130x130_sq_1296081910636-bridaldaypromocard

Julia Newman Photography

Brooklyn , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

105 Broadway
Brooklyn, NY US 11211 (map)

PHONE

917-885-3336

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

A unique take on urban bridal.

Julia Newman has traveled the world creating breathtaking records of brides' and grooms' most precious memories. Her images have been described... Read more
A unique take on urban bridal.

Julia Newman has traveled the world creating breathtaking records of brides' and grooms' most precious memories. Her images have been described as hip, edgy, intimate and organic, and are frequently published in the most stylish Bridal magazines and blogs.
She draws inspiration from the creative energy of Williamsburg, Brooklyn, where the studio is based. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1296082256121-0062
130x130_sq_1296082312230-0108
130x130_sq_1296082353558-0121
130x130_sq_1296082409089-0127
130x130_sq_1296082466089-0128
130x130_sq_1296082540574-0130
130x130_sq_1296082606652-0130a
130x130_sq_1296082666980-0134
130x130_sq_1296082725214-0151
130x130_sq_1296082781542-0180
130x130_sq_1296082831496-0200
130x130_sq_1296082875917-0215
130x130_sq_1296082943058-0252
130x130_sq_1296083024292-0262
130x130_sq_1296083099886-0302
130x130_sq_1296083172933-0313
130x130_sq_1296083271183-0322
130x130_sq_1296083354980-0339
130x130_sq_1296083431527-0371
130x130_sq_1296083489746-0372
130x130_sq_1296083545714-0382
130x130_sq_1296083595339-0387
130x130_sq_1296083659136-03972
130x130_sq_1296083737292-0399
130x130_sq_1296083812855-0420
130x130_sq_1296083858761-0459
130x130_sq_1296083948183-0459a
130x130_sq_1296084018355-0462
130x130_sq_1296084074917-0468

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Prints, Thank You Cards
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
11/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Julia Newman was fantastic and I am so glad that I booked her for my wedding. I'm an amateur photographer myself and photography was arguably the most important element of the wedding. Julia's experience, style, and ability to make her clients feel comfortable and taken care of was really unparalleled. On the wedding day she thought of things that we forgot and really helped to make everything go smoothly, keep us on schedule with portraits, and I was not disappointed when i saw the pictures just a few short weeks later. She was a key element of the wedding day and I'm really thankful I went with her!! When you're looking for a wedding photographer, don't underestimate experience and quality - Julia has all of that. I was so impressed with the images, and I'm just thrilled with them. Worth every penny.
Services Used: Photography
Julia Newman Photography responded with the following comments:

Thank you, Julie, for such a lovely review. Your wedding was absolutely wonderful and I wish you and your new husband all the happiness in the world!
130x130_sq_1342126449439-cls54592
Nadia
Wedding:
7/6/2013
4.6/5.0
Working with Julia and her team was an absolute pleasure. From our first phone call, she was warm, personable, and really understood my vision for our wedding day. She took the time to get to know me and my fiance, meeting us on a few occasions to make sure we were comfortable with her and vice versa. She was always responsive to my emails and phone calls. She took explicit notes on us, our day, our families, every detail was captured beautifully. On the day of the wedding, Julia and her team were fantastic. They never once felt invasive to our guests, yet they didnt miss a single person or moment. The presentation she put together for us is stunning and I cant stop looking through it. She knew the neighborhood well and scouted great spots for our pictures, and really did a fabulous job capturing us at our best and most natural. The pictures came out gorgeous! I've had a difficult time choosing for our thank yous and for our prints. I would recommend Julia without hesitation, and would really look for another opportunity to work with her again in the future.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.4/5.0
Julia's photos are nice, but not like what features on her website as sample albums. I thought my pictures came out "fine" but they weren't that unique and not like the other albums with more unique shots and different lenses like in some of her photos on her website.

She recently got married and I think is concentrating more on that than on her business and job at the weddings. I recently looked on her blog and she changed some of the dates of previous entries to make it look like she updates more regularly than she does.
Services Used: Photography
Julia Newman Photography responded with the following comments:

I am so sorry to see this review. I don't know who this is as nobody has contacted me with anything but great things to say about their images. I think it would have been fair to contact me in private before posting this review. I would be very happy to give you another portrait session so that you are thrilled with your photos. Also, I have been rebranding all year and have been waiting to post recent wedding for the spring, when the new site launches. Please do get in touch if you would like to discuss this further.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Julia was an absolute pleasure to work with. She is a true professional, knows how to get her job done correctly, efficiently, and creatively. She handles large groups of people with ease. Her pictures speak for themselves, but when looking through the 1100 pictures we have from that day, I get a full and complete sense of what happened. Her photojournalistic sensibility is amazing and I have some incredible moments captured that would have lived in my memory only if she wasn't so good at her job. One thing that surprised me was how quickly she was able to get our pictures to us. We had them 2 weeks later - AMAZING! She's fabulous and I feel lucky to have had her document one of the most important days of my life. I feel that photography is the only thing that lasts when the whirlwind day is over. I wouldn't want to trust that to anyone else.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MCB
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Julia shot our wedding memorial day weekend and our engagement photos before that. She was amazing and the photos were amazing. 2 points on Julia:
1 - If you are thinking of hiring her, just check out her blog. She has up all of her events and you can even sort by location to get a feel of her style in different settings. We got a great feel of her work from her website and we let her do her thing on our wedding day and it came out great.
2 - I liked how organized Julia was. From the day we met, she was talking about schedules with us which made my organized wife very happy. She got all of the information she needed before the wedding so everything ran smoothly that day.

I would love to work with Julia again. Had a great time with her and she worked very hard at our wedding. My wife and I wholeheartedly recommend her.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I really enjoyed working with Julia and her team.

We got married in New York City, and Julia had so many great ideas on shooting locations and ways to make our portraits stand out from the pack.

Not only are her photos very stylish, she's also a very organized person -- an absolute necessity on a day with so many moving parts.

One side of the family that is very large (50+) has a tradition of taking big group photos at every family function. Julia was able to politely yet efficiently wrangle the troops to get the needed shot; I've been in countless situations were people are standing around like this, just waiting to get their group shots taken. Not Julia. It took five minutes max.

Her team was able to catch the entire range of moments without getting in the way: highlights of the ceremony, funny moments on the dance floor, moving speeches, people goofing off, classic portraits.

I highly recommend going with the photo-booth option that she offers, too. It was a definite crowd pleaser.

It's been almost three years since our wedding and I keep hearing about our "gorgeous" wedding photos from family members and long lost friends on Facebook. I highly recommend her!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jim
Wedding:
10/30/2010
4.9/5.0
Though a little pricey, Julia's work speaks for itself. We have yet to see the final pictures but she did post some preliminary photos to her blog. Outstanding
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1237837577250-facebookmay
Kelbelmoo
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Julia and her team at Julia Newman Photography were a complete dream to work with on the day of our wedding and the photos are absolutely stunning! My husband and I are thrilled with the photographs and we would HIGHLY recommend her to future couples getting engaged, getting married, having babies. The wedding photography was very important to us as we didn't want a videographer - Julia has an amazing eye and she captured all of the beautiful moments of our ceremony and reception as well as so many gorgeous couple & family shots. My entire family was very impressed with her professionalism, friendliness, sweet yet directive demeanor and most importantly, the way she and her team blended into the event. While going through our photos, Ian and I were so giddy about how the photos turned out, we continued to say "how did she get these - I don't even remember seeing her!", which in our opinion is how it should be. Amazing work, Julia, Ryan and Kaity - we can not thank you enough for capturing the memories from our day. We will continue to use and recommend Julia Newman Photography for all the major events in our lives and our friends' and family's lives. Thank you!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
caroline
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Julia was the perfect photographer for us! I had seen her work long before I was engaged and I remember saying "this is my photographer." I was not one of those people who planned their wedding for a long time (maybe 5 months) and I never really thought about it before being engaged but the one thing I did know for sure was that I had to have Julia! She was amazing, fun, and talented. She even bought our entire wedding party ice cream, which made for some fantastic photos on the Brooklyn Promenade. Her second photographer and assistant were also fantastic. They manage to capture all the action without being in the way. My album is a true reflection of our day and incorporates so many details. I love that it's not the typical album of everyone facing forward in a straight line - every picture is artistic and interesting. Julia is extremely talented!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dpanno
Wedding:
6/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Julia is amazing. Everyone that has seen our wedding photos has asked who the photographer was. Let her do her thing, have confidence in her talent and hard work and you will not be disappointed.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NYCBride4/2011
Wedding:
4/9/2010
5.0/5.0
I just got back my engagement pictures from Julia and cant tell you how happy I am..she is a dream! Talented, artistic, and soo wonderful to work with! I highly recommend hiring her for your wedding!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ELBZ
Wedding:
10/18/2008
5.0/5.0
Julia is a true artist. She captured every perfect moment without a hint of intrusiveness. The photos are breathtaking. I have had so many compliments on the pictures, and "who was your photographer?!"s that I can't even count them all.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
L&L
Wedding:
5/25/2008
4.6/5.0
Julia is a fantastic photojournalist who exceeded my expectations. Because she is a true photojournalist, she keeps group shots to a minimum. The candid photos she took were perfect--capturing the genuine magic of the day. Her talent, professionalism and vision was exactally what we needed for our wedding.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
christine
Wedding:
5/17/2008
5.0/5.0
I GUARANTEE you will not find a better photog in NYC. It is impossible! Julia is absolutely above and beyond what anyone could expect of a photographer! She has true artistic creativity and passion for her craft. Her pictures are without a doubt, magazine quality. You can't do better, trust me! She is worth every penny...especially when the picturews are what you have for a lifetime of memories!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
10/14/2007
5.0/5.0
Julia is great with her artistic ability to be able to capture moments in time during the day. She is fantastic
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jennarebs
Wedding:
5/5/2006
4.4/5.0
Julia is extremely talented and willing to travel! She came to Phila. to shoot my wedding. Her photography, which is mainly photojournalistic in nature, is amazing! Highly recommended!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
2/4/2006
5.0/5.0
Julia was willing to travel from NY to PA and she even brought a second photographer with her, which was great. She worked with what we wanted and even got some shots that we didn't even know they were taking! So very nice and has such great vision and the pictures turned out so amazing.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
105 Broadway, Brooklyn, NY 11211 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Julia Newman Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo