130x130_sq_1315013839512-jt0102

Judy and Gavin Photography

Los Angeles & Orange County , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Los Angeles & Orange County, CA US

PHONE

626-216-4332

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We are husband and wife team servicing the Los Angeles and Orange County areas (as well as Destination weddings).
We are husband and wife team servicing the Los Angeles and Orange County areas (as well as Destination weddings). Read less
Photography

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Negatives, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Teddy
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
I can not say enough great things about the Judy and Gavin team. Even our guests commented on how well organized they are. We booked them at the beginning of our engagement and because it was such a long engagement, they ended up shooting two of our friends wedding before they got to shoot ours. In all instances our friends gave raving reviews for Judy and Gavin, we were already sure that they would be great but hearing and seeing them in action made us feel even better about our choice. We interviewed a few photographers before them, but once we met them, we knew they were it and didn't bother to speak with anyone else. The biggest thing for us was seeing how well we clicked with our photographers and we knew right from the beginning they are very down to earth and their work speaks for themselves.

They make you feel very comfortable and relaxed in front of the camera. They are very easy to get along with and fun to work with. Not only are they great to work with, they come equipped with all the proper gear to deal with any lighting situation as well as backup equipment.

One thing I noticed from about them is when looking back at the pictures, they capture all the moments of the wedding however you never notice a lens in your face. It is amazing how they are always at the right place and right time, but are never up in your face so you can enjoy the moment.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Orange and Blue
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
People said when you plan a wedding, you have to prioritize and see which of the wedding component is most important to you; for me, photography is on the top of the list. Naturally, we searched and interviewed many photographers for our wedding. We came across Judy and Gavin photographer through our friend and the rest is history.

When we first met them for the initial consultation, we clicked right away. We clicked because both them and us love food. As people said, food what binds people most of the time. We also clicked because their photography style is exactly what we look for.... We love the way the pictures came out vibrantly, colorful and clear.

Prior the wedding, we did an engagement picture with them as well to familiarized each other style and we had fun. Judy and Gavin are one awesome photographers. When you first saw Judy, you will see a sweet lady but, during the action you really don't want to mess with her as she is a ball of fire (and you want her to be that way... Don't you know how crazy a wedding can be?) and Gavin is laid back one who will joke and calm your nerves down.

A couple weeks ago, Judy delivered the pictures of the wedding and all of them were amazing and we can't asked for better results. We also booked Gavin for the videography portion of it and we can't be any happier with it.

Thank you Judy and Gavin!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
4/19/2014
4.8/5.0
Judy and Gavin did an AMAZING job for our wedding and engagement photos. I wanted a photographer who didn't just take posed shots, and who would be able to produce a series of pictures that were natural and told a story. They delivered exactly that and more! Many of my friends praised the pictures when they saw them. Judy was also extremely helpful to have around as she gave tips on how to put on my birdcage veil and how to cut the cake (I know, simple things, but not things I normally have to do!). They were so easy to get along with and extremely professional. Although on the pricer side, I think they are worth every single dollar I paid! Highly recommended!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
David
Wedding:
12/22/2013
4.6/5.0
Enjoyed Judy & Gavin's connection with us which allowed us to feel very comfortable while we were in the spotlight. Also, they know thier stuff when it comes to lighting, angles, and what makes a good shot. My advice is to trust them, and you will love the outcome!

Just remember to schedule your engagement shoots far in advance, as thier schedule books up quick!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joe
Wedding:
11/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Out of all the vendors we used for our wedding, we will that Judy and Gavin Photography was the best money spent for the event! Me and my wife loved all the pictures that they took of us for the wedding. Both of them help us be very comfortable in front of the cameras for the group shots and just let us be in our moments for the wedding.

Thank you for all the wonderful pictures from the wedding!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
11/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Judy Tran is truly an amazing photographer. My husband and I met her and fell in love with her work when she did my sister's wedding in September of 2011. When we got engaged I still browsed trying to find someone better... but it's impossible! We ended up booking Judy to do our engagement photos and our wedding photos. Not only are her and husband Gavin amazing artists.... they truly become your friends. They make you feel so comfortable and at ease which makes for even better pictures.
Judy is such a doll and will do whatever to take to make her clients happy... it happened to rain on my wedding day, but she had no problem taking her equipment (which should not get wet) out into the rain for an extra couple of hours to get the pictures my husband and I wanted!!! Herself and her brother (assistant photographer at the wedding) were completely drenched and freezing but they captured amazing photos from the couple of sneak peaks we have seen so far.
I would truly recommend her to anyone who wants a professional photographer who is easy to work with, will go above and beyond to make her clients happy, and that truly captures the happiness of your most important days. I can honestly not find one negative thing to say about Judy, Gavin, or her brother. They are outstanding!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristal
Wedding:
11/12/2013
5.0/5.0
OK, first of all, their website speaks for itself. The photos that Judy and Gavin take are completely and utterly breathtaking. From the moment I stubbled upon it, I knew they were the ones! They were super easy to get in contact with and quick to answer emails, texts, and phone calls throughout our entire wedding process. They were flexible with dates and times for our engagement session (which I highly recommend doing) and super friendly and informative with location suggestions, etc. We met them for coffee before we hired them to get a feel for their personalities, to see their portfolio, and to go over pricing. I really like how they have pricing on their site so that you go into the meeting with no surprises. Hiring Judy and Gavin was one of the best wedding decisions we made! We had a very small wedding, and they were able to capture the love and joy we experienced that day so that we are not only able to cherish the memories, but also share the photos and the MOST AMAZING video with everyone who was not there. I haven't printed any of the photos yet, but I cannot wait to hang them on our walls. Oh, and my husband thinks I'm crazy because I have literally watched our wedding video 300 times...and we just got it a few days ago! Thank you Judy and Gavin for bringing your fun personalities and stellar expertise to our wedding. Your work is magical and we couldn't have asked for a better duo than the two of you. Thanks again, Kristal and Dan
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kyle
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Luckily, my fiancé (at the time) and I stumbled upon Judy and Gavin’s website. Right away, we were blown away by how creative their work was. Every picture had so much detail, yet still subtle enough to express the love each couple shares for one another. The artistic angles they capture almost seem unreal and so unique. We decided to contact them immediately and once my fiancé talked to Judy they connected right away and talked on the phone like they knew one another for years. Judy was so sincere and was so excited for us.


Once reviewing their portfolio, we had no doubt that they were going to produce beautiful pictures that we would cherish for years. Not only were they professional, they seemed like old friends of ours. During our engagement session, Judy and Gavin made us feel so comfortable. They would crack jokes to make us loosen up and constantly gave feedback to one another in order to make sure our pictures would turn out great.


The pictures from our engagement session and wedding day are too good to be true. We cannot count the number of people who commented on how beautiful our pictures turned out. During the wedding, Judy and Gavin were so structured and organized but came across as calm and relaxed. Seeing their faces on our wedding day brought so much comfort, knowing they were going to capture the most important day of our lives. They worked so hard and so many guests were so impressed with their work ethic.


