130x130_sq_1360164964014-1293731505680holly009

Kalico Kitchen

Glen Allen , VA

LOCATION

Glen Allen, VA US (map)

PHONE

804-261-4058

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Kalico Kitchen is a family owned custom cake bakery, serving the Richmond area for over 30 years. We work to bring your style and great taste together with our artistry for the perfect... Read more
Kalico Kitchen is a family owned custom cake bakery, serving the Richmond area for over 30 years. We work to bring your style and great taste together with our artistry for the perfect creation. Call us today to set up a consultation and let's begin creating the wedding cake of your dreams!

Contact: 804-261-4058 or info@kalicokitchen.com Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1293731505680-holly009
130x130_sq_1293731525070-millerphoto
130x130_sq_1293731552195-cakesfromcarolynscamera004
130x130_sq_1293731569492-wedding011
130x130_sq_1293731583867-wedding016
130x130_sq_1360166372547-2tierbuttercreamdots
130x130_sq_1360166373459-2tiersquare
130x130_sq_1360166374809-3cakesonstand
130x130_sq_1360166375821-3tierflowers
130x130_sq_1360166376857-3tierfondantflowers
130x130_sq_1360166377978-3tierfondantpinkribbon
130x130_sq_1360166378942-3tiersolidshapes
130x130_sq_1360166380499-4tierblackribbon
130x130_sq_1360166381433-4tierbuttercreambeaded
130x130_sq_1360166383132-4tierceltic
130x130_sq_1360166384057-4tierdots
130x130_sq_1360166385869-4tierscrollwork
130x130_sq_1360166386952-blackandwhite
130x130_sq_1360166388336-blackribbon
130x130_sq_1360166400497-blackscrollwork
130x130_sq_1360166409790-blueandwhite
130x130_sq_1360166411065-blueribbon
130x130_sq_1360166413919-cakewithglasses
130x130_sq_1360166425741-cakes007
130x130_sq_1360166447682-cakes008
130x130_sq_1360166466280-cakes009
130x130_sq_1360166488582-cakes010
130x130_sq_1360166506981-cakes011
130x130_sq_1360166522559-cakes012
130x130_sq_1360166539573-cakes013
130x130_sq_1360166548038-circlesspirals
130x130_sq_1360166549495-closeupseashells
130x130_sq_1360166551708-decjan.1eliza016
130x130_sq_1360166556647-decjan.1eliza018
130x130_sq_1360166557901-dotsandbow
130x130_sq_1360166559604-dotsandflowers
130x130_sq_1360166561264-dotsandribbon
130x130_sq_1360166562187-dovespillars
130x130_sq_1360166571116-dsc00002
130x130_sq_1360166581617-dsc00003
130x130_sq_1360166591969-dsc00007
130x130_sq_1360166606659-dsc00008
130x130_sq_1360166618673-dsc00010
130x130_sq_1360166629604-dsc00012
130x130_sq_1360166641178-dsc00013
130x130_sq_1360166656593-dsc00016
130x130_sq_1360166667241-dsc00017
130x130_sq_1360166679423-dsc00021
130x130_sq_1360166688964-dsc00033
130x130_sq_1360166698913-dsc00035
130x130_sq_1360166711651-dsc00036
130x130_sq_1360166723567-dsc00037
130x130_sq_1360166734977-dsc00048
130x130_sq_1360166747506-dsc00049
130x130_sq_1360166754373-dsc00069
130x130_sq_1360166760421-dsc00072
130x130_sq_1360166773694-dsc00073
130x130_sq_1360166785900-dsc00076
130x130_sq_1360166800593-dsc00077
130x130_sq_1360166989382-dsc00078
130x130_sq_1360166995820-dsc00086
130x130_sq_1360166998019-dsc00087
130x130_sq_1360167005564-dsc00127
130x130_sq_1360167018374-dsc00131
130x130_sq_1360167034415-dscn1526
130x130_sq_1360167054141-dscn1532
130x130_sq_1360167071339-dscn1533
130x130_sq_1360167093274-dscn1536
130x130_sq_1360167113738-dscn1550
130x130_sq_1360167123207-flowerpetals
130x130_sq_1360167125133-flowers
130x130_sq_1360167126435-flowersonside
130x130_sq_1360167137863-goldribbonbows
130x130_sq_1360167147055-hexagon
130x130_sq_1360167154640-junepix055
130x130_sq_1360167160926-lace
130x130_sq_1360167162694-layered
130x130_sq_1360167164656-leaves
130x130_sq_1360167167002-leavesontop
130x130_sq_1360167168453-lillies
130x130_sq_1360167170099-monogramflowers
130x130_sq_1360167171499-pearls
130x130_sq_1360167173040-pearls2
130x130_sq_1360167174137-pearlsflowers
130x130_sq_1360167192292-poinsettiaspillars
130x130_sq_1360167203089-purpleribbon
130x130_sq_1360167209843-purpleandredflowers
130x130_sq_1360167211825-purpleflowers
130x130_sq_1360167213566-ribbon
130x130_sq_1360167214655-silverribbon
130x130_sq_1360167215564-squarebottom
130x130_sq_1360167217235-stackedboxes
130x130_sq_1360167223388-stiv.wedd.andreunion06046
130x130_sq_1360167229687-stripes
130x130_sq_1360167233160-topsyturvyweddingcake
130x130_sq_1403973559256-wedding-cakes--3-tier-buttercream-mint-green-ombre
130x130_sq_1293731748930-dsc00032
130x130_sq_1293731775383-cakes
130x130_sq_1293731802336-jeni164
130x130_sq_1293731858773-men001
130x130_sq_1293731880180-712009
130x130_sq_1360177167915-4wheeler
130x130_sq_1360177170697-airjordans
130x130_sq_1360177174744-anchor
130x130_sq_1360177175910-anchorwithinitials
130x130_sq_1360177177412-baseballglove
130x130_sq_1360177178887-bass
130x130_sq_1360177180151-bearscoltsfootball
130x130_sq_1360177181503-blackberry
130x130_sq_1360177182884-bluecar
130x130_sq_1360177184695-bluecaroncake
130x130_sq_1360177186158-bowtie
130x130_sq_1360177188009-brickhouse1
130x130_sq_1360177190074-brickhouse2
130x130_sq_1360177191392-brideandgroomonsand
130x130_sq_1360177193018-camping
130x130_sq_1360177195139-car
130x130_sq_1360177196752-cheeseburger
130x130_sq_1360177197991-chocolateandstrawberries
130x130_sq_1360177199253-chocolaterose
130x130_sq_1360177201156-chucktaylor
130x130_sq_1360177203213-cowboy
130x130_sq_1360177205145-creditcard
130x130_sq_1360177207001-doctor
130x130_sq_1360177209011-electricguitar
130x130_sq_1360177211186-fish
130x130_sq_1360177213989-footballcoltsbears
130x130_sq_1360177215522-footballhelmet
130x130_sq_1360177217508-golfbag
130x130_sq_1360177218428-golfball
130x130_sq_1360177219724-google
130x130_sq_1360177221232-grill
130x130_sq_1360177222808-harleydavidson
130x130_sq_1360177223821-initial
130x130_sq_1360177225024-iphone
130x130_sq_1360177226582-jamesbond
130x130_sq_1360177228618-jmugolf
130x130_sq_1360177230256-johndeere
130x130_sq_1360177231847-johndeerecornfield
130x130_sq_1360177233322-johndeerehat
130x130_sq_1360177235082-kayak
130x130_sq_1360177237126-lighthouse
130x130_sq_1360177238183-margaritaville
130x130_sq_1360177239712-minicooper
130x130_sq_1360177240806-poker1
130x130_sq_1360177242321-pokertable
130x130_sq_1360177244075-pooltable
130x130_sq_1360177244989-raiderhelmet
130x130_sq_1360177246719-ravensjersey
130x130_sq_1360177249010-redskinsfield
130x130_sq_1360177250930-redskinsjersey
130x130_sq_1360177252107-redsoxbaseballgrass
130x130_sq_1360177253925-redsoxglove
130x130_sq_1360177255424-redsoxjerseyhat
130x130_sq_1360177257609-saints
130x130_sq_1360177263334-shirtbowtie
130x130_sq_1360177274652-takeout1
130x130_sq_1360177289664-takeout2
130x130_sq_1360177297232-texas
130x130_sq_1360177299326-tiki
130x130_sq_1360177300871-tools
130x130_sq_1360177302911-trainticket
130x130_sq_1360177304613-treestump
130x130_sq_1360177306112-uncswimming
130x130_sq_1360177307380-virginiatech
130x130_sq_1360177309420-zombies

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Groom's Cake
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup, Tastings
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
Do you offer private tastings or open house tastings?
We offer designing and pricing consultations. You can select the cake flavors that you would like to sample. We will give them to you in a box to take home and taste at your leisure.
What are your tasting hours?
Tuesday-Friday afternoons or Saturday mornings.
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
Our cakes are priced buy the serving.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
No, this is our gift to you!
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
Every wedding cake is designed to reflect the brides personality. We take your ideas and combine them with our expertise to design the cake of your dreams.
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
Our cakes are never frozen, so we start the week of the wedding with all the details.
How many cakes do you schedule for a typical weekend?
no more than 3 wedding cakes.
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Yes, often the florist leaves the flowers for us to place on the cake at delivery.
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
We have several cake stands available for rental.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
We do offer delivery and price is based on driving time and distance.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I really enjoyed working with Jeni, who made our cake! She was so sweet and did a great job at helping us pick exactly what we wanted. We got to taste test our top 5 choices (and chose almond vanilla and almond chocolate - YUM). I already had a picture of what I wanted, and she transformed it into exactly that, plus helped us personalize it. I would absolutely recommend her! She was great!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Kalico Kitchen cakes are beautiful and delicious. I had used them previously for another occasion, so for my wedding I went straight to them for my wedding cake without shopping around. I was not disappointed. The cake was a huge success and NOT one slice was left at the end of the day. I had a 4 tier cake and every tier was a different flavor.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1382645235586-p8040627
rusticbride
Wedding:
5/17/2014
4.9/5.0
If you want a very experienced, talented, and communicative cake baker for your wedding day, then you need to give Jeni a call at Kalico Kitchen! She is extremely detail oriented and makes the most BEAUTIFUL cakes. She’s also affordable and you cannot beat the fresh, homemade taste of her cakes! She also does some fantastic work for birthdays, baby showers, etc. Be sure to check her out on Facebook to see all of her latest designs for both weddings and other events. Our wedding was over 2 weeks ago and we are still getting calls/messages about how DELICIOUS her cake tasted, and we even sent some leftovers to work (everyone just HAD to know who she was, by the way, so she may get all sorts of new business!) Put your trust in her hands for your wedding cake and you will NOT be disappointed! We will definitely use her again in the future!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Kalico Kitchen responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review and gracious comments! Your kind words mean a lot to me. If you wouldn't mind sharing a photo of your cake with me, I'd love to use it on my web site or Facebook page. I wish you all the best and will look forward to making future cakes for your celebrations!
Jeni
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
One of my goals while planning my wedding was to use personal referrals and small businesses. I was referred to Kalico Kitchen by my aunt and I am so glad! They were the only bakery we met with because after our first appointment with Jeni I was sold! My husband, parents and I met with Jeni at the home she bake out of and were greeted with 5 different cake samples and two different icing samples. Each cake we tasted was amazing! Full of flavor and so moist! Her fondant (which I normally hate) was even good! We decided on a flavor and then started designing our cake. I had a few ideas and Jeni made them a reality. The cake turned out beautifully and we got so many compliments about how awesome it tasted and looked! I would definitely recommend Jeni and Kalico Kitchen to everyone and will be using them in the future for other events!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elaine
Wedding:
3/1/2014
5.0/5.0
Our cake was beautiful, just as we had pictured. No problems of any kind. Cake was beautiful, displaying of the cake was beautiful and it tasted just as good as it looked.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Jeni and Kalico Kitchen were wonderful to work with. We had a delicious wedding cake and groom's cake, and I was extremely impressed upon seeing it at our reception! There was very little cake left at the end of the night, and it received lots of compliments from our guests. I really loved the Redskins groom's cake done in fondant. The detail on the feathers was beautiful. I would recommend Jeni and Kalico Kitchen to any couple looking for a non-intimidating, family business that delivers beautiful and tasty professional cakes for their wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Molly
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Everything about Kalico was fantastic- from the process to the taste of the cake it was wonderful. We did not have to worry about a thing! They were so friendly and helpful. They really know how to make beautiful delicious cakes!! We recommend them to anyone planning a wedding in the Richmond area.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
An amazing small business team that I would highly recommend to anyone in need of any baked good! Jeni listened to my requests, and the result was far better than I could have imagined. Delicious cake from one of the kindest persons you will ever work with. Everyone at our wedding raved about the cake, and we are still hearing comments two months later about how delicious it was :)

