130x130_sq_1395250438164-richard-harrell-photography-00

Kapok Special Events

Clearwater , FL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

923 N. McMullen Booth Rd.
Clearwater, FL US 33756 (map)

PHONE

727-725-8733

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Our Special Events Center & Gardens facility is one of the most unique and elegant special event venues in the Southeastern United States. Our facilities are one-of-a-kind, and able to... Read more
Our Special Events Center & Gardens facility is one of the most unique and elegant special event venues in the Southeastern United States. Our facilities are one-of-a-kind, and able to accommodate any event in rare, Old World style.

We're conveniently located just minutes from Tampa International Airport, St. Pete/Clearwater Airport,Ruth Eckerd Hall, and the major arteries of West Central Florida.

Kapok Gardens

As you enter the Kapok Gardens, you'll think you've been whisked away into an enchanted dream. Massive Italian fountains and statuary will greet you — leading the way through beautifully-landscaped greenery to a hidden lagoon overlooking the Grand Ballroom.

Grand Ballroom

Replete with European splendor, the Grand Ballroom is the centerpiece of our wonderful facility — featuring an enormous chandelier, an elegant Grand Entry staircase, and a large balcony overlooking lush tropical gardens. The Grand Ballroom will add an awesome ambience to your gathering.

Florida Room Chapel

This beautiful room is perfect for wedding ceremonies. Watch your dreams come true under the gorgeous canopy of chandeliers and domed lighting.

The Florida Room also serves well as a dance floor, or as a staging area, for larger events.

Regency Lounge

The stately Regency Lounge serves as a beverage center and pre-event waiting room during most events at the Kapok. Its mirrored bar and golden pyramid ceiling will set the tone for your event in a most elegant way.

Grape Room

This quaint room features a serene atmosphere, enhanced by beautiful overheard grapevine lighting. The Grape Room is a great place for a children's area — and serves perfectly as a buffet room during larger events.

Contact Us Now to Book Your Special Event!

727-725-8733

kapokspecialevents@yahoo.com Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1395943144657-photo-
130x130_sq_1395940846091-photo-
130x130_sq_1395943131884-photo-
130x130_sq_1395943152525-photo-
130x130_sq_1395943164029-photo-
130x130_sq_1384440397395-kapo
130x130_sq_1379447902212-kapok-special-event-center-garden-cermony4
130x130_sq_1379447921671-kapok-special-event-center-garden-grand-ballroom11
130x130_sq_1379447896724-kapok-special-event-center-garden-ceremony
130x130_sq_1379447893701-kapok-special-event-center-garden-ballroom10
130x130_sq_1379448139713-photosmall-10
130x130_sq_1379447899656-kapok-special-event-center-garden-ceremony3
130x130_sq_1379447906530-kapok-special-event-center-garden-garden
130x130_sq_1379448153999-facilitiesstatuary2
130x130_sq_1379448152341-facilitiesgardenwall
130x130_sq_1379448150745-facilitiesballroom
130x130_sq_1379447913631-kapok-special-event-center-garden-garden5
130x130_sq_1379447884597-kapok-special-event-center-garden-ballroom4
130x130_sq_1379447887272-kapok-special-event-center-garden-ballroom5
130x130_sq_1379447917529-kapok-special-event-center-garden-grand-ballroom3
130x130_sq_1379447889784-kapok-special-event-center-garden-ballroom8
130x130_sq_1239985579656-kapokslideshow001
130x130_sq_1239985519937-kapokslideshow003
130x130_sq_1239985759234-kapokslideshow006
130x130_sq_1239985855203-kapokslideshow023
130x130_sq_1239986070875-kapokslideshow024
130x130_sq_1239986133968-kapokslideshow035
130x130_sq_1239986161843-kapokslideshow027
130x130_sq_1239986255109-kapokslideshow039
130x130_sq_1239986257578-kapokslideshow040
130x130_sq_1239986358531-kapokslideshow042
130x130_sq_1239986363640-kapokslideshow041
130x130_sq_1239986472078-kapokslideshow046
130x130_sq_1239986544734-kapokslideshow047
130x130_sq_1239986547234-kapokslideshow048
130x130_sq_1239986612203-kapokslideshow049
130x130_sq_1239986639062-kapokslideshow050
130x130_sq_1239986695796-kapokslideshow051
130x130_sq_1239986714437-kapokslideshow052
130x130_sq_1239986742109-kapokslideshow054
130x130_sq_1239986805609-kapokslideshow055
130x130_sq_1239986869328-joshweddingcd001
130x130_sq_1239986963375-kapokslideshow056
130x130_sq_1239987027625-joshweddingcd006
130x130_sq_1239987074609-joshweddingcd007
130x130_sq_1239987097984-joshweddingcd011
130x130_sq_1239987129000-joshweddingcd015
130x130_sq_1384438691087-wedding-15
130x130_sq_1384440762004-wedding-16
130x130_sq_1384440783514-wedding-21
130x130_sq_1384440802344-wedding-21
130x130_sq_1384440822162-wedding-22
130x130_sq_1384440838598-wedding-27
130x130_sq_1384440857005-wedding-13
130x130_sq_1395243119108-richard-harrell-photography-000
130x130_sq_1395243151273-richard-harrell-photography-000
130x130_sq_1395243207250-richard-harrell-photography-001
130x130_sq_1395243234074-richard-harrell-photography-001
130x130_sq_1395243265978-richard-harrell-photography-001
130x130_sq_1395243325674-richard-harrell-photography-001
130x130_sq_1395243360054-richard-harrell-photography-002
130x130_sq_1395243393955-richard-harrell-photography-002
130x130_sq_1395243428435-richard-harrell-photography-002
130x130_sq_1395243462295-richard-harrell-photography-002
130x130_sq_1395243496334-richard-harrell-photography-002
130x130_sq_1395243528185-richard-harrell-photography-002
130x130_sq_1395243561358-richard-harrell-photography-002
130x130_sq_1395243598047-richard-harrell-photography-002
130x130_sq_1395243631355-richard-harrell-photography-003
130x130_sq_1395248180367-richard-harrell-photography-007
130x130_sq_1395248211904-richard-harrell-photography-007
130x130_sq_1395248577891-richard-harrell-photography-008
130x130_sq_1395248640995-richard-harrell-photography-008

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1950
When was your venue last renovated?
2013
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall
Describe the style of your venue
Garden / Romantic, Glamorous
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
1000
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
6
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
3500
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jacqueline
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
I absolutely love this venue! The first time I saw it, I knew I had to get married here.

Nancy and Rande were very helpful and were always quick to respond to my many questions - big or small - all the way up to the wedding day. And they were very helpful the day of the wedding to help out with little details. And Sergio was awesome to work with too, and very attentive.

The guests LOVED the venue, it's just such a beautiful place, I don't know how anyone could not fall in love with the place.

