130x130_sq_1206627024921-laughrecrop

Kelly Hahn Photography

Hagerstown , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Hagerstown, MD US 21740 (map)

PHONE

240-285-3677

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Kelly Hahn Johnson is an award winning photojournalist with over 20 years of experience. She is a member of the Wedding Photojournalist Association, the National Press Photographers... Read more
Kelly Hahn Johnson is an award winning photojournalist with over 20 years of experience. She is a member of the Wedding Photojournalist Association, the National Press Photographers Association and the Professional Photographers of America. Her work has been seen nationally and internationally in such publications as People, the Washington Post, USA Today and several books including “Virginia 24/7” and “Cats 24/7”. For contact and booking information and to view more of her work go online to kellyhahnphotography.com. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1346284074930-006img5048
130x130_sq_1346284311485-img27541shoes
130x130_sq_1346283986750-017img8068logo
130x130_sq_1346284340762-guyshi5
130x130_sq_1346284134043-001img8461
130x130_sq_1206627640046-we'reinlove2_1
130x130_sq_1206627916156-disc10_9999_146_1
130x130_sq_1206628107093-adukaitis_062_1
130x130_sq_1346284121037-001img5760finalblog
130x130_sq_1346284165317-004img6621
130x130_sq_1346284188719-001img6463blog
130x130_sq_1346284199665-004img3836blog
130x130_sq_1346284215467-016img7174blog
130x130_sq_1346284232852-011img6789blog
130x130_sq_1346284246967-blough8745
130x130_sq_1346284281414-005img0854
130x130_sq_1206627548531-coveralex
130x130_sq_1346284324760-002img3721moon
130x130_sq_1346284373568-006img8739

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, High Resolution Images, Prints, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
Color and black and white are available. I frequently include black and white images in the final wedding photos and albums.
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
There is no lighting situation I haven't faced while working for newspapers. That experience has taught me to be able to assess a situation quickly and determine the best way to capture it.
Is your media preference film or digital?
All digital, all the time.
How many photographers do you work with?
Sometimes I work with an assistant but the vision and work is mine.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
Never. I put my entire creative and physical being into capturing the wedding. I wouldn't have the energy for two!
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
I bring two cameras, various lenses and flashes, a portable lighting kit and portable battery pack. If necessary, I can light anything, anywhere.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
I keep a third camera body in the car, just in case...
Do you charge hourly or full day?
I charge by the event. I don't book by the hour. I tell a story and when the story begins and ends is the length of time that I will stay, within reasonable limits.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
I don't take breaks.
Do you charge for travel?
Yes.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
I don't provide proofs. The bride and groom receive all their wedding materials, photo album, c.d. of all the images taken at the wedding, web upload of an edited version, within eight weeks of the wedding date.
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
dvd and website
How long can the client keep the proofs?
Not applicable
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
The images are part of the package, copyright free. They can be used for reprint and personal purposes only, no commercial use.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
yes, I use the images on my website, blog and any other promotional materials as needed
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
4/11/2014
5.0/5.0
Being in the wedding business, I am very familiar with many vendors, including photographers. However, when my husband, Sam and I decided to get married, we did not hesitate to contact Kelly to take our wedding photos! She is absolutely wonderful to work with, very professional, yet pleasant. She has an amazing eye for detail and catching just the right shot!! She caught many on our wedding day. We have had friends say that our wedding photos are the best they have ever seen!! If you are looking for an experienced photographer who is great to work with from start to finish, I highly recommend Kelly Hahn Photography.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allana
Wedding:
11/15/2013
5.0/5.0
I was first referred to Kelly by my wedding coordinator at Ceresville Mansion in Frederick; she had never worked with Kelly before, but she had seen her photos and thought I would really like her. She was right- the moment I looked Kelly up online, I knew I wanted her to photograph my wedding.
My background is in marketing and advertising, and I have dabbled in photography as a hobby. I am very particular about the types of photos I like, and I am quite the critic when it comes to photo editing; if I can tell that a picture has been touched up a lot, or if the Photoshop work is the first thing I notice, I probably won't like the photos. I prefer natural looking images, that have that magazine, moment-in-time feel to them- and those are exactly the types of images that Kelly produces.
When I found out that she was a trained photojournalist, it sealed the deal for me.
Kelly proposed an idea that I had never heard of before- a pre-wedding glamor shoot. My dress has an "Old Hollywood" feel to it, and Kelly imagined a beautiful black-and-white shoot modeled after actresses from the 1950s. We chose to do the photos on the same day as my hair and make-up trial- sort of like a dress rehearsal for the big day.
The images were stunning, and even now I cannot get over how gorgeous they are. The pre-wedding shoot gave me the opportunity to become more comfortable in front of the camera and to get to know my photographer better. It gave Kelly the opportunity to capture some more creative images than she would typically get to take on the day of the wedding. She is extremely creative and an artist first and foremost- it was wonderful allowing her to let her artist out. It was definitely a positive experience for us both.
I would HIGHLY recommend that if you are planning to use Kelly as your photographer (and you should!), that you also schedule a pre-wedding shoot. You will have more time to take some incredible photos, and you will absolutely love what she can do!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1389056652895-image
Stephanie
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Kelly did an amazing job! She was recommended to us by a friend and did our engagement session and our wedding. She is so sweet and funny and did a great job putting us at ease and making us comfortable with the camera. She also had quite the task hustling our motley crew of a wedding party around! I can't WAIT to see the shots from the wedding - our engagement shots were wonderful!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
I can not say enough great things about Kelly. Kelly was recommended to me by a friend who used her for her wedding. I met Kelly at the Frederick Bridal Show and I immediately knew that Kelly was who I wanted to work with. Like most men, my husband doesn't love having his picture taken but Kelly made him feel so comfortable and all of our pictures turned out great!