I HIGHLY recommend this small business, and I'm not an easy customer to please!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rhoda
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
The whole experience was wonderful and professional. The cake was beautiful. but even better this is the best wedding cake I have ever tasted. They cook them fresh, not frozen. I have had many requests for who made our cake from wedding guests. I would recommend them highly and plan to use them in the future. Rhoda Mahoney
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1337265921500-fbavatar2437249
Katina
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Kalico Kitchen is wonderful! I had to plan my wedding from another state so I pretty much had to rely on email to communicate with all of my vendors. Jeni was always accessible and very responsive. She was able to bake my dream cake from just reading my descriptions in emails! Not only was the cake adorable, but it was also absolutely divine tasting! Keep in mind, I was never able to do a tasting because I lived out of town. Again, from just descriptions over email, Jeni and I came up with the flavor of the cake. Jeni was reliable and a pleasure to work with. I can’t wait for my one year anniversary when I get to have another taste of her cake, delicious!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katlync
Wedding:
9/18/2011
5.0/5.0
Kalico Kitchen did a great job on our wedding cake! It was exactly what we had asked for and was delicious. I couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful or tasty cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg20
kimberlyajohnston
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
We were impressed by the number of flavor options, and decided on a wedding cake and groom's cake so we could have multiple flavors. We chose Kalico Kitchen for the flavor of the cake, and it was delicious. Prior to the initial consultation, I emailed a picture of my dress and our wedding colors. When we arrived, they already had a computer drawing of the cake with the detail from my dress replicated on the cake. On the day of the wedding, the cakes were beautiful and delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nikisha
Wedding:
6/10/2011
4.6/5.0
Our wedding cake was beautiful and it was delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kzharrison
Wedding:
3/19/2011
5.0/5.0
The cake we chose was very simple in design, but it came out looking so elegant. It was also the tastiest wedding cake I've ever had. I still have dreams about their homemade buttercream icing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Wwnetwork-128
Stephanie
Wedding:
4/24/2010
5.0/5.0
After visiting 3 cake vendors in the Richmond area, we knew right away that Carolyn and Jeni were the right ones for us! The wedding cakes are DELICIOUS and they have virtually any flavor you could want, and they are so flexible and creative with design. Carolyn was also good to share cost cutting suggestions - like having kitchen cakes to serve your guests if you are having a large group and don't necessarily want the decorated wedding cake to be large enough to serve everyone. It was a great idea and also allowed guests to be served even quicker!

Great experience and I would highly recommend Kalico Kitchen!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1213743664934-100_1127
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/3/2009
4.5/5.0
They were great with sitting down and designing our cake based on the theme of our wedding and they actually incorporated the sash on my dress on my wedding cake which I thought was great!
We decided on the lemon and strawberry marble flavored cakes. When we cut into the cake at the reception I was a little surprised to have filling through the middle because I didn't remembered that in the tasting however it was still really good. Of the two flavors I like the strawberry marble better.
The only complaint I have is the communication- we had to book really far in advance because they were filling up fast so I was a little shocked they didn't try to contact me either by phone or e-mail to get final counts/design. I had to call them 2 weeks before the wedding because I had not heard from them to make sure everything was going to be how I wanted it.
Overall, I think they make a great cake for a great price!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kgwilson5
Wedding:
11/1/2008
4.6/5.0
We were referred by a friend who had just gotten married and had a Kalico Kitchen cake. They were affordable and good quality. Cake was not the most important part of our wedding, cake is cake to us. So we did not feel we needed to go to some gourmet place. We chose to simply have 2 layers of chocolate and 2 layers of vanilla with buttercream frosting. Everyone seemed to enjoy it at the wedding. As far as designing the cake went, Carolyn was great to sit down with and immediately drew up a design for us based on the pictures we brought in. She was great at listening to our wants and needs and finding the perfect custom solution for us. She was very flexible when I changed my mind about the design later as well. I highly recommend Kalico Kitchen, they do a great job for a great price.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
fall is for brides
Wedding:
10/12/2008
3.8/5.0
The cakes at Kalico Kitchen are so yummy, and we went with the butter rhum(pundcake). We tried 4 other places before deciding, and really liked the cake flavor and freshness that Kalico had to offer.

