130x130_sq_1347400794030-hyattharborsidebostonwedding1

Kevin Jacobus Photography

Boston , MA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

300 Summer St. #26
Boston, MA US 02210 (map)

PHONE

603-759-3864

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

MY APPROACH: I am a photojournalist. I aim to capture the real, not recreated, moments of your wedding day. I go to great lengths to tell the story of your day in photographs. I work... Read more
MY APPROACH: I am a photojournalist. I aim to capture the real, not recreated, moments of your wedding day. I go to great lengths to tell the story of your day in photographs. I work diligently, but discretely, never in your way, but always close by. My goal is to genuinely capture the mood and moments of the day, so that you’ll take home a collection of pictures that reflect every detail and emotion of your wedding.

MY BIO: Kevin Jacobus has extensive experience in documentary photography having worked for newspapers throughout New England and New York. He graduated from the nationally recognized, top rated S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications at Syracuse University in 1995 and has been photographing everything from professional sports and presidential campaigns to the daily lives of everyday people since.

Several years ago, he added wedding photography into the mix, utilizing his years of photojournalism experience to capture unforgettable images for couples. Kevin has worked at the Syracuse Newspapers, The Patriot Ledger, The Telegraph of Nashua and The Lowell Sun and has taken assignments for the Los Angeles Times, The Baltimore Sun, MetLife, and New Balance Athletic Shoe Inc. He counts among his favorite images a photograph he made for Life Magazine of a Good Friday observance that helped illustrate an essay on religion by Pulitzer Prize-winning author Frank McCourt.

Kevin is booking for weddings in Boston and throughout New England. Destination weddings can be accommodated as well. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1212626439410-001
130x130_sq_1212626453957-002
130x130_sq_1212626465473-004
130x130_sq_1212626478535-005
130x130_sq_1212626491348-006
130x130_sq_1212626503707-007
130x130_sq_1212626517973-008
130x130_sq_1212626541692-009
130x130_sq_1212626556754-010
130x130_sq_1212626571332-012
130x130_sq_1212626647520-013
130x130_sq_1212626661254-021
130x130_sq_1212626677020-022
130x130_sq_1212626700051-023
130x130_sq_1212626730363-027
130x130_sq_1212626753317-035
130x130_sq_1212626774832-041
130x130_sq_1212626796738-050
130x130_sq_1212626818535-085
130x130_sq_1212626839988-086
130x130_sq_1212626866692-090
130x130_sq_1212626894254-094
130x130_sq_1212626917379-096

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Thank You Cards, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
Sepia, B/W, and special toning effects are readily available.
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Indoor, outdoor, night, mixed lighting sources (incandescent, tungsten, flourescent, candlelight, etc) are taken into account and used for effect or corrected with filters or professional lighting equipment for optimum effect.
Is your media preference film or digital?
Digital only.
How many photographers do you work with?
Primarily one; a second photographer may be retained if desired.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
One wedding per day.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
Multiple professional SLR digital cameras, light stands, flashes, radio transmitters for triggering lights, assorted filters, extra batteries and plenty of compact flash cards with the capacity to hold thousands of images.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Absolutely yes. Also, I am also a member of Nikon Professional Services and can have spare equipment sent to me on short notice.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
In addition to listed packages, I can accomodate a client's budget and needs for custom packages. I charge hourly.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
I am available for overtime. Inquire when booking.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
One meal break.
Do you charge for travel?
Yes, outside of our regular coverage area. Inquire for details.
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
Multiple methods depending on client preference. Online viewing is always included.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes
What kind of albums do you offer?
Flush mount albums

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chris
Wedding:
10/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Quick and simple. He is professional yet friendly and provided a great product and value. Will be using him for other photography needs in the future. Has a system to gather info and go into the wedding with a plan making sure everything gets accomplished in a timely fashion.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
8/10/2012
5.0/5.0
Kevin is professional, puctual, relaxed, and on point. So much so that several guests asked if he was a personal friend of ours because he was so genuine and kind. Our weather was less than ideal but Kevin made it all work - indoors and out. He knew names, he knew important people, and he made it happen. His experience is evident and was a calming element in all of the chaos that is "the big day". Even with so much experience, he sought to make our photos unique and creative. He spent time getting to know our venue and was literally up for anything- even during a tornado warning. He worked tirelessly, and continued snapping pictures even on his way out when he was bidding us goodnight. We cannot speak enough about our experience!
Best, Mr. & Mrs. Peterson
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
1.3/5.0
I was given Kevin's name from a friend of a friend and was impressed with him by the very first conversation. Unfortunately, it went downhill from there. There was little no communication from the time we signed our contract. The Day came and he shows up, very professional and easy going, but we had little to no direction. So after the honeymoon I emailed inquiring about when we could see the photos or a sneak peak. I get a snippy email back telling me it will be another 2-3 months as it was their busy time. Fine, I can wait-that time comes and nothing. Sent another email and get another snippy response saying that it will be longer. I finally got my photos almost 6 MONTHS LATER?! The sad part, they weren't even really worth the wait. They looked like they weren't even edited or enhanced to make them look professionally done. Incredibly disappointed and saddened that there were only a few pictures out the 600+ that I would even consider printing.

11/27/2012:
Apparently I had expectations that clearly were not met. Does it really matter that it was closer to 5 months than 6 months? You were still 2 months over that so called “time frame.” To me, if you are providing a service and cannot deliver on time then it is your professional responsibility to follow up with that customer and help ease their mind. (Especially when it was a significant investment for an important day). I’m not saying Nic wasn’t great, he truly was, however I don’t necessarily feel that he captured our day. I know his time was limited but “low-key event” or not that is your job as a professional photographer to be creative and find those shots. I’m glad he wasn’t bossy or in our face, but having a little more direction or knowing of what poses or shots would look nice would have been preferred. (Hence hiring a “professional”) There were some nice pictures and I thank you for those, but for the overall investment I am disappointed.
Services Used: Photography
Kevin Jacobus Photography responded with the following comments:

As the owner, I can't dispute that Amy is apparently unsatisfied and I’m sorry that is the case. We want all of our customers to be thrilled with their experience. Unfortunately, there are quite a few inaccuracies that I'd like to correct. First, if you view the date of the wedding and when she posted her review, it's only 5 months and yet she claims she didn't receive her photos for nearly 6 months. The contract she signed states that images are delivered after a 3 month hosting period in an online gallery. I sent her a disk early several weeks ago as a courtesy because our production schedule was a bit behind. All told, she received her disk 4 months from the wedding, which is within (and earlier) than the stated normal time frame. Regarding communication, I have a total of 36 e-mails with her. I've sent planning tips as well as a questionnaire to go over details of her wedding. I’ve spoken with her on the phone several times, as has my associate photographer. Everything has been cordial and educational about how we work. No impolite tone was intended or stated, however much she appears to feel that is the case. She was informed that she'd have an associate photographer. She e-mailed after the wedding saying, "PS--Nic was awesome, he did such a good job!" Nic is awesome, he's worked with me for 3 years and has had solid reviews from many clients, including some in reviews right here in my other reviews on WeddingWire. Naturally her statement after the wedding stands in contrast to her comments here. I feel Nic captured some nice photographs and portraits for what was a very low-key event. Our clients hire us not to be in their face and bossing them around, but to capture significant moments with their loved ones that we don’t interfere with. Nic made a great set of photographs of Amy during a parent dance. Judge for yourself, here’s a link to the photographs: http://www.pictage.com/client/event.do?event=1129345
Default-vendor-profile-pic
runner26point2
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
From engagement to boudoir and finally wedding, Kevin was fantastic to work with. Very professional, creative, and accommodating. Friends and family continue to rave about the photos.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JulyBride
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
We searched for a long time for our wedding photographer! I contacted Kevin to let him know what we were looking for, and when he called me back he already had a customized wedding package planned out for us. At our meeting, we knew before we left that we wanted to hire them.
Nic was our photographer, and you couldn't ask for a nicer person. We had engagement pictures taken and had a blast, and felt comfortable right away, and knew we had made the right decision. The day of the wedding, Nic took advantage of the the bride and bridesmaids running late to work in the photos of the groom and groomsmen. He had great ideas for us, and for the wedding party, and was also open to shots that we wanted to have taken.
At the wedding, I received so many compliments from guests who had seen our engagement photos. They told me my wedding photos would be amazing if they were anything like the others, and they were right! Our photos are gorgeous. He captured everything start to finish, and with the style we were looking for. He was even great working with the children in our wedding party, as well as other family members who were less than cooperative. We felt comfortable with Kevin and Nic from the start, and completely trusted their work. I highly recommend Kevin Jacobus Photography!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrsmattyk
Wedding:
4/17/2009
5.0/5.0
I was SO thrilled with Kevin. Not only was he wonderful on the day of the wedding, the final product absolutely blew me away. We searched for a LONG time for a photographer (I think in total we met with 15?) I could not be happier that we ultimately decided upon Kevin. He did our engagement photos in May 2008, and from that moment on we knew we'd chosen wisely. Not only was he professional and insanely talented, he was just a really great guy who made us feel 100% comfortable while having our photo taken. Anyone who knows my husband knows that this is a feat! His service on our wedding day was no different. He was easy to be around, kept us laughing, and got every shot we'd asked for. To top it off, he had some amazing visions of his own that were unlike anything I have ever seen. His work speaks for itself, and I am so proud to show off my photos so everyone else can see why we are so crazy about him. A testament to his talent and to him as a person, we have already come to a definitive conclusion that Kevin is cemented as our "family photographer". Any future photography needs, he'll be the first (and only) guy we call!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
katerince
Wedding:
3/7/2009
5.0/5.0
Kevin did an excellent job at our wedding! I loved his style from the moment I saw his portfolio and he stayed true to his promotional quality. We had a small at home wedding which was more like a party than like a reception. He captured great images although in a tight space and with little light. He did not cost a fortune, yet he is a true professional. He appreciated the uniqueness of our wedding and he captured it perfectly. Thanks again Kevin!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Yeahinx143
Wedding:
6/21/2008
5.0/5.0
My husband and I loved Kevin as our photographer. We thought that he was energetic, professional and his work was amazing. He isn't one of those photographers that just make you pose and do the same pictures that you see at every other wedding. He had people in my wedding party really come out of their shells and do fun silly things that I would never expect from them, me included. He took mine and my husbands ideas and made them into beautiful pictures. I can't rave enough about Kevin and about NH Images. We had a different photo/video vendor till they contacted us a month and half before our wedding day. We are so happy that we dropped the other vendor and went with them. We love these guys and we will definatley use them in years to come.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bremily
Wedding:
5/31/2008
5.0/5.0
Kevin is great! We were so lucky to have him take our wedding photos. I loved how all of the pictures turned out and would recommend him to any of my friends and family!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/3/2008
4.8/5.0
Kevin was amazing! The pictures came out really well. He was very easy going but still authoritative enough to make it all happen. I would recommend him to anyone!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/1/2008
5.0/5.0
Kevin was great in every possible way. He worked with us to create a custom package. He answered every question we had immediately, he was a pleasure to work with. His pictures are amazing, he was very personable,professional, and artistic. I would recommend him whole heartedly; as would anyone at my wedding. He was great!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
courtney
Wedding:
11/29/2007
5.0/5.0
Kevin is fantastic! We really felt comfortable with him and loved his photos!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
9/14/2007
5.0/5.0
I put alot of thought into this because I consider Kevin to be an outstanding photographer and here's why =)...

