130x130_sq_1321465295710-vivsittingonsofa

Karen Hendrix Couture

Nashville , TN
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Historic Hillsboro Village Area, 2021 21st Avenue South Suite 410
Nashville, TN US 37212 (map)

PHONE

615-589-9877

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Upon entrance to our serene salon suites in the beautiful historic Hillsboro Village area, the stress of your wedding day worries are taken away and your wedding dress dreams are... Read more
Upon entrance to our serene salon suites in the beautiful historic Hillsboro Village area, the stress of your wedding day worries are taken away and your wedding dress dreams are exceeded. Karen Hendrix Couture's Collections will take you back to the days of true couturiers, whose attention to detail and fullness of imagination were unparalleled with luxurious fabrics and a meticulous fit. All Karen Hendrix Couture gowns are made using the deciplines of couture at her Custom Atelier located in Nashville, Tennessee.

Our Collections: "The Garden Gown Collection", is exquisitely detailed in every way with voluminous silhouettes. "The White Tie Collection", is fashioned with a figure conscious fit for the sohisticated, discriminating bride. "The KH Collection", inspired by Coco Chanel circa 1909, where simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. "The Perfect Little Dress Collection" is ideal for a destination wedding, reception or departing dress. "The Signature Collection", is the prestige of the design house and is designed with passion from the very heart of this designer with a signature gown created for runway every season in the palest of blue.

Custom Design Process: If you are coming to us with a specific dream dress in mind, you will experience our exciting "Custom Design Process". In your private consultation with Karen, she will take your ideas and thoughts and develop them into a sketch. At this moment, you will actually see your dream dress for the very first time. The exciting choices of your fabric, color, and style are all yours. Karen will pull them all together for your exquisite one of a kind dream dress made exclusively for you, with a meticulous fit accentuating your best features. Given the wide range of fabrics that can be used for your gown and the wide range of detailing options, your only limitations are your own imagination. A client must determine a budget for her gown in advance so the designer can present acceptable options that are of the highest quality. The pricing of your "Custom" gown will always be kept in the strictest confidence while being sensitive to your wedding budget perimeters.

As quoted by one of our clients in "Enchanted Bride" magazine, "She calmed my every doubt concerning my daunting gown design and she did it with the spirit of a saint...accepting the challenge and fully engaging in the conceptualization of my dream dress. Her talent for design and details are outstanding. She was like my Fairy Godmother". Ericka Dunlap, Miss America 2004

We look forward to sharing your journey with you. Read less
Dress & Attire

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1326386886444-tiagowntiahatlette72web
130x130_sq_1388123930700-gg-viv-cove
130x130_sq_1388123883356-gg-tia-bac
130x130_sq_1326386871817-presleybuttshot72web
130x130_sq_1388123303597-sabrina---white-tie-collectio
130x130_sq_1388123557410-greendressimage-lowre
130x130_sq_1388123754199-ab7w188
130x130_sq_1388124036969-sig-gabriella-bac
130x130_sq_1321473822576-vivleaningonsofacrop
130x130_sq_1388124948534-yelp-egyp
130x130_sq_1388124986898-yelp-tiffan
130x130_sq_1324070644344-kate1
130x130_sq_1324071173372-kate2jpg
130x130_sq_1324071321728-kate3
130x130_sq_1324071406514-parris1
130x130_sq_1324071530768-parris2
130x130_sq_1324071759231-parris3
130x130_sq_1324071897307-malone1
130x130_sq_1324071982015-malone2
130x130_sq_1324072068002-malone3
130x130_sq_1324072176157-ava1
130x130_sq_1324072260491-ava2
130x130_sq_1324072369582-ava3
130x130_sq_1324072473525-olivia1
130x130_sq_1324072851233-olivia2
130x130_sq_1324486386795-olivia3jpg
130x130_sq_1324486693929-tessa1
130x130_sq_1324486919989-tessa2
130x130_sq_1324486952094-tessa3
130x130_sq_1324486991187-josephine1
130x130_sq_1324487104927-josephine2
130x130_sq_1324487125800-josephine3
130x130_sq_1324487191804-viv1
130x130_sq_1324487216296-viv2
130x130_sq_1324487235733-viv3
130x130_sq_1324487281083-gabriella1
130x130_sq_1324487300598-gabriella2
130x130_sq_1324487322454-gabriella3
130x130_sq_1324487397443-karengabriellafinale72web
130x130_sq_1324487586219-elizafront96web
130x130_sq_1324568550907-elizaback72web
130x130_sq_1324487613426-landisfront72web
130x130_sq_1324568578457-landisback72web
130x130_sq_1324487635250-daniellefront72web
130x130_sq_1324487678883-avafront72web
130x130_sq_1324568647596-avaback72web
130x130_sq_1324487715559-gracefront72web
130x130_sq_1324487883041-evangelinefront72web
130x130_sq_1324568906869-evangelineback72web
130x130_sq_1324487934458-lydiafront72web
130x130_sq_1324568927742-lydiaback72web
130x130_sq_1324487961868-katherinebeltfront72web
130x130_sq_1324568998144-katherinebeltback72web
130x130_sq_1324487981727-sophiahatfront72web
130x130_sq_1324569027051-sophiaback72web
130x130_sq_1324488003801-ruefront72web
130x130_sq_1324569047784-rueback72web
130x130_sq_1324488117712-mariellefront72web
130x130_sq_1324569085505-marielleback72web
130x130_sq_1324488143764-presleyfront72web
130x130_sq_1324569109373-presleyback72web
130x130_sq_1324488168209-patresefront72web
130x130_sq_1324569215390-patreseback72web
130x130_sq_1324488406406-enchantedbridesouthfl72web
130x130_sq_1327855844370-frontcoverevacloseuplayout72web
130x130_sq_1327855870214-frontcoverreneegabriellalayout72web
130x130_sq_1324488420399-weddinginhoustondecember201172web
130x130_sq_1326732520714-bridescovermay201072web
130x130_sq_1326732803776-babycomebackspread72web
130x130_sq_1326733723230-getmarriedsummer2010spread72web
130x130_sq_1326733745193-bridesspreadapril201072web
130x130_sq_1326734311177-enchantedmaidenvoyagespread172web
130x130_sq_1326734329450-enchantedmaidenvoyagespread272web
130x130_sq_1326734358228-chaseriversflairspring2009article1spread72web
130x130_sq_1326734377172-chaseriversflairspring2009article2spread72web
130x130_sq_1388124342707-nashvillelifestylesad2013-lowre
130x130_sq_1388124405670-iphone-pics-137
130x130_sq_1388124562264-2010-print-a
130x130_sq_1388124820652-yelp-egyp
130x130_sq_1388122012221-egyptbac
130x130_sq_1388121924492-egyptfron
130x130_sq_1388121219227-a1-mariahfron
130x130_sq_1388121319404-a3-mariahbac
130x130_sq_1388121435535-ameliafron
130x130_sq_1388121575597-ameliabac
130x130_sq_1388121720176-tareltonfron
130x130_sq_1388121841796-tareltonbac
130x130_sq_1388125178787-1-bonetfron
130x130_sq_1388125203584-1-bonetbac
130x130_sq_1388125226564-1-tiffanyfron
130x130_sq_1388125245096-1-tiffanybac
130x130_sq_1388125286916-estellefron
130x130_sq_1388125316002-estellebac
130x130_sq_1388125417839-glendafron
130x130_sq_1388125455782-glendabac
130x130_sq_1388125490167-katefrontblac
130x130_sq_1388125555502-katebackblac
130x130_sq_1388125873382-annalesefron
130x130_sq_1388125951123-annalesebac
130x130_sq_1388126105786-annettefron
130x130_sq_1388126142463-annettebac
130x130_sq_1388126179091-constanc
130x130_sq_1388126207106-constancebac
130x130_sq_1388126241568-ferrisfron
130x130_sq_1388126267472-ferrisbac
130x130_sq_1388126381373-suzannefron
130x130_sq_1388126396841-suzannebac

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Mother of the Bride
What accessories do you provide?
Veils
Does a client need to schedule an appointment? How do the client appointments work?
We see our clients by appointment only. Please call 800-583-3530 to schedule your appointment.
What specialty dress and attire items, such as a Kimono or Sari, do you provide?
Wedding gowns, Debutante gowns,
Do you carry new or once worn gowns?
All New Gowns

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Karen is designing my dress and I'm ecstatic!! We spent a lot of time designing my dream wedding dress. As she was sketching my dress I was crying because it is so exciting, and it's finally here. I'm getting married! I've dreamed of this my whole life and she is making my dream dress a reality! We picked a few gorgeous fabrics and colors. She's so talented and creative and I feel like what we decided on is perfect for me. She knew exactly what I wanted somehow! I've admired her for years and would want no one else in the world to design my dress. This process with her is so exciting. She's so loving and is like a fairy godmother! We did 23 different measurements so make sure it fits me perfectly. The first process of this is so exciting! I can't wait to see the magic happen!!!!!!! So thankful to have Karen!!!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Corene
Wedding:
5/21/2014
5.0/5.0
I received an email from Karen Hendrix, Couture wedding gown designer.. She set up a consultation with me to plan the designing of my dream wedding gown.

She told me, “I am your fairy godmother,” and she was right. There was no wand. In its place was a measuring tape, a pincushion and a vision. Just thinking about it now I find myself getting all misty eyed. Each time I stepped into my dress I found myself tearing up. I had never had a dress made just for me. In my mind that kind of extravagance is reserved for royalty, the rich and famous, not for me. I am just a regular girl but Karen made me a princess and she did it in five days.

It started with some measurements, girl talk and a sketch. She listened intently as I poured out to her my dream. What I liked about my figure and what I desperately wanted to hide and then with the whisk of a pencil she began to sketch my fairytale dress. I kid you not when I say I could see the magic flying out of her. When she was finished I knew that on my wedding day I would be lovelier than I had ever been on any day.

There is something so unique about wearing couture. It is a garment carefully created to fit only you. It accentuates your best. Embrace your figure in all the right places. You discover your most beautiful self. Karen’s work was a true reflection of its creator, full of grace, style, passion, beauty and love. I have no words to express my gratitude for the tremendous gift she has given me. For your wedding day, you should never be looking for a dress. You should be wearing the dress that was made especially for you by Karen Hendrix Couture.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Karen is absolutely amazing! From the moment I got engaged and started looking for dresses I knew it would be hard to find exactly what I wanted. I ended up ordering a dress from a large retailer with the promise that the dress could be custom with a different lace than was currently on the dress I had tried on at the store. A few months later I recieved the dress and was devestated- the style of the dress wasnt right- the only thing I liked about it was the new lace I had picked out. My wedding planner suggested me take the dress to Karen and I am SO glad I did! Karen has worked a miracle to my dress and transformed it into the dress of my dreams and more! She is so understanding, loving, creative and passionate about what she does. Everytime I go for a fitting Karen is so bubbly and excited to work on my dress- she makes me feel so special and relaxed- which is just how you want to feel as a bride! I am amazed by her work-not only what she has done to my dress but also her gorgeous gowns that are hanging in her studio! Karen absolutely is my fairy godmother and I cannot wait to walk down the isle (in only 2 weeks!) in my beautiful custom wedding dress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
As the mother of the bride, it is devastating to see disappointment as your daughter opens the box with her new wedding dress in it, and she does not love it. Because we made some changes to the existing dress at the store, she had not tried on or seen what her dress would actually look like. A wedding planner had told us about Karen Hendrix, and she fit us into her schedule right away when I told her our story. Karen totally rebuilt the dress, and my daughter now has a beautiful, flattering dress that she loves! Karen is so passionate about her work, and you always leave excited about your dress. Many thanks to Karen for saving the day for my daughter! Every bride should love her wedding dress, and now my daughter loves hers also. If you are just starting out looking for a dress, go see her. If you have your mother's dress you want to wear, but it needs some updating, go see her. If you have already bought a dress, but you don't love it, go see her. Just, go see her! You won't regret it.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Abby
Wedding:
12/19/2013
5.0/5.0
This past September, I had the privilege of being a model in Karen Hendrix Couture "An Evening Like No Other" show at the Frist. All of the proceeds went to the Wounded Warrior Project, a project to "Honor and Empower Wounded Warriors." The show went beautifully and smoothly but of course, my favorite part was wearing the dress! I had the privilege of wearing Kathryn, a beautiful plantation style wedding gown. It was elegant, classy and traditional. The vest I wore was hand sewn and it was the first time this dress was ever worn on a runway. I literally felt like a princess and I never wanted to take it off. Karen has an amazing gift of making every girl feel special and noticed, and it wasn't even my wedding! I was so lucky to be able to work with such an amazing, caring designer. It is hard to find someone who will take your interests into consideration and I was blown away by her genuine spirit. The atmosphere she carried was peaceful, even during the hectic parts of the show. I know for sure this was an evening like no other and I will never forget it! I am so thankful for this amazing experience and thankful to all of the people who made this show a success!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
11/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Karen is a fairy! She is incredibly, wonderful and amazing and makes everything perfect! The wedding wouldn't have. Been the same without the help of Karen. She made my bridesmaids dresses which was everything that I imagined and dreamed of. Everyone was asking me where I got them. They were just so beautiful. Karen is truly a gift, she makes you so comfortable and is so warm and she makes you so calm.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rainey
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Karen is absolutely amazing at what she does! She transformed my mothers wedding dress into the dress I always dreamed I'd wear on my wedding day. She was so helpful through the entire process and I could not be more thrilled with the turnout. I'm so excited to wear my mother's wedding dress 30 years later and for my future husband to see me in it!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Karen Hendrix--truly one of the most genuine, compassionate, and talented women I have ever met! Karen saved the day in so many ways as I prepared for my wedding day, including designing the most beautiful Mother of the Bride Dress for my mom, altering my dress last minute, altering all eight of my bridesmaids dresses, altering my two flower girls dresses, and being in charge of all of the wedding party's wardrobe details on my wedding day. She always approached each moment and conversation with such care, excellence and professionalism, while also providing one of the most warm, heart-felt experiences I found in the wedding dress industry. I did not have a stellar experience with another local dress designer who agreed to make my dream dress for me, and three months before my wedding Karen stepped in--offering to make me a brand new, beautiful gown in the midst of all of her other dresses, brides and bridesmaids she was helping and working with. Had I not already purchased another dress from a local gown shop, I would have had Karen make my dress without even thinking twice about it. Also, Karen was there each moment of my bridal pictures and wedding day, ensuring that my dress was perfect for each picture and that she had instructed me so kindly on all of the details that make a woman look her best in such a gorgeous gown. Whether you are looking for something simple, classic, modern or funky, Karen can do it all! I highly recommend her for design, wardrobe services, alterations and preservations. Karen--you are a lifesaver!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Teresa
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
My experience with Karen was absolutely fabulous! She did all of the alterations for my daughter's bridal gown, all of the alternations for eight bridesmaids gowns, and made my Mother of the Bride dress. We also contracted Karen to steam and prepare my daughters gown for her bridal portraits and to actually be on site when the pictures were taken. She made sure her dress looked its best in all of the pictures. She was invaluable also on the day of the wedding. She helped my daughter and bridesmaids get dressed and made sure all of the gowns were perfect. Karen's attention to detail and her creative ability are outstanding. Always professional, she is not ruffled by challenges. She tends to have a calming effect on everyone she works with. I looked everywhere for a Mother of the Bride dress and could not find anything I liked. I brought Karen pictures of different dresses and showed her what I liked and did not like about each. She took my ideas and created a beautiful tanzanite blue silk gown with matching jacket. It made me feel as beautiful as my daughter did the day of the wedding. I would not hesitate to work with Karen again. It is a pleasure to work with a professional who is dependable. In fact, she was and is truly a Fairy God Mother. Thank you Karen for a truly outstanding experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Glenda
Wedding:
4/27/2013
5.0/5.0
I don't even know where to begin with Karen – because she is so amazing! Our story starts like this; I looked in several different cities and all over Internet, but I could not find a dress to save my life! The problem was I had a vision in my head and it seemed like the dress I wanted didn't exist. I was one step away from buying a dress from JCREW and calling it day! However, my husband, John, wanted me to have exactly what I was looking for and after he did his own research, he found Karen! After John talked to Karen on the phone once, he knew I'd love her – and he was absolutely right!! So the three of us set an appointment and sat down to talk about what I the vision for my dress. At the end of our first meeting, Karen had sketched out my dream dress and we were ready to move forward! Karen truly is an artist and the dress came out perfect! From start to finish Karen was like a fairy godmother! She was so calming and encouraging throughout the process. Her eyes light up when she sees she has made you happy and her attention to detail is impressive! I felt like Cinderella on my wedding day! I had soooo many compliments on my dress and everyone said the dress was "so me"!! Karen was an answer to prayer and we loved going to visit with her and Alain (he makes fabulous veils and is also hilarious and ridiculously talented). Thank you Karen, you made my wedding perfect! I can't even express my gratitude and awe! If Karen doesn't make your wedding dress, I just feel bad for you!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
anne
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot write enough wonderful things about Karen Hendrix!! Karen initially worked on my daughter's wedding dress five years ago and she treated my daughter like "Cinderella" in every way and every detail of the dress was perfect on her "big day". She took special care of it afterwards, all stains removed and preserved it as a precious heirloom! Karen Hendrix also designed and hand made an exquisite emerald green beaded formal dress for my son's girlfriend to wear at her home town Queen of "Mardi Gras" ball. We all fell in love with Karen and also her attentiveness to every detail of the dress. It was exactly as she had described her "dream" dress to wear to the ball". After my son proposed to her last year, she chose to wear her Mother's vintage dress which needed to be resized and Karen took extra special care to match the beautiful vintage lace and all the beading and detail to make it the perfect size for my daughter-in-law. Karen made a family heirloom veil into exactly what my daughter wanted to match her dress. Karen also had the dress cleaned and preserved after the wedding to have it just as perfect as it was on the wedding day! I have recommended Karen over the years to many brides and they have loved working with Karen who is such a delight to work with! Cannot thank you enough Karen for making their special day perfect!
Anne E.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Karen did my alterations for my wedding dress. She was so amazing! Karen was an absolute joy to work with. She spent seriously so much time perfecting every little thing. My dress fit me like a glove. The bustle Karen created for my dress was absolutely stunning. After the ceremony when she bustled it for me, it honestly looked like a completely different dress. Do not go to anyone else but her for alterations!

Also, if I knew Karen earlier, I would have definitely gotten my dress from her. When I walked into her studio, I was in awe. Honestly, she designs the most beautiful wedding dresses I have ever seen!

Thank you so much for everything Karen!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Harriet
Wedding:
11/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Oh my goodness. Where do I begin. I love my wedding dress so much, that I am seriously considering being burried in it, and I'm not even joking. Karen, aka My Fairy Godmother, is the absolute most amazingly talented woman I have ever come across. She literally started building my dress while the fabric was draped on me. She us super creative. Ideas just literally pop in her head and she builds the dress and/or makes adjustments. I am tall and plus size. She built the dress to my body in such a way that it plumped my butt, flattened my stomach and made me look like a cover model.

She is so attentive to every curve and bend of your body. She somehow makes magic! She went the extra mile! We had a short window to work in and she somehow made my extravagant gown that weighs about 40lbs and my mother's dress in about one month.

Her dress making is outstanding but so is her customer service. She always remains calm and makes you feel like the most beautiful thing ever. I got married during Thanksgiving week. My mother wasn't feeling well, so she made a trip to her home ON THANKSGIVING NIGHT to do a fitting! She was at my wedding and steamed everyone's tux and dresses. She got me ready, helped me down the aisle, then followed me to my formal portrait locations to make sure my dress was properly placed. She is an absolute dream.

I was absolutely blessed wih a fantastic designer, but I have also gained a friend for life.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MJ
Wedding:
10/12/2012
5.0/5.0
I found Karen Hendrix five days before my wedding when I was truly distraught about the unfinished status of my home made dress. She not only helped me answer questions about finishing touches, added her beautiful work to complete the dress, and calmed my nerves with her sweet, caring personality. She really was exactly the person I needed in that moment and I am happy to have made her friendship in the process. I would recommend Karen Hendrix Couture again in a heartbeat!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debbie
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
I am thrilled that I found Karen! She worked her magic on my daughter's wedding gown. She not only made a beautiful bustle, but worked patiently and tirelessly designing a hidden hem on the front of the gown that saved us hundreds of dollars. She is the kindest, calmest person I have ever met. When one idea didn't work, she came up with another one, and another one. Karen was not satisfied until the gown was perfect. She is an amazing woman both personally and at her craft.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
9/1/2012
5.0/5.0
There are not enough words to explain how wonderful of an experience that I had with Karen. I think that I went to every wedding gown store in Tennessee and I just could not find the gown that I wanted to walk down the aisle in on my special day. That is when a friend suggested that I give Karen a call and it was the best decision that I made. Karen was able to take everything that I liked about the different dresses that I had looked at and make a dress that was unique to me. She was careful to make sure that the dress was exactly the way that I wanted it and on top of making the most beautiful dress I have ever seen, she was also an incredible support during the planning process. By the time that my wedding day arrived Karen knew everyone in my family and it was only appropriate that as I walked back down the aisle that she was standing there crying and waiting to give me a big hug. She became a part of my family and my wedding day would not have been the same without her!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1300750406539-sam0114
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I came to Karen after buying my dress at Priscilla of Boston(which went out of business 4 months after the dress had been purchased) I had fallen out of love with my dress after the spray painting gowns fiasco. She took my dress added bust cups, altered the train, and waist. One of most calming, kind, and loving woman I've ever met.. an absolute joy to work with. She is nicknamed the "Fairy Godmother" and appropriately so!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
6/23/2012
5.0/5.0
I was a high school student in search of a formal dress when I met Karen. With my petite size, I knew I would be needing alterations. What I did not know was that the woman who would do my alterations then would alter 5 more formal dresses and 10 bridesmaid dresses over the next fifteen years, and ultimately design my wedding dress. After seeing Karen work her magic on those 15 dresses, I knew I didn't want to waste my time having her remake someone else's dress when she could design a custom dress to fit me perfectly. Karen is a talented and dedicated designer that will go above and beyond to make the dress of your dreams all the while treating you as more than just a customer. She will become your fairy godmother!
Megan
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ebhartmann
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
My entire experience with Karen Hendrix Couture has been a dream! Exactly what you hope for when looking for a dress for the most important day in your life. Not only are the dresses exquisite and beautifully made, but also you will never work with more genuine people. I highly recommend Karen Hendrix Couture to every bride!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maggie
Wedding:
5/20/2012
5.0/5.0
Karen is honestly one of the sweetest women I have ever met. My mother and I called her the "fairy god mother" bc that is exactly what she is. My dress was an EXTREMELY detailed San Patrick gown & I am sooooo glad we went with Karen. I do not think anyone else could have pulled it off the way she did. She is so skilled and has many years of experience. She will not stop until it is PERFECT! I traveled all the way from Memphis so that I could use her and it was totally worth it! I would definitely recommend her for anyone that lives in or close to Nashville. She is so professional, sweet, and talented!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Karen is the most talented designer and seamstress that I have ever met. She is creative, the ultimate professional, attentive to detail, patient, and has a calming demeanor that is so crucial during the wedding planning process. Each of these characteristics make her an exemplary individual that I wanted involved in my wedding day. I searched for a year to find the perfect wedding gown and finally ordered a gown from a local boutique. When the gown arrived and I tried it on, I stood in the dressing room and cried because I didn't feel beautiful. It didn't fit properly and I couldn't envision how it could be altered in a way to make it beautiful. As a result, I concluded that I hated the dress itself. I called my wedding planner in a panic, thinking that I was going to have to start my search for a dress over, and she suggested that I meet with a talented seamstress named Karen first and then we would make a decision. From the moment I met Karen I knew that I would love her. She was encouraging, knowledgeable, and full of amazing ideas. She immediately starting pinning and tucking and by the end of the first appointment I was in tears again, but this time, tears of joy because of how perfectly she was fitting this dress to my body. I had glimpses of what I had always imagined I would look like on my wedding day. I had also purchased a sash from the boutique that I loved but it didn't seem to be working with the dress. Karen had the brilliant idea to remove portions from the decor on the sash and add them directly to the lower bodice of my wedding gown. It was the first of many creative ideas that Karen would have in our process of working together. She also made various alterations to my veil to give it the perfect lift that I wanted for the special day from looking at a picture that I showed her from a bridal magazine. I looked forward with anticipation to each fitting with Karen because it was like seeing the different stages of an artist working on a masterpiece. With meticulous care, she took a dress that didn't fit, and therefore I wasn't in love with, and turned it into a beautiful, hand tailored gown that fit my body perfectly and made me feel my most beautiful on the most important day of my life. Karen saved her most inspired idea for the Monday before my wedding. I was with her for my final fitting and I was sharing my concerns about wearing my wedding gown for the entire reception and specifically for a special first dance that my fiance and I had planned. I had purchased a few options for second dresses but none of them seemed to be right, particularly when I had this amazing gown that fit me perfectly that I wanted to stay in as long as possible. Karen quietly whispered - we could cut it for the reception. If anyone but Karen would have suggested this the Monday before my wedding I would have answered with an emphatic no, but at this point in the process, I trusted Karen exclusively and so I entrusted her with the process and said let's do it. We began to measure and plan for this significant undertaking. I had one more fitting on the Wednesday before the wedding and it was like the unveiling of Karen's masterpiece. I tried on my wedding gown and it looked perfect, I could not detect where she had cut the dress. She then carefully untied beautiful ribbons that were holding the dress together with secure attachments between the pieces. Even though no one would ever see how the two pieces of the gown attached and detached as they were underneath portions of the dress, Karen had taken the time to do it in a beautiful manner as to not take away from the gown. When she untied the final piece and pulled it away we both squealed with delight. It was perfection. I was left with a gorgeous, fun party dress for my reception. We kept this alteration a secret from everyone except for my mom and one bridesmaid. On the night of the wedding, I received countless compliments from my guests on how beautiful my wedding gown was and how it fit me to perfection. Right before the dancing began, Karen and I went to a private area and untied the bottom of my dress. Everyone at the reception was stunned when I came out in a short party dress and assumed I had bought a second dress for the night. They slowly began to realize that it was my original gown, now shorter. It was a show stopper! I know that this is a very long review, but I wanted to ensure that I captured the importance of the role that Karen played in my special day. She is a fairy god mother, a friend, a life saver. I cannot begin to express my appreciation to her for her patience, her thoughtfulness, her incredible and savvy sense of fashion, her talented seamstress work, and her creativity that took a dress that I hated and made it into a gown that I loved. I consider her a friend and a gifted designer and seamstress that many more should have the pleasure of working with when they are planning a special day.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gingereye
Wedding:
12/5/2011
5.0/5.0
I have had the opportunity to have referred Karen to many of my Brides Her work is superb!!!!! I have many Happy Brides and that is Greatly appreciated. I will continue to refer. Thank you so very much for all you do for my Brides!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracie
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Karen and her team and simply WONDERFUL to work with!!! With each fitting, you are greeted with a precious and warm smile from Karen and you know you are in good hands. She has a very relaxing personality which is perfect for any bride-to-be! When you are in Karen's hands, you can let all of the worries and stress fall away. You see if vision coming together each time you visit her. And you can always count on Karen to be on time with any dates that she gives you. Again, no worries, your fairy godmother is there to make your dreams come true. From a mother of a groom who worked with Karen on my dress and my new "daughter's" dress! Everything turned out even better than we both could have imagined and the price was not just reasonabe, it was much lower than I expected. Kudo's to Karen Hendrix Couture!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeni
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Karen not only altered my dress beautifully but she custom made me an amazing sash. She was a joy to work with and I can't wait to see her again when I take my dress in so she can send it out to be cleaned and preserved.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
embulloc
Wedding:
3/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Karen Hendrix truly has a wonderful gift and talent. She altered a gown of mine and made it fit like a glove!! The time spent with Karen was so pleasant and fun! I would recommend her to anyone who is looking for the perfect gown. Working with her is an experience to remember!


She is as good as it gets!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DCulver
Wedding:
11/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Loved Karen- She couldnt be sweeter! You feel so comfortable with her, and she listens to everything you need
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
8/16/2008
5.0/5.0
Karen is one of the sweetest women I've met. She did such a great job on my dress and was so great to work with. She will make sure you feel like a princess on your wedding day!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
4/26/2008
5.0/5.0
I love Mrs. Karen she is so sweet and helped me with more than just my wedding dress. She beaded my shoes, too and made my veil. She is a very special woman of God and a wonderful dress maker. I hope she has taken a vacation at least once in the last four years, though! She works very hard. Take Care.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
K
Wedding:
12/14/2013
4.9/5.0
Karen is excellent in both her work and her manner. She makes a beautiful dress and she makes the process very enjoyable. I brought her a dress and requested many changes - she made them all! And the dress looks exactly the way I imagined.

I am using Karen's wedding day and bridal portrait services and will write another review about that after its all over! She is bringing the dress to both events and staying with me the whole time. Invaluable.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patricia
Wedding:
7/28/2012
4.9/5.0
There are not enough words to describe how wonderful Karen Hendrix is. We purchased my daughters dress at Lowe’s Bridal in Arkansas and they handed us a list of vendors to get it altered in Nashville. Karen was the first one on the list and once we called her I knew she should be the only one on my list. She is amazing! When the dress came in it needed a lot of alteration and Karen expertly worked on the dress until it was a perfect fit and my daughter looked like a princess. My only wish is that I had another daughter that I could take to Karen’s for her wedding dress. I will miss going to our appointments as they were always so much fun. Karen is the sweetest kindest women I know. I was really touched when she called after the wedding just to see how the wedding had gone. I wish Karen all the best in her future endeavors and I will recommend her to everyone I know.
We also had Alain make my daughters veil. My daughters wish was to use my veil but even after 31 years it was still stark white and would not work with her ivory dress. So Alain to the rescue. He made her a beautiful cathedral length veil that was absolutely a perfect match for her dress.
I’m not sure how we got so lucky to find these two wonderful people under the same roof but God must have had a plan when he put them together.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tanya
Wedding:
7/14/2012
4.8/5.0
Karen is such an amazing dress maker! She made the alterations and also completely re-did the bust in my dress and turned a weird flaw in my dress into a beautiful flawless gown. She was super helpful, sweet, caring and professional throughout my experience with her. I loved every minute of my time with Karen and would recommend her to anyone I know!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Casey
Wedding:
11/10/2012
4.7/5.0
Karen provided the alteration services for my wedding gown that was made by Allure Couture and purchased at Low's Bridal in Arkansas. My dress's delivery got delayed and only arrived 6 weeks before my wedding. Before the dress' arrival, I called Karen and asked if she would have enough time and she said absolutely! Karen was committed to perfection and also helped me make a few changes to make the dress my own. She also referred me to her colleague, Allen Patterson, to custom make my hairpiece. Allen took pieces of lace from my mother's wedding hat/veil, and some organza and lace from the alterations of my dress to create a one of a kind hairpiece that I loved!! My only complaint is that Karen is really busy. My 2nd fitting wasn't as far along as expected because of an emergency client that she took on. I was nervous about the timing, but Karen made it happen...even if she was sewing on the dress while it was on me at the final fitting two days before the wedding! Obviously it's best to have your dress as early as possible so you don't have that stress. But, I thank Karen for her hard work on a difficult dress in a short amount of time. And, if you haven't purchased a dress yet, Karen makes custom gowns that are gorgeous!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heidi
Wedding:
10/21/2012
4.6/5.0
Beyond having a breath-taking one-of-a-kind gown made to be my dream gown, Karen was such a gentle and pure spirit to work with: always uplifting, always encouraging, and always loving. It was so special to me that she let me know from the beginning of my gown-creating experience she would be praying for me and my family and blessings over us. I will always appreciate that during the 6 months going into my wedding day, she breathed life into me and my day-to-day stresses.

I brought her my ideas and imagination in what I was looking for in a gown, and she brought it to life! Together we pushed the envelope and I was incredibly blessed with my other-wordly dress. :-)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.0/5.0
Karen did an excellent job on my alterations! Although the cost was quite a bit more than expected, she met with me several times and really worked to get it exactly as I wanted it. Well worth the cost! I would absolutely go to Karen again for my wedding dress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
Historic Hillsboro Village Area, 2021 21st Avenue South Suite 410, Nashville, TN 37212 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Karen Hendrix Couture
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1321465295710-vivsittingonsofa