130x130_sq_1278627759650-kens320

Ken's Creative Kitchen

Annapolis , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

980 Awald Road Suite 103
Annapolis, MD US 21403 (map)

PHONE

410-268-3222

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Ken’s Creative Kitchen offers impeccable catering services and innovative cuisine featuring the finest and freshest ingredients available. Our food catering presentations are generous,... Read more
Ken’s Creative Kitchen offers impeccable catering services and innovative cuisine featuring the finest and freshest ingredients available. Our food catering presentations are generous, concentrating on texture, style, and taste. It is our pledge to you to create an event that fulfills your vision and exceeds your expectations. Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1248561409175-bray018
130x130_sq_1267629359118-47b6ce02b3127cce8e3d2d5ec5a500000016108can2zdwzbq
130x130_sq_1267629440930-47b6ce04b3127cce8e2ec683b6fd00000016108can2zdwzbq
130x130_sq_1267630122539-koppelwedding010
130x130_sq_1248561410878-gibson003
130x130_sq_1267629634649-cateringstaff
130x130_sq_1248561408566-barryferrogine011
130x130_sq_1248649889456-besch018
130x130_sq_1267629460196-47b6ce04b3127cce8e2ec779f69f00000015108can2zdwzbq
130x130_sq_1267629484258-47b6ce04b3127cce8e2ec62bb65500000016108can2zdwzbq
130x130_sq_1267629512055-47b6ce04b3127cce8e2ec6e837a600000015108can2zdwzbq
130x130_sq_1267629575258-47b6ce38b3127cce8e193985a8b100000016108can2zdwzbq
130x130_sq_1267629775508-morrisonwedding022
130x130_sq_1267629956368-99bb1466
130x130_sq_1267629997789-553243bf
130x130_sq_1267630022149-9433de33
130x130_sq_1267630078289-koppelwedding006
130x130_sq_1267630095414-koppelwedding005
130x130_sq_1267630178743-koppelwedding041
130x130_sq_1267630246211-koppelwedding088
130x130_sq_1329414211965-brookswedding032
130x130_sq_1329414408334-47b6ce38b3127cce8e193985a8b100000016108can2zdwzbq
130x130_sq_1329414553512-cateringshots044
130x130_sq_1329414647674-cateringshots175
130x130_sq_1329414789077-cateringshots216
130x130_sq_1319477691645-1244020656640205320656571205331449681044262n
130x130_sq_1319477723438-2690141465007620944441455084221936782838642053699n
130x130_sq_1319477741893-2695011465000987611771455084221936782838606899765n
130x130_sq_1319477750956-2843631465000187611851455084221936782838582347794n
130x130_sq_1319477762126-2845631464996687612201455084221936782838554544454n

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Open Bar
What types of cuisine do you cater?
African, American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, British, Cajun, Caribbean, Chinese, Creole, French, German, Indian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Pan-Asian, Polynesian, Russian, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
We really encourage tastings with all our brides. We want our client's to be really excited about what they are providing to their guests.
Are you also able to provide the wedding cake?
We recommend three very excellent bakers for the wedding cake. Some of our client's already know someone special to provide the cake.
If a bride decides to bring her own wedding cake, do you have a cake cutting fee? If yes, how much is the fee?
Never, no one should ever charge a bride for this service.
Are you licensed to sell alcohol? If yes, where are you licensed?
No, we do recommend and manage our client's alcohol. This saves our clients thousands of dollars.
Do you allow outside alcohol? If yes, what is the corkage fee?
Yes and we are happy to suggest the quanity and types of wine, beer and alcohol, chill, serve and pack up our client's beverages at no cost.
Do you provide rentals for items such as linens and flatware?
We have access to all the rental companies and have 33 years of experience to find what our brides are looking for.
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
We have over 160 employees, the majority are college educated women, who have worked with us for 10 to 20 years. We do have the most experienced, delightful staff in Annapolis.
What is your maximum catering capacity?
1000

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
We were so very pleased with Ken's throughout the entire wedding planning process. From their flexibility with our tastings, to Suzy's responsiveness to my numerous emails leading up; they were just really great to work with! I was very particular about how I wanted our signature drink; it not only tasted yummy but looked so cute garnished with a little strawberry on the edge, just how I imagined it :) the food presentation was phenomenal. We were even brought a little tray of all the appetizers just for my husband and I to enjoy at the beginning of cocktail hour; because as most brides know it's nearly impossible to find time to eat at your own wedding! That was so thoughtful and much appreciated. The bar and tables were set up beautifully... The waitstaff, especially one older gentleman in particular, were extremely nice. And Helen was AWESOME! She always made sure my husband and I had a drink in our hands, and kept checking in on us throughout in case we needed anything at all. Our guests raved about the food; a couple friends in particular, and I quote, said: "That was the best salad I've ever had in my life" ...and that was just the SALAD before the actual entree! Ken's is amazing, and I highly recommend.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
andrea
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Ken's recently catered my daughter's wedding celebration in Annapolis, MD. We couldn't have been more pleased with the food and the service. The butler passed appetizers were fantastic! People couldn't get enough of the mini crab cakes or of the bacon wrapped scallops. Both were fresh, moist and delicious! The presentation at the food stations were creative, unique and served with class. Our friends are still raving about all of the great food that was served. And we have to mention the wonderful staff that worked at our celebration. They were extremely friendly, polite, cheerful and totally on top of everything. I never had to ask them to do anything. They thought of every last detail & handled them to perfection. To top it all off, their happiness only added to our joy. Many, many thanks to all of Ken's great team!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
Ken and his staff were amazing! He personally worked with us to create a delicious menu of cohesive courses, and assist in our wine pairing. He was very quick to respond to all of my emails and any questions I had. He was even able to create vegan plates with only a day's notice before the wedding! His event manager was spectacular and the food production was flawless. Ken and his staff knocked it out of the park!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
Ken's was a delight to work with. From our first meeting with Suzy from Ken's Creative Kitchen to our reception everything was perfect. Suzy helped to provide great suggestions and was instrumental in planning a lot of the details of our reception. The food was simply amazing. Every one of our guests kept telling us how awesome the food was. The crab cakes were delicious, the beef was cooked just right! Their basil thyme bread was seriously the best bread I've ever eaten. The entire staff was a huge help on our wedding day and made everything run smoothly and go off without a hitch!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lori
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Our daughter got married a week ago and I am still smiling. Everyone at Kens Creative Kitchen made the evening a complete success. Leading up to the wedding Ken was always available to talk with me about ideas and to answer my questions. Helen was our event manager and I can not say enough wonderful things about her! She was a delight and always smiling! She seemed to anticipate our every need and those of our guests. She made our daughter feel so special--even sending her and her new husband off with a bottle of wine and food. She thought of everything. The staff at kens did an outstanding job. They were so attentive making sure glasses were always full to beautifully serving the food. Many of our guests said the food was the best they had ever had. The kitchen staff did an outstanding job!! Hiring Kens Creative Kitchen is one of the best decisions I have ever made.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
3/1/2014
5.0/5.0
I have worked with Ken and his staff for over ten years, so there was no doubt in my mind that I would hire them when my turn finally arrived to host an event.

All of our guests TOTALLY RAVED about Ken's food and service ~ from the incredible lobster bisque, crab cakes and lavish cheese display to the ice cream sundae bar and surprise cookies & milk for dessert… people were all just completely blown away. Everyone raved about how delicious the fish and chicken entrees were, and such large portions! And last but not least, the BIGGEST CHALLAH anyone in our family has ever seen!

From the minute we arrived to set up for the party to getting the last load into our car, Ken and his staff were all so helpful and expeditious. We didn't realize how much work it was all going to be, and would have been so overwhelmed without their help.

We spent Sunday afternoon savoring the leftover food and wine at our house with our extended family. It was the perfect ending to the perfect weekend.

Ken is simply THE BEST!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anne
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
The service that Ken's provided was impeccable! Helen (the head server for our wedding) is amazing! She was on top of every detail of the wedding ensuring that everything ran on time and smoothly. We could not have done this without her!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Denise
Wedding:
9/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Ken's Creative Kitchen is amazing. We worked with Suzy who helped us with every decision from the hors d’oeuvres to the butter knives. Our preview tasting included all six appetizers, both main courses and the accompaniments. The food was as good as any four star restaurant.
We were married on a Watermark yacht with a galley the size of my coat closet. The guests are still trying to figure out how they did it. We gave Suzy our ideas of “what” should happen “when” and she made it work. Every detail was perfection from the greeting on the deck with raspberry-infused lemonade to the fabulous desserts, served on the upper deck at sunset on navy and white stripped linens that were just perfect for our nautical theme.
It was a pleasure working with Suzy and I would recommend Ken’s for any event. They will exceed your expectations!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie-Anne
Wedding:
9/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Food was amazing! Friendly wait staff, they circulated during the cocktail hour and made sure that all the guests were taken care of, our seated dinner was spectacular!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alice
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Katie and Ken's Creative Kitchen provided us EXCEPTIONAL service for our wedding! If I could give 10 stars, I would. The food was absolutely phenomenal, hands down, period, end of statement. Our guests are STILL raving about the quality of all the food!! My mother-in-law said she's never been to a wedding where the food was so delicious from start to finish. They cook all the food on site so everything is fresh and warm!! They are very flexible with their menu and will offer you great alternates/suggestions if you want. We worked with Katie on the menu design and she was absolutely such a joy to work with! As for the service, that deserves another 10 stars!! Again, we are still hearing from our guests about the level of food service! Everyone said their water/wine glasses were never empty, and that everyone on the wait staff was extremely friendly and respectful. Simply AMAZING service! Oh, I could go on and on. :) Bottom line, if you are looking for exceptional food with exceptional service then look no farther! Ken's is a premiere catering company that offers top-notch food and service so that you can relax and enjoy the day with your hubby, family and friends.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kati
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Ken's Creative Kitchen did an amazing job. My husband and I tried had tastings with several caterers in Annapolis and Katie and Helen at Ken's Creative Kitchen impressed us the most.

Katie took our farm fresh "theme" and created a beautiful menu. Everything was delicious. Leading up to the big day, Katie was always responsive and she came for a very helpful site visit a week before the wedding.

Helen and team handled our event on the day of the wedding. She was a dream. Her hard work, organization and enthusiasm ensured that everything from the special cocktail drink to our cupcake table was perfect. We got so many compliments on the food (pork sliders, sweet potato and potato salad, grilled veggies, fresh salad, etc.) and -- it was wonderful and fit perfectly with the setting -- on a farm, in the middle of a field, under the stars. OH! And don't forget to get the crab cakes. We had a double order and everyone LOVED them.

It is a bride's dream to not have to worry on her wedding day and Ken's Creative Kitchen made sure of that!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Ken's Creative provided the catering for my Labor Day wedding weekend, including a Saturday reception and Sunday post-wedding bbq. And I could not say enough good things about their food and professionalism. The event was executed FLAWLESSLY. Katie, our main POC, was amazing and an absolute joy to work with. She helped us plan a menu that matched our vision for the day. And she flexibly adapted when we changed the schedule, guest count, etc. multiple times throughout the 12 months we worked together. You can tell she knows exactly what it takes to pull off an event, and provides great advice on logistics to help ensure everything runs smoothly. She could be a wedding planner! Her team was on time, dressed professionally, and worked tirelessly to please our guests. They were always willing to go the extra mile, helping with tasks beyond their job description, such as decorations and cleanup. The food was mouthwatering. I've been to over 25 weddings in the past three years, and I've never actually liked it so much to crave it again later. Ken's Creative breaks the traditional catering mold. They take such great pride in their food that you feel like you are eating in a 5-star restaurant. Our guests were RAVING about it the next day ("best crab cakes on the eastern shore"). If you want a classy event with a custom menu that your guests will actually remember, pick Ken's Creative. You will get amazing service and food at an unbelievable value. And you benefit from the years of experience that Katie and her team bring, which will help your event to run seamlessly. This was one of the best decisions we made, and we'd recommend Ken's Creative without hesitation. Thank you Katie and the rest of the Ken's team. If I could give more than 5 stars, I would. You made our special day unforgettable (in a good way) and were central to making the entire event a success. We look forward to working with you in the future for another special event. You ROCK.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melanie
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Ken's creative kitchen, is an amazing vendor. They were one of the first calls I made when my daughter was engaged, and I made the right choice. From the very first phone call, to the tasting,thru the planning and executing the reception with Ken you know all is under control... The cocktail party with drinks and appetizers and the plated dinner were amazing. All of our guests raved about the food and service. Ken and the coordinator Helen are extremely helpful and made the day and night run smoothly. They coordinate seamlessly with the other vendors! We left for the wedding with nothing set up and upon our return everything was set up perfectly, even better than I had imagined. I highly recommend Ken's creative Kitchen for any event..and already know I will be using them for my other 2 daughters weddings in the future and any other events we may have. Thank you to Ken and Helen and all there staff for helping to creative my daughter and son-in-laws dream wedding....
Services Used: Catering, Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kit
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
Ken's Creative Kitchen catered my sister's wedding, held just this past weekend at the Annapolis Maritime Museum in Eastport. It was amazing. The food was both gorgeous and delicious - from the outrageously good crab cake appetizers (perfect for weddings with lots of out of towners who need to fill up on crab while in Maryland!) to a bright salad of greens and goat cheese and a surprisingly large entree of crab-topped rockfish. The potatoes served with the entree were also fabulous.

The service was equally great. Everyone was smiling, friendly, professional and prompt. During dinner, water and wine glasses stayed full and during the cocktail hour and dancing, the bartenders were quick and good.

I've been to other weddings catered by Ken and his team - the food and service has been consistently top-notch at all of them. He's fantastic!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Ken's Creative Kitchen catered our wedding, and they were so easy to work with! After the event, many of our guests came up to us and mentioned how friendly all the wait staff had been and how amazing the food was! Their crab cakes in particular are to die for. We loved this caterer and would highly recommend them!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
FIVE STARS ALL THE WAY! My husband and I LOVED Ken's Creative Kitchen! Their food is so delicious - I can't tell you how many friends and family members told me it was the best food they'd ever had! I worked with Katie and Helen -- they are the friendliest, warmest women and so easy to work with! Their professionalism exceeded my expectations and I felt very taken care of on my wedding day. Just go in for a tasting and you'll be blown away by how good the food is and how friendly the staff members are. Thank you so much, Ken's! - Laura & Pat
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Ken's Creative Kitchen is simply the best...their food and service is absolutely incredible. They did the most amazing job with our wedding and our guests are still talking about the unreal food that they provided. Their staff bends over backwards to accommodate you and are super friendly and helpful. I can't say enough positive things about them- I would recommend to anyone who needs catering for absolutely any event!!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claire
Wedding:
3/9/2013
5.0/5.0
We were so pleased with Ken and his staff. The food was fantastic and the service exquisite. We truly appreciated all of Ken's advice during the process as well. He is very experienced and knows what makes a party/event/wedding successful. He has exceptional taste. In fact, he was the one who suggested our pre-ceremony lemonades butler served on silver passing trays and the last offering of grilled cheese sandwiches and sliders, all of which our guests are still talking about to this very day! We envisioned an elegant and timeless wedding and we couldn't have done it without Ken's professional staff and exceptional culinary talent.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
I have no words to describe how amazing Ken's food is. I had so many guests walking up to me saying that it was not only the best food they had at weddings, but one of the best food they had had period. Everyone was very impressed. We had dauphinoise potatoes, roast beef, salmon with ratatouille sauce and salad, as well as crab cakes, shrimp and cheese tarts. Everything was super fresh! The service was absolutely flawless. Helen is the most attentive and polite hostess ever. She is such a happy person! My parents and my in laws wanted to take her home =). Also, Katie, who coordinated the service from the beginning, is the most polite and organized person ever. I was able to reach her at any time! We had to increase the head count so many times and she was very accommodating. Thank you very much to all the crew from Ken's Creative Kitchen for a perfect reception. Katie, Helen, Laurie, and crew, you guys are the BEST!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kit
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Ken's staff is unbelievable! They were not only warm and personable, but they were always nearby without being conspicuous. If a glass fell on floor it was cleaned up before anyone noticed it. Cindy took care of the head table where I sat. When my daughter's ," the bride" plate was untouched Cindy hunted her down , so she would eat something..... In a very polite, professional way.
There is no kitchen where the reception was held, but the food came out on time, hot, and absolutely delicious. Even all the "young people" were raving about the staff and food. I cannot say enough about this team.... And they did work as a compatable, friendly, completely efficient and effortless team!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
becky
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding Sat was perfect, thanks to the staff at Ken's creative kitchen. Helen our coordinator was there with her service staff to make sure everyone at the wedding had everything they needed or wanted. They took incredible care of my daughter and the rest of the wedding party. They even helped the florist and my sister set up all the extra decor. The planning process was great from the start with Jamie and the rest of the staff. They were patient and offered great advice on how to put together a beautiful reception. All my guests raved about the food. From drinks and appetizers that started as soon as the ceremony was over to a meal of crab cakes, chicken, beautiful veggies and potatoes then ending with warm chocolate chip cookies, the food was fantastic. We looked up when the ceremony was over and the path from the ceremony site to the reception site was lined with servers holding trays of wine and sparkling water. It was a huge hit with all my friends and family.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Moira
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Kathy and her staff were amazing, the food was outstanding…the cocktail hour set up was surreal! Your staff was so professional and obliging. Thanks for all your guidance…from suggesting set up of the Pavilion grounds, food choices, etc….

I cannot wait for another event to plan and ask Ken’s Creative Kitchen to be the caterer!!!! The baby of the family is only 10 years old…so we may need about 15 years ….I am sure you guys will be around!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
When my fiance and I were looking for a caterer for our wedding, we had a few friends tell us, "Look no further than Ken's Creative Kitchen, they are hands down the best," and we went with their advice and couldn't have been happier. The service and quality of food were spectacular. All of our guests were raving about how the food was the best food they'd ever had (we had their crab cakes and filet mignon as entrees...delicious). But even more than just the quality of the food, the service was what really made everything stand out. I was worried about how all of the details were going to come together on the day of, but Jamie and Helen both took over and made sure that everything flowed flawlessly and turned out better than anything I had ever anticipated. When we were planning our wedding, my fiance and I agreed that we wanted to make sure that our food was one of the most memorable parts of our wedding, and through using Ken's as our caterer, we definitely succeeded in that. Thank you Ken's, for everything! Now I just need one of my friends to get married in the Annapolis/DC area so that they can have you cater it and I can enjoy the food again :)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monica
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
From the first contact with Ken ( a phone conversation) I knew we had "struck gold". Our daughiter's wedding on the Eastern Shore presented a challenge. We live in the Philadelphia suburbs and the bride and groom reside in Manhattan. Every single time we either spoke with Ken or met with him, we left with a fabulous sense of confidence that he would be the most important factor on our special day. We never doubted for a minute that the food would be spectacular! ( it was ) Ken guided us through so much more than food. His suggestions should be taken very seriously. He knows his business well.
Our guests were blown away with the efficient, courteous and friendly manner in which Ken's qualified staff served 240 people a delicious meal to remember in record time!
Helen was our beautiful event coordinator. It was like having a family member take care of us! She was always looking after every single detail with a smile! Every member of Ken's staff was exceptionally attentive and pleasant and completely professional.
As you can see, the wedding was only days ago. I wanted to write this while still "on the cloud" that Ken's Creative Kitchen helped create.
If Ken is in the area of your event. Make the call and take a deep breath.... you have already taken that first step in the direction of a magical day. Ours truly was. Ken's Creative Kitchen was more responsible for that than any other single decision we made. And there will be many. Good luck.
Monica
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Ken's Creative Kitchen was outstanding and really made our wedding perfect. People are still telling us how wonderful everything was. Ken was fantastic from the start providing ideas and suggestions on how to make our wedding an event to remember. The food was delicious and the staff on the day were fantastic. They saw to our every needs and made sure I was taken care of. I would wholeheartedly recommend this caterer to anyone!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jan
Wedding:
9/14/2012
5.0/5.0
A little over a year ago, after getting very frustrated with trying to find venues online for our daughter's wedding in the Annapolis area (especially since we live in Michigan), I came across Ken's Creative Catering's website and decided to pick up the phone and make a call. And to my surprise, Ken, the owner, answered the phone. From that first conversation, he made me feel special and was more than willing to share his ideas and suggestions without any commitment in using him as our caterer. He recommended the venue which our daughter and her (now) husband fell in love with and from that point on, it was nothing but a great relationship with a truly remarkable caterer. At our first meeting with him, he reflected that above the good food, beautiful service, venue, decorations, etc. that went into making a wedding special, it was all about how we made our guests feel. That matched our feelings as well and our wedding celebration was a true reflection of Ken's vision. The food, refreshments, special touches, service staff, etc. etc. were amazing and our guests are still commenting on how good they felt being a part of our special day. We thank Ken, his competent staff, and Kathy, our event coordinator, for making our wedding celebration a magical day for all of us. The memories that we have are over the top. And....my 92 year old retired navy chef uncle confirmed that the crab cakes were the BEST he ever ate. That in itself is a true testament as he is very critical of good food. Thank you Ken and staff for all you did to make this a grand celebration!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Helen and your staff were such an absolute pleasure to work with. Did they crumple when the gale-force winds struck five minutes after the ceremony? No!! They held everything together and kept the celebration going without missing a step! I cannot tell you how many compliments we have received on the food and service. I for one will not soon forget that your staff literally saved my daughter's wedding reception from ruin. As we have been sitting back reflecting on the day, my daughter and I have realized that Helen was behind us every step of the way, anticipating our needs, always with her beautiful smile and charming personality.
Thanking you most sincerely,
Sarah Northam
(Erin and Brad Mullins)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
George
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
Search no more! This is THEE Place! SIX STARS. Father of the bride review follows. Outstanding in every aspect! Food was exceptional. Staff provided impeccable service- unobtrusive but attentive. Ken Upton is simply the best. Top flight, professional in every regard, and reduced any stress associated with hosting 150 guests. Still receiving thank you notes from my guests, raving about the food and service.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alison
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I hired Ken's Creative Kitchen to cater our wedding and it was absolutely the best decision we made in the wedding planning process! Ken met with us multiple times before the wedding day to go over the details of the menu and the event as a whole. Ken, Tina (our event manager) and the rest of the staff truly made our wedding spectacular. Not only does the company use the highest quality fresh and local ingredients (and therefore make some of the best food we've ever tasted), but Ken and his staff are all extremely professional, accommodating, and knowledgeable. They have many years of experience in the business and it shows--they executed our wedding perfectly! The guests are still raving about how delicious our wedding food was and what a great time they had. It was all thanks to Ken's Creative Kitchen! If I could give this company six stars, I would--that's how fantastic they are!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura & Patrick
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for a caterer in the Annapolis area, we highly recommend Ken Upton and his staff at Ken's Creative Kitchen. From our initial meeting with Ken, we just got the good feeling from him that he knows weddings and is going to make ours perfect!! Perfect it was indeed. His staff was on top of everything and it's almost like you didn't even know they were there. The food was outstanding!!! Every person we have talked to since our wedding has raved about the food and how everything was just perfect. Ken & his team not only acted as our caterer, but pretty much the wedding coordinators all together. We could not have been more pleased with how our day went, thanks for your team!! Thank you, Ken!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ginger
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Ken's Creative Kitchen catered my wedding on Saturday July 14 2012 at an outside venue in Southwinds community. I can honestly say, they were the reason my event was spectacular! The food was outstanding and everyone agreed it was the best crab cake they had ever had. BUT not only was the food amazing, they were amazing throughout the planning process and decoration ideas as well. We had a blast meeting with them to pick out linens, plates and silverware, centerpieces and food ideas. Ken and his staff went above and beyond throughout the process. Helen, the day of manager was fantastic. It poured during our cocktail hour but her staff endured the rain to make sure the guests and MYSELF had enough food, cocktails etc. Whatever we needed that day, they were right there to provide. I would recommend Ken's Creative Kitchen in an instant if you are looking for an event that is fabulous, pays attention to detail, and most importantly delicious!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Ken's creative kitchen was a lifesaver to work with. everyone was extremely nice and always available to help. when our first choice at a reception venue fell through they were there to make a really unique and wonderful suggestions to help us find the perfect reception venue. The food was absolutely wonderful and delicious. The staff was extremely professional top of things. Ken has really unique and wonderful ideas to make your event your own. I would highly recommend Ken's Creative kitchen. We have used them for two of them Dollys had an amazing time working with them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sunshine6912
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
As we were planning our wedding Ken was the most recommended caterer in Annapolis and we understand why. We ended up using Ken for both our rehearsal dinner (which was a casual low-country boil) and our wedding (which was a more formal, station style, garden party). The food was amazing at both events but very different. Our guests LOVED the food at both. For our wedding, we worked with Ken to craft a menu that reflected the fact that I am from Maryland and my husband is from Georgia i.e. crab cakes on top of fried green tomatoes. Ken is a pro who really knows his business. He gave us great advice throughout the planning process, for example he suggested no hard liquor at our rehearsal since we had an early wedding, but serve our favorite cocktail of mint juleps in chilled silver julep cups as guests enter the wedding reception (they were a total hit). He and his staff were friendly and responsive. I know Ken had many events on his calendar but I always felt that my wedding was a top priority. On the day of the wedding, his staff was insistent that we take home a few extra meals. This ended up being the greatest advice of the day as my husband and I finally ate our dinner together at midnight in our hotel room! Like I said, there is a reason that Ken and his team are the most recommended caters in Annapolis!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashleigh
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Ken's Kitchen is the best caterer you will get on the Easter Shore. Period. Not only is the food delicious, the presentation will make your guests' mouths open when it's brought out. At my wedding, my priorities were good food and good music. Ken's Kitchen provided not good food, GREAT food. We started with 5 appetizers that our guests are still talking about (bacon wrapped scallops, croque-monsieur, mushroom tart, shrimp cocktail and bruschetta with pesto, tomatoes and mozzarella). Dinner included a goat cheese and beet salad (gorgeous) and the filet mignon/crab cake entree. Our reception vendor was originally supposed to provide the catering but they had a few management changes and recommended Ken's Kitchen - I am so glad they did because the food was amazing and is still being talked about.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Where to begin?? Ken Upton and his team are simply amazing! He became more than just my favorite vendor, but he became my wedding consultant / adviser as I was planning my 250+ backyard tented wedding. I must have called him over thirty times to ask for his opinion on details outside of the realm of catering. He came to our house (venue) twice before the wedding to collaborate with our tenting company and day-of coordinator. Ken had great insight on where to put the tent, restroom trailer, cocktail hour etc. He really knows how to throw an amazing wedding and I knew I was in good hands!!! Tina was our coordinator and she was so sweet and professional. The minute I met her, I knew our reception would go off with a hitch. Ken came by our venue the morning of the wedding to make sure everything was set up perfectly. Seeing him there made me feel at ease and confident.

Now for the review on the food: incredible! Ken placed his staff at the entrance of our house greeting our guests with our signature cocktail and wine as they arrived. The passed appetizers were delicious! We had a few guests tell us the crabcakes were the best thing they've ever tasted! Our filet mignon entree was delicious and cooked to perfection and our late night food (grilled cheese and tomato soup) was a HUGE hit!!

What I love about Ken is that he wants you to have a perfect wedding first and foremost. Many times I'd call him and say, "I don't think I want to spend that much on ..." and he'd find ways to cut back on certain things without comprising on quality. I truly felt like we were a team and he was invested in making this a truly amazing day! Our wedding was absolutely beautiful and perfect and so much of that came from Ken's advice and input. My fiance and I were sooo pleased and we highly recommend him!!
Services Used: Catering
Bg5
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Jamie and the Ken's staff were absolutely fantastic. We got so many compliments on the food. Jamie was so easy to work with and made the planning process easy. We'd recommend Ken's in a second!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alanna
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
I don't even know where to begin - Ken's food is DELICIOUS! We are constantly hearing rave reviews of our wedding food and couldn't agree more. The apps, main course and extra desserts were fabulous. Hellen is an absolute GEM! She took care of everything allowing us to enjoy our special day. She even brought us plates of food so that we could take a minute to enjoy it. You mention something to her and seconds later it is done. Our wedding has turned into a foodie's dream wedding -the compliments are still rolling in. I cannot recommend Ken and Hellen enough.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aporter
Wedding:
11/5/2011
5.0/5.0
I am the Mother of the Bride and Ken's Creative Kitchen just catered my daughter's wedding reception in Washington DC on Saturday evening. It was spectacular! All of the guests not only raved about how delicious the food was but also how it was presented. The staff was excellent, took wonderful care of all of our guests. Ken helped us plan the entire event. He helped us with the layout, all of the linens and rentals and of course the menu. His creativity and knowledge made this entire planning process a true delight.
He has a unique way of allowing the bride and her family to be stress free as he takes care of it all. Ken's Creative Kitchen is extraordinary, absolutely superior. Our "person in charge" that evening was Helen and she could not have done more to make this night an extremely sensational evening. My daughter said "This evening was magical", something she dreamed of, and Ken's Creative Kitchen was a major contributor to the evening to make that all come true.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
laurendc
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
Jamie and her staff were amazing and really helped to make our wedding a perfect event. We went with Fall comfort food - chicken pot pies, green beans, etc..... and various pie for desert. I am still receiving compliments on how amazing the food was. I highly recommend Ken's Creative Kitchen.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
There is just no doubt. If you want great catering for a wedding around Annapolis or DC, Ken's Creative Kitchen should be your first choice.

My wife and I are both foodies, and so the food for our wedding was a big priority. We spent an enormous amount of time finding just the right caterer. We didn't want the traditional "check the box" boring meal delivered on a plate, and so we expected to have trouble with caterers who were used to that formula. Our first meeting with Ken, however, convinced us that we had found someone who not only shared our love of food, but loved to be creative and come up with new serving ideas.

Ken started by catering our picnic "crab feast" the day before our wedding. And it was obvious, from the start, that they would go the extra mile for anyone. That day it was raining - pouring, in fact - and although we were under a pavilion, Ken's team had to find cover to cook and get everything ready. They ran back and forth in the rain dozens of times, moving things back and forth. And not only was the food great, but we never heard a word about the rain, or the conditions. All we heard was "do you need anything else"? They were real troopers.

The day of our wedding was amazing. Ken's team, lead by the wonderful planner, Helen, really pulled it together. Not only did they serve amazing food but they coordinated the whole day for us from ceremony to our departure. For the food, we had a little bit of everything, including an oyster bar, a cheese table, passed hour d'oeuvres and four different kinds of wine (and six different types of beer), along with signature cocktails and champagne to serve. We had three different entrees at each table, and a kids table with their own food. All of that, and the serving staff didn't miss a beat. They were constantly out at tables, looking to assist our guests, and making the serving and clearing look effortless. Our planner caught every little detail. We, of course, were so distracted that we barely had time to go get anything - but our planner took care of it all. She pulled a tray of oysters for us before they ran out, so we could try them. And every time we turned around while we were dancing, she was right there with a glass of water (or a slice of cake, to make sure we tried that too!)

You know those places that claim to take personal care of you? Well, this one did. We even stopped at Ken's back porch restaurant for breakfast around the time of the wedding and Ken personally came out and congratulated us by name.

We wouldn't just recommend that everyone try Ken's. We would say "go there first"! If we have an event in DC or Annapolis again, we won't even look for someone else. We know exactly who will be serving us - and are completely looking forward to it!
Services Used: Catering
Bg11
Joni
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Ken and his team are the best in the business! From beginning to end, every aspect of working with them was not only professional but genuinely enjoyable. Ken is an awesome guy with years of experience who offered us helpful and much appreciated advice throughout the entire process. The day of our outdoor wedding was a bit chaotic b/c it was raining, but the minute our catering manager Helen arrived on scene everything started to work out. Helen is an amazingly hardworking and dedicated person and everything she does is with the utmost of care and attention to detail. And with her beautiful face and kind-hearted personality, it sometimes felt like I was talking to my fairy godmother! The kitchen and wait staff were also excellent, no one waited more than a minute for a drink or bread refill -- our guests even commented on how friendly they were and that they all looked nice and put together -- funny that anyone even noticed this let alone commented on it. But this is all part of the outstanding service and quality that you get when you work with Ken. And finally, the food. An overwhelming number of our guests commented that it was not only the best food they've ever had at a wedding, but that the crabcakes, scallops and beef tenderloin were the best they've ever had, period! There is a reason Ken and his staff are the best in the business -- in addition to everything mentioned above, they are also easy to work with, flexible to schedule tastings, understanding with concerns, speedy in responding to calls and emails and always had genuinely positive attitudes. Hiring Ken and his staff was hands down the best decision we made during our wedding planning process.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cbmkj
Wedding:
9/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Having Ken's cater our daughter's wedding was one of the best decisions that we made! Jamie and Ken were fabulous to work with! They were the ultimate professionals in every sense of the word. Jamie was a joy as our event manager. She made the entire process easy and worked tirelessly at the wedding to assure that every detail was perfect. The food was absolutely delicious and many of our guests told us that they had never had such wonderful food at a wedding! The servers were also eager to make everyone happy, and went out of their way to do so! UNBEATABLE!!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1322533363879-bobandkatyswedding050
Katy
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Jamie and the entire staff at Ken's were AMAZING! Jamie was fantastic to work with throughout the entire process - she was extremely professional and friendly, and overall she is a great person! She was very flexible working with us over the 9 months leading up the wedding. We made several changes to our menu and she was always willing to work with us and offer suggestions and ideas. Hurricane Irene hit the day of our wedding and Jamie and her staff were incredible. We lost power at the reception site and they were not phased - the entire staff was organized and calm. Everything was cooked to perfection (they were literally cooking with propane by candelight!) and we have had so many compliments on the food - over and over I have heard that it was the best meal our guests had ever had a wedding. The food was excellent and presented beautifully. I had a ton of details at the reception site and Jamie made sure everything was set up perfectly - despite the hurricane conditions. She kept the reception running smoothly (even when we found out we had to evacuate the reception site ) and staying calm and organized. Jamie and her staff did an excellent job - I would definitely recommend Ken's Creative Kitchen!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
6/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Words cannot even describe how AMAZING Ken's Creative Kitchen is!!! They catered my wedding and did an outstanding job in every way possible. They were my favorite thing (other than my husband) about my wedding! From the beautiful, delicious food, to the friendly, fast service, and the organization of the event. When planning, Ken Upton was extremely helpful in offering ideas to make this wedding unique and fun for not only us, but our guests as well. I knew from the first phone call that we had found our caterer! Helen was our event supervisor, and I LOVED her! She did an incredible job of organizing, and making sure we were well taken care of. She was wonderful with making schedule changes (as we were running late). We watched her run around all evening to make sure everything was going smoothly for us. We did not have to worry about anything on our wedding day because of her and the amazing staff. All of our guests complimented how wonderful the food was ("best filet mignon ever"), and how friendly, hard-working, and efficient the staff was. No one had empty drink glasses all night!! Even my florist said that they treated her so kindly and served her meal as if she was a family member. I was in complete awe of how perfect they made our wedding day. Brides, do not even consider another caterer! Ken's Creative Kitchen is the only caterer I would ever recommend to anyone. From the bottom of our hearts, we thank you Ken, Helen, Nicola and all of the staff who made our day better than we could have ever imagined!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HTabler
Wedding:
6/18/2011
5.0/5.0
Ken and his staff are the easiest, most fun people to work with! Our tasting was not only YUMMY and amazing, but FUN because of Ken! His crabcakes are to die for - that is all our guests talked about. And the best part is, he was cheaper than the other caterers I looked at in the area! Go with Ken! All of our guests had licked thier plates clean at our wedding - I heard it was the best wedding dinner anyone had ever had!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tricia
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Stop looking right now ... you will not find a more talented, gracious, thoughtful, and efficient catering team anywhere! Ken Upton and his phenomenal staff catered the wedding receptions of both our daughters, one at a venue they used often, and one in a venue completely new to them. Both events. led by Helen as event manager, were so smoothly run, the food so stunningly beautiful and delicious, the timing and flow so perfect, that the compliments from those who attended never stop. Helen is ahead of the game every step of the way, tending to every detail and guiding the staff through an impeccable event from start to finish. Putting a cool beverage in the hand of the bride (or the mother of the bride!) at just the right moment is one tiny example of her thoughtful approach. With so much to take care of in wedding planning, working with Ken gave us complete confidence in the meal being served and the overall management of the reception. He was great fun to work with, and you will not find better value anywhere. Hats off to Ken's Creative Kitchen!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katy
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
My wedding was a few months ago and my husband and I are still thinking about Ken's!! And we're still regularly craving more of our menu too! Ken and his team are simply the best, and a true joy to work with. I loved every part of my experience with them, and would recommend them to everyone. If in doubt - try out the Back Porch Cafe, you'll be glad you did!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allyson
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
We built our entire wedding around Ken's food -- and then his team knocked our socks off with their service. They are professional, attentive, clean, organized, and adaptable. From the planning stage, where Ken made many tweaks to our menu until we loved the final product, to the day-of, when his team was just amazing, it was all A++++. Oh and by the way, people said this was the best wedding food they'd ever had -- they're still talking about it. Thank you Ken!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Abigail
Wedding:
12/11/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married 12/11/10 at the Annapolis Maritime Museum. Ken's Creative Kitchen was an integral part of our wedding planning. Not only did Ken's provide the catering, Ken and Jamie suggested our venue, helped select and coordinated our rental, and recommended other vendors including the cake, tent, and flowers.

Ken's really provides the whole package in terms of event planning, they guided us through the entire process. Ken's attention to detail is unmatched, from the China and linen to the elegantly arranged bar Ken truly created an elegant and inviting setting.

Ken's staff was wonderful, we couldn't have asked for better service. Helen Stuart was our event manager and she really put us at ease we knew we could trust her 100% and she ran the entire evening flawlessly. Helen guided us through every stage of the evening without it looking 'staged' and coordinated impeccable service by the staff. I would highly recommend Helen as an event manager to anyone hosting an event.

And of course, the best attribute of Ken's Creative Kitchen is without a doubt the food! Our wedding was 12/11/10 and we heard rave reviews at every holiday gathering we attended. Our friends and family cannot stop talking about how delicious Ken's food was.

If you want to provide your guests with a truly memorable meal look no further than Ken's Creative Kitchen.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
First Wedding
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
I can not say enough about Ken's Creative Kitchen. Everything is superlative. During our recent wedding, a guest from New York City came up to us and said it was by far the best wedding food she had ever had anywhere, including NYC. People wrote us after the wedding to say that our meal rivaled any they had ever had in a fine restaurant. All this was accomplished without a kitchen on the wedding site! Their staff is incredible and the service was impeccable. They are personnable and so easy to work with. Simply the best!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elise
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
One word: FABULOUS!!!!!! They are not cheap but you definitely get the quality that you pay for. The food is divine!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
denise
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
Ken's Creative Kitchen was AMAZING! I had interviewed four caterers in the area, and chose Ken's Creative Kitchen. Nothing can compare to Ken's. We had a wedding of 200 guests at a venue where Ken and Jamie (our events manager) and Ken's entire staff had to bring in everything, from grills, tables, china, everything. The reception hall was set up exactly how we had envisioned. From the beginning of the cocktail hour to the end of the 5 hour reception, there was not one guest who had to wait for anything. Ken's staff was on top of everything. Drinks were constantly filled, and the dinner for 200 guests was served very promptly - no one waited for anything. My menu consisted of filet and crab cake, potatoes, asparagus and stuffed tomatoes. The food presentation at the wedding was exactly what I experienced at our food tasting. How Ken was able to cook 200 steaks PERFECTLY still baffles me, but he pulled it off 100%! Some of the comments that I received included - "This was the best wedding meal EVER", as well as, "We never waited one minute for a refill on the wine or drinks' and "the servers were the most professional and accomodating staff we have ever seen at a wedding". Also I was told by the venue facility that the reception hall was left the cleanest ever in the history of the weddings held in that facility.

Ken made my daughter's wedding the dream that she had envisioned, and we thank Ken and Jamie and all of the staff for making her day exceptional.

Do not hesitate to choose Ken's Creative Kitchen for any special occasion. They are definitely the BEST!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jg
Wedding:
9/11/2010
5.0/5.0
I wish there is a 10 on the rating because that is what this company deserve. Our wedding was so perfect. Ken, Tina and their team execute everything flawlessly. We didn't have a wedding planner or decorator, so we provided them with floor plans that shows where all the various items needs to be placed (pillows, candles, lantern, fake mustache, little photos, vases and ..and...and ). They placed everything perfectly. We asked for an Indonesian/Italian food to represent our culture. All of our guests were telling us how good the meal was. We also use Ken's recommendation on the florist and lighting vendor. They were superb. Our day was perfect because of the hard work of Ken's team.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
onyx fan
Wedding:
9/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Ken catered my daughter's wedding and did a fantastic job. The food was amazing, the wait staff was wonderful and Helen, our event coordinator, did a perfect job.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rick&Margaret
Wedding:
8/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Ken Upton and his employees were an absolute pleasure to work with. We chose them because of other weddings we went to they had catered, and we were not disappointed. Planning the reception with Ken was a breeze as he knew more about what to expect than we did. We just followed his lead. Helen, the on site manager, was invaluable. She was very attentive, flexible and made the event easy for us. She deserves an big "thank you". The food was excellent as expected. We had the fillet for the main course... crab cakes, shrimp and spinach filo pastries for appetizers. They also brought chicken and vegetarian which were needed.

As far as the catering portion, they made our wedding day perfect.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kalyn
Wedding:
7/31/2010
5.0/5.0
I don't think my wedding would have happened if it weren't for Ken and his team. We met with them and they completely designed a menu for us and that right there took so much stress of off me. And because of his great reviews we didn't even do a tasting. We didn't need to, everything was beyond words delicious. And as for our event manager, Helen, she is an angel. I felt like I was falling apart on my wedding day, and she was so on the ball it was like she was reading my mind. I had everything I needed before I asked for it (or even knew I needed it). Her voice was just so soothing! She called me throughout the day to let me know how things were going and it was just what I needed. They really did everything for us, I couldn't sing their praises enough. They are the best in the business, that's for sure!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MMartin
Wedding:
7/30/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married on July 30th at the Chesapeake Bay Foundation and Ken's Creative Kitchen catered the wedding. Ken and his staff are superb, especially Helen. Helen was like one of my bride's maids, always ensuring I was ok and anticipated every want/need. She was the warmest and friendliest person at the venue that day, treating guests like family. Everyone that came into contact w/ Helen commented on what a stellar job she did and asked if she could be invited to every party going forward. Now onto the food, there isnt a better crab cake in town. The poor servers didnt get 2 steps outside the doors before they were swarwed w/ guests wanting another crab cake. I would and have recommened Ken and his team to everyone who will listen. I am so grateful that I was able to share my wedding experience w/ such an amazing group of people.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
7/16/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I are SO glad we went with Ken's Creative Kitchen for our wedding! We interviewed a lot of caterers but Ken's seemed to provide the whole package. I was initially a little dubious about working with Ken because he has an extremely "hard sell." He definitely knows what works best, but will obviously still accommodate you if you have different opinions. Just be ready to voice loud and clear what YOU want.

The day of, the entire team from Ken's and the food were fabulous. Helen was our event manager and she did an amazing, amazing job. Everything you would expect from a day-of wedding coordinator, she did. She cued us down the aisle, set up all our extra decorations, and kept everyone on schedule. She was literally always there with another glass of water for me right when mine was running out! It's little things, but they definitely add up. The other servers were always friendly, smiling, and helpful. The food was delicious and many people commented on how good it was.

Our wedding was at Chesapeake Bay Foundation, so it really helps to have someone there that is experienced with the venue and knows what works. Ken's was definitely the company for the job. Thank you!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
annap
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
One word - phenomenal !! We absolutely love Ken and his team !! Our wedding was everything we dreamed of, the best day of our lives and we owe it all to Ken and his staff. From day one, we were treated like we were the center of attention and everything was all about us. Ken helped us plan out every detail and we had no worries whatsoever. We knew we were in good hands and we were well taken care of. Ken made the entire planning process fun and stress free. We honestly don't know what we would've done without Ken - he is a godsent and allowed us to really enjoy what wedding's are all about.

Ken planned out the most delicious and spectacular menu for our wedding and everyone is still raving about how wonderful the food was. The food is beyond superb. In fact, we had Ken cater our rehearsal dinner as well at his Back Porch Cafe
in Annapolis. BEST food ever !!!!The crabcakes and crab balls are AMAZING !!

Not to mention - the service was superb and everyone commented on how fantastic the staff was - always making sure everyone had a drink in hand, had food, and always making sure everyone was attended to. Tina was our event manager and she was awesome - making sure everything was on schedule, taking care of every little detail - we didn't have to worry about a thing on our wedding day. Tina took good care of us. She was such a blessing to have on our wedding day - she made sure it was the best time for us and our guests.

Ken and his staff didn't feel like our caterers - they felt like family and a big part of our wedding and we are so pleased and happy that we were able to share our most special day with them. Our wedding was so memorable and we HIGHLY recommend Ken and his team. Ken's the best !!

L+H
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were married at The William Paca House this past Saturday (June 12, 2010) and we hired Ken's Creative Kitchen not only cater but also plan/execute our wedding. From the first time we met with Ken (and his team) we knew they were the group for us - Ken has SO much experience - the parties he's planned and catered all over his office walls.

During our wedding his team went above and beyond - we never went 5 minutes without one of them asking us if we needed a drink, water, food, anything - they were so attentive and responsive and constantly went above and beyond. Beyond their amazing service they were unbelievably professional and friendly as well. Chris and I both had a chance to speak with them throughout the event and they ALWAYS had smiles on their faces.

Now onto the food - I'm not kidding when I say it was the best food we've ever eaten. We actually selected our own/personal menu (EX: Grilled Pimento Cheese Sandwiches), some of the items on our menu Ken and his team had never served but he never wavered or questioned our decisions. Instead he worked with his Chef to master the different recipes and selections we made. We received so many compliments about the food - the crab cakes were "the best we've ever tasted" and the mini ham sandwiches were "like something I've never had before."

Words can't express how happy we are with Ken, Helen, and the entire team at Ken's Creative Kitchen - I can't imagine what our wedding would have been like without them - they weren't "working" our wedding, they were a part of it...it wouldn't have been the same without them. We'll never plan another event without reaching out to Ken and his team again.

Please don't hesitate to reach out to me if you have questions.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dana
Wedding:
5/8/2010
5.0/5.0
Out of this world. The food, the staff, and the event manager Helen made sure that we had everything taken care of throughout the whole wedding. From the very moment we first started working with Ken we knew that his passion was for catering spectacular events. And not to mention that he is just a wonderful and charming person. He took the time to meet with us and help us plan a delicious dinner that everyone absolutely raved about. The staff were friendly and made sure that all of our guests were always attended to. We had the event at Chesapeake Bay Foundation and Ken's staff set everything up for us so we didn't have to worry about a thing. It all turned out beautifully and I couldn't have been more pleased. They are a wonderful deal for everything they offer.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stefanie
Wedding:
4/30/2010
5.0/5.0
We loved our experience with Ken's Creative Kitchen. From the first tasting until the end of the reception, Ken's staff was on top of things. Our coordinator, Jamie, was absolutely wonderful and the evening would not have been as successful and enjoyable as it was without her direction and the staff's hard work. They worked with our budget and were very supportive and professional throughout the process. The food was amazing, not only based on our tastes but the tastes of our 100 guests. Jamie and her staff went well beyond what was expected. We received dozens and dozens of comments on how 'on top' our caterer was, and how wonderful the service was. During the dinner portion, I heard applause in one corner of the room for no apparent reason. Turns out that the bartender was also helping out with the dinner serving, and the table she was serving was literally applauding her efforts on both parts as she was doing a wonderful job. They really did pay attention to every little detail, and kept us on schedule the whole night. They also helped coordinate the efforts of the officiant and DJ, so everything went smoothly. I cannot say enough about Ken's staff, and expertise that Jamie brought to the table. If we ever have catering needs again, we will without a doubt go with Ken's Creative Kitchen again (and request Jamie!)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lindseybdickson
Wedding:
4/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Ken, Helen, and his staff are the most professional and class act team out there! KCK just did my wedding in Washington, DC and his team made it an unforgettable experience!! More importantly, his team not only offers fantastic food and service, but Ken's eye to picture the event in all aspects (layout of the venue, bar and food displays, flow of the room, band location, progression of events throughout the night) was truly a blessing. His passion for his work shines through in every step of the process. I would recommend his team OVER AND OVER to family, friends, and people that love and can appreciate great food and service!

Lindsey & Lane
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim and Drew
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
If you want all your planning stress to melt away every time you call your caterer, hire Ken's! Everything is fun, easy and smooth because Ken and his staff are so experienced and passionate about what they do. KCC is so much more than a caterer. They will guide you, support you and make sure your event is flawless. They will think of the details you would never have thought of, but need to.

Delicious, fresh food was high on my priority list. KCC catered my rehearsal at the Charles Carroll House and wedding at the Chesapeake Bay Foundation. My guests went out of their way to tell me "..this was the best wedding food I've ever had" and "..this was like being out at a nice restaurant, not a wedding." My brothers are still talking about how good the hors d' oeuvres were at Christmas, 2 months later.

There was an intense rain storm the weekend of our wedding so there were a lot of "Plan B" details to adjust and manage. They made it seem like the sun was shining. As the bride, I barely had to think of these things, Ken and our AMAZING event manager Helen worked everything out behind the scenes.

Ken and Helen, the KCC chef and staff are great people, creating great memories, and dishing out GREAT food. Be good to yourself for your big day, hire Ken's so you can sit back and enjoy your party!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1260461823771-mg3765
Stephanie
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Ken and his crew are fabulous and throw a great party with amazing food! I loved working with Ken and bouncing ideas back and forth and Jamie and our day-of crew were amazing to have - they made sure my husband and I had a drink upon arrival and had food at some point during the night so we could keep our energy up to entertain guests. My only regret is that we weren't able to try everything because we were so busy, but our guests still talk about how wonderful everything was on the night of the Rehearsal Dinner as well as during our wedding reception.

People say they are the best in town for a reason - the personalities, professionalism, polished presentation, and quality of food is unmatched!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Todd and Tracy
Wedding:
9/12/2009
5.0/5.0
I can't say enought about Kens Creative Kitchen. They were PHENOMINAL! They helped make my wedding perfect. I worked with Jamie the entire time. I met her a year before my wedding. She is incredibly organized, answers every question promptly and makes the entire process smooth. Jamie acts as the wedding coordinator for the day. She takes care of every min of the reception. She keeps track of time, when to eat, dance and cut the cake. I was so relaxed knowing Jamie had everything taken care of. We did a tasting 6 months before the wedding. The problem we had was all of our choices were so good, we had a hard time choosing what to eat. We ended up with steak with crab cake, roasted potatoes and asapargus. The day of the wedding went incredibly smooth. Jamie has her team meer guests as soon as they arrive with appitizers and drinks. Not one guest had to ever wait at the bar. She had drinks refilled before they were even gone. Jamie has 2 waiters to every 3 tables and the service was impeccable.
She didnt make people wait for their food and kept the party moving at a wonderful pace. Kens does a wonderful thing, we bought the alcohol and they served it for free. At the end of the night we were able to return what we didn't use to the liquor store. That was awesome, we were able to have an open bar with premium alcohol.
To this day I still get compliments on how unbelievably good the food was and how much people got to eat. Many people have said it was the best steak and crab cake they have ever had. I would use Kens Creative Kitchen again in a heart beat.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kjh1026
Wedding:
9/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Ken's is simply the best!! We knew we wanted to use them as soon as we had our wedding venue, we didn't even need to meet with them for an initial consultation. We did meet with Katie to go over details and then had our menu tasting about 5 months before the wedding. The food was out of this world and we got SO many compliments on everything from guests. We did a plated meal of chicken florentine and a crab cake, which everyone raved about. The portion sizes were fantastic and the butler passed hors d'oeuvres were very plentiful during cocktail hour.

We also worked with Jamie during the planning process and she was great about getting back to me right away when I had questions. Even though I was constantly changing things (small details, linen rentals, etc.), she was always quick to email me back and I never felt like she was bothered by my many emails. They handled all the rentals (linens, china, silverware) as well as recommended how much liquor to buy for the wedding. Everything ran SO smoothly the day of and we had the perfect amounts of everything. They set everything up perfectly - they even folded all my napkins into a pocket for our menu cards!

Our day-of banquet manager was Helen and she was phenomenal! She would bring my new husband, myself and the entire bridal party and families drink refills as soon as our drinks ran out and she was always checking in to make sure everything was perfect. All the servers were so friendly and always had a smile on their faces. At the end of the night, we did an exit and took a town car out to the airport to catch our flight the next morning. Helen greeted us at the town car to let us know that they had handled loading all our luggage into the car, as well as prepared a bag of snacks for the hotel. Once we got to the hotel, we were so excited to see 2 full entrees, a huge amount of the hors d'oeuvres, 2 pieces of wedding cake and 2 bottles of champagne, plus a huge box of rose petals!! It was perfect!

I honestly cannot say enough about Ken's - they were spectacular and they made our whole wedding perfect!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyssa
Wedding:
6/27/2009
5.0/5.0
After meeting with a few caterers, we decided to use Ken's services because his knowledge of planning a fun/successful reception was apparent. Upon meeting him, we were told that the key to a successful party/reception was good planning. He showed us how to plan and then his staff executed the plan phenomenally.

His advice helped us plan our menu, our seating chart, our timeline, and he helped us find other vendors for our wedding day. During the tasting of menu options, we were very impressed with not only the deliciousness of the food, but also the presentation. Our dinner was just as good at the reception and our guests were very satisfied. Many people told us that it was the best crab cake they had ever eaten. We also heard from many guests that they felt very welcomed upon arrival at the reception because they were greeted by the servers with our signature drink at the door. The staff was very timely and attentive to our guests. We loved his idea of mixing up the tables and seating people with others they did not know. Our guests got along very well and we received many compliments about how they were happy to meet new people. We were very pleased that we planned the timeline together and he helped us to foresee problems that could have arisen and then we revised the timeline. We also appreciated our event manager, Jaime's help throughout the reception by keeping me updated on how we were doing with the timeline. Throughout the night we adjusted times. We also used their recommendation of a florist and a photographer. They were both reasonable, professional, and they did a wonderful job.

Ken was not only our caterer; he also helped us plan our perfect reception. We heard from many people that it was the best reception they had attended and we definitely believe that it was. We enjoyed every minute of our reception and we know that most of it is due to the staff at Ken's Creative Kitchen. We will remember our wedding day fondly.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LaurieMaryland
Wedding:
5/31/2009
5.0/5.0
Literally everyone we spoke to, our florist, our baker, our venue, our photographer, our ceremony musicians, our band, everyone – highly recommended Ken’s Creative Kitchen. Now we do too! Our wedding wouldn’t have been the same without Jamie, Helen and the team at Ken’s Creative Kitchen. They made our day perfect.

My husband is big into food and the moment I saw and then tasted the food of Ken’s Creative Kitchen, I knew he’d found our caterer. The food was unbelievable, the service was incredible and we credit the beauty and ease of the day to these folks.

We held our ceremony and reception at the Chesapeake Bay Foundation, a location that Ken’s had used before, which made things easier for us. They knew what worked and what didn’t, how to get guests moving in the right direction and how to serve all of our guests, even with a lot of special requests, with ease. We served a double entrée of filet mignon and crab cakes to our mid-western and east-coast guests. Everyone was happy! We had numerous guests with dietary concerns and everyone’s needs were met. We wanted to serve our grandmother a certain drink – not a problem. I needed someone to help us walk down the dock with my long train – Donna was there. Everything from making sure my husband and I were never thirsty to packing up our leftover cake was done beyond expectations. Ken’s Creative Kitchen chose the timing of the day, location of the tables, the placement of the decorations and centerpieces, put out the favors and seating chart, and more. I had no pressure on me and knew that my day was in their extremely capable hands. We also had some strange requests – 190 lemons for the centerpieces, someone to assemble and arrange 4 cocktail tables, 16 pillows and 130 boxes of lemonheads. Ken’s took care of it all. They even packed up the leftover food for my husband and me to take home.

I cannot say enough positive things about Ken’s Creative Kitchen. Jamie and I communicated via email for months before the wedding, Helen was the event coordinator for our wedding day and everyone on staff that day was fantastic. They thought of things that I didn’t even realize I needed to think about. My husband and I are still in awe of how smoothly the day went. People are still raving about the food and service.

I wouldn’t hesitate to use Ken’s Creative Kitchen. We highly recommend their services.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kara
Wedding:
5/2/2009
5.0/5.0
Ken's Creative Kitchen is the best!!!! From our first meeting until the end of our wedding, it was an easy and fun process. Our first meeting was great; we left with a clear vision of what our wedding day would be. Not only does Ken's staff prepare and serve the food and drinks, but they also help to make sure the entire wedding goes as planned. Helen, our event manager was amazing. Neither of us needed to worry about anything because Helen made sure everything happened the way it was supposed to happen.
I was a little nervous that we did not hire a wedding planner, but Helen did everything that a wedding planner would do on the day of the wedding. From taking the drink orders for the bridal party two weeks in advance (and having their favorite drinks ready for them right after the ceremony!) to making sure everything was packed into a car at the end of the reception, Helen and the staff thought of and did everything for us.
The food was fantastic!!! Everyone raved about the food, especially the crabcakes. Often wedding food is either not memorable or just not as good as the food you would order in a restaurant. The quality of Ken's food was great and the servers made sure all 120 guests had drinks throughout dinner so no one had to get up for a drink. During the reception, there was never a wait at the bar, which is pretty rare for a wedding reception.
We had so much fun at our wedding and were both truly stress-free thanks to the staff at Ken's.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shazzer
Wedding:
9/20/2008
5.0/5.0
Excellent food and excellent service! I heard from more than one guest about how polite and responsive the staff was. The food was delicious (try the wasabi tuna!) Highly recommended to anyone looking for fantastic food!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracey
Wedding:
8/22/2008
5.0/5.0
The most wonderful food!! We were married on a yacht so they suggested a carribean menu. When we had the tasting, everything was perfect. We stayed with exactly what they suggested and out guests are still raving about how good the food was at the wedding. I, the bride, was catered to hand and foot, I never had to ask or want for anything. They were right by my side, but not constantly. It was like they new when I needed something. Anyone looking for a caterer, look no more - Ken's the best!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hippojst
Wedding:
8/8/2008
5.0/5.0
Ken's Creative was recommended by our reception venue, Pintail Yacht's. We had to drive all the way out to Annapolis (we live in Rockville) to sample the food, but it was certainly worth the trip. During the food sampling, we were served all of the items that we were thinking about for the wedding. The portions were the actual sizes, not a mini version. The food was delicious.

We were able to meet the owner, Ken, and he gave us lots of options about what they could do. They can pretty much customize your entire menu to meet your needs, but we were happy with what they had on their menu already.

Jamie, our rep, was very helpful, friendly, and responsive throughout the process. They already had a great working relationship w/ our reception site so we didn't have to worry about anything. We also ended up just paying the reception site, and they take care of paying Ken's.

We had SO many compliments on our food -- the portion size was great, and it all tasted delicious. Everyone enjoyed their meal, from the appetizers to the main course (fish or steak). We were very happy with how it all came out!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
8/2/2008
5.0/5.0
Ken's is fantastic!! The meal was a very memorable part of our day! We had a tasting with them and they fed us an entire lunch at their beautiful restaurant in Annapolis. We had a chicken dish, scalloped potatoes, green beans and INCREDIBLE crab cakes. They even arranged for us to have ice cream with our cake in a reception venue that was a little challenging for frozen food :) They were so patient with my ever changing menu choices... The serving staff was professional and friendly... we got to meet Ken and had a great talk with him as well. So impressed by the entire organization!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
swellsdc
Wedding:
5/10/2008
5.0/5.0
Ken and his team are wonderful. The food and service was impeccable. From the day we met Ken we knew we didn't have to worry about a thing. Our guests couldn't stop raving about service and the food. I hope to have the opportunity to work with Ken for an event in the future.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kwillis51
Wedding:
9/30/2007
5.0/5.0
Ken's is the best! Their food is great and their staff is really wonderful. They not only provided the food (which was out of this world and our friends and family still talk about it!) they also helped us plan the details of our reception that only someone who knows weddings would have been able to do. In addition to using Ken's for my wedding I have also used them for work catering more than then times. They are professional, friendly, and a lot fun! If you go with Ken's you will not be dissapointed!
Services Used: Catering, Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LNeville
Wedding:
4/28/2007
5.0/5.0
Ken's Creative Kitchen was fantastic! We loved everything he recommended and did for our wedding reception at the William Paca House and Gardens in Annapolis. Being foodies, it was very important to us that the food at our reception was top notch and that the presentation was spectacular - Ken ensured that it was. His staff was very professional and they took great care of our guests and us! They made sure that we (the bride and groom) ate throughout the evening and were always on hand to answer a quick question or to make sure that things were absolutely perfect. I would highly recommend Ken's to anyone who is looking to have a fantastic event - and in fact already have!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kait
Wedding:
9/13/2013
4.8/5.0
Amazing food, timely & professional service at the event, and great flexibility in planning. We emailed Ken's staff quite a few times as our wedding plans (and guest list) were adjusted from the time of contract signing. They made us feel like their only clients, which during a stressful time of planning, can make all the difference. Ken truly is creative - we could not have asked for anything more - it was perfect.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
6/5/2010
4.8/5.0
We had a non-traditional picnic-style wedding, and Ken's seemed a little thrown for a loop by this. However, communication was more effective in-person or over the phone versus email and eventually they understood our theme/vision for the day. The casual, yet upscale food was absolutely delicious!! (crab cakes definitely the best) and the service was very impressive; we got married outdoors in the heat and the servers were walking everywhere with trays finding guests and always looking for us to make sure we had champagne, a taste of all appetizers, etc. The food quality service absolutely exceeded our expectations!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Colleen
Wedding:
6/6/2009
4.8/5.0
Ken's catered my entire wedding weekend starting with the rehearsal dinner Friday night with Pintail Yachts. They catered our wedding and Sunday brunch - both were at my father's home on the Eastern Shore.
Ken's was highly recommended by my wedding planner. They were amazing. The food for every meal was perfect. Guests were raving about the food all weekend long. But guests were even more impressed with the SERVICE. Helen & her staff were WONDERFUL. She was at all of our events and the service was PERFECTION!

We were disappointed that Ken did not attend & supervise our wedding as promised. We met with Ken several times before the wedding to review ever last detail. Apparently, a bigger event had come up on his schedule (our wedding was 250 guests). But we were so thrilled with Helen, looking back we really didn't miss him! It was the best day of our lives and Ken's staff is amazing in every way.

Thank you Ken, for all your hard work with the preparation and communicating everything perfectly to your staff! Thank you Helen & staff for a PERFECT wedding weekend!! We will never forget it!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
The food was excellent and our guests raved about how good the food was. Ken even dealt with the challenge of our reception site which only had a warming oven. Ken paid attention to details so that the presentation was as elegant as the food tasted. Jamie was our coordinator and, though it initially seemed like an extra expense, we felt it was worth it to have someone gently reminding us of what was next during the evening so that we stayed on schedule. We would hire Ken for another event.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
980 Awald Road Suite 103, Annapolis, MD 21403 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Ken's Creative Kitchen
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1278627759650-kens320