130x130_sq_1400693692821-events9

Kiana Lodge

Poulsbo , WA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

14976 Sandy Hook Rd. NE
Poulsbo, WA US 98370 (map)

PHONE

855-656-8873

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Kiana Lodge has a history as lush as the gardens that surround it. The Suquamish people have gathered on these beaches for generations, hosting guests in traditional Northwest style.... Read more
Kiana Lodge has a history as lush as the gardens that surround it. The Suquamish people have gathered on these beaches for generations, hosting guests in traditional Northwest style. Whether you’re looking for an intimate setting for a group of 30, space for a grand event with up to 1,000 guests or something in between, the Kiana Lodge is ready to accommodate your needs.Our experienced event planners carry on this tradition in Northwest hospitality and will ensure that your event is perfect in every way. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1400020631666-kianagrounds1
130x130_sq_1400020636179-kianalodge-at-night
130x130_sq_1400020644407-kianalodgewater-

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1930
Describe your venue:
Historic Site
Describe the style of your venue
Garden / Romantic, Rustic, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
1000
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
995
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
40
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
karebear0099
Wedding:
12/28/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our December wedding here and it was beautiful! Although it was after Christmas, there was still some holiday decorations set up which only added to the event. Everything about the space was perfect, and our pictures turned out great. The staff was very helpful with coordinating everything, and the food was very good. I don't know if this is customary for all places, but they did reimburse us for the wine and beer that was not consumed, which I appreciated. I love this place! It would be a great pick for a wedding any time of year.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
9/7/2013
4.7/5.0
Not the lowest priced venue but you get what you pay for- absolutely stunning and gorgeous landscaping and views. Pam was fantastic, super helpful in planning and we used Dawn to make our cake pops. An amazing day, loved it all around!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Whitney
Wedding:
8/9/2013
5.0/5.0
My parents were married at Kiana over 30 years ago, so although we looked at a couple other places, Kiana was the natural choice for us. Over half of our wedding guest list was from out of state so I knew the beauty of Pacific Northwest charm of the place would win everyone over. We had two face-to-face planning sessions with Pam which really helped nail everything down. Everything was absolutely perfect day of, and Kiana was super flexible in our set-up and picture time, which really helped the day run smoothly. They were also very accommodating about having our dog Bailey there during the ceremony and cocktail hour. The food was amazing and I received so many compliments from guests (we chose the signature salmon and grilled flank steak). Pam really made sure everything ran smoothly day of and checked in with us periodically on timeline. She was also super helpful in queueing the wedding party for the ceremony, and had champagne and appetizers waiting for us while we signed our marriage license.
Yes, Kiana is pricey, but we price compared three other locations during our search and it wasn't a lot more. For the beauty of the lawn and gardens, the view, the food and drink (good beer and wine selection), and the day-of planning help, it can't be beat!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
7/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Kiana was a great value, a stunning property, and very helpful with the planning and execution of our wedding Day. They really gave me peace of mind to be able to enjoy the process. My expectations were exceeded for sure.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, , Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
6/18/2013
4.5/5.0
The Kiana Lodge is a beautiful, rustic Northwest venue that cannot be beat! We fell in love with the expensive setting and beautiful gardens and it was the perfect setting for our August wedding. The food was good, the service was pretty good (except for missing the specialty beers we were supposed to have stocked), and everything went very smoothly with all of our vendors. I would definitely suggest the Kiana Lodge for your event, but make sure that once you book a date, make sure to get the accommodations booked immediately after so they don't fill up and there are plenty of places for your guests to choose from. Poulsbo is not the biggest place, so just book early, and you will not be sorry!

Beautiful and memorable! We loved it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Fabulous venue, with gorgeous grounds and the capacity inside to set up for both a sit down dinner and the ceremony without taking one down and setting up the other. Great photo opportunities...we had rain for the ceremony, but a double rainbow after dinner. We couldn't have been happier with our experience!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joyce
Wedding:
2/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Everything about Kiana was perfect from the moment we first visited to the end of the wedding was spectacular! Both Nancy and Pam were fabulous to work with through the planning stages and Pam kept everything moving smoothly throughout the wedding! Absolutely a stress free day where I did nothing but enjoy the entire day. The serving staff were wonderful as well and the food was beyond our expectations!! Everyone loved the salmon!! Beautiful setting especially for a February wedding indoors! The Garden Atrium was beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sonia
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
We just had our son's wedding at Kiana Lodge. The first day we set foot on the grounds we knew it would be the perfect setting for the wedding. The photo opportunities on the grounds are fabulous. The flowers and landscaping are amazing. There are wonderful old trees with beautiful hanging branches, ponds, hanging baskets and of course the bay with a boardwalk, and long dock. The atrium building where we had the meal and dancing is light and beautiful with hanging ferns and metal sculptures. The old tribal lodge offers a different feel with a fireplace and warm woods. Both buildings are available for the same price.

The price was very reasonable and when we booked they were offering half of the venue fee. We did a daytime Saturday wedding and it worked out great

From the beginning planning stages to the Wedding day, the staff was wonderful. Nancy, Pamela and Sonya were terrific, friendly and easy to work with.

I had so many people ask how we found the venue and how early we had to book. I don't think there is a better place in Washington. The Clearwater Casino is just up the road with a beautiful hotel for the bridal party.

