130x130 sq 1218733951217 luxuriousgoldenswags&roses

JUST DESSERTS by Linda

Sykesville , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

P.O. Box 1202
Sykesville, MD 21784 US (map)

PHONE

410-848-2133

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Linda Gourley is a Certified Pastry Chef who graduated with honors from the Pennsylvania School of Culinary Arts. She currently sublets a commercial kitchen in the Eldersburg, MD area... Read more
Linda Gourley is a Certified Pastry Chef who graduated with honors from the Pennsylvania School of Culinary Arts. She currently sublets a commercial kitchen in the Eldersburg, MD area where she holds a foodservice license.

Basically, there is no store front operation so cake orders are always made fresh to your specifications. No frozen cakes here! Think of me as your PERSONAL PASTRY CHEF.

We offer celebration cakes, wedding cakes, cookie favors, dessert items, mini pastries, and some breads--all custom made for your special occasion.

You can visit our website to sign up for our monthly Newsletter which contains timely recipes as well as a feature called "Ask Linda' where I will answer your questions on baking and confections. Sign up at: www.JustDessertsbyLinda.com Read less
Wedding Cake

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Vegan
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
Yes
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
Private consultation/tasting available by appointment.
What are your tasting hours?
SUN-THURS (by appt) with flexible time frames availabe. E-mail for availability.
 Linda@JustDessertsbyLinda.com
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
Tiered cakes are priced by the slice (portion).
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
Yes, the top tier is included in the pricing of the cake.
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
Custom cake design is the specialty of the house. No cookie cutter cakes here!
What (if any) special ingredients, such as fresh fruits or farm-fresh butter, do you use in your cakes?
We use high quality commercial ingredients to produce the finest quality products for your Special Day.
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
All cakes are baked 1-2 days before the event, iced and decorated the day of the event. We do not freeze out cakes therefore we take on a limited amount of orders.
How many cakes do you schedule for a typical weekend?
Usually no more than 12 on a typical weekend. The number of cakes booked is directly determined by how elaborate or labor intensive the design is and the location of the events. Some days we can only produce (3) due to these limitations.
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Yes, we can work with your florist to arrange the flowers on your cake. Flowers must be made available to us upon our arrival at your reception venue.
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
We have beautiful silver, ornate cake stands in round and square sizes. We also rent out Cupcake Towers and Cascading cake stands which can be used for the wedding cake or a nice dessert bar setting.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
We do offer delivery to all areas--even out of state. The delivery fee is determined by the travel time and fuel cost--round trip. Average cost per hour for 2012 is $60.

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Linda was simply amazing! She made delicious gluten free cakes for my wedding. No one knew they were gluten free. Delicious! She was very responsive and easily worked within my budget.
Linda was simply amazing! She made delicious gluten free cakes for my wedding. No one knew they were gluten free. Read more...
Linda was simply amazing! She made delicious gluten free cakes for my wedding. No one knew they were gluten free. Delicious! She was very responsive and easily worked within my budget. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Julia
Wedding:
10/25/2014
4.8/5.0
Linda was awesome! She worked with my budget and was able to create the cake of my dreams plus a surprise grooms cake! Her service was also excellent. She came to my house for the cake tasting and consultation and it was so quick and convenient! The cakes looked great and were delicious! I highly recommend her services and I will be using her again when I need a professional cake.
Linda was awesome! She worked with my budget and was able to create the cake of my dreams plus a surprise grooms cake! Her Read more...
Linda was awesome! She worked with my budget and was able to create the cake of my dreams plus a surprise grooms cake! Her service was also excellent. She came to my house for the cake tasting and consultation and it was so quick and convenient! The cakes looked great and were delicious! I highly recommend her services and I will be using her again when I need a professional cake. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Amy
Wedding:
9/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Linda brought my vision to life for our very unique wedding cake and cupcakes. She was absolutely wonderful to work with - very professional, responsive, and accommodating. And the cake/cupcakes were to die for! Everyone raved about how delicious they tasted and how amazing they looked. And to top it off, Linda was one of the most affordable options I could have ever asked for.

