever at our wedding and complimented him over and over. He also played some polkas for us since that was requested. If he is available for your wedding- we highly recommend that you book him. There is NOTHING you will be disappointed with!!!! His lights were awesome, music was great THANK YOU JAE!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
12/11/2010
5.0/5.0
Book early! :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mdes23
Wedding:
12/4/2010
5.0/5.0
One word: Amazing!!! DJ Melee gave us everything we asked for and more!! He is incredibly knowledgeable and he has extremely reasonable prices for the wonderful service he provides. I have never seen so many people dancing at a wedding before!! His ability to get any song possible and his up to date technology makes him one of the best DJs in the area. He has our recommendation to anyone looking for a DJ and we would not hesitate to use him again in the future!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
D&S115
Wedding:
11/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Whenever our wedding day is brought up in conversation the first two things mentioned are always the same: 1. How much fun everyone had 2. How great the DJ was, and we couldn't agree more. We couldn't thank Jae enough for playing a huge role in giving us the best day of our lives. He was easy to work with and helped us in picking songs that everyone would enjoy. And they did...EVERYONE was on the dance floor. He exceeded our expectations and we could not have been happier. We highly recommend Jae for your wedding or party DJ. You won't be disappointed!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Matthew
Wedding:
10/24/2010
4.9/5.0
I really can't say enough about how wonderful Jason is. Polite and professional, he really helped our day come together exactly the way we wanted it. Thanks to his attention to detail our ceremony went smoothly with all the right cues, and during the reception he followed all our lists faithfully to create precisely the atmosphere we had intended. We ended up having to make some changes and requests on the fly, and he accommodated all of them easily and without any hesitation. When our guests got a little too rowdy for me to get the speeches started, he was standing there with a wireless microphone ready to go. On top of all this, he's a really nice guy, and really dedicated to giving couples the wedding they want.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
10/17/2010
4.8/5.0
We are very happy we booked Jason for our wedding. He did a great job with his small ceremony set up and with the reception. He was able to incorporate spanish music in with our reception which our family loved. We had a daytime wedding and there were still always people out on the dance floor having fun. He also is very affordable and knows his stuff.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebekah
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I have been to a lot of weddings. I have heard some great dj's and some horrible dj's.....and Jae, was the best! Not only did he listen to what I hated, he listen to what I loved about music. He played the best mixes, and had the dance floor full, all night. He went above and beyond when it came to meeting with me and listening to my indecisiveness! His prices can't be beat, his style cant be beat and neither can his passion for music. I never gave him a play list of this I wanted played, just of things I didn't want, which he gladly respected. I trusted him to pick whatever songs he wanted, to make my night memorable, which he did, and he did it well! I have been and will continue to recommend him, highly.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JenJosh10910
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Jason is incredible - I can't say enough good things about him. Being a radio DJ, I was picky about who I was going to trust to DJ my own wedding, and Jason was the BEST choice. He followed our instructions for cocktail hour (classical music), introductions (specific song selections), dinner (jazz), and party time perfectly. Our dance floor was packed all night long, and he did a fantastic job at mixing current, chart-topping music with crowd-pleasers for the parents and grandparents. His equipment is top-notch (never a cut-out during toasts, no feedback, no distortion in sound) and as a DJ, he keeps the focus on the bride & groom, and on the party - he's not the type to get chatty on the microphone and he doesn't do "wedding cheese." He was also great about a few last-minute curveballs I threw at him (like telling him that in 5 minutes' time, I wanted to toss a bouquet. "No problem!")

We would absolutely choose Jason again - he is professional, extremely talented, and worth far more than he charges.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jillandgayle
Wedding:
10/2/2010
5.0/5.0
Jason DJed our October 2 wedding and he was great! Throughout the planning process, he always got back to us quickly, he treated us and our guests well, he was low key and laid back, understood what we wanted and delivered it. He clearly knows his stuff musically, has good sound equipment and his prices can't be beat! Highly recommended.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
9/12/2010
5.0/5.0
Jae with JP Artistic Entertainment was very accomadating and did a phenomenal job with our playlist. I would recommend him to anyone that is looking for a DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JessicaPelt
Wedding:
9/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Wonderful DJ. Provided all of the songs requested for the reception and couldn't have been any better. Definitely check him out!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding in upstate NY and Jae drove the 5+ hours to DJ our wedding!! We were incredibly happy with everything he has done for us. His professionalism goes above and beyond to accommodate anything and everything we asked for. Our guests had a great time and we were thrilled to have had such an awesome DJ. The DJ pretty much makes the wedding, if you've got a terrible DJ, your guests wont have fun and the party sucks, but everything about our day was amazing. The ceremony music, the reception, everything was perfect and could not have been better!! We have recommended Jae to others and we will continue to do so!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bellywin
Wedding:
9/3/2010
4.7/5.0
DJ Melee was very accommodating to our theme, which incorporated a wide range of music genres spanning the 1940s through modern day. He was always responsive and made time to talk through the playlist, figure out reception logistics, and check in as the wedding day was approaching.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shauna361
Wedding:
8/14/2010
4.6/5.0
We are very happy with the outcome of music for our reception. He arrived on time, very professional demeanor and played all the songs that we wanted. He even took some unplanned requests and accommodated my Dad's little congrats speech that we weren't expecting. Our reception turned out to be smaller and at a different venue, he dealt with all of my many changes very well. Thanks Jason - you did a fantastic job!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lovelyse1505
Wedding:
7/31/2010
5.0/5.0
Jae did a fantastic job. He was attentive to our needs and made sure to play what we wanted to hear. I didn't want any dances such as the electric slide or ymca played at my reception and never heard anything that came close to it. But he made sure to play classic songs that got everyone up on their feet.
I enjoy hip-hop and r&b. That being said, he was also able to incorporate some of that flavor into the mix without annoying the older crowd. Even my 80 year old grandfather who hates weddings said he had a blast. He's been raving all over town about it. In addition, he mentioned to me that he appreciated not being blasted away by the loud "noise" as he calls it.

Overall, our experience was awesome. We are trying to figure out what event we can have next just so we can invite Jae back to DJ again.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cstarr
Wedding:
7/3/2010
5.0/5.0
JP Artistic Entertainment did an excellent job providing the music for our wedding. All the songs that we wanted played were and songs that were not so mainstream he provided. He was prompt with all correspondence and professional. I would recommend JP Artistic Entertainment to anyone getting married or having a party!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
deanna
Wedding:
5/14/2010
5.0/5.0
JP Artistic entertainment was terrific from the start. He knew what we should know early on, he gave us list to provide with song requests and song we DON'T want and just gave a great ORGANIZED overview at the first meeting. I only really needed to have one follow up a day or two before. He was confident well spoken and again organized.
His fee was extreamly reasonable.
I would highly recommend him and will should anyone ask if I know of a DJ.
thanks
Deanna and Jim Gilman
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cgp5210
Wedding:
5/2/2010
5.0/5.0
DJ Melee is amazing. Not only is he affordable, but he knows exactly what music to play and when to really give you and your guests the best experience possible. He really knows his stuff.

Also, he is gay friendly, which was a major plus for our wedding. I would highly recommend him and if I ever have another event in CT, he would be the first person I would call.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
robert
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
Jason provided a very professional and terrific services for my wedding in May 2010. Every one at my wedding commented on what a good job he did. I had various age groups attending the wedding and he played music for all different age groups and lively music that the guests enjoyed dancing to. He had pre-ceremony checklist for the wedding songs. My wife and I requested just a few songs that we wanted to hear at the wedding and then we relied on the DJ's expertise to come up with a good set of music to play. The DJ even arrived at the wedding over an hour ahead of time to setup his equipment. I loved his professionalism and he has done many wedding and he knew how to make my wedding ceremony proceed smoothly and without any glitches. My wife and I would recommend his services to anyone who is interested in hiring a DJ for their wedding.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
EWM77
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Jason was great - very responsive, very friendly and conscientious. He did his best to read the crowd and keep people dancing. He was very flexible and very easy going. And definitely the most affordable DJ I was in touch with. I didn't want a light show, fog, gimmicks or props - just good music and he delivered.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melmartll
Wedding:
4/11/2009
5.0/5.0
DJ Melee customized my wedding to what i wanted. I did not want a lot of the traditional things but still wanted to do fun things at my wedding. He helped come up with different ways to do the garter, cake, and dollar dance. He had the dance floor packed with a large variety of music. DJ Melee also met with us before the wedding and answered tons of questions i had over the phone.
Services Used: DJ

DEALS

Military Discount
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
All military inactive and active duty personnel and their significant others will receive 10% off their entire total balance.
Deal #WWe963ce1fb42f62d4
220x220_1271441278317-djlogowb

MAP

 
Uncasville, CT 06382 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for JP Artistic Entertainment (DJae Melee)
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo