130x130_sq_1402573667993-kg-1

Kathleen Hertel Photography

Catonsville , MD

LOCATION

28 I Bloomsbury Ave
Catonsville, MD US 21228 (map)

PHONE

443-805-5155

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Ever since I was a little girl I had a strong imagination. I use to create my own little worlds where anything could happen. I have found that I do the same with my photography. One of... Read more
Ever since I was a little girl I had a strong imagination. I use to create my own little worlds where anything could happen. I have found that I do the same with my photography. One of my favorite things about being a wedding photographer or portrait photographer is taking a clients idea and running with it. I want to give my clients photos that are more beautiful then they could ever imagine. I want my viewers to look at one of my images and create their own stories.

I have been doing photography for over half my life. I started in the dark room in high school and then graduated with a degree in photography a few years later. I've been shooting weddings since 2007 but started working in the photography field after college. I was part of the developmental team for the Disney PhotoPass. (I worked for the Disney company for 11 years, Disney College Program Alum! ). I also have an extensive background in event management which makes organizing wedding days for my couples a breeze!

My style of Photography is a mix of Editorial and Journalism. I do pose some of my photos to create those picture perfect story images BUT 75 % of my weddings are just capturing the moments as they unfold.

When I'm not shooting weddings I LOVE to travel. You can say I have a bit of a Wanderlust. I have traveled to 6 our of 7 continents with next big adventure coming in January as I sail down through the Drake Straight to Antarctica. Of all the places I've been Africa, Cambodia, Alaska, & New Orleans are my favorites. Some of the craziest things I have ever done include cage diving with great whites,walking with lions, rock climbing a mountain on the Applachian trail, and running 14 marathons. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1402573458507-kg-1
130x130_sq_1389126292962-khp298
130x130_sq_1332649673444-she8955
130x130_sq_1332648691042-img9631c
130x130_sq_1332649544508-she7325
130x130_sq_1332649226287-she7113
130x130_sq_1332647635211-img0115
130x130_sq_1332647698500-img0207
130x130_sq_1332649846340-she9212b
130x130_sq_1332647789949-img0225
130x130_sq_1332647828177-img0292
130x130_sq_1332648039117-img0672
130x130_sq_1332648124821-img1532
130x130_sq_1332648305419-img5292app
130x130_sq_1332648400850-img9151a
130x130_sq_1332648458360-img9203a
130x130_sq_1332648532003-img9483
130x130_sq_1332648847829-she0312a
130x130_sq_1332648967015-she1461
130x130_sq_1332649066678-she3895
130x130_sq_1332649565421-she7937copy
130x130_sq_1332649824242-she9195
130x130_sq_1332649986597-she9417
130x130_sq_1389125325287-khp491
130x130_sq_1389125341732-khp226
130x130_sq_1389125355443-khp1162
130x130_sq_1389125382863-khp219
130x130_sq_1389125404063-khp924
130x130_sq_1389125421853-khp109
130x130_sq_1389125430200-jcf-16
130x130_sq_1389125445515-khp758
130x130_sq_1389125463334-khp374
130x130_sq_1389125482285-khp3740
130x130_sq_1389125499880-khp239
130x130_sq_1332648474798-img9305a
130x130_sq_1389125513551-khp337
130x130_sq_1389125530645-khp217
130x130_sq_1389125556566-khp075
130x130_sq_1389125579491-khp682
130x130_sq_1389125602312-khp543
130x130_sq_1389125623867-khp575
130x130_sq_1389125653086-khp129
130x130_sq_1389125680751-tr-wp-2b
130x130_sq_1389125699641-khp075
130x130_sq_1389125724795-tr-wp-4
130x130_sq_1389125747838-khp575
130x130_sq_1389125774611-khp466
130x130_sq_1389125792909-khp718
130x130_sq_1389125817840-khp061
130x130_sq_1389125844590-khp292
130x130_sq_1389125859595-khp7125
130x130_sq_1389125888495-khp997
130x130_sq_1389125911118-khp372
130x130_sq_1389125928658-khp844
130x130_sq_1389125952198-khp066
130x130_sq_1389125982378-khp718
130x130_sq_1389126006355-khp026
130x130_sq_1389126023537-tr-wp-2b
130x130_sq_1389126042007-khp219
130x130_sq_1389126063531-kmb430
130x130_sq_1389126077323-khp332
130x130_sq_1389126091039-jcf-16
130x130_sq_1389126108712-tr-wp-4
130x130_sq_1389126128244-lastkisstoparents-kathleenhertelphotograph
130x130_sq_1389126131923-khp380
130x130_sq_1389126147406-khp502
130x130_sq_1389126164979-khp379
130x130_sq_1389126181607-capitolrain-kathleenhertelphotograph
130x130_sq_1389126186792-kmb728
130x130_sq_1389126204615-littledropsofrain-kathleenhertelphotograph
130x130_sq_1389126207701-undertheboardwalk-kathleenhertelphotograph
130x130_sq_1389126211050-vintagewedding-kathleenhertelphotograph
130x130_sq_1389126214740-khp5412p
130x130_sq_1389126235665-khp378
130x130_sq_1389126253134-tr-wp-149
130x130_sq_1389126275398-khp352
130x130_sq_1399267879144-untitled-662
130x130_sq_1401773086709-khp3546
130x130_sq_1401773121152-khp3626
130x130_sq_1402572832534-jb-2
130x130_sq_1402572882900-ka33114-khp-87
130x130_sq_1402572908893-khp8111a
130x130_sq_1402572934523-nb-266
130x130_sq_1402572949023-she9150
130x130_sq_1402572965478-she9178
130x130_sq_1402572987244-she9323
130x130_sq_1402573015865-img1442
130x130_sq_1402573041766-khp4312
130x130_sq_1402573061195-img8628
130x130_sq_1402573215831-file0223
130x130_sq_1402573241713-khp4312
130x130_sq_1402573260346-khp8965-2
130x130_sq_1402573282632-she9212b

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Prints, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
I bring my own lighting to add special effects to my photographs. This includes flash lights, sparklers, etc.
Is your media preference film or digital?
Digital
How many photographers do you work with?
I am the primary shooter a second shooter can be added to a package.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes, unless there is a horrible accident that I can not control.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
I will shoot up to two events in a weekend only 1 a day.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes, I work with a network of photographers both in Maryland, NY, and DC.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
I bring 3 cameras, multiple lens, multiple flashes, multiple flash cards.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
YES !
Do you charge hourly or full day?
Full day packages start at $3400. For elopement packages they start at $1500 for 3 hours.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
Yes, $300 per hour.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
I ask that the couple provide a vendor meal during the dinner hour.
Do you charge for travel?
Yes, outside of 2.5 hour from Baltimore there is a travel fee. 
 3-4 hours $125
 4-6 hours $250
 Flying Distance- Southeast & Midwest $500-$750 West Coast- $750-1000
 Hawaii & Alaska $1200
 Out of country please contact. 
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
4-6 weeks. Sneak Peeks are available typically within 24-48 hours on Facebook.
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
Facebook, then on a website where client can download images.
How long can the client keep the proofs?
Forever.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
I retain the artist copyright. Clients can get images printed anywhere they like. They will receive these on a thumb drive and website.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes, however couples can opt for privacy.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes, couples will receive a thumb drive with all their images as well as a personal website where they can download the images directly from the site.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes.
What kind of albums do you offer?
Flushmount. I have a 3 year price guarantee on Albums.
When will the client get the final album?
Designs take 2-4 weeks after client picks the images. After pages are approved it takes 4-6 weeks for albums to be delivered.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Raven
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
We did engagement pictures last june (2013) she spent all afternoon with us, shes very funny and knows how to get you to really smile and laugh. she is so creative and loves trying new things, she got some awesome pictures of us lying down in our creek (we seriously look like were modeling). After spending a few hours doing pictures, she sat down with us and patiently explained everything about her contract and what everything was going to cost and what our extra options were if we wanted to higher her to do our wedding. After we were finished talking it had started raining outside and she wanted to go take some pictures of us out in the rain. she even went home and had a few up the next day on her facebook page. All of the pictures we got from her for our engagement were phenomenal.
For the wedding she met me at the venue a few days before and we walked around and got a good idea of what locations we wanted to do our pictures. During the wedding she did a great job of getting all our little details and getting all our families together to take pictures in a very organized way. During the wedding she was not afraid to get her feet a little dirty to get the shots. We also got a photo booth at for our reception and her husband ran it, she brought a ton of props and my guests all had a ball taking extra pictures and got 2 photo strips with each group of pictures taken. At the end of the night she stole us to get some awesome long exposure shots with the barn and stars in the background and our party bus ended up leaving us at the venue. so as not to leave us stranded she volunteered to take us the 20 minutes to the hotel.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1372082779138-khp0377
Katie
Wedding:
5/18/2014
5.0/5.0
I don't even know where to begin with saying just how amazing Kathy is! I first saw her work when she photographed my sister-in-law's wedding. I fell in love with her work then. When my husband proposed, I knew she was the person I wanted to photograph my wedding! Kathy goes above and beyond not only to get the perfect shot, but to take photos that reflect her client's personalities. During our walk through of the venue, I told Kathy that the groomsmen had Avengers cuff links and that my husband and it would be an important photo to take. After leaving, I received a text for Kathy with a photo of an awesome factory building and she told me she had an awesome idea for a super hero shoot. We decided to go with it and the photos came out AMAZING! Kathy makes you feel completely comfortable when getting photographed and has such an amazing personality. I know the next time I need photos done I will be contacting Kathy!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kami
Wedding:
3/15/2014
5.0/5.0
Where do I begin. We booked Kathy for our wedding as soon as we met her. My husband and I fell in love with her work and also clicked with her personality. Over the course of a year working with her on two engagement shoots, a boudoir shoot, and our wedding, we also gained a friend. Kathleen took the most AMAZING, creative shots! We could not be happier with our pictures and now I need to try to narrow it down for our album! Kathy could not be a more down to earth, sweeter person and does not stop until she has the best shots and her clients are 200% happy with the work. I would highly recommend her to anyone getting married, wanting family shots, etc as her work alone speaks for itself! It is simply the best!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
1/25/2014
5.0/5.0
I haven't gotten my pictures yet back apart from a handful of "sneak peeks" posted the day after the wedding, but I can't imagine I'll have any complaints about them.

I saw Kathy's work at a bridal show I went to when I was first starting to plan this whole thing, and once I saw her portfolio I knew I NEEDED her to photograph my wedding. After a date change or two, we luckily managed to land on a date where she was available. She's exceptionally enthusiastic and passionate about her work, she seemed legitimately excited about photographing my wedding rather than treating it like the eleventy billionth wedding she's done in her career. She braved 10 degree weather with us to do all the outdoor shots she'd envisioned, and so far from what I've seen nearly losing a few limbs to frost bite was worth it :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nina
Wedding:
10/11/2013
5.0/5.0
As soon as I met Kathy I knew she was the right choice. She was very personal the first time we met her and very down to earth. Immediately we felt comfortable with her. She has so many great ideas and is very creative! I am so excited to frame our photos and put them around our house for years to come her work is amazing!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Where do I start!? I first came across Kathy at a bridal show. I loved her photo on her card. So I tossed it in my bag along with all the others...But I never forgot that image. So I looked up her website and immediately fell in love with her work and knew she would be our photographer! We met and went over our package options and scheduled our engagement photos. We like to do things a little out of the ordinary and not your typical posed photos, having Kathy she was able to take us to places that fit our personalities. We will be able to see exactly how our wedding day was and how much fun everyone had and relive those moments with our photos! Kathy is not only an amazing photographer, she is so much fun to work with, very reliable and responsive. I wish I could give her more than a 5 for rating! If you don't have a photographer you should sign up today!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
2/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Best photographer ever! Our first engagement session was rainy and gross at Camden Yards but she still did a fantastic job AND did another make-up session in Fells Point at no charge. The photography from our wedding was fantastic. We have received so many comments about how beautiful the photographs were. She was willing to go anywhere and do anything....and had some pretty great suggestions as well. Kathy was also flexible with what was in our "package".
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shellie
Wedding:
1/26/2013
5.0/5.0
We loved working with Kathy! Kathy took both our engagement and wedding photos which turned out amazing. She was so easy to work with and very professional. Our photos are wonderful and I couldn't have asked for a better photographer. Kathy is very talented and has a wonderful perspective for great photos. You will not be disappointed. I cannot say enough wonderful things and how pleased I am with my photos. Photos of your wedding are one of the only things you can look back on to remember that day, so invest in a good photographer like Kathy.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Kathy and her team are absolutely amazing!! My husband and I got married on Dec 31, 2012 in Annapolis and we had Kathy, a second photographer, and a videographer. They did an amazing job! We already have 10 "sneak peak" photos and they look great! Kathy is so laid back and fun! We had a great time working with her and she is so good at what she does. I highly recommend Kathleen Hertel Photography for your wedding photos - you will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lori
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Kathleen was the photographer for my wedding and took our engagement photos. She was amazing to work with! Her photographs were beautiful, and everyone that has seen them has commented on the quality of the photography. Kathleen was a joy to work with too. When we did our engagement photos she kept the atmosphere light, and fun. Her creativity really shines through all of her photographs as well. We are so happy that we chose Kathleen Hertel Photography to capture our special day!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meaghan
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Kathleen was absolutely amazing!! She did our engagement shoot and wedding!! She was FANTASTIC! Her ideas were super creative and it was a joy to wake up the day after the wedding with a sneak peak album already up and ready to view on Facebook! She was always on time for our appointments and easy to get in touch with. It rained on my wedding day for only a couple of hours, but that time happened to be the time when we were going to be outside taking the bridal group pics - Kathy was quick on her feet and had a backup plan ready to go at Union Station! My husband and I absolutely love the pictures. They turned out amazing!! She captured all the tiny details, the amazing moments and so much more!! I am so fortunate to have had such a wonderful photographer! She is laid back, fun and will do whatever it takes to get a great shot! Dont book with anyone else, but Kathy for your big day!!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1311093053630-buttercup
Caitlin
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
I met Kathy at a bridal expo, and we immediately hit it off. She has a great creative eye and stays up on wedding and photography trends so you can get those amazing pictures you see in blogs and magazines. She did our engagement photos as well as our wedding photos, and we are so happy with her. Kathy is very comfortable to work with and will do pretty much anything you ask. She did equally well with formal portraits and fun, quirky photos. My family and guests also had great things to say about her.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Kathleen took our engagement photos, my boudoir photo's, and my wedding photos. I won't go to anyone else for photos. Not only is she amazing at what she does but she dealt with my at times OCD personality. I look back at my photo's and can't pick just one favorite, because her work is ridiculously amazing. Thank you Kathleen for giving me memories for years to come
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenn
Wedding:
4/20/2012
5.0/5.0
We had Kathleen do the photography for our wedding in April. We recently received the CD with the photos in July. She did a great job, we were very happy with her work.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
3/25/2012
5.0/5.0
She was amazing to work with! We had her do our engagement pictures, save the dates and our wedding
She got amazing pictures! So creative and professional. Prices were greatbut the quality was worth every penny!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leanne
Wedding:
1/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Kathy was absolutely fabulous to work with. Neither my husband nor I are particularly photogenic, but we were so comfortable with her that we just relaxed and were able to be ourselves. The photos were absolutely fantastic. She'll work with whatever kind of crazy stuff you want to do - odd museums for engagement photos, morning/brunch weddings with dinosaurs and cookies galore, taking most of our photos on the Metro en route to the reception... She was great. Totally professional, absolutely non-intrusive, and just overall amazing. The sad thing about getting married is that if you do it right, you only do it once, so you can't go back and re-patronize vendors like her again!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kesha
Wedding:
10/14/2011
5.0/5.0
I met Kathy at a wedding show in Towson back in 2010. I immediately fell in love with her work. As I talked with her at the wedding show I knew I wanted to use her services. A couple days after the wedding show, Kathy contacted me via email to offer me a special on engagement pictures. I had never thought of doing engagement pictures but I figure why not. A couple of weeks later my hisband (then fiance) and I had our engagement pictures done. Kathy was very professional and reasonably priced. After seeing the quality of our portraits I immediately knew she was going to be our photographer for our wedding.

On October 14th 2011 my husband and I were married. Kathy and her staff were there from start to finish. I knew that Kathy had everything under control and that was one else thing I had to stress about.

I definitely recommend Kathy for all your photography needs, whether its maternity pictures, engagement pictures, family pictures, or just self portraits Kathy and her team will definitely exceed your expectations.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
It's been said that a picture is worth a thousand words, so when the memories of the most important day of your life start to get a little fuzzy because let's face it - it's a whirlwind of a day, you're going to want to have the best words a picture can tell.

There is no one better than Kathy.

Yes, she’s award winning. Yes, she has up-to-date equipment that she services regularly. But that’s not what makes a great photographer.

Kathy was professional, energetic and creative but even more than that she made us feel comfortable in front of the camera. She made it fun. She is friendly and patient and talks you through everything you need to know. She has such a unique way of looking at things, that something you may never think picture worthy, is beautiful through her eyes.

We were so in love with our pictures from our Engagement Session, that we incorporated them into our wedding day by framing them and placing them all over the hotel lobby when people entered for the reception.

The comment we received the most after people viewed the proofs of our wedding was "I don’t know how you are going to choose." And it is true, they are amazing pictures. Memories that will last us a lifetime, thanks to Kathy. Every picture tells a story. People that weren’t there said they felt like they were after looking through our pictures.

Our wedding party enjoyed her, my family loved her. She is the vendor that becomes such a part of your day that you'll be sad when you don't have to talk to her regularly anymore. She becomes your friend.

I would give her more than five stars if I could. You honestly could not go wrong. If one normal picture is worth 1,000 words – Kathy’s pictures of your wedding will be worth much, much more.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tara
Wedding:
10/15/2010
5.0/5.0
All I can say is Kathy is amazingly talented! She was so much fun to work with! Kathy is very professional, responsive, flexible and most importantly creative. We did two separate engagement sessions (all over MD), pictures at our new house and of course wedding day pictures with her (and I want a trash the dress with her!). Since our ceremony was in Canton, we wanted pictures with the bridal party in the city and by the water before we all headed off to the reception in Towson. Kathy met with us 1 week prior to the wedding to go down to the church and plan exactly where we would have our pictures taken and to double check the lighting that time of night. On the wedding day she was able to get some amazing pictures of my dress and shoes hanging in a tree! She also got some fun pictures of my cat and dog; they couldn’t stay away from all of the girls getting ready! (She even made my very fat cat look skinny!) I would highly recommend Kathy to anyone! She is a wonderful person to work with :o)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BCook
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Photography was at the top of our list as the most important thing for our wedding day. We had many important list items but we believed that the most important thing was to have amazing pictures that we would have for many years to come and to aways remember our special day!

At firest, we actually had another photographer in mind. He was the photographer at my brother's wedding and at many of my other friend's weddings. Although, we decided to still meet with Kathy who was highly recommended to us by another friend. When we first met Kathy we not only fell in love with her work but we loved her personally. She was personable and understood us and our interests.

On the day of our wedding, Kathy came very prepared. She knew every picture we wanted and was super organized. She was also excellent working with young children, especially my crazy 3 year-old nephew!

The day after our wedding Kathy posted a few pictures on our Facebook pages. We fell in love with them right away. We also got many compliments on our photos and people loved how unique they were.

When we received the rest of our photos we were so excited because Kathy captured our special day perfectly. She not only captured pictures of us and our guests, but she captured our personalities in still life. They were amazing! Our families and guests are asking for copies of the pictures. I would highly recommend Kathy because of her professionalism and for her extraordinary talent!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1247440863769-dscf0851.sized
stephk36
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Kathy Hertel was amazing! She definitely had a challenge with our families. My husband and I both have big families, speaking different languages, and 3 sets of parents between the two of us. Kathy was able to please not only us, but all of them as well. She was there all day, and took so many photos we are having a hard time eliminating ones to not include in the album. And we loved the photo booth that she had set up, it is definitely worth it! The day was not about her taking pictures, it was about us. She and her team never stuck out or were in the way of anything. They blended in with everyone and we had a great time with them. We have AMAZING pictures, and still to this day get compliments on her photos and recommend her to everyone we meet. We will DEFINITELY be using her again for family portraits!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1273790508174-img4066
Nic
Wedding:
8/14/2010
5.0/5.0
Kathy was a dream to work with. She is extremely creative and flexible when it comes to trying new locations and techniques. Her work ethic is evident in all that she does for the bride, from the first meeting, to the site walk through, and not to mention her help on the day of the wedding. She makes the bride and groom feel at ease the entire day, plus kept the wedding party in line. Hiring Kathy was the best decision we made! Her photos were unique and there were more than enough to choose from. The best part is that she is priced very well for all that you get! She was the second photographer we met, and we did not look at another one after that. We had a great feeling right away, and that was knowing that the first photographer we met was less expensive! Every bride would be lucky to have her as their photographer!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
n.cruz414
Wedding:
7/31/2010
5.0/5.0
I am so glad that I decided to go with Kathleen Hertel Photography for my wedding. She made it easy for us to meet her before booking so we could get to know her and her work. She was always available to answer any sort of questions that I had. Most importantly, she worked with us to know which pictures we absolutely needed taken and what pictures we would like if she had time. The day of the wedding she was everywhere taking pictures of anything and everything she could. She stayed longer than we had talked about just to take pictures of things she was seeing that she thought we would like (people dancing, etc.) The turnaround of the pictures afterwards was quick and easy. Within 3 weeks we had some previews of pictures and soon after that our website was up with all of our pictures so we could view them. We received our CD of pictures quickly and they were beautiful. I was highly impressed with Kathy's work and the absolutely stunning pictures that she took at our wedding. I still to this day look at my pictures in amazement. I would absolutely recommend Kathy to anyone and everyone and I fully intend on using her again in the future. Bravo!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1291318792347-14887661124140564648506591345316306367447n
THahn
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Not only was Kathy Hertel the most affordable photographer, her photos were absolutely amazing! You can tell that Kathy loves her job as a photographer by the multiple artistic versions of each scene she captures and her outgoing attitude while on the job to get the perfect shot! Hiring Kathy as your photographer will be the best decision you make for your wedding! And we loved her photos so much that we have since hired her for other family photo shoots and recommend her to all of our friends!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
colleen
Wedding:
6/11/2010
5.0/5.0
Kathy was amazing! I had seen her work from a friend's wedding that she did in New York and was impressed by her ability to capture "THE" moment. She is very easy to work with and every conversation was like talking to a friend. She not only listened to what I wanted but she was careful to note what I didn't want in my pictures. For example, my husband and I were married at Ripken Stadium in Aberdeen, Maryland and I was worried that our pictures would look cheesy with a baseball theme. Instead, Kathy choose several different locations around the baseball stadium that I would have never have chosen. The end result were timeless pictures with a contemporary touch. Every so often, I look back at our album and am thankful that we chose her to be our photographer.

Also, Ripken Stadium is using some of her pictures on their website from our wedding! She is an AMAZING photographer!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jaimelody
Wedding:
5/16/2010
5.0/5.0
Kathy is an absolute dream to work with! We've been raving about her since our first engagement shoot in 2008. She is completely thorough and captured every aspect of our wedding. She arrived early and made great use of the time. Kathy is passionate about what she does which is so important because I wanted someone to be just as excited about our day as we were. Think about it, when you look back at your wedding, the memories fade but the pictures will last forever and can be shared through generations. Kathys photographs are incredible and beautiful. Definitely worth it!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lmg236
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
I just got married a week ago and she has already posted a handful of pictures from my wedding (and now I'm dying to see the rest). I could write about how wonderful those pictures are, but you can see that on her website or facebook page. What you can't see is the dedication she has to her field, the excitement she has when she gets a vision for a perfect picture, and for the good natured comfortable feeling she gives you during the whole experience. Its easy to get a hold of her and you immediately feel at ease once you meet her. I had complete trust in her and the pictures I have seen so far have proved that it was totally worth it. My friends and family said they hardly noticed her, but she was everywhere all at once. I can't say enough about her - I didn't know her until wedding planning started but I will be finding excuses to use her again! If you have interviewed tons of photographers and the only ones that seem to be meeting your needs are out of your price range - call Kathy - she is the best of both worlds!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
The Cmac
Wedding:
1/31/2010
5.0/5.0
beautiful editing on organically magnificently shots truly, capture any event to be treasure for a lifetime.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lea
Wedding:
11/14/2009
5.0/5.0
Kathy is not only an amazing photographer, but an amazing person. My matron of honor counseled me that when choosing a photographer, pick someone that you personally like, because in all likelihood this is the vendor that you'll have to continue to have a relationship with after the wedding. This is only one of the reasons I'm glad we chose Kathy.

Kathy is incredibly patient and has a fantastic eye. I put a very high value on our photography, figuring that it and memories (well, and a husband) are the things I would have for years to come. Kathy was receptive when I sent her over 150 pictures from other people's weddings that I admired and would like on my day. She even printed out all of these pictures and brought them with her as a reference. Kathy caught moments we didn't even realize we would think were special and had so many cute ideas, like bringing a white board to write "thank you" on so we would have a great photo to include in our thank you notes or to make thank you cards out of.

I also requested photos that would make us laugh for years to come—vague, right? Not to Kathy. As we walked around the Inner Harbor she marched us right into Barnes and Noble where she pulled out pre-selected titles for us. I will always laugh as I read "Divorce Sucks" and my husband reads "Wedding Planning For Dummies". And some day we will embarrass our children as I read "Wedding Chic" and my husband reads "The Sex Bible". Too fun!

Our location, the National Aquarium, posed some unique lighting challenges. Not only did Kathy meet me there to do a walk-through, she bought an annual pass to the Aquarium so she could return multiple times before our wedding. That made our day so easy, because Kathy had already scouted shots not only at the Aquarium but throughout the Inner Harbor. And due to her prior experience in event planning, she even kept us on schedule since we did most of our photos before our wedding. The true testament—at the end of the shoot my husband said "that wasn't so bad" (trust me, huge compliment from this man who hates taking pictures!).

We have received so many compliments from our family and friends about our wedding photos. My brother is jealous of them and I even had a friend say she wished she could get married again just so she could hire Kathy. Not only do we have absolutely gorgeous photos that reflect us as a couple, we gained a friend in the process. We truly consider Kathy our life photographer and look forward to her documenting all of our future adventures.

Hire Kathy, you won't regret it.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacy
Wedding:
10/10/2009
5.0/5.0
Kathy listened to and incorporated our ideas for locations. She has a calming presence. The cost was very reasonable. She had extra meetings with us to ensure that we all understood each other. The product was amazing!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TT
Wedding:
9/26/2009
5.0/5.0
Words cannot express the beauty of my wedding pictures. Kathy was able to capture EVERYTHING from every angle and has managed to take everyone's breath away when they look at our wedding pictures. I am beyond pleased with Kathy's services and her enthusiasm and warmth was a bonus. I wholeheartedly reccomend this photography company to anyone who really wants great pictures. Her passion for photography is very evident in the end result. My family was raving about Kathy even before the pictures came out and when the pictures were developed they were not dissapointed. I give Kathy all thumbs up. Great Pictures, Wonderful Personality, and a pleasure to work with. Thank you for making this a positive for us.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
swarm
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
Kathy was a phenomenal photographer. She makes you feel extremely comfortable and is very professional without being intrusive. Kathy is creative which brings even more magic to an already magical day (wedding). She truly captures the spirit, the love, the emotions and excitement of any day.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1214529564691-dsc01458
TanayaandKamuzu
Wedding:
7/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Kathy is an Amazing photographer! She was highly recommended by a close friend for our engagement pictures. The photos were amazing. Kathy was able to take a cloudy day and make it beautiful. We have received nothing but positive comments from our pictures. On our wedding day, she and her team were punctual and professional. She was able to catch the moments that you as a bride miss and catch the moments that you want to remember. She captures the emotion of the event in every picture. Her work seems more like art. She also placed some of her special touches and created some really special moments for my family. Kathy is truly passionate about her craft. A simple thank you cannot capture the amount of gratitude we have for Kathy. I would absolutely recommend Kathy to anyone. I intend on using her again in the future.
Services Used: Photography
Bg8
MTrax1282
Wedding:
7/4/2009
5.0/5.0
Imagine Photography was a wonderful professional company. Kathy is such a sweet person who is very passionate about her work. She went above and beyond to get great shots and was excited to do so. I would reccomend the company for any type of photo shoot. She has a great eye for artistic shots and plan to use her for shoots in the future.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HJD614
Wedding:
6/14/2008
5.0/5.0
Kathy photographed my cousin's wedding, in which I was the Maid of Honor. She did a FANTASTIC job and I would recommend her to anyone who wants the best pictures possible for their wedding day, or any other occasion for that matter! She has real talent for what she does and has a way to capture the right angle and backdrop to make the pictures perfect. You can tell from the moment she starts snapping pictures that she loves what she does and enjoys capturing memories for people. Since the wedding, I have had the pleasure of seeing Kathy two more times for other photo shoots and I wont hesitate to call her up again! If you want the best, go with Kathy!
Services Used: Photography
B8
Brooke
Wedding:
10/6/2012
4.9/5.0
Kathy came as a reference from friends & after seeing her website I called & she came for a consultation. She brought great photos, but we worried she’d be out of our price range. To our delight, Kathy is reasonable (she could be charging more!) & we booked her. Our engagement shoot was in 10/11 & unfortunately the weather dropped down to below 20. Kathy was a trooper & got us to every location we planned & quickly. The poor girl even stood in a freezing fountain to get the perfect shot! We walked away excited, but anxious about the quality she would get from us freezing. Weeks later, Kathy sent us photos & we were delighted at how good they were. Everyone loved the save-the-date magnets & I think it’s great that she gives you a CD to allow the freedom to send away for those things. The week of the wedding, we met her at the Chapel so she could go over where we’d like photos & what light would be flattering. The day of our wedding she coordinated shots of my husband and me without letting us see each other & kept us moving to get to the wedding on-time. Once the ceremony started, I never even remember seeing her until saying thank you at the end. In the weeks following, my husband & I started to get nervous- did she get everything? It’s A LOT of pressure-you only have 1 night-a couple of hours- to have photos that will tell the story of your wedding & last a lifetime. Kathy sent us photos a couple weeks later & my husband & I were AMAZED. She captured beautiful moments, hysterical dances & facial reactions I didn’t even know occurred! It was like experiencing the night over again. The greatest compliment I can give Kathy is that she was a photography phantom- my family & husband agreed that we never remember her being there in the moments she caught & besides not capturing any moments at all, my greatest fear was that our photographer would drag out the staged shots & be in the way to capture the candid moments. Kathy captured everything & we couldn’t be happier.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1311480528440-dsc01847
Danielle
Wedding:
8/25/2012
4.9/5.0
Choosing the right photographer for your wedding is so important. You want someone that you can bear to be in your face for atleast 8 hours on one of the most important days of your life. We interviewed about 5 photographers and Kathleen's personality was an immediate fit with my now husband and i. Her photography package was one of the most inclusive that we was saw (included the engagement session). She has very flexible payment arrangements and is a joy to be around.

The day after our wedding, she had sneak peak photos posted for us to view and share with family/friends. The ideas she had and captured for our wedding reminds us every time we look at our pictures that we definitely chose the right photographer. i can't wait to see the rest of the pictures.

Our guests continuously comment on the professionalism of Kathleen and her staff as well as that she is an expert with her craft.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kesha
Wedding:
10/14/2011
4.9/5.0
Kathleen and her team did an amazing job on my engagement and wedding photos. I was and still am so impressed with my photos. Every little tiny detail that I didn't even notice were captured. To be honest I love looking at my photos more than looking at my video. I highly recommend her.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JEKuban
Wedding:
10/9/2011
4.9/5.0
Kathy is a lot of fun to work with. She makes you feel relaxed, takes amazing photos, and takes a wonderfully creative approach to wedding photography. Thanks Kathy!
Services Used: Photography
Bg17
Lauren
Wedding:
5/28/2011
4.9/5.0
Kathy was so wonderful to work with and her pictures are perfect! She is very busy so it sometimes takes a while to get pictures back and for responses to questions.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
We did our engagement photos and wedding photography with Kathleen. We also set up a photobooth which everyone loved. She was very creative and quick to take pictures.... doesn't waste your time. Provides amazing photographs with many different styles. Also provides a guide and helps you make sure you think of every possible shot you would want on your wedding day. Very quick to respond and returns pictures in a reasonable timeframe.
Services Used: Photography

DEALS

10% off 2014 Weddings
Get Deal
Promo Code: 2014Wedding   $3,600 Value
Couples who book a wedding for 2014 will receive 10% off our 8 hour packages.

Offer Expires: 12/31/2014

Available to the first 10 couples
Deal #WW076c893ac245c1e0
220x220_1402573667993-kg-1

MAP

 
28 I Bloomsbury Ave, Catonsville, MD 21228 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Kathleen Hertel Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1402573667993-kg-1