It is obvious my wife and I recommend Judy and Gavin. Not only were they responsive and organized, they kept in contact throughout our planning and often gave us advice on other things besides their profession. We cannot express how happy we are with our photos and video. Thanks again Judy and Gavin for the quality work, but most importantly thanks for becoming such special friends.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diolisa
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Judy and Gavin Photography provided the photography and videography for our wedding and we would recommend them to EVERYONE! So far we have only seen a few teasers from our day, but the 50 photos we have seen have been BREAKTHTAKING! So much color and life and LOVE are seeping out of these photos! They captured exactly what we had hoped for and so much more. We are so excited to receive the final product because we know that we will be able to truly relive our special day through the photos and video. They are wonderful people and so fun to work with!
Since we live in Chicago but got married in California, our first encounter with them was through their blog and site. The photos were full of life and color and their video clips had so much emotion in them. When it came to our phone interview we clicked with both Judy and Gavin instantly! They were both so warm and easy to talk to. We discussed photography and video details in the beginning and ended up just chatting like old friends! We knew right away that they were the one for us! We didn't actually get to meet them until the day of the wedding and it was instantly a great time! They were professional, yet kept you at ease! They had a team with them that they kept in constant communication with so not to miss any crucial photos moments for both me and my groom. They have a great eye for what looks good on the camera, and you can tell by the way they direct you.
My family can at times be chaotic, they did a great job keeping everyone on point and on schedule when it came to formal photos in the church. At the park, they kept us on schedule as well but we all had such a fun time...every second! At the reception they were in such great communication with each other that if something was happening in one corner they would be there to snap it and then be off to the next "happening" thing.
Their work ethic is amazing and I know any bride or groom that works with them will not be disappointed with their work!
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KenShiela
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Shiela and I enjoyed working with Judy and Gavin. They are a fantastic combo and they work very well together. Judy has an eye in photography while Gavin is an expert with lighting. We've seen them in action and we were very amazed with their talent! They are also very down to earth photographers and very pleasant to work with. They are almost like family in a way.

We also received many positive comments from our guests about their service and professionalism. They really loved how the photos turned out! Shiela and I are very grateful to have hired Judy and Gavin as our Wedding Photographers. They know how to coordinate and position the shots. Their instructions to us were very easy to follow. It's pretty straight forward.

They were referred to us by Shiela's cousin who they also hired Judy and Gavin as their wedding photographer 2-3 years ago. Its the best choice Shiela and I made!

In addition to their wonderful service, they also did a same-day-photo edit of a few photos and displayed a slideshow at our reception. That was very amazing!

Overall, they are the best wedding photographers! From the start of our planning phase all the way to post photo editing, the time frame to get the photos ready have met our expectations. They are very energetic and enthusiastic! May I say they also have a good sense of humor :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jabra
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Judy and Gavin were awesome. My wife and I loved there work and how professional they are. I would recommend them to all of my family and friends. When we have kids we will be calling them again for family photos. They made us feel comfortable and made sure we got the pictures we needed and stayed with in the time frame we had. just wonderful people and great product.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amisha
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
We love Judy and Gavin. We first met Judy as we were deciding if we wanted one photographer or two. We fell in love with their unique camera angles and their ability to bring out so much color in their photographs. I had seen an album they had done with an ethnic wedding and loved it. It helped for us that they were familiar with our venue and knew some great areas to get some good shots. After seeing their work we knew they were the team for us. We secured them both and glad we did.

Our experiences was amazing too, they were very flexible and down to earth. I didn't feel any pressure to bring my own agenda for pictures. I like that they have great ideas for shots and are definitely open and willing to get the photographs you want too.


Judy and Gavin did both our engagement session and wedding day and we couldn't be happier with the pictures. They truly captured the most important moments of the day; even the ones we didn't get to see.

Thank you so much Judy and Gavin for sharing in our special day! :)
Services Used: Photography
Bg10
Juli
Wedding:
7/5/2013
5.0/5.0
We fell in love with Judy and Gavin from our very first meeting - and found so much to talk with them about that we almost missed our next appointment! Not only is their online gallery one of the best we've seen, but they are the most fun, professional and creative couple that we have ever worked with. We were so impressed with their work that we hired them for 2 engagement sessions (one at Disneyland and one in Downtown LA), our wedding photography and wedding videography. At every photography session, we could tell how passionate and excited they are about their work - always wanting to get one last shot in the perfect location with the perfect lighting. While many photographers have a strict hourly limit to their engagement or wedding packages, Judy & Gavin basically shot until they felt they had captured everything we could possibly want. After their scheduled ending time at the wedding had passed, they noticed that people were still dancing and unpacked their equipment to make sure they got everything captured from our big day. Being a married couple, Judy and Gavin work together seamlessly - backing each other up, giving each other ideas, and feeding off of each other's creative energy. On the day of the wedding, they also brought 2 assistants so that they could move around quickly and cover important moments from multiple angles. We absolutely love our finished product - and so do all of our friends and family that we show our photos and wedding video to. They gave us all of the high resolution touched up photos and raw video (as well as an edited 6 minute video) so we can print the photos wherever we want to. Some photographers require you to order prints through them or have them edit your wedding album - and while Judy and Gavin offer that at a competitive rate, they also let you do it on your own. We absolutely plan to keep in touch with Judy & Gavin, and hope to hire them again someday when we want family portraits or other important moments captured.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
6/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Judy and Gavin went above and beyond on our wedding day. They arrived on time, in professional attire, and with two assistants. My husband and I did not have "first look" pictures, which meant that bridal party pictures took place before the wedding and during cocktail hour, and couples pictures took place after reception. Judy and Gavin were certainly willing to accommodate our schedule and kept everyone on schedule with ease.
After the reception, Judy and Gavin spent another 1.5 hours with my husband and I taking couples pictures. We had several different backdrops -- the library in our hotel, the harbor, the jetty... If anything my husband and I were done and ready to wrap up before Judy and Gavin were. They were definitely invested in making sure we'd have hundreds of photos that we would cherish forever.
In addition to their incredible talent, Judy (especially) was a life saver during our wedding in terms of planning and coordinating. We in no way expected her to double as a wedding coordinator, but when our day-of-venue-appointed coordinator proved to be pretty much worthless, Judy stepped right in. She made sure the major events (bouquet toss, exit, etc.) happened on time. She seemed very comfortable taking the reins and did not hesitate to get people moving, which is important when you're on a tight wedding timeline.
Gavin took video for the wedding, which turned out beautifully. If you are contemplating whether to add videography to your wedding package, I strongly suggest you do. You will want a wedding video to remind you of the day and to see things that you missed. Judy and Gavin sent us 75 gigs of wedding footage (in addition to our 6 minute edited video short) after the wedding (we sent them the external hard drive on which to store). Video and audio quality was superb.
Overall, hiring Gavin and Judy was one of the best decisions my husband and I made for our wedding day. I highly recommend Judy and Gavin photography for your important event.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
130x130_sq_1344009121957-img4976
Rachel
Wedding:
6/22/2013
4.9/5.0
Judy and Gavin were such a fun pair to work with. They are extremely flexible and creative and are willing to listen to your every need and detail, and can also fill you with ideas if you have no clue what you want. They are extremely professional and there work shows it. There are genuine people who love each other and their passion for photography, a perfect combination for weddings :) My husband and I really enjoyed our time with Judy and Gavin and would give the highest recommendation to anyone looking for photographers and videographers.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs. R
Wedding:
3/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Judy and Gavin did an exceptional job for our engagement photos, wedding photos and video. We could not have asked for someone more professional, friendly, funny, or knowledgeable. Photos were one of our highest priorities when we were planning our wedding. Our wedding was at the Aquarium of the Pacific (with all the glass tanks and low lighting, we knew it would not be an easy place to take pictures). We came across Judy and Gavin’s work by doing an image search for Aquarium Weddings. Their vivid photos stood out from all the rest and we just knew we had to have them as our photographers! Admittedly, we probably would not have decided on an Aquarium wedding otherwise. Judy and Gavin was the first vendor we secured. They gave us so many wedding-planning tips and were extremely insightful. They were extremely responsive and organized. They kept in contact throughout our planning and made sure we had everything we needed. During the wedding, they were punctual and well prepared (they made sure they had our wedding timeline way ahead of time). They were very courteous and friendly and easily maneuvered everyone into place for family portraits. They were efficient, but also paid close attention to the small details (such as hand placement, etc). Additionally, they managed to lighten the atmosphere with their great sense of humor. All the pictures and video came out better than we could have imagined! They were worth every penny, and more. We are so grateful to have such amazing memories that we can revisit over and over again.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eileen
Wedding:
2/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Judy and Gavin are an awesome team. They did our engagement and wedding pictures, and provided videography for the wedding. I found Judy and Gavin when I was searching for wedding venues. I came across a wedding JG had shot at Vibiana in DTLA and I fell in love with them and with Vibiana. We ended up booking Vibiana within 2 weeks of seeing JG's pictures there. I looked through Judy's blog and compared her work and price to other photographers. We met them for the first time and I loved how friendly Judy and Gavin were, and how easy it was to talk to them. Not only are they great professionals, they are really just down to earth people. This made me feel so at ease while we were taking our engagement pictures. Its not everyday you have a photographer taking your picture in public and with Gavin holding a big light pointed at you! They really made my husband and I feel comfortable and helped us feel at ease with all the poses and types of shots we would be taking. By the time the wedding came, Judy and Gavin felt like old friends who just so happen were following us around with cameras. They are creative, passionate, and innovative.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nick
Wedding:
1/5/2013
5.0/5.0
We were very happy with Judy. She was always professional, punctual, and 100% ready for our shooting locations. The only time I noticed her sitting down during the wedding was to grab a quick bite to eat. Many or our bridal party guest's noticed how good she was with directing people and getting all the shots in as quickly and efficiently as possible.

Overall, Judy was our favorite vendor we worked with, and I would recommend her to everyone.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
j
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Having great pictures of our wedding was really important to us. I went on a long search to find a photographer and videographer that would capture all the big AND little details of our day. I wanted some formal family pictures of course, but also random shots of people having a good time or capturing a funny moment. And I wanted a video that was a cute, short montage of our day. I am so happy we found Judy and Gavin! Since they are a couple, they worked really well together to coordinate shots and videos. I had some ideas of what I wanted which they incorporated into the final products. They also used their own expertise to get some fantastic shots of the evening and of us. They are real professionals with an artistic eye. Our pictures and videos came out so beautiful and unique. We have a variety of shots...vintage, modern, black and white. Too many great ones to choose from!!! Not the standard boring wedding pics and video. They exceeded our expectations in every way. The entire experience was a pleasure - they were fun and easy to work with. Book them early!!!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1329622966057-img2559
Renee
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Judy & Gavin are truly an amazing pair! They were professional, punctual, and lots of fun at the same time. They made us feel more like friends than just their clients. They made sure we got what we wanted and were comfortable with it. Judy and Gavin organized and coordinated everything for us so we had nothing to stress or worry about. On the day of our wedding Judy even ran around directing everyone to make sure we got all the shots that we wanted and that they were taken as quickly and as efficiently which made a big difference. We couldn't have ask for a better photographer and videographer. All the photos they have taken for us were just breath-taking and truly amazing. Even the short film of our wedding day was beyond our expectation. So many of our friends have said it is the most professional and beautiful video they have seen. They exceeded our expectations in every way. It was all exactly what we wanted and we couldn't be happier having Judy and Gavin capture our wedding day.

It is truly important to have the best and most amazing pictures/viedo for your wedding day because it is one of the biggest days of your life and you want to capture every moment. Judy and Gavin will definitley do that for you :)

Thank you so much Judy and Gavin for sharing with us your amazing talents and creativity!
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natee
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Judy & Gavin Photography made our wedding day memorable by providing excellent and high-quality photos for us to share with our loved ones.

Judy's quality of service goes beyond expectation and shows a complete passion and dedication of her work. Although it was a very hot day on our wedding (in the middle of September), she wanted to ensure that the photos will be breath-taking; the photos are amazing!

In addition, we also did a post-engagement session along the beach that was completely stunning via photos and location. Judy along with Gavin have a real eye for photography and location scouting for the best possible shots we could ever dream of.

For the price you pay and the professionalism that is involved, we could have not asked for a better photographer. If we plan any other special events, she will be the first one we contact! Judy and Gavin are great to work with, fun, and most of all very comfortable with each other and the clients that are on the shoot with them!

Highly recommended!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1328417536593-ih20111007416203
Joanna
Wedding:
9/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Judy was the first photographer we scheduled an appointment with. She met with us at a coffee shop and thoroughly and thoroughly went through her portfolio and was more than able to prove herself as a professional wedding photographer. My husband and I told her we would call her back once we decided. We pretty much walked to the car and agreed we would call her back that night- it took about five minutes to decide! We were very impressed and excited to have someone young, with creativity, edge and humor take photos of us.

Judy and Gavin are a great team to work with. They are both so talented and dedicated. The most important thing to any future bride is know your photographer! Other than your maid-of-honor, that person will play a huge role on your special day. My husband and I were very fortunate to find Judy and Gavin. It felt like I had hired my friend to capture the most important day of my life. The level of detail in our photos is what every bride and groom is looking for. Judy knew we were on a time schedule the entire day and made sure everyone hustled through the day to keep us on track. She was very responsive if we had any questions prior to wedding and even after the wedding. I asked her to send me a few photos in advance for thank you cards and Christmas cards, she made it happen.

We have received so many compliments on our photos- you have NO IDEA! We have so many friends who have recently gone through the same process, I still think we hired the best photographer in our area! We wanted them to stand out and feel original. Judy's experience gave us exactly what we were looking for. Now, we have fun, beautiful photos to place on our walls at home and a clear presentation of our wedding.
We spent so much time putting our wedding together and in the end our photos is pretty much all you have left of it. Thank you Judy and Gavin! We will definitely hunt those two down to capture our future family portraits!

Adrian & Joanna
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I can't begin to explain how happy my husband and I are to have chosen Judy and Gavin as our wedding photographer and videographer! We had meetings with a couple of photographers but Judy and Gavin stood out from the rest! Every person who has seen our pictures say they could be in a magazine and, thanks to Judy, our engagement pictures were featured in a national magazine!! They are very professional, responsive and reliable. They keep you informed and are only an email or phone call away! Never had a problem getting a hold of them or to ask a question.
Look no further if you want the best!!
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cindy
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
If you’re looking for talented, amazing wedding photographers, then look no further. A cousin provided a list of photographers to reach out to and when I checked out Judy & Gavin’s blog, I instantly knew I wanted to set up time to meet with them. I love the creativity and uniqueness in their photographs and their use of vivid colors. Mind you, my husband and I wanted to work with photographers that had the same artistic vision that we had, that we can get along with and more importantly, made us feel comfortable. Little did I know that when my husband and I met up with Judy and Gavin, the four of us would connect instantly. Judy was also very thoughtful and asked details of our wedding so she can make suggestions.

Fast forward a few months later, Judy and I discussed ideas for our engagement session. I love how she wanted to incorporate essences of both myself and my husband so that our session would be more personal for us. We literally spent the entire day together taking pictures and enjoying being engaged while Judy and Gavin focused on us. They were even open to trying out the ideas that I wanted to incorporate (I wanted to use sparklers in our pictures). I was so impressed and happy with how the pictures came out.

The video that Gavin put together highlighted all the special moments from our day. The photos taken by the team were absolutely amazing. We have received so many compliments for the pictures and videos, many of whom even asked about the photography services for themselves.

Booking Judy & Gavin Photography as our wedding photographers was the best decision we made for our wedding. They were so easy to work with, punctual, professional and just so good at their job. They truly captured all the moments from the day that we can share and reminisce with family and friends, now and in the future. It’s also wonderful to say that I now consider Judy and Gavin our friends.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nina
Wedding:
8/24/2012
5.0/5.0
My ONLY regret is that I did not find Judy sooner and hire her to do my wedding pictures as well. I found Judy's website on a whim one day, deciding last minute that I wanted to do engagement pictures. She always responded to my e-mails or phone calls quickly, was patient, professional, and offered great tips.
On the day of the photo shoot, she was very friendly and approachable. She gave us the direction we needed to pose for/take great shots. Her husband Gavin was also there to help out. They made us laugh and feel very at ease. Judy would take pictures until she was satisfied that everything turned out great--there was no time limit for us.
The CD came as promised within 7 days of shooting the engagement pictures! The CD had "print ready" pictures which she edited and included all the originals as well--so I could pick and choose which shots I wanted to develop. The front of the CD even had a beautiful picture and title!
The pictures speak for themselves. All of my friends and family gave us so many compliments that I regret not hiring for my wedding (I already made a contract with a different vendor).
I highly recommend her and will be hiring her for other services soon!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jasmine
Wedding:
8/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Judy and Gavin are AMAZING photographers! Our engagement and wedding pictures were phenomenal! I almost cried looking at our wedding pictures for the first time because every moment was captured so beautifully. My husband and I had so much fun working with them. They're an awesome team, and I can' wait to work with them again.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marc
Wedding:
8/12/2012
5.0/5.0
I could have written a novel here regarding all the positive aspects about Judy & Gavin Photography, but I'll keep it short and sweet. I was the groom in my wedding and I've never been fond of taking photos for any reason. If you're looking to make uniquely beautiful photo memories, that is exactly what you get with their service. They come up with the best background locations and lighting ideas I've ever seen or experienced. They turn what could be an average photo shoot into something extraordinary with breath-taking and exciting results. The positive feedback we received from our engagement photos as well as our wedding photos was simply incredible. Coming across them was a complete blessing. They create the best and most creative photo memories ever! To sum it all up in one word, I'd have to go with "Amazing". You'd be doing your occasion a huge favor by letting this team take care your photography/video needs. Highly recommended! ^_^
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
My wife and I are extremely happy with Judy and Gavin. Their quality of their products is beyond anything that we have ever seen. This is evident from the pictures that they have on their site. In addition, they are very fun to work with - they are very personable and really take the time to get to know you and address any questions you may have. They are very innovative and adaptable to different environments. Night time pictures are amazing with these guys! You won't regret hiring them. In fact, we believe Judy & Gavin were the best vendor out of all the ones in our wedding. Good job Judy & Gavin and thanks again!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Even though you can't view any of our pictures online (we bought the rights), I am very happy to leave this review. We had a very large wedding party, 30+ and a guest list of 500+. The ceremony was outdoors and the reception was in.

Judy and Gavin coordinated, orchestrated, organized everyone effortlessly. The pictures are amazing . . . creative, funny, elegant, artistic, simply breath taking!!! YES, I highly recommend this skilled team!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
Gavin and Judy were a dream team. They were my photographers and videographers. They both know exactly what they're doing from tons of experience. They were helpful with things I didn't even know I needed help with... plus the photos turned out exactly how we wanted. They captured great moments and went with a look and feel that we wanted. They make an effort to get to know you as a couple and go from there. I appreciated their balance of professionalism and personal touch!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
6/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Judy and Gavin are a wonderful couple who take fantastic pictures! If you are looking for a bit more artistic feel for your photos, they are the right vendor for you. They also actually care about their clients and really strive to make your wedding special and easy on you. In my experience with planning a wedding, you will definitely come across people who just want your money and you simply get lost in all the other wedding couples. With Judy and Gavin, I did not feel this way, they were awesome at making us feel important to them. I have nothing poor to say about the two of them. Thank you Judy and Gavin!
Services Used: Photography, Videography
130x130_sq_1308764125368-dsc06815
Connie
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
I turned to social media (facebook) when I was first engaged and asked if anyone knew any wedding photographers. A friend recommended Judy Tran because she knew Judy through Miss Los Angeles Chinatown. I visited Judy's website and FELL IN LOVE with her pictures. I inquired about pricing, availability and she was awesome. She was professional, prompt and after looking at her work, booked her without any hesitation. My husband and I saw that Gavin Holt (her husband) was doing videography so we checked out his work and also FELL IN LOVE again! What better than to have a husband/wife combo work on photography and videography?

Engagement session- We decided to do the beach type of picture so we headed down to Laguna area where we hung out, took pictures and eventually ended up at an all you can eat korean bbq joint :) Its great to get to know the couple because after all, they are shooting on one of the most important days of your life!!! Judy and Gavin were awesome and our pictures came out AMAZING. A good friend of mine really wanted to book Judy after seeing my engagement photos but they weren't available at the time.

Wedding Day- Judy/Gavin/Steven came to the pacific palms where I was recently married! I haven't seen ALL the pictures yet BUT from the ones I have seen.... I LOVED !!!! Judy was so great, she was able to put some up on her laptop and played a quick slideshow at the wedding so my guests could check out some of the pictures.

I think Judy/Gavin photography have been amazing. They are a wonderful couple who work well together, help one another and see things through lenses that I could never see. Their pictures are like magical... seriously like art. Talented, Friendly, easy to work with. What better combo for the most important day?

Thank you guys!!!!!
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
micheleheyn
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend Judy and/or Gavin Tran to anyone looking for a photographer for any event. They are both hard working and dedicated to their time with you.

Their pictures are AMAZING! They creatively use their surroundings, the lighting, and poses to produce a one-of-a-kind, editorial picture. And the best part is that you own the digital files of the hundreds of pictures they take. You don't have to purchase each individual picture or pay for a book which saves you money in the long run.

Not only are they amazing photographers, they are also good people. There is no ego in either one of them, just down-to earth, friendly, caring people.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
We originally found Gavin through internet research to shoot out Save the Date Video (http://vimeo.com/26864335) and he did such an amazing job!!! We were thrilled to find out he and his wife Judy also did amazing photography; it was a no brainer to hire them to do photo/videography for our big day!
We already had a blast getting to know Gavin for our video session, then fell in love with Judy during our engagement session! They have the perfect combo of joking around and being a fun couple combined with reining it in and being professional when need be. This made us verrry comfortable around them, and made for less awkward moments when you have to pose and smile for hours!!
Judy and Gavin also took a weekend out of their busy lives to travel 6 hours away for our destination wedding - talk about flexibility! They really knew how to wrangle our wedding party and stay on schedule, listen to ideas and suggestions, while also being firm on the way they do things - after all; they are the professionals!
We received a "day of" slide show to play during our reception and the photos are truly unreal. They did such an excellent job of capturing all the special moments, while also making sure to get the funny shots of our guests acting...crazy. They have a great eye, and had us pose around things you would never think of and the picutres turned out beautiful. We were also very impressed with all of their equipment - you name it, they have it, and it will make your videos and photos fabulous.
We love Gavin and Judy, and cant wait for them to shoot our family photos - ha!
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Malloy-Biegel
Wedding:
4/20/2012
5.0/5.0
Judy and Gavin are the absolute best!
We originally hired Judy + 1 to photograph our April 20th wedding. A few months prior to the big day we decided to add videography to our package and Gavin was added to shoot/video our big day as well.
Upon meeting with Judy and Gavin for our engagement session, my fiance (now husband) and I knew instantly that we were going to have a great time and were in the best of hands. The two of them are professional, fun, and extremely talented! The photos that they took at the engagement session turned out amazing - and those we've seen from our wedding so far make the day seem even more magical.
We would highly recommend both Judy and Gavin to anyone seeking photographic/video needs :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angelic
Wedding:
3/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Future brides, I would definitely highly recommend Judy and Gavin for your engagement and wedding day photo and video needs! Just go to their website at www.judyandgavin.com and visit their blog at www.judytran.com to look at samples of their work product and you will be sold! I had the pleasure of meeting Gavin at another function and shot with him prior to my engagement/wedding. Gavin is amazing at capturing candids. Judy is great with coaching and capturing details. Together they make the perfect team. Plus they are super fun to shoot with. I got the photo and video package, which included an engagement session. I love that we had so much flexibility with all of the logistics - the shoot can be as simple or as creative as you want. It poured cats and dogs on our wedding day, and Gavin and Judy stayed until the very end of the night just so we could get some outdoor shots since we couldn't get any earlier. I already saw a few of my wedding day photos and can't wait to see more!
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
phama81
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
UPDATE: it's been a month since our wedding and we already got our pictures and our DVD is on the way!!! the pictures are beautiful, all more than 800 of them!!! I don't know of any other photographers that work THIS fast and efficient! WORK WITH THEM, YOU WON'T REGRET IT!

Judy and Gavin were the BEST decision we made for our wedding! We were so lucky to have found them. From the very first moment Judy and I chatted on the phone, I just knew that they were going to be our photographer/videographer! We clicked and talked for more than an hour like old friends. Due to our busy schedule, Judy and Gavin accommodated us and drove all the way down to SD for our engagement photo session, which turned out amazing! Our friends and family could not stop complimenting on how beautiful the pictures turned out and how good they made me look :)

Our wedding was multi-cultural and up to the very last minutes, there were changes (not from my end but from the parental end) that would make me cry if it was not for Judy who talked me through the stress and helped come up with a timeline that would allow all of our traditions (my hubby is Indian and I'm vietnamese) to be carried out while allowing plenty of time of our pictures.

The day of was as smooth as one can imagine. Since the groomsmen and my then-fiance were getting ready at a different hotel while I and the girls were getting ready at my mom's house, Gavin and Judy split their times and were able to take pictures of all of us in the prep stage. they worked soooo hard throughout the day to make sure that every important moment was captured yet they were not invasive. Judy, Gavin and Judy's brother, Steven, were like ninjas. Our ceremony was at a Catholic church and the church was very strict on photography. Yet, without us knowing, they were able to take many beautiful pictures without being in our faces or bothering the priest.
They stayed late into the night for even more pictures. It must have been a 12-hour day for all three and there was always a smile on everyone's faces.
The way Judy and Gavin worked on our wedding day really shows us how much they love what they do, how much they love sharing their clients' most special day, how well they do their job and how professional they truly are (there was absolutely no drinking on their part during the entire time!).

On top of all that, they were definitely reasonably priced! Trust me, i did plenty of research, met with quite a few photog/videographers before I met them. they will go that extra mile for you to make sure your day goes as smoothly as possible and your pictures are as precious and unique as you and your future hubby are :)
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hhdyu
Wedding:
2/25/2012
5.0/5.0
We just can not get enough of Judy & Gavin! They did our engagement shoot and our full wedding day, which included a photo shoot afterwards. And now after seeing our beautiful pictures, we also want them to design our photo album. I'm sure when we have children, we will call them also to take our family portraits! We cannot say enough good things about them. They are a superb team and they are very skilled in their photography and lighting. They certainly have an eye for the "perfect shot". My husband and I had a great time getting to know them. They are personable and friendly. I also loved how they were good at directing large crowds when we took our family pictures on the day of our wedding. (One less thing to worry about when we were running short on time!) After having worked with them, my husband and I have complete trust in them to do a wonderful job capturing special moments. Judy & Gavin are photographers you definitely have to check out!! We're so glad we did!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
L
Wedding:
11/18/2011
4.8/5.0
They are amazing couple to work with! We are so satisfied with our wedding photography and video. Very flexible and give you ideas and they will take you to great places for your pictures!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sashafischangdo
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
We did the Photography/Videography Package with Judy as the photographer and her husband, Gavin, as the videographer. Judy and Gavin exceeded our expectations and our wildest dreams of how our wedding would be captured. From the moment I first talked to Judy over the telephone before I had even met her, I knew I wanted Judy as my wedding photographer; however, I had to convince my husband she would be the best wedding photographer for us. When we met Judy in person, my husband and I were blown away by her passion, honesty, and experience and instantly knew we had to have Judy as our photographer. Her portfolio is amazing, and her knowledge of the profession is endless.

Judy and Gavin were a pleasure to work with and were our favorite wedding vendors by far. They were very professional while managing to connect with us, which allowed us to become comfortable in front of the camera very quickly. Our engagement session went flawlessly spanding several locations and styles. On the wedding day, we were "blessed" with a downpour, which changed several of our wedding plans. Judy and Gavin took the rain in stride, and managed to locate a beautiful location for our first look session. We then proceded to start our couples session on the beach as the rain continued. Judy and Gavin got soaked taking our favorite wedding pictures of us under an umbrella standing on the beach with the raindrops highlighted (absolutely GORGEOUS!). Unfortunately, our couples session was cut short due to the downpour, but Judy and Gavin saved the day when they offered to do another couples session after the wedding at NO additional cost!

Due to the unexpected rain (who expects rain in San Diego), several aspects of the wedding ceremony and reception had to be rearranged. Judy's vast experience with weddings gave her the insight to help us make quick on the spot decisions of how to make things go smoothly on one of the most important days of our lives.

Despite the rain and the packed venue, Judy and Gavin captured all of the unforgetable memories from our wedding day. And after the wedding, they again exceeded our expectations with our second couples session. Everyone who has seen our wedding pictures has been just as blown away as we have been. We recommend Judy and Gavin to everyone we know who is getting married and we plan to use them in the future for family sessions and any other excuse we can think of!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
blee
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
I randomly found Gavin and Judy on some random website with many many photographers. As a photographer myself, I knew what was gimmick and what was legitimate photography, and the samples that I saw grabbed me. After meeting him and seeing more of his current work, I booked him right away. Unfortunately, because of financial restraints, I was unable to book both of them, but Gavin still delivered. His service, personality, and warmness combined with his photographic vision (a unique blend of art, composition, and technical factors drawing from a broad experience base) was nothing short of spectacular. The only thing I would have changed, if I could, would be to pick up Judy as well!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Judy is super nice and is a pleasure to be around with especially on your wedding day. She answers all your questions in a timely manner. Super responsive! It's easy to contact her through email. Her pictures are amazing. She was able to do a little teaser slide show of the pcitures she took up to our recepition and they were amazing! It's unbelieveable that she can take any back drop and turn it into an amazing photo. Gavin, who is Judy's husband, was our second photographer and is amazing to work with too! He really knows how to capture the moment. This husband and wife team work super well together. I would highly recommend hiring both of them if you are looking for a photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
We are 100% satisfied of Judy and Gavin service. We love their work from the start. Their flexibility and very easy to work with. My husband and I love how passionate about their job as a photographer and very honest and genuine personality to work with. I had bad experienced in the past with different photographer that was mean and rude to get their job done. I was very picky at choosing a photographer for the wedding, and I found Judy and Gavin, was not only a satisfaction but also a blessing to have met them. I would want them to work with me on the future family portraits. All my bridal party and family love the pictures turned out, and how much fun my bridesmaids and groomsmen taking photo shoots by them. Gavin is amazingly talented at his work, he is very honest and fun to work with, he would teach you how to do cool posts. Judy is such a fun person to be around with, her work of art is also amazing and she is a super hard worker. They both are very cute and lovely couple to work together. I am grateful to have them to be a part of my life time event.
Services Used: Photography
Bg17
Carolina
Wedding:
9/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Planning a wedding can be a stressful process from the beginning to the end. One way to alleviate this stress is to select vendors that you can trust to do a great job. Judy and Gavin are one of those vendors. I found Judy by a fluke while looking through wedding pictures taken at our wedding venue. I was blown away by the artistic and dramatic quality of her pictures. I immediately set up an appointment for my fiancé and I to meet with her. It is important to us that we get along with our photographer. Having a crabby photographer ordering you into poses can get old real quick. Our first meeting with Judy lasted for two hours! She showed us her portfolio, went over her contract, and we asked lots of questions. We were immediately taken over by her energy, perkiness, and enthusiasm.

We had a lot of fun on our engagement session, and Judy’s passion for her art became more evident as she rolled up her pants and jumped into a fountain just to get a good shot. After our engagement session, we decided to take the package deal and also book Gavin as our videographer (and 2nd photographer). We like the convenience of not having to spend time looking for a videographer, who may not get along with the photographer. We only met Gavin the day of the wedding and liked his personality right away. It is a big plus that Judy and Gavin are both personable, who also got along with our family and guests. They are also receptive to our ideas and requests, and didn’t mind spending more time to get great shots or shots that we wanted. We never once sensed that they were being impatient or rushing to leave even toward the end of our wedding day, this says a lot about their dedication. It is quite obvious that they are enjoying themselves and making it fun while they work. As a result, our wedding pictures turned out AMAZING! We kept getting comments from people that the pictures look like they came out of a magazine spread. And of course they complimented our photographer for making us LOOK that good! In a nutshell, if you want kick-ass pictures that you will cherish forever, you should seriously consider hiring Judy and Gavin.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carmen
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
It took me a long time to find a photographer but after I met Gavin and saw his work, I knew instantly that he was the one. He has a lovable personality and is easy to talk to. I can also tell that he really loves his job and is motivated to take great pictures. I highly recommend him!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrandmrsarguello
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
Too bad Facebook doesn't have a "love" button, we would totally click it! Gavin and Judy are AMAZING! They are very professional yet personable and all around great people. They're gifted in picking just the right moments to capture and we now have amazing photographs as a result. We knew from the moment we met them they were the perfect photographers for us. We have amazing pictures that will provide us with a lifetime of memories from our wedding. We highly recommend them.

Sandra and Dennis
Married 8/20/2011 and the lived happily ever after :D
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
O&Ben
Wedding:
8/14/2011
5.0/5.0
It is totally worth having Judy and Gavin to be our photographers. We got the most beautiful engagement and wedding photos we both have ever seen. Not only amazing photographers,they are also fun people to work with. Let us tell you guys how we appreciate what they did for us

1) They both are such a great teamwork, the way they worked each shot was very quick , professional, productive and finally the pictures came out amazingly just the way we liked :)

2) They brought the best in us to show in the frame ; the characters and the feelings had been zoomed in and expressed in each photo naturally and beautifully.