At home before the wedding:
Kevin arrived early at my parents' home for personal -- preparation pictures -- He was able to quickly identify and remember who was who --- Very attentive -- & independent -- blended in with the hustle & bustle while capturing "candids" ---> (butterflies & the shakes... nervous giggles & lip quivers when smiling for pictures -- you'll see!)
Church:
My husband & I were married in a church -- Photos in a church can be very difficult to take because of the high ceilings and varied lighting --- Kevin was able to capture absolutely gorgeous moments --- The "lines" are crisp - colors distinct - romantic shadows - (Yes the "you may kiss the bride" picture captures the 'fairytale' dream - perfect)
Group Photos:
Kevin was able to professionally instruct & coordinate the bridesmaids, groomsmen, family members for group shots both indoors & outdoors - The reason I mention this is because the excitement of a wedding is such a surreal experience (you will completeley understand very soon!)... So to have a photographer who is able to maneuver the crowd in a pleasantmanner while everyone involved is enjoying themselves during group shots is a wonderful thing --- Group photo shots are a part of the special day and having that moment be special and enjoyable is important (especially for the parents & siblings to glow with pride & happiness -- Remember at this time they have you to themselves! =)... & also... Remember at this time you & your husband are on cloud 9 and that moment is perfection --- the last thing you want on your mind is whether or not Aunt Susie has slipped away from the group to sneak in an extra cocktail before group photos or if 4th cousin Billy Bob has somehow squeezed himself into the immediate-family-only photo -- Kevin has that covered (very attentive & quick memory - Very important)

Then the celebration really gets started!...

I don't know how Kevin did it -- I really don't -- He was able to capture a bit of every moment that evening -- I'm not just talking about the "expected" moments (walking into the hall, toasts, father-daughter dance, mother-son dance, cake, etc) --- The "unexpected" romantic moments between my new husband & me -- The happy glances towards eachother - The absolute giddy bliss of the evening that we shared -- not realizing that those moments were being captured on film! -- & I truely am so happy that they were --- Those are the moments that are truely priceless - the moments that really define -- the moments that can not be recreated --

Kevin has my highest recommendation -- Professionalism -- Quality Images
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
9/13/2007
5.0/5.0
Our wedding pictures came out absolutely amazing!! Kevin got so many shots that truly depict us and how we "are" as a couple. I really loved all of the candid shots and seeing the hilarious moments from the reception. I could definately tell that he was a photojournalist by all of the awesome shots that seem like stolen moments caught on camera. It was so easy to work with Kevin. He was extremely professional, and he was willing to accomodate us with everything - engagement portrait and portrait location, the church ceremony, and our requests on our big day. It was a fabulous experience and I would definately recommend working with Kevin for any upcoming event.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
asrt
Wedding:
5/12/2007
5.0/5.0
Kevin was a fabulous part of our day; he was very prompt, friendly, professional and has a great eye for capturing all the moments we asked for plus more. We had come across his services through another company and we contracted to hire Kevin and another photographer for the event. They had a great impression on all our bridal party, parents and guests. We had an afternoon outdoor setting also in May for both the wedding and reception (~100 guests), so the elements varied during the event and he worked very well to produce many great shots within the ever changing lighting and "sets". I have to say, without exaggeration, I was pleasantly surprised by the angles and vantage points Kevin used in our setting to take many of the photographs. I'm a graphic designer by trade and am very picky when it comes to good art! I don't know how to describe the difference between a photographer that can capture "it" and those that just capture what's going on; but Kevin was 100% able to see what to capture before, during and after it was happening. Plus he was able to find several natural height advantages to photograph very unique angles which was able to then capture very, very precious moments within the craziness of the day. Plus I have heard nothing but oohs and ahhs from both those who attended the wedding and those who did not over almost every shot.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
300 Summer St. #26, Boston, MA 02210 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Kevin Jacobus Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1347400794030-hyattharborsidebostonwedding1