130x130_sq_1283347402939-kellybio

Kelly Prizel Photography

New Haven , CT
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

152 Vista Terrace
New Haven, CT US 06515 (map)

PHONE

203-513-9377

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

I have two great loves in my life (besides my wife, my family, and my 10 pets): fine art photography and weddings.

I graduated with my BFA in Fine Art Photography from the... Read more
I have two great loves in my life (besides my wife, my family, and my 10 pets): fine art photography and weddings.

I graduated with my BFA in Fine Art Photography from the Corcoran College of Art & Design, four months before I married my wife Natalie. I loved wedding planning – from tastings (yum) to hand-binding our guest books to screen printing our invitations.

At the same time, I was deeply invested in my art, focusing particularly on creating a feminist-influenced digital installation.

So how does a feminist, funky, Martha-Stewart loving, crafter and artist combine all this passion? Into a wedding photography company focused on artistic composition, attention to DIY details, and catering to LGBT and allied couples. I bring my passion, drive, service, and artistry to every couple with whom I work.

While I live and work in New Haven, CT- I often find myself in NY, MA, DC and am happy to travel!

If you have any questions or would like to contact me, please email me at: kelly@kellyprizel.com

To see my complete portfolio go to: http://www.kellyprizel.com Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1283347934454-weddingwire2
130x130_sq_1246481146953-20090601img1327
130x130_sq_1283347922111-weddingwire3
130x130_sq_1283347891564-weddingwire4
130x130_sq_1283347946392-weddingwire1
130x130_sq_1246481145547-20090425img0514
130x130_sq_1246481143468-20090425img6327

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Negatives
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
11/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Working with Kelly was an absolute dream. She had tons of new ways of shooting. She thought outside of the box and completely rocked it. She is punctual, courteous, and completely professional. I am so glad she was part of my special day to document it and proud to be a subject of her artwork. I would highly recommend her to anyone and everyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough great things about Kelly. First, she's just great to be around: sunny, fun, full of energy. This came in handy because I usually hate having my picture taken, but she made it a blast. Moreover, she's totally professional. She knew exactly how to manage folks at my wedding so they moved where they should be without even knowing they were being moved!

And most important, her photos are fantastic. Absolutely beautiful. Unlike anything I've seen from any other wedding photographer. You can totally tell her background is in fine art photography. I actually asked her to travel to my wedding in PA because her work is so original, and it was totally worth it. She captured the most wonderful images from our wedding. I can't recommend her highly enough.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tim
Wedding:
7/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Kelly...I just can't say enough. She is a great photographer. She goes out of her way to capture the right photos and create your memories. It was a wonderful pleasure to work with her and her wife.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elana
Wedding:
11/11/2012
5.0/5.0
If I could give Kelly 10 stars, I would. While her pictures speak for themselves, we decided to work with Kelly because she was so energetic, positive, and professional. My now husband is not a fan of having photos taken, but he was having a blast before he knew it, because of her warmth and ability to connect with people and make them feel comfortable.

Lastly, Kelly goes above and beyond what is expected of her, as a photographer. For example, she has shared stories of doing extra sessions with clients who are particularly nervous. In our case, because of a flash issue she was not able to capture an important detail so she later came to our house to take extra photos. I highly recommend her!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
10/31/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I are wedding photographers, so, of course, photography was one of our biggest concerns in planning our own wedding. We couldn't be happier with chosing to have Kelly shoot our wedding.

Not only is she just plain talented (seriously, check out her work. It's beautiful!) but she is a great business woman. She was very easy to work with, and she is upfront about her prices and policies from the begining, something we both really appreciate in a vendor!

On top of all that, she really went the extra mile for us. We were married in New York City two days after hurricane Sandy! Our wedding planning turned chaotic when we realized most everything would have to be re-planned because of the storm. We weren't even sure Kelly would be able to make it, because the bridges were still closed! Not only did Kelly make it, she got to our venue before us, because she left at 4am to make sure she could get to us in time. She stayed from us getting ready into our reception, getting photos the whole time. She was good at being very direct to get the shot she needed without ever seeming bossy or overbearing, and his parents assumed she was a very talented friend who'd agreed to shoot our wedding. They couldn't believe that our wedding was only the third time we'd met Kelly in person!

As for the photos, which are the most important part of hiring a photographer, we were SO happy! There's a photo of us we didn't even know she took, when we ducked out to take a walk around the block just after our ceremony, that hits us every time we see it. There is so much emotion, and it looks like a peice of artwork. And all of the photos were great. We had a very small wedding (13 people) and used the photos to show all those who weren't there what it was like. One day, we'll show the photos to our baby nephews and future kids. She captured exactly what it looked like and just how joyful it felt.

Kelly is awesome, and we would give her 50 stars if we could!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Roma
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
I couldn't say enough wonderful things about Kelly and Natalie. Kelly's images speak for themselves. She has an amazing eye and her attention to detail is amazing. But, she also has a knack for bringing people out of their shells and seeing beyond the ordinary. We heart this team so much! Our engagement photos were spectacular, and we can't wait to see our wedding photos.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Clara
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Kelly was a central part of why our wedding turned out so magical. From the beginning she was like a photographer/wedding planner/friend, offering much needed guidance, advice, reassurance and sanity as we navigated the confusing waters of wedding planning. She was always so friendly, funny, smart and creative, it was a joy to work with her, and we felt like we really connected as soon as we met.

She is super organized and professional, and created a detailed document outlining the schedule for the day, down to the minute, that we relied on as our bible leading up to the wedding. On the day of, she was so on top of things I felt like I could relax knowing I was in capable hands. Because of her quick thinking and artistic talent, she got us into place just as a gorgeous antique train was pulling in, and the photos came out amazingly. When we saw our finished shots, I cried because they were so beautiful. It takes a really talented person to see what is most important about a couple and their family and somehow encapsulate that in photos. That's exactly what Kelly did. We will treasure our pictures forever, as well as our time working with Kelly. Thank you, Kelly!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
robinjwood
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
I could not be happier with Kelly Prizel! From the very first conversation, Kelly was a joy to work with. She has a great sense of humor, a fabulous eye and a sincere interest in making sure that your wedding and engagement photos tell the story of your love. She is easy to work with, flexible and worth every penny!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TriciaDLee9
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Title: Memories Caught to Last a Lifetime!

Kelly Prizel Photography does amazing work. Kelly works with couples throughout the entire wedding process helping to alleviate all fears, etc. She also helped us to establish a timeline to follow. This helped us tremendously because we planned our entire wedding without the help of a wedding planner. Kelly's photos are one of a kind. She captures real life moments you will want to look back on for years to come. She floats around and gets the coolest angles in terms of the variety of shots. Most of the time you don't even know she's there. She makes you feel like your wedding is the best she has ever worked at and she truly enjoys her job. She puts couples as easy with her quirky, down to earth personality. She has done both same-sex and heterosexual weddings; excelling at both without question. She comes with my highest recommendation. Truly worth every single penny.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1286146355864-keishaaj234
Kesha
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Wow, just wow! Kelly is just simply amazing!! We've never met anyone who was as warm, bubbly, and excited about her job! Kelly loves her line and work and it was an honor to be around someone so passionate and caring. Pictures last forever and you want a product that you cherish forever. Kelly delivers that product while entertaining you the entire time! Kelly is so AWESOME and we're grateful to have had the chance to work for her--in fact, we already miss her :( You can't go wrong with Kelly, we promise!!!!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1284609540946-25
Rachel
Wedding:
8/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Kelly is simply AMAZING. I don't even know what else to say. Her friendly, quirky, relatable personality put us instantly at ease which helped us be relaxed and comfortable for engagement and wedding photos. It felt like having a good friend around, so we were natural and relaxed. Kelly's artistic eye is incredible, but at the same time, the photos are more about YOU than about showcasing her style and talent. Our photos are gorgeous and everything we wanted. Kelly was great at guiding us where we needed advice while pulling from us our own preferences and wishes. I can't recommend her enough.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ellie
Wedding:
8/9/2011
5.0/5.0
Kelly Prizel is and was - without a shadow of a doubt - a highlight of our wedding day and entire wedding experience. My wife and I started planning our wedding only five months prior to the big day. We had a window of time, and we wanted to make it work! Thankfully, we scheduled our nuptials on a Tuesday, and thankfully, Kelly was available!

From our Skype interview to swapped e-mails, Kelly was fun, light-hearted, professional, and SO HELPFUL. She was helpful about photography stuff AND about small wedding stuff. Most of our wedding was DIY, and we certainly didn't have a planner (yours truly acted in that role), so her advice was invaluable.

Kelly and her wife, Natalie, shot our wedding on an overcast day on Lake Champlain in Burlington, VT. They made us laugh, calmed our nerves, and helped us feel relaxed for photos we would look at for years to come. Kelly captured some of the most amazing moments that are *so perfect* for us to cherish. They show me being silly and Janet being sweet; and that's us. By the end of the night, I was ready to pack Kelly and Natalie in our bags and haul them with us to Hawaii and then back to Atlanta!

We cannot say enough good things about Kelly Prizel Photography. If I had one complaint it would be that Kelly and Natalie live too far away to grab coffee or lunch with on a regular basis!
Services Used: Photography
B4
Katherine
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
Kelly is THE BEST! Seriously, she was my favorite vendor and I just loved working with her throughout the entire planning process and having her and her wife Natalie around me on my wedding day. I was actually kind pretty excited for my friends and family to meet Kelly after I'd spent months describing her to everyone around me as "the most excited person I've ever met." Kelly's just genuinely loves people and weddings and that effect is contagious. I think there were definitely times while I was planning the wedding that she was more excited about it than I was, even!

We had one engagement shoot with Kelly about 9 months before the wedding, which was a lot of fun and gave us several creative images to use for our save-the-date postcard. Kelly then went above and beyond and had an extra "warm-up" photo shoot a few months closer to the wedding since we'd talked a lot about how my husband and I weren't really that comfortable in front of a camera still. It's almost funny how much more relaxed we look in the later photos.

On the day of, Kelly's arrival to the room I was getting ready in with my bridesmaids was a godsend as we ended up raiding her kit for supplies to finish the pinwheel bouquets (fashion tape can in fact be used as regular tape). All my bridesmaids loved her as well and when we were taking the group shots, nobody minded at all when she firmly but politely asked some others to stop taking photos of the group at the same time since it was making people look in different directions. She was never intrusive during the actual happening of the wedding, just snapping away and always moving moving moving to capture everything.
We got a preview of photos just a few weeks after the wedding, which already contained a ton of photos that I really loved, and then the full set less than 2 months afterwards. Looking through the 500+ photos made me love my wedding more than I had, particularly since it's rather hazy in my own memory.

I'm now talking my husband into ordering a wedding album with Kelly since our initial package didn't include one, partly just so that we can continue working with her. I hope to do family portrait sessions with her in future years as well!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Kelly was by far our favorite vendor, and we loved all of our vendors. She is extremely talented and she delivered both photojournalistic candids and very artistic shots using multiple lenses. Plus this is someone you want to hang around with during your wedding day cause she's just an awesome person. She's also very organized and thought of things we wouldn't have on our own. My wife loved that she made sure we had time alone together to really take in getting married.
Services Used: Photography
Bb8
Her's and Her's
Wedding:
5/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Kelly Prizel is an amazing find! If she has your date available- book today! :) Kelly is an incredibly talented photographer, and her energy and sense of humor make her photo shoots fun and enjoyable. She made us feel very comfortable on the three shoots we had with her. On the day of our engagement shoot, it was pouring down rain, and Kelly offered to split our session in half so we could have some inside shots (in an art gallery) and then some later in the season (during the cherry blossom time in DC). She was generous with her time, and very dedicated to making sure we ended up with goregous pictures. Kelly is simply fantastic and a joy to work with!
Services Used: Photography
Bb12
Christina McPants
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot stress enough how wonderful Kelly was. Her enthusiasm, her responsiveness, her AMAZING PHOTOS! She was both fun and unobtrusive on the day. Photos were sent exactly by her deadlines. Most importantly, Kelly got us. She worked with us to know exactly what we wanted and the result was a compilation of photos that showcases exactly what we wanted in the most beautiful way possible. I'm not going to lie, looking at her photos makes me tear up sometimes.

