130x130_sq_1394913144962-jspico

JSP Studio

New York Tri-state , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

New York Tri-State, NY US

PHONE

212-671-1915

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

When I was 15 my father gave me a Konica 35mm camera and built a darkroom in our basement. I still have that camera. My passion for photography stems from the sheer joy and amazement I... Read more
When I was 15 my father gave me a Konica 35mm camera and built a darkroom in our basement. I still have that camera. My passion for photography stems from the sheer joy and amazement I experience everytime I capture a moment in time. The gratitude and pleasure I feel when others can share that same emotion from my images is immeasurable. My style has evolved to match my personality: artistic and structured; free-spirited, dramatic, and intuitive. My method of capturing weddings breaks from standard wedding photography (which tends to be formulaic in nature), by providing an “Intuitive” and “Personality Driven” style of photojournalistic photography to tell my clients’ individual story. My philosophy is that each wedding has an exclusive rhythm; a pattern of energy that is defined by the personalities present. I look to capture timeless images: the look of complete satisfaction and love on your mother's face when you are about to say "I do"; the look your fiance gives you just when you are about to place the ring on his finger; and the look of adoration on the faces of your guests as you enter the reception for the first time; to name a few. The emotional interactions between you and your closest family and friends are the heart of the wedding day. My game plan is to document those interactions as they naturally occur; unobtrusively and without manipulation; to capture my subjects in their most candid state. For more information, please contact Jonathan at 212-671-1915 or jonathan@jspstudio.com. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1398798457106-wtoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398798487843-wtoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398798516983-wtoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398798537894-wtoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398798535245-wtoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398798410545-wtoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398798413581-wtoppromo004
130x130_sq_1398798417919-wtoppromo004
130x130_sq_1398798422011-wtoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398798424633-wtoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398798427965-wtoppromo005
130x130_sq_1398798432274-wtoppromo003
130x130_sq_1398798451112-wtoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398798436704-wtoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398798440083-wtoppromo004
130x130_sq_1398798446336-wtoppromo004
130x130_sq_1398798453892-wtoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398798460966-wtoppromo005
130x130_sq_1398798464640-wtoppromo003
130x130_sq_1398798468571-wtoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398798471938-wtoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398798476853-wtoppromo004
130x130_sq_1398798481982-wtoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398798484610-wtoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398798491332-wtoppromo003
130x130_sq_1398798495950-wtoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398798499098-wtoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398798504304-wtoppromo004
130x130_sq_1398798544834-wtoppromo003
130x130_sq_1398798509919-wtoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398798513035-wtoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398798520665-wtoppromo003
130x130_sq_1398798523279-wtoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398798527457-wtoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398798530437-wtoppromo004
130x130_sq_1398798533363-wtoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398798541264-wtoppromo003
130x130_sq_1398798547818-wtoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398798550989-wtoppromo004
130x130_sq_1398798553626-wtoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398798556135-wtoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398798559192-wtoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398798562876-wtoppromo003
130x130_sq_1398798565909-wtoppromo003
130x130_sq_1398798568078-wtoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398798570282-wtoppromo004
130x130_sq_1398798573949-wtoppromo004
130x130_sq_1398798577366-wtoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398798579738-wtoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398798583917-wtoppromo003
130x130_sq_1398798587998-wtoppromo003
130x130_sq_1398799575110-etoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398799556661-etoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398799559038-etoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398799621019-etoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398799588162-etoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398799561521-etoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398799562926-etoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398799566633-etoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398799568350-etoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398799570471-etoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398799573009-etoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398799577695-etoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398799580268-etoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398799582166-etoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398799584877-etoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398799590785-etoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398799593231-etoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398799595629-etoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398799598700-etoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398799601266-etoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398799604996-etoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398799607777-etoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398799610431-etoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398799612943-etoppromo000
130x130_sq_1398799615507-etoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398799618076-etoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398799624172-etoppromo001
130x130_sq_1398799626619-etoppromo002
130x130_sq_1398799628907-etoppromo000