3) They worked hard and smart beyond what we expected. We had a Jewish ceremony at a Jewish temple where they weren't allowed to take picture during the ceremony , but we did get some nice shots of that moment in the ceremony which made us very satisfied how they did for us.^3^.
:) Now we both are really happy to have a bunch of beautiful pictures taken by them to look at and to share for the rest of our lives....
Thanks again to Judy, Gavin and Steven
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joy
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I cannot say enough good things about Judy and Gavin! If we could give them 10 stars, we would. We love them so much that we have determined that they will be our photographers for life! As an artist myself, one thing that I really love and appreciate about them is their love for their craft. They will spend as much time as necessary to get the best shots. They love what they do, and it shows!

Judy and Gavin are professional, friendly, honest, and extremely talented. They are both amazing photographers, each with their own individual style. We wanted the best of both worlds, so we hired them both to shoot our wedding. But, not only do we love them, our family and friends at our wedding loved them too. We received so many compliments about how wonderful Judy and Gavin were to our guests! We guarentee that you will never regret your investment!

Joy and Joe Becerra
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend Judy! She is an amazing photographer. She knows how to capture those special moments. She has an artistic flair with her work. I will use her again for other special in events in our lives. She and Gavin are so professional and friendly. They really helped make our wedding day special! There is no need to look further, she is the photographer you are looking for.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
gesquibel
Wedding:
6/24/2011
5.0/5.0
My fiancée & I hired Judy & Gavin for Los Angeles engagement pictures & a small Maui, Hawaii destination wedding.
Initially we just hired them for engagement pictures. We fell in love with the experience, the pictures, & the overall professionalism & value. Their quality of service, dedication, & AMAZING pictures let us know they respect our thoughts & emotions. That’s why we TRUSTED them with documenting one of the most important moments in our lives, our wedding.
My fiancée & I worked with Judy & Gavin to come up with an approach to the wedding day photography. However my fiancée & I weren’t sure we would have enough time to get all the pictures we wanted…& we didn’t want to be unnecessarily stressed out on what should be an enjoyable day. Fortunately, Judy & Gavin had the experience, cooperation, & intelligence, to become familiar with the surrounding areas beforehand & also adapt, the day of, to all the obstacles that concerned us: the weather, sun setting, the organization of formal family pictures, & overall timing. We were either perfectly on time, or ahead of schedule!! In the end, Judy & Gavin took more pictures then we even thought were possible, ALL BEAUTIFUL (black-&-white’s, colors, portraits, photojournalistic), & because of them my now wife & future family will always be able to enjoy a timeless & life-changing experience. My wife & I are blessed to have met such wonderful professionals & artists.
Thank you Judy & Gavin!
Services Used: Photography
B4
Chris
Wedding:
6/12/2011
5.0/5.0
For our engagement & wedding we chose to have both Judy and her husband Gavin take photos of us, and we couldn't be happier with the results. We didn't really know what to do and what to expect when it came down to photo shoots, but they put us at ease, and we actually enjoyed taking pictures with them and trying different things in front of the camera. They are also consummate professionals and love what they do. It comes across in our photos, where they often play with the lighting, shadows, and perspective to come up with some creative and refreshing shots compared to other photographers.

Judy and Gavin are seasoned photographers who know the SoCal area and the other photographers in their field. We were interested in using a big round balloon we saw in a wedding photo of a different photographer. When we inquired about that prop, they knew exactly which photo we were referring to and got us the cost and where to get that prop. For our engagement session, we went to 3 outdoor locations, and they knew all the best and hidden locations for pictures. At the wedding, our group pictures came out well, and we didn't even have to worry about the shots from the preparation, the ceremony, or the reception. It was great to focus on enjoying our day, and in the end Judy & Gavin came through with candid and gorgeous pictures that captured the day's memories.

We highly recommend Judy and Gavin to any couple because not only are they great photographers, but also because they are easy and friendly to work with.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kristenbird44
Wedding:
6/5/2011
5.0/5.0
I was so happy when I found Judy. She was all I was ever looking for in a photographer. I loved her work and her personality that comes through in her photos. It is truely an art form. She was wonderful to work with and everyone after the wedding kept commenting on how much they LOVED my photographer. No complaints.... I would absolutely use Judy again and recommend her. THANK YOU JUDY!! We love you and we were so happy to have you capture our big day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
idiom
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
I absolutely love Judy; she makes me laugh and cry with joy all at once. How? Through her photography. You can't go wrong with Judy. She's the sweetest person that you'll ever meet with a camera and she does it while rocking some high heels. Her style is best described as ALL-ENCOMPASSING; meaning you get fashionable and intimate photos that will appeal to many crowds. Hire her; it will be an investment worth investing in.

Our experience with Judy and her husband Gavin (also amazingly talented):

My wife and I enlisted Judy Tran and her charismatic husband Gavin Holt to document our wedding. Photography is an Art and Judy/Gavin has got it down. It takes more than a “point & shoot” to be a photographer, it takes time, an artistic eye and raw talent! Not only do they encompass these qualities, they both also have a great sense of what a person is really looking for through the eye of a lens. The two of them take their time to find …just the right shot without taking too much time and wasting daylight. They really make you feel like YOU are special and that they are just lucky enough to get to photograph you! Once you book them, Judy and Gavin will instantly become one of your coolest friends. When we booked them, we were not really sure what we wanted, except that we wanted something “different”…and boy how they delivered. If you are looking for a photographer or a photography team that “listens” to what you want, and gives you more than what you expect - look no further. Both Judy and Gavin have the talent, charisma and professionalism that other photographers wish they had. Trust me you can't go wrong when you book this talented team. BTW - they make an adorable couple too; everyone at our wedding was impressed with the two of them. Also, I'm a architect/designer and pride myself in having a very discriminating taste for all things (i.e. fashion, architecture, furniture, interior,) and their photographs stood out to and appealed to me most. Trust me I searched months for a photographer/s that had the combination of talent, application and personality. I consider myself lucky to have found two - in Judy and Gavin. Thanks Judy and Gavin for being their for my wife and I.