I would recommend Kiana Lodge to anyone looking for a venue for a wedding or company retreat. I wish I had a reason to go back! So Beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Theresa
Wedding:
7/27/2012
4.2/5.0
After scouring at least 10 wedding venues, we had just about given up. The Kiana Lodge was our last venue to see and the absolute BEST! The venue is huge with two lodges, an amazing outside area (where we had our ceremony next to the garden/pond), and a dock. You really can't go wrong with any part of the venue - our guests were blown away at how beautiful it is! The staff was really organized and very helpful in figuring out the flow for day-of. We'll definitely be coming back to celebrate our anniversary!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MissCanyon
Wedding:
5/28/2011
3.3/5.0
Kiana Lodge is an absolutely gorgeous venue and since my hubby proposed to me there, it made sense that we'd get married there too. They had our date free so we booked them right away.

Our initial coordinator, Nancy, was wonderful. Very responsive, accomodating, gave us her opinion without being pushy, etc. We basically felt that we were in for the party of our lives.

However, the wedding day experience was a totally different story. A different coordinator showed up and said she'd be working with us (we thought it'd be Nancy with whom we'd been working with for 5 months) so that was a little frazzling. The set-up and ceremony went off quite well as did cocktail hour and dinner but when we moved to dancing, things got weird.

Our DJ was HORRIBLE (that's an entirely different review) but our guests were never informed that it was time to move from dinner to dancing (in a different building) so it was this awkward non-flow of confused guests. From there, the DJ proceeded to practically ruin our reception by playing the wrong music, having dead silence between songs, interuppting my father, and playing a set list from a DIFFERENT wedding. I kept looking around for our coordinator to see if she could help us but she wasn't around. We actually saw her drinking at our reception. So, she was totally MIA while our reception was falling apart and was drinking too. Nice, eh?

I'd love to give Kiana 5 stars but I can't really recommend them at all. The reception experience was such a disaster and while not all of it was directly their fault, their stand-in coordinator did nothing to help us regain control. I spent my entire reception solving problems instead of enjoying myself and that makes me really sad.

On top of it all, we had 11 no-shows (lame, right?) but 6 crashers. So, we should have only had to pay for 5 dinners that weren't served, right? Nope, we were charged for the 11 no-shows AND the 6 crashers. I was pretty annoyed at this especially given the fact that the coordinator was drinking wine that we were being charged for.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SStrike
Wedding:
9/12/2009
4.2/5.0
We had a great time working with this venue. Many of our guests told us that our wedding site was the most beautiful they had ever been to. And they made everything so easy!

One tip: They underestimated our guests alcohol consumption by quite a bit. Maybe it was just our guests, but you may want to add a little cushion to your calculation in this area.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1276711022280-rachandscott
Rachael from Nearlyweds
Wedding:
7/24/2009
4.3/5.0
I loved getting married at Kiana Lodge. The best decision I made was to have my own wedding coordinator as well. It was awesome because Sonia was like the coordinator of the food and everything to do with the lodge and Lori from Elegant Affairs, was the one who told me when we needed to do things and kept the party moving. I have so many good things to say about Kiana that it would take up too much room, but I do have two bad things.
1) I had literally 15 guests either not make it to the wedding at all or come hours late because of the ferry from Seattle to Bainbridge Island. During a meeting with Kiana they asked if I wanted to use their van to pick up people at the ferry and I said no, not thinking it would be a big deal. The wait on the ferry was the car line. If my guests could have walked on the ferry and got on the Kiana bus in Bainbridge Island they would have been there. I thought Kiana would have told me it would have been a problem, but they didn't.
2) At the tasting they had a suggested bakery that I ended up choosing. It was 100% my fault for not going with my instincts and changing the cake maker when she took forever to get back to me and didn't have a website. (Unfortunately I can't remember the company's name) But they were terrible! I don't know why Kiana would back such a horrible bakery. I met with an older woman named Dawn who said she would bake the cake and a younger woman who worked with her would decorate it. Dawn brought the cake day of and decorated it herself at Kiana. It was very obvious that an older woman who didn't have that much control of her hands decorated it. It looked nothing like the picture I gave her and it was embarrassing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hrschag
Wedding:
6/26/2009
4.8/5.0
Kiana Lodge is definitely your complete wedding day package. I grew up on Bainbridge Island, and definitely wanted our wedding to reflect the area where I grew up, especially since my husband's family was coming from out of the area. It was the first and last venue I visited -- sold from the first walk through the grounds. They book really fast (I reserved our day over a year in advance) for prime days. Pam - our contact person and day-of coordinator was prompt and friendly. I think our wedding day was as close to perfect as it could have been. We had our ceremony outside with a gorgeous backdrop of a massive willow tree and blooming flowers. A bald eagle flew overhead for the entire ceremony. We chose a buffet dinner with Kiana's Signature Salmon, as well as flank steak. The salmon is hands down the best I have had in a long time. The reception was in the Grand Lodge -- a nice and intimate space for our 190 guests.

I could go on and on raving about Kiana Lodge. The only thing I was mildly frustrated with was our inability to get into the Kiana Lodge earlier on the wedding day to take pictures. Out ceremony was 5:30pm on a Friday, and we could not get in any earlier than 2:30pm. Otherwise, I HIGHLY recommend!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
5/25/2008
5.0/5.0
The Kiana Lodge was WONDERFUL. Nancy, our event coordinator was absolutely amazing. She answered every question quickly, helped us plan the perfect day, and honestly, we could not have asked for a more wonderful setting. The waitstaff, bartenders, even the cleaning crew were fantastic, exceptional, and I would HIGHLY recommend this place for anyone looking for a romantic Northwest setting!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
torreye
Wedding:
5/28/2005
4.2/5.0
Having both our ceremony and reception in one was area was so wonderful, and we couldn't have asked for a more naturally beautiful venue. Pam and Nancy were very helpful at each stage of the process and everything went smoothly the day of the event. My only complaint was that we couldn't have a whole wedding weekend so that we could enjoy it longer!
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
14976 Sandy Hook Rd. NE, Poulsbo, WA 98370 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Kiana Lodge
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo