Nophoto-130

Kay's Bridal Boutique

Castro Valley , CA

LOCATION

21120 Redwood Road
Castro Valley, CA US 94546 (map)

PHONE

510-538-2136

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

REVIEWS

3.0
out of 5.0
3.1/5.0
3.2/5.0
2.8/5.0
3.2/5.0
2.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary D
Wedding:
12/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Wedding was December 19, 2010. A friend recommended this store and I was so happy she did. I was familiar with the store but had never shopped there before. I found a very good selection of dresses for Mother of the Bride. The prices were good quality very reasonably priced. Dress was ordered and delivered as stated. I had dress fitted and tailored there and was very impressed with timeliness and quality of work. Price for tailoring was good. Kay's Bridal staff were very pleasant and helpful. They really tried to make me happy and they succeeded. They also had some jewelery that complemented dress I purchased there and I really appreciated the convenience of getting both the dress and the jewelery to enhance the look at one shop! I would definitely recommend this store!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Missing_profile
jmarks
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
I really liked Kay's Bridal. I had shopped around before at some other bridal stores, but Sandra at Kay's was able to put her opinion and it was extremely helpful. I found my dress and I couldn't be happier!! It was on sale at the time which is even better. She didn't pressure me at all but would put her opinion in when she saw it was needed. I would go back to this store or recommend it to anyone. It is helpful to know what style you are looking for. I didn't pick out my dress, Sandra just listened to what I liked and pulled my dress out for me. I tried on others too, but nothing compared to the one she picked for me.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1239159732828-january2009001
Angel
Wedding:
6/27/2009
0.6/5.0
The customer service and attitude in this shop was horrible. Even a smile would have made a huge difference!! The first day was great but once I paid for the dress everything was a bother to them. I had to suggest that an additional 3" needed to be taken in during the fitting and had I not spoken up it would have still been too big. The bustle that they put in was extremely weak and shoddy. I was told one thing before purchase and then another after I paid. the final straw was on my wedding day when I picked up my dress the lady was extremely rude to me. As I left I said have a great day and she just shut the door on me. ON MY WEDDING DAY!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
1375009028_thumb_501094001c091e7e3aa6ccc4aac59078
MissQnomore
Wedding:
3/14/2009
4.0/5.0
Overall I had a pretty decent experience with Kay's. I called ahead by 30 minutes to see if they had an appointment time, and they were able to accomodate me. Sandra, the saleslady, was very helpful and nice, and was very genuine in her feedback with which styles looked good or not good on me. Unfortunately they did not have one V-neck or halter style to offer me, which is what I went to look for. But for all you Casablanca and Maggie brides, they have a good selection. When leaving they gave me their own bottled water (interesting huh?) and a couple wedding magazines, which I thought was a nice touch. I've heard some things about other associates, so I can only speak for Sandra. She also was able to tell me about some specials should I buy on the first visit. I'm not sure, but I've heard they may charge for a second visit, so you may want to check on that.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
leanne1018
Wedding:
10/18/2008
4.7/5.0
The dress I got was beautiful. It was a little more expensive than I would have liked it to be, but it was worth it.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JDS
Wedding:
8/23/2008
3.7/5.0
The seamstress is excellent.

Initial visit was not so great (very professional, but not super friendly), but I ended up going with them after a horrorshow visit to another bridal store up in Sacramento (where I found the dress I ended up buying, but refused to give money), I got the dress from Kay's.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
1375009032_thumb_94cdd8c8a856c85c5734253f06289a8e
mauiluv
Wedding:
8/9/2008
1.0/5.0
I went to Kay's Bridal and was treated extremely rudely, by a salesgirl named Nicole. I would never step foot in there again and would recommend against anyone else doing so. They are unprofessional and pushy, and worst of all, rude and nasty.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hmcgrail
Wedding:
7/19/2008
3.5/5.0
Beware that there Exclusive Line is not exclusive to them ... other bridal shops also carry that line. I absolutely LOVED my dress and it turned out perfect, but I do wonder if they did all the alterations I paid for. I had to have the dress taken out and in ... yet there was no proof to show that the work was done. By the end of the night I had ripped one of the straps almost completely off. Also, my veil ended up costing $500 which i thought was a total rip off and I only agreed to it because I thought it included the tiara, ends up it didn't. And the last complaint was that the alterations lady continued to encourage me to diet more, so the dress would fit better, rather than just adjusting the dress (and I'm only a size 6).
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
OLIVE
Wedding:
1/6/2007
4.5/5.0
I was visiting my aunt and uncle and stopped in to check on gowns and found my dream gown here. The staff was so helpful and attentive. Made the process very easy and although I was pretty nervous as this was a big deal they did alot to make me feel comfortable and were attentive and extreme;y professional.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
justhyphenated
Wedding:
11/4/2006
0.0/5.0
I ordered and paid for my dress, shoes, and vail a little over 1 year prior to my wedding date. I went in for an appointment 8 weeks before the wedding for my first fitting. They told me my vail was not in yet, but that they would make sure that it was there for my next fitting 3 weeks later. My 2nd fitting..my dress hadn't been touched and still no vail and I was told that they couldn't get to my dress for a couple more weeks. After many phone calls and visits to the shop, they finally call 1week prior to the wedding. When I tried my dress on it was way too small?? It turns out that they had taken it in the same amount on both sides thereby doubling the alteration. The beading in the underarm area had been removed during the alteration.The hem had not been touched yet. And still...no vail! Everyone there, manager, seamstress, and sales staff went hunting through the records and finally found that my vail had came in 6 months ago and was apparently sold to someone who was getting married with a couple of days and they noted that one was to be ordered to replace mine...it was never done and the recent order not processed. I ended up fighting it out, but no reimbursement was ever given for all the inconvience and extra stress. I picked up my dress and a vail (not the one I paid for or picked out originally) the day before my wedding. So much for getting on top of things early. If I were to do it all over again, I wouldn't take a dress from Kay's Bridal if they gave it to me1
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
1.3/5.0
I went to Kay's because my sister got her wedding dress there a few years ago. The first visit when I bought my dress was great....the new owners weren't there. Then we came back to get my bridesmaids' dresses there. The wife of the owner was very nice and she was very helpful. Things were a little pricey, but we went with it anyway. We knew we were cutting it close on the amount of time it would take to get the girls' dresses in (I planned my wedding very quickly), but they reassured us it would be fine. We were prepared to pay to have the order done quicker, but were told the dresses would be in well before the date of the wedding. My mom called a few days later (because they had been closed the day after we ordered them), and then we were told the dresses would be ready a couple of days before the wedding! This was news to us, so we immediately had to get the order rushed - extra cost. I wasn't part of it, but I guess there was a big discussion/argument between my mom and the owner, and according to my mom he was very argumentative and yelling. In the end, my girls' dresses were rushed and arrived in enough time for me to get them to the girls and get altered if needed. After more arguing, the owner did refund the expedited shipping because we were not informed when we ordered them that they would arrive so late, but it was pretty obvious he didn't want to do it. The next few times I was in the shop to get my dress altered or pick up dresses, there always seemed to be someone upset or some order messed up. The seamstress I worked with for my dress was great and very helpful. If I did it again, I was happy I was able to find my dress there, but if I could have found it somewhere else, I would have gladly done it. I would not go back there to get my bridesmaid dresses again. I would not recommend this place...which makes me sad because it used to be great.
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
21120 Redwood Road, Castro Valley, CA 94546 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Kay's Bridal Boutique
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220