Bottom line - they love what they do and do some DAMN AMAZING things when they get to do what they love. If you take Judy as your photographer, you'll get a gal who loves her work and some DAMN AMAZING pictures.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MekelaL
Wedding:
4/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Judy (and Gavin) are just amazing!! I couldn't have asked for a better photographer to help capture one of the most important days of my life! Judy and Gavin are a bundle of wonderful things.... creative, responsible, easy going, accommodating and FUN!!
Judy was able to take the ideas and feel I wanted to capture during the day and give me even more. The photos are unbelievable and are definitely magazine worthy. Trying to put a wedding album together has been a difficult task because there are just too many photos I want to include. A million Thank Yous to Judy (and Gavin)!!!! To choose you as my photograther was the best decision I could have made on my wedding day :)
**Mekela & Jason (April 24, 2011)
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Lan
Wedding:
1/29/2011
5.0/5.0
I was lucky enough to have the honor of booking with Judy and an added bonus to the deal was her assistant for the day was her husband/photographer, Gavin. Judy is an AMAZING photographer. From the very beginning, Judy was always there to answer any questions I had and was ALWAYS very prompt with her answers. She is very professional and truly a sweetheart. You can count on her capture all of the special moments on your special day. Her love for photography definitely shows when you see her work. Not only that but she helps to ease your worries and allows you to enjoy the moment as she captures it. Words cannot express how wonderful Judy is. As they say, a picture is worth a thousand words and Judy’s photos definitely fit that bill. I would not only recommend Judy but will definitely use her again for my professional photography needs.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
debbieT
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Judy is an amazing and talented photographer! We are so lucky to have both her and her husband Gavin (another incredible photog) as part of our extended family. It's been wonderful to see both their photography blossom over the years - each with their own style and touches. We call them magicians making any ordinary things or people look like they belong in a magazine shoot.

We initially scheduled our engagement shoot a few months before the wedding and they were both so accomodating with where we wanted to shoot and made us really feel at ease in front of the camera. We were pooped after shooting in 2 locations but they were willing to keep going into the night just to get some cool night shots. Since we couldn't keep up with their energy, they talked us into doing a 2nd night shoot which also turned out amazing. This goes to show how much they care about their clients and the quality in what they produce.

The wedding was no different. From the time that we started in the morning at 11AM until we danced our last dance and took our last drinks, they were right there making sure they captured every moment. Judy even asked her aspiring brother to come help to get even more shots. We just received the photos and wow -- they are incredible! We already knew how talented they were but the pics that were taken just blew us away. So many of our family and friends also commented on the beautiful and artistic pics.

I would recommend Judy (and her husband Gavin) in a heartbeat to anyone needing any type of photos -- wedding, family, baby, etc. I cannot wait to use her as my husband and I start on our family.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were set on getting the best photographers our budget could afford and we are so happy we found Gavin and his wife Judy! They were so amazing, they were flexible prior to the wedding date and the day of. They are also such a fun and easy going couple that made my husband and I feel so comfortable--which was very important to me because I don't particularly like being photographed. They were also hard workers, they were running all over the place trying to capture every single shot, and were excited to do so! They blended so well with our families, which made everyone else feel comfortable too. Last but not least, their pictures are amazing; Gavin is incredible with lighting and Judy is amazing with her eye for detail and her creativity. I would recommend this couple to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amy
Wedding:
8/31/2010
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough positive things about Judy. Between my husband and myself, we have been involved in many, many, many weddings. With that said, we've had a lot of experience with wedding photographers, and Judy TRULY stands apart from ALL the photographers we have ever encountered. She is polished, professional, creative and possesses an overall positive aura - the exact mix of qualities that we were looking for in a photographer. Her friendly and lively personality blended seamlessly with our family and friends, and she was a great addition to our wedding - photos aside! She was extremely easy to get in touch with in the weeks leading up to the wedding and was always happy to answer any of our questions! We recently received all of photos from Judy, and my husband and I are having such a tough time picking our favorites to frame because WE LOVE EVERY SINGLE ONE! We will always contact Judy for our photographic needs in the future.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
My new husband and I were lucky enough to have Judy as our wedding photographer in July of this year! Judy also photographed our engagement session. Judy's photos are everything we could have asked for and more. They are truly are works of art! She captured each moment in such a beautiful way, and we are so thankful that we have these pictures to help keep the memory of our special day alive forever. The quality of the photographs was outstanding. Judy was so much fun to work with. She made us feel very relaxed and comfortable, even though neither one of us is used to being in front of the camera. If you are looking for a friendly wedding photographer with an artistic and creative style, I would highly recommend Judy!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
juspeachie
Wedding:
6/1/2010
5.0/5.0
We were so lucky to have found Judy and Gavin because both were available for our wedding reception given such short notice. I cannot say enough of how both truly love what they do and it shows in their work. Both were a pleasure to work with, they made us feel real comfortable from the moment we first met until the big event. It was a perfect connection. Judy and Gavin each have their own unique style in capturing the moment. I'd have to say we continue to enjoy the memories captured from our special day and are quite pleased. I would highly recommend them if you’re looking for professional, flexible and friendly photographers. You can’t go wrong if you decide to book with this dynamic duo. Enjoy!

Nora & Joe (April 9, 2011)
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Miranda
Wedding:
5/15/2010
5.0/5.0
I cannot express how grateful I am that I stumbled upon Judy's website. I was randomly searching the web and checking out referred photographers from friends... I definitely took a chance by finding a photographer online. I could just tell from Judy's photos online that she has a eye for the "artistic" photos that I LOVE. So, the first time I met with her, it was like meeting with a friend that I had known for years. She made us feel soo incredibly comfortable and confident in her and her work. we signed the contract that night! She is incredibly busy with all of her weddings, photo shoots, school dances... But I never once was not able to get hold of her exactly when I needed to. Everyone loved our engagement photos and could not wait until our wedding.. JUST to see the pictures! Of course they turned out amazing as well. Not only are we 100% thrilled with our photos, but we also feel like we got them for a steal! I love Judy and can't wait until I have children so she can photograph them too! She is absolutely amazing!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
I found Judy through a friend's recommendation. Actually, they recommended her husband Gavin, but since I was on a budget Judy's pricing worked better for me because she was just starting out with her own brides. After a few emails, we made plans to meet up and after spending time with her and seeing more of her work we were sold. We chose to take engagement pictures and when it came time Judy met with us in Claremont on a rainy day to take photos at Scripps College. She was amazing!! My husband and I were a little stiff and in time she had us totally comfortable. We never felt rushed and you could tell that Judy loves her job. We got a cd of our photos probably two weeks later and they were exactly what we wanted if not more. Leading up to our wedding Judy was so easy to get a hold of and made herself completely available to any questions. On the day of the wedding Judy was on time and ready to shoot. The day went perfectly and so many friends and family were convinced that she was an old friend of ours because it seemed like she knew us so well!! Our proofs via email came to us in about a month and omg the photos are like magazine shots. So unique and totally captured the moments of our day. We've already been referring her name like crazy and have had two friends already book her for engagement pics. We love Judy and think anyone who is lucky enough to book her will not be sorry.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1253160635287-dsc05173
barbararoxanne
Wedding:
2/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Judy and Gavin were an absolute pleasure to work with! They are amazing photographers. If you want to get the most amazing pics possible please use them! They take the stress out of the process and they allow you to enjoy your day! I can't stop looking at our pictures and people tell us all the time that they look like a spread in a wedding magazine! We will continue to use them for all of our special events that take place in the future!! I can't say enough positive things about them and their work!!
Sincerely, Barbara & Charles
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Judy and Gavin Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1315013839512-jt0102