The only complaint I had from both guests and vendors was that it was extremely hot inside. Although it was a little uncomfortable, I still give them 5 stars because a little heat did not ruin my day! I still had the wedding of my dreams :)

I absolutely 100% recommend this venue! Thank you Nancy, Rande and Sergio!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1391655041234-p101088
Josh & Jen
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Nancy is absolutely fabulous!!! She is on top of every little detail and makes sure that every one is where they need to be and at the right time. She ensures that the wedding moves along as it should, in a timely manner, while letting the bride and groom fully enjoy themselves. I would not change ONE thing about our wedding, it was absolutely the most magical and special evening of my life!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Amazing Amazing people and venue. My guest are still talking about how gorgeous our venue was! The Kapok itself really is a perfect place to have a wedding. You can get ready there, your ceremony can be there and your reception. You do not have to drive place to place for ceremony and reception therefore you save lots of time. The convenience for you, your guest and your photographer is really unbeatable. It is so exclusive so you will not have random people walking around while your having your wedding like you would have at a hotel or public venue. Nancy knows the best of the best people to work with. I took all of her advice for the vendors that I hired (decorator, caterer, photographer, DJ, etc.) and I am SO very glad that I did. She nailed it. I was very careful at selecting where I was going to get married. I am picky and every detail of the venue mattered to me. I could not of made a better choice. Everything truly was incredible. If you have not been to this venue then I highly recommend checking it out because it speaks for itself. Nancy (the kapok coordinator) was like a mom for me through all my planning, the rehearsal and the wedding day. She took me step by step and guided me through every detail of my wedding. I honest to God really do know how I would have managed without her at any other venue. I am VERY glad, happy, and extremely pleased that I had my wedding here.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Arian
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
Nancy and Randee were fantastic every step of the way! So accommodating to all of our requests and provided fantastic service! Not to mention they are both incredibly sweet and talented women :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bobbi
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
The venue is a memorable spot and the entire day was perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyssa
Wedding:
3/8/2014
5.0/5.0
Kapok worked amazingly with our military wedding. Randy and Nancy were more then accommodating! Everything ran smoothly! It was perfect!!!!!! Better than imagined!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
3/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Hands down the most unique and personalized venue in the Tampa Bay area.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jennifer
Wedding:
2/22/2014
5.0/5.0
We have to thank Nancy and Suda for making Jennifer and Nickolas' wedding a fairytale dream come true! Nancy found us the best vendors, her favorite line was "what can you do for my bride?" Everything about that day was perfect! We have been getting calls, text messages, and comments on facebook about just how wonderful the wedding was! The Kapok was so elegant, and beautiful. All the staff were so professional and helpful. It was amazing watching the ballroom transform into a magical Cinderella ball. Jennifer wanted a venue where she was the only bride. We like that we could have the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception all in one building. We had to whole place to ourselves all day. Suda took control, contacting all the vendors the week of to take the stress off of me. She had a time schedule which kept everything and everyone of track and on time. Everything went so smoothly! We felt more like we were family than just clients. We love you Nancy and Suda! Thank you for making our bride feel like a real princess!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1390137654573-154516310151943673979563333019570
Brooke
Wedding:
12/26/2013
5.0/5.0
I can not say enough about the Kapok Tree. I was absolutely perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marybeth
Wedding:
12/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Quality of service with attention to detail , excellent.!
Responsiveness and Professionalism was outstanding . Nancy is warm friendly as is Rande , both explained in detail services and went above and beyond my expectation. I was treated with kindness & respect , like a dear friend .
Great value - though very reasonable , how do you put a price on The Atmosphere,Old World Charm , & Magic portrayed in an Evening event at the Kapok! My Guest 's were awe struck.!. Best wedding ever attended, " they said!". It takes Days to come down from the Magic!!
Flexibility.- never an issue, from dropping table arrangements & favors off 5 days early, to scheduling rehearsal the day before, all went smooth.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Linda
Wedding:
11/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Loved working with Nancy Hall and Rande Weissman. The Kapok was the perfect Venue for our daughters wedding. Nancy was amazing with her recommendations and ideas, she put it all into action and helped us give our daughter the wedding of her dreams. I would highly recommend Nancy and Rande. A lot of transformations were taking place at the venue over the last 6 months, all of which only enhanced the beauty of the Kapok. Truly an amazing place and wonderful people to work with!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dennise
Wedding:
11/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Loved the way Nancy handled MANY big mistakes that others made there at Kapok tree. a few weeks before my wedding they changed the look of the place was not what I fell in love with was not what I signed my contract to, I was told MINOR changes will be made to enhance the look of the Kapok Tree when I saw the place literately weeks before my wedding I feel apart was not what I DREAMED of!! Thanks to Nancy changing as much back as she could she saved my day, she also went above and beyond the her job title she personalized my runner helped with extra special decorating and made me feel like she was a surrogate Mom trying to make sure every detail was as special as it could be, she showed all of our guests a wonderful time and made each one feel special. I wish they where all LIKE Nancy this is how a Bride should be made to feel on her day!!! Thank You Nancy we LOVE YOU....God Bless...
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
10/27/2013
5.0/5.0
They did a beautiful job! The venue looked wonderful, everything on their end ran smoothly, and they were very easy to work with. We are very happy with our decision to hold our wedding there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/25/2013
5.0/5.0
ahhhhh-mazing i must say. My wedding was October 25,2013, and it was all i ever dreamed of. I must say Nancy was great she was even on the floor decorating the isle with flowers it was soo nice! Suda my day of was the most i could ever ask for i will recommend her to everyone! She made sure everyone did everything they were suppose to. Kapok does everything the bride and groom wants plus more all of our guest were amazed with the facility.
I couldnt be happier with Kapok special events.
Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Once again this year Girls Inc of Pinellas had our Annual Father Daughter Ball at the magical Kapok Pavilion. 540 dads and daughters had an unbelievable experience in great part thanks to Nancy and her team. She is ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE to work with and is a true supporter of nonprofits in our community. Her commitment to providing quality service is beyond the rating of 5. I would recommend this venue to anyone planning a function that they want to be an unforgettable experience in a unique setting.
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Everything went so smooth the day of my wedding thanks to Nancy and Suda. The kapok was a great venue and I would definitely would recommend it to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julio
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Hi, I am the Father of the bride (the guy who paid for everything). I loved that this place was all inclusive. From the big parking lot, to the cocktail lounge, ceremony hall and ballroom style reception-everything flowed smoothly. I was a little concerned at first when I first went there because things looked a little 'dusty' when we checked the place out but NOT an issue. A couple of days before the event they polished the whole place up and it looked fabulous. The place has many spots that were perfect for wedding photos. The staff was very courteous and knew their business. All the guests commented on how gorgeous the place was and figured I really went all out on providing a great place for my daughter that must have cost me an arm and a leg! It was only an arm, but they don't need to know that. If you're looking for a place that has it all and will be perfect for pictures, this is it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1376494085662-1150155101516395545495631396787232n
Laura
Wedding:
8/8/2013
5.0/5.0
The Kapok Special Events was absolutely wonderful, it was the most beautiful wedding I could have ever wanted for my daughter and I couldn't be happier with the pleasure and ease of working with Nancy & Suda they made everything so wonderful, smooth sailing all the way. I would definitely recommend the Kapok to anyone.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Great, staff and excellent service.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary Anne
Wedding:
7/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Best wedding ever. Everything came into place at the last minute thanks to Suda and Nancy for all their help to make sure everything ran smoothly and beautifully. I was a little unorganized towards the wedding day lol. All my guests are still talking about our wedding day how beautiful and lovely everything looked. I highly recommend kapok event center best venue for weddings in the Tampa area. I like to thank Nancy and Suda for everything they did to make my day special, it was like a dream come true wedding thank you so much everthing :-)
Services Used: Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ASHLEE
Wedding:
6/27/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I without a doubt would HIGHLY recommend the Kapok for any event. Our wedding turned out beautiful and it would not have been if it was not for the help of Nancy. She made our very special day turn out beautiful and we could not thank her enough. The wedding planner we hired turned out to be very inexperienced and seemed to have really no idea what she was doing. Nancy kind of took over, and thank goodness she did because I don't know how it would have turned out without her. She put together our sweetheart table herself because the only thing my coordinator did was lay a table cloth across it(which the table cloth didn't even cover the table :/ ) but that is a whole other review. Hands down Nancy and the Kapok staff is just AMAZING. If we had to do it all over again then we would have just hired Nancy as our coordinator :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheryl
Wedding:
5/5/2013
5.0/5.0
The venue was just beautiful, Nancy made my wedding day the most amazing and beautiful day that I could ever imagine. She went above and beyond and it showed through her work. I highly recommend this venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kalyn
Wedding:
2/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Nancy at the Kapok it amazing! We knew it was the place for our big day right after meeting with her! She worked with us to make it fit within our budget and did everything she could to accommodate our wishes for our big day. She is truly an expert in the wedding industry and gave me ideas for things I hadn’t even thought of. She made sure that our wedding was everything we had ever dreamed of and MORE! She was there throughout our entire night making sure everything went off without a hiccup. Everyone had been telling me that no matter what just expect for something to go wrong, well I kept waiting… and waiting. I don’t think I had one thing go wrong all thanks to Nancy! Afterwards everyone told me that it was best wedding they had ever been to! During the ceremony even the guy’s eyes got watery! We couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful wedding. Nancy knows her stuff and the Kapok is an amazing backdrop for your big day, there is no place like it. My pictures look like they are from a Disney Fairytale! No other place compares to Nancy and the Kapok. If I had to do it all over again I wouldn’t change a thing. Thank you to Nancy and the Kapok to making our dreams come true!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
This is the most unique and beautiful venue EVER!! I have always wanted to get married here and it finally happened! During the Christmas season, they will decorate the venue with holiday decorations and it was absolutely perfect for my December wedding. Nancy did such a great job decorating and helping me plan everything throughout the process. She goes above and beyond for her brides!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1239902522515-17fe7600
Suda
Wedding:
2/4/2006
5.0/5.0
Kapok Special Events was an absolutely beautiful place to hold our wedding. Their staff was impeccable in the quality and service and assistance they gave me to plan my special day. The manager, Nancy, was excellent in her knowledge of her facility and wedding coordination, and helped me to fine tune everything for my special day so that it all ran smoothly. Her guidance of all the little details that I hadn't event thought of, made for a beautiful evening, without the chaos that can often accompany a large event. My 350 guests are still talking to this day of the beautiful location, charm and wonder of our wedding event. They keep asking when we are going to hold an anniversary party there! And my guests, my husband and I can't wait to return!!! The facility is stunning in its old world charm and the grand ballroom and gardens were beautiful for photos, videos and long lasting memories of our wedding. The opportunity to shoot my Bridal photo on the empty ballroom floor ahead of the wedding was as exciting as preparing for my special day and I really appreciated all of the extra help she gave me. She even offered me hundreds of votives to place around the hall, and I had to do was supply the candles. All the extras they offered we're great and the venue is excellent for the cost, allowing us the entire facility for the day of our wedding, greatly helping with set up and preparations. It's nice to have the whole facility for your special day as it really makes you and your guests feel like Royalty in a great palace!! They even supplied dozens of tiki torches in the gardens and all I had to do was supply a little torch fuel, they did the rest...filled them, placed them and lit them for a beautiful torch lit background for our guests as they entered and relaxed in the sprawling gardens sprinkled with dozens of beautiful greek mythology statues and columns that creates such a romantic setting to any event. My husband, family and I would all highly recommend Kapok to any Bride who would like to feel like a princess and her family like royalty on your special day!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1348714433987-img0704a
Julie
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
The Kapok is AMAZING!! Nancy is "over the top" in resources and ideas!!
I always dreamed of having a beautiful wedding, but never did I visualize just how classy and fantastic it could actually be!!
Nancy and her team really went out of their way to make our dreams come true...and then, some that I never even dreamed of!!
Thank you so much!! Our day was a fairy tale come true!! Xox!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Valerie
Wedding:
5/4/2012
5.0/5.0
What a breathtaking venue. Nancy Hall was always on hand to keep things running smoothly and to provide 'wisdom' when required. Worth every penny.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Vanessa
Wedding:
4/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Nancy is the best! Dream come true Wedding! Everything was perfect and stressfree, the venue is gorgeous,and the service was excellent. Highly recommend for every Bride.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
11/19/2011
5.0/5.0
We wanted to find a venue that could provide ceremony and reception in the same location, It also had reasonable alcohol pricing. Nancy the manager and Suda the wedding coordinator made our night!! We had hired an outside wedding coordinator who turned out to be a nightmare. Nancy and Suda took over and made the event a night to remember for everyone!! It is a little pricey but worth every penny. Our photos turned out amazing in this venue!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
djacob
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Kapok was a beautiful place to have my wedding. Nancy Hall was so flexible and accommodating. They truly make you feel special and are eager to help. I would also recommend Suda for a wedding planner. She clearly loves what she does and is very good at it. She was a great help and incredibly kind.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MichelleWaring
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
I am sooooooo incredibly happy that I had my wedding at Kapok Special Events! My wedding turned out absolutely beautiful and I received so many compliments it is unbelieveable. The venue was so clean and perfectly set up. The atmosphere is amazing with all the statues and decorations. The ceremony room is beautiful and the reception room is the best I have ever seen. Nancy Hall is great to work with and she is always happy and will do anything she can to help out her brides. Nancy really worked with me and my budget and I cannot even convey how happy we am that we had our wedding at Kapok.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chantelts
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
From the very first time I stepped into the Kapok, I knew that my dream wedding would occur there. The Kapok is absolutely gorgeous and as soon as I met the event coordinator, Nancy Hall, that was it. Nancy welcomed me and took me in as if I was like her own family. She was there for me through the whole process. She went above and beyond for me and if it was not for her, I would not have had the wedding I had. She knew just the right photographer, cater and coordinator (Luisa Salas- who is absolutely wonderful and was there for me for everything and I could not have imagined my day without her!!)to make my day be aboslutely amazing and breathtaking! It was well worth every dime I spent and I am still amazed at how beautiful my wedding was! The staff is amazing and they are there for you no matter how many times you visit and how many questions you have! They are very professional and believe every wedding should be treated as if that wedding is the only wedding to ever occur. Thank you Nancy for helping me and treating me like I was your daughter.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1309987499405-261552101011032316916612042720795237867216788n
serena
Wedding:
6/16/2011
5.0/5.0
KAPOK IS ABSOLUTLEY THE B-E-S-T!!!! The venue is beautiful and the people who work there are the best. nancy helped make my day so special and stress-free. she will go above and beyond to make you happy. also all the people they recomend for catering floral dj etc. all work together and know each other well to make everything go smoothly on your special day. nancy works so hard to make everything beautiful. Not to mention she is there anytime you need her. if you havent gone and seen this venue it is worth going to and BOOKING!!! MY wedding was absolutley beautiful and people are still talking about how elegant this venue is. THANK YOU SO MUCH KAPOK (NANCY)!!!!!! YOU ARE ALL SUCH GREAT PEOPLE TO WORK WITH!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Big Cat Advocate
Wedding:
4/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Having been born and raised in the Tampa Bay area I've had the pleasure of visiting the Kapok Tree Restaurant during its heralded prime in the 60's/70's and 80's.