Kelly was able to get great pictures at the wedding without being intrusive. One of the best things was that Kelly noticed a beautiful sunset and asked my husband and I if we would like to take a few quick pictures. We are so grateful that we took the moment to have these pictures taken because they turned out beautifully.

I would highly recommend Kelly Hahn to anyone looking for great quality at a reasonable price :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathy
Wedding:
7/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Kelly was fabulous to work with on our wedding day. She has the ability to make the formal picture taking experience relaxed and fun. She captured great candid shots of all of our guests. She beautifully documented our special day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I hired Kelly Hahn photography for our wedding last May. As far as wedding vendors go, my wife, family, and I all agree that Kelly was top notch. The photo journalist style she shoots weddings in is unique, and it allowed her to catch wonderful moments that my wife and I are very happy with. Kelly's planning of the wedding was thorough and it made our wedding day run smoothly. She made sure every shot we wanted was taken, and she was very flexible the day of the event. She carries herself with class and worked well with our venue and other wedding vendors. In all my dealings with Kelly Hahn, her responses were prompt and professional. Throughout the wedding process, Kelly truly appreciated our business, which made me feel good. Weddings are a lot of work. Kelly made that work easy. The wedding albums and files she supplied us were of great quality. At the end of the day, your wedding photos are something that will remain with you forever. It is important to select a photographer like Kelly who will capture your special moments.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
D
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
This is a review by a guest at the wedding of my niece where Kelly was the photographer. I need brides to know how accommodating and welcoming Kelly was to other people at the wedding who wanted to take pictures as well. She went OUT OF HER WAY to help me take some fabulous shots, and was so very gracious as we often wanted similar shots. I'm convinced having seen her fabulous work of the engagement photo's that mine will pale in comparison to hers, but if any of you are worried about your crazy family also taking tons of pictures, rest assured she's the woman to work with. I would highly recommend her not only for what she takes, but how she does it as well!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
What a fantastic experience! After being the photographer for our son's wedding, we dealt with Kelly in the development and purchase of a special album of the event. She was an absolute joy to work with, always responsive and willing to work with you.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Kelly is absolutely wonderful and her skills and knowledge as a photographer is outstanding. My wedding would have not been the same if it wasn’t for her. We received breath taking photos and videos that we will have for the rest of our lives. She went above and beyond to depict the most wonderful day of my life. I highly recommend her for your wedding!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Kelly was absolutely fantastic for our wedding on August 11. I hardly remember seeing her after we finished our one-on-one shots but the moments she captured are truly breathtaking. We never had to stop what we were doing to pose for a picture.

After our wedding she came to my parents farm and photographed me with my horse in my wedding dress. We got incredible shots and she was very patient with my not-so-patient horse.

I would recommend Kelly to any of my friends getting married. I fell in love with her work from the first time I stumbled upon her website and was so glad when I found Kelly not only to be incredibly talented but also to be kind, and wonderful to work with.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelsea
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Kelly was amazing from day one. She listened to my ideas and desires for my wedding day. She remembered the special touches and captured our day from beginning to end. She did a site visit prior to the wedding to make sure she was well prepared for the day. Not only is her work amazing, she is wonderful to work with. Kelly never made me feel like I was being difficult and always wanted us to be satisfied. I will use Kelly in the future for my photography needs!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jcarr
Wedding:
5/11/2012
4.9/5.0
We loved Kelly Hahn Photography and her team!! I knew from the moment Kelly came to meet my fiance and I at a random coffee shop to go over wedding details and show us samples of her work that she would be the photographer we would pick to capture our BIG DAY! She remembered specific details about things that we wanted, made a point to get to know and remember the names of all our wedding day VIPs and was extremely flexible with what we wanted done with our pictures! Kelly and her team captured every moment I could have wanted (even with giving her a long list of specific photo shots I wanted!) and I am so happy we had her there on our day. I truly believe that the best investment and money you can spend on your wedding day is on photography b/c that is what will last forever! Kelly was a great value and well-worth everything we spent. Compared to some others in the area her prices were very fair! I HIGHLY recommend Kelly Hahn!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Kelly was amazing! She made sure to get all of our must-have photos and we were more than satisfied with her photo work. She is personable and fun to work with and we had a blast doing both our engagement and wedding photos with her. Our families loved her pictures as well. We can't wait to have them displayed in our home! She is a fantastic photographer, definitely worth it!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AKR33112
Wedding:
3/31/2012
5.0/5.0
Kelly is the best photographer for your wedding! She is friendly, thorough, and knowledgeable. She put in a lot of prep work with our venue, visiting it multiple times at different times of day! She gets you the pictures you want! Our photos turned out wonderful! Thanks Kelly!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cmoser12
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Kelly Hahn Photography was all that my husband and I could have asked for in a wedding photographer. She was friendly, professional, and remembered everything I said that I had expected of my wedding day and pictures. She answered all of our questions and always made herself available to us if we had any questions before the big day! I really appreciated her contacting me the week before just to double check everything and to tie up all of our plans, that way we had nothing to worry about on the day of. She got along well with all of our friends and family and made us all feel great! Her pictures were absolutely FANTASTIC and I am constantly receiving compliments on the book she made for us! There is absolutely nothing I would have changed about our experience with Kelly. She is the best!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aarudi
Wedding:
9/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Kelly was worth absolutely every penny and more! The best money we spent toward our wedding. My husband and I are not "picture people" yet Kelly made both the engagement and weddings photos painless and even fun! Plus, they turned out absolutely gorgeous. She has such great vision and creativity but flies under the radar. You never noticed her on our wedding day. I actually credit her for keeping our wedding on track. She was calm admist the chaos and took charge when we desperated needed it to keep on schedule. She has a great sense of humor and very down to earth. Loved working with her.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rcmengle
Wedding:
8/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Kelly was hired to photograph a surprise 25th Anniversary party for us. She did a wonderful job of capturing the all fun and good times...not to mention the surprised look on our faces. She also took some absolutely beautiful pictures of our entire family...the best family photos we've ever had (hands down). Finally, Kelly presented us with a wonderful album so that we can remember the event forever. Great job, Kelly!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Kelly Hahn took the photos for my wedding. The photos turned out absolutely beautiful! Kelly was professional, caring, and responsive to my concerns. She has a keen eye for detail and unique photo opportunities! She worked constantly throughout the wedding to get the best shots possible! Kelly also took our engagement pictures and they turned out beautiful as well! I would highly recommend Kelly Hahn to any bride who is looking for a great photographer who likes to have fun and take beautiful pictures!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Auntie J
Wedding:
4/16/2011
5.0/5.0
What can I say about Kelly other than she was amazing. She truly captured the feeling I wanted on our day. She captured the moments that I might have forgotten down the road. She took notice of the details we spent so much time designing. She knew to focus on the important folks in our lives. She snapped away on the day and I didn't even know she was there. All of my guests complimented how wonderful she was - one point she was laying on the dance floor to capture a moment of our last dance that turned out beautiful- looked like it should be on a billboard. We had a day after session that was much more relaxed than our wedding day, and the photos came out amazing. They look like they should be in a magazine. She has such an eye for what is going to look good as far as lighting, angles, etc. Kelly is a professional at it's best. My favorite vendor! We will cherish our photos for years to come, and plan on decorating our house with them no matter how vain it looks!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
4/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Kelly did a great job at "staying in the background." I didn't know she was there. She took some great pictures!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jsantos
Wedding:
1/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Kelly is AMAZING! She wants to make sure you receive exactly what you want and she succeeds! I will cherish these photos forever.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Kelly has an amazing ability to capture the unique images that tell the story of your wedding day. She is extremely hard working and creative. Choosing to work with her was one of the best decisions my husband and I could have made!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cweave10987
Wedding:
9/10/2010
5.0/5.0
I couold not be more pleased with my decision in choosing Kelly to photograph my husband and I's wedding. She started out with our engagement photos, that we turned into our guest book. The quality of the photos really helped us to choose her as our wedding photographer. I am overjoyed with how our wedding photographs turned out. When selecting pictures for our wedding album, we had a really difucult time because all of the pictures Kelly took were perfect. I love telling others about how great our photgrapher was. Our photos were even featured in a magazine. Having Kelly be our wedding photographer was the best decision we made for our wedding!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
10/23/2009
5.0/5.0
Kelly is amazing! She did our engagement and wedding photos and she did a fabulous job! She works so hard to make sure you have great pictures and wonderful memories. Her prices are better than anyone else around, and her quality and skill surpass all other photographers! She did such a great job on our wedding pictures! She made sure we got all the "required" family photos in, but that we still got a lot of pictures of us. And the action shots at the reception are awesome!! She captured the moment and feel of the event. She has a great eye. I am so glad we chose Kelly as our photographer...its going to be sooo hard to choose the pictures we want to frame. Thanks Kelly!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessie
Wedding:
8/14/2009
5.0/5.0
Kelly came highly recommended to us by friends of ours and she certainly did live up to the hype. She did such a great job capturing the overall atmosphere of our day. She was a one woman show and hustled around the entire day for us! It was so nice to have Kelly shooting photos from the very beginning of the day while we were getting ready up until we left that night. Thanks again, Kelly!!! You did such a great job!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
doublecee
Wedding:
6/7/2009
5.0/5.0
My family has known Kelly for a very long time, so we knew we would go with her for our wedding. WOW! We are so glad we went with her! She was so easy to work with and always managed to get the best shots captured with her camera! If something good was happening, I would turn around and there she was, clicking away! She always kept us up to date on what was happening with our photos, and did a great job with both our engagement and wedding albums. My husband and I are also very happy that we were able to obtain discs of all the images Kelly shot for our wedding and engagement sessions. Both sides of the family agree that the pictures are spectacular, and we are looking forward to Kelly photographing our family in the years to come.

Kelly is definitely the hands down BEST photographer you can get for your wedding! You will NOT be dissapointed!!! :-D
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/23/2009
5.0/5.0
Kelly is absolutely amazing!!! I say Kelly is amazing because she is not only an outstanding photographer, she's just an all-around great person to be around. Something about being around her allows you to be able to relax and just be yourself..which ultimately produces great photos, as we found. We had a great experience with her from the start. She even took some engagement photos for us..which I highly recommend because it helps you feel more comfortable on the "big day" photoshoot. :) The next day after the wedding my husband and I were talking about the wedding and he said, "There were so many great moments during the reception and I thought wow this would be a great picture..and instantly he would turn and look and there was Kelly already there and taking the picture." She did an incredible job being many places and capturing the entire evening. Even other vendors at our wedding commented on how hard she worked throughout the evening taking pictures! I would highly recommend Kelly for all of your personal and/or family photography desires. You will be glad you chose Kelly!

Sincerely,
Jennifer
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
5/16/2009
5.0/5.0
What CAN'T we say about Kelly?? She was fantastic in every way, not just as a photographer but also as a person. We had to reschedule our engagement session numerous time due to weather, and she was incredibly flexible on each occasion. Prior to the wedding, we provided her with a list of pictures that we wanted. When the day came, she was organized and timely. We only wanted a few poses, and the rest candid shots. Each photo was perfect. Her "eye" for the moment is amazing. We continue to be impressed by the pictures from the day that she created onto a website....and we have even seen the CD nor the wedding book yet! We are very excited to see the finished product. But we are more excited to recommend her to others, which we already have done. You can't ask for a nicer person or more professional photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Betsy
Wedding:
9/27/2008
5.0/5.0
Kelly was incredible to work with. From our first meeting through our wedding reception, she was so creative, easy going and high energy! Her work is amazing and we have heard nothing but great feedback from the pictures she took of our big day! The price cannot be beat for the quality of work and professionalism that Kelly delivers. I would recommend her to anyone...and already have!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BellaNotte1986
Wedding:
9/20/2008
5.0/5.0
I am still absolutely astounded at the amazing job Kelly did. Working with her and her assistant was a breeze and they were more than willing to help. Looking back on the wedding planning process there are a few things I would want to change if I were to do it again but not Kelly. She has such a high level of professionalism and she strove to get us the pictures we desired to look back on and absolutely love our wedding and forget all the crappy planning along the way and she mastered it. The price may seem on the high side but it is more than worth it!!
Services Used: Photography
Bg6
Tosha
Wedding:
6/28/2008
5.0/5.0
Kelly is simply a pleasure to work and deal with. She honestly was a huge part of making our day all that it was, and it was fantastic! Every time we look at the pictures or the book, we are brought right back to that moment due to the artful and creative way in which she captured each part of our day. We highly recommend Kelly for sharing in anyone's special event. She is not just a photographer but an artist and really was almost a partner in the event for us. We cannot express enough our gratitude and enthusiasm for Kelly and her talents!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
10/6/2007
5.0/5.0
Kelly is an absolutely amazing photographer and a wonderful person to work with. My husband and I interviewed many photographers and Kelly was by far the most excited about the personal details of our wedding.

Kelly spoke with us several times about the kind of photos that were important to us and was responsive every time we contacted her.

She was remarkably flexible in how we used the hours we contracted her for, arriving early and staying late. She blended in to the background on the wedding day, and best of all she took AMAZING photos.

She made a beautiful coffee table book and gave us all our digital images (over 1000).

Kelly is a real pro, a true artist and you won't be disappointed!
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Hagerstown, MD 21740 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Kelly Hahn Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1206627024921-laughrecrop