130x130_sq_1339125367525-ah637

Karson Butler Events

Washington , DC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Washington, DC US 20003 (map)

PHONE

202-525-3881

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The twin sister duo behind Karson Butler Events specializes in designing weddings that reflect each couple's unique style and personality. Amber Karson and Emily Butler combine fresh,... Read more
The twin sister duo behind Karson Butler Events specializes in designing weddings that reflect each couple's unique style and personality. Amber Karson and Emily Butler combine fresh, innovative ideas with over a decade of planning experience. Founded by Amber in 2008, Emily joined Karson Butler Events in 2010 and the California-born twins were re-united on Capitol Hill where they both reside. Although they are based in Washington DC, Amber & Emily have planned events in cities across the globe -- from New York, Pebble Beach, New Orleans, London, Montreal, Nassau, Mumbai & New Delhi to name a few! The wedding industry has noticed Karson Butler Events' distinctive style and attention to detail and their work is featured in Southern Living Weddings, Washingtonian Bride & Groom, Engaged!, Southern Weddings and The Knot magazines. Their work has also been on popular weddings sites such as Style Me Pretty, Elizabeth Anne Designs, Ruffled, The Brides Cafe, HGTV.com, Hostess With The Mostess, District Weddings and United with Love. Last spring, the duo appeared on The Knot's live webshow broadcast from the magazine's NYC headquarters. Named as "One to Watch" in Washingtonian Bride & Groom's list of Top DC Wedding Planners in 2012 & again to the list in 2013, Karson Butler Events is also a member of Style Me Pretty's Little Black Book. Read less
Wedding Planning

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1339124484388-ah350
130x130_sq_1339124495735-ah441
130x130_sq_1339124509386-ah684
130x130_sq_1339124520207-ah871
130x130_sq_1339124531884-ah592
130x130_sq_1339124553591-ah637
130x130_sq_1339124579320-0082j0422andersonimg1018
130x130_sq_1339124603766-0339j0422andersonimg1200
130x130_sq_1339124626419-263
130x130_sq_1339124628881-victoriamichael425of531
130x130_sq_1339124632484-victoriamichael75of531
130x130_sq_1339124635854-victoriamichael535of7
130x130_sq_1339124638708-victoriamichael138of531
130x130_sq_1339124640960-img1802editluxedluxy
130x130_sq_1339124643163-tarawelchphotographytoned65
130x130_sq_1339124652327-ajp247
130x130_sq_1339124668888-ajp250
130x130_sq_1339124692731-ajp22
130x130_sq_1339124707604-ajp30
130x130_sq_1339124718569-ajp36
130x130_sq_1339124722310-sarjo170
130x130_sq_1339124723454-sarjo091
130x130_sq_1339124725370-glenechoak910
130x130_sq_1339124726849-sarjo470
130x130_sq_1339124741042-willardengagedshow201219
130x130_sq_1339124776376-kirstenrusspreceremony062
130x130_sq_1339124813268-kirstenrussportraits010
130x130_sq_1339124832699-10495

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What types of weddings do you accommodate?
Civil, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly / Green, Military
What wedding planning services do you offer?
Day-of Coordinator, Full Planning, Partial Planning

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
10/12/2013
4.8/5.0
Karson Butler Events made our wedding a truly unforgettable day, and working with them was a pleasure to boot!

While they were planning our wedding in Washington, DC, I was living abroad and my husband was attending graduate school in Boston, so we needed people who were creative, flexible, and had extensive experience planning weddings in long-distance situations.

Emily and Amber exceeded our expectations at every turn - they agreed to periodically provide us updates via Skype conversations at times that worked for our hectic schedules, and they were incredibly pleasant and upbeat the whole time, effectively ameliorating all of our wedding planning concerns.

In addition, we were on a tight budget for a wedding in Washington, DC, and they secured us deal after deal with a variety of vendors to fit our budget, which was key to our whole wedding plan.

To sum it up, Emily and Amber's "can do" attitude saved us money, time, and peace of mind, and ensured that we had a wonderful wedding. We highly recommend them to anyone looking for an amazing, hassle-free wedding that won't break the bank but will be the most beautiful occasion imaginable!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
10/5/2013
4.6/5.0
Very helpful in coordinating, scheduling, recommending and wrangling vendors. I can't imagine us pulling of our camping weekend wedding without them! These ladies are very busy, so expect to get frequent auto-replies from them as they're working on or traveling for other weddings. But when they're yours, they're 100% yours!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Amber and Emily are miracle workers! I was engaged for three months and they still managed to pull off the wedding of my dreams. They are responsive and incredibly easy to work with. They made the process fun, relaxed and listen to what is important to you. They knew exactly the vendors to work with and I couldn't be more happy with them. The smartest thing I did was use Karson Butler Events. My only regret with them is that I should have used them more!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Amber and Emily are so easy to work with and have amazing ideas that made our vision go beyond what I ever thought it could be. Even living on opposite ends of the country, it was so easy to comminucate and "meet" via Skype or phone and they even made the effort to travel to my venue in months prior to the wedding to check it out. They were just so fun to work with and bounce ideas off of and really understood the wants and needs for our big day.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Luis
Wedding:
7/27/2013
4.8/5.0
Emily and Amber at Karson Butler Events were an invaluable help in planning our wedding. Not only did they help keep us on track and make sure everything was organized, but their relationships with vendors made sure we got the best available prices and service. They were particularly helpful in the last few days leading up to the event, as that's both when everything is coming together and when you (as the couple) have the least amount of time to handle it all.

We would recommend them to anyone without hesitation.

The only slight issue we had was responsiveness via email. This is understandable, as their busy and often out of town for events, but we found setting up in-person or Skype meetings a lot more productive than trying to sort things out over email.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Very helpful and took care of so many details that would've been stressful the day of the wedding. We did most of the planning and they helped execute day of the wedding and were very helpful carrying everything out and offering helpful suggestions. So friendly and great to work with!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
We think about our day and both agree it was our single favorite day ever. From start to finish, there isn't a thing we would change. Amber and Emily were simply wonderful to work with. They are experts at listening and collaborating so every detail of our wedding reflected who we are as a couple. We are sincerely grateful they were a part of this special and joyful day.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved our wedding and we loved Emily and Amber. They thought of so many wonderful little details and were just a joy to work with. We couldn't have been happier with the entire experience.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margaret
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot express how lovely it was to work with Amber and Emily...again. They also helped to prepare my sister's wedding last September. We hired them again for month-of consultation for my wedding, despite having someone to work with at the Park Hyatt in DC. Having the girls there was an irreplaceable benefit. Not only did they help me to visualize a beautiful escort table, they also had so many wonderful contacts whom we used as well (Meant to Be Calligraphy, Laura Hooper map designs, etc). All of these elements really came together to make a perfect day. For our family, since we are always running behind, it was awesome that they did things such as deliver all of our welcome bags (after assembling them), stepped up immediately to call people (such as our photog when he was slow in responding), and were there to help lead people during the rehearsal. Having them there on the actual day was priceless. Not only do they have such calm, collected demeanors, they really help create that atmosphere on the day and keep you from freaking out! Having them as a team works so well: Amber will be off gathering guests onto the shuttles while Emily was up helping me and my family, or vice versa. They helped with so many little things on my day that you don't even think about: who is going to bustle the dress, etc? I threw my bouquet during some photos, and almost died laughing when Emily pulled out some floral wire from her purse to help fix it! If that is not an indication of their preparation, I'm not sure what else could be. They helped throughout my ceremony as well, grabbing my other shoes from my room, helping to pin something in my dress, taking down the escort table and setting up the thank you gift table....an innumerable amount of things, half of which I'm sure I don't even know about! Now I just wish I could get married again so I can work with them again... maybe a nice party at least :)
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were so grateful for all of the work Amber and Emily put into our wedding in May. The Karson Butler team is super organized, responsive and always has a solution to any problem you have relating to your wedding! The end result was amazing and the team of vendors recommended by Amber and Emily were excellent. We had a family emergency the week of our wedding and truly wouldn't have made it through that week without their support.

Aaron and I both had amazing time during our wedding and didn't worry about a thing thanks to Karson Butler Events. The sister duo also has a wonderful design aesthetic and regularly went above and beyond the call of duty! KBE can take your ideas and turn them into a reality for your big day. I'd highly recommend Amber and Emily to any brides or grooms to be!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenn
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Karson Butler Events is absolutely stellar! I could not have organized my wedding without them. They have vision, style and an excellent skill for details and creativity. I am a very busy person, and we were overwhelmed at first with the thought of organizing our wedding. When we chose Karson Butler Events, Amber and Emily were immediately with me every step of the way, helping me make the right decisions for my budget. And, it paid off. My wedding day was flawless. My now husband and I fully agree that the best investment we made during the wedding planning process was our planners - Emily & Amber at Karson Butler Events! We adore them and have recommended them to many of our friends!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
12/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Amber and Emily are the absolute best wedding planners we could have possibly asked for! When we started planning our wedding we originally did not intend to hire a wedding planner but we are SO very glad we did! Amber and Emily made everything we envisioned for our wedding come to life. They listened to our plan and ensured all of our other vendors adhered to it so everything went smoothly and our entire wedding weekend was as perfect as could be. On the wedding day we were both totally relaxed and truly enjoyed every moment because we knew we didn't have to worry about a thing with them there. We could not be more grateful to them for all of their help throughout the planning process all the way through the wedding weekend. They are also wonderful to spend time with and help make wedding planning fun :) Could not recommend them more highly!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jodi
Wedding:
10/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Karson Butler Events is hands down the best decision I made when planning my wedding. Amber and Emily are the hardest working gals in the event business. They really went far beyond anything I could have ever imagined. My wedding day turned out to be a freak cold stormy day and my venue was a beautiful outdoor garden. Amber and Emily took all my decoration for the garden and made it work for the indoor plan b venue. No one even noticed that the wedding wasn't suppose to happen indoors, it was just perfect. When I needed to make those hard choices they were there to help guide me through what needed to be done and then made it all happen. On my wedding day I just had to worry about looking beautiful and getting married. I had no worries at all of the how the day would play out. All of my other vendors LOVED working with Amber and Emily. Every time I told another vendor that I had Karson Butler Events working my wedding the rush of relief and instant praise was expressed on how professional these ladies truly are. I can't express enough how hard working they are. Amber and Emily really deserve 10 stars of of 5. Amber and Emily have great ideas, great style, know the best of the best in the business, and they are worth every penny plus some in quality/value.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Su Chuen
Wedding:
10/5/2012
4.8/5.0
Amber Karson and Emily Butler, the duo behind Karson Butler Events are just amazing people to work with. I wanted a wedding planner that I felt comfortable with and that had great style. We did not have a big budget but they were willing to work with us to give us the wedding we dreamed of. They were very creative in coming up with solutions, including DIY wedding decorative pieces, to fit our budget. They were honest with us in terms of what we could and could not afford and tried to find another alternative if it was beyond our budget. On the day of, they coordinated the wedding flawlessly. It was such a beautiful ceremony and night for us!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1311535919931-img3412
Lauren
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Amber and Emily are unbelievably amazing, both as wedding planners and as people. Christopher and I had a long engagement, and A & E were there every step of the way, with inspiring ideas, encouragement through the crazy moments, and totally fun wedding related activities. I know they work with multiple brides at a time, but they have a way of making you feel as though you are the center of the universe.
For each vendor category, A & E provided wonderful recommendations. They have so many connections in the business, which is very helpful. And they also have an insane talent for connecting their brides with vendors who share the same style and aesthetic. A & E listened to what we liked, what we loved, and what we absolutely did not want. The result was a wedding that exceeded our wildest dreams. Yes it was lovely, but more than that, it was true to us.
A & E are total professionals, and now (lucky for us), dear friends.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
We live in Southern California and were planning our Washington DC wedding from across the country. We had decided to organize everything as a couple and spare the cost of a planner, which we eventually learned was a huge mistake, haha! As the date was quickly approaching, we were both totally overwhelmed with all of the vendors left to hire and details to coordinate. Luckily, we found Amber Karson and Emily Butler through a referral from our florist, who insisted they were the perfect duo to make our vision of an elegant event into a reality. They were an absolute delight to work with, and were instrumental in making every last detail perfect for our wedding day. Not only were they cheerful, outgoing, and creative, but they went way above and beyond getting to know us as a couple so the reception would be a perfect reflection of our passions and personalities. They expertly coordinated every part of the day and gently kept all of the timing running smoothly, so the entire wedding party was stress free and on schedule with everything we needed! All of our guests commented that it was the most amazing wedding they had ever been to, and even our Verger dubbed them the "best planners in the business". There is no way we could have had such an enjoyable time without their hard work, and thanks to Karson Butler Events, we will always remember our wedding as the perfect beginning to our life together as husband and wife.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Amber & Emily are truly the Dream Team! I met with so many planners before I found these two and it was by far the best decision. Amber Karson Events offers multiple packages and they can even customize them for you. Amber & Emily will walk you through what you've already done so far and help you decide what package works best for you. These two are the most easy going, creative, fun to be around, and organized people - which is the perfect combination for any bride. The day of my wedding was absolutely perfect because of these two. I had absolutely no stress the day of because I knew they would take care of anything that popped up. My husband and I enjoyed the whole day because we weren't worried about meeting the schedule or where grandpa ran off to ; Amber & Emily took care of it all. The best was that our families were seeking them out to thank them for helping create such a wonderful day for everyone! That's when you know you hired GREAT people! These two are amazing and you truly want to become great friends with them after the wedding because you spend so much time with them and they do such a great job. If you are looking for wedding planners that are beyond organized and fun to work with look no further! We will definitely be using their services again! Thanks A&E for Everything! Love C&M
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Teresa
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough good things about Emily Butler and Amber Karson from Amber Karson Events! My husband and I are fortunate enough to live in beautiful San Diego, CA and after we got engaged, we knew there was no better place for us to be married. We also knew that we wanted our closest family and friends to experience more than just a one day celebration and take advantage of all of the incredible venues and things to do in our city. Amber Karson Events are a twin sister duo and their full service planning package was nothing short of amazing. They helped bring to life, three full days of events leading up to the wedding which included; a Rehearsal Lunch and afternoon at the Racetrack, a Bridal Spa Day and lunch, a Groom's Golf Tournament, an evening Welcome Reception, and the wedding, which we had at L'Auberge in Del Mar. Each of these events obviously had very different budgets, design themes, logistics, vendors, moving parts, etc. and ALL of them went off without a hitch. Going through the planning and creative design process was truly such a positive experience and David and I were so pleased that everything manifested was an authentic reflection of who we are individually and as a couple--which was the most important thing to us. There are so many decisions that must be made- it's mind blowing! Having experts that can understand your personality, taste, style and budget and then bring ideas and options forward is invaluable! I Not to mention "simple" tasks that would have taken me 5 steps to execute, they could do in 1 and could troubleshoot anything easily because of their experience and knowledge. I also absolutely LOVED the vendor teams that worked on each of the events we had on and around the wedding and AKE sourced each one of them based on fit and budget. Highly recommend AKE and feel so blessed that the most important day of our lives was in their hands!
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Flowers, Invitations, Photography, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Videography, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ellen
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Can imagine a better experience - the survey above (5 of 5) really captures the job that they did for us. Our daughter married in New Orleans (a place that does things differently) and Amber and Emily never missed a beat. They visited the site at least once, were like ninjas when local pricing seemed out of line and even brought in a fabulous floral designer from CA when the original florist's quote quadrupled.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Margaret
Wedding:
5/26/2012
4.5/5.0
I worked with Amber Karson Events for my May wedding on Capitol Hill for month of services and design. They are a wonderful duo based just a few blocks from my venue and their intimate knowledge of the neighborhood was so helpful. Emily and Amber were so thoughtful throughout the process and really helped keep everything on time and stress free the week and day of our wedding. They asked questions and planned details we had no idea needed to be planned. Emily and Amber made the weekend easy for all of our guests! We absolutely loved Amber & Emily's design services. They made my abstract vision become a reality. I was so amazed by how beautiful they made my wedding day, specifically the reception space. It was a dream come true when they unveiled the space to my husband and I. Their creativeness, attention to detail, and hard work paid off. All of my guests are still talking about how "us" the wedding was. (And, they kept to a limited decor budget!) They helped make the best decisions to transform the space. Emily and Amber are super sweet, know all the best vendors, and are a lot of fun to work with! (You can check out the reception space & my reaction here: http://goslingphotographyblog.com/2012/06/28/dc-capitol-wedding/ )
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen and Jay
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Amber and Emily of Amber Karson Events were absolutely amazing!! We worked with Amber Karson Events from the very beginning of the process, from venue selection to the final clean-up after the reception. We already knew, from reviewing the Amber Karson Events website and photos, that Amber and Emily knew how to put together a beautiful wedding. But what far-exceeded our expectations was Amber and Emily's ability to listen to us and then take what we said and come up with such creative ideas that really represented who we are. And each of the creative details made the day so beautiful and memorable and we were so touched that they went the extra mile to incorporate sentimental details that we had merely mentioned in passing during our meetings and that we would never have thought of.
Emily and Amber kept us on track throughout the entire planning process. Since I work very long hours, they were key in keeping the planning organized and on schedule. They recommended the perfect vendors to achieve the look and feel that we wanted. Even as our wedding day was approaching, our friends, family, and coworkers couldn't believe how stress-free we were. The only explanation I could provide was that Amber Karson Events was making sure that everything was going according to plan. It ended up being such a fun process. On the day of, Emily and Amber handled so many logistics and somehow made it look easy! With Amber and Emily taking care of everything, we were really able to enjoy our day -- it was the best decision we made!
Emily and Amber also handled unexpected events professionally and calmly, quickly pulling together solutions. For example, when the groom’s father got lost and was late to the ceremony, Amber hopped in her car and started searching, while Emily worked with the caterers to begin passing out beverages to hold our guests over. When the groom’s father still hadn’t arrived 30 minutes after the ceremony was supposed to begin, Emily and Amber quickly suggested we revise the schedule and hold the cocktail hour first – our guests LOVED this idea and so many have since told us that every wedding should be scheduled this way! Emily and Amber turned what could have been a disaster into a really fun and memorable part of the day!
Bottom line: Amber and Emily didn't just plan our wedding -- they helped us create the most special day that we and our guests cannot stop talking about. I would recommend them in a heartbeat to my best friends.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1316697536080-img6185
Megan
Wedding:
5/6/2012
5.0/5.0
I am shamefully late in writing this review. Amber and Emily (and their intern Rachael!) were truly a godsend for our wedding! They are professional, creative, have wonderful eyes for detail...and not to mention are absolutely so pleasant to work with! They worked various options with us when it came to their services as well as any vendors we needed help with, and walked me through so many details that I had not even considered. Even after my first meeting with them, I was confident that our wedding would celebrate us in a personal, romantic and unique way.

Best decision we ever made. Hire them NOW!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa P
Wedding:
5/5/2012
4.8/5.0
Emily from Amber Karson Events was our month of Coordinator for my daughters wedding. It was absolutely wonderful having her there from day one! We were told over and over that "we" made it look so easy when really it was Emily that made it so easy for us. She was so organized and so on top of things that it went like clockwork! She kept us all on schedule and had everything cleaned up and in our cars as we were saying goodbye to our guests. The bride was taken care of and never had to ask for a thing since Emily was right there making sure it was all done!
Many thanks to Emily and Amber for making this wedding so wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
11/19/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I still comment that hiring Amber Karson Events was the best decision we made for our wedding. I worked primarily with Emily Butler but also with Amber Karson closer to our actual wedding date; both were amazing. We chose to hire them for "month of" planning services but I felt like they had my back from the moment we met. I was so impressed by their attention to detail and flawless execution on the actual day of the wedding when they spent 17 hours working with us... and did it all in heels!:) They not only understood my vision but perfected it with little suggestions here and there. The spreadsheet they use to keep track of all wedding details is outstanding - from vendor contacts to timelines, table settings to important details, the spreadsheet captures it all. As someone who really appreciates logistics, this blew me away. They took over all vendor communications a few weeks out and made sure everything was in place the day of. They were patient and professional and really care about the couple. The final meeting we had to walk through everything really forced my husband and I to answer some tough questions and I thank them for that. Weddings are extremely stressful but knowing they were on my side made such a difference. Even the small things like hugs and cards were so comforting admit the wedding stress. I woke up on my wedding day feeling stress free and have Emily and Amber to thank. If you want a planner who has impeccable taste, is detail driven and also has the best interest of the bride at heart, hire Emily and Amber - you will not regret it. Thanks ladies - could not have done it without you!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
Amber Karson and Emily Butler, the dynamic duo that are Amber Karson Events, are nothing short of exquisite and fabulous. I can't emphasize enough how much class, professionalism, and style they brought to our wedding. I just felt like we were in such capable and caring hands the entire time. And I was an intolerable nervous wreck much of the time, but Amber and Emily were so patient with me and so reassuring. The end product was the wedding of my dreams, all executed without a flaw, and within our budget. Thank you SOOOOO MUCH, Amber and Emily, for all of your hard work, guidance, and leadership. Thank you for being such a stellar part of our special day. You were both such a source of comfort for us both and we thank you so much. And we really miss you guys, so we're taking you out for drinks soon!!!!! oxoxoxo
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Bg3
Izumi
Wedding:
8/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Having Emily and Amber as our wedding planner was the best thing that happened for our wedding!!
It was amazing that they made our wedding happen in 4 months and it was the PERFECT wedding for us.
We both knew we wanted to get married, but did not have a clear idea of our dream wedding. However, as we began working with them, we felt our dream wedding become clear. Amber and Emily created our dream wedding for us!
They have great connections with wonderful vendors! They were very responsible and professional, but also laid back and fun to work with. They are like your best friends or your family. They always listened to our worries and gave great advice. When we were around them, they always cheered us up and warmed our hearts.
We were so inspired by their creativity, friendliness, confidence and the fun they seemed to be having in their work! We were so impressed by their hard work and sincerity. In addition, we genuinely had a fun and great time with them! We were able to enjoy the wedding process so much just because of them!
Emily and Amber inspired our lives so much!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
J.R.
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Amber and Emily were GREAT! If they're available during your wedding weekend, book them while you can. Both Amber and Emily are extremely easy to work with and very detail oriented -- exactly what you want in wedding planners! They were always available to answer questions by email and even scheduled a meeting with us about six months before our July wedding in order to make sure that we were on track in terms of planning and booking vendors.

In addition, our vendors commented that they were impressed with their professionalism. Amber and Emily made sure that everyone -- from the vendors to our wedding party -- was on the same page and everything flowed smoothly on the big day. Our parents told us how much they appreciated Amber and Emily's help throughout the day, particularly the way they gave them a heads up about important moments coming up, such as the father/daughter dance, toasts, etc., to ensure that they were ready and in the right place.

We also booked them to help with our rehearsal dinner, which involved coordinating with outside caterers in our apartment building's ballroom. The logistics were a little complicated but they went above and beyond what we asked them to do, making sure that everything from set-up to take-down went smoothly and we could enjoy dinner with our guests without worrying about any of the details. Our guests raved about the event and we couldn't have pulled it off without them!

At both the rehearsal dinner and the wedding, Amber and Emily anticipated all of our needs and were there whenever we wanted them. They're a pleasure to work with and made sure our wedding weekend was a success. We recommend them without hesitation!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
oldtownjulywedding
Wedding:
7/23/2011
4.9/5.0
Amber Karson Events managed to both create a wonderful event and to work around and with the schedules of an extremely busy bride and groom. Additionally, major heat and humidity threw a last minute wrench into the plans, yet they adjusted on the fly with no problem and without detracting from the previous vision of the day's celebration.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
7/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Amber Karson Events is amazing! We had a great experience working with them from start to finish. In terms of designing our wedding, we met with them and they listened to what we wanted and delivered an entire book of great ideas, all of which we ended up using on our big day. For the day of planning, there is absolutely NO WAY we could have done it without them. They took care of everything and made it so that we and our family could actually enjoy the day. We had nothing to worry about. They expertly worked with all of our vendors, from 400+ miles away, to ensure that everything was in place before the big day, so that it all went smoothly. When we had one little hiccup with another vendor, they immediately took care of it without us even having to think about it. They made it so we could enjoy our wedding and there is nothing that I would do to change anything. It was perfect! They are professional, reliable, friendly, and a true pleasure to work with! Hiring Amber Karson Events, Amber and Emily, was one of the best decisions we made related to our wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Amber and Emily of Amber Karson Events are the most fantastic wedding planners you could ever meet. They are professional, creative, artistic, stylish, and incredibly organized. They planned the most beautiful setting possible and executed it to perfection. Not only did they do everything better than imagined, but they are also delightful people. We became good friends throughout the wedding planning process. No matter their rates (and they should charge more!), they are 100% worth it. If you are lucky enough that Amber and Emily are available on your wedding date, BOOK THEM IMMEDIATELY.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1327209777934-075667480025
Heidi
Wedding:
6/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Emily and Amber and the type of girls you not only want to have as your planners for their professionalism and skill, but also girls you like to know as friends. They are creative, caring, and compassionate. Most of all they love what they do and it comes through in their work.

I had the pleasure of working with Emily Butler as my wedding coordinator. To start, both Amber and Emily were pleasant and friendly to meet with an bubbling over with good ideas. My husband and I were particularly happy that they offered a variety of options for amount of services, as we only needed someone to help with suring up details for the day and making sure the wedding day itself ran smoothly.

Emily was very helpful throughout the wedding planning when I needed her. Most of all she was helpful in making sure we had all of the details and vendors aligned for the wedding day. Anything that I was unsure of or had not thought of she was ready to step in with good ideas and make sure that everything ran smoothly and that my whole wedding theme was met. We had a very nature themed wedding and Emily was fantastic in pulling together some last minute details to tie all of the ideas and the theme together nicely.

The best part of working with Amber Karson Events was having the peace of mind on my wedding day that all of the details would be looked after and that anything I needed I could ask Emily for at any time and it would be done. Emily even did a fantastic job in helping me to manange some sticky family situations and make sure everyone was happy and things ran smoothly. For that I am very thankful!

Overall, our wedding was amazing! My husband and I feel we had the perfect day in every way and feel we owe a lot of that to Emily. The day would not have been so wonderful without Emily's expertise, creativity, and responsiveness!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Hiring Amber and Emily was one of the best things I did while planning my wedding. They were AMAZING!! My mom and I both agreed, we could not have done it without them. Everyone in our wedding party was thrilled to have them there and also raved about how great they were. They are both organized, extremely friendly, creative, enthusiastic, professional, and fun! I can't say enough great things about these two! I would recommend them to anyone who wants to have an amazing wedding! Thank you Amber and Emily for making our wedding a truly special, flawless, and memorable event!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kirsten
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
The only regret I have about my daughter’s wedding was not contracting Amber Karson Events from the moment my daughter announced her engagement. The dynamic duo, twin sisters Amber Karson and Emily Butler, made an immense difference in the whole wedding planning process and with the ultimate events, the wedding ceremony and the following reception.

The photographer that we chose recommended Amber Karson Events, so after talking to several other wedding planners, I spoke with them. When I met them, I realized we were a good fit. I wanted someone who was more my daughter’s age who could determine what my daughter wanted her wedding to be like and then to translate that into a real plan. I was having a hard time grasping what my daughter and her fiancé wanted and she was in the middle of a very intense year away at graduate school.

Emily and Amber grasped early on what my daughter’s desires were for the wedding. They knew she wanted the ceremony to be meaningful, the celebration to be an intimate affair where the guests felt welcome/ part of the event, and that it was fun. She wanted great food and beautiful music too. They helped us make it that way. I think each guest felt that we appreciated them being there (which we did) and truly enjoyed the day.

Amber and Emily turned me on to some incredible vendors. They made sure all of the “i’s” were dotted and the “t’s” crossed. And there were a lot of t’s and i’s. They scheduled things well and coordinated them all perfectly.

There were a few things that I didn’t seem to manage to get done by the time I needed to and they jumped in and instead of me burning the midnight only they took over them. They were there for me when I really needed them. They were so cheerful about it.

When we arrived at the wedding venue on the wedding day, I knew I had no worries. I wasn’t worrying about the caterer, the band, the flowers, etc.. I was there enjoying the magic of the day with friends and family from start to finish. Most importantly, the bride and the groom were having the time of their lives.

Emily and Amber are smart, creative, knowledgeable, receptive, reasonable, grounded, fun, professional, organized, etc., etc., etc. These attributes combined with their ability to understand what your desires and needs are make them the whole package of what you want and need from event planners.

Amber Karson Events are the bee’s knees, the cat’s pajamas. In other words, they are the best!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mes1016
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Amber Karson Events were absolutely, postively the best! They were actually the very first vendor that I contracted for the wedding...due to their fantastic recommendations. Onsite, Amber and Emily were life-savers! There were a few unplanned instances with guests and Amber and Emily handled them with such ease (in fact, I didn't even know of the instances until after the wedding - which was great!). We received many compliments from our guests on their professionalism and attentiveness to every detail of the day. I would not plan a wedding without them!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
November12
Wedding:
11/12/2010
5.0/5.0
Amber and Emily at Amber Karson Events were AMAZING! They were so much fun to work with, very detail oriented, and went above and beyond being just a "day of" coordinator. I was told by a few people that I was the most relaxed and calm bride they'd ever seen... that's because I knew everything was in good hands with Amber and Emily! I would highly recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
130x130_sq_1289352559602-148127121554367904073100001485301513141056920646n
Marissa
Wedding:
10/31/2010
5.0/5.0
Working with Emily from AKE was sheer joy, simply delightful. It was the most amazing, sweet, and stress free time of all my wedding planning!!! Emily's eye for both detail and perfection exceeded far beyond what I was hoping for. Emily created ALL of my paper products: Save The Dates, Invitation Suite, Rehearsal Dinner Invites, Menus, and all paper signage placed throughout our venue. We talked about my vision and in turn she took that to a whole new level – a level that was heights above the vision I had.

I am located in Seattle WA and AKE is based out of Washington DC – while working with them I often forgot they weren’t around the corner or a coffee shop meeting away. AKE delivered everything in a timely manner and there was never a moment when I couldn’t get a hold of them whether it was via email and/or phone. They were always readily available.

Our guests have not stopped talking about our paper products. The Pie Bar signage. The Invitation Suite. The Insert card details. Etc… It wasn’t tough to tell that each invite was made with heart and a special touch. Its that special touch that make Amber Karsen Events an A+ team.

Thank you so very much for making our wedding day what it was – after all, our guests wouldn't have known where to be, at what time, and on what day if it wasn’t for you =) xoxo
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
EHorner
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Amber and Emily are beyond fabulous! When our wedding was over, I wasn't the only one giving them glowing reviews - our family and friends were all commenting on how great our wedding planners were.
They negotiated with our hotel to give our guests a great rate (and us a free suite), they organized our rehearsal & rehearsal dinner, coordinated with our vendors to create a detailed itinerary, set up our reception space with attention to the smallest details and most importantly, kept me smiling along with family and friends. Everything was taken care of, so there was no last-minute stress or need to worry! In fact, when we did have a vendor who couldn't deliver for us in the last minute, Amber went out and took care of everything before we (the bride and groom) even knew about it.
Their approachable and friendly personalities make them both a pleasure to work with and, on top of that, their amazing sense of style leads to great advice on decor and the overall look of the event. I can't say enough great things about them or their work.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sjones124
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
I worked directly with Emily from start to finish. She came highly recommended from one of my family members. Although she moved to Washington, DC, and I'm in California, she was a great communicator and was always there when I had questions and to offer advice. From start to finish, she was such an easy person to work with. She sent me samples of each item we were working on, made suggestions and allowed me to make some as well. She did a fantastic job on our invitations, table numbers, programs, and escort cards. We received numerous compliments on how beautiful they were. Of all of vendors, I was the least stressed and most confident in Emily and her work. Her paper goods really pulled our color scheme together, and I would recommend her to anybody!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
I feel like I found the very best there is! Amber and Emily went way above and beyond the callnof duty on every aspect of every project, plus they were really fun to work with. I'd recommend them to anybody.

Katie
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa
Wedding:
9/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Amber Karson Events saved my wedding!!!!!!!! Amber and her assistant/twin sister Emily were INCREDIBLE - worth every penny and more. The staff at the hotel where we had our ceremony and reception was pretty much useless, and Amber and Emily kept all of the problems from the guests and most from me (the few exceptions being problems I could see, like beer being served in bottles (despite direct requests from me previously and Amber and Emily repeatedly on the day), the hotel not using my personalized cocktail napkins, etc.) Amber and Emily worked their tails off before and during the wedding - they dropped the out-of-town gift bags off at the hotel, worked with me and the hotel on timing and flow of the event, kept a detailed timeline for the day of, talked to all vendors time and again, and worked really, really, really hard to keep me, my groom, and my parents (plus all guests) having the time of our lives. I cannot recommend Amber Karson Events enough - this was the best money we spent on the entire weekend. Everyone should book them without hesitation.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JennM
Wedding:
8/27/2010
5.0/5.0
I worked directly with Emily from Amber Karson events. I live in California and Emily recently moved to DC, so we were in constant communication (via phone and email) and she was an AMAZING partner in this process.

Emily has an amazing talent and is beyond creative. We received endless compliments on how gorgeous our invitations were. Emily also did an amazig job at creating the escort cards, menu cards, table names and thank you cards. You can tell that she took so much care when creating these works of art. I cannot thank Emily enough for helping to make our wedding day so beautiful and special.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amal
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Amber and Emily did a great job making our wedding perfect. They truely did everything to ensure the day went smoothly. I woke up on my wedding day without a worry and was the happiest I could be throughout the day knowing Amber and Emily were handling every detail, of every moment. They make sure to eliminate all stress that a bride/groom may typically encounter. Leading upto the wedding, they put together a minute by minute day-of schedule, contacted all our vendors to discuss details and made sure they had all information to execute our vision. They went above & beyond our expectations for a wedding planner!

Their experience in event planning and design is very evident. Amber and Emily are very meticulous, creative and an absolute pleasure to work with. There were many details they covered which I would have overlooked until the day-of. Even our family and friends commented on the amazing job they did – They were there to assist them with any questions/concerns throughout the day. Not only will they make sure your wedding day is perfect but they make the entire process a lot more enjoyable and smooth. Amber and Emily are very flexible and always available to answer questions and assist!

Amber Karson Events is amazing. All our guests are still talking about what a fabulous wedding we had and how smoothly the event went. We were able to have an absolute blast and relax at our wedding – THANK YOU Amber and Emily for everything!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sjw
Wedding:
10/3/2009
5.0/5.0
Amber and Emily did an amazing job with our destination wedding in the Dominican Republic. Working with vendors at international destinations can be especially challenging, all of which Amber and Emily took on with smile to make our dream wedding come true. They did everything from the wedding invitations, creative reception decor, week/day of coordination, and much, much more -- all with the utmost professionalism, flexibility, and creative initiative. They completely took all of the stress of the bride and mothers, allowing us to have an amazing, fun, and relaxing wedding weekend. We have been receiving compliments and thank yous from guests weeks after the event, regarding the overall style and particularly regarding the amazing work done by Amber and Emily.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eva
Wedding:
5/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Amber was a refreshing addition to the craziness that can often accompany wedding planning. She was able to put together a fabulous rehearsal dinner for my husband and I within our limited budget and added wonderful details that I would never have thought of. Our friends and family are still talking about it! Thanks, Amber!
Services Used: Wedding Planning

MAP

 
Washington, DC 20003 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Karson Butler Events
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1339125367525-ah637