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, High Resolution Images
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.3
out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
5/9/2014
5.0/5.0
We were fortunate enough to find Jonathan Scott and JSP Studios for our engagement and wedding photos. He and his team were recommended through a friend who experienced his services as a bridesmaid in another wedding. We researched his photos and fell in love with the editorial style and unique visual scope of his work -- his photographs are STUNNING. We met before our engagement shoot over dinner to get to know each other better and customize our experience. We were able to connect and know that we were going to achieve the look we wanted out of our images and brainstorm about unique venues. Perez Art Museum Miami was the chosen destination for our engagement pictures and we were the first couple to have our photos shot at the location. Jonathan and his team took their time finding the right set ups/moments and we ultimately loved the final product. He helped us through the timeline and adding on videography for our wedding and his team were prompt and professional on our big day. JSP Studios captured our once in a lifetime moments and we couldn't be happier with the experience.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
4/12/2014
5.0/5.0
I really cannot say enough good things about Jonathan Scott and JSP Photography Studio. He and is team are simply incredible. From the moment I met Jonathan, I knew he would be the one that would capture all the feelings and experiences that surrounded our Wedding. To start, Jonathan shot our engagement photos on two (2) separate occasions to make sure we got both the night and day time photos we were looking for. Jonathan’s photos are not the typical Wedding photos and poses that give that forced feel to them. Instead, he strives at capturing the essence of the couple and their unique love and personality. No shot taken by Jonathan is the same and no shot he captures is like anything you have ever seen before. I just received 40 of the photos that Jonathan took of our Wedding and people cannot stop emailing and texting me about how absolutely incredible and captivating the photos are. He truly captured the love, happiness and energy that surrounded our Wedding, as if by looking at the photos I am reliving the moments all over again. I cannot thank Jonathan and his team enough. To top it off, Jonathan and his team are that group that will stick by your side the entire night (our party went into the wee late hours) and will do anything just to capture the whole experience. Even better, he does not charge by the hour which shows how truly dedicated he is. Lastly, not only am I lucky that Jonathan was our photographer, he has now become a friend. He truly is an incredible person both inside and out and I am so honored he was a part of my team. I would recommend Jonathan and JSP Studio to anyone - - please do not miss out on the experience of letting this team capture the most precious moments in your life - - as I plan to use him for years and years to come at both big and small moments (he is that amazing). Thank you again Jonathan Scott and JSP!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Trang
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Jonathan took pictures when Jeff (my husband) proposed. The emotions captured on that photo series is palpable. I relive the joy I felt that day every time I see those photos. Jeff was hooked from the beginning. Both Jeff and I have very good income, but because I am a minimalist, I wanted our wedding cost to be kept to a minimum, but Jeff convinced me to spend the extra money to fly Jonathan from Florida to capture our wedding in Kansas City. His cost is compared to local photographers but it was the extra cost of room and board for Jonathan and his assistance that we had to considered in our overall budget. It was well worth every penny. Right before the wedding, I worked 2 weeks straight (1 week of nights). I had a day of coordinator but did all the leg work of the wedding on my own. By the time the wedding rolled around, I was exhausted and ready for the wedding to be done. The weekend was wonderful, but Jonathan could tell I was exhausted. Despite this, he got some amazing pictures. It is one thing to get beautiful photos with a gorgeous backdrop, but it takes talent to get breathtaking photos with an exhausted bride, barely blooming trees and grass, and flat Kansas background. Also, I come from a large Asian family that like posed family pictures, but my husband and I wanted photos that captured the emotions of the day. Jonathan managed to make my family very happy, and we did not spend most of our wedding day posing in front of the camera. Jonathan also has an amazing personality. He is down to earth but well traveled. He has life experiences, which is why I think his photos are so revealing. We love him so much that we are already planning on getting photos for our 1st year anniversary.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deborah
Wedding:
2/22/2014
5.0/5.0
If you are interested in standard and generic photos, Jonathan Scott is not for you. He is creative and unique. Although I have seen only a few shots from my wedding photos, I am thrilled with the quality and style of each and every one. Jonathan captures photos in a really special way- I was even told by my wedding guests that they look like pictures from an editorial of a fashion magazine. This is exactly what I was looking for. I wanted photos that stood out and I believe that Jonathan really accomplishes that. He know how to get these photos and he will direct you as he needs to achieve this. All in all, it was a great experience. Thank you for the memories Jonathan!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
1/26/2014
5.0/5.0
When I started planning my wedding with my husband we first decided what was most important to us and that was where we would invest our time and money in getting only the best. We decided that photography was all that mattered and we couldn't have chosen someone better than Jonathan.

When you work with Jonathan you know you have first-class talent. He takes his work very seriously and you know that your wedding photos will turn out better than your dreamed and looking like photos you would see in a magazine!
Services Used: Photography
JSP Studio responded with the following comments:

.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kay
Wedding:
12/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Loved working with Jonathan. Great pictures!!!!!
Services Used: Photography
JSP Studio responded with the following comments:

.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shoshana
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Jonathan was amazing from start to finish at capturing every moment of our wedding! The way he angels a shot to capture something so incredible for instance my mom and brother under the chuppah getting teary eyed or my dad sneaking up on the desert tray in the reception just puts a smile on your face. You only get one wedding if your lucky choose a photographer that does fabulous work and you can count on!
Services Used: Photography
JSP Studio responded with the following comments:

.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Amazing artistic photography. Every one who saw JSP's work commented on how unique my engagement and wedding photos are. Jonathan drove all the way to DC from New York to take engagement photos with us in the cherry blossoms. The tidal basin was extremely crowded but you would never guess that from seeing Jonathan's photos. He shot the photos from such an angle that it looked like my fiance and I were the only people there. He was responsive to our emails and phone calls. We got our wedding proofs 2 weeks after our wedding. Even after the wedding, Jonathan and his staff were easily reachable by email to answer any questions. I am very very happy I chose JSP!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ancy
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Jonathan is professional, artistic, and the best wedding photographer a bride can ask for. First, he went out of his way to shoot our engagement in DC during the cherry blossoms. It was very crowded but he angled the camera to make it look like we were the only ones there. He came to Kansas City to shoot our wedding, and he came a day early to scope out the church and the reception venue. He truly loves what he does and you see it in his work. Our wedding photos are artsy and magazine cover quality. Everyone who sees my photos are so impressed by the quality of the shot. I got my proofs back within 2 weeks. His staff is friendly and responsive. I would recommend him to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
6/16/2013
5.0/5.0
After obsessing over so many of his photos I was determined to have him as my photographer for my wedding – even before I was engaged I told Jonathan it would be a dream to have him take photos of my future wedding day. With such high expectations I can honestly say he met every one of them! He was extremely responsive from the day he became our photographer and continues to be as we choose album photos. We are so happy with our photos from our engagement shoot and wedding day that we are having the hardest time picking out ones for the album! He has a true talent that any bride or groom would be lucky to have for their special day. And lets be honest, no matter how special or amazing that day is it comes with plenty of anxieties and nerves – all which Jonathan and his team make sure to ease with a very calm and professional attitude. Jonathan and his team were so great to work with and I would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for a photographer who captures photojournalistic, raw, thoughtful and absolutely beautiful photos from their special day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for the PERFECT wedding photographer, look no longer. The images are stunning, the customer service flexible and top notch and the entire team's demeanor beyond pleasant and easy going for a normally stressful time. Choosing JSP Studios was the best decision I made for my wedding .... apart from marrying my husband that is!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
julie
Wedding:
6/9/2013
5.0/5.0
After obsessing over so many of his photos I was determined to have him as my photographer for my wedding – even before I was engaged I told Jonathan it would be a dream to have him take photos of my future wedding day. With such high expectations I can honestly say he met every one of them! He was extremely responsive from the day he became our photographer and continues to be as we choose album photos. We are so happy with our photos from our engagement shoot and wedding day that we are having the hardest time picking out ones for the album! He has a true talent that any bride or groom would be lucky to have for their special day. And lets be honest, no matter how special or amazing that day is it comes with plenty of anxieties and nerves – all which Jonathan and his team make sure to ease with a very calm and professional attitude. Jonathan and his team were so great to work with and I would definitely recommend him to anyone looking for a photographer who captures photojournalistic, raw, thoughtful and absolutely beautiful photos from their special day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
meaghan
Wedding:
3/9/2013
5.0/5.0
BRIDES!! BOOK HIM, I PROMISE IT WILL BE ONE OF THE BEST DECISION YOU MAKE! THE DAY FLIES BUT BUT THE PICTURES LAST A LIFE TIME. JONATHAN AND HIS TEAM CAPTURE YOUR DAY LIKE NO OTHER. WHEN I FIRST MEET JONATHAN HE TRAVELED TO ME TO MAKE IT EASIER, WE INSTANTLY HAD A COMFORTABLE CONNECTION AND MY HUSBAND AGREED HE COULD FEEL COMFORTABLE DOING ENGAGEMENT SHOOTS AND LETTING HIM CAPTURE OUR SPECIAL DAY. JONATHAN AND HIS TEAM ARE AWESOME TO WORK WITH, WE DID TWO ENGAGEMENT SHOOTS AND THEY ARE INCREDIBLE, DIFFERENT AND JONATHAN IS A NATURAL AT MAKING IT THE BEST YOU HAVE EVER SEEN! IF YOU DONT BELIEVE ME CHECK OUT HIS WEBSITE!! THEY ARE NOT ONLY PICTURES THAT HE CAPTURES BUT HE CREATES THE STORY FOR YOU! JONATHAN AND HIS TEAM WERE SO FUN TO WORK WITH THE DAY OF THE WEDDING AND I WOULD RECOMMEND HIM TO EVERYONE!! HANDS DOWN, LOOK NO FURTHER HE IS YOUR WEDDING PHOTOGRAPHER!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leslie
Wedding:
3/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Cannot recommend Jonathan and his team enough. As we were planning our wedding from out of the country, any time we were in Miami, Jonathan went out of his way to meet up with us and get to know us, which in my opinion really made a difference. The pictures are gorgeous. All of our family and friends have been commenting on the superb quality. We are absolutely thrilled with the results!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
2/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Unlike many "wedding photographers", Jon has his own artistic and unique way of capturing special moments. After seeing his other work and discussing our ideas with him, hiring Jon was the easiest decision we made. He hiked two miles into the woods to shoot us at our engagement location and drove 3.5 hours across the state to shoot our wedding. Jon exudes a confidence that rubs off on his subjects; we certainly aren't models but he made us feel like we were doing a great job...and the pictures look outstanding. The photos and the video are the only thing left once it's all said and done so we appreciated how Jon took charge and made sure we got all the photos we wanted throughout our wedding day. We consider ourselves lucky to have had Jon shoot for us!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Amazing photos that were truly beautiful and creative.
They captured the moment(s) with so much thought and absolute beauty. The action shots were beyond anything we could have expected Jonathon certainly captured the feeling of the wonderful party.
We also appreciated how quick we were able to review all of these amazing photos taken.
We would highly recommend JSPStudio.
The JSPStudio is truly a gifted photography company.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jannelle
Wedding:
11/24/2012
5.0/5.0
I love working with Jonathan Scott on our wedding day! He was very professional, knowledgeable and most importantly made you feel comfortable in front of the camera! Our pictures are beautiful and we couldn't have asked for more!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mgo
Wedding:
4/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Jonathan is Amazing!!! He has such great energy and his style is one of a kind, and what you call perfection. Throughout my whole wedding portrait hour, I was extremely tense and couldn't let go. Jonathan kept giving me pep talks, and he managed to get amazing photos despite it all. After I saw my photos for the first time, I was truly at a lost for words. I have gotten nothing but compliments on photos that have been posted on his blog as well as facebook, just a week after the wedding. I cant wait to see all the amazing images which should be posted any day now. It was such a great feeling to be able to see the pictures so close to the wedding. My husband and I are really looking forward to working with him again, for the trash the dress photo shoot. I can only imagine how fabulous those they will turn out. I would recommend any bride thinking of using him, not to waste her time visiting any other photographers, and book Jonathan you wont regret it!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cara
Wedding:
4/20/2012
5.0/5.0
Jonathan was fablous!!! I am so happy with the work that he did and have already referred him to others!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nikki
Wedding:
3/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Not only did I walk away from my wedding day confident that it had been captured exquisitely, but I gained a friend in the process! Jonathan cares genuinely about the couples he works with, and it results in truly personal photographs. From our engagement shoot all the way through to the getaway, Jonathan captured each moment--as well as the emotions behind it all. I love our photos, and look at them every day--so value is a given. What proved to be a fun surprise is that my husband and I keep in touch with Jonathan and have seen him whenever he visits NYC, where we're based--who would have thought?
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lisa B
Wedding:
3/22/2012
5.0/5.0
I am the mother of the bride. Jonathan was absolutely amazing to work with. He's kind, he's both understanding and considerate of the bride, the groom, and their family members. He helped to keep us all calm prior to the wedding! During the ceremony we hardly knew he was there as he just became part of the crowd and the party.
I can't say enough about his professionalism. Best of all, the photos that we have seen so far (both the engagement shoot and the wedding) are beyond our expectations!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MOB
Wedding:
2/18/2012
5.0/5.0
"Jonathan, I am really at a loss for words. Even before the photographs I was totally impressed by you. You handle any situation, control the crowd and do not let ANYONE get in your way. Your reputation is on the line and your main focus is to give the bride and groom what you have promised them. I thank you a million times over for you work ethic, your ability to deal with many personalities and the creativity you attach to each and every couple that TRUST you with a very special day of their life together. May God continue to bless you with health, wealth and happiness. Call me if you ever have a sugar rush....cookies your way xoxo MOB"
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
2/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Jonathan Scott Photography Survey
1. Why did you choose Jonathan Scott Photography to shoot your wedding?

My husband and I reside in Nashville. All of our “vendor” selection was by word of mouth or website presentation. I would have to say the initial most captivating thing about Jonathan was his website. I loved his photojournalistic approach. I loved how he captured emotion, love, and “the moment” rather than just a basic beautiful photograph in ALL of his pictures…even the simple photos such as wedding bands. Secondly, when we chatted over the phone, I loved how direct, confidant, and compassionate he was about our wedding, without having ever met Philip and I. Thirdly, mostly every bride I knew in Boca Raton during the time I was getting married used JSPStudio for their wedding day. That really said to me how impeccable his reputation was in the South Florida area.

2. Did you consider other photographers other than Jonathan Scott? If so, how many? Was Jonathan Scott your first choice?
I considered one other photographer prior to learning of Jonathan Scott. So, I would have to say that Jonathan was my first and only choice. Even without meeting him, I knew in my heart that he would be the perfect fit for Philip and I. He put me at ease over the phone and via email. Also, once again, his work exceeds the other websites that are out there right now. There are very good photographers in the South Florida region, however, Jonathan’s work is exceptional..and you can see that.

3. Would you refer Jonathan Scott Photography to your friends or family? Why or why not?
ABSOLUTELY. I already have. So many brides who were former brides have emailed me and could not believe the photographs.
1. His photography is outstanding. Many things I listed above: beautiful, moment capturing, emotional. He is productive, direct, he can manage large crowds and produce beautiful work. We have around 2000 pictures to choose from because his work ethic and compassion. He knows the photos to take. I am a very type A, organized person who likes to be involved and in control. On my wedding day, I did nothing. I had so much trust in Jonathan. I did not say anything to him other than thank you for being here on the most special day of my life. I had no hand in the amazing photographs he took for us.

4. On a scale from 1 to 10, how would you rate your satisfaction with Jonathan Scott in the following categories?
This scale is too small..I would probably rate everything an 11 !
a. Quality of Product -10
b. Responsiveness-10
c. Professionalism-10
d. Value-10
e. Flexibility-10

5. What are you suggestions for improving Jonathan Scott Photography?
I do not have any suggestions at this time.

6. Compared to our competition where does Jonathan Scott Photography rank in terms of quality, price, customer service and turnaround time?

Quality: I feel is probably one of the top photographers in the South Florida region. There is no doubt about that. Go look on other wedding websites. Then, go sit with him and have a personal conversation in his office-you will see what I mean.
Price: VERY REASONABLE. I think brides need to understand that photography is not cheap. The photographers time and production is very critical. When I made a budget, I was willing to do whatever for photography. I could not believe how reasonable Jonathan was with me. We formulated a plan and he was so understanding and kind.

Turnaround time: We were married on February 18, 2012 and had a sneak preview on February 21.2012 and all of our pictures the following week…if that tells you anthing !!!

7. What does the competition have that you wish JSP offered?
I have nothing negative to say. One thing that I would also like to offer as an accolade to Jonathan-he works extremely well with other vendors..and that means a lot to me. We had a videographer, florist, etc…he works so well with others. That is very important to brides because more than likely your day will include more than just photography. So, when you are searching for a great photographer..you need to keep that in mind as well.