In 1983 my wife and I enjoyed the pleasure of conducting our wedding reception at this magnificent establishment, splendid memories that we continue to hold close today.

I'm delighted to say that just recently I called upon Nancy and the wonderful folks at the Kapok Special Events to assist me with a combination surprise 50th birthday party for my wife as well as celebration of our 28th wedding anniversary.

The difference between our celebration of 1983 and 2011 was that I wanted to plan a surprise eloquent evening for just the two of us and Nancy and her colleagues helped to my dream a reality.

Nancy and staff attended to every detail in preparation of our special evening. Candles, Linens, Tiki Torches to our original wedding album awaiting us on a pedestal in the Grape Room to our private table in the Grand Ballroom, underneath the magnificent chandelier. there was no detail left unattended.

Catered by our friends at Rigatoni's in Tampa (thank you Sonia!) we enjoyed an evening of not only visual and culinary splendor, but also musical thanks to Jessica Cardwell, our wonderful harpist.

As my lovely bride of 28 years and I strolled into magnificent courtyard, Nancy and her colleagues had arranged for not only rose petals to be strewn along the path, but our wedding song to be played as we began our evening of "Forever Memories".

Coleen and I have celebrated many occasions in numerous fashions over the past 28 years but never before, and I'm quite confident never again will we ever be able to recreate the heartfelt memories of this magical evening.

To Nancy and all our friends at the Kapok Special Events.....we will be forever grateful.

With warmest appreciation,

Jeff and Coleen Kremer
Tampa, Fl.
Services Used: Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marcela
Wedding:
4/9/2011
5.0/5.0
I had two wedding ceremonies in one day. My second wedding ceremony (Hindu) and reception was held at this venue. I was 100% pleased with the level of professional of all the employees of this venue. The cosmetic appeal of this venue is absolutely stunning. It is a large venue so it allows for so many ideas and planning strategies. I recommend this venue HIGHLY!! I had an amazing time!! I also want to say that I used Mrs. Lakshmi Sastry as our Indian wedding planner. She was very nice, attentive, and professional. She made my dream of fusing my Catholic backround with my husband's Hindu backround a dream come true!!! You can reach her at 813-728-6274! Mrs. Sonia Barcena of Rigatoni's Italian Restaurant; is whom I used for catering. She is also an amazing kind individual; very puntual and attentive. Contact them at 813-870-7000!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LUISA MARTINEZ
Wedding:
4/1/2011
5.0/5.0
The Kapok is absolutely perfect!!!!!! My wedding was a dream came true, the place is magic. Nancy made sure everything was flawless through the whole process. The day before the wedding it was a really bad storm, by the next day Nancy made sure the Gardens were absolutely perfect for the wedding. I am very pleased with everything.

Everyone at the Kapok are amazing, specially Nancy..... she's professional, caring and just knows it all when it comes to weddings.

I highly recommend the kapok!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
victom
Wedding:
11/27/2010
5.0/5.0
I LOVE KAPOK PAVILLION! You must check it out! This is the place where my dream wedding came true! From the first day my mother and I walked into the gardens, and then the grand ballroom, I KNEW! The most unique, gorgeous, breathtaking wedding venue I had ever seen was right before my eyes! My one and only wish when I began the wedding planning process was to get married somewhere "different". Somewhere that would be absolutely memorable to myself, my husband, and our guests. I did not want the typical hotel conference room with four walls and a flat ceiling! I dreamt of unique and different. I surely found that at Kapok! I wanted to feel like a princess and I surely did. The european gardens, outdoor fountains, marble floors, enormous chandalier, and grand red stair case made my dream wedding come true!

We met Nancy the first time that we entered the Kapok and she made all of our dreams happen. I listened to her when she recommended different vedors. I called and met with many of the vendors that she recommended and they were all amazing. I had never planned a wedding in my life so I had no idea where to begin. I listened to Nancy from day one and she never steered me in the wrong direction. She knew exactly what suited my needs, and everything just fell into place! Anytime I called the Kapok Nancy was there to awnser any questions I had and listened to all my ideas! She made me feel so happy and confident inside. Without her help I wouldnt have had the best wedding ever!

Suda was another top-notch wedding coordinator who we worked closely with. She was extremely organized and contacted myself freqently regarding my wedding plans as well as all of my vendors before the wedding day. Suda made sure everything was perfect. Suda and Nancy were even there the night of my wedding making sure every last detail was perfected! I felt like they were my family. Every time I walked into the kapok in the months leading up to my wedding, I was greeted by Nancy and/or Suda with hugs, smiles, and open arms! They are awesome!

Weeks after the wedding myself, my husband, and my family are still receiving emails and phone calls from our guests all saying "that was the most beautiful wedding we have EVER been to".....AND THAT WAS THE RESPONSE I DREAMT OF!

I reccommend Kapok Pavillion to anybody who wishes the most romantic, unique, and memorable wedding day of their life!

Victoria and Jerry T.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1267062723223-092
Bianca
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I found Kapok Special Events online and absolutley fell in love, although we never thought that it was possible for us to get married there, Nancy made everything possible. The venue is breathtaking and more unique than any other venue I have ever seen. Looking back on our wedding we would not have changed anything. Our families are still talking about how Kapok was the most beautiful wedding they had ever been to. Nancy helped us plan our wedding from day one, she has wonderful ideas and can bring your vision to reality :) What can I say! We were all more than satisfied with the venue and would recommend any one to have there wedding here.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Charissa
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Where do I began? My husband wanted to renew our vows and have a really nice wedding. Our search for a Venue was a task, until I came across the Kapok. Upon visiting the Kapok, I spoke with Jeremy several times on the phone and he was so polite and offered much assistnce in making my husband's dream wedding come true.
My first initial visit to the Kapok was a breathe-taking experience. My husband could not come, so his Aunte and I visited. When I saw the place, I knew my husband would love it, and he did... As well as me and everyone I told to visit the web-site.
Meeting Nancy was such a joy, she was very helpful and offered much help to us. She even went the extra mile to make sure my day was perfect! Hats off to all of her staff who did everything possible to make our day an eventful and memorable one... Thank you and God Bless!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Charissa
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I had our "Big Wedding" at Kapok in 2010. I can't express how much gratitude I have for Nancy who made sure that our day was a memorable and special day. We were treated with the upmost respect and with roayalty standards. From the time that we walked into the courtyard to the entrance of the Kapok Tree, I knew that this was the place for our special day. Everything was perfect! Nancy and the staff of Kapok went the extra mile in making the place spectacular, even paitning the statues outside with a fresh coat of paint. I was a happy bride from start to finish!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gail, Director of Special Events
Wedding:
6/22/2010
5.0/5.0
We used the Kapok Tree for a charitable award dinner and the venue was perfect! The grand staircase and the garden view from the dining room were a delight to our guests, who complimented our choice of venue for this annual event.Nancy was the absolute best to work with. She gave us excellent service, with a smile and a "can do" attitude. This is the second time we are at the Kapok Tree and Nancy's professionalism and standard of excellence are the main reasons we returned to this beautiful facility. Thank you!!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
5/14/2010
5.0/5.0
The Kapok was the perfect location for our wedding. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with open arms from both Nancy and Jeremy. The two of them made our entire wedding experience wonderful. They were both very friendly, professional, and helpful to say the least. Throughout the wedding we had many guests tell us how beautiful the Kapok was and how great Nancy and Jeremy were. Naturally the day of the wedding we were both stressed out, but these two made sure that we were at ease. The staff at Kapok far exceeded our expectations! Now a month later we still have guests talking about our wedding and how they had such a great time. All we wanted from the results of our wedding was for our guest to have a good time, and I truly believe that Nancy, Jeremy and the entire staff made that lasting impression on our guests and ourselves. Thank you Kapok for making our wedding day dreams come true!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
meaganknoop
Wedding:
4/3/2010
5.0/5.0
From the first moment I walked into the Kapok Tree I knew I wanted my wedding there. The event coordinator, Nancy Hall, could not have been more helpful. She went above and beyond for me again and again. I showed her pictures of the ideas I had and she made everything happen. All my life I dreamed of a wedding that was romantic, filled with dim lights and candles. I was blown away by how beautiful the ceremony and reception were. It was more that I had ever imagined.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1246160397729-cimg2503
Delia
Wedding:
3/20/2010
5.0/5.0
The Kapok was a great! First of all, what a beautiful place?! Nancy really took ownership of making sure things went smoothly at both the rehearsal and wedding. She put as much attention towards our event as I believe she would have for her own flesh and blood. Thanks for making it so special!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marmoura
Wedding:
1/9/2010
5.0/5.0
I just had my wedding 3 weeks ago at the kapok and i loved my whole experience there. Nancy and Jermy are the best they helped me out so much especially nancy was giving me all these great and ideas and options that really made everything go great. Honestly they made my day perfect i would not ask for more great reception, and great management
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrsanderson152010
Wedding:
1/5/2010
5.0/5.0
My dream wedding! Everything was stunning! We needed flexabilty and that was what we got and more! Every promise Nancy made was held and went above and beyond all of our expectations! We relied heavily on Nancy and her suggestions and they all came out to be great! The caterer she suggested was right on point! All Events did a wonderful job! Thanks again for everything!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vmoldinado
Wedding:
12/20/2009
5.0/5.0
Nancy and her staff were a dream to work with! Nancy was more than happy to answer any and all of our questions. She also reffered us to our caterer and photographer. We were more than pleased with both! All Events Catering was her recomendation and we were so thrilled with all of the options that Adam and his staff provided! The food was GREAT and we were so please with the wait staff and their professionalism! Thanks Nancy! Great job!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
11/25/2009
5.0/5.0
We had our ceremony and reception at the Kapok and could not have asked for a better vendor!!!!!! Nancy, Jeremy, and staff are absolutely wonderful and EXTREMELY helpful!!! They went above and beyond to assist us with finding great vendors and giving us beautiful ideas. We hired Nancy as our day-of coordinator and she is SUPERB!!!!!!! I highly recommend hiring her because she made the day run so smoothly and even went above and beyond, making special decorations and paying extreme attention to detail. We LOVE the Kapok!!!!!!!! It made for an absolutely gorgeous wedding!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg3
luis.morales
Wedding:
11/14/2009
5.0/5.0
"This is the best wedding I have ever seen;" "This place is like a dream;" "I went to a fabulous wedding in New Jersey once, but it doesn't come close to how beautiful this one." These are just a handful of the many wonderful comments I heard from family and friends that attended my daughter's wedding on 14 Nov at Kapok. From the beautiful outdoor fountains and waterfalls to the elegant columns and statues all around, Kapok provides a wonderful mediterranean ambiance fit for royalty. Management and staff worked diligently to ensure every single detail was perfect and never hesitated to "adapt" to last minute changes. You will not find a better wedding venue in this area.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
keli
Wedding:
11/6/2009
5.0/5.0
This is such an amazing place to get married!!!!!!!!!! Nancy and jeremy are such great people to work with. Nancy makes you feel like you are the only bride every time you walk in the door!!!!!! The atmosphere is amazing. Highly recommend to any one looking for an event place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hornsleth
Wedding:
10/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Kapok Events is where every bride would have her wedding, if they just go and visit in person. Nancy and Jeremy were absolutely wonderful. Their decor and grounds are so beautiful you just don't need to fritter away thousands on flowers or drapes or ANYTHING! The Kapok venue will save you thousands, in flowers alone.. Nancy and Jeremy cared about our wedding as much as we did. We stopped in unannounced numerous times and they always welcomed us. We had guests telling us that it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever been to. I don't think they were just being polite-they truly felt that way. One of our friends is a professional photographer (he owns the rights to many of Marilyn Monroe's photographs taken by his father, who's footsteps he has followed). He said he has been to hundreds of weddings, from coast to coast-including some very posh events. He said he had never seen such a beautiful venue and the attention to every detail was phenomenal! Thank you to you, Nancy and Jeremy, for you worked so hard for so many months to make this a day our guests will never forget.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1256799410536-145368859710448498844737497740462535108n
peanuts00
Wedding:
10/16/2009
5.0/5.0
Our wedding at The Kapok was truly amazing! We were able to choose our vendors to suit our ideas and needs which added a personal touch. Looking at our beautiful pictures and videos always puts a smile on our face knowing that our guests enjoyed every minute of our special day as much as we did. From the cute and short ceremony to the endless conga line a few hours and drinks later, everything went better than planned. However, the day would have been a hot mess if it wasn't for Nancy and her staff. Nancy was just a phone call away whenever I needed her and she would always say the right things I needed to hear.
Thank you Nancy, you were like a second mom.
Alina ..and Jaime of course =)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sarah
Wedding:
9/27/2009
5.0/5.0
I HAVE TO SAY FROM THE MOMENT YOU WALK INTO THIS VENUE UNTIL THE MOMENT YOU LEAVE AS MAN AND WIFE, YOU FEEL AS THOUGH YOUR IN A DREAM. NANCY AND JEREMY WILL HOLD YOUR HAND AND WALK YOU THROUGH EVERY PIECE OF YOUR WEDDING. FROM DAY ONE THEY HELPED US WITH EVERYTHING WE NEEDED, THEIR RECOMMENDATIONS WERE PERFECT. NANCY THOUGHT OF SO MANY THINGS WHICH NEVER CROSSED MY MIND. IT WOULD HAVE BEEN IMPOSSIBLE TO GO THROUGH OUR DREAM DAY WITHOUT THESE THINGS. NANCY MADE SURE EVERY PIECE OF MY DRESS AND MYSELF :) WAS IN PLACE BEFORE I WALKED DOWN THE ISLE. AND EVEN AT THE MOMENTS I WANTED TO LOOSE IT BOTH SHE AND JEREMY WERE RIGHT AT MY SIDE TO DEFUSE THE SITUATION AND TAKE CARE OF EVERYTHING SO I NEEDN'T WORRY ON MY DAY. THE VENUE WAS BEAUTIFUL, AND EVEN MORE BREATHTAKING IN PHOTOS. MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS ARE STILL RAVING ON WHAT A BEAUTIFUL WEDDING MY HUSBAND AND I HAD. NANCY AND JEREMY ARE BOTH SO AMAZING, THE KAPOK GARDENS, BALLROOM, ENTIRE VENUE AND FEEL ALL COMBINED GIVE THE DAY A FEELING THAT IS INCOMPARABLE TO ANYTHING ANY OTHER VENUE HAD TO OFFER US (AND WE LOOKED EVERYWHERE). THE MEMORIES THIS VENUE AND THE STAFF ENABLED US TO HAVE WILL ALWAYS BE WITH MY HUSBAND AND I. THANK YOU THANK YOU TO ALL OF KAPOK, THE CATERERS, AND PHOTOGRAPHERS. BY THE WAY WE HAD NANCY AS OUR WEDDING PLANNER I MUST SAY SHE PAYS VERY CLOSE ATTENTION TO DETAIL, AND WE WERE VERY THANKFUL FOR THAT, LEADING UP TO AND THE DAY OF THE WEDDING. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS VENUE FOR ANYONE WHO WANTS TO MAKE THEIR VISIONS OF THEIR WEDDING DAY COME TRUE TO LIFE.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mr&mrs
Wedding:
8/15/2009
5.0/5.0
A beautiful venue with very accommodating manager and staff. Also includes excellent alcohol service. We would rate more stars if available.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Araceli
Wedding:
7/18/2009
5.0/5.0
My Quinceanera at Kapok was absolutely the best. Everything came out as planned and even better. Nancy and her staff truly know how to make a special day last for a lifetime. Even all my guests were fascinated by the beauty of the place and how spectacular the party turned out. I honestly wouldn't recommend any other event place. All my expectations and requirements were met up to the last word. There are no words to explain how extremely happy I was and still am. Sharing my Quinceanera with all my loved ones at Kapok was the best choice I made. Thank you so much Nancy- I send you all my love & God bless you all :)
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Awagg
Wedding:
6/19/2009
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding and reception there in June and I had an awsome experience!!! Nancy (the GM) was so helpful and informative every step of the way, I don't think I could of got throught it all with out her help. The place is absloutely breathtaking, I was like the fairytale wedding I have always dreamed of.
Thank you Nancy and staff for making my day perfect!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NewMrsWilson
Wedding:
5/1/2009
5.0/5.0
Kapok Tree is an amazing venue to use for your wedding! Not only is it absolutely gorgeous but the staff is truly wonderful to work with. Even on day one of planning, Nancy went over an beyond for my husband and I. She truly made me feel special throughout every aspect the planning. She paid special attention to every request and did everything in her power to make sure I had what I wanted. She even had unique and beautiful ideas of her own that worked out better then I could have ever envisioned! The staff treated us and our families with the utmost respect and kindness on our wedding day. They did a fabulous job in every department and I would recommend them in a heartbeat!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
1/3/2009
5.0/5.0
The Kapok was everything I ever dreamed of from start to finish! The staff were extremely nice, helpful, knowledgable and easy to talk to. I would recommend the Kapok to everyone but I kinda want to keep this place to myself....However, that will never happen. My wedding was marvelous! My dream came true at the Kapok!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SB
Wedding:
12/19/2008
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend this venue for your wedding day:) The staff is very sweet, and supportive. The environment is absolutely breathtaking. The fountains lit at night make you almost feel like you are roaming about a 'little Italy'.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
yoyojoyjoy
Wedding:
11/14/2008
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding at Kapok a little over a year ago and I have to tell you it was the BEST experience ever. The grounds were absolutely beautiful and Nancy was amazing.I had hired a wedding planner who kind of dropped the ball during my planning and Nancy stepped in and rescued my wedding literally. She took care of everything. She sat down with me figured out all the logistics of what I wanted, made phone calls to different vendors, and really made my wedding awesome. Without her help I would not have had the beautiful wedding that I had. Jeremy was get too. Very friendly and a great part of the team.. KUDOS to you Nancy you saved my wedding!! THank you so so much..
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1240592840468-b58
Laura
Wedding:
10/17/2008
5.0/5.0
Nancy and Her staff was GREAT!!!
Services Used: Band, Beauty & Health, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Photography, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
beachmom
Wedding:
11/17/2007
5.0/5.0
Hello, I'm the mother of the bride. Kapok is truly the most "AMAZING" place to have your wedding and reception. My daughter and I knew the moment we walked into the place and was greeted by Nancy that this truly was going to be the most amazing wedding ever! From breath taking rooms, chandeliers and the staircase you just said wow every step. Imagining your wedding in this place was one thing, but to actually have it there words cannot explain the magic! The look on my daughter's face as we toured said it all. She was in awe . A princess' wedding to be! It was everything she had ever imagined her wedding to be and then some!! With that being said when the magic began to see the look on our guest' faces were priceless. A moment in time for ALL to be enjoyed. I cannot tell you even now how many times I am told that was the most beautiful wedding they have ever been to with a thank you for witnessing it. Nancy and her assistant with all due respect where there at every beck and call. Assisting in the tiniest of detail. And always making sure that we were pleased. I can't thank those two ladies enough for helping me provide my daughter with her dream wedding. You see it was me who wanted the whole thing from the get go for my daughter due to her loss of her father a few years earlier. She had always dreamed of the day her father would walk her down the isle. So for me it was simple. I must give her a wedding that truly would help knock her socks off... And it did!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1262754185574-robintom
Robin-n-Tom
Wedding:
11/19/2006
5.0/5.0
We had a truly magical wedding day. From the minute you walk in the door, Nancy treats the bride-to-be as if she’s the only one getting married at the Kapok - ever. We wanted this very special day in our lives (and those leading up to it) to be stress free and fun. And we got just what we asked for – and then some! The most important thing we did while planning the wedding was open ourselves up to Nancy concerning our expectations – both realistic and not. We knew nothing about wedding or event planning, but knew she had had an active role in many of them. Who better to advise you then Nancy? She did not disappoint us in the least. Nancy said that a wedding day is all about the bride – and she was right. And the vendors she recommended performed just as she said they would – flawlessly. At the end of the day, we were husband and wife. And three years and counting later, our guests still talk about how our wedding day was one they’d never forget. Thank you… thank you… thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hema
Wedding:
5/26/2006
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about how wonderful Nancy and her staff are. The venue speaks for itself - absolutely beautiful gardens, dramatic interior, plenty of space for your guests. It was the perfect backdrop for our wedding, and our photos came out great. Nancy was very flexible with our setup and catering, and allowed us to do whatever we needed to make our traditional hindu ceremony a memorable event in our lives. They have all the resources you need to plan a great wedding, and whatever they don't have, they can get for you! Highly recommend Kapok for any special event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JEFFREY and MELISSA
Wedding:
5/19/2006
5.0/5.0
Nancy was amazing...all her years of experience really helped coordinate everything, so our wedding and reception went perfectly. Thank you, once again, Nancy!
Services Used: , Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1316251324934-dscn1893
Michelle
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Nancy and her staff were so helpful throughout the whole process. It was a delight to work with them. We actually had a huge problem of my purse and other valuable items being left at the wedding site. They locked them up and one of her staff was able to retrieve them for me,even on the day they were closed. The Kapok is just a flat out beautiful place and all of my guests enjoyed the atmosphere. Loved all of the rooms and loved that I could have the ceremony and reception all in one place. I highly recommend them. I couldn't have imagined any other place to have my special day at!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
what a beautiful place to get married, all the staff were great and helped me with any thing i needed.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
3/23/2013
4.9/5.0
We had our Krewe of Cavaliers event here in March 2013. It was a resounding success. Nancy, the manager of the Kapok was helpful and had lots of suggestions for our event. She is an absolute joy to work with; great sense of humor that relieves the stress of planning an event but, also serious to understand the investment.

The Kapok is a wonderful venue to host a wedding and you will have wonderful memories.

Highly recommend.

Anna Inglett
Captain
Coronation Ball 2013
Krewe of Cavaliers
Tampa, FL
Services Used: Catering, DJ, Rentals & Photobooths, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/19/2012
4.9/5.0
Absolutely beautiful venue to have our ceremony and reception in! We could have asked for a more perfect day and location! Thank you for doing everything in your power to make it happen for us! Nancy is AWESOME!!!!!! :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
babygirl
Wedding:
12/12/2008
4.9/5.0
This was the wedding place of my dreams, at the Kapok Tree - the location is magnificent with its historically beautiful gardens. The lady who booked me Nancy Hall was awesome with lots of advice and knowledge. She even sent me to one of the most professional wedding planners; Sharon Gentry “Bella Sophia Event Planning”.

Our wedding was 250 people with a romantic wedding ceremony, reception in the gardens with dinner and dancing till midnight. My husband Josh and I were so fortunate to have the most beautiful wedding at the Kapok Tree. Again thanks to Nancy and Sharon. Our photographer was Judy Trice at Bay Area Photography – wow – I just got my pictures these three are true professionals. I am going to send pictures to Nancy and Sharon when I get a chance. We got our cake at Publix – great cake at great price.
Kari & Josh
Services Used: Photography, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
Kapok was great. Got everything we needed for a beautiful wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, , Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
11/30/2013
4.8/5.0
I Just had my Wedding at the Kapok and it was absolutely beautiful! Nancy Hall is amazing. She helped with anything and everything and went above and beyond to give us a wonderful wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Veronica
Wedding:
8/28/2009
4.8/5.0
The first thing I can say about the Kapok is that it is by far the most visually stunning venue my husband and I looked at. The Greco-Roman motif is breathtaking. The grand ballroom and the outside fountain are something out of a movie.
Each section of the wedding ie: ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception moved seemlessly from room to gorgeous room. Much better than worrying about transporting all of your guests to different places. .
The staff was impeccable.We worked mostly with Jeremy for all the odds and ends. He was very professional and accommodating to all of our needs.When Jeremy was not available,Nancy, the general manager made sure every detail was perfect,from the pinning of the train to the placing of the centerpieces.
We were provided with many suggestions regarding catering, entertainment, and other essentials that would not have occured to me had they not been mentioned. Over all they made the entire experience alot simpler than it would have been for just me and my husband. If you are looking for your perfect princess wedding I highly recommend the Kapok Tree.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1220987985614-_mg_2336
Kelly
Wedding:
3/21/2009
4.8/5.0
This is the most amazing place to be married in. All my guests were amazed at the beauty of the Kapok and the fact that we had every room to ourselves and weren't competing with another wedding like oyu do in hotels was the best part.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracy
Wedding:
11/4/2007
4.8/5.0
I attended a wedding at the Kapok Tree the year before I became engaged and totally fell in love with the grounds. When I became engaged there was no question as to where I wanted to say my "I do's" and celebrate with family and friends. The property accomodated my 200+ guest list with no problems and being able to have the wedding and reception all in one place was the cherry on top of our cake. The reception hall is one of the most beautiful around with the large chandelier and staircase giving it the "WOW" factor that all Brides want. Nancy and Sudda were amazing and were definately responsible for my day going off without a hitch and for providing me the best gift of all, a stress free wedding day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
3/8/2014
4.7/5.0
My daughter's wedding was so beautiful. Both Nancy and Rande were extremely professional and great to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Safety Harbor MOB
Wedding:
3/7/2010
4.7/5.0
The Kapok was absolutely the best place we could have chosen for our daughter's wedding and reception. So many people came up to me at the reception, raving about the facility. Jeremy was fun to work with and very accommodating to whatever we desired. Nancy is gracious and professional. The gardens looked beautiful and our guests enjoyed them and the photos turned out awesome both inside and outside. The ability to use the facility for the entire day of the wedding was great and allowed us to savor the day to the fullest. Thanks, Jeremy & Nancy.
Ann
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rowena
Wedding:
3/28/2014
4.5/5.0
We had a great wedding , everyone loved the venue. It was very grand and I truly felt like a princess. Nancy and Randy were great and very helpful. Definitely get them as the coordinator. They are efficient and saves the day! I will forever have wonderful memories of our wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tammi
Wedding:
3/21/2014
4.5/5.0
I think the venue was breathtaking I received so many compliments on how pretty the kapok was. Nancy was a big help, the only thing I would have changed was the organization tables got mixed up and we were expecting 10 tops not 8 tops so guest were confused. But over all everything looked amazing and Nancy helped fixed any of our problems. I have amazing pictures and enjoyed the whole night! I must say though the bartenders where amazing!! Super fun and kept the drinks coming!!! 5 stars for them!! =)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
juliacathleen
Wedding:
11/10/2011
4.5/5.0
The Kapok is a gorgeous venue! Nancy, the general manager was super helpful and there for us from the day we booked our wedding right up until they played the last dance at our reception. She was always available to answer questions and was very helpful in recommending certain vendors as well. She knew we were on a tight budget and did everything in her power to make sure we had a beautiful wedding! The wedding day went perfectly and I couldn't have asked for a more beautiful wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marie
Wedding:
6/7/2007
4.5/5.0
If you are a brinde who wants to truely feel like a princess, this is the venue for you!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jillian
Wedding:
7/1/2014
4.4/5.0
This venue was absolutely stunning and perfect for our wedding! All of our guests were blown away.
The service provided was great, I was treated as a bride the whole way through.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.3/5.0
My wedding was absolutely stunning. Nancy went above and beyond to make our day special.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1293804519000-dsc00798
Megan
Wedding:
5/12/2011
4.3/5.0
This is one of the most beautiful venues you could possibly choose for a wedding. I was so glad that I chose this to be my ceremony and reception venue. The employees of Kapok are very kind and make every attempt to make your day perfect! Nancy even through in some decorative ideas the day of that were beautiful! This venue is costly, but I reduced some costs by choosing to have my wedding on a weekday. I could not have been happier with the venue that I chose for my wedding, and I highly recommend it to anyone wanting a unique venue that you can't find anywhere else in Florida.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leah
Wedding:
3/1/2014
4.1/5.0
They took care of a lot of the details that I was worried about. It was nice to sit back & enjoy the day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Donna
Wedding:
5/24/2013
4.1/5.0
This venue was perfect for the wedding. The Kapok is very flexible with all sorts of difficult issues that may arise during the planning stages. The staff went above and beyond to make the day a special day. The wedding day went very smoothly and was enjoyed by all who attended. Thanks Nancy and staff for all you did on May 24, 2013.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tia
Wedding:
11/9/2013
4.0/5.0
A few hiccups during the process, but together we worked it out.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
10/11/2013
4.0/5.0
OVERALL WE HAD A BEAUTIFUL WEDDING AND WOULD RECOMMEND THIS VENUE FOR A TRULY REMARKABLE EVENING! OUR GUEST WERE AMAZED AND HAD SUCH A GREAT EVENING. WE COULDN'T HAVE PICKED A BETTER VENUE FOR SOME INCREDIBLE PICTURES & MEMORIES!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
3/9/2008
4.0/5.0
The Kapok is wonderful and an incredible place to be married, it is a little on the pricy side and if you want to be married there you need to book at least a year in advance but we enjoyed every moment.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Khalil
Wedding:
1/20/2008
4.0/5.0
The hall was a beautiful site to have my wedding held. There was plenty of space and beautiful scenary all around. The staff there is excellent, they helped in everyway possible and held very good communication with me. The only down fall is the maintenance of the hall. It so so gorgeous inside and out, and it is not well taken care of. But none the less is still beautiful in the daytime and night. It has a gorgeous marble floor, and italian themed walls and decor. Just gorgeous and breath taking. One thing was not as I expected on my wedding day, were the leaves in the garden not being blown out properly. Other than that, the price is a bit costly for the care that the building is under, but that's a one thing that'll have to be looked over if the price is considerable.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica42
Wedding:
11/10/2007
4.0/5.0
THe Kapok was an amazing place to get married! I had the venue all day. I would recommend this to anyone! They only thing that got to me what the wonderful lady who ran the place was giving my husbands bestman faces during his speech. In other words to tell him to stop talking.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
7/18/2014
3.4/5.0
Kapok Gardens is very elaborate and breath-taking venue. Little pricey but lovely.