If Kelly is out of your budget, rework your budget.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annie
Wedding:
4/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Kelly Prizel did our engagement shoot and wedding. The engagement session was the most fun part of the entire wedding prep process. She also let us choose where we wanted to take pictures and she made time for us to go to a couple different locations around DC. Kelly really got us in the mood and we left feeling excited for the big day. We loved our photos and have shared them with lots of family and friends.

As for the wedding, she really helped steer the ship. As soon as she arrived in the morning, I knew she'd keep everything together and she did. She knows weddings and manages them with so much grace. Need lipstick? She's got it. Relatives that won't pay attention? She's on it! Need your veil adjusted? She's a pro! I felt so at ease having Kelly shooting the wedding.

We gotten a preview of the photos and we couldn't be happier. Kelly's work is modern with classic twist.

PS: We also got a photo booth from Kelly. So much fun for our guests and the pictures are hilarious.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1301519385005-1000539
Jacquetta
Wedding:
3/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Beyond talented and very down to earth, Kelly has such a beautiful aesthetic and is not afraid to get down and dirty for her perfect shot.

She is a joy to work with and made us feel so comfortable, relaxed and beautiful. She also shot our engagement photos and upon our first meeting we felt like we were hanging out with a friend we've known for years rather than someone we just met. Very nice personality.

She is extremely flexible and wants only the best photos, and she will get them. While being accommodating, she is still very honest and will let you know what will and will not work and how we can get the shots that she needs and her clients will love. Her number one priority is amazing photos/happy clients.

Will be our go to photographer for life!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Kelly is a fantastic photographer and, more importantly, a fantastic person. She's so sweet, professional, and easy to work with before, during, and after the wedding. We did an engagement session with her in 90-degree heat and it was still fun! She was great at managing our 7 year old, too. I don't remember seeing her during the wedding or reception, yet she was able to capture so many beautiful moments. She's truly an artist and we feel lucky to have worked with her.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
johanna1230
Wedding:
8/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Kelly is amazing! My fiance (now husband!) and I fell in love with her and her photography as soon as we met her. She is incredibly talented and her love for what she does really comes through in her photographs. They're artistic, inspired, beautiful, and perfect for anyone who's not into the whole cookie-cutter-wedding-factory thing. We've received effusive compliments from literally every person who has seen any of the pictures that Kelly took at our wedding or at our engagement session.

On top of that, she's an absolute delight to work with. She provided us with tons of incredibly helpful advice throughout the process of planning our wedding. And we hired her (awesome) wife to be our day-of coordinator. I don't know what we would have done without them.

I cannot recommend Kelly strongly enough to any brides or grooms out there looking for a photographer!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1218121713938-redbarnext
Sarah and Megan
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
Kelly Prizel of Film Noir Photography was such an incredible find. Her photos of our wedding were beyond what I could have ever hoped for and she is just the kindest, warmest person. She truely loves weddings and love and it comes through in her work and art. I would recommend her to anyone and everyone.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
marigot
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
Kelly made me feel so pretty and comfortable allowing for amazing shots. The shoot was on the water and I had a blast! I really felt that she cared and gave me 100%. I highly recommend to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1250797129970-20090601img0765
JLynn
Wedding:
6/1/2009
5.0/5.0
Kelly has an amazing talent and creative eye for photography! I have worked with her on several occasions, most recently a boudoir session as a gift for my hubby! The photos were STUNNING! She got the best shots and was full of ideas on poses and angles. I highly recommend Kelly and Film Noir for any type of photography! You can tell this girl lives and breathes her work! She's super fun to be around and you'll definitely love your photos! Thank you soooo much Kelly!!!! : )
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
satyr0127
Wedding:
5/9/2009
5.0/5.0
Kelly at Film Noir was my favorite wedding vendor. She is upbeat, enthusiastic about her work, and really put me and my husband at ease. Her photos are also gorgeous and really captured everything that happened at our wedding. She made sure to capture all the posed photos that I requested and was very flexible when my mother started requesting more shots. The day after the wedding, Kelly sent me an amazing slideshow that really captured how I felt on our wedding day.

Kelly's partner, Natalie, was also an invaluable part of our day. She acted as a day-of-coordinator and handled a lot of the set-up that I was worried about with our very DIY wedding. She was incredibly efficient and helpful and made it so I didn't worry about anything all day. I whole-heartedly recommend Film Noir!
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1234604151437-n644205992_1849362_5303
cmn0382
Wedding:
4/26/2009
5.0/5.0
Kelly was AWESOME!!! She is truly in love with her work and it shows it. She was very flexaible, and had great ideas for photos. My husband and I are not one to really pose for pictures. Our best pictures are captured in the moment and thats exactly Kellys style. Her pricing is a deal...She was with me from start to finish..930am to 8pm. She is there with her partner who also was great and helped out and shared her ideas which was great for Kelly. I have already recommended her to two other people who will be married this year. No questions asked she went above and beyond...I am a pregnant and will be contacting her for some pregnancy/baby photos.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jshipman33
Wedding:
11/8/2008
5.0/5.0
Although Kelly & Natalie are former clients of my own wedding coordination business, I can say without any bias that their work was outstanding. They worked as my candid photographers at my wedding and reception and got some of the best photos of the day. As a matter of fact, one of their pictures from immediately after the ceremony is so wonderful we have framed it as our formal.
Extremely good with kids and adults and completely unobtrusive. Hire them!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
charlie
Wedding:
10/25/2008
5.0/5.0
Right after we thought we had found a photographer who we were comfortable with, Kelly got in touch with us via a wedding message board, asking if we were still looking for a photographer. We are so glad she did! From our first meeting through getting the proofs (we're not quite to the album stage yet), she was friendly, professional, and helpful.

Kelly shot our engagement pictures, pictures at the rehearsal dinner, and wedding pictures as part of her package. She was dedicated to capturing the entire day - meaning on the day of the wedding she was at the salon when I got my hair done at 9:30 in the morning and stayed with us through the end of our reception at 10:00 at night. She has a photojournalistic style - she is relatively unobtrusive and she seeks to capture the actual moment rather than stopping the action to pose or re-pose all the key players. It was the style we were looking for and when we look at our (beautiful) pictures, we relive the day rather than relive that-moment-when-our-photographer-told-us-to-look-a-certain-way-just-so-we-would-have-the-picture.

Kelly's package not only included the photography but her wife, Natalie, as a day-of coodinator. Natalie was there for all of the pictures and helped in a million different ways - from helping set up the posed shots we did to helping my now-wife stay on schedule to providing the safety pins when my bustle malfunctioned.

One of our big concerns in hiring a photographer was the fact that we were having a same-sex wedding, something that some photographers refuse to shoot and others have little or no experience with. We wanted someone who would be comfortable with us and everything that goes along with a wedding. Kelly, who has a big interest in photographing same-sex couples, was a perfect match for us.

Overall we would definitely recommend Film Noir Photography to anyone looking for photojournalistic pictures that capture all the little moments that make your wedding day special.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
152 Vista Terrace, New Haven, CT 06515 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Kelly Prizel Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1283347402939-kellybio