If I could ever be of any assistance or guidance to you as you are selecting your photographer, and are considering Jonathan..please do not hesitate to contact me. I one hundred percent recommend him.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
1/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Jonathan takes absolutely amazing pictures! We couldn't be happier with his work! I highly recommend his services.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kendall
Wedding:
3/4/2011
5.0/5.0
I don't even know where to start with Jonathan Scott Photography! Jonathan was the first photographer out of 3 that I had in mind to meet with. After our first meeting I knew he was "the one", and I did not even bother to meet with anyone else. My husband is a little on the "shy" side, so I knew that we would need a superhero photographer to make him feel comfortable in order for his personality to shine throughout the most important photographs we will have taken in our lives to date. Well, Jonathan did just that! We instantly became great friends with Jonathan (which is what happens with most of his clients) and he was able to capture the TRUE essence of our personalities to absolute perfection! There was nothing posed, phony, made-up, hokey, or cliché about a single picture this man took. The things he comes up with are truly mind-blowing and unlike any other photographer in the area. Spend a few hours browsing a few other photographers’ websites, and you will find out for yourself that this photographer is simply one of a kind. You'll be hard pressed to find the same image or "pose" twice as everything he does is unique, original and truly tailored to the individuals that he is shooting. He works off of the vibes and energy of your crowd, and that is what enables him to produce the most incredible images that you will ever see and will cherish for a lifetime. After my wedding pictures were posted on Facebook, Jonathan Scott Photography was chosen by about a dozen other bride-to-be friends of mine. Each new wedding he shoots get better and better- his style is evolving- never the same, old, boring shots, and I guarantee that you will have the best wedding photography experience that you could ever imagine. He made our wedding, dozens of friends' weddings, and they are sure to make yours as well! Lucky you who gets to spend a day with this amazing talent!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
A
Wedding:
2/12/2011
5.0/5.0
I chose Jonathan Scott Photography to shoot our wedding after looking through the portfolios of about 40 local photographers, both independent photographers as well as photographers contracted through national services. Jonathan Scott's portfolio was outstanding. His shots were vibrant, full of color, life, and humanity. He beautifully captured the emotion of his previous clients and his "action" shots at the dance party were unparalleled. In fact, most other photographers won't even show you those photos in their portfolio, as they are much more complicated than staged photos of the couple and their family, or the wedding service. This made JSP my absolute first choice, and certainly, for the price as well--other photographers of his caliber were easily charging twice as much.
Jonathan worked with us and our schedule and came up with a great package for us, only including what we wanted and didn't make us pay for an extra services that we weren't interested in. He was more than timely, he flew through (and did a great job on) all the shots that we had specifically requested, and was furthermore really helpful on the day-of--he even gave me and my bridesmaid a ride to the wedding site!
I would recommend his services in a second. Turn-around on our shots was quick and they came out truly amazing. I have already recommended him to friends and he recently shot the wedding of one of my bridesmaids, who also thought he did a great job. Hire this guy, and his really wonderful assistant! They will be there for every minute of your event and capture every moment that matters to you and your guests.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jana
Wedding:
4/26/2009
5.0/5.0
Jonathan Scott is a truly talented photographer. His photo-journalistic style is incredible. Additionally, he is professional and knows exactly how to work with a bride and groom. We are beyond thrilled with our photos. The only trouble we had was trying to choose the best ones for the album since we absolutely loved all of them! We were very fortunate to find this photographer and highly recommend his artistic work. He knows just how to capture the moment. Thank you Jonathan!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
11/12/2010
5.0/5.0
I cannot even begin to explain how amazing Jonathan is. From the very beginning I knew this was the one vendor I had to have and I am so thankful I hired him. Our wedding pictures are amazing! Jonathan captured every single moment of my most special day. Because of his photos we will be able to relive those memories for an eternity. He captured images showing us what every guest was feeling and thinking. Truly special! He works diligently and in a timely fashion. I received my proofs back just 3 weeks after the wedding and we already started the album, which other brides say takes almost a year. When all the guests leave and the flowers die , your pictures and memories are the only thing left to remind you of that day, and I wouldn't trust any other photographer with those memories. A pleasure to work, very personable, and professional!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Jonathan was amazing, he was very easy to work with and accomidating to my Every wish. His style of Photojournalism is outstanding, his professionalisim is top notch and I would Highly recommend him to all brides!
Services Used: Photography
Bg5
EWalk430
Wedding:
4/30/2010
5.0/5.0
Jonathan Scott's photo's came out amazing. Everyone keeps telling me they are something out of a magazine. They are breathtakingly beautiful. Even though he was unfamiliar with our venue, he found the best spots and took the BEST shots I have ever seen. He definitely captured the moment, and just how happy we were. Just make sure you have a list of family photos you definitely want him to take as "posed" photos aren't his specialty and he won't be reminding you to make sure to take one with Aunt Milly.....A++
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen Battaglia
Wedding:
3/13/2010
5.0/5.0
I do not have enough wonderful things to say about Jonathan Scott photography, the process was smooth. Our wedding photographer was actually Maya Hoffner, who was absolutely phenomenal!!!! She was tireless and dedicated to getting great pictures. We were very upset with ourselves for not getting a videographer, however are confident that the pictures will tell the story better than a video could ever do.... Thanks so very much! I would recommend Jonathan Scott photography with enthusiasm and without the slightest hesitation. Thanks again for making our special day memorable! :-) Karen and Frank
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
anitababa
Wedding:
2/14/2010
5.0/5.0
We are so please that we used Jonathan for our wedding! Our pictures came out stunning. He was a pleasure to work with right from the start. I was so stressed out on my day, with the weather and because we were behind schedule. He stayed calm and guided us through it! We are now in the process of building our album and he has been very attentive to us during this process. He explained to us in the beginning how customized this process is; I had no idea how customized! I highly recommend him!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sandy
Wedding:
12/12/2009
5.0/5.0
both of our daughters were married last year and we used Jonathan Scott for both weddings. It was a great experience working with Jon and we have wonderful pictures.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cgilson81
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Jonathan and his team are extremely talented and lots of fun to work with. From the moment I saw his website I knew I wanted him to photograph my wedding. The albums he puts together are some of the best I have seen. Before I found him I met with other photographers that are well known in South Florida and none of their work impressed me like Jonathan's. His pictures are awesome the albums covers he uses are amazing and the layouts he creates for the album are INCREDIBLE!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
7/11/2009
5.0/5.0
Jonathan photographed our wedding and designed our album and we couldn't be happier! Jonathan has a great sense of humor and he really made everyone feel relaxed and comfortable. We are more than amazed at our wedding album and we have gotten so many compliments! Since our wedding, Jonathan has photoraphed 3 of our friend's weddings and they are equally impressed. Thank you Jonathan, we feel you really captured the spirit and emotion of our special day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
7/5/2009
5.0/5.0
His work tells a story! When I went to his office and picked up an album I felt like I was at that person's wedding and I could follow the event the whole way through. I loved that he was there to capture my wedding and not to pose me for hours to take pictures. Sure, we did the posed ones I asked for with the family and bridal party, but the rest I let him be creative and his pictures are great. I can't wait to get my album!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
1/21/2011
5.0/5.0
I was recommended to use JSP by a previous bride who used them and had a wonderful experience. After looking around at other photographers, it was Jonathan's great portfolio, personality, and price that sold us. From our very first meeting with him, we knew we had found the perfect photographer.

