130x130_sq_1389119046006-20130727website2013.07.27bondsevillaweddingud9a498

Kate Haus Photography

Washington , DC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Washington, DC US 20036 (map)

PHONE

719-930-6736

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

KateHaus, started as Alpine Moon Photography by Katharine Hauschka in 2005, is a destination photography service based out of Washington DC, with Colorado and Massachusetts ties. I... Read more
KateHaus, started as Alpine Moon Photography by Katharine Hauschka in 2005, is a destination photography service based out of Washington DC, with Colorado and Massachusetts ties. I specialize in weddings, portraiture, events, nature and travel photography. I also work with photography in food, sports, modeling, fashion, architecture, archiving, multimedia slideshows and retouching. I'm a graduate of Boston University's Center for Digital Imaging and I have my work published in various books, magazines and educational displays.

Kate is a member of ASMP, APA, DWF & Wppi Read less
Photography

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Negatives, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
yes
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
absolutely
Is your media preference film or digital?
digital
How many photographers do you work with?
0-2
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
yes
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
more than one a weekend, but never more than one wedding a day
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
yes
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
all my camera gear
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
yes
Do you charge hourly or full day?
full day
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
of course- depends on what the request is for
Do you charge for travel?
yes
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
2 weeks
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
online proofing
How long can the client keep the proofs?
1 year
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
yes
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
yes-negotiable
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
yes
Will images be available for viewing online?
yes
What kind of albums do you offer?
Leather bound flushmount albums, and coffee table books
When will the client get the final album?
within 8 weeks of the final proofing

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Kate's talent is by far the biggest selling point. When I first saw her photographs, I just knew...I knew this was it. She has been there throughout my entire wedding planning process since she did our engagement shoot, our wedding shoot and was an essential part of all of it coming together. Her work is absolutely amazing and she's pretty freakin' funny to boot. We loved working with her, we love our sneak previews so far and there is not a single doubt in my mind that our final wedding pictures will blow me away (much like my engagement photos did). She is worth every single penny, I promise.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Catherine
Wedding:
4/13/2013
5.0/5.0
Kate was great! We couldn't be happier with our wedding pictures! She was soooo nice and most of the time we didn't even notice she was there. We will definitely be using her again!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Kate did our photography for our wedding day, and she was great. She had a lot of ideas and made the picture process easy. In our meetings and correspondence leading up to the day she was always very responsive and had great ideas. I would definitely recommend her to anyone.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Katharine (KateHaus Photography) was our wedding photographer in Sept. 2012. Her work is incredible, she’s got a tremendous eye and sense of composition, and – oh by the way – she’s easy to work with and exceedingly professional. In short, in my opinion you will not find a better photographer.

There was a lot that impressed us about Katharine, but three highlights. (1) Bottom line – her pictures are stunning. We’re trying to put together a wedding album and literally have more amazing photos than we know what to do with. (2) She had three cameras and literally jumped into the weeds without hesitation to get one shot (and it’s one of our favorites). We absolutely felt like the most important people she’d ever photographed. (3) Details – she provided a curated set of digital images to us, so we didn’t have to deal with photo overload. In working with us to put together a wedding book, she’s helped us capture the spirit and story behind the event.

Finally, I have to commend Katharine on her professionalism – we always knew what we were paying, why, and what our options were. I don’t know how many of our life events will require a professional photographer in the future, but Katharine will be that person for us as long as she’s in the business.
Services Used: Photography
Bg20
bernadettec
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
A photographer is so much more than someone who takes your pictures, so you have take extra special care in selecting one. They take on the responsibility of capturing the story and emotion of your wedding day for generations to come, and they only have one chance to do it! Kate was that person for us and she did an AMAZING job! And if we had to do it all over again, we'd do it again with her!

When someone recommended her to us, we loved her style of photography and knew she was the one. From there, her professionalism really came through in everything she did; from our conversations, to the planning, to the negotiating, and to the scheduling. She talked with me at length to make sure she understood what we wanted, what we were looking for, and what our concerns were. She followed it up with a questionnaire to ensure she got it right and that all the details that I so carefully planned were not overlooked. She worked hard to creatively find ways to accommodate our constrained budget while still providing us with everything that was important to us.

And when it came down to the actual photography, we couldn't be happier! Her experience and talent (and she has a lot of it) really made a difference. She knew what looked good, what photos she needed to take, when to take them, and who to take them of. It was such a relief that she needed no direction whatsoever on that day as I had neither the time nor the capacity to guide her! Our photos were creative, inspired, emotional, and simply beautiful. She was everywhere but yet never in the way. She composed stunning portraits as well as candids of even the most photo-aware (me!).

Finally, I had underestimated the value of her interaction with our guests. THEY LOVED HER! During the wedding, after the wedding, and when everyone saw her pictures, we heard over and over again how great she was, how nice she was, how thorough she was, and how she really captured the true emotion of the day...I highly recommend Kate to anyone and everyone!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Kate covered our engagement session last spring, and our wedding last fall, and she was such a pleasure to work with! From the start, Kate was very easy to reach and quick to respond by email. She was really easy to talk to as we were deciding what kind of coverage we wanted, what our budget would allow, and what the end results would be. We were really impressed with the pictures that she showed us in person as well as those found on her website. She was very approachable and flexible with any questions we had about cost and package information as well.

We met in April to have our engagement pictures taken, and Kate immediately put us at ease. We casually walked around the city, and Kate was so creative in taking advantage of different spots that seemed so ordinary- but turned out to be amazing backgrounds for the pictures. We covered a ton of spots, and the end result was a wonderful mix of candid, natural, and posed shots. She's intuitive and quick-thinking, and just as she had lots of items for placement and poses, she was up for any ideas that we wanted to try out, too! We ended up with all of the pictures on a DVD, and we are so happy to have had the chance to have these pictures done before the wedding.

The day of our wedding, Kate came to be with me and Marie, her lovely assistant, went to be with my husband as we each got ready. Marie was great in capturing the candid moments as the guys were getting ready, both inside and outside prior to the ceremony. Kate was wonderful in fitting in a ton of beautiful pictures of us getting ready, in various spots before we left and even on the bus as we drove to the church. From then on, every special moment was captured. There were pictures of the ceremony and reception that I never would have imagined could have been taken, as they happened so fast. But Kate and Marie were experts at unobtrusively documenting everything.

Kate and Marie's easygoing nature came in very helpful when small hiccups arose - not being able to find our rings, rain, lights turning off in our tent! They documented all of it in a way that showed the beauty and uniqueness of the day.. how missing the rings became a joke throughout the ceremony, how the rain actually made the reception cozy, and how exciting it was when we were all dancing by just the light of the flashes and videographers' lights. We are so truly grateful to have all of the expected and unexpected moments documented, and we are so thankful for Kate and Marie for making the whole experience so beautiful!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ellen W
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
If I could give extra stars I would.

Kate is a star, an amazing talent, and makes a couple feel completely at ease (even lighter!) after working with her.

Not to mention her style and just the amazing photos she takes.

I would have had NO other photographer than Kate at our wedding. Such a blessing to have had her.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheryl
Wedding:
6/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Kate was a great photographer for my wedding. She took amazing pictures and made me and my fiance feel at ease with the shots she took of us. Even my guest said her pictures were great. Her style is mainly photojournalism but she also takes awesome artistic style photos as well. The day goes by fast, so the pictures are all that you will have of the day. So we were glad we had Kate as our photgrapher.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steve
Wedding:
4/29/2011
5.0/5.0
We were extremely impressed with Kate Haus. Our wedding pictures were absolutely beautiful and the entire experience was wonderful. She put us at ease and helped us enjoy our special day. Our friends and family have all commented on how much they liked the pictures, and we wouldn’t have changed anything.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1304473017158-weddingphoto4
Mysba
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
Kate is absolutely amazing!! We were married in April during the WORST storm of the year (at the time). People always say that it's good luck for it to rain on your wedding day, but we had planned to go to the gardens to take group shots so I was devestated. Kate had already scouted the location earlier that week and everything. She assured me that we would find places within the hotel to take pictures and she even showed me the pics she was taking throughout the night to put me at ease! When we got the proofs back, I was simply blown away. She captured every little moment perfectly and everyone says that I have the most amazing photos...thanks to Kate! DO NOT HESITATE!! She's worth it! Thanks Kate for capturing my dreams!!! You're the best :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AdamArmiger
Wedding:
2/12/2011
5.0/5.0
We chose Kate as the photographer for our black tie event when a friend of ours recommended her services. We could not have been happier with having Kate as part of our event. She was responsive, professional and took incredible pictures. The greatest thing for us was the it didn't feel like she was there photographing the event, but it felt like she was a part of our event - And we loved that. She truly did an incredible job of capturing our event.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelsea
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I got married twice and Kate photographed both of my weddings (one at the very last minute on my part!). She was completely professional and prompt and thorough, and turned the photos around online and on a DVD in a short period of time, for which I was grateful.

A few things in particular stood out for me. 1) Kate is great at organizing large groups of people for photos and getting it done quickly. I don't think anyone felt like they had to wait around forever for wedding portraits, which was awesome. 2) Kate has amazing stamina. She was at my wedding from noon to midnight and didn't miss a beat. 3) Kate is very tall. Which translates into getting a great angle on your photos!

In addition to the ceremony and reception photos, we opted for the photobooth at the wedding. We urged our guests to have their photos taken in lieu of a guest book so that we could remember what they looked like on our wedding day. Our guests had a blast getting their photos taken during the reception and my husband and I had a ball seeing the photos shortly afterward...it felt like an extra wedding present. My parents printed and framed them and sent them as holiday gifts.

I would certainly recommend Kate's photography services to anyone and hope to work with her again in the future.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Klynch
Wedding:
6/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Ladies, you are insane if you DON'T pick Kate for your wedding photos. She was supper attentive in the planning process and really listened to what we wanted. She went above and beyond on the day of our wedding, too. When the wind picked up during our ceremony and my veil went completely haywire from the angle of the audience, Kate (discreetly) hopped a low fence that was in the way to make sure she could get photos of my face. As if her portfolio doesn't speak for itself, our photos are absolutely beautiful! Such a doll to work with and amazing end results.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cara Lynch
Wedding:
9/6/2008
5.0/5.0
I used Alpine Moon Photography for my engagement photos, most specifically my save the date photos. Both the shoot and resulting photos were fantastic! Katharine was really easy and fun to work with. Its evident that she is really experienced and reads peoples comfort levels quickly. Upon realizing that we were not as natural and comfortable in a studio setting, she suggested we move outside to catch the sunset despite the cold, winter temperatures. Katharine was willing to let us be natural, laugh and be ourselves. Somewhere in our fun outside, she was able to capture great photos against beautifully lit background scenes. Additionally, she was willing to try some of my more hair-brained ideas including repetitively jumping off a ledge and wearing flip flops with our wedding date on our hands. The proofs were provided online within 24 hours and Katharine was open to alterations or sizing changes if we needed them almost immediately (within 2 hours of our request). I can't say enough good stuff about Alpine Moon Photography and Katharine. Our photos have received so many compliments for truly capturing us, our emotions, and the beautiful scenery and sunset we were able to catch! Alpine Moon Photography certainly exceeded our expectations!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
edisoc
Wedding:
6/29/2008
5.0/5.0
Katharine is amazingly talented. She is able to work with any age in any setting and get fantastic results. She photographed our wedding and not only do we love the pictures, our family and friends also benefited from her wonderful work and are enjoying many prints of their own. We're expecting a baby now and only wish we lived closer so she could take some new born pictures as well!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
6/7/2008
5.0/5.0
Working with Katharine for our wedding photos was a wonderful and stress-free experience. I would highly recommend her for her photography skills, her approachability and friendliness, her unobtrusiveness, and her desire to make sure that she got the pictures we wanted. A key part of having a wedding photographer is to hardly know that they are there taking pictures. While we knew Katharine was there as a friend and guest at the wedding, the fact that she caught some amazing moments on camera as well was wonderful. We were extremely happy with the photos that we got back and are so thankful for Katharine capturing those truly once-in-a-lifetime moments. Thank you Katharine!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angie
Wedding:
4/5/2008
5.0/5.0
Katharine is so talented one of the best I've worked with. People always ask me.. 'who took that?'.
I am looking forward to doing my newborn annoucement pictures coming up.
Angie Goff
WUSA-TV
Washington, DC
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marian
Wedding:
9/22/2007
5.0/5.0
Katharine provided wonderful service for us on our wedding day! She even traveled to our wedding! She is fantastic to work with, very flexible and attentive. She was able to capture virtually every moment of our day and we certainly didn't mind having her with us all day! She is great with the guests and blended in with our day! Check out her photos!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annie
Wedding:
6/9/2007
5.0/5.0
Katharine did an exceptional job photographing our wedding - it was a day-long extravaganza, and she not only took fantastic shots during and after the ceremony but captured fun candids throughout the morning preparations, the afternoon and well into the evening. She even managed to get three fantastic large-scale photographs of everyone attending our wedding (over 100 people) - with only one person blinking! Kath brought her own ideas for beautiful posed shots, as well as taking the family-tradition pictures that we requested. I'm only getting married once, or I'd have her do it again.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robert
Wedding:
7/22/2006
5.0/5.0
Kath took great pictures at our wedding. She traveled all the way to Hamburg, Germany. After and during the ceremony she took unforgettable pictures and was very creative and professional in doing so. She has the talent to create a relaxed harmonious atmosphere which my wife and I really enjoyed. I consider Kath as a very talented and gifted photographer who is able to capture significant moments on camera and therefore provides great memories.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Washington, DC 20036 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Kate Haus Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1389119046006-20130727website2013.07.27bondsevillaweddingud9a498