I can be very critical when it comes to creative services (decorated cakes/cupcakes, photography, etc) and Linda completely exceeded my expectations. Can't say anything but great things! I hope to have the need to work with Linda again!
Linda brought my vision to life for our very unique wedding cake and cupcakes. She was absolutely wonderful to work with - Read more...
Linda brought my vision to life for our very unique wedding cake and cupcakes. She was absolutely wonderful to work with - very professional, responsive, and accommodating. And the cake/cupcakes were to die for! Everyone raved about how delicious they tasted and how amazing they looked. And to top it off, Linda was one of the most affordable options I could have ever asked for.

I can be very critical when it comes to creative services (decorated cakes/cupcakes, photography, etc) and Linda completely exceeded my expectations. Can't say anything but great things! I hope to have the need to work with Linda again! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130 sq 1361224169131 engagement101
Nicole
Wedding:
7/20/2013
5.0/5.0
We absolutely LOVED the wedding cake that Linda made for us. The whole experience with her was great. When we first met with her she brought a box full of cake and icing samples for us to try. She was very patient with us as we thought about each flavor and combination. Once we decided to book with her, we narrowed down our flavor choices. She even allows you to make each cake layer a different flavor at no extra charge! Her pricing is extremely reasonable and definitely beats competitor pricing. Linda's decorating skill is wonderful too. She had us provide a couple of inspiration photos and she created the exact cake we were dreaming of! It was beautiful and delicious!! We definitely recommend Just Desserts by Linda!
We absolutely LOVED the wedding cake that Linda made for us. The whole experience with her was great. When we first met Read more...
We absolutely LOVED the wedding cake that Linda made for us. The whole experience with her was great. When we first met with her she brought a box full of cake and icing samples for us to try. She was very patient with us as we thought about each flavor and combination. Once we decided to book with her, we narrowed down our flavor choices. She even allows you to make each cake layer a different flavor at no extra charge! Her pricing is extremely reasonable and definitely beats competitor pricing. Linda's decorating skill is wonderful too. She had us provide a couple of inspiration photos and she created the exact cake we were dreaming of! It was beautiful and delicious!! We definitely recommend Just Desserts by Linda! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Heidi
Wedding:
5/26/2013
4.8/5.0
My MOH, fiance, our 3 year old and I went to our cake tasting and EVERYONE talked about the cake for weeks after our appointment. Our older kids were so jealous about not going that THEY talked about the cake for weeks before the wedding. Thankfully we had a lot of leftovers, so we ate wedding cake almost every day for 2 weeks after the wedding and the kids were so sad when it was all gone. Might need her to do some birthday cakes soon!
My MOH, fiance, our 3 year old and I went to our cake tasting and EVERYONE talked about the cake for weeks after our Read more...
My MOH, fiance, our 3 year old and I went to our cake tasting and EVERYONE talked about the cake for weeks after our appointment. Our older kids were so jealous about not going that THEY talked about the cake for weeks before the wedding. Thankfully we had a lot of leftovers, so we ate wedding cake almost every day for 2 weeks after the wedding and the kids were so sad when it was all gone. Might need her to do some birthday cakes soon! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Whitney
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was beautiful and everyone was talking about how delicious it was. I would strongly encourage everyone to try out Just Desserts by Linda for all of their cake needs.
Our wedding cake was beautiful and everyone was talking about how delicious it was. I would strongly encourage everyone to Read more...
Our wedding cake was beautiful and everyone was talking about how delicious it was. I would strongly encourage everyone to try out Just Desserts by Linda for all of their cake needs. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
JUST DESSERTS by Linda responded with the following comments:

Thank you, Whitney. I appreciate the "sweet" words! : )
Linda G
Default vendor profile pic
Megan
Wedding:
9/21/2012
4.8/5.0
Linda made our wedding cake and it was perfect! I found a picture of a cake online that I really liked and Linda worked to replicate it exactly. Not only do her cakes look like masterpieces, but they taste great too. She is a delight to work with. Thanks so much Linda!!
Linda made our wedding cake and it was perfect! I found a picture of a cake online that I really liked and Linda worked to Read more...
Linda made our wedding cake and it was perfect! I found a picture of a cake online that I really liked and Linda worked to replicate it exactly. Not only do her cakes look like masterpieces, but they taste great too. She is a delight to work with. Thanks so much Linda!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130 sq 1349713522912 erinandrussellswedding81812037
Erin
Wedding:
8/18/2012
4.2/5.0
I was extremely pleased with Just Desserts by Linda! Our cake was beautiful and delicious! I really liked that Linda does not charge any extra fees in order to have different flavors for each tier. We chose traditional chocolate, strawberry short cake, yellow cake with caramel filling and a chocolate raspberry cake. The cake was very moist and fresh! I highly recommend Just Desserts by Linda!
I was extremely pleased with Just Desserts by Linda! Our cake was beautiful and delicious! I really liked that Linda does Read more...
I was extremely pleased with Just Desserts by Linda! Our cake was beautiful and delicious! I really liked that Linda does not charge any extra fees in order to have different flavors for each tier. We chose traditional chocolate, strawberry short cake, yellow cake with caramel filling and a chocolate raspberry cake. The cake was very moist and fresh! I highly recommend Just Desserts by Linda! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Jessica
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Just Desserts made our wedding cake look and taste delicious. We were originally planning to use another baker because it was built-in to our catering package, but the customer service through the baker was horrible. After meeting Linda at a wedding open house held out our venue, we never looked back. The cakes were delicious with a variety of flavors to choose from. We ordered a 3 tier cake with two layers of red velvet and one made with pumpkin spice cake. It was absolutely delicious and not over priced. Linda was very easy to work with and the customer service was phenomenal.
Just Desserts made our wedding cake look and taste delicious. We were originally planning to use another baker because it Read more...
Just Desserts made our wedding cake look and taste delicious. We were originally planning to use another baker because it was built-in to our catering package, but the customer service through the baker was horrible. After meeting Linda at a wedding open house held out our venue, we never looked back. The cakes were delicious with a variety of flavors to choose from. We ordered a 3 tier cake with two layers of red velvet and one made with pumpkin spice cake. It was absolutely delicious and not over priced. Linda was very easy to work with and the customer service was phenomenal. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
This woman is AMAZING! She came to my house for a free tasting and brought a lot of different flavors and combinations. She took all my ideas that I wanted for our cake and made it into the most beautiful cake I had ever seen. After the wedding, we received SO MANY compliments on our cake flavors (we had three different ones). Her prices cannot be beat either which makes it even better! If I ever need a cake in the future, I know where I am getting it from!
This woman is AMAZING! She came to my house for a free tasting and brought a lot of different flavors and combinations. Read more...
This woman is AMAZING! She came to my house for a free tasting and brought a lot of different flavors and combinations. She took all my ideas that I wanted for our cake and made it into the most beautiful cake I had ever seen. After the wedding, we received SO MANY compliments on our cake flavors (we had three different ones). Her prices cannot be beat either which makes it even better! If I ever need a cake in the future, I know where I am getting it from! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake
JUST DESSERTS by Linda responded with the following comments:

Thank you (M.T.) for your wonderfully "sweet" compliments regarding your wedding cake and my services! You were a pivotal part of the success of your wedding cake design and flavor selection. You came prepared to the consultation/tasting with a cake idea that you loved, color scheme, and information about the floral arrangements you would be using. You did your homework!
It was a pleasure working with you and I was pleased to be able to accommodate your requests for gluten free and dairy free items.
My best to the Newlyweds! ; )
LINDA G

MAP

 
P.O. Box 1202, Sykesville, MD 21784 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for JUST DESSERTS by Linda
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1218733951217 luxuriousgoldenswags&roses