To describe our experience with JSP studio in three words I would say he was very professional, personable, and focused not just the whole wedding day and night, but through all of our interactions with him. Jonathan and his assistant's attention never drifted from capturing great shots. He had wonderful vision for capturing creative and unique shots, and they both were all over the reception capturing all the action. Couldn't have asked for more!

I strongly recommend JSPstudio to any bride who is looking for a great professional photographer with a great eye for capturing the real life story line of their wedding day! :) JSP: You guys are the best!! :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
EHG
Wedding:
2/11/2012
4.9/5.0
This is the third family event that Jonathan photographed for my family. We have seen is work evolve to a level unmatched by any other photographer here in South Florida. He takes the time to develop a relationship with his clients which is why he is able to tell a magnificent story with his images. He is easy going and makes everyone feel comfortable. Within a week of the wedding, he posted some pictures for us to view. Anyone viewing these pictures said they look like they belong in a magazine. The process of picking and receiving an album is well worth the wait. He is a true artist!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joanie
Wedding:
3/13/2010
4.9/5.0
We just received the proofs, and they are absolutely gorgeous. There are many to choose from, multiple shots of important people, great informal shots, and very artistic, unusual shots. I am sure the completed album will be amazing, as we have seen Jonathan's work before.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JT 13
Wedding:
4/9/2005
4.9/5.0
When we met with Jonathan, we loved his work and had high expectations, as capturing the feeling of the day was extremely important to us. He far exceeded our expectations, and everyone that has seen our pictures are envious. He has an incredible eye, and we love his photojournalistic approach. After meeting with 4 or 5 other photographers, we were pleasantly surprised at how reasonably priced Jonathan's packages were and were thrilled that we got to keep the digital negatives. We also loved the engagement shots that we took on the beach and how these look more like artwork than portraits. Though his approach is laid back, which made us feel relaxed on our wedding day, he made sure to get all of the shots which were important to us.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
de
Wedding:
10/10/2009
4.8/5.0
Jonathan Scott is an excellent photographer who will document your wedding in photographs beautifully. Jonathan is very professional and reasonably priced. He does a good job organizing your family and bridal party for photos, while not being intrusive to your wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
terri
Wedding:
4/24/2009
4.8/5.0
I had a great time working with Jonathan on my wedding day! He made me feel beautiful and special - the perfect start to our amazing night. And that's on top of the absolutely amazing photos he took. The pictures are perfect.....they captured the spirit and the fun perfectly. There are even scenes that I participated in but don't remember, and his picture brought them back to me.

Jonathan helped me figure out a way to work with my budget and I received proofs about 2 weeks after the wedding. He did a great job of crowd control. I recommend him without reservations. I just wish I had another event I could justify getting photograph!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amyk
Wedding:
1/23/2010
4.5/5.0
Jon is a great photographer. He has an amazing eye for details and different shots, and he is quite a character. He knows the shots that he wants, and he knows how to get them...just go with the flow and your pictures will come out amazing!
It's better to get him on the phone than rely on email...he is an up-front person and will tell you exactly how it is.
He and his team are very professional...I always felt comfortable and I always felt that they were taking the pictures for US, not for their sample albums.
The value for cost is excellent...I know many photographers who charge much much more and do much less for their clients.
In terms of flexibility, he will take whatever shots you want, but like I said before, sit back and go with his flow in terms of what shots he gets and when...he got every shot that I wanted him to get, but I have to say that the shots he lined up without me knowing were the ones I love the most. He does this for a living...he knows what he's doing more than I do!
Our wedding was a month ago, and I received my proofs 2 1/2 weeks after our wedding. I anticipated waiting much longer and was pleasantly suprised. He has been very up front about the time it will take to make our album due to the effort he puts into retouching images and making sure the album flows properly and artistically.
Overall, I recommend Jon very highly, and he captured the essence of our wedding exquisitely.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
eg20605@aol.com
Wedding:
10/25/2008
4.3/5.0
I have used many photographers in the past for our family celebrations. Jonathan's photo-journalistic style was unique which was why our daughter wanted to hire him for her wedding. We met a number of times before the wedding and he addressed all of our concerns. We trusted him and listened to his suggestions. The day of the wedding was flawless. He and his team shot amazing photographs which truly captured the essence of this milestone in our daughter's life. You need to be patient because he is an artist. It takes him a while to return the album proof. Now seeing the finished product I have a greater understandng of the time frame. This is no cookie cutter album! The 3 albums: bride and groom, parents of the bride and parents of the groom were all unique. Each album reflected the story from their perspective. It was worth the wait!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
taz012
Wedding:
12/3/2005
4.0/5.0
Working with Jonathan was a great experience his pictures created the most beautiful story. I loved everything that he did for us.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
2.9/5.0
I think that the service was overpriced.
Services Used: Photography
JSP Studio responded with the following comments:

We are unable to respond to this review due to the lack of information provided, however we maintain that our pricing is value based and that we have never delivered a product that we have found to be lacking in quality.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dinah1980
Wedding:
6/14/2008
2.4/5.0
The biggest reason for the low rating has to do with efficiency. I got married about a year and a half ago and am still waiting for my album! I was told that if we paid up front it would be less expensive than paying later on, but now I regret doing that. The photographer who worked my wedding was great (not Jonathan himself) and from what I can tell of the photos via proofs, they came out well. But, I shouldn't have to wait this long to get my wedding album. I am extremely disappointed. I read 2 other reviews on a palm beach post website that complained of the same issue.
Services Used: Photography
JSP Studio responded with the following comments:

I would like to take a moment to address some of the negative reviews that exist about Jonathan Scott Photography.

When I first began this company, it was with a great deal of enthusiasm and passion. I still have both, but I realize now that in the beginning, those two emotions led to what has turned out to be a bad business decision.
I offered my brides and unlimited number of drafts, edits and pictures to go with their wedding albums. I wanted to be unique in that offering. While not every bride took advantage of the unlimited offerings, some did. The wedding album process involves both the photographers and the brides. It is a back and forth and I have found that some brides take longer than others to choose pictures to include in the albums.
Unfortunately, I found that this led to a situation where I was unable to produce the wedding albums in a timely fashion for SOME of my clients. While it has taken both parties to create a frustrating situation, I take responsibility for it.

I have changed my business model to better control this aspect of my product. The quality of my photographs has always been exemplary. However, slow service cannot be entirely excused by exceptional quality. Now, as far as the albums are concerned, payment is due only when the final draft is approved and goes to print. Each couple has 1,500-2,000 proofs to go through and gets 2 rounds of changes to the album once the pictures they have chosen are submitted to me.

These small changes have taken care of the time issue. Your wedding day is a special day that you will remember forever. You deserve the best quality photographs to enjoy forever and the best quality service. I look forward to meeting with you and planning your special day knowing that I am the photographer who will be able to immortalize the celebration of your love.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Scott
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
5/24/2008
1.8/5.0
It has now been 2 years and 4 months since my wedding and I still have no albums. While Jonathan's pictures are beautiful, there is no disputing that. He has even used some of the images from our wedding on his website. However, his customer service has been so poor and frustrating that I cannot recommend him as a vendor. He does respond, albeit not timely, but his responses are vague and still leave you wondering what is going on. We paid approximately $18,000 for his services in advance and his service level should match the cost which it clearly does not.

I approved the final draft of my album in Dec 2009. In June 2010 he was just waiting for the printer to tell him when they would ship. Still waiting...
Services Used: Photography
JSP Studio responded with the following comments:

I would like to take a moment to address some of the negative reviews that exist about Jonathan Scott Photography.

Please note that this review was submitted over 3 years ago. When I first began this company, it was with a great deal of enthusiasm and passion. I still have both, but I realize now that in the beginning, those two emotions led to what has turned out to be a bad business decision.

I offered my brides and unlimited number of drafts, edits and pictures to go with their wedding albums. I wanted to be unique in that offering. While not every bride took advantage of the unlimited offerings, some did. The wedding album process involves both the photographers and the brides. It is a back and forth and I have found that some brides take longer than others to choose pictures to include in the albums.

Unfortunately, I found that this led to a situation where I was unable to produce the wedding albums in a timely fashion for SOME of my clients. While it has taken both parties to create a frustrating situation, I take responsibility for it.
I have changed my business model to better control this aspect of my product. The quality of my photographs has always been exemplary. However, slow service cannot be entirely excused by exceptional quality. Now, as far as the albums are concerned, payment is due only when the final draft is approved and goes to print. Each couple has 1,500-2,000 proofs to go through and gets 2 rounds of changes to the album once the pictures they have chosen are submitted to me.

These small changes have taken care of the time issue. Your wedding day is a special day that you will remember forever. You deserve the best quality photographs to enjoy forever and the best quality service. I look forward to meeting with you and planning your special day knowing that I am the photographer who will be able to immortalize the celebration of your love.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Scott
Default-vendor-profile-pic
FloridaBride
Wedding:
6/28/2008
1.2/5.0
I would never recommend this photographer to anyone who expects any type of quality customer service. I got married in June of 2008 and it is now January 2010 and I STILL DO NOT HAVE MY WEDDING ALBUMS. Anyone who is willing to wait over a year and a half for their photos and albums, this is the photographer for you. While his pictures are of good quality, he was pushy and came across rude to both my bridesmaids and family. For the costs of his services, I expected both quality and professionalism. Making a bride wait over a year and a half for her wedding photos and albums is absolutely not professional, and not good business what-so-ever!!!
Services Used: Photography
JSP Studio responded with the following comments:

Here is the bride's email to me after receiving the album:

"My wedding albums arrived in the mail today! They are indeed absolutely stunning as I expected they would be. I'm thrilled with the finished product."
130x130_sq_1266432805803-1214200991848pm
Michelle
Wedding:
10/24/2010
0.9/5.0
Been a year and still no album? Tried to give him him the benefit of doubt but this is crazy!!!!! Very disappointed for the money that he won't even give us a time frame. Have had friend get married 6 moths ago and have their albums. Really wanted for anniversay!!!!
Services Used: Photography
JSP Studio responded with the following comments:

I would like to take a moment to address some of the negative reviews that exist about Jonathan Scott Photography.
When I first began this company, it was with a great deal of enthusiasm and passion. I still have both, but I realize now that in the beginning, those two emotions led to what has turned out to be a bad business decision.
I offered my brides and unlimited number of drafts, edits and pictures to go with their wedding albums. I wanted to be unique in that offering. While not every bride took advantage of the unlimited offerings, some did. The wedding album process involves both the photographers and the brides. It is a back and forth and I have found that some brides take longer than others to choose pictures to include in the albums.
Unfortunately, I found that this led to a situation where I was unable to produce the wedding albums in a timely fashion for SOME of my clients. While it has taken both parties to create a frustrating situation, I take responsibility for it.
I have changed my business model to better control this aspect of my product. The quality of my photographs has always been exemplary. However, slow service cannot be entirely excused by exceptional quality. Now, as far as the albums are concerned, payment is due only when the final draft is approved and goes to print. Each couple has 1,500-2,000 proofs to go through and gets 2 rounds of changes to the album once the pictures they have chosen are submitted to me.
These small changes have taken care of the time issue. Your wedding day is a special day that you will remember forever. You deserve the best quality photographs to enjoy forever and the best quality service. I look forward to meeting with you and planning your special day knowing that I am the photographer who will be able to immortalize the celebration of your love.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HappilyEverAfter
Wedding:
4/26/2008
0.7/5.0
This guy should not be a business owner. One of the worst experiences of my family’s life in dealing with a vendor. Thank god we only had to work with him once. The price for the service must have been based on a catalog of someone else’s work. It must have been based on what the outcome was. The quality of his talent was mediocre at best. A great camera with a less than accurate shot. Over 3,000 photos posted nearly four months after the wedding. It has been 9 months since the wedding and we haven't seen anything as to the status of our photos and books. He doesn’t return phone calls! In addition, family members have attempted to order prints and for several months since they made the purchase have not seen anything. I would not recommend him or his unprofessional services to my worst enemy. JSP was a disaster and I only can hope we will receive our wedding photos before our one year anniversary.
Services Used: Photography
JSP Studio responded with the following comments:

The review posted is inconsistent with both the services rendered and the communication with the bride thus far, who has stated that she loves her album and the pictures.

Delay in the delivery of the album was due to the extended period of time it took to receive the couple's choices. The album process can obviously not being without them.

Anyone who is curious about the accuracy of the claims regarding quality of work can follow the link below to the 1st draft of the couple's album.
http://www.jspstudio.com/proofs/haeussner2/
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lovelysweetivy
Wedding:
8/18/2007
0.0/5.0
I got married on 8/18/07 picked my pics and got them back to him by the beginning of 2008, We didn't get our proofs for the album changes for a full year, I didn't get my originals on cd for a year after that, and i was promised the originals from the engagement session, still haven't gotten those. And now February 2011 and still calling and getting excuses or ill of retaining an attorney to get this resolved.
Services Used: Photography
JSP Studio responded with the following comments:

I would like to take a moment to address some of the negative reviews that exist about Jonathan Scott Photography. Please note that this review was posted over 4 years ago.

When I first began this company, it was with a great deal of enthusiasm and passion. I still have both, but I realize now that in the beginning, those two emotions led to what has turned out to be a bad business decision.
I offered my brides and unlimited number of drafts, edits and pictures to go with their wedding albums. I wanted to be unique in that offering. While not every bride took advantage of the unlimited offerings, some did. The wedding album process involves both the photographers and the brides. It is a back and forth and I have found that some brides take longer than others to choose pictures to include in the albums.
Unfortunately, I found that this led to a situation where I was unable to produce the wedding albums in a timely fashion for SOME of my clients. While it has taken both parties to create a frustrating situation, I take responsibility for it.

I have changed my business model to better control this aspect of my product. The quality of my photographs has always been exemplary. However, slow service cannot be entirely excused by exceptional quality. Now, as far as the albums are concerned, payment is due only when the final draft is approved and goes to print. Each couple has 1,500-2,000 proofs to go through and gets 2 rounds of changes to the album once the pictures they have chosen are submitted to me.

These small changes have taken care of the time issue. Your wedding day is a special day that you will remember forever. You deserve the best quality photographs to enjoy forever and the best quality service. I look forward to meeting with you and planning your special day knowing that I am the photographer who will be able to immortalize the celebration of your love.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Scott
Default-vendor-profile-pic
upset bride
Wedding:
3/3/2007
0.0/5.0
The day of my wedding he took me aside and told me that he might not be able to stay for the whole wedding.

I received my album 1.5 years after my wedding date. All album photos were red and orange colored.

It's been 2.5 years and still no negatives that were promised in our contract. He gives the runaround and does not email or call back.
Services Used: Photography
JSP Studio responded with the following comments:

The bride made a request to have part of the wedding shot in film as well as digital. We were unhappy with the film images and the client was reimbursed for them.

Attempts to contact the client failed as the couple had moved and not left the correct contact information. When the album was complete it was sent directly to the couple without review by the studio due to the urgency of their desire to receive it. Since we did not have the chance to proof the final product, we did not know about the discolouration, but were however never informed of the fact by the couple until reading this review.
We have since offered to replace the images.
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for JSP Studio
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1394913144962-jspico