130x130_sq_1295149700366-kcsdjservice

KC's DJ Service

Champaign , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Champaign, IL US 61822 (map)

PHONE

217-493-4375

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

KC's DJ Service specializes in providing a professional DJ service at an affordable price. We understand planning a wedding or any event can be expensive. That's why we keep the prices... Read more
KC's DJ Service specializes in providing a professional DJ service at an affordable price. We understand planning a wedding or any event can be expensive. That's why we keep the prices reasonable. We don't charge by the hour and we do NOT set time limits on DJ packages! If the party is still going strong and you want us to stick around longer we will! If you're having fun we're having fun! We can also provide ceremony sound and music at no extra cost. If you're planning a wedding, school function, birthday party, anniversary party, company party, fundraiser, or other events give KC's DJ Service a call. You might be surprised at how affordable it is to have a professional DJ with state of the art sound, LED lighting, and a wide variety of music at your next event! WE ALSO OFFER UPLIGHTING PACKAGES, MONOGRAM, PHOTO BOOTH, AND KARAOKE! Call or e-mail us today for more details.

Thank you,

Ken Cunningham
KC's DJ Service
www.kcsdjservice.com
217-493-4375
cunningham_ken@hotmail.com Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1334769740137-mainsetup
130x130_sq_1334769747022-41259343403415994567917013195633590219577211040383892o
130x130_sq_1334769762271-4704364340341366123481921006358o
130x130_sq_1334769767495-47855243403417994567717013195633590219577221836996544o
130x130_sq_1334769742248-2800252617092305115072590090o
130x130_sq_1334769756912-46743343403420327900817013195633590219577231905068523o
130x130_sq_1334769752030-46153543403423327900517013195633590219577241650130592o

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashleigh
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
I am located in Southern Illinois and booked KC's DJ Service solely off the reviews on read on this website. I was very worried - it was a pretty risky move on my part but it was one of the best decisions I ever made. He answered every single one of my questions in a timely manner, arrived on time, and did exactly what I asked him to do. The wedding guests were raving about the DJ the entire night! I was overly impressed and I would highly recommend him to anyone. His price was so competitive especially considering the fact that he had to drive 3 hours to even get to my wedding. He was truly one of the best DJ's I had ever seen at a wedding and I am so fortunate for the amazing experience!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1341016003692-2011121095213718954861
Danielle
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
Where do I start? I was planning my wedding from Georgia/Cali. Everytime I got in town we never seemed to get to meet face to face. But I was able to email him (a billion times) to get all my requests in. I was a little worried as my wedding got closer though...since I am self-diagnosed OCD...I just wanted to see my dj in person!!!!
The day of my wedding was perfect!!!!!! He got all my music for my ceremony perfect (no pauses..skips..confusion) and the reception went well too!!! Although he (Charlie) apologized for having a limited hip hop library I dont think anyone noticed. :)
I picked them because they were affordable, professional, patient and flexible with me and my husband's needs.
Services Used: DJ
KC's DJ Service responded with the following comments:

Danielle,

Thank you so much for the kind words! We're so happy to hear things went well on your special day! You bring up a good point though, we never did get the chance to meet face to face...my apologies for that. That's something we'll most definitely need to improve on! Thanks for bringing that up! Thanks again for the compliments, and best wishes to you both!

Ken
217-493-4375
130x130_sq_1307455348072-007
Megan
Wedding:
1/5/2013
5.0/5.0
KC kept the party going. The transitions were flawless and every song he played was a hit. Could not stop dancing! He was so great before the wedding, answering emails promptly and making sure he could meet with us whenever possible. Beyond great value!
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1334776632764-img0393
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Ken was very helpful and more than available to answer any questions (Usually emailed or called back within 10-20 minutes even late at night). Our DJ was very polite and looked us up at the door to make sure he and the names correct. Played only the types of music we requested. He took a lot of pressure off us by showing up early and staying as late as we needed. Excellent services!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Although I do not live within the central Illinois area, KC's DJ service made a 3.5 - 4 hour trip down to southern Illinois to DJ my wedding and wedding reception. I could not imagine going through any other DJ service! He was in constant contact with me regarding my needs and wants for my special day, and on the day of the wedding he blew all of my expectations out of the water! In fact many of my family members, friends, and the establishment that housed my reception wanted to know if he would be available for further events! BEST DJ EVER!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jodi
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Ken's DJ Service is an excellent service. They were very attentive to our needs and provided an excellent service at lower price than was quoted to us by other DJ services. I would highly recommend them.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenndrake12
Wedding:
5/24/2012
5.0/5.0
KC's DJ service made our reception absolutely fabulous! Not only did Ken play every song that I asked to be played, but he also got the crowd very involved!! My reception was almost a month after my wedding and Ken was patient with me being "very last minute." He gave me the dance party I always wanted and our friends and family were on the dance floor until the party stopped, and as we all know that's rare for some receptions!! I would highly recommend KC's DJ Service to all brides out there!! Ken gave us a great price and was the best we had seen around the Champaign area!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married in May and Ken was our DJ. I can't say enough good things about him and the work he does! A year ago when I started planning my wedding, I didn't know much of where to start on planning, but I did know that I wanted Ken as my DJ for my reception! I have known Ken for many years and I will tell you that this is his passion and it sure does show in the quality of work he and his team does! Him and his crew are professional and their quality of work doesn't compare to other DJs I have seen do other weddings I have been at. I recently went to my cousins wedding and it wasn't until later I found out that their DJ that they had was one of Ken's guys which made sense because it was a awesome reception! If u are looking for someone who knows what they are doing and someone who will listen to exactly what you want played, look no further than Kens DJ service! What you get will only be the best of service along with a awesome reception you will always remember and smile to!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heidi
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend them. They were professional and very responsive to all my requests. Ken was very thorough in the first meeting. He produced the walk-in excellent. He even had to make a quick change the night before when he realized that he pronounced a name wrong of a person in wedding party. I would recommend him for any wedding or party. He knew just the right type of music to play to keep people on the dance floor. That talent only comes with the years of experience of a professional and he showed to us why he has been in the industry for as long as he has.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debbies
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
kcdjservice was extremely awesome at our reception. Ken drove from Champaigne to Quincy which is about a 4 hour drive. He arrived early and had everything set up for our entrance. The service stayed and played until the end of our reception. Their set up and clean up was quick and complete. I was very happy with the dj service and would strongly recommend their service not only for weddings but for any event that might need a D.J.

Thank you
Debbie Hibbert
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
I've hired Ken for a couple of events. Most recently I hired him to DJ a company party because he had done such a great job with our wedding. And I've also been to a couple of weddings that he did before my wedding. Everybody had a great time at all.

For our wedding, there couldn't have been a better choice of DJ. Leading up to the wedding he was very flexible and always available when I called. I never had to worry about trying to track him down. He played every song we asked and none that we requested to not be played. He did a good job handling requests from our guests as well.

Because he did such a great job with our wedding; I hired him for my office party. Again, everything was great. Because it was a work party the guests were a little nervous to show off their dance moves to coworkers. The first couple of songs looked like an eighth grade dance with everyone avoiding the dance floor. But Ken quickly adjusted and played a couple of group dance songs (electric slide/Cuban shuffle) that loosened everybody up. After that everyone had a great time.

I will absolutely use Ken anytime I need a DJ.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eliza
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Ken DJed our wedding reception and did amazing I was completly happy with everything! The up lighting was perfect and matched our Decorations well ! When he announced the wedding party I can remember my nephew the ring bear saying " he felt like a basketball star and it was awesome " ! The music that was played was prefect for family, and friend very kid friendly ! He gave us a questionnaire to fill out about 2 months before the wedding which made me feel good that he thought about all the things I would of forgotten ! (great idea) we changed things at last minute in the wedding party and Ken didn't miss a beat he said no problem and changed whatever I wanted !! (with a smile) .... Since my reception I have been to several weddings and receptions and he did a great job at them! I thought man I should of used him for the wedding and not just the reception!
EF
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Derrick
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Ken did an outstanding job at our wedding reception! The lighting, sound, and personal introductions were more than we could ever imagine. I would highly recommend his services to anyone looking for a worry free Dj on their special day!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tyrel & Mindy
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Ken did an extraordinary job at our wedding. His price was the best around and the service was spectacular. We were provided with a packet to complete regarding our reception schedule, and music we wanted. We forgot to complete this packet until 2 days before and Ken was still able to fulfill every request we made. Everyone at our reception complimented Ken's service. We had a family member and a friend with upcoming weddings book Ken's service because they were so impressed. Our violinist canceled (the day of) for our reception and Ken stepped up and played the music for the reception as well. KC's DJ Service is an extremely professional and accomadating DJ service. I reccomed him to everyone who is in need of a DJ whether it is a wedding or a party he will make your event spectacular!!!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
We hired KC's DJ service for our reception. He was very prompt and helped keep me (the bride) on task for chosing music. He met us whenever was most convienent to discuss music and to set up at reception hall. We had a great time at our reception with great music. Ken was the DJ at our wedding and would recommend him to anyone! Thanks so much, Ken!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
10/30/2010
5.0/5.0
Ken is a GREAT DJ. I would recommend him to anyone. He goes above and beyond to make your special day great. He has tons of different music. If he does not have a certain song he will find it for you. He can play the music to keep the party moving!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We hired Ken to DJ our wedding as he was recommended by many of our friends. Ken was professional, very easy to work with, and promptly answered our questions. He was readily available through phone and/or emails. Not only was he very affordable, but he did an amazing job with song selection at our wedding. He kept everyone on the dance floor with a smile on their face. I highly recommend Ken to all of my friends!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shelly
Wedding:
8/9/2008
5.0/5.0
Ken did an amazing job as the D.J. of our reception. He provided excellent service and I had several compliments from many guests on how professional and responsive to their requests he was. I have known Ken for many years and know just how passionate he is about what he does. He never puts out less than his best and this shows when you hire him for events! I make sure to refer Ken every chance I get and I have never heard anything but positive feedback from people who chose him!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
KC's DJ Service was a wonderful fit for our wedding reception! Not only are they very professional, they also truly care about making your wedding reception a huge hit. Ken made sure to play the songs we had requested and also made the entire reception run smoothly with appropriate announcements on the mic. I would definitely recommend KC's DJ Service for your next event! :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
This is a double review:

We were lucky enough (according to my wife, we were smart enough) to hire Kenny for our Wedding DJ Music and Lighting needs. We had family from overseas with very specific requests for Persian music mixed into all of our approved wedding songs. Kenny did a fantastic job. It was a great mix of songs. Nothing we didn't want to hear got played. Songs that were requested were put in rotation quickly. He had set up everything way early. He even went through a checklist with us beforehand, and reminded US of a few entertainment items. He did excellent introductions for our entrance and the bridal party as well.

My family was SO pleased with Kenny that we asked for him to DJ my sister's wedding. He put forward the same grand experience and again we could not have been happier.

Tonight, I am messaging him again to see if he is available to DJ my brother's wedding.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelli
Wedding:
11/6/2004
5.0/5.0
Ken did a great job at our wedding. He was friendly, professional and kept the party going all night. He set up early the day of our wedding. I had a few specific requests and they were all played perfectly. If we had any special requests, he made sure that they were done immediately, with perfection. We even played a joke on my dad and it turned out great...we started the father/daughter dance and played a song my dad HATED just to tease him. Then he quickly changed it to one of his favorite songs...it kept us both from crying! He even let us karaoke near the end of the night...that might have not been our best decision, but that was our bad decision...not his. Thanks for the wonderful music, our wedding was so much fun! The price was a great value too! My husband and I suggest Ken's DJ Service to anyone we know that is getting married.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tasha
Wedding:
8/28/2004
5.0/5.0
Looking for that special touch to make your wedding or event the most memorable experience? Then choose KC's DJ service for all of your needs, they will do more than exceed your expectations! How can go wrong with a service who provides top notch service with their amazing lighting, sound quality, professionalism, flexibility, and conduct. I have been working with their service for over 8 plus years and have never encountered a bad experience. We have used them for our wedding, family members wedding, birthday parties and have attended numerous events where there services were provided. They do an excellent job rather it be for a wedding, birthday party, or benefit (just to name a few of places we have encountered them). They work with you every step on making sure your needs are met while providing amazing entertainment! When you book them for an event you get so much more than a DJ service!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/12/2013
4.8/5.0
Kevin Cunningham with KC's DJ Service came down from Champaign to Carbondale, where our wedding and reception were held. He was prompt in email communications. I was a little nervous about the DJ since a DJ can make or break a reception, but Kevin was wonderful! I filled out the questionnaire that he provides, which is very thorough is asking for preferences for music for all parts of the reception. Any further questions he had, he was very good at communicating those questions rather than leaving it until the last minute.

We chose a non-mainstream song for our first dance, and he had the correct song ready for our first dance! He also provided just the right level of music throughout the cocktail hour and dinner; just loud enough to provide a great ambiance, but not so loud that conversation is drowned out.

Throughout the night, he kept our guests dancing and he was GREAT at reading the crowd. Our friends and family had a lot of fun, and everything was fun, appropriate, and upbeat. We LOVED having Kevin as our weddng DJ!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane
Wedding:
6/16/2012
0.6/5.0
UNPROFESSIONAL. These other reviews were written after my original negative review posted. He emailed me and asked me to remove my review but still seems to only care about his positive image and not his poor service.
We hired KC's DJ Service for our June wedding in Mattoon, IL. Our DJ, Josh, arrived on time (barely, he was still setting up during the beginning of cocktail hour) and was dressed professionally. Some issues that we had (that the owner Ken was made aware of to no avail - well I did get an email apology)
1. He had to be asked to start music during the cocktail hour (I am not sure if he was just waiting to announce us or if the issue of him having no Paul Simon music (I did not bring the whole cd, not just song, as I had not heard back from Ken and honestly had many other things on my mind)).
2. He repeatedly was asked by me and my family to not play pop/r&b with nasty lyrics that would have people bumping and grinding all over the floor - my 90 year old grandpa was there and that is just not what I wanted played anyway.
3. He was often busy chit chatting with the photographers or out of the room which I can only presume to make phone calls or smoke.
4. He played exactly 1 slow song, aside from 1st dance and father/daughter/mother/son, and I got to dance with my new husband to it for about 7 seconds. Not my job to run the flow of the reception.
5. We were told the uplights could change colors. He did not know how or refused to do it, or refused to learn. I had mentioned in earlier emails I did not want white and that was what we got.
It was a great party, the dance floor was always going. My family likes to dance and have fun (it would have been a nightmare if they didn't with DJ skills like that).
Oh and I forgot to mention that he rolled his eyes at mom several times. Don't hire them for your wedding. Look elsewhere. I wish I had.
Services Used: DJ
KC's DJ Service responded with the following comments:

At KC's DJ Service...our motto is YOUR WEDDING YOUR WAY. Our mission is to go above and beyond to ensure the Bride and Groom's happiness on THEIR special day. We are very sorry Jane had a less than positive experience with us. We've made attempts to reach her and make this situation right but have yet to hear back from her. Hopefully we can make this situation right for her.

A few responses to the above points:
1) The DJ in question is no longer with the company as we have a zero tolerance policy for behavior like that. I don't typically like to disclose when a DJ is "let go" but I want to put everyone's mind at ease and let them know that WONT be happening again. Our DJs are trained very well (and paid very well) to cater to the Bride and Groom's every need and focus 100% on the wedding. We have a zero smoking policy and a zero drinking policy. The DJ is to be at the DJ booth at all times (unless it's a restroom break)! We over pay our DJs (compared to other companies) and offer incentives to ensure they're making every effort possible to make sure the Bride, Groom, and all guest are happy. This situation WILL NOT happen again!

2) We had the Paul Simon song. I always meet with our DJs to discuss each wedding, go over special request, music, itinerary, etc and I provide them with a lap top filled with the songs needed for each wedding. Why the song was never played...I'll never never understand. That is very unacceptable and is one of the many reasons we parted ways with that DJ.

3) I personally can't apologize enough for the up light color. Jane's husband had told me over the phone to leave them on white and he would place covers over them....or have the DJ change the colors the day of. The DJ WAS trained on how to change colors...my apologies for what appears to be a misunderstanding on my part and either lack of training or lack of effort from our DJ....once again...that WONT happen again.

We've had several meetings/training sessions with our other DJs to ensure that they understand our expectations. We've also discussed this review and new policies have been put in place to ensure a situation like this will NOT happen again.

If anyone has any questions regarding this review...please feel free to e-mail me: cunningham_ken@hotmail.com or call me: 217-493-4375 and I'll be happy to answer any questions. We've been providing music and entertainment for weddings for over 12 years and we have a very VERY long list of Brides and Grooms who are happy with our services. We're happy to supply you with a list of references anytime.

At KC's DJ Service...The Bride and Groom come first...no exceptions!!!

MAP

 
Champaign, IL 61822 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for KC's DJ Service
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1295149700366-kcsdjservice