Some of the requests that were received by the manager of special events were somewhat unreasonable.

If you decide to use this place for a wedding, please ask for Nancy to be your wedding coordinator. She understands the concept of assisting to make a bride's dream come true and will go out of her way to help you make it happen. Very well versed, skilled, and a pleasant person to work with. As a wedding coordinator that have been in the business for over 24 years, I found her to be a true blessing and miracle. I was asked to coordinate the wedding and given details 8 days prior to the wedding. She was GREAT and really helped me to make this bride's dream come true. She was more concerned about the bride being happy and pleased than how many hours she had to put in to make the event happen in excellence.

Also, request for Sergio to be the setup person on duty for you. His temperment is very easy-going and he accepts changes with a smile and is willing to make it happen for you. I had to ask him to change some tables several times and he was pleasant all of the time, which I know it could have been very frustrating for him. These two people can really make it happen for you. Ask for NANCY AND SERGIO! What a team!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Keri
Wedding:
3/29/2009
3.4/5.0
Jeremy was GREAT! Nancy was a little too pushy. The location was beautiful!! It was a little too expensive and NOTHING is included in the cost. You have to even buy the fuel for the torches!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justmarried09
Wedding:
6/13/2009
3.3/5.0
This place is BEAUTIFUL!!!!! One of the best places in The Tampa/Clearwater area to have a wedding. I got married her in June of 2009 and my wedding was so "breat taking"...the guest RAVED about the venue,and LOVED every second of my wedding. They loved the decor and the inside of the venue as well as the outside...it is like a dream place to get married at! Nancy helped me and so did Jermey to make sure I was happy and that my day went as planned.The only badside is...yes, the place is a bit pricey, and liquor is much extra but they may be willing to work with you on that.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christy
Wedding:
12/19/2009
2.8/5.0
My wedding reception at the Kapok was stunning and beautiful. However, that fact is a tribute to the actual building and the decor choices that I made and not the gerneral manager of the Kapok. I would like to first say that I had a wedding planner assist me with my communication with the Kapok manager during the months leading up to my wedding. If I had not had the help of my wedding planner to be a representative of mine then I probably would have changed venues because dealing with the general manager (Nancy) was so stressful. Future brides be warned... when dealing with Nancy get EVERYTHING in writing. ALSO... check the quality of their tables. My wedding cake went crashing to the floor during my cake cutting ceremony. It was NOT the moment I had dreamed of!!!!! Finally after some debate and requiring a completed comment card the Kapok management did refund the cost of my wedding cake. However, the moment of cutting the cake with my new husband and having those pictures to put in our album are forever lost. :(
In all fairness I will report the positive elements of the Kapok. First of all although it is very expensive, the venue is unique and was stunning!!!! My guests were all very impressed and had an amazing time. The assistant manager Jeremy is easy to communicate with and was a fantastic bartender. Both Jeremy and his brother (who was also working at the event) checked in with me on a few occasions to make sure we were all having a great time. I have also received many compliments from friends about how great our wedding bartender was.
In closing, I just want to say that dealing with Nancy is a task... so have a wedding planner or friend with you for every conversation and get every little detail of your plans in writing. Heck... I even had to record a conversation with her so I could play it for my fiance and during the conversation she contradicts herself so many times I am still unsure of when she was lying to me or telling me the truth. Also, during my tour at the Kapok with my maid of honor, Nancy approached us teary eyed and began asking me "if I liked her?". I told her she was making me very uncomfortable and she pressed on saying "I was making her sad". It was all very very strange and unprofessional!!!!!!!
Ultimately, the amazing setting, the great vendors that I chose, and my wedding guests made even a crashing wedding cake seem unimportant at the time. However... that sort of thing should NEVER happen at a wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Kapok Special Events responded with the following comments:

Christy

Your wedding on Saturday 12/19/09 was a truly stunning event. I always encourage brides to use a wedding planner. "Special Moments" did a fabulous job of comunicating with all of your vendors and creating the wedding of your dreams. Your romantic, intimate reception hosting 45 of your closest friends and family was amazing. Your vision and attention to detail created such a breathtaking event. Your husband graciously filled out our Kapok Comment Card on 12/24/09 with the following reviews:
Quality of Service = 5
Responsiveness = 4
Professionalism = 5
Value for Cost = 4
Additional Comments = None

Our NINE
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
7/20/2013
1.2/5.0
I can't even post the full issues! the AC was horrible not one person did not complain about how hot it was in that building from guest to vendors. The poor photographer was running around with a towel around his neck and was dripping wet! It was warm enough to melt the icing on the cakes and make the cakes slide.

The lighting that was out-
The Berry tree-- stand the bottom the dress when she went out for photos-- not to pleased damaging a $1500 dress.

The fountains were a MESS!! They did not clean them, they turned them on at wedding time. For the money that was paid for the Venue is should have been in top notch conditions.

When you have a wedding taking place the area's should not be open to the public. We had people coming upstairs walking around intrude on our lunch, a employee walk in on the bridal party while changing. Then 2 ladies were picking up our decorations and looking at them.
The view from the balcony - you can see cups, plates, trash in open areas where it looks like greenery should be. The Dust levels on the Chandlier was awlful and I remember asking you about that when we toured and you said they were coming in to clean that. Guess they never made it. Around a few columns upstairs the medal ring is broken and dangles it tour one of the brides maids hoses. There is mold in the flooring through out, Stains on the runner carpet.

The largest complaint I have is the locking of the bridal room -- we were told that once we came down that they room would be lock and secured this did not happen. When we thought something was missing (it waswe were told that once we came down that they room would be lock and secured this did not happen. When we thought something was missing (it was found) we were then told that if we didn't ask for a key then it wouldn't be locked. (NO ONE said this until AFTER the event)!! We had many valuables in that room!! Including over $1000 in the brides purse! Our clothing, our purses, wallets, Credit cards and it was left
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Kapok Special Events responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much for your interest in the Kapok! We appreciate you reading all of our reviews and making it to the last page. Since this review, the Kapok has undergone major updates.The chandeliers have all been professionally cleaned and sparkle beautifully. We have purchased a new aisle runner and removed the berry tree that caused problems. Our gardens have been substantially replanted and are overflowing with beautiful plants and flowers. The marble and terrazzo floors have been refinished and shine brightly. The bathrooms have also been updated. With these changes and so much more, the Kapok remains a picture perfect place for your wedding.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
GlamGirl
Wedding:
3/11/2007
0.0/5.0
I had my ceremony & reception at Kapok and would recommend every bride to stay FAR away from this location!! While it is beautiful, because of poor staff and lack of professionalism, my reception was a huge disaster and I was in tears for the last half of it! I could go on all day with how awful my wedding reception went because of Kapok! I wouldn't recommend this location to my worst enemy!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Kapok Special Events responded with the following comments:

This situation is very unfortunate. However, the facts remain. The State of Florida has strict laws on underage drinking. GlamGirl's hired wedding planner notified management that underage drinking was taking place. The bar closed a half hour early due to non-compliance by client. If your guests are not at least 21yrs of age, they cannot drink alcoholic beverages, no matter if it is your wedding day or not.

MAP

 
923 N. McMullen Booth Rd., Clearwater, FL 33756 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Kapok Special Events
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1395250438164-richard-harrell-photography-00