You do have to get your order in atleast 3 months in advance. Kalico Kitchen is a mother/daughter operation and they tend to fill up.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monica
Wedding:
9/6/2008
4.9/5.0
Everyone loved our wedding cake. The design was just as we talked about. I was first drawn a picture, then at final payment I was provided with a computer picture of how the cake would look! I would definitely recommend kalico kicthen. I hope to use them for other events.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donna
Wedding:
6/14/2008
5.0/5.0
When I had my cake done at Kalico Kitchen, Jenni was the best! This is my first, "and only", wedding. I went with pattern in hand, flower type and icing flavor. I had seen her cakes previously brought to my job, but never tasted them. When she just drew my cake up freehand, I knew she was the one for me. All the flavors she provided for tasting was excellent! My teenage son and me devoured them all. My husband never tasted the samples, but instead, let me make the decision, as long as he had a vanilla flavor. At the reception, he tasted them and said, "I had made a great choice with Kalico Kitchen." Now it's our 5th Anniversary and I have contacted Jenni once again to do a small replica of that exact cake. I have had nothing but positive connections with Jenni. And most of all, the prices are phenominal!! Thank you so much for making our wedding day so special with a delicious dessert that was enjoyed by all. I know this anniversary will be just as special. Looking forward to many more future business with our baker, "Kalico Kitchen"!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NanPow
Wedding:
6/7/2008
4.2/5.0
My wedding cake turned out even better than I had imagined it could! My fiance (now husband) and I sat down with the owner and designed the cake around the theme of the wedding, the colors and my dress! It was beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
8/5/2006
5.0/5.0
Carolyn did such a beautiful job on my cake and was more reasonable than anyone else around. Additionally, she only agrees to make one or two cakes per weekend, unlike some places that do up to 10 and then can't get them to the venues in time. I would highly, highly recommend Kalico Kitchen!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Kalico Kitchen is the place to go if you want friendly service, personal attention, delicious cake and most importantly a nice experience. The owner met with us personally for a wedding cake tasting and offered creative solutions that suited the simple, rustic look and feel we wanted for our wedding. With all of the fantastic flavor offerings we couldn't decide on just one, so Jeni suggested baking five smaller tiered cakes - lemon, chocolate marble, chocolate fudge, butter almond and butter vanilla. She even had the idea to make the cakes polka dot to fit in with the wedding theme! I was so happy when I saw the cakes, they were extraordinary, delicious, moist and had a nice icing to cake ratio, not to mention the prices easily fit into our tight wedding budget.

Many of our guests are still talking about the cakes almost a year after the wedding. We couldn't be happier with our choice to work with Kalico and highly recommend them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Working with Jeni at Kalico Kitchen was a great experience from start to finish. I had lots of ideas about what I wanted my cake to look like and she was able to help me narrow down my choices and create a vision that I was ultimately in love with. I loved the fact that when we had our consultation she was able to use a software system that would create a virtual 3D image of what the cake would look like. This was a great advantage because I used the picture she created to show my florist and other vendors and they were able to get a feel for the theme of my wedding. We loved every flavor that we tried at the tasting so it was hard to pick, but we went with Almond Butter Cream and it was amazing! So many of our guest told me that it was the best wedding cake they had ever had. The fondant that Kalico Kitchen uses if nothing like other fondants I have had. It's was not thick and gummy, it was creamy and was delicious! Along with the great tasting cake, we received excellent service. Jeni showed up at our reception to drop the cake off on time and my planner said she was very easy to work with. The cake looked exactly like I thought it would and it was beautiful and elegant. I have already referred Kalico Kitchen to my friend who is planning her wedding and I know she will be just as happy as we were. If you are planning a wedding in the Richmond area I would definitely recommend a consultation. You won't be disappointed!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sk668
Wedding:
6/24/2000
5.0/5.0
Kalico Kitchen is wonderful! The woman is an artist. She took a picture of my wedding gown and repilicated the design on the wedding cake. And let's talk taste. I have never in my life had a cake that tasted so heavenly!
Services Used: Wedding Cake

DEALS

10% off the base price of your wedding cake!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Mention "Wedding Wire" during your booking and receive 10% off the base price of your wedding cake!
Deal #WW3649ee8817f59cd0
220x220_1360164964014-1293731505680holly009

MAP

 
Glen Allen, VA See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Kalico Kitchen
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1360164964014-1293731505680holly009